了解 IAM 的運作方式 - AWS Identity and Access Management

了解 IAM 的運作方式

在您建立使用者之前,您應該了解 IAM 的運作方式。IAM 提供控制帳戶身分驗證和授權所需的基礎設施。IAM 基礎設施包含下列項目:


      IntroToIAM_Diagram

條款

進一步了解 IAM 用語。

IAM 資源

IAM 中存放的使用者、群組、角色、政策和身分供應商物件。如同其他 AWS 服務,您可以新增、編輯以及從 IAM 移除資源。

IAM 身分

用於識別及群組的 IAM 資源物件。您可以將政策附加到 IAM 身分。包括使用者、群組和角色。

IAM 實體

AWS 用於身分驗證的 IAM 資源物件。包括 IAM 使用者和角色。

委託人

使用 AWS 帳戶 根使用者、IAM 使用者或 IAM 角色登入 AWS 並提出請求的人員或應用程式。委託人包括聯合身分使用者及擔任的角色。

Principal

委託人是可對 AWS 資源上的動作或操作提出請求的人員或應用程式。委託人需通過 AWS 帳戶 根使用者 或 IAM 實體的身分驗證來對 AWS 提出請求。根據最佳實務,勿使用根使用者憑證來進行您的每日工作。反之,請建立 IAM 實體 (使用者和角色)。您也可以支援聯合身分使用者或程式設計存取,讓應用程式存取您的 AWS 帳戶。

要求

當委託人嘗試使用 AWS Management Console、AWS API 或 AWS CLI 時,該委託人會向 AWS 發送請求。請求包含下列資訊:

  • 動作或操作 – 委託人想要執行的動作或操作。這可能是 AWS Management Console 中的動作,或在 AWS CLI 或 AWS API 中的操作。

  • 資源 – 對其執行動作或操作的 AWS 資源物件。

  • 委託人 – 使用實體 (使用者或角色) 來傳送請求的人員或應用程式。有關委託人的資訊,包括與該委託人用於登入之實體相關聯的政策。

  • 環境資料 – IP 地址、使用者代理程式、啟用 SSL 的狀態或一天中時間的相關資訊。

  • 資源資料 – 與所請求資源相關的資料。這可以包括諸如 DynamoDB 資料表名稱或 Amazon EC2 執行個體上之標籤的資訊。

AWS 將請求資訊收集到請求內容,這是用於評估和授權請求。

身分驗證

委託人必須使用憑證通過身分驗證 (登入 AWS),以傳送請求至 AWS。某些服務 (如 Amazon S3 和 AWS STS) 允許來自匿名使用者的少數請求。不過,這些服務是此規則的例外。

若要從主控台通過根使用者的身分驗證,您必須使用您的電子郵件地址和密碼登入。以 IAM 使用者的身分,提供帳戶 ID 或別名,然後您的使用者名稱和密碼。若要從 API 或 AWS CLI 進行身分驗證,您必須提供存取金鑰和私密金鑰。您可能還需要提供額外的安全性資訊。例如,AWS 建議您使用多重要素驗證 (MFA) 來提高帳戶的安全。若要進一步了解 AWS 可進行身分驗證的 IAM 實體,請參閱 IAM 使用者IAM 角色

Authorization

您也必須獲得授權 (允許) 以完成您的請求。在授權期間,AWS 使用請求內容的值來檢查套用於請求的政策。接著使用政策以決定是否允許或拒絕請求。大多數的政策會以 JSON 文件形式存放在 AWS 中,並負責指定委託人實體的許可。有數種類型的政策會影響是否授權請求。為了讓使用者有權以自己的帳戶存取 AWS 資源,您只需以身分為基礎的政策。資源類型政策最常用於授與跨帳戶存取權。其他政策類型是進階功能,應謹慎使用。

AWS 檢查適用於請求內容的每個政策。如果單一許可政策包含拒絕的動作,AWS 將拒絕整個請求並停止評估。此稱為明確拒絕。由於請求是預設拒絕的,因此只有在請求的每個部分均被適用許可政策允許時,AWS 才會授權該請求。用於單一帳戶中請求的評估邏輯會遵循下列一般規則:

  • 根據預設,所有的請求一律拒絕。(一般而言,一律允許使用 AWS 帳戶 根使用者憑證所提出的對帳戶內資源的請求)。

  • 任何許可政策中的明確允許 (以身分為基礎或以資源為基礎的政策) 都會覆寫此預設值。

  • 如果 Organizations SCP、IAM 許可界限或工作階段政策存在就會覆寫該允許。如果這些政策類型中有一或多個存在,則它們必須全部允許該請求。否則,它會被隱含拒絕。

  • 任何政策中的明確拒絕會覆寫任何允許。

若要進一步了解如何評估所有政策類型的詳細資訊,請參閱 政策評估邏輯。如果您需要在不同的帳戶發出請求,在其他帳戶中的政策必須可讓您存取資源,而且您用來發出請求的 IAM 實體必須具備允許該請求的以身分為基礎的政策。

動作或操作

在您的請求經過身分驗證和獲授權,AWS 會核准您請求的動作或操作。操作由服務定義,包括您可以對資源執行的動作,例如查看、建立、編輯和刪除該資源。例如,IAM 支援大約 40 個用於使用者資源的動作,包括下列動作:

  • CreateUser

  • DeleteUser

  • GetUser

  • UpdateUser

若要允許委託人執行操作,您必須在適用於委託人或受影響資源的政策中包含必要的動作。若要查看每個服務支援的動作、資源類型和條件金鑰的清單,請參閱 AWS 服務的動作、資源和條件金鑰

資源

在 AWS 核准您請求的操作後,可以對您帳戶中的相關資源執行這些操作。資源是存在於服務內的物件。範例包括 Amazon EC2 執行個體、IAM 使用者和 Amazon S3 儲存貯體。該服務定義了可以在每個資源執行的一組動作。如果您建立了對資源執行不相關動作的請求,則拒絕該請求。例如,如果您請求刪除 IAM 角色但提供 IAM 群組資源,則請求將失敗。若要查看識別哪些資源受動作影響的 AWS 服務表格,請參閱 AWS 服務的動作、資源和條件金鑰

AWS Identity and Access Management
User Guide

Understanding How IAM Works

Before you create users, you should understand how IAM works. IAM provides the infrastructure necessary to control authentication and authorization for your account. The IAM infrastructure includes the following elements:


      IntroToIAM_Diagram

Terms

Learn more about IAM terms.

Resources

The user, role, group, and policy objects that are stored in IAM. As with other AWS services, you can add, edit, and remove resources from IAM.

Identities

The IAM resource objects that are used to identify and group. These include users, groups, and roles.

Entities

The IAM resource objects that AWS uses for authentication. These include users and roles. Roles can be assumed by IAM users in your or another account as well as users federated through a web identity or SAML.

Principals

A person or application that uses an entity to sign in and make requests to AWS.

Principal

A principal is a person or application that can make a request for an action or operation on an AWS resource. As a principal, you first sign in as the AWS account root user. As a best practice, do not use your root user for your daily work. Instead, create IAM entities (users and roles). You can also support federated users or programmatic access to allow an application to access your AWS account.

Request

When a principal tries to use the AWS Management Console, the AWS API, or the AWS CLI, that principal sends a request to AWS. The request includes the following information:

  • Actions or operations – The actions or operations that the principal wants to perform. This can be an action in the AWS Management Console, or an operation in the AWS CLI or AWS API.

  • Resources – The AWS resource object upon which the actions or operations are performed.

  • Principal – The person or application that used an entity (user or role) to send the request. Information about the principal includes the policies that are associated with the entity that the principal used to sign in.

  • Environment data – Information about the IP address, user agent, SSL enabled status, or the time of day.

  • Resource data – Data related to the resource that is being requested. This can include information such as a DynamoDB table name or a tag on an Amazon EC2 instance.

AWS gathers the request information into a request context, which is used to evaluate and authorize the request.

Authentication

As a principal, you must be authenticated (signed in to AWS) using an IAM entity to send a request to AWS. Although some services, such as Amazon S3 and AWS STS, allow a few requests from anonymous users, they are the exception to the rule.

To authenticate from the console as a user, you must sign in with your user name and password. To authenticate from the API or AWS CLI, you must provide your access key and secret key. You might also be required to provide additional security information. For example, AWS recommends that you use multi-factor authentication (MFA) to increase the security of your account. To learn more about the IAM entities that AWS can authenticate, see IAM Users and IAM Roles.

Authorization

You must also be authorized (allowed) to complete your request. During authorization, AWS uses values from the request context to check for policies that apply to the request. It then uses the policies to determine whether to allow or deny the request. Most policies are stored in AWS as JSON documents and specify the permissions that are allowed or denied for principals. There are several types of policies that can affect whether a request is authorized. Those policies types can be categorized as permissions policies or permissions boundaries. Permissions policies define the permissions for the object to which they’re attached. These include identity-based policies (the most common), resource-based policies, and ACLs. A permissions boundary is an advanced feature that allows you to use policies to limit the maximum permissions that a principal can have. These boundaries can be applied to AWS Organizations organizations or to IAM users or roles.

To provide your users with permissions to access the AWS resources in their own account, you need only identity-based policies. Resource-based policies are popular for granting cross-account access. The other policy types are advanced features and should be used carefully.

AWS checks each permissions policy that applies to the context of your request. If a single permissions policy includes a denied action, AWS denies the entire request and stops evaluating. This is called an explicit deny. Because requests are denied by default, AWS authorizes your request only if every part of your request is allowed by the applicable permissions policies. The evaluation logic follows these general rules:

  • By default, all requests are denied. (In general, requests made using the AWS account root user credentials for resources in the account are always allowed.)

  • An explicit allow in a permissions policy overrides this default.

  • A permissions boundary (AWS Organizations SCP or user or role boundary) overrides the allow. If there is a permissions boundary that applies, that boundary must allow the request. Otherwise, it is implicitly denied.

  • An explicit deny in any policy overrides any allows.

To learn more about how all types of policies are evaluated, see Policy Evaluation Logic.

Actions or Operations

After your request has been authenticated and authorized, AWS approves the actions or operations in your request. Operations are defined by a service, and include things that you can do to a resource, such as viewing, creating, editing, and deleting that resource. For example, IAM supports approximately 40 actions for a user resource, including the following actions:

  • CreateUser

  • DeleteUser

  • GetUser

  • UpdateUser

To allow a principal to perform an operation, you must include the necessary actions in a policy that applies to the principal or the affected resource. To see a list of actions, resource types, and condition keys supported by each service, see Actions, Resources, and Condition Keys for AWS Services.

Resources

After AWS approves the operations in your request, they can be performed on the related resources within your account. A resource is an object that exists within a service. Examples include an Amazon EC2 instance, an IAM user, and an Amazon S3 bucket. The service defines a set of actions that can be performed on each resource. If you create a request to perform an unrelated action on a resource, that request is denied. For example, if you request to delete an IAM role but provide an IAM group resource, the request fails. To see AWS service tables that identify which resources are affected by an action, see Actions, Resources, and Condition Keys for AWS Services.