Amazon DynamoDB 的核心组件 - Amazon DynamoDB

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

Amazon DynamoDB 的核心组件

在 DynamoDB 中,表、项目和属性是您使用的核心组件。Atable是集合项目,并且每个项目是一个属性。DynamoDB 使用主键来唯一标识表中的每个项目,并使用辅助索引来提供更大的查询灵活性。您可以使用 DynamoDB Streams 捕获 DynamoDB 表中的数据修改事件。

DynamoDB 中存在限制。有关更多信息,请参阅Amazon DynamoDB 中的服务、账户和表配额

表、项目和属性

以下是基本的 DynamoDB 组件:

  • — 类似于其他数据库系统,DynamoDB 将数据存储在表中。 是数据的集合。例如,请参阅名为 People 的示例表,该表可用于存储有关好友、家人或关注的任何其他人的个人联系信息。您也可以建立一个 Cars 表,存储有关人们所驾驶的车辆的信息。

  • 项目— 每个表包含零个或更多个项目。项目 是一组属性,具有不同于所有其他项目的唯一标识。在 People 表中,每个项目表示一位人员。在 Cars 表中,每个项目代表一种车。DynamoDB 中的项目在很多方面都类似于其他数据库系统中的行、记录或元组。在 DynamoDB 中,对表中可存储的项目数没有限制。

  • 属性— 每个项目由一个或多个属性组成。属性 是基础的数据元素,无需进一步分解。例如,People 表中的一个项目包含名为 PersonIDLastNameFirstName 等的属性。对于 Department 表,项目可能包含 DepartmentIDNameManager 等属性。DynamoDB 中的属性在很多方面都类似于其他数据库系统中的字段或列。

下图是一个名为 People 的表,其中显示了一些示例项目和属性。

请注意有关 People 表的以下事项:

  • 表中的每个项目都有一个唯一的标识符或主键,用于将项目与表中的所有其他内容区分开来。在 People 表中,主键包含一个属性 (PersonID)。

  • 与主键不同,People 表是无架构的,这表示属性及其数据类型都不需要预先定义。每个项目都能拥有其自己的独特属性。

  • 大多数属性是标量 类型的,这表示它们只能具有一个值。字符串和数字是标量的常见示例。

  • 某些项目具有嵌套属性 (地址)。DynamoDB 支持高达 32 级深度的嵌套属性。

下面是名为 Music 的另一个示例表,该表可用于跟踪音乐精选。

请注意有关 Music 表的以下事项:

  • Music 的主键包含两个属性(ArtistSongTitle)。表中的每个项目必须具有这两个属性。ArtistSongTitle 的属性组合用于将表中的每个项目与所有其他内容区分开来。

  • 与主键不同,Music 表是无架构的,这表示属性及其数据类型都不需要预先定义。每个项目都能拥有其自己的独特属性。

  • 其中一个项目具有嵌套属性(PromotionInfo),其中包含其他嵌套属性。DynamoDB 支持高达 32 级深度的嵌套属性。

有关更多信息,请参阅在 DynamoDB 中处理表和数据

主键

创建表时,除表名称外,您还必须指定表的主键。主键唯一标识表中的每个项目,因此,任意两个项目的主键都不相同。

DynamoDB 支持两种不同类型的主键:

  • 分区键— 一个简单主键,由一个名为分区键

    DynamoDB 使用分区键的值作为内部散列函数的输入。散列函数的输出决定了项目将存储在哪个分区(DynamoDB 内部的物理存储)。

    在只有分区键的表中,任何两个项目都不能有相同的分区键值。

    这些区域有:人员中描述的表表、项目和属性是具有简单主键 (PersonID)。您可以直接访问 People 表中的任何项目,方法是提供该项目的 PersonId 值。

  • 分区键和排序键— 称为复合主键,则此类型的键由两个属性组成。第一个属性是分区键,第二个属性是排序键

    DynamoDB 使用分区键值作为内部散列函数的输入。散列函数的输出决定了项目将存储在哪个分区(DynamoDB 内部的物理存储)。具有相同分区键值的所有项目按排序键值的排序顺序存储在一起。

    在具有分区键和排序键的表中,两个项目可能具有相同的分区键值。但是,这两个项目必须具有不同的排序键值。

    这些区域有:音乐中描述的表表、项目和属性是具有复合主键 (艺术家SongTitle)。您可以直接访问 Music 表中的任何项目,方法是提供该项目的 ArtistSongTitle 值。

    在查询数据时,复合主键可让您获得额外的灵活性。例如,如果您仅提供了艺术家时,DynamoDB 将检索该艺术家的所有歌曲。要仅检索特定艺术家的一部分歌曲,您可以提供一个 Artist 值和一系列 SongTitle 值。

注意

项目的分区键也称为其哈希属性。术语哈希属性源自 DynamoDB 中使用的内部哈希函数,以基于数据项目的分区键值实现跨多个分区的数据项目平均分布。

项目的排序键也称为其范围属性。术语范围属性源自 DynamoDB 存储项目的方式,它按照排序键值有序地将具有相同分区键的项目存储在互相紧邻的物理位置。

每个主键属性必须为标量 (表示它只能具有一个值)。主键属性唯一允许的数据类型是字符串、数字和二进制。对于其他非键属性没有任何此类限制。

二级索引

您可以在一个表上创建一个或多个二级索引。A二级索引,除了可对主键进行查询外,还可使用替代键查询表中的数据。DynamoDB 不需要您使用索引,但它们将为您的应用程序提供数据查询方面的更大的灵活性。在表中创建二级索引后,您可以从索引中读取数据,方法与从表中读取数据大体相同。

DynamoDB 支持两种索引:

  • 全局二级索引 — 一种带有可能与表中不同的分区键和排序键的索引。

  • 本地二级索引 — 一种分区键与表中的不同的索引。

DynamoDB 中的每个表具有 20 个全局二级索引(默认配额)和 5 个本地二级索引的配额。

在前面显示的示例 Music 表中,您可以按 Artist(分区键)或按 ArtistSongTitle(分区键和排序键)查询数据项。如果您还想要按 GenreAlbumTitle 查询数据,该怎么办? 若要达到此目的,您可在 GenreAlbumTitle 上创建一个索引,然后通过与查询 Music 表相同的方式查询索引。

下图显示了示例 Music 表,该表包含一个名为 GenreAlbumTitle 的新索引。在索引中,Genre 是分区键,AlbumTitle 是排序键。

请注意有关 GenreAlbumTitle 索引的以下事项:

  • 每个索引属于一个表(称为索引的基表)。在上述示例中,MusicGenreAlbumTitle 索引的基表。

  • DynamoDB 将自动维护索引。当您添加、更新或删除基表中的某个项目时,DynamoDB 会添加、更新或删除属于该表的任何索引中的对应项目。

  • 当您创建索引时,可指定哪些属性将从基表复制或投影 到索引。DynamoDB 至少会将键属性从基表投影到索引中。对于 GenreAlbumTitle 也是如此,只不过此时只有 Music 表中的键属性会投影到索引中。

您可以查询 GenreAlbumTitle 索引以查找某个特定流派的所有专辑(例如,所有 Rock 专辑)。您还可以查询索引以查找特定流派中具有特定专辑名称的所有专辑(例如,名称以字母 H 开头的所有 Country 专辑)。

有关更多信息,请参阅使用二级索引改进数据访问

DynamoDB Streams

DynamoDB Streams 是一项可选功能,用于捕获 DynamoDB 表中的数据修改事件。有关这些事件的数据将以事件发生的顺序近乎实时地出现在流中。

每个事件由一条流记录 表示。如果您对表启用流,则每当以下事件之一发生时,DynamoDB Streams 将写入一条流记录:

  • 将向表中添加一个新项目:流将捕获整个项目的映像,包括其所有属性。

  • 项目已更新:流将捕获项目中已修改的任何属性的 “之前” 和 “之后” 映像。

  • 将从表中删除一个项目:流将在整个项目被删除前捕获其映像。

每条流记录还包含表的名称、事件时间戳和其他元数据。流记录具有 24 个小时的生命周期;在此时间过后,它们将从流中自动删除。

您可以将 DynamoDB Streams 与AWS Lambda创建触发器-当流中有您感兴趣的事件出现时,它会自动运行的代码。例如,假设有一个包含某公司客户信息的 Customers 表。假设您希望向每位新客户发送一封“欢迎”电子邮件。您可对该表启用某个流,然后将该流与 Lambda 函数关联。Lambda 函数将在新的流记录出现时运行,但只会处理添加到CUNER表。对于任何具有EmailAddress属性,则 Lambda 函数将调用 Amazon Simple Email Service (Amazon SES) 以向该地址发送电子邮件。

注意

在此示例中,最后一位客户 Craig Roe 将不会收到电子邮件,因为他没有EmailAddress

除了触发器之外,DynamoDB Streams 还提供了强大的解决方案,例如,数据复制在内部和跨AWS区域、DynamoDB 表中的数据的具体化视图、使用 Kinesis 实例化视图的数据分析等。

有关更多信息,请参阅对于 DynamoDB Streams 的更改数据捕获

Menu
Amazon DynamoDB
Developer Guide (API Version 2012-08-10)

DynamoDB Core Components

In DynamoDB, tables, items, and attributes are the core components that you work with. A table is a collection of items, and each item is a collection of attributes. DynamoDB uses primary keys to uniquely identify each item in a table and secondary indexes to provide more querying flexibility. You can use DynamoDB Streams to capture data modification events in DynamoDB tables.

Tables, Items, and Attributes

The basic DynamoDB components are:

  • Tables – Similar to other database systems, DynamoDB stores data in tables. A table is a collection of data. For example, see the example table called People (shown following) that you could use to store personal contact information.

  • Items – Each table contains multiple items. An item is a group of attributes that is uniquely identifiable among all of the other items. Items in DynamoDB are similar in many ways to rows, records, or tuples in other database systems. In the example People table, each item represents a person.

  • Attributes – Each item is composed of one or more attributes. An attribute is a fundamental data element, something that does not need to be broken down any further. Attributes in DynamoDB are similar in many ways to fields or columns in other database systems. For example, an item in the example People table contains attributes called PersonID, LastName, FirstName, and so on.

The following diagram shows a table named People with some example items and attributes.

Note the following about the People table:

  • Each item in the table has a unique identifier, or primary key that distinguishes the item from all of the others in the table. In the People table, the primary key consists of one attribute (PersonID).

  • Other than the primary key, the People table is schemaless, which means that neither the attributes nor their data types need to be defined beforehand. Each item can have its own distinct attributes.

  • Most of the attributes are scalar, which means that they can have only one value. Strings and numbers are common examples of scalars.

  • Some of the items have a nested attribute (Address). DynamoDB supports nested attributes up to 32 levels deep.

The following is another example table named Music that you could use to keep track of your music collection.

Note the following about the Music table:

  • The primary key for Music consists of two attributes (Artist and SongTitle). Each item in the table must have these two attributes. The combination of Artist and SongTitle distinguishes each item in the table from all of the others.

  • Other than the primary key, the Music table is schemaless, which means that neither the attributes nor their data types need to be defined beforehand. Each item can have its own distinct attributes.

  • One of the items has a nested attribute (PromotionInfo), which contains other nested attributes. DynamoDB supports nested attributes up to 32 levels deep.

Primary Key

When you create a table, in addition to the table name, you must specify the primary key of the table. The primary key uniquely identifies each item in the table, so that no two items can have the same key.

DynamoDB supports two different kinds of primary keys:

  • Partition key – A simple primary key, composed of one attribute known as the partition key.

    DynamoDB uses the partition key's value as input to an internal hash function. The output from the hash function determines the partition (physical storage internal to DynamoDB) in which the item will be stored. No two items in a table can have the same partition key value.

    The People table described in Tables, Items, and Attributes is an example of a table with a simple primary key (PersonID). You can access any item in the People table immediately by providing the PersonId value for that item.

  • Partition key and sort key – Referred to as a composite primary key, this type of key is composed of two attributes. The first attribute is the partition key, and the second attribute is the sort key.

    DynamoDB uses the partition key value as input to an internal hash function. The output from the hash function determines the partition (physical storage internal to DynamoDB) in which the item will be stored. All items with the same partition key are stored together, in sorted order by sort key value. It is possible for two items to have the same partition key value, but those two items must have different sort key values.

    The Music table described in Tables, Items, and Attributes is an example of a table with a composite primary key (Artist and SongTitle). You can access any item in the Music table immediately, if you provide the Artist and SongTitle values for that item.

    A composite primary key gives you additional flexibility when querying data. For example, if you provide only the value for Artist, DynamoDB would retrieve all of the songs by that artist. You could even provide a value for Artist and a range of SongTitle values, to retrieve only a subset of songs by a particular artist.

Note

The partition key of an item is also known as its hash attribute. The term hash attribute derives from DynamoDB's usage of an internal hash function to evenly distribute data items across partitions, based on their partition key values.

The sort key of an item is also known as its range attribute. The term range attribute derives from the way DynamoDB stores items with the same partition key physically close together, in sorted order by the sort key value.

Each primary key attribute must be a scalar (meaning that it can only hold a single value). The only data types allowed for primary key attributes are string, number, or binary. There are no such restrictions for other, non-key attributes.

Secondary Indexes

You can create one or more secondary indexes on a table. A secondary index lets you query the data in the table using an alternate key, in addition to queries against the primary key. DynamoDB does not require that you use indexes, but they give your applications more flexibility when it comes to querying your data.

DynamoDB supports two kinds of indexes:

  • Global secondary index – an index with a partition key and sort key that can be different from those on the table.

  • Local secondary index – an index that has the same partition key as the table, but a different sort key.

You can define up to 5 global secondary indexes and 5 local secondary indexes per table.

In the example Music table shown previously, you can query data items by Artist (partition key) or by Artist and SongTitle (partition key and sort key). What if you also wanted to query the data by Genre and AlbumTitle? To do this, you could create an index on these attributes, and then you could query the index in much the same way as you'd query the Music table.

The following diagram shows the example Music table, with a new index called GenreAlbumTitle.

Note the following about the GenreAlbumTitle index:

  • Every index belongs to a table, which is called the base table for the index. In the preceding example, Music is the base table for the GenreAlbumTitle index.

  • DynamoDB maintains indexes automatically. When you add, update, or delete an item in the base table, DynamoDB adds, updates, or deletes the corresponding item in any indexes that belong to that table.

  • When you create an index, you specify which attributes will be copied, or projected, from the base table to the index. At a minimum, DynamoDB will project the key attributes from the base table into the index. This is the case with GenreAlbumTitle, where only the key attributes from the Music table are projected into the index.

You can query the GenreAlbumTitle index to find all of the albums of a particular genre (for example, all of the Rock albums). You can also query the index to find all of the albums within a particular genre, but only for those with certain album titles (for example, all of the Country albums with titles that start with the letter H).

DynamoDB Streams

DynamoDB Streams is an optional feature that captures data modification events in DynamoDB tables. The data about these events appear in the stream in near real time, and in the order that the events occurred.

Each event is represented by a stream record. If you enable a stream on a table, DynamoDB Streams will write a stream record whenever one of the following events occurs:

  • If a new item is added to the table, the stream captures an image of the entire item, including all of its attributes.

  • If an item is updated, the stream captures the "before" and "after" image of any attributes that were modified in the item.

  • If an item is deleted from the table, the stream captures an image of the entire item before it was deleted.

Each stream record also contains the name of the table, the event timestamp, and other metadata. Stream records have a lifetime of 24 hours; after that, they are automatically removed from the stream.

You can use DynamoDB Streams together with AWS Lambda to create a trigger—code that executes automatically whenever an event of interest appears in a stream. For example, consider a Customers table that contains customer information for a company. Suppose you want to send an email to each new customer, to welcome them. You could enable a stream on that table, and then associate the stream with a Lambda function. The Lambda function would execute whenever a new stream record appears, but only process new items added to the Customers table. For any item that has an EmailAddress attribute, the Lambda function would invoke Amazon Simple Email Service (Amazon SES) to send an email to that address.

The following diagram illustrates this scenario.

Note

In this example, note that the last customer, Craig Roe, will not receive an email because he does not have an EmailAddress.

In addition to triggers, DynamoDB Streams enables powerful solutions such as data replication within and across AWS regions, materialized views of data in DynamoDB tables, data analysis using Amazon Kinesis materialized views, and much more.