IAM 中的政策和許可 - AWS Identity and Access Management

IAM 中的政策和許可

您要依序透過建立政策,然後將其連接到 IAM 身分 (使用者、使用者群組或角色) 或 AWS 資源,管理 AWS 中的存取權。政策是 AWS 中的一個物件,當其和身分或資源建立關聯時,便可定義其許可。AWS 會在 IAM 主體 (使用者或角色) 發出請求時評估這些政策。政策中的許可決定是否允許或拒絕請求。大多數的政策會以 JSON 文件形式儲存在 AWS 中。AWS 支援六種政策類型:身分型政策、資源型政策、許可界限、Organizations SCP、ACL 和工作階段政策。

IAM 政策定義該動作的許可,無論您使用何種方法來執行操作。例如,若政策允許 GetUser 動作,則具有該政策的使用者可以從 AWS Management Console、AWS CLI 或 AWS API 獲得使用者資訊。當您建立 IAM 使用者時,您可以選擇允許其主控台存取或程式化存取。如果允許主控台存取,則 IAM 使用者可以利用使用者名稱和密碼登入主控台。若在允許程式化存取情況下,使用者可以使用存取金鑰來操作 CLI 或 API。

政策類型

以下政策類型會以最常使用到較不常使用的順序列出,可以在 AWS 中使用。如需更多詳細資訊,請參閱以下各節中的每個政策類型。

  • 身分型政策 – 將受管內嵌政策連接到 IAM 身分 (使用者、使用者所屬的群組或角色)。身分型政策可為身分授予許可。

  • 資源型政策 – 將內嵌政策連接到資源。資源型政策的最常見範例是 Amazon S3 儲存貯體政策和 IAM 角色信任政策。資源型政策會將許可授予政策中所指定的主體。主體可以位在與資源相同的帳戶,或位在其他的帳戶中。

  • 許可界限 – 使用受管政策作為 IAM 實體 (使用者或角色) 的許可界限。該政策會定義身分型政策可為實體授予的最大許可,但並不會授予許可。許可界限不會定義資源型政策可以授予實體的許可上限。

  • Organizations SCP – 使用 AWS Organizations 服務控制政策 (SCP),定義組織或組織單位 (OU) 帳戶成員的最大許可。SCP 會限制身分型政策或資源型政策為帳戶中實體 (使用者或角色) 授予的許可,但不會授予許可。

  • 存取控制清單 (ACL) – 使用 ACL,可以控制其他帳戶中的哪些主體可以存取其中已連接 ACL 的資源。ACL 類似資源型政策,雖然是不使用 JSON 政策文件結構的唯一政策類型。ACL 是跨帳戶許可的政策,負責為指定的主體授予許可。ACL 不可以為相同帳戶中的實體授予許可。

  • 工作階段政策 – 使用 AWS CLI 或 AWS API 來擔任角色或聯合身分使用者時,傳遞進階的工作階段政策。工作階段政策限制以角色或使用者身分型政策授予給該工作階段的許可。工作階段政策會限制已建工作階段的許可,但不會限制授予許可。如需詳細資訊,請參閱工作階段政策

以身分為基礎的政策

身分型政策是 JSON 許可政策文件,可控制身分 (使用者、使用者群組和角色) 會在何種條件下對哪些資源執行哪些動作。身分型政策可進一步分類:

  • 受管政策:為獨立存在的身分型政策,可連接到您 AWS 帳戶中的多個使用者、群組和角色。受管政策有兩種:

    • AWS 受管政策:由 AWS 建立和管理的受管政策。

    • 客戶管理政策:您在 AWS 帳戶中建立和管理的受管政策。客戶管理政策提供比 AWS 受管政策更為精確的政策控制。

  • 內嵌政策 – 您直接新增至單一使用者、群組或角色的政策。內嵌政策可在政策與身分之間維持嚴格的一對一關聯性。當您刪除身分時,它們即會被刪除。

若要了解如何選擇受管政策和內嵌政策的相關資訊,請參閱 在受管政策與內嵌政策之間進行選擇

資源型政策

資源型政策是連接到資源 (如 Amazon S3 儲存貯體) 的 JSON 政策文件。這些政策會授予指定的主體許可,允許在該資源上執行特定的動作,並且定義資源所適用的條件。資源型政策是內嵌政策。不存在受管的資源型政策。

若要啟用跨帳戶存取,您可以指定在其他帳戶內的所有帳戶或 IAM 實體,作為資源型政策的主體。新增跨帳戶主體至資源型政策,只是建立信任關係的一半。當主體和資源分屬不同的 AWS 帳戶時,您也必須使用身分型政策授予主體對資源的存取權。不過,如果資源型政策會為相同帳戶中的主體授予存取,這時就不需要額外的身分型政策。如需授予跨服務存取權限的逐步指示,請參閱 IAM 教學課程:使用 IAM 角色將存取許可委派給不同 AWS 帳戶

IAM 服務支援一種稱為角色信任政策,且已連接到 IAM 角色的資源型政策。IAM 角色既是一種身分,也是一項資源,可支援資源型政策。因此,您必須同時將信任政策和身分型政策連接到 IAM 角色。信任政策會定義哪些主體實體 (帳戶、使用者、角色和聯合身分使用者) 可擔任該角色。若要了解 IAM 角色與其他以資源為基礎之政策之間的差別,請參閱 IAM 角色與基於資源的政策有何差異

若要查看哪些其他服務可以支援資源型政策,請參閱可搭配 IAM 運作的 AWS 服務。若要進一步了解資源型政策的詳細資訊,請參閱 以身分為基礎和以資源為基礎的政策。若要了解在您信任區域 (受信任組織或帳戶) 外帳戶中的主體是否具有擔任您角色的許可,請參閱什麼是 IAM Access Analyzer?

IAM 許可界限

許可界限是一種進階功能,可供您設定身分型政策可以授予 IAM 實體的最大許可。當您為實體設定許可界限時,實體只能執行由身分型政策和其許可界限同時允許的動作。指定使用者或角色作為主體的資源型政策,不會受到許可界限的限制。所有這類政策中的明確拒絕都會覆寫該允許。如需有關許可界限的詳細資訊,請參閱 IAM 實體的許可界限

服務控制政策 (SCP)

AWS Organizations 是一項分組服務,可集中管理您的企業擁有的 AWS 帳戶。若您啟用組織中的所有功能,您可以將服務控制政策 (SCP) 套用到任何或所有帳戶。SCP 是一種 JSON 政策,負責指定組織或組織單位 (OU) 的最大許可。SCP 會限制成員帳戶中的實體許可,包括每個 AWS 帳戶 的根使用者。所有這類政策中的明確拒絕都會覆寫該允許。

如需有關 Organizations 和 SCP 的詳細資訊,請參閱《AWS Organizations 使用者指南》中的 SCP 運作方式

存取控制清單 (ACL)

存取控制清單 (ACL) 是一種服務政策,可讓您控制另一個帳戶中的哪些主體可以存取資源。ACL 不能用於控制相同帳戶中主體的存取。ACL 類似資源型政策,雖然是不使用 JSON 政策文件格式的唯一政策類型。Amazon S3、AWS WAF 和 Amazon VPC 是支援 ACL 的服務範例。若要進一步了解 ACL,請參閱《Amazon Simple Storage Service 開發人員指南》中的存取控制清單 (ACL) 概觀

工作階段政策

工作階段政策是一種進階政策,且您會在以程式設計方式建立角色或聯合身分使用者的臨時工作階段時,以參數方式傳遞。工作階段的許可是用來建立工作階段及工作階段政策 IAM 實體 (使用者或角色) 之身分型政策的交集。許可也可以來自資源型政策。所有這類政策中的明確拒絕都會覆寫該允許。

您可以建立角色工作階段,以及透過程式設計方式使用 AssumeRoleAssumeRoleWithSAMLAssumeRoleWithWebIdentity API 操作來傳遞工作階段政策。您可以使用 Policy 參數傳遞單一 JSON 內嵌工作階段政策文件。您可以使用 PolicyArns 參數,指定多達 10 個受管工作階段政策。如需有關建立角色工作階段的詳細資訊,請參閱 請求暫時性安全憑證

建立聯合身分使用者工作階段時,您要使用 IAM 使用者存取金鑰,以程式設計的方式來呼叫 GetFederationToken API 操作。您也必須通過工作階段政策。所產生工作階段的許可會是 IAM 使用者的身分型政策和工作階段政策的交集。如需有關建立聯合身分使用者工作階段的詳細資訊,請參閱 GetFederationToken - 透過自訂身分經紀人的聯合

資源型政策可以指定使用者或角色 ARN 作為主體。在該情況下,在工作階段建立之前,依據資源型政策的許可會新增到該角色或使用者的身分型政策。工作階段政策限制由資源型政策、身分型政策所授予的總許可數。產生的工作階段的許可是工作階段政策與資源型政策的交集,加上工作階段政策與身分型政策的交集。


          評估的工作階段政策與資源型政策使用指定實體 ARN

資源型政策可以指定工作階段 ARN 作為主體。在該情況下,會在建立工作階段後,從資源型政策新增許可。資源型政策許可不會受到工作階段政策的限制。產生的工作階段擁有資源型政策的所有許可,加上身分型政策與工作階段政策的交集。


          評估的工作階段政策與資源型政策使用指定工作階段 ARN

許可界限可以為使用者或角色設定建立工作階段的許可上限。在該情況下,產生的工作階段的許可是工作階段政策、許可界限與身分型政策的交集。不過,許可界限不會限制由資源型政策所授予的許可,指定產生工作階段的 ARN。


          搭配許可界限的工作階段政策評估

政策和根使用者

AWS 帳戶 根使用者不受政策類型影響,但有一些政策類型例外。您無法將身分型政策連接到根使用者,而且您無法為根使用者設定許可界限。不過,您可以在資源型政策或 ACL 中將根使用者指定為主體。根使用者仍是帳戶的成員。如果該帳戶是 AWS Organizations 中組織的成員,根使用者會受到該帳戶的任何 SCP 的影響。

JSON 政策概觀

大部分政策以 JSON 文件形式存放在 AWS 中。身分型政策以及用於設定許可界限的政策,都是您連接到使用者或角色的 JSON 政策文件。資源型政策是連接到資源的 JSON 政策文件。SCP 是 JSON 政策文件,其具備您連接到 AWS Organizations 組織單位 (OU) 的受限語法。ACL 也會連接到資源,但您必須使用不同的語法。工作階段政策是您在擔任角色或聯合身分使用者工作階段時所需要提供的 JSON 政策。

您不需要了解 JSON 語法。您可以在 AWS Management Console 中使用視覺化編輯器來建立和編輯客戶管理政策,從不需使用 JSON。不過,如果將內嵌政策用於群組或複雜政策,您仍然必須在 JSON 編輯器中利用主控台建立和編輯這些政策。如需有關使用視覺化編輯器的詳細資訊,請參閱 建立 IAM 政策編輯 IAM 政策

當您建立或編輯 JSON 政策時,IAM 可以執行政策驗證以協助您建立有效的政策。IAM 會識別 JSON 語法錯誤,而 IAM Access Analyzer 會提供額外的政策檢查及建議,協助您進一步改良政策。若要進一步了解政策驗證的資訊,請參閱 驗證 IAM 政策。若要進一步了解 IAM Access Analyzer 政策檢查和可動作的建議,請參閱 IAM Access Analyzer 政策驗證

JSON 政策文件結構

如下圖所示,JSON 政策文件包含這些元素:

  • 在文件最上方選用的整體政策資訊

  • 一或多個個別的陳述式

每個陳述式包含關於單一許可的資訊。如果政策包含多個陳述式,AWS 會在進行評估時套用具邏輯性的 OR 至所有陳述式。如果多個政策套用到請求,AWS 便會在進行評估時套用具邏輯性的 OR 至所有的政策。


          JSON 政策文件結構

陳述式中的資訊包含在一系列的元素內。

  • Version – 指定您要使用的政策語言版本。根據最佳實務,使用最新的 2012-10-17 版本。

  • Statement – 使用此主要政策元素作為以下元素的容器。您可以在政策中包含多個陳述式。

  • Sid (選用) – 包含選用的陳述式 ID 來區分您的陳述式。

  • Effect – 使用 AllowDeny 來表示政策是否允許或拒絕存取。

  • Principal (僅在某些情況下需要) – 如果您建立以資源為基礎政策,則必須指示您想要允許或拒絕存取的帳戶、使用者、角色或聯合身分使用者。如果您要建立 IAM 許可政策來連接到使用者或角色,您不能包含此元素。主體意味著該使用者或角色。

  • Action – 包含政策允許或拒絕的動作清單。

  • Resource (僅在某些情況下需要) – 如果您建立 IAM 許可政策,則必須指示要套用動作的資源清單。如果您建立資源型政策,此元素是選用的。如果您未包含此元素,則此動作適用的資源是連接此政策的資源。

  • Condition (選用) – 指定政策授予許可的條件。

若要了解這些內容及其他更進階的政策元素,請參閱IAM JSON 政策元素參考

多項陳述式和多個政策

如果您想要定義一個以上的實體 (使用者或角色) 許可,您可以在單一政策使用多個陳述式。您也可以連接多個政策。如果您嘗試在單一陳述式定義多個許可,您的政策可能不會授予您預期的存取權。根據最佳實務,透過資源類型將政策分類。

由於政策的大小限制,可能需要針對更複雜的許可採用多重政策。在不同的客戶管理政策中建立許可的功能群組,也是不錯的想法。例如,建立一個政策給 IAM 使用者管理、一個給自我管理,另一個給 S3 儲存貯體管理。無論如何組合多個陳述式和多個政策,AWS 會以相同方式評估您的政策。

例如,以下政策具有三個陳述式,每一個定義單一帳戶內不同組的許可。陳述式定義下列動作:

  • 第一種陳述式具有 SidFirstStatement (陳述式 ID),可讓具有連接政策的使用者變更自己的密碼。此陳述式的 Resource 元素是 * (其表示「所有資源」)。但事實上 ChangePasswordAPI 操作 (或同等 change-password CLI 命令) 只對提出請求的使用者的密碼有影響。

  • 第二個陳述式可讓使用者在其 AWS 帳戶列出所有的 Amazon S3 儲存貯體。此陳述式的 Resource 元素是 "*" (其表示「所有資源」)。但是,因為政策不授予其他帳戶的資源存取權,使用者只能列出自己的 AWS 帳戶中的儲存貯體。

  • 第三個陳述式可讓使用者列出並擷取儲存貯體中的任何物件,名為 confidential-data,但前提是使用者必須是以 多重要素驗證 (MFA) 驗證。政策中的 Condition 元素強制執行 MFA 身分驗證。

    當政策陳述式包含 Condition 元素,陳述式僅於 Condition 元素評估為 true 是生效。在這種情況下,當使用者經過 MFA 身分驗證,Condition 評估為 true。如果使用者未經過 MFA 身分驗證,這項 Condition 評估設為 false。在這種情況下,此政策的第三個陳述式將不適用,而且使用者無法存取 confidential-data 儲存貯體。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "FirstStatement", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": ["iam:ChangePassword"], "Resource": "*" }, { "Sid": "SecondStatement", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "s3:ListAllMyBuckets", "Resource": "*" }, { "Sid": "ThirdStatement", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "s3:List*", "s3:Get*" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:s3:::confidential-data", "arn:aws:s3:::confidential-data/*" ], "Condition": {"Bool": {"aws:MultiFactorAuthPresent": "true"}} } ] }

JSON 政策語法的範例

以下身分型政策允許暗示的主體列出單一 Amazon S3 儲存貯體,其名稱是 example_bucket

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "s3:ListBucket", "Resource": "arn:aws:s3:::example_bucket" } }

以下資源型政策可以連接到 Amazon S3 儲存貯體。此政策可讓特定 AWS 帳戶的成員在名為 mybucket 的儲存貯體中執行任何 Amazon S3 動作。它允許可在儲存貯體或其中的物件上執行的任何動作。(由於政策僅對帳戶授予信任,帳戶中的個別使用者仍必須被授予特定 Amazon S3 動作的許可)。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [{ "Sid": "1", "Effect": "Allow", "Principal": {"AWS": ["arn:aws:iam::account-id:root"]}, "Action": "s3:*", "Resource": [ "arn:aws:s3:::mybucket", "arn:aws:s3:::mybucket/*" ] }] }

若要檢視常見案例的範例政策,請參閱以身分為基礎的 IAM 政策範例

授予最低權限

當您建立 IAM 政策時,請遵循授予最低權限的標準安全建議,或者只授予執行任務所需的許可。決定使用者和角色需要執行哪些任務,然後為他們制定政策,讓使用者執行這些任務。

以最小一組許可開始,然後依需要授予額外的許可。這比一開始使用太寬鬆的許可,稍後再嘗試將他們限縮更為安全。

作為最低權限的替代方案,您可以使用 AWS 受管政策或具有萬用字元 * 許可的政策,以開始使用政策。若授與主體的許可超出執行任務所需的許可,需考量其相關的安全性風險。監控這些主體,以了解他們正在使用的許可。然後寫入最低權限政策。

IAM 提供數個選項,協助您精簡您授予的許可。

  • 了解存取層級群組 – 您可以使用存取層級的方法進行分組,以了解政策授予的存取層級。政策動作分為 ListReadWritePermissions managementTagging。例如,您可以從 ListRead 存取層級選擇動作以授予唯讀存取權給您的使用者。若要了解如何使用政策摘要,以理解存取層級許可,請參閱了解政策摘要內的存取層級摘要

  • 驗證您的政策 – 您可以在建立和編輯 JSON 政策時,使用 IAM Access Analyzer 執行政策驗證。我們建議您檢閱並驗證所有現有政策。IAM Access Analyzer 提供超過 100 項的政策檢查,以驗證您的政策。當您政策中的聲明允許我們認為過度寬鬆的存取權時,即會產生安全性警告。在授予最低權限時,您可以使用透過安全性警告提供的可操作建議。若要進一步了解有關 IAM Access Analyzer 所提供的政策檢查,請參閱 IAM Access Analyzer 政策驗證

  • 根據存取活動產生政策 – 為了協助您精簡所授予的許可,您可以根據 IAM 實體 (使用者或角色) 的存取活動產生 IAM 政策。IAM Access Analyzer 會審查您的 AWS CloudTrail 日誌並產生政策範本,它包含實體在指定時間範圍內所使用的許可。您可以使用範本建立具有精細許可的受管政策,然後將其連接至 IAM 實體。如此一來,您只會授予使用者或角色與特定使用案例的 AWS 資源互動所需的許可。如需進一步了解,請參閱 根據存取活動產生政策

  • 使用上次存取的資訊 – 另一個有助於實現最低權限的功能是上次存取的資訊。在 IAM 主控台詳細資訊頁面的 Access Advisor (存取 Advisor) 索引標籤上檢視 IAM 使用者、群組、角色或政策的此資料。上次存取的資訊也包括上次存取某些服務之動作的相關資訊,例如 Amazon EC2、IAM、Lambda 和 Amazon S3。如果您使用 AWS Organizations 管理帳戶憑證登入,則可以在 IAM 主控台 AWS Organizations 區段中檢視上次存取的服務資訊。您也可以使用 AWS CLI 或 AWS API 來為 IAM 或 Organizations 中的實體或政策擷取上次存取資訊的報告。您可以使用此資訊來找出不必要的許可,以便您能夠微調 IAM 或 Organizations 政策以更完善地遵循最低權限的原則。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 使用上次存取的資訊精簡 AWS 的許可

  • 檢閱 AWS CloudTrail 中的帳戶事件 – 若要進一步降低許可,您可以在 AWS CloudTrail 事件歷史記錄中檢視您帳戶的事件。CloudTrail 事件日誌包含可供您用來縮減政策之許可的詳細事件資訊。此日誌只包含 IAM 實體所需的動作和資源。如需詳細資訊,請參閱《AWS CloudTrail 使用者指南》中的在 CloudTrail 主控台中檢視 CloudTrail 事件

如需詳細資訊,請參閱下列適用於個別服務的政策主題,其中提供如何為服務特定的資源撰寫政策的範例。

AWS Identity and Access Management
User Guide

Policies and Permissions

You manage access in AWS by creating policies and attaching them to IAM identities (users, groups of users, or roles) or AWS resources. A policy is an object in AWS that, when associated with an identity or resource, defines their permissions. AWS evaluates these policies when a principal entity (user or role) makes a request. Permissions in the policies determine whether the request is allowed or denied. Most policies are stored in AWS as JSON documents. AWS supports six types of policies: identity-based policies, resource-based policies, permissions boundaries, Organizations SCPs, ACLs, and session policies.

IAM policies define permissions for an action regardless of the method that you use to perform the operation. For example, if a policy allows the GetUser action, then a user with that policy can get user information from the AWS Management Console, the AWS CLI, or the AWS API. When you create an IAM user, you can choose to allow console or programmatic access. If console access is allowed, the IAM user can sign in to the console using a user name and password. Or if programmatic access is allowed, the user can use access keys to work with the CLI or API.

Policy Types

The following policy types, listed in order of frequency, are available for use in AWS. For more details, see the sections below for each policy type.

  • Identity-based policies – Attach managed and inline policies to IAM identities (users, groups to which users belong, or roles). Identity-based policies grant permissions to an identity.

  • Resource-based policies – Attach inline policies to resources. The most common examples of resource-based policies are Amazon S3 bucket policies and IAM role trust policies. Resource-based policies grant permissions to a principal entity that is specified in the policy. Principals can be in the same account as the resource or in other accounts.

  • Permissions boundaries – Use a managed policy as the permissions boundary for an IAM entity (user or role). That policy defines the maximum permissions that the identity-based policies can grant to an entity, but does not grant permissions. Permissions boundaries do not define the maximum permissions that a resource-based policy can grant to an entity.

  • Organizations SCPs – Use an AWS Organizations service control policy (SCP) to define the maximum permissions for account members of an organization or organizational unit (OU). SCPs limit permissions that identity-based policies or resource-based policies grant to entities (users or roles) within the account, but do not grant permissions.

  • Access control lists (ACLs) – Use ACLs to control which principals in other accounts can access the resource to which the ACL is attached. ACLs are similar to resource-based policies, although they are the only policy type that does not use the JSON policy document structure. ACLs are cross-account permissions policies that grant permissions to the specified principal entity. ACLs cannot grant permissions to entities within the same account.

  • Session policies – Pass advanced session policies when you use the AWS CLI or AWS API to assume a role or a federated user. Session policies limit the permissions that the role or user's identity-based policies grant to the session. Session policies limit permissions for a created session, but do not grant permissions. For more information, see Session Policies.

Identity-Based Policies

Identity-based policies are JSON permissions policy documents that you can attach to an identity (user, group of users, or role). These policies control what actions an entity (user or role) can perform, on which resources, and under what conditions. Identity-based policies can be further categorized:

  • Managed policies – Standalone identity-based policies that you can attach to multiple users, groups, and roles in your AWS account. You can use two types of managed policies:

    • AWS managed policies – Managed policies that are created and managed by AWS. If you are new to using policies, we recommend that you start by using AWS managed policies.

    • Customer managed policies – Managed policies that you create and manage in your AWS account. Customer managed policies provide more precise control over your policies than AWS managed policies. You can create and edit an IAM policy in the visual editor or by creating the JSON policy document directly. For more information, see Creating IAM Policies and Editing IAM Policies.

  • Inline policies – Policies that you create and manage and that are embedded directly into a single user, group, or role. In most cases, we don't recommend using inline policies.

To learn how to choose between a managed policy or an inline policy, see Managed Policies and Inline Policies.

Resource-Based Policies

Resource-based policies are JSON policy documents that you attach to a resource such as an Amazon S3 bucket. These policies grant the specified principal permission to perform specific actions on that resource and defines under what conditions this applies. Resource-based policies are inline policies. There are no managed resource-based policies.

To enable cross-account access, you can specify an entire account or IAM entities in another account as the principal in a resource-based policy. Adding a cross-account principal to a resource-based policy is only half of establishing the trust relationship. When the principal and the resource are in separate AWS accounts, you must also use an identity-based policy to grant the principal entity access to the resource. However, if a resource-based policy grants access to a principal in the same account, no additional identity-based policy is required.

The IAM service supports only one type of resource-based policy called a role trust policy, which is attached to an IAM role. An IAM role is both an identity and a resource that supports resource-based policies. For that reason, you must attach both a trust policy and an identity-based policy to an IAM role. Trust policies define which principal entities (accounts, users, roles, and federated users) can assume the role. To learn how IAM roles are different from other resource-based policies, see How IAM Roles Differ from Resource-based Policies.

To see which other services support resource-based policies, see AWS Services That Work with IAM. To learn more about resource-based policies, see Identity-Based Policies and Resource-Based Policies.

IAM Permissions Boundaries

A permissions boundary is an advanced feature in which you set the maximum permissions that an identity-based policy can grant to an IAM entity. When you set a permissions boundary for an entity, the entity can perform only the actions that are allowed by both its identity-based policies and its permissions boundaries. Resource-based policies that specify the user or role as the principal are not limited by the permissions boundary. An explicit deny in any of these policies overrides the allow. For more information about permissions boundaries, see Permissions Boundaries for IAM Entities.

Service Control Policies (SCPs)

AWS Organizations is a service for grouping and centrally managing the AWS accounts that your business owns. If you enable all features in an organization, then you can apply service control policies (SCPs) to any or all of your accounts. SCPs are JSON policies that specify the maximum permissions for an organization or organizational unit (OU). The SCP limits permissions for entities in member accounts, including each AWS account root user. An explicit deny in any of these policies overrides the allow.

For more information about Organizations and SCPs, see About Service Control Policies in the AWS Organizations User Guide.

Access Control Policies (ACLs)

Access control policies (ACLs) allow you to control which principals in another account can access a resource. ACLs cannot be used to control access for a principal within the same account. ACLs are similar to resource-based policies, although they are the only policy type that does not use the JSON policy document format. Amazon S3, AWS WAF, and Amazon VPC are examples of services that support ACLs. To learn more about ACLs, see Access Control List (ACL) Overview in the Amazon Simple Storage Service Developer Guide.

Session Policies

Session policies are advanced policies that you pass in a parameter when you programmatically create a temporary session for a role or federated user. The permissions for a session are the intersection of the identity-based policies for the IAM entity (user or role) used to create the session and the session policies. Permissions can also come from a resource-based policy. An explicit deny in any of these policies overrides the allow.

You can create a role session and pass session policies programmatically using the AssumeRole, AssumeRoleWithSAML, or AssumeRoleWithWebIdentity API operations. You can pass a single JSON inline session policy document using the Policy parameter. You can use the PolicyArns parameter to specify up to 10 managed session policies. For more information about creating a role session, see Requesting Temporary Security Credentials.

When you create a federated user session, you use an IAM user's access keys to programmatically call the GetFederationToken API operation. You must also pass session policies. The resulting session's permissions are the intersection of the IAM user's identity-based policy and the session policy. For more information about creating a federated user session, see GetFederationToken—Federation Through a Custom Identity Broker.

A resource-based policy can specify the ARN of the user or role as a principal. In that case, the permissions from the resource-based policy are added to the role or user's identity-based policy before the session is created. The session policy limits the total permissions granted by the resource-based policy and the identity-based policy. The resulting session's permissions are the intersection of the session policies and either the resource-based policy or the identity-based policy.


          Evaluation of the session policy with a resource-based policy specifying the
            entity ARN

A resource-based policy can specify the ARN of the session as a principal. In that case, the permissions from the resource-based policy are added after the session is created. The resource-based policy permissions are not limited by the session policy. The resulting session has all the permissions of the resource-based policy plus the intersection of the identity-based policy and the session policy.


          Evaluation of the session policy with a resource-based policy specifying the
            session ARN

A permissions boundary can set the maximum permissions for a user or role that is used to create a session. In that case, the resulting session's permissions are the intersection of the session policy, the permissions boundary, and the identity-based policy.


          Evaluation of the session policy with a permissions boundary

Policies and the Root User

The AWS account root user is affected by some policy types but not others. You cannot attach identity-based policies to the root user, and you cannot set the permissions boundary for the root user. However, you can specify the root user as the principal in a resource-based policy or an ACL. As a member of an account, the root user is affected by any SCPs for the account.

Overview of JSON Policies

Most policies are stored in AWS as JSON documents. Identity-based policies and policies used to set permissions boundaries are JSON policy documents that you attach to a user or role. Resource-based policies are JSON policy documents that you attach to a resource. SCPs are JSON policy documents with restricted syntax that you attach to an AWS Organizations organizational unit (OU). ACLs are also attached to a resource, but you must use a different syntax. Session policies are JSON policies that you provide when you assume a role or federated user session.

It is not necessary for you to understand the JSON syntax. You can use the visual editor in the AWS Management Console to create and edit customer managed policies without ever using JSON. However, if you use inline policies for groups or complex policies, you must still create and edit those policies in the JSON editor using the console. For more information about using the visual editor, see Creating IAM Policies and Editing IAM Policies.

JSON Policy Document Structure

As illustrated in the following figure, a JSON policy document includes these elements:

  • Optional policywide information at the top of the document

  • One or more individual statements

Each statement includes information about a single permission. If a policy includes multiple statements, AWS applies a logical OR across the statements when evaluating them. If multiple policies apply to a request, AWS applies a logical OR across all of those policies when evaluating them.


          JSON policy document structure

The information in a statement is contained within a series of elements.

  • Version – Specify the version of the policy language that you want to use. As a best practice, use the latest 2012-10-17 version.

  • Statement – Use this main policy element as a container for the following elements. You can include more than one statement in a policy.

  • Sid – Include an optional statement ID to differentiate between your statements.

  • Effect – Use Allow or Deny to indicate whether the policy allows or denies access.

  • Principal – Indicate the account, user, role, or federated user to which you would like to allow or deny access. If you are creating a policy to attach to a user or role, you cannot include this element. The principal is implied as that user or role.

  • Action – Include a list of actions that the policy allows or denies.

  • Resource – Specify a list of resources to which the actions apply.

  • Condition (Optional) – Specify the circumstances under which the policy grants permission.

To learn about these and other more advanced policy elements, see IAM JSON Policy Elements Reference.

Multiple Statements and Multiple Policies

If you want to define more than one permission for an entity (user, group, or role), you can use multiple statements in a single policy. You can also attach multiple policies. If you try to define multiple permissions in a single statement, your policy might not grant the access that you expect. As a best practice, break up policies by resource type.

Because of the limited size of policies, it might be necessary to use multiple policies for more complex permissions. It's also a good idea to create functional groupings of permissions in a separate customer managed policy. For example, Create one policy for IAM user management, one for self-management, and another policy for S3 bucket management. Regardless of the combination of multiple statements and multiple policies, AWS evaluates your policies the same way.

For example, the following policy has three statements, each of which defines a separate set of permissions within a single account. The statements define the following:

  • The first statement, with an Sid (Statement ID) of FirstStatement, lets the user with the attached policy change their own password. The Resource element in this statement is "*" (which means "all resources"). But in practice, the ChangePassword API operation (or equivalent change-password CLI command) affects only the password for the user who makes the request.

  • The second statement lets the user list all the Amazon S3 buckets in their AWS account. The Resource element in this statement is "*" (which means "all resources"). But because policies don't grant access to resources in other accounts, the user can list only the buckets in their own AWS account.

  • The third statement lets the user list and retrieve any object that is in a bucket named confidential-data, but only when the user is authenticated with multi-factor authentication (MFA). The Condition element in the policy enforces the MFA authentication.

    When a policy statement contains a Condition element, the statement is only in effect when the Condition element evaluates to true. In this case, the Condition evaluates to true when the user is MFA-authenticated. If the user is not MFA-authenticated, this Condition evaluates to false. In that case, the third statement in this policy does not apply and the user does not have access to the confidential-data bucket.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "FirstStatement", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": ["iam:ChangePassword"], "Resource": "*" }, { "Sid": "SecondStatement", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "s3:ListAllMyBuckets", "Resource": "*" }, { "Sid": "ThirdStatement", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "s3:List*", "s3:Get*" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:s3:::confidential-data", "arn:aws:s3:::confidential-data/*" ], "Condition": {"Bool": {"aws:MultiFactorAuthPresent": "true"}} } ] }

Examples of JSON Policy Syntax

The following identity-based policy allows the implied principal to list a single Amazon S3 bucket named example_bucket:

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "s3:ListBucket", "Resource": "arn:aws:s3:::example_bucket" } }

The following resource-based policy can be attached to an Amazon S3 bucket. The policy allows members of a specific AWS account to perform any Amazon S3 actions in the bucket named mybucket. It allows any action that can be performed on a bucket or the objects within it. (Because the policy grants trust only to the account, individual users in the account must still be granted permissions for the specified Amazon S3 actions.)

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Id": "S3-Account-Permissions", "Statement": [{ "Sid": "1", "Effect": "Allow", "Principal": {"AWS": ["arn:aws:iam::ACCOUNT-ID-WITHOUT-HYPHENS:root"]}, "Action": "s3:*", "Resource": [ "arn:aws:s3:::mybucket", "arn:aws:s3:::mybucket/*" ] }] }

To view example policies for common scenarios, see Example IAM Identity-Based Policies.