購買 Amazon Redshift 預留節點 - Amazon Redshift

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

購買 Amazon Redshift 預留節點

概觀

在中 AWS,您使用 Amazon Redshift 所產生的費用是以運算節點為基礎。每個運算節點會以小時的費率來計費。小時費率會根據區域、節點類型以及節點是否接收隨需節點定價或預留節點定價之類的因素而定。

隨需節點定價是 Amazon Redshift 中最昂貴,但最具彈性的選項。透過隨需費率,只會對在執行叢集中擁有的運算節點向您收費。如果您將叢集關機或將其刪除,將不會針對曾在該叢集中的運算節點向您收費。只會對您使用的運算節點向您收費,僅此而已。針對每個運算節點而計費的小時費率會根據區域與節點類型之類的因素而有所不同。

預留節點定價較隨需定價便宜,因為運算節點是以打折的小時費率來計費。然而,若要接收這些打折的費率,您必須購買預留節點方案。當您購買方案時,即進行保留。保留會為您在保留期間預留的每個節點設定折扣費率。方案中的折扣費率會根據區域、節點類型、期間和付費選項之類的因素而有所不同。

您可以呼叫 PurchaseReservedNodeOffering API 作業或在 Amazon Redshift 主控台上選擇 Purchase reserved nodes (購買預留節點),將節點指定為預留節點。購買預留節點時,必須為適用的預留節點類型指定「 AWS 區域」、節點類型、期限、節點數量及提供項目類型。保留節點只能在指定的 AWS 區域中使用。

此主題會討論預留節點方案為何與您可以購買的方式,以降低 Amazon Redshift 叢集的執行成本。此主題會討論費率以隨需或折扣形式的一般概念,讓您能夠了解定價的概念與定價影響計費的方式。如需特定費率的相關資訊,請前往 Amazon Redshift 定價

關於預留節點方案

如果想要讓 Amazon Redshift 叢集持續執行很長一段期間,您應考慮購買預留節點方案。這些方案可省下的金額大幅超過隨需定價,但您需要預留運算節點並承諾為那些節點支付一年或三年期的費用。

預留節點是一種計費概念,將嚴格用來判斷會使用何種費率來向您收取節點費用。預留節點實際上並不會為您建立任何節點。不論使用情形為何,都會向您收取預留節點的費用,也就是說,您必須為在保留期間預留的每個節點支付費用,不論您在執行叢集中是否有任何節點,而這些叢集是否適用折扣費率。

在專案的評估階段時,或是您正在構思概念驗證,隨需定價可以提供彈性,讓您只需為使用的量而隨需付費,並透過關閉或刪除叢集,即可隨時停止付費。在您確認生產環境的需求並開始實作階段,您應透過購買一或多個方案來考量預留運算節點。

任何方案都可適用於一或多個運算節點。您會在購買方案時指定要預留的運算節點數。您可以為多個運算節點選擇購買一個方案,或者可以選擇購買多個方案,並在每個方案中指定某個數量的運算節點。

例如,下列是為三個運算節點購買方案的方法,任一種皆為有效:

  • 購買一個方案並指定三個運算節點。

  • 購買兩個方案,並將一個運算節點指定給第一個方案,將兩個運算節點指定給第二個方案。

  • 購買三個方案,並為每個方案指定一個運算節點。

比較預留節點方案間的定價

Amazon Redshift 提供方案的數種付費選項。您選擇的付費選項會影響付費排程以及針對保留向您收費所使用的折扣費率。您為保留所支付的預付費用越多,整體所省下的費用越多。

下列付款選項可用於方案。方案是按照隨需費率時所省下費用由少至多來排列。

注意

無論您是否使用預留節點,都會針對在保留指定期間中的每小時以適用的小時費率向您收費。付費選項僅決定所適用的付費頻率與折扣。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 關於預留節點方案

比較預留節點方案
付款選項 付款排程 節省費用比較 持續時間 預付費用 經常性每月費用
不預付 保留期間的每月分期付款。無預付款項。 約隨需費率的 20% 折扣。 一年或三年
部分預付 保留期間的部分預付款和每月分期付款。 高達 41% 到 73% 折扣 (視期間而定)。 一年或三年
全額預付 保留的完整預付款。無每月費用. 高達 42% 到 76% 折扣 (視期間而定)。 一年或三年

特定選項和持續時間不一定都可供使用。

注意

如果您之前購買過 Amazon Redshift 的重度使用方案,則類似的方案為部分預付方案。

預留節點運作的方式

透過預留節點方案,您會根據先前章節中所述的付費期限來付款。不論您是否已有執行中的叢集,或在擁有保留後啟動叢集,付費方式都是如此。

購買方案時,保留的狀態為 payment-pending (待付款),直到保留進行處理為止。如果無法處理保留,狀態會顯示為 payment-failed (付款失敗) 且您可以再次嘗試該程序。在保留順利處理後,其狀態即會變成 active (作用中)。保留中的適用折扣費率在狀態變成 active (作用中) 前都不會加以套用。在保留期間過後,狀態會變更為 retired (淘汰),但您可以基於查證目的繼續存取保留的相關資訊。在保留為 retired (淘汰) 後,叢集會繼續執行,且系統可能會以隨需費率向您收費,除非您有另一個將打折定價套用至節點的保留。

預留節點專屬於您購買方案的區域。如果您使用 Amazon Redshift 主控台購買產品,請選取您要購買供應項目的 AWS 區域,然後完成預訂程序。如果您透過程式設計方式購買方案,會由您連接的 Amazon Redshift 端點來決定區域。如需 Amazon Redshift 區域的相關資訊,請前往《Amazon Web Services 一般參考》中的區域與端點

為了確保折扣費率會在您啟動叢集時套用至所有節點,請確保您選取的區域、節點類型和節點數符合一或多個作用中的保留。否則,將針對不符合作用中保留的節點以隨需費率向您收費。

如果您在執行中叢集的節點數超出了您所預留的數量,將會以隨需費率向您收取那些其他節點的累積費用。此累積費用表示相同叢集內節點的計費費率可能會因您預留的節點數量而有所不同。如果您購買另一個方案來涵蓋那些其他節點,則在保留狀態變為 active (可用) 時即會為剩餘期間向那些節點套用折扣費率。

如果您將叢集的大小重新調整為另一個節點類型,且您沒有預留該類型的節點,將會以隨需費率向您收取費用。如果您想要為重新調整大小的叢集接收折扣費率,您可以購買另一個方案搭配新的節點類型。然而,您也繼續支付原本的保留直到其期間結束。如果您在期限過期前需要變更保留,請使用 AWS 主控台建立支援案例。

預留節點和合併帳單

若購買帳戶是在單一合併帳單付款人帳戶下一組帳戶的一部分,則會共用預留節點的計費利益。所有子帳戶的小時用量每個月都會彙總到付款人的帳戶中。這通常對有不同功能團隊或群組的公司來說非常有用;然後,會套用標準預留節點邏輯計算帳單。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 AWS Billing 使用指南中的合併帳單

預留節點範例

此章節的使用案例會示範節點如何使用下列保留詳細資訊來根據隨需和折扣費率來累積費用:

  • 區域:美國西部 (奧勒岡)

  • 節點類型:加

  • 付款選項:無預付款

  • 期間:一年期

  • 預留節點數目:16

範例 1

您在美國西部 (奧勒岡) 區域中有一個叢集,其中包含 20 個節點。

在此使用案例中,16 個節點會接收保留中的折扣費率,而叢集中其他 4 個節點會以隨需費率向您收費。

範例 2

您在美國西部 (奧勒岡) 區域中有一個叢集,其中包含 12 個節點。

在此使用案例中,叢集中所有 12 個節點會從保留中接收折扣費率。然而,即使您目前沒有保留中剩餘預留節點適用的執行中叢集,您也仍需為它們支付費用。

範例 3

您在美國西部 (奧勒岡) 區域中有一個叢集,其中包含 12 個節點。您使用此組態執行叢集數月的時間,接著您需要將節點新增至叢集。您會重新調整叢集大小,選擇相同的節點類型並指定節點總數 16。

在此使用案例中,會針對 16 個節點以折扣費率向您收費。因為您在叢集中擁有的節點數與您預留的節點數相等,因此在全年期中對您的收費向保持相同。

範例 4

您在美國西部 (奧勒岡) 區域中有一個叢集,其中包含 16 個節點。您使用此組態執行叢集數月的時間,接著您需要新增節點。您會重新調整叢集大小,選擇相同的節點類型並指定節點總數 20。

在此使用案例中,在重新調整大小之前,會針對所有節點以折扣費率向您收費。在重新調整大小後,會在一年中剩下的時間針對 16 個節點以折扣費率向您收費,而針對您在叢集中新增的其他 4 個節點則會以隨需費率向您收費。

範例 5

您在美國西部 (奧勒岡) 區域有兩個叢集。其中一個叢集有 6 個節點,另一個叢集有 10 個節點。

在此使用案例中,因為兩個叢集中的節點總數與您預留的節點數相同,因此會以折扣費率針對所有節點向您收費。

範例 6

您在美國西部 (奧勒岡) 區域有兩個叢集。其中一個叢集有 4 個節點,另一個叢集有 6 個節點。

在此使用案例中,會針對您在執行中叢集中擁有的 10 個節點以折扣費率向您收費,而您也需為您預留的其他 6 個節點支付折扣費率 (即使您目前沒有它們所適用的執行中叢集)。

Menu
Amazon Redshift
Management Guide (API Version 2012-12-01)

Purchasing Amazon Redshift Reserved Nodes

Overview

In AWS, the charges that you accrue for using Amazon Redshift are based on compute nodes. Each compute node is billed at an hourly rate. The hourly rate varies depending on factors such as region, node type, and whether the node receives on-demand node pricing or reserved node pricing.

On-demand node pricing is the most expensive, but most flexible option in Amazon Redshift. With on-demand rates, you are charged only for compute nodes that you have in a running cluster. If you shut down or delete a cluster, you are no longer charged for compute nodes that were in that cluster. You are billed only for the compute nodes that you use, and no more. The hourly rate that you are charged for each compute node varies depending on factors such as region and node type.

Reserved node pricing is less expensive than on-demand pricing because compute nodes are billed at discounted hourly rates. However, to receive these discounted rates, you must purchase reserved node offerings. When you purchase an offering, you make a reservation. The reservation sets a discounted rate for each node that you reserve for the duration of the reservation. The discounted rate in an offering varies depending on factors such as the region, node type, duration, and payment option.

This topic discusses what reserved node offerings are and how you can purchase them to reduce the cost of running your Amazon Redshift clusters. This topic discusses rates in general terms as on-demand or discounted so you can understand pricing concepts and how pricing affects billing. For more information about specific rates, go to Amazon Redshift Pricing.

About Reserved Node Offerings

If you intend to keep your Amazon Redshift cluster running continuously for a prolonged period, you should consider purchasing reserved node offerings. These offerings provide significant savings over on-demand pricing, but they require you to reserve compute nodes and commit to paying for those nodes for either a one-year or three-year duration.

Reserved nodes are a billing concept that is used strictly to determine the rate at which you are charged for nodes. Reserving a node does not actually create any nodes for you. You are charged for reserved nodes regardless of usage, which means that you must pay for each node that you reserve for the duration of the reservation, whether or not you have any nodes in a running cluster to which the discounted rate applies.

In the evaluation phase of your project or when you’re developing a proof of concept, on-demand pricing gives you the flexibility to pay as you go, to pay only for what you use, and to stop paying at any time by shutting down or deleting clusters. After you have established the needs of your production environment and begin the implementation phase, you should consider reserving compute nodes by purchasing one or more offerings.

An offering can apply to one or more compute nodes. You specify the number of compute nodes to reserve when you purchase the offering. You might choose to purchase one offering for multiple compute nodes, or you might choose to purchase multiple offerings and specify a certain number of compute nodes in each offering.

For example, any of the following are valid ways to purchase an offering for three compute nodes:

  • Purchase one offering and specify three compute nodes.

  • Purchase two offerings, and specify one compute node for the first offering and two compute nodes for the second offering.

  • Purchase three offerings, and specify one compute node for each of the offerings.

Comparing Pricing Among Reserved Node Offerings

Amazon Redshift provides several payment options for offerings. The payment option that you choose affects the payment schedule and the discounted rate that you are charged for the reservation. The more that you pay upfront for the reservation, the better the overall savings are.

The following payment options are available for offerings. The offerings are listed in order from least to most savings over on-demand rates.

Note

You are charged the applicable hourly rate for every hour in the specified duration of the reservation, regardless of whether you use the reserved node or not. The payment option just determines the frequency of payments and the discount to be applied. For more information, see About Reserved Node Offerings.

Comparing Reserved Node Offerings

Payment Option Payment Schedule Comparative Savings Duration Upfront Charges Recurring Monthly Charges
No Upfront Monthly installments for the duration of the reservation. No upfront payment. About a 20 percent discount over on-demand rates. One-year term None Yes
Partial Upfront Partial upfront payment, and monthly installments for the duration of the reservation. Up to 41 percent to 73 percent discount depending on duration. One-year or three-year term Yes Yes
All Upfront Full upfront payment for the reservation. No monthly charges. Up to 42 percent to 76 percent discount depending on duration. One-year or three-year term Yes None

Note

If you previously purchased Heavy Utilization offerings for Amazon Redshift, the comparable offering is the Partial Upfront offering.

How Reserved Nodes Work

With reserved node offerings, you pay according to the payment terms as described in the preceding section. You pay this way whether you already have a running cluster or you launch a cluster after you have a reservation.

When you purchase an offering, your reservation has a status of payment-pending until the reservation is processed. If the reservation fails to be processed, the status displays as payment-failed and you can try the process again. Once your reservation is successfully processed, its status changes to active. The applicable discounted rate in your reservation is not applied to your bill until the status changes to active. After the reservation duration elapses, the status changes to retired but you can continue to access information about the reservation for historical purposes. When a reservation is retired, your clusters continue to run but you might be billed at the on-demand rate unless you have another reservation that applies discounted pricing to the nodes.

Reserved nodes are specific to the region in which you purchase the offering. If you purchase an offering by using the Amazon Redshift console, select the AWS region in which you want to purchase an offering, and then complete the reservation process. If you purchase an offering programmatically, the region is determined by the Amazon Redshift endpoint that you connect to. For more information about Amazon Redshift regions, go to Regions and Endpoints in the Amazon Web Services General Reference.

To ensure that the discounted rate is applied to all of the nodes when you launch a cluster, make sure that the region, the node type, and the number of nodes that you select match one or more active reservations. Otherwise, you’ll be charged at the on-demand rate for nodes that don’t match an active reservation.

In a running cluster, if you exceed the number of nodes that you have reserved, you begin to accrue charges for those additional nodes at the on-demand rate. This accrual means that it is possible for you to be charged varying rates for nodes in the same cluster depending on how many nodes you’ve reserved. You can purchase another offering to cover those additional nodes, and then the discounted rate is applied to those nodes for the remainder of the duration once the reservation status becomes active.

If you resize your cluster into a different node type and you haven’t reserved nodes of that type, you’ll be charged at the on-demand rate. You can purchase another offering with the new node type if you want to receive discounted rates for your resized cluster. However, you also continue to pay for the original reservation until its duration elapses. If you need to alter your reservations before the term expires, please create a support case using the AWS Console.

Reserved Nodes and Consolidated Billing

The pricing benefits of Reserved Nodes are shared when the purchasing account is part of a set of accounts billed under one consolidated billing payer account. The hourly usage across all sub-accounts is aggregated in the payer account every month. This is typically useful for companies in which there are different functional teams or groups; then, the normal Reserved Nodes logic is applied to calculate the bill. For more information, see Consolidated Billing in the AWS Billing and Cost Management User Guide.

Reserved Node Examples

The scenarios in this section demonstrate how nodes accrue charges based on on-demand and discounted rates using the following reservation details:

  • Region: US West (Oregon)

  • Node Type: ds1.xlarge

  • Payment Option: No Upfront

  • Duration: one year

  • Number of Reserved Nodes: 16

Example 1

You have one ds1.xlarge cluster in the US West (Oregon) region with 20 nodes.

In this scenario, 16 of the nodes receive the discounted rate from the reservation, but the additional 4 nodes in the cluster are billed at the on-demand rate.

Example 2

You have one ds1.xlarge cluster in the US West (Oregon) region with 12 nodes.

In this scenario, all 12 nodes in the cluster receive the discounted rate from the reservation. However, you also pay for the remaining reserved nodes in the reservation even though you don't currently have a running cluster to which they apply.

Example 3

You have one ds1.xlarge cluster in the US West (Oregon) region with 12 nodes. You run the cluster for several months with this configuration, and then you need to add nodes to the cluster. You resize the cluster, choosing the same node type and specifying a total of 16 nodes.

In this scenario, you are billed the discounted rate for 16 nodes. Your charges remain the same for the full year duration because the number of nodes that you have in the cluster is equal to the number of nodes that you have reserved.

Example 4

You have one ds1.xlarge cluster in the US West (Oregon) region with 16 nodes. You run the cluster for several months with this configuration, and then you need to add nodes. You resize the cluster, choosing the same node type and specifying a total of 20 nodes.

In this scenario, you are billed the discounted rate for all the nodes prior to the resize. After the resize, you are billed the discounted rate for 16 of the nodes for the rest of the year, and you are billed at the on-demand rate for the additional 4 nodes that you added to the cluster.

Example 5

You have two ds1.xlarge clusters in the US West (Oregon) region. One of the clusters has 6 nodes, and the other has 10 nodes.

In this scenario, you are billed at the discounted rate for all of the nodes because the total number of nodes in both clusters is equal to the number of nodes that you have reserved.

Example 6

You have two ds1.xlarge clusters in the US West (Oregon) region. One of the clusters has 4 nodes, and the other has 6 nodes.

In this scenario, you are billed the discounted rate for the 10 nodes that you have in running clusters, and you also pay the discounted rate for the additional 6 nodes that you have reserved even though you don't currently have any running clusters to which they apply.

On this page: