策略评估逻辑 - AWS Identity and Access Management

策略评估逻辑

在委托人尝试使用 AWS 管理控制台、AWS API 或 AWS CLI 时,该委托人将向 AWS 发送请求。在 AWS 服务收到请求时,AWS 会完成几个步骤来确定是允许还是拒绝该请求。

  1. 身份验证 – AWS 首先对发出请求的委托人进行身份验证(如有必要)。有一些服务(如 Amazon S3)不需要此步骤,它们允许来自匿名用户的某些请求。

  2. 处理请求上下文 – AWS 处理在请求中收集的信息以确定应用于请求的策略。

  3. 评估单个账户中的策略 – AWS 评估所有策略类型,这会影响策略的评估顺序。

  4. 确定是允许还是拒绝账户内的请求 – AWS 然后根据请求上下文处理策略以确定是允许还是拒绝请求。

处理请求上下文

AWS 处理请求以将以下信息收集到请求上下文 中:

  • 操作 – 委托人希望执行的操作。

  • 资源 – 对其执行操作的 AWS 资源对象。

  • 委托人 – 发送请求的用户、角色、联合身份用户或应用程序。有关委托人的信息包括与该委托人关联的策略。

  • 环境数据 – 有关 IP 地址、用户代理、SSL 启用状态或当天时间的信息。

  • 资源数据 – 与请求的资源相关的数据。这可能包括 DynamoDB 表名称或 Amazon EC2 实例上的标签等信息。

AWS 随后使用此类信息来查找应用于请求上下文的策略。

评估单个账户中的策略

AWS 如何评估策略取决于适用于请求上下文的策略类型。可在单个 AWS 账户中使用以下策略类型,它们按使用频率顺序列出。有关这些策略类型的更多信息,请参阅策略和权限。要了解 AWS 如何评估跨账户访问策略,请参阅跨账户策略评估逻辑

  1. 基于身份的策略 – 基于身份的策略附加到 IAM 身份(用户、用户组或角色)并向 IAM 实体(用户和角色)授予权限。如果仅基于身份的策略适用于请求,则 AWS 检查所有这些策略以找到至少一个 Allow

  2. 基于资源的策略 – 基于资源的策略向指定为委托人的委托人(账户、用户、角色或联合身份用户)授予权限。权限定义委托人可以对策略附加到的资源执行哪些操作。如果基于资源的策略和基于身份的策略同时适用于请求,则 AWS 检查所有这些策略以找到至少一个 Allow

  3. IAM 权限边界 – 权限边界是一项高级功能,借助该功能,您可以设置基于身份的策略可以授予 IAM 实体(用户或角色)的最大权限。当您设置实体的权限边界时,该实体只能执行其基于身份的策略和其权限边界同时允许的操作。权限边界中的隐式拒绝不会限制由基于资源的策略所授予的权限。

  4. AWS Organizations 服务控制策略 (SCP) – 组织 SCP 指定组织或组织单元 (OU) 的最大权限。SCP 最大权限适用于成员账户中委托人的权限,包括每个 AWS 账户根用户。如果 SCP 存在,仅当基于身份的策略和基于资源的策略以及 SCP 允许该操作时,才向成员账户中的委托人授予这些权限。如果权限边界和 SCP 同时存在,则边界、SCP 以及基于身份的策略必须全部允许操作。

  5. 会话策略 – 会话策略是高级策略,在以编程方式为角色或联合身份用户创建临时会话时,这些策略将作为参数进行传递。要以编程方式创建角色会话,请使用 AssumeRole* API 操作之一。在执行该操作并传递会话策略时,生成的会话的权限是 IAM 实体的基于身份的策略与会话策略的交集。要创建联合身份用户会话,您需要使用 IAM 用户的访问密钥以编程方式调用 GetFederationToken API 操作。基于资源的策略对会话策略权限评估具有不同的影响。这种差异取决于用户或角色的 ARN 还是会话的 ARN 在基于资源的策略中作为委托人列出。有关更多信息,请参阅会话策略

请记住,任一项策略中的显式拒绝将覆盖允许。

评估基于身份的策略以及基于资源的策略

基于身份的策略和基于资源的策略向策略所附加到的身份或资源授予权限。在 IAM 实体(用户或角色)请求访问同一账户中的资源时,AWS 评估基于身份的策略和基于资源的策略授予的所有权限。生成的权限是指两种类型的权限的总和。如果基于身份的策略和/或基于资源的策略允许此操作,则 AWS 允许执行该操作。其中任一项策略中的显式拒绝将覆盖允许。


          评估基于身份的策略和基于资源的策略

评估具有权限边界的基于身份的策略

在 AWS 评估用户的基于身份的策略和权限边界时,生成的权限是这两种类别的交集。这意味着,当您通过现有基于身份的策略向用户添加权限边界时,您可能会减少用户可以执行的操作。或者,当您从用户删除权限边界时,您可能会增加用户可以执行的操作。其中任一项策略中的显式拒绝将覆盖允许。要查看有关如何使用权限边界评估其他策略类型的信息,请参阅评估具有边界的有效权限


          评估基于身份的策略和权限边界

评估具有 组织 SCP 的基于身份的策略

在用户属于作为组织成员的账户时,生成的权限是用户的策略与 SCP 的交集。这意味着,操作必须由基于身份的策略和 SCP 同时允许。其中任一项策略中的显式拒绝将覆盖允许。


          评估基于身份的策略和 SCP

您可以了解您的账户是否为 AWS Organizations 中的组织的成员。组织成员可能会受 SCP 的影响。要使用 AWS CLI 命令或 AWS API 操作查看该数据,您必须具有 组织 实体的 organizations:DescribeOrganization 操作的权限。您必须具有额外的权限才能在 组织 控制台中执行该操作。要了解 SCP 是否拒绝访问特定的请求或更改您的有效权限,请与您的 AWS Organizations 管理员联系。

确定是允许还是拒绝账户内的请求

假设委托人向 AWS 发送请求以访问与委托人的实体相同的账户中的资源。AWS 执行代码决定是应该允许还是拒绝请求。AWS 收集适用于请求上下文的所有策略。下面概括介绍了单个账户中有关这些策略的 AWS 评估逻辑。

  • 默认情况下,所有请求都被隐式拒绝。(或者,默认情况下,AWS 账户根用户 拥有完全访问权限。)

  • 基于身份或基于资源的策略中的显式允许将覆盖此默认值。

  • 如果存在权限边界、组织 SCP 或会话策略,它可能会使用隐式拒绝覆盖允许。

  • 任何策略中的显式拒绝将覆盖任何允许。

以下流程图提供了如何做出决定的详细信息。


        评估流程图
  1. 拒绝评估 – 默认情况下,所有请求都被拒绝。这称为隐式拒绝。AWS 执行代码评估账户中应用于请求的所有策略。其中包含 AWS Organizations SCP、基于资源的策略、IAM 权限边界、角色会话策略和基于身份的策略。在所有这些策略中,执行代码查找应用于请求的 Deny 语句。这称为显式拒绝。如果代码找到一个适用的显式拒绝,则代码将返回最终决定拒绝。如果没有显式拒绝,则代码会继续。

  2. 组织 SCP – 然后,代码评估适用于请求的 AWS Organizations 服务控制策略 (SCP)。SCP 适用于附加 SCP 的账户的委托人。如果执行代码没有在 SCP 中找到任何适用的 Allow 语句,则隐式拒绝请求。代码将返回拒绝最终决定。如果没有 SCP,或者 SCP 允许所请求的操作,则代码继续。

  3. 基于资源的策略 – 如果请求的资源具有基于资源的策略,该策略允许委托人执行请求的操作,代码将返回最终决定允许。如果没有基于资源的策略,或者如果策略不包含 Allow 语句,则代码会继续。

    注意

    如果将 IAM 角色或用户的 ARN 指定为基于资源的策略的委托人,该逻辑可能具有不同的行为。某个人可以使用会话策略为该角色或联合身份用户创建临时凭证会话。在这种情况下,会话的有效权限可能不会超过用户或角色的基于身份的策略允许的权限。有关更多信息,请参阅会话策略

  4. IAM 权限边界 – 执行代码随后会检查委托人使用的 IAM 实体是否具有权限边界。如果用于设置权限边界的策略不允许所请求的操作,则请求会被隐式拒绝。代码将返回拒绝最终决定。如果没有权限边界,或者权限边界允许所请求的操作,则代码继续。

  5. 会话策略 – 代码随后会检查委托人是否在使用通过传递会话策略所担任的会话。您可以传递会话策略,同时使用 AWS CLI 或 AWS API 为某个角色或联合身份用户获取临时凭证。如果会话策略存在但不允许所请求的操作,则请求会被隐式拒绝。代码将返回拒绝最终决定。如果没有会话策略,或者策略允许所请求的操作,则代码继续。

  6. 基于身份的策略 – 代码随后会检查委托人的基于身份的策略。对于 IAM 用户,这包括用户策略和来自用户所属组的策略。如果任何适用的基于身份的策略中的任何语句允许请求的操作,执行代码将返回最终决定允许。如果没有语句允许所请求的操作,则请求会被隐式拒绝,代码将返回最终决定拒绝

  7. 错误 – 如果 AWS 执行代码在评估过程中的任意点遇到错误,它将生成异常并关闭。

基于身份的策略和基于资源的策略评估示例

策略的最常见类型是基于身份的策略和基于资源的策略。

假定 Carlos 具有用户名 carlossalazar,他尝试将文件保存到 carlossalazar-logs Amazon S3 存储桶。

还假定将以下策略附加到 carlossalazar IAM 用户。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "AllowS3ListRead", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "s3:ListAllMyBuckets", "s3:HeadBucket" ], "Resource": "*" }, { "Sid": "AllowS3Self", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "s3:*", "Resource": [ "arn:aws:s3:::carlossalazar/*", "arn:aws:s3:::carlossalazar" ] }, { "Sid": "DenyS3Logs", "Effect": "Deny", "Action": "s3:*", "Resource": [ "arn:aws:s3:::*log*", "arn:aws:s3:::*log*/*" ] } ] }

此策略中的 AllowS3ListRead 语句允许 Carlos 查看账户中的所有存储桶的列表。AllowS3Self 语句允许 Carlos 完全访问与其用户名同名的存储桶。DenyS3Logs 语句拒绝 Carlos 访问名称中包含 log 的任何 S3 存储桶。

此外,以下基于资源的策略(称为存储桶策略)附加到 carlossalazar 存储桶。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "s3:*", "Principal": { "AWS": "arn:aws:iam::111122223333:user/carlossalazar" }, "Resource": "*" } ] }

此策略指定只有 carlossalazar 用户可以访问 carlossalazar 存储桶。

当 Carlos 请求将文件保存到 carlossalazar-logs 存储桶时,AWS 将确定应用于请求的策略。在此示例中,仅基于身份的策略和基于资源的策略适用。这些都是权限策略。由于没有任何权限边界适用,评估逻辑将减少为以下逻辑。


        评估流程图

AWS 首先检查应用于请求上下文的 Deny 语句。它找到一个,因为基于身份的策略显式拒绝 Carlos 访问用于日志记录的任何 S3 存储桶。拒绝 Carlos 访问。

假设他随后意识到自己的错误,尝试将文件保存到 carlossalazar 存储桶。AWS 检查 Deny 语句,但未找到。然后,它检查权限策略。基于身份的策略和基于资源的策略均允许请求。因此,AWS 允许请求。如果其中任何一个显式拒绝了语句,则将拒绝请求。如果其中一种策略类型允许请求,而另一种不允许,则仍允许请求。

显式拒绝和隐式拒绝之间的区别

如果适用策略包含 Deny 语句,则请求会导致显式拒绝。如果应用于请求的策略包含一个 Allow 语句和一个 Deny 语句,Deny 语句优先于 Allow 语句。将显式拒绝请求。

当没有适用的 Deny 语句但也没有适用的 Allow 语句时,会发生隐式拒绝。由于默认拒绝 IAM 用户、角色或联合身份用户访问,必须显式允许他们执行操作。否则,将隐式拒绝他们访问。

在设计授权战略时,您必须创建包含 Allow 语句的策略才能允许委托人成功发出请求。但是,您可以选择显式拒绝和隐式拒绝的任意组合。例如,您可以创建以下策略以允许管理员完全访问 AWS 中的所有资源,但显式拒绝访问账单。如果有人向此管理员添加了另一个策略以授权他们访问账单,仍会因为此显式拒绝而遭到拒绝。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "*", "Resource": "*" }, { "Effect": "Deny", "Action": "aws-portal:*", "Resource": "*" } ] }

或者,您可以创建以下策略来允许一个用户管理 IAM 中的用户,但不管理组或任何其他资源。隐式拒绝这些操作,就像其他服务中的操作一样。但是,如果某人向该用户添加了一个策略来允许其执行这些其他操作,则会允许。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "iam:AttachUserPolicy", "iam:CreateUser", "iam:DeleteUser", "iam:DeleteUserPolicy", "iam:DetachUserPolicy", "iam:GetUser", "iam:GetUserPolicy", "iam:ListAttachedUserPolicies", "iam:ListUserPolicies", "iam:ListUsers", "iam:PutUserPolicy", "iam:UpdateUser" ], "Resource": "*" } }

AWS Identity and Access Management
User Guide

Policy Evaluation Logic

When a principal tries to use the AWS Management Console, the AWS API, or the AWS CLI, that principal sends a request to AWS. When an AWS service receives the request, AWS completes several steps to determine whether to allow or deny the request.

  1. Authentication – AWS first authenticates the principal that makes the request, if necessary. This step is not necessary for a few services, such as Amazon S3, that allow some requests from anonymous users.

  2. Processing the Request Context – AWS processes the information gathered in the request to determine which policies apply to the request.

  3. Evaluating Policies Within a Single Account – AWS evaluates all of the policy types, which affect the order in which the policies are evaluated.

  4. Determining Whether a Request Is Allowed or Denied Within an Account – AWS then processes the policies against the request context to determine whether the request is allowed or denied.

Processing the Request Context

AWS processes the request to gather the following information into a request context:

  • Actions (or operations) – The actions or operations that the principal wants to perform.

  • Resources – The AWS resource object upon which the actions or operations are performed.

  • Principal – The user, role, federated user, or application that sent the request. Information about the principal includes the policies that are associated with that principal.

  • Environment data – Information about the IP address, user agent, SSL enabled status, or the time of day.

  • Resource data – Data related to the resource that is being requested. This can include information such as a DynamoDB table name or a tag on an Amazon EC2 instance.

AWS then uses this information to find policies that apply to the request context.

Evaluating Policies Within a Single Account

How AWS evaluates policies depends on the types of policies that apply to the request context. The following policy types, listed in order of frequency, are available for use within a single AWS account. For more information about these policy types, see Policies and Permissions. To learn about cross-account authorization, see How IAM Roles Differ from Resource-based Policies.

  1. Identity-based policies – Identity-based policies are attached to an IAM identity (user, group of users, or role) and grant permissions to IAM entities (users and roles). If only identity-based policies apply to a request, then AWS checks all of those policies for at least one Allow.

  2. Resource-based policies – Resource-based policies grant permissions to the principal entity (account, user, role, or federated user) specified as the principal. The permissions define what the principal can do with the resource to which the policy is attached. If resource-based policies and identity-based policies both apply to a request, then AWS checks all the policies for at least one Allow.

  3. IAM permissions boundaries – Permissions boundaries are an advanced feature that sets the maximum permissions that an identity-based policy can grant to an IAM entity (user or role). When you set a permissions boundary for an entity, the entity can perform only the actions that are allowed by both its identity-based policies and its permissions boundaries. Permissions boundaries do not affect the permissions granted by a resource-based policy.

  4. AWS Organizations service control policies (SCPs) – Organizations SCPs specify the maximum permissions for an organization or organizational unit (OU). The SCP maximum applies to entities in member accounts, including each AWS account root user. If an SCP is present, identity-based and resource-based policies grant permissions to entities only if those policies and the SCP allow the action. If both a permissions boundary and an SCP are present, then the boundary, the SCP, and the identity-based policy must all allow the action.

  5. Session policies – Session policies are advanced policies that you pass as a parameter when you programmatically create a temporary session for a role or federated user. To create a role session programmatically, use one of the AssumeRole* API operations. When you do this and pass a session policy, the resulting session has only the permissions granted by both the role's identity-based policy and the session policy. To create a federated user session, you use an IAM user's access keys to programmatically call the GetFederationToken API operation. When you do this and pass a session policy, the resulting session has only the permissions granted by both the IAM user's identity-based policy and the session policy. A resource-based policy has a different effect on the evaluation of session policy permissions, depending whether the user or role's ARN or the session's ARN is listed as the principal in the resource-based policy. For more information, see Session Policies.

Remember, an explicit deny in any of these policies overrides the allow.

Evaluating Identity-Based Policies with Resource-Based Policies

Identity-based policies and resource-based policies grant permissions to the identities or resources to which they are attached. When an IAM entity (user or role) requests access to a resource within the same account, AWS evaluates all the permissions granted by the identity-based policies and the resource-based policies. The resulting permissions are the total permissions of the two types. If an action is allowed by an identity-based policy, a resource-based policy, or both, then AWS allows the action. An explicit deny in either of these policies overrides the allow.


               Evaluation of identity-based policies and resource-based policies

Evaluating Identity-Based Policies with Permissions Boundaries

When AWS evaluates the identity-based policies and permissions boundary for a user, the resulting permissions are the intersection of the two categories. That means that when you add a permissions boundary to a user with existing identity-based policies, you might reduce the actions that the user can perform. Alternatively, when you remove a permissions boundary from a user, you might increase the actions they can perform. An explicit deny in either of these policies overrides the allow. To view information about how other policy types are evaluated with permissions boundaries, see Evaluating Effective Permissions with Boundaries.


               Evaluation of identity-based policies and permissions boundaries

Evaluating Identity-Based Policies with Organizations SCPs

When AWS evaluates the identity-based policies for a user and an SCP for the organization to which the user's account belongs, the resulting permissions are the intersection of the two categories. This means that an action must be allowed by both the identity-based policy and the SCP. An explicit deny in either of these policies overrides the allow.


               Evaluation of identity-based policies and SCPs

Determining Whether a Request Is Allowed or Denied Within an Account

When a principal sends a request to AWS to access a resource in the same account as the principal's entity, the AWS enforcement code decides whether a given request should be allowed or denied. AWS gathers all of the policies that apply to the request context. The following is a high-level summary of the AWS evaluation logic on those policies within a single account.

  • By default, all requests are implicitly denied. (Alternatively, by default, the AWS account root user has full access.)

  • An explicit allow in an identity-based or resource-based policy overrides this default.

  • If a permissions boundary, Organizations SCP, or session policy is present, it might override the allow with an implicit deny.

  • An explicit deny in any policy overrides any allows.

The following flow chart provides details about how the decision is made.


            Evaluation flow chart
  1. Deny evaluation – By default, all requests are denied. This is called an implicit deny. The AWS enforcement code evaluates all policies within the account that apply to the request. These include AWS Organizations SCPs, resource-based policies, IAM permissions boundaries, role session policies, and identity-based policies. In all those policies, the enforcement code looks for a Deny statement that applies to the request. This is called an explicit deny. If the code finds even one explicit deny that applies, the code returns a final decision of Deny. If there is no explicit deny, the code continues.

  2. Organizations SCPs – Then the code evaluates AWS Organizations service control policies (SCPs) that apply to the request. SCPs apply if the request is made in an account to which the SCP is attached. If the enforcement code does not find any applicable Allow statements in the SCPs, then the request is implicitly denied. The code returns a final decision of Deny. If there is no SCP, or if the SCP allows the requested action, the code continues.

  3. Resource-based policies – If the requested resource has a resource-based policy that allows the principal entity to perform the requested action, then the code returns a final decision of Allow. If there is no resource-based policy, or if the policy does not include an Allow statement, then the code continues.

    Note

    This logic behaves differently if you specify the ARN of an IAM role or user as the principal of the resource-based policy, and then someone uses a session policy to create a temporary session for that role or federated user. For more information, see Session Policies.

  4. IAM permissions boundaries – The enforcement code then checks whether the IAM entity that is used by the principal has a permissions boundary. If the policy that is used to set the permissions boundary does not allow the requested action, then the request is implicitly denied. The code returns a final decision of Deny. If there is no permissions boundary, or if the permissions boundary allows the requested action, the code continues.

  5. Session policies – The code then checks whether the principal entity is using a session that was assumed by passing a session policy. You can pass a session policy while using the AWS CLI or AWS API to get temporary credentials for a role or federated user. If the session policy is present and does not allow the requested action, then the request is implicitly denied. The code returns a final decision of Deny. If there is no session policy, or if the policy allows the requested action, the code continues.

  6. Identity-based policies – The code then checks the identity-based policies for the principal entity. For an IAM user, these include user policies and policies from groups to which the user belongs. If any statement in any applicable identity-based policies allow the requested action, then the enforcement code returns a final decision of Allow. If there are no statements that allow the requested action, then the request is implicitly denied, and the code returns a final decision of Deny.

  7. Errors – If the AWS enforcement code encounters an error at any point during the evaluation, then it generates an exception and closes.

Example Identity-Based and Resource-Based Policy Evaluation

The most common types of policies are identity-based policies and resource-based policies.

Assume that Carlos has the user name carlossalazar and he tries to save a file to the carlossalazar-logs Amazon S3 bucket.

Also assume that the following policy is attached to the carlossalazar IAM user.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "AllowS3ListRead", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "s3:ListAllMyBuckets", "s3:HeadBucket" ], "Resource": "*" }, { "Sid": "AllowS3Self", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "s3:*", "Resource": [ "arn:aws:s3:::carlossalazar/*", "arn:aws:s3:::carlossalazar" ] }, { "Sid": "DenyS3Logs", "Effect": "Deny", "Action": "s3:*", "Resource": [ "arn:aws:s3:::*log*", "arn:aws:s3:::*log*/*" ] } ] }

The AllowS3ListRead statement in this policy allows Carlos to view a list of all of the buckets in the account. The AllowS3Self statement allows Carlos full access to the bucket with the same name as his user name. The DenyS3Logs statement denies Carlos access to any S3 bucket with log in its name.

Additionally, the following resource-based policy (called a bucket policy) is attached to the carlossalazar bucket.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "s3:*", "Principal": { "AWS": "arn:aws:iam::111122223333:user/carlossalazar" }, "Resource": "*" } ] }

This policy specifies that only the carlossalazar user can access the carlossalazar bucket.

When Carlos makes his request to save a file to the carlossalazar-logs bucket, AWS determines what policies apply to the request. In this case, only the identity-based policy and the resource-based policy apply. These are both permissions policies. Because no permissions boundaries apply, the evaluation logic is reduced to the following logic.


        Evaluation flow chart

AWS first checks for a Deny statement that applies to the context of the request. It finds one, because the identity-based policy explicitly denies Carlos access to any S3 buckets used for logging. Carlos is denied access.

Assume that he then realizes his mistake and tries to save the file to the carlossalazar bucket. AWS checks for a Deny statement and does not find one. It then checks the permissions policies. The identity-based policy allows the request. Therefore, AWS allows the request. If either of them explicitly denied the statement, the request would have been denied.

The Difference Between Explicit and Implicit Denies

A request results in an explicit deny if an applicable policy includes a Deny statement. If policies that apply to a request include an Allow statement and a Deny statement, the Deny statement trumps the Allow statement. The request is explicitly denied.

An implicit denial occurs when there is no applicable Deny statement but also no applicable Allow statement. Because an IAM user, role, or federated user is denied access by default, they must be explicitly allowed to perform an action. Otherwise, they are implicitly denied access.

When you design your authorization strategy, you must create policies with Allow statements to allow your principals to successfully make requests. However, you can choose any combination of explicit and implicit denies. For example, you can create the following policy to allow an administrator full access to all resources in AWS, but explicitly deny access to billing. If someone adds another policy to this administrator granting them access to billing, it is still denied because of this explicit deny.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "*", "Resource": "*" }, { "Effect": "Deny", "Action": "aws-portal:*", "Resource": "*" } ] }

Alternatively, you can create the following policy to allow a user to manage users, but not groups or any other resources in IAM. Those actions are implicitly denied, as are actions in other services. However, if someone adds a policy to the user that allows them to perform these other actions, then they are allowed.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "iam:AttachUserPolicy", "iam:CreateUser", "iam:DeleteUser", "iam:DeleteUserPolicy", "iam:DetachUserPolicy", "iam:GetUser", "iam:GetUserPolicy", "iam:ListAttachedUserPolicies", "iam:ListUserPolicies", "iam:ListUsers", "iam:PutUserPolicy", "iam:UpdateUser" ], "Resource": "*" } }