升级引擎版本 - Amazon ElastiCache for Redis

升级引擎版本

您可以控制是否及何时将支持缓存集群、符合协议标准的软件升级到 ElastiCache 所支持的新版本。此级别的控制使您能够与特定版本保持兼容、在生产中部署进行之前使用应用程序测试新版本以及根据自己的条件和时间表执行版本升级。

因为版本升级可能会涉及到某些兼容性风险,因此版本升级不会自动发生。您必须启动它们。

可以通过修改集群或复制组并指定新的引擎版本,对您的集群或复制组启动引擎版本升级。有关更多信息,请参阅下列内容:

请注意以下几点:

  • 您可以升级到较新的引擎版本,但不能降级到较早的引擎版本。要使用较早的引擎版本,必须删除现有的集群,并使用较早的引擎版本重新创建。

  • 引擎版本管理的设计使您可以尽可能多地控制修补的发生方式。但是,如果发生系统或缓存软件中存在严重安全漏洞这种不太可能发生的情况,ElastiCache 保留代表您修补集群的权利。

  • 从 Redis 6.x 开始,ElastiCache for Redis 将为每个 Redis OSS 主要版本提供单一版本,而不提供多个次要版本。无版本引擎支持旨在最大限度减少不得不从多个次要版本中选择时所产生的混淆和歧义。ElastiCache for Redis 还将自动管理处于运行状态下缓存集群的次要版本,确保提高性能和增强安全性。这将通过自助服务更新活动借助标准客户通知渠道进行处理。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon ElastiCache 中的自助更新

  • 从 Redis 引擎版本 5.0.5 开始,您可以在最短的停机时间内升级集群版本。集群在整个升级过程中可供读取,并在大部分升级持续时间内可供写入,但在只持续几秒钟的故障转移操作期间则例外。

  • 您还可以使用 5.0.5 以下的版本升级您的 ElastiCache 集群。所涉及的过程相同,但在 DNS 传播期间可能会导致更长的故障转移时间(30 秒 - 1 分钟)。

  • 如果升级到引擎版本 5.0.3 或更高版本,并且 vCPU 数量至少为 4,则增强型 IO 会触发,而且您可能会看到 EngineCPUUtilizationCPUUtilization 升高。

  • ElastiCache for Redis 不支持在 Redis(已禁用集群模式)和 Redis(已启用集群模式)之间切换。

  • Amazon ElastiCache for Redis 引擎升级旨在尽最大努力保留您的现有数据,并需要 Redis 复制成功。

  • 升级引擎时,无法从 Redis(已禁用集群模式)直接升级到 Redis(已启用集群模式)。以下过程演示如何从 Redis(已禁用集群模式)升级到 Redis(已启用集群模式)。

    从 Redis(已禁用集群模式)升级到 Redis(已启用集群模式)引擎版本

    1. 备份 Redis(已禁用集群模式)集群或复制组。有关更多信息,请参阅 手动备份

    2. 使用备份创建具有一个分区(节点组)的 Redis(已启用集群模式)集群并为其设定种子。在创建集群或复制组时,指定新的引擎版本并启用集群模式。有关更多信息,请参阅 使用外部创建的备份为新集群设定种子

    3. 删除旧 Redis(已禁用集群模式)集群或复制组。有关更多信息,请参阅 删除集群删除复制组

    4. 将新的 Redis(已启用集群模式)集群或复制组扩展到所需的分区(节点组)数。有关更多信息,请参阅 扩展 Redis(启用集群模式)集群

  • 升级主要引擎版本(例如从 5.x 升级到 6.x)时,还需要选择与新引擎版本兼容的新参数组。

  • 对于单个 Redis 集群以及禁用了多可用区的集群,建议有足够的内存可供 Redis 使用,如确保具有用于创建 Redis 快照的足够内存中所述。在这些情况下,主项在升级过程中不可用于处理服务请求。

  • 对于启用了多可用区的 Redis 集群,还建议在传入的写流量较低期间安排引擎升级。升级到 Redis 5.0.6 或更高版本时,主集群在升级过程中仍可用于服务请求。升级到 Redis 5.0.4 或更低版本时,您可能会发现几秒钟与 DNS 更新相关的短暂中断。

    将处理和修补带多个分片的集群和复制组,如下所示:

    • 将并行处理所有分片。在任何时候,仅在分片上执行一次升级操作。

    • 在每个分片中,在处理主副本之前,会先处理所有其他副本。如果一个分片中的副本较少,则可能会在处理完其他分片中的副本之前处理该分片中的主副本。

    • 在所有分片中,主节点都是按顺序处理的。一次只升级一个主节点。

  • 如果已对当前集群或复制组启用了加密,则无法升级到不支持加密的引擎版本,例如,从 3.2.6 升级到 3.2.10。

如何升级引擎版本

使用 ElastiCache 控制台、AWS CLI 或 ElastiCache API 修改集群或复制组并指定较新的引擎版本,从而启动集群或复制组的版本升级。有关更多信息,请参阅以下主题。

解决被阻止的 Redis 引擎升级

如下表所示,如果您有待处理的纵向扩展操作,则会阻止 Redis 引擎升级操作。

待处理的操作 阻止的操作
纵向扩展 立即引擎升级
引擎升级 立即纵向扩展
纵向扩展和引擎升级 立即纵向扩展
立即引擎升级

解决阻止的 Redis 引擎升级

  • 请执行下列操作之一:

    • 通过清除 Apply immediately (立即应用) 复选框,将 Redis 引擎升级操作安排在下一维护时段内。

      对于 CLI,请使用 --no-apply-immediately。对于 API,请使用 ApplyImmediately=false

    • 等到下一维护时段(或之后)再执行 Redis 引擎升级操作。

    • 将 Redis 纵向扩展操作添加到此选中了 Apply Immediately (立即应用) 复选框的集群修改中。

      对于 CLI,请使用 --apply-immediately。对于 API,请使用 ApplyImmediately=true

      此方法将立即执行引擎升级,从而有效地在下一维护时段内取消该操作。

Amazon ElastiCache for Redis
ElastiCache for Redis User Guide (API Version 2015-02-02)

Upgrading Engine Versions

You can control if and when the protocol-compliant software powering your cache cluster is upgraded to new versions that are supported by ElastiCache. This level of control enables you to maintain compatibility with specific versions, test new versions with your application before deploying in production, and perform version upgrades on your own terms and timelines.

Because version upgrades might involve some compatibility risk, they don't occur automatically. You must initiate them.

You initiate engine version upgrades to your cluster or replication group by modifying it and specifying a new engine version. For more information, see:

Important

  • You can upgrade to a newer engine version, but you can't downgrade to an older engine version. If you want to use an older engine version, you must delete the existing cluster and create it anew with the older engine version.

  • Although engine version management functionality is intended to give you as much control as possible over how patching occurs, ElastiCache reserves the right to patch your cluster on your behalf in the unlikely event of a critical security vulnerability in the system or cache software.

  • ElastiCache for Redis doesn't support switching between Redis (cluster mode disabled) and Redis (cluster mode enabled).

  • The Amazon ElastiCache for Redis engine upgrade process is designed to make a best effort to retain your existing data and requires successful Redis replication.

  • You can't upgrade directly from Redis (cluster mode disabled) to Redis (cluster mode enabled) when you upgrade your engine. The following procedure shows you how to upgrade from Redis (cluster mode disabled) to Redis (cluster mode enabled).

    To upgrade from a Redis (cluster mode disabled) to Redis (cluster mode enabled) engine version

    1. Make a backup of your Redis (cluster mode disabled) cluster or replication group. For more information, see Making Manual Backups.

    2. Use the backup to create and seed a Redis (cluster mode enabled) cluster with one shard (node group). Specify the new engine version and enable cluster mode when creating the cluster or replication group. For more information, see Seeding a New Cluster with an Externally Created Backup.

    3. Delete the old Redis (cluster mode disabled) cluster or replication group. For more information, see Deleting a Cluster or Deleting a Replication Group.

    4. Scale the new Redis (cluster mode enabled) cluster or replication group to the number of shards (node groups) that you need. For more information, see Scaling Redis (cluster mode enabled) Clusters

  • For single Redis clusters and clusters with Multi-AZ disabled, we recommend that sufficient memory be made available to Redis as described in Ensuring You Have Sufficient Memory to Create a Redis Snapshot. In these cases, the primary is unavailable to service requests during the upgrade process.

  • For Redis clusters with Multi-AZ enabled, we also recommend that you schedule engine upgrades during periods of low incoming write traffic. The primary continues to be available to service requests during the upgrade process, except for a few minutes when a failover is initiated.

    Clusters and replication groups with multiple shards are process and patched as follows:

    • All shards are processed in parallel. Only one upgrade operation is performed on a shard at any time.

    • In each shard, all replicas are processed before the primary is processed. If there are fewer replicas in a shard, the primary in that shard may be processed before the replicas in other shards are finished processing.

    • Across all the shards, primary nodes are processed in series. Only one primary node is upgraded at a time.

  • If encryptions is enabled on your current cluster or replication group, you cannot upgrade to an engine version that does not support encryption, such as from 3.2.6 to 3.2.10.

How to Upgrade Engine Versions

You initiate version upgrades to your cluster or replication group by modifying it using the ElastiCache console, the AWS CLI, or the ElastiCache API and specifying a newer engine version. For more information, see the following topics.

Resolving Blocked Redis Engine Upgrades

As shown in the following table, your Redis engine upgrade operation is blocked if you have a pending scale up operation.

Pending Operations Blocked Operations
Scale up Immediate engine upgrade
Engine upgrade Immediate scale up
Scale up and engine upgrade Immediate scale up
Immediate engine upgrade

To resolve a blocked Redis engine upgrade, do one of the following

  • Schedule your Redis engine upgrade operation for the next maintenance window by clearing the Apply immediately check box (CLI use: --no-apply-immediately, API use: ApplyImmediately=false).

     

  • Wait until your next maintenance window (or after) to perform your Redis engine upgrade operation.

     

  • Add the Redis scale up operation to this cluster modification with the Apply Immediately check box chosen (CLI use: --apply-immediately, API use: ApplyImmediately=true). (This effectively cancels the engine upgrade during the next maintenance window by performing it immediately.)