Amazon Aurora 的高可用性 - Amazon Aurora

Amazon Aurora 的高可用性

Amazon Aurora 体系架构涉及存储和计算的分离。Aurora 包括一些适用于数据库集群中数据的高可用性功能。即使集群中的部分或全部数据库实例变得不可用,数据也会保持安全。其他高可用性功能适用于数据库实例。这些功能有助于确保一个或多个数据库实例准备就绪,以处理来自应用程序的数据库请求。

Aurora 数据的高可用性

Aurora 跨一个 AWS 区域中的多个可用区将数据副本存储在数据库集群中。无论数据库集群中的数据库实例是否跨多个可用区,Aurora 都会存储这些副本。有关 Aurora 的更多信息,请参阅管理 Amazon Aurora 数据库集群

在将数据写入到主数据库实例时,Aurora 将数据跨可用区同步复制到与集群卷关联的 6 个存储节点。这样做可以提供数据冗余,消除 I/O 冻结,以及在系统备份期间将延迟峰值降到最低。在计划内的系统维护期间,运行高性能的数据库实例可以提高可用性,并帮助保护数据库以防发生故障和可用区中断。有关可用区的更多信息,请参阅区域及可用区

Aurora 数据库实例的高可用性

在创建主(写入器)实例后,可以创建多达 15 个只读 Aurora 副本。Aurora 副本也称为读取器实例。

在日常操作期间,您可以通过使用读取器实例处理 SELECT 查询来减轻读取密集型应用程序的部分工作负载。当问题影响到主实例时,其中一个读取器实例将作为主实例进行接管。此机制称为故障转移。许多 Aurora 功能适用于故障转移机制。例如,Aurora 检测数据库问题并在必要时自动激活故障转移机制。Aurora 还具有可缩短故障转移完成时间的功能。这样做可以最大限度地减少数据库在故障转移期间无法写入的时间。

Aurora 旨在实现尽快恢复,最快的恢复途径通常是重启或失效转移到同一个数据库实例。与失效转移相比,重启速度更快,开销也更少。

想要使用相同的连接字符串,即使在失效转移提升了新的主实例时也保持不变,请连接到集群端点。集群端点 始终表示集群中的当前主实例。有关集群端点的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Aurora 连接管理

提示

在每个 AWS 区域内,可用区 (AZ) 表示相互不同的位置,以便在发生中断时提供隔离。我们建议您将数据库集群中的主实例和读取器实例分配到多个可用区,以提高数据库集群的可用性。这样,影响整个可用区的问题不会导致您的集群中断。

您可以通过在创建集群时进行简单选择来设置多可用区数据库集群。您可以使用 AWS Management Console、AWS CLI 或 Amazon RDS API。您还可以通过添加新的读取器数据库实例并指定不同的可用区,将现有 Aurora 数据库集群转换为多可用区数据库集群。

使用 Aurora Global Database 跨AWS区域的高可用性

为了跨多个 AWS 区域实现高可用性,您可以设置 Aurora Global Database。每个 Aurora Global Database 均跨越多个 AWS 区域,可在 AWS 区域中实现低延迟的全局读取以及从停机中进行灾难恢复。Aurora 自动处理将所有数据和更新从主 AWS 区域复制到每个辅助区域的过程。有关更多信息,请参阅使用 Amazon Aurora Global Database

Aurora 数据库集群的容错能力

Aurora 数据库集群设计为具有容错能力。集群卷跨一个 AWS 区域中的多个可用区 (AZ),每个可用区均包含一个集群卷数据副本。该功能意味着您的数据库集群可容忍可用区的故障,而不发生任何数据丢失,只是会短暂中断服务。

如果数据库集群中的主实例失败,Aurora 将通过两种方式之一来自动失效转移到新的主实例:

  • 将现有的 Aurora 副本提升为新的主实例

  • 创建新的主实例

如果数据库集群具有一个或多个 Aurora 副本,则 Aurora 副本将在故障事件期间被提升为主实例。故障事件将导致短暂中断,其间的读取和写入操作将失败并引发异常。不过,服务通常会在 60 秒内(经常在 30 秒内)还原。要提高数据库集群的可用性,建议您在两个或更多的不同的可用区中创建至少一个或多个 Aurora 副本。

提示

在 Aurora MySQL 2.10 及更高版本中,您可以通过在集群中拥有多个读取器数据库实例来提高故障转移期间的可用性。在 Aurora MySQL 2.10 及更高版本中,Aurora 只重启它失效转移到的写入器数据库实例和读取器实例。集群中的其他读取器实例在失效转移期间仍然可用,以通过与读取器端点建立连接来继续处理查询。

还通过将 RDS 代理与 Aurora 数据库集群结合使用来提高失效转移期间的可用性。有关更多信息,请参阅Amazon RDS 代理的高可用性

您可以通过为每个副本分配一个优先级来自定义发生故障后将 Aurora 副本提升为主实例的顺序。优先级介于 0(最高优先级)和 15(最低优先级)之间。如果主实例失败,则 Amazon RDS 会将具有最高优先级的 Aurora 副本提升为新的主实例。您可以随时修改 Aurora 副本的优先级。修改优先级不会触发故障转移。

多个 Aurora 副本可共享同一个优先级,这会产生多个提升层。如果两个或更多 Aurora 副本共享同一个优先级,则 Amazon RDS 将提升最大的副本。如果两个或多个 Aurora 副本共享同一优先级和大小,则 Amazon RDS 将提升同一提升层中的任意副本。

如果数据库集群不包含任何 Aurora 副本,则将在故障事件期间在同一可用区中重新创建主实例。故障事件将导致中断,其间的读取和写入操作将失败并引发异常。创建新的主实例时将还原服务,该操作所需的时间通常在 10 分钟内。将 Aurora 副本提升为主实例要比创建新的主实例快得多。

假设集群中的主实例由于影响整个可用区的中断而不可用。在这种情况下,使新主实例联机的方式取决于您的集群是否使用多可用区配置:

  • 如果您的预置或 Aurora Serverless v2 集群包含其他可用区中的任何读取器实例,则 Aurora 会使用故障转移机制将其中一个读取器实例提升为新主实例。

  • 如果您的预置或 Aurora Serverless v2 集群只包含一个数据库实例,或者主实例和所有读取器实例均位于同一可用区中,请确保在另一个可用区中手动创建一个或多个新数据库实例。

  • 如果您的集群使用 Aurora Serverless v1,则 Aurora 会在另一个可用区中自动创建新数据库实例。但是,此过程涉及更换主机,因此比故障转移花费的时间更长。

注意

Amazon Aurora 还支持对外部 MySQL 数据库或 RDS MySQL 数据库实例的复制。有关更多信息,请参阅Aurora 与 MySQL 之间或 Aurora 与其他 Aurora 数据库集群之间的复制(二进制日志复制)

Amazon RDS 代理的高可用性

使用 RDS 代理,您可以构建能够透明地承受数据库故障的应用程序,而无需编写复杂的故障处理代码。代理会自动将流量路由到新的数据库实例,同时保留应用程序连接。它还绕过域名系统(DNS)缓存,以将 Aurora 多可用区数据库的失效转移时间缩短多达 66%。有关更多信息,请参阅 将 Amazon RDS 代理用于 Aurora

High availability for Amazon Aurora - Amazon Aurora

High availability for Amazon Aurora

The Amazon Aurora architecture involves separation of storage and compute. Aurora includes some high availability features that apply to the data in your DB cluster. The data remains safe even if some or all of the DB instances in the cluster become unavailable. Other high availability features apply to the DB instances. These features help to make sure that one or more DB instances are ready to handle database requests from your application.

High availability for Aurora data

Aurora stores copies of the data in a DB cluster across multiple Availability Zones in a single AWS Region. Aurora stores these copies regardless of whether the instances in the DB cluster span multiple Availability Zones. For more information on Aurora, see Managing an Amazon Aurora DB cluster.

When data is written to the primary DB instance, Aurora synchronously replicates the data across Availability Zones to six storage nodes associated with your cluster volume. Doing so provides data redundancy, eliminates I/O freezes, and minimizes latency spikes during system backups. Running a DB instance with high availability can enhance availability during planned system maintenance, and help protect your databases against failure and Availability Zone disruption. For more information on Availability Zones, see Regions and Availability Zones .

High availability for Aurora DB instances

For a cluster using single-master replication, after you create the primary instance, you can create up to 15 read-only Aurora Replicas. The Aurora Replicas are also known as reader instances.

During day-to-day operations, you can offload some of the work for read-intensive applications by using the reader instances to process SELECT queries. When a problem affects the primary instance, one of these reader instances takes over as the primary instance. This mechanism is known as failover. Many Aurora features apply to the failover mechanism. For example, Aurora detects database problems and activates the failover mechanism automatically when necessary. Aurora also has features that reduce the time for failover to complete. Doing so minimizes the time that the database is unavailable for writing during a failover.

To use a connection string that stays the same even when a failover promotes a new primary instance, you connect to the cluster endpoint. The cluster endpoint always represents the current primary instance in the cluster. For more information about the cluster endpoint, see Amazon Aurora connection management.

Tip

Within each AWS Region, Availability Zones represent locations that are distinct from each other to provide isolation in case of outages. We recommend that you distribute the primary instance and reader instances in your DB cluster over multiple Availability Zones to improve the availability of your DB cluster. That way, an issue that affects an entire Availability Zone doesn't cause an outage for your cluster.

You can set up a Multi-AZ cluster by making a simple choice when you create the cluster. The choice is simple whether you use the AWS Management Console, the AWS CLI, or the Amazon RDS API. You can also make an existing Aurora cluster into a Multi-AZ cluster by adding a new reader instance and specifying a different Availability Zone.

High availability across AWS Regions with Aurora global databases

For high availability across multiple AWS Regions, you can set up Aurora global databases. Each Aurora global database spans multiple AWS Regions, enabling low latency global reads and disaster recovery from outages across an AWS Region. Aurora automatically handles replicating all data and updates from the primary AWS Region to each of the secondary Regions. For more information, see Using Amazon Aurora global databases.

Fault tolerance for an Aurora DB cluster

An Aurora DB cluster is fault tolerant by design. The cluster volume spans multiple Availability Zones in a single AWS Region, and each Availability Zone contains a copy of the cluster volume data. This functionality means that your DB cluster can tolerate a failure of an Availability Zone without any loss of data and only a brief interruption of service.

If the primary instance in a DB cluster using single-master replication fails, Aurora automatically fails over to a new primary instance in one of two ways:

  • By promoting an existing Aurora Replica to the new primary instance

  • By creating a new primary instance

If the DB cluster has one or more Aurora Replicas, then an Aurora Replica is promoted to the primary instance during a failure event. A failure event results in a brief interruption, during which read and write operations fail with an exception. However, service is typically restored in less than 120 seconds, and often less than 60 seconds. To increase the availability of your DB cluster, we recommend that you create at least one or more Aurora Replicas in two or more different Availability Zones.

You can customize the order in which your Aurora Replicas are promoted to the primary instance after a failure by assigning each replica a priority. Priorities range from 0 for the first priority to 15 for the last priority. If the primary instance fails, Amazon RDS promotes the Aurora Replica with the better priority to the new primary instance. You can modify the priority of an Aurora Replica at any time. Modifying the priority doesn't trigger a failover.

More than one Aurora Replica can share the same priority, resulting in promotion tiers. If two or more Aurora Replicas share the same priority, then Amazon RDS promotes the replica that is largest in size. If two or more Aurora Replicas share the same priority and size, then Amazon RDS promotes an arbitrary replica in the same promotion tier.

If the DB cluster doesn't contain any Aurora Replicas, then the primary instance is recreated during a failure event. A failure event results in an interruption during which read and write operations fail with an exception. Service is restored when the new primary instance is created, which typically takes less than 10 minutes. Promoting an Aurora Replica to the primary instance is much faster than creating a new primary instance.

Note

Amazon Aurora also supports replication with an external MySQL database, or an RDS MySQL DB instance. For more information, see Replication between Aurora and MySQL or between Aurora and another Aurora DB cluster (binlog replication).