Amazon Simple Storage Service
开发人员指南 (API 版本 2006-03-01)

复制配置概述

Amazon S3 以 XML 形式存储复制配置。在复制配置 XML 文件中,您将指定一个 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 角色以及一个或多个规则。

<ReplicationConfiguration> <Role>IAM-role-ARN</Role> <Rule> ... </Rule> <Rule> ... </Rule> ... </ReplicationConfiguration>

Amazon S3 无法在未经您的许可的情况下复制对象。您将向复制配置中指定的 IAM 角色授予权限。Amazon S3 将担任该 IAM 角色以代表您复制对象。您必须先向 IAM 角色授予必要的权限。有关管理权限的更多信息,请参阅设置跨区域复制的权限

在以下场景的复制配置中添加一个规则:

  • 您希望复制所有对象。

  • 您希望复制对象子集。通过在规则中添加一个筛选器,可标识对象子级。在该筛选器中,指定对象键前缀、标签或二者的组合以标识要向其应用规则的对象子集。

如果要选择其他对象子集,请在复制配置中添加多个规则。在每个规则中,指定一个选择不同对象子集的筛选器。例如,您可能选择了键前缀为 tax/ document/ 的副本对象。您将添加两个规则,在一个规则中指定 tax/ 键前缀筛选器,并在另一个规则中指定 document/ 键前缀筛选器。

以下各节提供了更多信息。

基本规则配置

每个规则必须包含规则的状态和优先级,并指示是否复制删除标记。

  • Status 指示规则是启用还是禁用。如果规则处于禁用状态,则 Amazon S3 不会执行规则中指定的操作。

  • Priority 指示在向对象应用多个规则时哪个规则具有优先级。

  • 目前,不复制删除标记,因此您必须将 DeleteMarkerReplication 设置为 Disabled

在目标配置中,您必须提供希望 Amazon S3 将对象复制到其中的存储桶的名称。

以下代码显示针对规则的最低要求:

... <Rule> <ID>Rule-1</ID> <Status>rule-Enabled-or-Diasbled</Status> <Priority>integer</Priority> <DeleteMarkerReplication> <Status>Disabled</Status> </DeleteMarkerReplication> <Destination>       <Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::bucket-name</Bucket> </Destination> </Rule> <Rule> ... </Rule> ... ...

您也可以指定其他配置选项。例如,您可能选择了将一个存储类用于对象副本,将另一个存储类用于源对象。

可选:指定筛选器

要选择规则应用于的对象子集,请添加一个可选筛选器。可按对象键前缀、对象标签或二者的组合进行筛选。如果您同时按键前缀和对象标签进行筛选,Amazon S3 会使用逻辑 AND 运算符组合这些筛选器。换句话中,规则会应用于具有特定键前缀和特定标签的对象子集。

要指定具有基于对象键前缀的筛选器的规则,请使用以下代码。只能指定一个前缀。

<Rule> ... <Filter> <Prefix>key-prefix</Prefix> </Filter> ... </Rule> ...

要指定具有基于对象标签的筛选器的规则,请使用以下代码。可以指定一个或多个对象标签。

<Rule> ... <Filter> <And> <Tag> <Key>key1</Key> <Value>value1</Value> </Tag> <Tag> <Key>key2</Key> <Value>value2</Value> </Tag> ... </And> </Filter> ... </Rule> ...

要指定具有基于键前缀和对象标签组合的规则筛选器,请使用此代码。您需要将这些筛选器包含在 AND 父元素中。Amazon S3 会执行逻辑 AND 运算以组合这些筛选器。换句话中,规则会应用于具有特定键前缀和特定标签的对象子集。

<Rule> ... <Filter> <And> <Prefix>key-prefix</Prefix> <Tag> <Key>key1</Key> <Value>value1</Value> </Tag> <Tag> <Key>key2</Key> <Value>value2</Value> </Tag> ... </Filter> ... </Rule> ...

其他目标配置

在目标配置中,指定您希望 Amazon S3 将对象复制到其中的存储桶。您可以配置 CRR 以将对象从一个源存储桶复制到一个目标存储桶。如果在复制配置中添加多个规则,则所有规则必须标识相同的目标存储桶。

... <Destination> <Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::destination-bucket</Bucket> </Destination> ...

您有以下选项可添加到 <Destination> 元素中:

  • 您可以为对象副本指定存储类。默认情况下,Amazon S3 使用源对象的存储类来创建对象副本,如以下示例所示。

    ... <Destination> <Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::destinationbucket</Bucket> <StorageClass>storage-class</StorageClass> </Destination> ...
  • 当源存储桶和目标存储桶不是由相同的 AWS 账户拥有时,您可以通过添加 AccessControlTranslation 元素,将副本的所有权更改为拥有目标存储桶的 AWS 账户。

    ... <Destination> <Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::destinationbucket</Bucket> <Account>destination-bucket-owner-account-id</Account> <AccessControlTranslation> <Owner>Destination</Owner> </AccessControlTranslation> </Destination> ...

    如果您没有将此元素添加到复制配置中,则副本由拥有源对象的同一 AWS 账户拥有。有关更多信息,请参阅 CRR 的其他配置:更改副本拥有者

  • 源存储桶可能包含使用 AWS KMS 托管密钥通过服务器端加密创建的对象。默认情况下,Amazon S3 不会复制这些对象。您可以选择指示 Amazon S3 复制这些对象,方法是:首先通过添加 SourceSelectionCriteria 元素来显式选择使用此功能,然后再提供 AWS KMS 键(用于目标存储桶的 AWS 区域)以用于对对象副本进行加密。

    ... <SourceSelectionCriteria> <SseKmsEncryptedObjects> <Status>Enabled</Status> </SseKmsEncryptedObjects> </SourceSelectionCriteria> <Destination> <Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::dest-bucket-name</Bucket> <EncryptionConfiguration> <ReplicaKmsKeyID>AWS KMS key IDs to use for encrypting object replicas</ReplicaKmsKeyID> </EncryptionConfiguration> </Destination> ...

    有关更多信息,请参阅 CRR 其他配置:复制使用 AWS KMS 托管加密密钥通过服务器端加密 (SSE) 创建的对象

复制配置示例

首先,您可以根据需要将以下复制配置示例添加到存储桶。

重要

要向存储桶添加复制配置,您必须具有 iam:PassRole 权限。此权限允许您传递向 Amazon S3 授予复制权限的 IAM 角色。通过提供复制配置 XML 中 Role 元素中使用的 Amazon 资源名称 (ARN),可指定 IAM 角色。有关更多信息,请参阅IAM 用户指南中的向用户授予将角色传递给 AWS 服务的权限

例 1:包含一个规则的复制配置

以下基本复制配置指定一个规则。该规则指定 Amazon S3 可担任的一个 IAM 角色以及用于对象副本的目标存储桶。该规则 Status 指示该规则是有效的。

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> <ReplicationConfiguration xmlns="http://s3.amazonaws.com/doc/2006-03-01/"> <Role>arn:aws:iam::AcctID:role/role-name</Role> <Rule> <Status>Enabled</Status> <Destination><Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::destinationbucket</Bucket></Destination> </Rule> </ReplicationConfiguration>

要选择要复制的对象子集,可添加一个筛选器。在以下配置中,该筛选器指定一个对象键前缀。此规则将应用于其键名中带有前缀 Tax/ 的对象。

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> <ReplicationConfiguration xmlns="http://s3.amazonaws.com/doc/2006-03-01/"> <Role>arn:aws:iam::AcctID:role/role-name</Role> <Rule> <Status>Enabled</Status> <Priority>1</Priority> <DeleteMarkerReplication> <Status>string</Status> </DeleteMarkerReplication> <Filter> <Prefix>Tax/</Prefix> </Filter> <Destination><Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::destinationbucket</Bucket></Destination> </Rule> </ReplicationConfiguration>

如果您指定 Filter 元素,则还必须包含 PriorityDeleteMarkerReplication 元素。在此示例中,由于只有一个规则,因此优先级无关紧要。

在以下配置中,筛选器指定一个前缀和两个标签。规则将应用于具有指定键前缀和标签的对象子级。具体来说,规则将应用于键名前缀为 Tax/ 并具有指定对象标签的对象。由于只有一个规则,因此优先级不适用。

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> <ReplicationConfiguration xmlns="http://s3.amazonaws.com/doc/2006-03-01/"> <Role>arn:aws:iam::AcctID:role/role-name</Role> <Rule> <Status>Enabled</Status> <Priority>1</Priority> <DeleteMarkerReplication> <Status>string</Status> </DeleteMarkerReplication> <Filter> <And> <Prefix>Tax/</Prefix> <Tag> <Tag> <Key>tagA</Key> <Value>valueA</Value> </Tag> </Tag> <Tag> <Tag> <Key>tagB</Key> <Value>valueB</Value> </Tag> </Tag> </And> </Filter> <Destination><Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::destinationbucket</Bucket></Destination> </Rule> </ReplicationConfiguration>

您可以为对象副本指定存储类,如下所示:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> <ReplicationConfiguration xmlns="http://s3.amazonaws.com/doc/2006-03-01/"> <Role>arn:aws:iam::account-id:role/role-name</Role> <Rule> <Status>Enabled</Status> <Destination> <Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::destinationbucket</Bucket> <StorageClass>storage-class</StorageClass> </Destination> </Rule> </ReplicationConfiguration>

您可以指定 Amazon S3 支持的任何存储类。

例 2:包含两个规则的复制配置

在以下复制配置中:

  • 每个规则按不同的键前缀进行筛选,以便每个规则应用于不同的对象子集。Amazon S3 复制键名为 Tax/doc1.pdfProject/project1.txt 的对象,但是它不复制键名为 PersonalDoc/documentA 的对象。

  • 由于规则应用于两个不同的对象子级,因此规则优先级无关紧要。下一示例将说明应用规则优先级时会发生的情况。

  • 第二个规则为对象副本指定存储类。Amazon S3 对这些对象副本使用指定的存储类。

  • 两个规则指定了同一个目标存储桶。您只能指定一个目标存储桶,而不管指定多少个规则。

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> <ReplicationConfiguration xmlns="http://s3.amazonaws.com/doc/2006-03-01/"> <Role>arn:aws:iam::account-id:role/role-name</Role> <Rule> <Status>Enabled</Status> <Priority>1</Priority> <DeleteMarkerReplication> <Status>string</Status> </DeleteMarkerReplication> <Filter> <Prefix>Tax</Prefix> </Filter> <Status>Enabled</Status> <Destination> <Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::destinationbucket</Bucket> </Destination> ... </Rule> <Rule> <Status>Enabled</Status> <Priority>2</Priority> <DeleteMarkerReplication> <Status>string</Status> </DeleteMarkerReplication> <Filter> <Prefix>Project</Prefix> </Filter> <Status>Enabled</Status> <Destination> <Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::destinationbucket</Bucket> <StorageClass>STANDARD_IA</StorageClass> </Destination> ... </Rule> </ReplicationConfiguration>

例 3:包含两个具有重叠前缀的规则的复制配置

在此配置中,两个规则指定具有重叠键前缀 star/starship 的筛选器。两个规则应用于键名称为 starship-x 的对象。在此示例中,Amazon S3 使用规则优先级确定要应用哪个规则。

<ReplicationConfiguration> <Role>arn:aws:iam::AcctID:role/role-name</Role> <Rule> <Status>Enabled</Status> <Priority>1</Priority> <DeleteMarkerReplication> <Status>string</Status> </DeleteMarkerReplication> <Filter> <Prefix>star</Prefix> </Filter> <Destination> <Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::destinationbucket</Bucket> </Destination> </Rule> <Rule> <Status>Enabled</Status> <Priority>1</Priority> <DeleteMarkerReplication> <Status>string</Status> </DeleteMarkerReplication> <Filter> <Prefix>starship</Prefix> </Filter> <Destination> <Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::destinationbucket</Bucket> </Destination> </Rule> </ReplicationConfiguration>

例 4:示例演练

有关演练示例,请参阅 跨区域复制 (CRR) 演练

有关复制配置的 XML 结构的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Simple Storage Service API Reference 中的 PutBucketReplication

向后兼容

复制配置 XML 的最新版本为 V2。为了向后兼容,Amazon S3 仍继续支持 V1 配置。如果您已使用复制配置 XML V1,请考虑影响向后兼容性的以下问题:

  • 复制配置 XML V2 包含规则的 Filter 元素。通过 Filter 元素,您可以指定基于对象键前缀和/或标签的对象筛选器,以确定规则要应用于的范围。支持复制配置 XML V1 的筛选仅基于键前缀。在这种情况下,您直接添加 Prefix 作为 Rule 元素的子元素,如以下示例所示。

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> <ReplicationConfiguration xmlns="http://s3.amazonaws.com/doc/2006-03-01/"> <Role>arn:aws:iam::AcctID:role/role-name</Role> <Rule> <Status>Enabled</Status> <Prefix>key-prefix</Prefix> <Destination><Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::destinationbucket</Bucket></Destination> </Rule> </ReplicationConfiguration>

    为了向后兼容,Amazon S3 仍继续支持 V1 配置。

  • 当您从源存储桶中删除对象而不指定对象版本 ID 时,Amazon S3 会添加一个删除标记。如果使用复制配置 XML V1,Amazon S3 会复制因用户操作产生的删除标记。换句话说,是用户删除了对象,而不是 Amazon S3 因为对象已在生命周期操作期间过期而将其删除。在 V2 中,Amazon S3 不复制删除标记,因此您必须将 DeleteMarkerReplication 元素设置为 Disabled

    ... <Rule> <ID>Rule-1</ID> <Status>rule-Enabled-or-Diasbled</Priority> <Priority>integer</Status> <DeleteMarkerReplication> <Status>Disabled</Status> </DeleteMarkerReplication> <Destination> <Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::bucket-name</Bucket> </Destination> </Rule> ...

Amazon Simple Storage Service
Developer Guide (API Version 2006-03-01)

Replication Configuration Overview

Amazon S3 stores a replication configuration as XML. In the replication configuration XML file, you specify an AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) role and one or more rules.

<ReplicationConfiguration> <Role>IAM-role-ARN</Role> <Rule> ... </Rule> <Rule> ... </Rule> ... </ReplicationConfiguration>

Amazon S3 can't replicate objects without your permission. You grant permissions with the IAM role that you specify in the replication configuration. Amazon S3 assumes the IAM role to replicate objects on your behalf. You must grant the required permissions to the IAM role first. For more information about managing permissions, see Setting Up Permissions for CRR .

You add one rule in replication configuration in the following scenarios:

  • You want to replicate all objects.

  • You want to replicate a subset of objects. You identify the object subset by adding a filter in the rule. In the filter, you specify an object key prefix, tags, or a combination of both, to identify the subset of objects that the rule applies to.

You add multiple rules in a replication configuration if you want to select a different subset of objects. In each rule, you specify a filter that selects a different subset of objects. For example, you might choose to replicates objects that have either tax/ or document/ key prefixes. You would add two rules and specify the tax/ key prefix filter in one rule and the document/ key prefix in the other.

The following sections provide additional information.

The Basic Rule Configuration

Each rule must include the rule's status and priority, and indicate whether to replicate delete makers.

  • Status indicates whether the rule is enabled or disabled. If a rule is disabled, Amazon S3 doesn't perform the actions specified in the rule.

  • Priority indicates which rule has priority when multiple rules apply to an object.

  • Currently, delete markers aren't replicated, so you must set DeleteMarkerReplication to Disabled.

In the destination configuration, you must provide the name of the bucket where you want Amazon S3 to replicate objects.

The following code shows the minimum requirements for a rule:

... <Rule> <ID>Rule-1</ID> <Status>rule-Enabled-or-Diasbled</Priority> <Priority>integer</Status> <DeleteMarkerReplication> <Status>Disabled</Status> </DeleteMarkerReplication> <Destination>       <Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::bucket-name</Bucket> </Destination> </Rule> <Rule> ... </Rule> ... ...

You can also specify other configuration options. For example, you might choose to use a storage class for object replicas that differs from the class for the source object.

Optional: Specifying a Filter

To choose a subset of objects that the rule applies to, add an optional filter. You can filter by object key prefix, object tags, or combination of both. If you filter on both a key prefix and object tags, Amazon S3 combines the filters using a logical AND operator. In other words, the rule applies to a subset of objects with a specific key prefix and specific tags.

To specify a rule with a filter based on an object key prefix, use the following code. You can specify only one prefix.

<Rule> ... <Filter> <Prefix>key-prefix</Prefix> </Filter> ... </Rule> ...

To specify a rule with a filter based on object tags, use the following code. You can specify one or more object tags.

<Rule> ... <Filter> <And> <Tag> <Key>key1</Key> <Value>value1</Value> </Tag> <Tag> <Key>key2</Key> <Value>value2</Value> </Tag> ... </And> </Filter> ... </Rule> ...

To specify a rule filter with a combination of a key prefix and object tags, use this code. You warp these filters in a AND parent element. Amazon S3 performs logical AND operation to combine these filters. In other words, the rule applies to a subset of objects with a specific key prefix and specific tags.

<Rule> ... <Filter> <And> <Prefix>key-prefix</Prefix> <Tag> <Key>key1</Key> <Value>value1</Value> </Tag> <Tag> <Key>key2</Key> <Value>value2</Value> </Tag> ... </Filter> ... </Rule> ...

Additional Destination Configurations

In the destination configuration, you specify the bucket where you want Amazon S3 to replicate objects. You can configure CRR to replicate objects from one source bucket to one destination bucket. If you add multiple rules in a replication configuration, all of the rules must identify the same destination bucket.

... <Destination> <Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::destination-bucket</Bucket> </Destination> ...

You have the following options you can add in the <Destination> element:

  • You can specify the storage class for the object replicas. By default, Amazon S3 uses the storage class of the source object to create object replicas. For example,

    ... <Destination> <Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::destinationbucket</Bucket> <StorageClass>storage-class</StorageClass> </Destination> ...
  • When source and destination buckets aren't owned by the same accounts, you can change the ownership of the replica to the AWS account that owns the destination bucket by adding the AccessControlTranslation element:

    ... <Destination> <Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::destinationbucket</Bucket> <Account>destination-bucket-owner-account-id</Account> <AccessControlTranslation> <Owner>Destination</Owner> </AccessControlTranslation> </Destination> ...

    If you don't add this element to the replication configuration, the replicas are owned by same AWS account that owns the source object. For more information, see CRR Additional Configuration: Changing the Replica Owner.

  • Your source bucket might contain objects that were created with server-side encryption using AWS KMS-managed keys. By default, Amazon S3 doesn't replicate these objects. You can optionally direct Amazon S3 to replicate these objects by first explicitly opting into this feature by adding the SourceSelectionCriteria element and then providing the AWS KMS key (for the AWS Region of the destination bucket) to use for encrypting object replicas.

    ... <SourceSelectionCriteria> <SseKmsEncryptedObjects> <Status>Enabled</Status> </SseKmsEncryptedObjects> </SourceSelectionCriteria> <Destination> <Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::dest-bucket-name</Bucket> <EncryptionConfiguration> <ReplicaKmsKeyID>AWS KMS key IDs to use for encrypting object replicas</ReplicaKmsKeyID> </EncryptionConfiguration> </Destination> ...

    For more information, see CRR Additional Configuration: Replicating Objects Created with Server-Side Encryption (SSE) Using AWS KMS-Managed Encryption Keys.

Example Replication Configurations

To get started, you can add the following example replication configurations to your bucket, as appropriate.

Important

To add a replication configuration to a bucket, you must have the iam:PassRole permission. This permission allows you to pass the IAM role that grants Amazon S3 replication permissions. You specify the IAM role by providing the Amazon Resource Name (ARN) that is used in the Role element in the replication configuration XML. For more information, see Granting a User Permissions to Pass a Role to an AWS Service in the IAM User Guide.

Example 1: Replication Configuration with One Rule

The following basic replication configuration specifies one rule. The rule specifies an IAM role that Amazon S3 can assume and a destination bucket for object replicas. The rule Status indicates that the rule is in effect.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> <ReplicationConfiguration xmlns="http://s3.amazonaws.com/doc/2006-03-01/"> <Role>arn:aws:iam::AcctID:role/role-name</Role> <Rule> <Status>Enabled</Status> <Destination><Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::destinationbucket</Bucket></Destination> </Rule> </ReplicationConfiguration>

To choose a subset of objects to replicate, you can add a filter. In the following configuration, the filter specifies an object key prefix. This rule applies to objects that have the prefix Tax/ in their key names.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> <ReplicationConfiguration xmlns="http://s3.amazonaws.com/doc/2006-03-01/"> <Role>arn:aws:iam::AcctID:role/role-name</Role> <Rule> <Status>Enabled</Status> <Priority>1</Priority> <DeleteMarkerReplication> <Status>string</Status> </DeleteMarkerReplication> <Filter> <Prefix>Tax/</Prefix> </Filter> <Destination><Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::destinationbucket</Bucket></Destination> </Rule> </ReplicationConfiguration>

If you specify the Filter element, you must also include the Priority and DeleteMarkerReplication elements. In this example, priority is irrelevant because there is only one rule.

In the following configuration, the filter specifies one prefix and two tags. The rule applies to the subset of objects that have the specified key prefix and tags. Specifically, it applies to object that have the Tax/ prefix in their key names and the two specified object tags. Priority doesn't apply because there is only one rule.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> <ReplicationConfiguration xmlns="http://s3.amazonaws.com/doc/2006-03-01/"> <Role>arn:aws:iam::AcctID:role/role-name</Role> <Rule> <Status>Enabled</Status> <Priority>1</Priority> <DeleteMarkerReplication> <Status>string</Status> </DeleteMarkerReplication> <Filter> <And> <Prefix>Tax/</Prefix> <Tag> <Tag> <Key>tagA</Key> <Value>valueA</Value> </Tag> </Tag> <Tag> <Tag> <Key>tagB</Key> <Value>valueB</Value> </Tag> </Tag> </And> </Filter> <Destination><Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::destinationbucket</Bucket></Destination> </Rule> </ReplicationConfiguration>

You can specify a storage class for the object replicas as follows:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> <ReplicationConfiguration xmlns="http://s3.amazonaws.com/doc/2006-03-01/"> <Role>arn:aws:iam::account-id:role/role-name</Role> <Rule> <Status>Enabled</Status> <Destination> <Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::destinationbucket</Bucket> <StorageClass>storage-class</StorageClass> </Destination> </Rule> </ReplicationConfiguration>

You can specify any storage class that Amazon S3 supports.

Example 2: Replication Configuration with Two Rules

In the following replication configuration:

  • Each rule filters on a different key prefix so that each rule applies to a distinct subset of objects. Amazon S3 replicates objects with key names Tax/doc1.pdf and Project/project1.txt, but it doesn't replicate objects with the key name PersonalDoc/documentA.

  • Rule priority is irrelevant because the rules apply to two distinct sets of objects. The next example shows what happens when rule priority is applied.

  • The second rule specifies a storage class for object replicas. Amazon S3 uses the specified storage class for those object replicas.

  • Both rules specify the same destination bucket. You can specify only one destination bucket, regardless of how many rules you specify.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> <ReplicationConfiguration xmlns="http://s3.amazonaws.com/doc/2006-03-01/"> <Role>arn:aws:iam::account-id:role/role-name</Role> <Rule> <Status>Enabled</Status> <Priority>1</Priority> <DeleteMarkerReplication> <Status>string</Status> </DeleteMarkerReplication> <Filter> <Prefix>Tax</Prefix> </Filter> <Status>Enabled</Status> <Destination> <Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::destinationbucket</Bucket> </Destination> ... </Rule> <Rule> <Status>Enabled</Status> <Priority>2</Priority> <DeleteMarkerReplication> <Status>string</Status> </DeleteMarkerReplication> <Filter> <Prefix>Project</Prefix> </Filter> <Status>Enabled</Status> <Destination> <Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::destinationbucket</Bucket> <StorageClass>STANDARD_IA</StorageClass> </Destination> ... </Rule> </ReplicationConfiguration>

Example 3: Replication Configuration with Two Rules with Overlapping Prefixes

In this configuration, the two rules specify filters with overlapping key prefixes, star/ and starship. Both rules apply to objects with the keyname starship-x. In this case, Amazon S3 uses the rule priority to determine which rule to apply.

<ReplicationConfiguration> <Role>arn:aws:iam::AcctID:role/role-name</Role> <Rule> <Status>Enabled</Status> <Priority>1</Priority> <DeleteMarkerReplication> <Status>string</Status> </DeleteMarkerReplication> <Filter> <Prefix>star</Prefix> </Filter> <Destination> <Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::destinationbucket</Bucket> </Destination> </Rule> <Rule> <Status>Enabled</Status> <Priority>1</Priority> <DeleteMarkerReplication> <Status>string</Status> </DeleteMarkerReplication> <Filter> <Prefix>starship</Prefix> </Filter> <Destination> <Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::destinationbucket</Bucket> </Destination> </Rule> </ReplicationConfiguration>

Example 4: Example Walkthroughs

For example walkthroughs, see Cross-Region Replication (CRR) Walkthroughs.

For more information about the XML structure of replication configuration, see PutBucketReplication in the Amazon Simple Storage Service API Reference.

Backward Compatibility

The latest version of the replication configuration XML is V2. For backward compatibility, Amazon S3 continues to support the V1 configuration. If you have used replication configuration XML V1, consider the following issues that affect backward compatibility:

  • Replication configuration XML V2 includes the Filter element for rules. With the Filter element, you can specify object filters based on the object key prefix, tags, or both to scope the objects that the rule applies to. Replication configuration XML V1 supported filtering based on only the key prefix, in which case you add the Prefix directly as a child element of the Rule element. For example,

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> <ReplicationConfiguration xmlns="http://s3.amazonaws.com/doc/2006-03-01/"> <Role>arn:aws:iam::AcctID:role/role-name</Role> <Rule> <Status>Enabled</Status> <Prefix>key-prefix</Prefix> <Destination><Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::destinationbucket</Bucket></Destination> </Rule> </ReplicationConfiguration>

    For backward compatibility, Amazon S3 continues to support the V1 configuration.

  • When you delete an object from your source bucket without specifying an object version ID, Amazon S3 adds a delete marker. If you use V1 of the replication configuration XML, Amazon S3 replicates delete markers that resulted from user actions. In other words, if the user deleted the object, and not if Amazon S3 deleted it because the object expired as part of lifecycle action. In V2, Amazon S3 doesn't replicate delete markers and therefore you must set the DeleteMarkerReplication element to Disabled.

    ... <Rule> <ID>Rule-1</ID> <Status>rule-Enabled-or-Diasbled</Priority> <Priority>integer</Status> <DeleteMarkerReplication> <Status>Disabled</Status> </DeleteMarkerReplication> <Destination> <Bucket>arn:aws:s3:::bucket-name</Bucket> </Destination> </Rule> ...