列出并筛选您的资源 - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

列出并筛选您的资源

您可以使用 Amazon EC2 控制台获取某些类型的资源的列表。您可以使用相应命令或 API 操作获取每种类型的资源的列表。如果您拥有许多资源,可以筛选结果以仅包含或排除符合特定标准的资源。

使用控制台列出并筛选资源

使用控制台列出资源

您可以使用控制台查看最常用的 Amazon EC2 资源类型。要查看其他资源,请使用命令行界面或 API 操作。

要使用控制台列出 EC2 资源

  1. 通过以下网址打开 Amazon EC2 控制台:https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择与资源类型对应的选项。例如,要列出实例,请选择实例

    该页面显示所选资源类型的所有资源。

使用控制台筛选资源

筛选资源列表

  1. 在导航窗格中,选择资源类型 (例如,Instances)。

  2. 选择搜索字段。

  3. 从列表中选择筛选条件。

  4. 选择运算符,例如 =(等于)。某些属性具有更多可供选择的运算符。请注意,并非所有页面都支持选择运算符。

  5. 选择筛选条件值。

  6. 要编辑选定的筛选条件,请选择过滤条件令牌(蓝色框),进行所需的编辑,然后选择 Apply(应用)。请注意,并非所有页面都支持编辑选定的筛选条件。

    
							编辑筛选条件。
  7. 完成后,删除筛选条件。

Amazon EC2 控制台之间的搜索和筛选功能略有不同。

新控制台支持两种类型的筛选。

  • API 筛选发生在服务器端。该筛选应用于 API 调用,可减少服务器返回的资源数量。它可以对大型资源集进行快速筛选,并可降低服务器和浏览器之间的数据传输时间和成本。API 筛选支持 =(等于)和 :(包含)运算符,并且始终区分大小写。

  • 客户端筛选发生在客户端。它可以对浏览器中现有的数据(也就是 API 已返回的数据)进行筛选。客户端筛选与 API 筛选结合使用,可以在浏览器中筛选出较小的数据集。除 =(等于)和 :(包含)运算符外,客户端筛选还可以支持范围运算符 [例如 >=(大于等于)] 和否定(反向)运算符 [例如 !=(不等于)]。

新 Amazon EC2 控制台支持以下类型的搜索:

按关键字搜索

按关键词搜索是一种自由文本搜索,可让您在所有资源属性或标签中搜索特定的值,而无需指定要搜索的属性或标签键。

注意

所有关键字搜索都使用客户端筛选

要按关键字进行搜索,请在搜索框中输入或粘贴要查找的内容,然后按 Enter。例如,搜索 123 时将会比对任何属性(例如 IP 地址、实例 ID、VPC ID 或 AMI ID)或任何标签(例如 Name)中包含 123 的所有实例。如果自由文本搜索返回不需要的匹配项,请再应用其他筛选条件。

按属性搜索

按属性搜索可让您在所有资源中搜索特定属性。

注意

属性搜索可以使用 API 筛选客户端筛选,具体取决于所选的属性。执行属性搜索时,会相应地对属性进行分组。

例如,您可以搜索所有实例的 Instance state 属性,以便仅返回处于 stopped 状态的实例。要实现此目的,应按照以下步骤进行:

  1. 实例屏幕上的搜索字段中,开始输入 Instance state。输入字符时,实例状态将显示两种类型的筛选条件:API 筛选条件客户端筛选条件

  2. 要在服务器端进行搜索,请在 API 筛选条件下选择 实例状态。要在客户端进行搜索,请在客户端筛选条件下选择实例状态(客户端)

    这时会显示所选属性的可能运算符列表。

  3. 选择 =(等于)运算符。

    这时会显示所选属性和运算符的可能值列表。

  4. 从列表中选择已停止

按标签搜索

借助按标签搜索功能,您可以按标签键或标签值来筛选当前显示的表中的资源。

标签搜索使用 API 筛选客户端筛选方式,具体取决于 Preferences(首选项)窗口中的设置。

确保对标签执行 API 筛选

  1. 打开 Preferences(首选项)窗口。

  2. 清除 Use regular expression matching(使用正则表达式匹配)复选框。如果选中此复选框,则将执行客户端筛选。

  3. 选择 Use case sensitive matching(使用区分大小写的匹配)复选框。如果清除了此复选框,则将执行客户端筛选。

  4. 选择 Confirm(确认)。

按标签搜索时,您可以使用以下值:

  • (空) – 查找具有指定标签键,但必须不具有标签值的所有资源。

  • All values(所有值)– 查找具有指定标签键和任何标签值的所有资源。

  • Not tagged(未添加标签)– 搜索不具有指定标签键的所有资源。

  • 显示的值 – 查找具有指定标签键和指定标签值的所有资源。

您可以使用以下技术来增强或优化搜索:

逆向搜索

反向搜索可让您搜索与指定的值匹配的资源。在 Instances(实例)和 AMI 屏幕中,反向搜索的方法是首先选择 !=(不等于)或 !:(不包含)运算符,然后选择一个值。在其他屏幕中,反向搜索的执行方式是在搜索关键词前面加上感叹号(!)字符。

注意

只有客户端筛选条件上的关键字搜索和属性搜索支持反向搜索。API 筛选条件上的属性搜索不支持它。

例如,您可以搜索所有实例的实例状态属性,以便包含处于 terminated 状态的所有实例。要实现此目的,应按照以下步骤进行:

  1. 实例屏幕上的搜索字段中,开始输入 Instance state。输入字符时,实例状态将显示两种类型的筛选条件:API 筛选条件客户端筛选条件

  2. Client filters(客户端筛选条件)下,选择 Instance state (client) [实例状态(客户端)]。只有客户端筛选条件支持反向搜索。

    这时会显示所选属性的可能运算符列表。

  3. 选择 !=(不等于),然后选择 terminated(已终止)。

要根据实例状态属性筛选实例,您还可以使用实例状态列中的搜索图标 ( )。带加号 (+) 的搜索图标将显示与该属性匹配的所有实例。带减号 (-) 的搜索图标将排除与该属性匹配的所有实例。

以下是使用反向搜索的另一个示例:要列出分配名为 launch-wizard-1 的安全组的所有实例,则在 Client filters(客户端筛选条件)下,按 Security group name(安全组名称)属性进行搜索,然后选择 != 并在搜索栏中输入 launch-wizard-1

部分搜索

使用部分搜索,可以搜索部分字符串值。要执行部分搜索,请仅输入要搜索的关键字的一部分。在 Instances(实例)和 AMI 屏幕中,部分搜索只能通过 :(包含)运算符来执行。在其他屏幕中,您可以选择该客户端筛选条件属性,然后立即仅输入要搜索的关键词的一部分。例如,在 Instance type(实例类型)屏幕上,要搜索所有 t2.microt2.smallt2.medium 实例,则按 Instance Type(实例类型)属性进行搜索,然后输入关键词 t2

正则表达式搜索

要使用正则表达式搜索,必须在 Preferences(首选项)中选中 Use regular expression matching(使用正则表达式匹配)复选框。

当需要匹配字段中具有特定模式的值时,可以使用正则表达式。例如,要搜索以 s 开头的值,请搜索 ^s。要搜索以 xyz 结尾的值,请搜索 xyz$。或者要搜索以数字开头,后跟一个或多个字符的值,请搜索 [0-9]+.*

注意

只有客户端筛选条件上的关键字搜索和属性搜索支持正则表达式搜索。API 筛选条件上的属性搜索不支持它。

区分大小写搜索

要使用区分大小写搜索功能,必须在 Preferences(首选项)窗口中选择 Use case sensitive matching(使用区分大小写的匹配)复选框。区分大小写的首选项仅适用于客户端筛选条件和标签筛选条件。

注意

API 筛选条件始终区分大小写。

通配符搜索

使用 * 通配符匹配零个或多个字符。使用 ? 通配符匹配零个或一个字符。例如,假设您有一个包含值 prodprods、和 production 的数据集,搜索 prod* 将会匹配所有值,而 prod? 只匹配 prodprods。要使用文字值,请使用反斜杠(\)进行转义。例如,“prod\*”将匹配 prod*

注意

仅 API 筛选条件上的属性和标签搜索支持通配符搜索。客户端筛选条件上的关键词搜索以及属性和标签搜索不支持通配符。

合并搜索

通常,具有相同属性的多个筛选条件会自动以 OR 连接。例如,搜索 Instance State : RunningInstance State : Stopped 会返回正在运行或已停止的所有实例。要使用 AND 连接搜索,请跨不同的属性进行搜索。例如,搜索 Instance State : RunningInstance Type : c4.large 只会返回为类型为 c4.large 且处于运行状态的实例。

旧 Amazon EC2 控制台支持以下类型的搜索:

按关键字搜索

按关键字搜索是一种自由文本搜索,可让您在所有资源属性中搜索特定的值。要按关键字进行搜索,请在搜索框中输入或粘贴要查找的内容,然后按 Enter。例如,搜索 123 会匹配其任何属性(例如 IP 地址、实例 ID、VPC ID 或 AMI ID)中包含 123 的所有实例。如果自由文本搜索返回不需要的匹配项,请再应用其他筛选条件。

按属性搜索

按属性搜索可让您在所有资源中搜索特定属性。例如,您可以搜索所有实例的 State 属性,以便仅返回处于 stopped 状态的实例。要实现此目的,应按照以下步骤进行:

  1. 在“实例”屏幕上的搜索字段中,开始输入 Instance State。随着您的输入,页面上会显示匹配属性的列表。

  2. 从列表中选择 Instance State (实例状态)。此时页面上会显示所选属性的可能值列表。

  3. 从列表中选择 Stopped

您可以使用以下技术来增强或优化搜索:

反向搜索

反向搜索可让您搜索与指定的值匹配的资源。反向搜索是通过在搜索关键字前面加上感叹号 (!) 字符来执行的。例如,如果要列出所有终止的实例,请按 Instance State 属性进行搜索,然后输入关键字 !Terminated

部分搜索

使用部分搜索,可以搜索部分字符串值。要执行部分搜索,请仅输入要搜索的关键字的一部分。例如,要搜索所有 t2.microt2.smallt2.medium 实例,请按 Instance Type 属性进行搜索,然后输入关键字 t2

正则表达式搜索

当需要匹配字段中具有特定模式的值时,可以使用正则表达式。例如,如果要搜索具有以 s 开头的属性值的所有实例,请搜索 ^s。或者要搜索具有以 xyz 结尾的属性值的所有实例,请搜索 xyz$。正则表达式搜索不区分大小写。

合并搜索

通常,具有相同属性的多个筛选条件会自动以 OR 连接。例如,搜索 Instance State : RunningInstance State : Stopped 会返回正在运行或已停止的所有实例。要使用 AND 连接搜索,请跨不同的属性进行搜索。例如,搜索 Instance State : RunningInstance Type : c4.large 只会返回为 c4.large 且处于停止状态的实例。

使用 CLI 和 API 列出并筛选

每个资源类型都有相应的 CLI 命令和 API 操作,您可用来列出该类型的资源。生成的资源列表可能很长,因此筛选结果以仅包括符合特定条件的资源可能会更快、更有用。

筛选注意事项

  • 您可以在单一请求中指定多个筛选条件和多个筛选条件值。

  • 您可以将通配符与筛选值一同使用。星号 (*) 匹配零个或多个字符,而问号 (?) 匹配零个或一个字符。

  • 筛选值区分大小写。

  • 您的搜索中可包含通配符的字面值;您只需要在字符前用反斜线隔开字符。例如,用 \*amazon\?\\ 值搜索文字字符串 *amazon?\

支持的筛选条件

要查看每个 Amazon EC2 资源支持的筛选条件,请参阅以下文档:

例 示例:指定单个筛选条件

您可以使用 describe-instances 实例列出您的 Amazon EC2 实例。如果没有筛选条件,响应将包含您的所有资源的信息。您可以使用以下命令在输出中仅包含正在运行的实例。

aws ec2 describe-instances --filters Name=instance-state-name,Values=running

要仅列出正在运行的实例的实例 ID,请按如下方式添加 --query 参数。

aws ec2 describe-instances --filters Name=instance-state-name,Values=running --query "Reservations[*].Instances[*].InstanceId" --output text

下面是示例输出。

i-0ef1f57f78d4775a4 i-0626d4edd54f1286d i-04a636d18e83cfacb

例 示例:指定多个筛选条件或筛选条件值

如果指定多个筛选条件或多个筛选条件值,则资源必须与所有筛选条件匹配才能包括在结果中。

您可以使用以下命令列出类型为 m5.largem5d.large 的所有实例。

aws ec2 describe-instances --filters Name=instance-type,Values=m5.large,m5d.large

您可以使用以下命令列出类型为 t2.micro 的所有已停止实例。

aws ec2 describe-instances --filters Name=instance-state-name,Values=stopped Name=instance-type,Values=t2.micro

例 示例:在筛选条件值中使用通配符

如果在使用 describe-snapshots 描述 EBS 快照时将 database 指定为 description 筛选条件的筛选条件值,则该命令将仅返回描述为“database”的快照。

aws ec2 describe-snapshots --filters Name=description,Values=database

* 通配符可与零个或多个字符匹配。如果将 *database* 指定为筛选条件值,则该命令将仅返回其描述包含“database”一词的快照。

aws ec2 describe-snapshots --filters Name=description,Values=*database*

? 通配符完全匹配 1 个字符。如果指定 database? 作为筛选条件值,该命令将仅返回描述为“database”或“database”后跟一个字符的快照。

aws ec2 describe-snapshots --filters Name=description,Values=database?

如果指定 database????,该命令将仅返回其描述为“数据库”后跟最多四个字符的快照。它不包括带有“数据库”后跟五个或更多字符的说明。

aws ec2 describe-snapshots --filters Name=description,Values=database????

例 示例:基于日期进行筛选

使用 AWS CLI,您可以使用 JMESPath 通过表达式来筛选结果。例如,以下 describe-snapshots 命令显示您的 AWS 账户在指定日期(由 2020-03-31 表示)之前创建的所有快照的 ID(由 123456789012 表示)。如果未指定所有者,则结果将包括所有公有快照。

aws ec2 describe-snapshots --filters Name=owner-id,Values=123456789012 --query "Snapshots[?(StartTime<='2020-03-31')].[SnapshotId]" --output text

以下命令显示在指定日期范围内创建的所有快照的 ID。

aws ec2 describe-snapshots --filters Name=owner-id,Values=123456789012 --query "Snapshots[?(StartTime>='2019-01-01') && (StartTime<='2019-12-31')].[SnapshotId]" --output text

基于标签进行筛选

有关如何根据资源标签筛选资源列表的示例,请参阅通过命令行使用标签

使用 Amazon EC2 全局视图列出和筛选跨区域的资源

通过 Amazon EC2 全局视图,您可以在单个控制台中跨单个 AWS 区域或跨多个区域查看一些 Amazon EC2 和 Amazon VPC 资源。使用 Amazon EC2 全局视图,您可以查看跨已启用 AWS 账户的所有区域的所有 VPC、子网、实例、安全组和卷的摘要。Amazon EC2 全局视图还提供 global search(全局搜索)功能,让您能同时搜索多个区域中的特定资源或特定资源类型。

Amazon EC2 全局视图不允许您以任何方式修改资源。

所需权限

IAM 用户必须具有以下权限才能使用 Amazon EC2 全局视图。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "ec2:DescribeInstances", "ec2:DescribeVpcs", "ec2:DescribeRegions", "ec2:DescribeVolumes", "ec2:DescribeSubnets", "ec2:DescribeSecurityGroups" ], "Resource": "*" }] }

使用 Amazon EC2 全局视图

通过以下网址打开 Amazon EC2 全局视图控制台:https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2globalview/home

控制台由两个选项卡组成:

  • Region explorer(区域资源管理器) — 此选项卡包括以下各节:

    • Resource summary(资源摘要) — 高度概述了所有区域资源的情况。

      Enabled Regions(启用的区域)表示已启用您的 AWS 账户的区域数量。剩余字段表示您当前在这些区域中拥有的资源数量。选择任何链接以查看所有区域该类型的资源。例如,如果 Instances(实例)标签以下的链接是 29 in 10 Regions(10 个区域中的 29 个),它表示您当前在 10 个区域有 29 个实例。选择该链接以查看所有 29 个实例的列表。

    • Resource counts per Region(每个区域的资源数) — 列出所有 AWS 区域(包括未启用您的账户的区域),并提供每个区域每种资源类型的总计。

      选择区域名称,以查看该特定区域所有类型的所有资源。例如,选择 Africa (Cape Town) af-south-1(非洲(开普敦)af-south-1)可查看该区域中的所有 VPC、子网、实例、安全组和卷。或者,选择一个区域,然后选择 View resources for selected Region(查看所选区域的资源)。

      选择特定区域中特定资源类型的值,以便仅查看该区域中该类型的资源。例如,选择 Africa (Cape Town) af-south-1(非洲(开普敦)af-south-1)实例的值,以仅查看该区域中的实例。

  • Global search(全局搜索) — 使用此选项卡,您可以在单个区域或跨多个区域搜索特定资源或特定资源类型。它还使您能够查看特定资源的详细信息。

    要搜索资源,请在网格前面的字段中输入搜索条件。您可以按区域、按资源类型以及按分配给资源的标签进行搜索。

    要查看特定资源的详细信息,请在网格中选中。您也可以选择资源的资源 ID,以在各自的控制台中打开该资源。例如,选择实例 ID 以在 Amazon EC2 控制台中打开实例,或选择子网 ID 以在 Amazon VPC 控制台中打开子网。

List and filter your resources - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

List and filter your resources

You can get a list of some types of resources using the Amazon EC2 console. You can get a list of each type of resource using its corresponding command or API action. If you have many resources, you can filter the results to include, or exclude, only the resources that match certain criteria.

List and filter resources using the console

List resources using the console

You can view the most common Amazon EC2 resource types using the console. To view additional resources, use the command line interface or the API actions.

To list EC2 resources using the console

  1. Open the Amazon EC2 console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose the option that corresponds to the resource type. For example, to list your instances, choose Instances.

    The page displays all resources of the selected resource type.

Filter resources using the console

To filter a list of resources

  1. In the navigation pane, select a resource type (for example, Instances).

  2. Choose the search field.

  3. Choose the filter from the list.

  4. Choose a filter value.

  5. When you are finished, remove the filter.

The search and filter functionality differs slightly between the old and new Amazon EC2 console.

The new console supports two types of filtering.

  • API filtering happens on the server side. The filtering is applied on the API call, which reduces the number of resources returned by the server. It allows for quick filtering across large sets of resources, and it can reduce data transfer time and cost between the server and the browser.

  • Client filtering happens on the client side. It enables you to filter down on data that is already available in the browser (in other words, data that has already been returned by the API). Client filtering works well in conjunction with an API filter to filter down to smaller data sets in the browser.

The new Amazon EC2 console supports the following types of searches:

Search by keyword

Searching by keyword is a free text search that lets you search for a value across all of your resources' attributes, without specifying an attribute to search.

Note

All keyword searches use client filtering.

To search by keyword, enter or paste what you’re looking for in the search field, and then choose Enter. For example, searching for 123 matches all instances that have 123 in any of their attributes, such as an IP address, instance ID, VPC ID, or AMI ID. If your free text search returns unexpected matches, apply additional filters.

Search by attributes

Searching by an attribute lets you search a specific attribute across all of your resources.

Note

Attribute searches use either API filtering or client filtering, depending on the selected attribute. When performing an attribute search, the attributes are grouped accordingly.

For example, you can search the Instance state attribute for all of your instances to return only instances that are in the stopped state. To do this:

  1. In the search field on the Instances screen, start entering Instance state. As you enter the characters, the two types of filters appear for Instance state: API filters and Client filters.

  2. To search on the server side, choose Instance state under API filters. To search on the client side, choose Instance state (client) under Client filters.

    A list of possible values for the selected attribute appears.

  3. Choose stopped from the list.

You can use the following techniques to enhance or refine your searches:

Inverse search

Inverse searches let you search for resources that do not match a specified value. Inverse searches are performed by prefixing the search keyword with the exclamation mark (!) character.

Note

Inverse search is supported with keyword searches and attribute searches on client filters only. It is not supported with attribute searches on API filters.

For example, you can search the Instance state attribute for all of your instances to exclude all instances that are in the terminated state. To do this:

  1. In the search field on the Instances screen, start entering Instance state. As you enter the characters, the two types of filters appear for Instance state: API filters and Client filters.

  2. Choose Instance state (client). Inverse search is only supported on client filters.

    A list of possible values for the selected attribute appears.

  3. Enter ! (exclamation mark) to display the inverse filters.

  4. Choose !terminated from the list.

To filter instances based on an instance state attribute, you can also use the search icons ( ) in the Instance state column. The search icon with a plus sign ( + ) displays all the instances that match that attribute. The search icon with a minus sign ( - ) excludes all instances that match that attribute.

Here is another example of using the inverse search: To list all instances that are not assigned the security group named launch-wizard-1, search by the Security group name attribute, and for the keyword, enter !launch-wizard-1.

Partial search

With partial searches, you can search for partial string values. To perform a partial search, enter only a part of the keyword that you want to search for. For example, to search for all t2.micro, t2.small, and t2.medium instances, search by the Instance Type attribute, and for the keyword, enter t2.

Note

Partial search is supported with keyword searches and attribute searches on client filters only. It is not supported with attribute searches on API filters.

Regular expression search

To use regular expression searches, you must enable Use regular expression matching in the Preferences.

Regular expressions are useful when you need to match the values in a field with a specific pattern. For example, to search for a value that starts with s, search for ^s. To search for a value that ends with xyz, search for xyz$. Or to search for a value that starts with a number that is followed by one or more characters, search for [0-9]+.*. Regular expression searches are not case-sensitive.

Note

Regular expression search is supported with keyword searches and attribute searches on client filters only. It is not supported with attribute searches on API filters.

Wildcard search

Use the * wildcard to match zero or more characters. Use the ? wildcard to match zero or one character. For example, if you have a data set with the following values: prod, prods, and production; "prod*" matches all values, whereas "prod?" matches only prod and prods. To use the literals values, escape them with a backslash (\). For example, "prod\*" would match prod*.

Note

Wildcard search is supported with attribute searches on API filters only. It is not supported with keyword searches and attribute searches on client filters only.

Combining searches

In general, multiple filters with the same attribute are automatically joined with OR. For example, searching for Instance State : Running and Instance State : Stopped returns all instances that are either running OR stopped. To join search with AND, search across different attributes. For example, searching for Instance State : Running and Instance Type : c4.large returns only instances that are of type c4.large AND that are in the stopped state.

The old Amazon EC2 console supports the following types of searches:

Search by keyword

Searching by keyword is a free text search that lets you search for a value across all of your resources' attributes. To search by keyword, enter or paste what you’re looking for in the search field, and then choose Enter. For example, searching for 123 matches all instances that have 123 in any of their attributes, such as an IP address, instance ID, VPC ID, or AMI ID. If your free text search returns unexpected matches, apply additional filters.

Search by attributes

Searching by an attribute lets you search a specific attribute across all of your resources. For example, you can search the State attribute for all of your instances to return only instances that are in the stopped state. To do this:

  1. In the search field on the Instances screen, start entering Instance State. As you enter characters, a list of matching attributes appears.

  2. Select Instance State from the list. A list of possible values for the selected attribute appears.

  3. Select Stopped from the list.

You can use the following techniques to enhance or refine your searches:

Inverse search

Inverse searches let you search for resources that do not match a specified value. Inverse searches are performed by prefixing the search keyword with the exclamation mark (!) character. For example, to list all instances that are not terminated, search by the Instance State attribute, and for the keyword, enter !Terminated.

Partial search

With partial searches, you can search for partial string values. To perform a partial search, enter only a part of the keyword you want to search for. For example, to search for all t2.micro, t2.small, and t2.medium instances, search by the Instance Type attribute, and for the keyword, enter t2.

Regular expression search

Regular expressions are useful when you need to match the values in a field with a specific pattern. For example, to search for all instances that have an attribute value that starts with s, search for ^s. Or to search for all instances that have an attribute value that ends with xyz, search for xyz$. Regular expression searches are not case-sensitive.

Combining searches

In general, multiple filters with the same attribute are automatically joined with OR. For example, searching for Instance State : Running and Instance State : Stopped returns all instances that are either running OR stopped. To join search with AND, search across different attributes. For example, searching for Instance State : Running and Instance Type : c4.large returns only instances that are of type c4.large AND that are in the stopped state.

List and filter using the CLI and API

Each resource type has a corresponding CLI command and API action that you use to list resources of that type. The resulting lists of resources can be long, so it can be faster and more useful to filter the results to include only the resources that match specific criteria.

Filtering considerations

  • You can specify multiple filters and multiple filter values in a single request.

  • You can use wildcards with the filter values. An asterisk (*) matches zero or more characters, and a question mark (?) matches zero or one character.

  • Filter values are case sensitive.

  • Your search can include the literal values of the wildcard characters; you just need to escape them with a backslash before the character. For example, a value of \*amazon\?\\ searches for the literal string *amazon?\.

Supported filters

To see the supported filters for each Amazon EC2 resource, see the following documentation:

Example: Specify a single filter

You can list your Amazon EC2 instances using describe-instances. Without filters, the response contains information for all of your resources. You can use the following command to include only the running instances in your output.

aws ec2 describe-instances --filters Name=instance-state-name,Values=running

To list only the instance IDs for your running instances, add the --query parameter as follows.

aws ec2 describe-instances --filters Name=instance-state-name,Values=running --query "Reservations[*].Instances[*].InstanceId" --output text

The following is example output.

i-0ef1f57f78d4775a4 i-0626d4edd54f1286d i-04a636d18e83cfacb

Example: Specify multiple filters or filter values

If you specify multiple filters or multiple filter values, the resource must match all filters to be included in the results.

You can use the following command to list all instances whose type is either m5.large or m5d.large.

aws ec2 describe-instances --filters Name=instance-type,Values=m5.large,m5d.large

You can use the following command to list all stopped instances whose type is t2.micro.

aws ec2 describe-instances --filters Name=instance-state-name,Values=stopped Name=instance-type,Values=t2.micro

Example: Use wildcards in a filter value

If you specify database as the filter value for the description filter when describing EBS snapshots using describe-snapshots, the command returns only the snapshots whose description is "database".

aws ec2 describe-snapshots --filters Name=description,Values=database

The * wildcard matches zero or more characters. If you specify *database* as the filter value, the command returns only snapshots whose description includes the word database.

aws ec2 describe-snapshots --filters Name=description,Values=*database*

The ? wildcard matches exactly 1 character. If you specify database? as the filter value, the command returns only snapshots whose description is "database" or "database" followed by one character.

aws ec2 describe-snapshots --filters Name=description,Values=database?

If you specify database????, the command returns only snapshots whose description is "database" followed by up to four characters. It excludes descriptions with "database" followed by five or more characters.

aws ec2 describe-snapshots --filters Name=description,Values=database????

Example: Filter based on date

With the AWS CLI, you can use JMESPath to filter results using expressions. For example, the following describe-snapshots command displays the IDs of all snapshots created by your AWS account (represented by 123456789012) before the specified date (represented by 2020-03-31). If you do not specify the owner, the results include all public snapshots.

aws ec2 describe-snapshots --filters Name=owner-id,Values=123456789012 --query "Snapshots[?(StartTime<='2020-03-31')].[SnapshotId]" --output text

The following command displays the IDs of all snapshots created in the specified date range.

aws ec2 describe-snapshots --filters Name=owner-id,Values=123456789012 --query "Snapshots[?(StartTime>='2019-01-01') && (StartTime<='2019-12-31')].[SnapshotId]" --output text

Filter based on tags

For examples of how to filter a list of resources according to their tags, see Work with tags using the command line.

List and filter resources across Regions using Amazon EC2 Global View

Amazon EC2 Global View enables you to view some of your Amazon EC2 and Amazon VPC resources across a single AWS Region, or across multiple Regions in a single console. Using Amazon EC2 Global View, you can view a summary of all of your VPCs, subnets, instances, security groups, and volumes across all of the Regions for which your AWS account is enabled. Amazon EC2 Global View also provides global search functionality that lets you search for specific resources or specific resource types across multiple Regions simultaneously.

Amazon EC2 Global View does not let you modify resources in any way.

Required permissions

An IAM user must have the following permissions to use Amazon EC2 Global View.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "ec2:DescribeInstances", "ec2:DescribeVpcs", "ec2:DescribeRegions", "ec2:DescribeVolumes", "ec2:DescribeSubnets", "ec2:DescribeSecurityGroups" ], "Resource": "*" }] }

To use Amazon EC2 Global View

Open the Amazon EC2 Global View console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2globalview/home.

The console consists of two tabs:

  • Region explorer—This tab includes the following sections:

    • Resource summary—Provides a high-level overview of your resources across all Regions.

      Enabled Regions indicates the number of Regions for which your AWS account is enabled. The remaining fields indicate the number of resources that you currently have in those Regions. Choose any of the links to view the resources of that type across all Regions. For example, if the link below the Instances label is 29 in 10 Regions, it indicates that you currently have 29 instances across 10 Regions. Choose the link to view a list of all 29 instances.

    • Resource counts per Region—Lists all of the AWS Regions (including those for which your account is not enabled) and provides totals for each resource type for each Region.

      Choose a Region name to view all resources of all types for that specific Region. For example, choose Africa (Cape Town) af-south-1 to view all VPCs, subnets, instances, security groups, and volumes in that Region. Alternatively, select a Region and choose View resources for selected Region.

      Choose the value for a specific resource type in a specific Region to view only resources of that type in that Region. For example, choose the value for Instances for Africa (Cape Town) af-south-1 to view only the instances in that Region.

  • Global search—This tab enables you to search for specific resources or specific resource types across a single Region or across multiple Regions. It also enables you to view details for a specific resource.

    To search for resources, enter the search criteria in the field preceding the grid. You can search by Region, by resource type, and by the tags assigned to resources.

    To view the details for a specific resource, select it in the grid. You can also choose the resource ID of a resource to open it in its respective console. For example, choose an instance ID to open the instance in the Amazon EC2 console, or choose a subnet ID to open the subnet in the Amazon VPC console.