向使用者授予切換角色的許可 - AWS Identity and Access Management

向使用者授予切換角色的許可

當管理員建立用於跨帳戶存取的角色時,他們會在擁有角色和資源的帳戶 (信任帳戶) 和包含使用者的帳戶 (受信任帳戶) 之間建立信任。若要執行此操作,信任帳戶的系統管理員要在角色的信任政策中將可信的帳戶編號指定為 Principal。這「可能」會允許受信任帳戶中的任何使用者擔任該角色。要完成設定,信任帳戶的管理員必須為該帳戶中的特定群組或使用者提供切換到該角色的許可。

若要授予使用者切換到某個角色的許可,則信任帳戶的管理員會為使用者建立新政策。或者,管理員可能會編輯現有的政策,以新增必要的元素。管理員隨後可向使用者傳送連結,讓使用者進入已填寫所有詳細資訊的 Switch Role (切換角色) 頁面。或者,管理員可以為使用者提供包含角色的帳戶 ID 號或帳戶別名以及角色名稱。使用者接著前往 Switch Role (切換角色) 頁面,然後手動新增詳細資訊。有關使用者如何切換角色的詳細資訊,請參閱 切換到角色 (主控台)

請注意,您只能在以 IAM 使用者身分登入時切換角色。當您以 AWS 帳戶 根使用者身分登入時,無法切換角色。

重要

您無法將 AWS Management Console中的角色切換到需要 ExternalId 值的角色。您只能透過呼叫支援 ExternalId 參數的 AssumeRole API 來切換到此類角色。

Notes
  • 本主題討論「使用者」的政策,因為我們最終會向使用者授予完成任務的許可。但是,最佳實務為不要直接向個別使用者授予許可。為方便管理,我們建議向 IAM 群組分配政策並授予許可,然後讓使用者成為相應群組的成員。

  • 當您在 AWS Management Console 中切換角色時,主控台一律使用您的原始憑證對切換操作進行授權。無論您作為 IAM 使用者、SAML 聯合角色還是 Web 聯合身分角色登入,上述情形均適用。例如,如果您切換到 RoleA,它會使用您的原始使用者或聯合角色憑證確定是否允許您擔任 RoleA。如果您在使用 RoleA 時嘗試切換到 RoleB,仍會使用您的原始使用者或聯合身分角色憑證對您切換到 RoleB 的嘗試進行授權。RoleA 的憑證不會用於此動作。

建立或編輯政策

授予使用者擔任角色的許可政策必須包含在下列項目中擁有 Allow 效果的陳述式:

  • sts:AssumeRole 動作

  • Resource 元素中的角色的 Amazon 資源名稱 (ARN)。

下列範例便顯示這種情況。取得政策的使用者 (無論是透過群組成員還是直接連接) 允許切換為指定角色。

注意

如果 Resource 已設定為 *,則使用者可以在信任使用者帳戶的任何帳戶中擔任任何角色。(換句話說,角色的信任政策會將使用者的帳戶指定為 Principal)。最佳實務是建議您遵循最低權限原則,並且僅為使用者所需的角色指定完整的 ARN。

以下範例顯示一個政策,該政策僅允許使用者擔任一個帳戶中的角色。此外,政策使用萬用字元 (*) 指定,如果角色名稱以字元 Test 開頭並後跟任何其他字元組合,則使用者只能切換到該帳戶中的角色。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "sts:AssumeRole", "Resource": "arn:aws:iam::account-id:role/Test*" } }
注意

角色向使用者授予的許可不會新增到使用者已獲得的許可。當使用者切換到某個角色時,使用者可臨時放棄其原始許可以換取由該角色授予的許可。使用者退出該角色時,將自動恢復原始使用者許可。例如,如果使用者的許可允許使用 Amazon EC2 執行個體,但是角色的許可政策未授予這些許可。在這種情況下,在使用角色的同時,使用者不能使用在主控台中的 Amazon EC2 執行個體。此外,透過 AssumeRole 取得的暫時憑證不可透過程式設計方式使用 Amazon EC2 執行個體。

提供資訊給使用者

建立一個角色並向使用者授予切換為該角色的許可後,您必須提供使用者下列項目:

  • 角色的名稱

  • 包含角色的帳戶 ID 或別名

對使用者發送使用帳戶 ID 和角色名稱預先配置的連結,可讓使用者更輕鬆地執行操作。在 Create Role (建立角色) 精靈的最終頁面上,或在啟用跨帳戶功能之任何角色的 Role Summary (角色摘要) 頁面上,都可以看到角色連結。

您還可使用以下格式來手動建構連結。請用您的帳戶 ID 或別名及角色名稱來替換下列範例中的兩個參數:

https://signin.aws.amazon.com/switchrole?account=your_account_ID_or_alias&roleName=optional_path/role_name

我們建議您將使用者導向到 切換到角色 (主控台) 以領導他們逐步完成該過程。

Considerations

  • 如果您以程式設計方式建立角色,則可使用路徑以及名稱來建立角色。如果您這麼做,則必須為您的使用者提供完整的路徑和角色名稱以便在 AWS Management Console 的 Switch Role (切換角色) 頁面上輸入。例如:division_abc/subdivision_efg/role_XYZ

  • 如果您以程式設計方式建立角色,則除了 RoleName 外,您還可以新增最長 512 個字元的 Path。角色名稱長度上限為 64 個字元。但是,若要透過 AWS Management Console 中的 Switch Role (切換角色) 功能使用角色,則結合的 PathRoleName 不能超過 64 個字元。

  • 基於安全考量,您可以檢閱 AWS CloudTrail記錄以瞭解在 AWS 中執行動作的人員。您可以使用角色信任政策中的 sts:SourceIdentity 條件索引鍵,請求使用者在擔任角色時指定身分。例如,您可以請求 IAM 使用者將自己的使用者名稱指定為其來源身分。這可以協助您判斷哪位使用者在 AWS 中執行了特定動作。如需詳細資訊,請參閱。sts:SourceIdentity您亦可以使用 sts:RoleSessionName,請求使用者在擔任角色時指定工作階段名稱。當不同的委託人使用角色時,這可協助您區分角色工作階段。

Menu
AWS Identity and Access Management
User Guide

Granting a User Permissions to Switch Roles

When you create a role for cross-account access, you establish trust from the account that owns the role and the resources (trusting account) to the account that contains the users (trusted account). To do this, you specify the trusted account number as the Principal in the role's trust policy. That allows potentially any user in the trusted account to assume the role. To complete the configuration, the administrator of the trusted account must give specific groups or users in that account permission to switch to the role.

To grant a user permission to switch to a role, you create a new policy for the user or edit an existing policy to add the required elements. You can then send the users a link that takes the user to the Switch Role page with all the details already filled in. Alternatively, you can provide the user with the account ID number or account alias that contains the role and the role name. The user then goes to the Switch Role page and adds the details manually. For details on how a user switches roles, see Switching to a Role (AWS Management Console).

Note that you can switch roles only when you sign in as an IAM user. You cannot switch roles when you sign in as the AWS account root user.

Important

You cannot switch roles in the AWS Management Console to a role that requires an ExternalID value. You can switch to such a role only by calling the AssumeRole API that supports the ExternalID parameter.

Notes

  • This topic discusses policies for a user, because we are ultimately granting permissions to a user to accomplish a task. However, it is best practice not to grant permissions directly to an individual user. For easier management, we recommend assigning policies and granting permissions to IAM groups and then making the users members of the appropriate groups.

  • When you switch roles in the AWS Management Console, the console always uses your original credentials to authorize the switch. This applies whether you sign in as an IAM user, as a SAML-federated role, or as a web-identity federated role. For example, if you switch to RoleA, it uses your original user or federated role credentials to determine if you are allowed to assume RoleA. If you then try to switch to RoleB while you are using RoleA, it still uses your original user or federated role credentials to authorize your attempt to switch to RoleB, not the credentials for RoleA.

Creating or Editing the Policy

A policy that grants a user permission to assume a role must include a statement with the Allow effect on the sts:AssumeRole action and the Amazon Resource Name (ARN) of the role in a Resource element, as shown in the following example. Users that get the policy (either through group membership or directly attached) are allowed to switch to the specified role.

Note

Note that if Resource is set to *, the user can assume any role in any account that trusts the user's account (the role's trust policy specifies the user's account as Principal). As a best practice, we recommend that you follow the principle of least privilege and specify the complete ARN for only the role(s) that the user needs.

The following example shows a policy that lets the user assume roles in only one account and additionally specifies by wildcard (*) that the user can only switch to a role in that account if the role name begins with the letters "Test" followed by any other combination of characters.

Copy
{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "sts:AssumeRole", "Resource": "arn:aws:iam::ACCOUNT-ID-WITHOUT-HYPHENS:role/Test*" } }

Note

The permissions that the role grants to the user do not add to the permissions already granted to the user. When a user switches to a role, the user temporarily gives up his or her original permissions in exchange for those granted by the role. When the user exits the role, then the original user permissions are automatically restored. For example, if the user's permissions allow working with Amazon EC2 instances, but the role's permissions policy does not grant those permissions, then while using the role the user cannot work with Amazon EC2 instances in the console, and temporary credentials obtained via AssumeRole do not work with Amazon EC2 instances programmatically.

Providing Information to the User

After you create a role and grant your user permissions to switch to it, you must provide the user with the role name and the account ID number or account alias that contains the role. You can make things easier for your users by sending them a link that is preconfigured with the account ID and role name. You can see the role link on the final page of the Create Role wizard or in the Role Summary page for any cross-account enabled role.

Note

If you create the role with the AWS CLI , Tools for Windows PowerShell,or the AWS API, then you can create the role with a path in addition to a name. If you do so, then you must provide the complete path and role name to your users to type on the Switch Role page of the AWS Management Console. For example: division_abc/subdivision_efg/role_XYZ.

Important

If you create the role programmatically instead of in the IAM console, then you have an option to add a Path of up to 512 characters in addition to the RoleName, which can be up to 64 characters long. However, to use a role with the Switch Role feature in the AWS console, the combined Path and RoleName cannot exceed 64 characters.

You can also use the following format to manually construct the link. Substitute your account ID or alias and the role name for the two parameters in the request:

https://signin.aws.amazon.com/switchrole?account=YourAccountIDorAliasHere&roleName=pathIfAny/YourRoleNameHere

We recommend that you direct your users to the topic Switching to a Role (AWS Management Console) to step them through the process.

Note

For security purposes, you can use AWS CloudTrail to audit role switching. If CloudTrail is turned on for the account, IAM logs actions that are performed with the role's temporary security credentials. For more information, see CloudTrail Event Reference in the AWS CloudTrail User Guide.