跨 AWS 账户创建备份副本 - AWS Backup

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

跨 AWS 账户创建备份副本

注意

在 AWS Backup 中跨多个 AWS 账户管理资源之前,您的账户必须在 AWS Organizations 服务中属于同一组织。

利用 AWS Backup,您可以按需备份到多个 AWS 账户,也可以作为定期备份计划的一部分自动进行备份。如果您出于运营或安全原因需要将备份安全地复制到组织中的一个或多个 AWS 账户,请使用跨账户备份。如果原始备份被无意中删除,则可以将备份从目的地账户复制到其源账户,然后开始还原。在执行此操作之前,您必须在 AWS Organizations 服务中拥有两个属于同一组织的账户。有关更多信息,请参阅《Organizations 用户指南》中的教程:创建和配置组织

在目的地账户中,您必须创建备份保管库。然后,您可以分配客户托管密钥来加密目的地账户中的备份,并分配基于资源的访问策略以允许 AWS Backup 访问您要复制的资源。在源账户中,如果您的资源使用客户托管密钥进行加密,则必须与目的地账户共享此客户托管密钥。然后,您可以创建备份计划并选择在 AWS Organizations 中属于您的组织单位的目的地账户。

AWS Backup 支持的大多数资源都支持跨账户备份。有关详细信息,请参阅按资源划分的功能可用性表的该部分。

大多数 AWS 区域都支持跨账户备份。有关详细信息,请参阅按 AWS 区域划分的功能可用性表的该部分。

设置跨账户备份

创建跨账户备份需要什么?
  • 一个源账户

    源账户是您的生产 AWS 资源和主备份所在的账户。

    源账户用户发起跨账户备份操作。源账户用户或角色必须具有相应的 API 权限才能发起该操作。相应的权限可能是允许完全访问 AWS Backup 操作的 AWS 托管策略 AWSBackupFullAccess,也可能是允许执行诸如 ec2:ModifySnapshotAttribute 等操作的客户托管策略。有关策略类型的更多信息,请参阅 AWS Backup 托管策略

  • 一个目的地账户

    目的地账户是您要在其中保存备份副本的账户。您可以选择多个目的地账户。在 AWS Organizations 中,目的地账户必须与源账户位于同一个组织中。

    对于您的目的地备份保管库,您必须“允许”访问策略 backup:CopyIntoBackupVault。如果没有此策略,将拒绝向目的地账户进行复制的尝试。

  • AWS Organizations 中的一个管理账户

    管理账户是组织中的主账户,由 AWS Organizations 定义,您可以使用它管理各 AWS 账户的跨账户备份。要使用跨账户备份,还必须启用服务信任。启用服务信任后,可以将组织中的任何账户用作目的地账户。在目的地账户中,可以选择使用哪些保管库进行跨账户备份。

  • 在 AWS Backup 控制台中启用跨账户备份

有关安全的信息,请参阅跨账户备份的安全注意事项

要使用跨账户备份,必须启用跨账户备份功能。然后,必须“允许”通过访问策略 backup:CopyIntoBackupVault 访问您的目的地备份保管库。

启用跨账户备份
  1. 使用 AWS Organizations 管理账户凭证登录 AWS。只能使用这些凭证启用或禁用跨账户备份。

  2. 打开 AWS Backup 控制台,网址为:https://console.aws.amazon.com/backup

  3. 我的账户中,选择设置

  4. 对于跨账户备份,选择启用

  5. 备份保管库中,选择目的地保管库。

  6. 访问策略 部分,“允许”backup:CopyIntoBackupVault。例如,选择添加权限,然后选择允许从组织访问备份保管库

  7. 现在,组织中的任何账户都可以与组织中的任何其他账户共享其备份保管库中的内容。有关更多信息,请参阅与其他 AWS 账户共享备份保管库。要限制哪些账户可以接收其他账户的备份保管库中的内容,请参阅将账户配置为目的地账户

安排跨账户备份

您可以使用定时备份计划跨 AWS 账户复制备份。

使用定时备份计划复制备份
  1. 打开 AWS Backup 控制台,网址为:https://console.aws.amazon.com/backup

  2. 我的账户中,选择备份计划,然后选择创建备份计划

  3. 创建备份计划页面上,选择构建新计划

  4. 对于备份计划名称,输入备份计划的名称。

  5. 备份规则配置部分,添加定义备份计划、备份时段和生命周期规则的备份规则。您稍后可以添加更多备份规则。

    对于规则名称,输入规则的名称。

  6. 计划部分的频率下,选择您希望备份的频率。

  7. 对于备份时段,选择使用备份时段默认值(推荐)。您可以自定义备份时段。

  8. 对于备份保管库,从列表中选择一个保管库。此备份的恢复点将保存在此保管库中。您可以创建新的备份保管库。

  9. 生成副本 - 可选部分,输入以下值:

    目的地区域

    选择备份副本的目的地 AWS 区域。您的备份将被复制到该区域。对于每个副本,您可以将新的复制规则添加到新的目的地。

    复制到其他账户的保管库

    切换以选择此选项。选中后,此选项将变为蓝色。此时将显示外部保管库 ARN 选项。

    外部保管库 ARN

    输入目的地账户的 Amazon 资源名称 (ARN)。ARN 是一个包含账户 ID 及其 AWS 区域的字符串。AWS Backup 会将备份复制到目的地账户的保管库。目的地区域列表会自动更新到外部保管库 ARN 中的区域。

    对于允许备份保管库访问权限中,选择允许。然后,在打开的向导中选择允许

    AWS Backup 需要具有访问外部账户的权限才能将备份复制到指定值。向导将显示以下策略示例,其中提供了此访问权限。

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "Allow account to copy into backup vault", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "backup:CopyIntoBackupVault", "Resource": "*", "Principal": { "AWS": "arn:aws:iam::account-id:root" } } ] }
    转换为冷存储

    选择将备份副本转换到冷存储的时间以及副本的到期(删除)时间。转换到冷存储的备份必须在冷存储中存储至少 90 天。在副本转换为冷存储后,无法更改此值。

    要查看可以转换到冷存储的资源列表,请参阅按资源划分的功能可用性表的“转换到冷存储的生命周期”部分。对于其他资源,将忽略冷存储表达式。

    过期指定副本在创建后多少天删除。此值必须比转换为冷存储值多 90 天。

    注意

    当备份过期并作为生命周期策略的一部分标记为删除时,AWS Backup 将在接下来的 8 小时内随机选择的时间点删除备份。此时段有助于确保一致的性能。

  10. 选择添加到恢复点的标签以向恢复点添加标签。

  11. 对于高级备份设置,选择 Windows VSS,为在 EC2 上运行的选定第三方软件启用应用程序感知快照。

  12. 选择创建计划

执行按需跨账户备份

您可以根据需要将备份复制到其他 AWS 账户。

按需复制备份
  1. 打开 AWS Backup 控制台,网址为:https://console.aws.amazon.com/backup

  2. 我的账户中,选择备份保管库以查看列出的所有备份保管库。您可以按备份保管库名称或标签进行筛选。

  3. 选择要复制的备份的恢复点 ID

  4. 选择复制

  5. 展开备份详细信息以查看有关您正在复制的恢复点的信息。

  6. 复制配置部分,从目的地区域列表中选择一个选项。

  7. 选择复制到其他账户的保管库。选中后,此选项将变为蓝色。

  8. 输入目的地账户的 Amazon 资源名称 (ARN)。ARN 是一个包含账户 ID 及其 AWS 区域的字符串。AWS Backup 会将备份复制到目的地账户的保管库。目的地区域列表会自动更新到外部保管库 ARN 中的区域。

  9. 对于允许备份保管库访问权限中,选择允许。然后,在打开的向导中选择允许

    要创建副本,AWS Backup 需要具有访问源账户的权限。向导将显示一个策略示例,其中提供了此访问权限。下面显示了此策略。

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "Allow account to copy into backup vault", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "backup:CopyIntoBackupVault", "Resource": "*", "Principal": { "AWS": "arn:aws:iam::account-id:root" } } ] }
  10. 对于转换为冷存储,选择将备份副本转换到冷存储的时间以及副本的到期(删除)时间。转换到冷存储的备份必须在冷存储中存储至少 90 天。在副本转换为冷存储后,无法更改此值。

    要查看可以转换到冷存储的资源列表,请参阅按资源划分的功能可用性表的“转换到冷存储的生命周期”部分。对于其他资源,将忽略冷存储表达式。

    过期指定副本在创建后多少天删除。此值必须比转换为冷存储值多 90 天。

  11. 对于 IAM 角色,指定有权复制您的备份的 IAM 角色(例如默认角色)。复制行为由目的地账户的服务关联角色执行。

  12. 选择复制。根据要复制的资源的大小,此过程可能需要几个小时才能完成。复制作业完成后,您将在作业菜单的复制作业选项卡中看到该副本。

有关跨账户备份密钥的注意事项

AWS 托管密钥不支持跨账户复制。AWS 托管密钥的密钥策略不可变,这可以防止跨账户复制密钥。如果您的资源使用 AWS 托管密钥加密,并且您希望执行跨账户复制,则可以更改加密密钥为客户托管密钥,因为它支持跨账户复制。或者,您可以按照使用跨账户和跨区域备份保护加密的 Amazon RDS 实例中的说明继续使用 AWS 托管密钥。

将备份从一个 AWS 账户还原到另一个账户

AWS Backup 不支持将资源从一个 AWS 账户恢复到另一个账户。但是,您可以将备份从一个账户复制到另一个账户,然后在该账户中进行还原。例如,您无法将账户 A 中的备份还原到账户 B,但可以将账户 A 中的备份复制到账户 B,然后在账户 B 中还原备份。

将备份从一个账户还原到另一个账户分为两步。

将备份从一个账户还原到另一个账户
  1. 将备份从源 AWS 账户复制到要还原到的账户。有关说明,请参阅设置跨账户备份

  2. 使用与您的资源对应的说明来还原备份。

与其他 AWS 账户共享备份保管库

AWS Backup 允许您与一个或多个账户共享备份保管库,或者在 AWS Organizations 中与您的整个组织共享备份保管库。您可以与源 AWS 账户、用户或 IAM 角色共享目的地备份保管库。

共享目的地备份保管库
  1. 选择 AWS Backup,然后选择备份保管库

  2. 选择要共享的备份保管库的名称。

  3. 访问策略窗格中,选择添加权限下拉列表。

  4. 选择允许备份保管库的账户级别访问权限。或者,您可以选择允许组织级别或角色级别访问权限。

  5. 输入要与此目的地备份保管库共享的账户的 AccountID

  6. 选择保存策略

您可以使用 IAM 策略共享您的备份保管库。

与 AWS 账户或 IAM 角色共享目的地备份保管库

以下策略与账号 4444555566666 和账号 111122223333 中的 IAM 角色 SomeRole 共享备份保管库。

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Effect":"Allow", "Principal":{ "AWS":[ "arn:aws:iam::444455556666:root", "arn:aws:iam::111122223333:role/SomeRole" ] }, "Action":"backup:CopyIntoBackupVault", "Resource":"*" } ] }
与 AWS Organizations 中的组织单位共享目的地备份保管库

以下策略使用 PrincipalOrgPaths 与组织单位共享备份保管库。

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Effect":"Allow", "Principal":"*", "Action":"backup:CopyIntoBackupVault", "Resource":"*", "Condition":{ "ForAnyValue:StringLike":{ "aws:PrincipalOrgPaths":[ "o-a1b2c3d4e5/r-f6g7h8i9j0example/ou-def0-awsbbbbb/", "o-a1b2c3d4e5/r-f6g7h8i9j0example/ou-def0-awsbbbbb/ou-jkl0-awsddddd/*" ] } } } ] }
与 AWS Organizations 中的组织共享目的地备份保管库

以下策略与 PrincipalOrgID 为“o-a1b2c3d4e5”的组织共享备份保管库。

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Effect":"Allow", "Principal":"*", "Action":"backup:CopyIntoBackupVault", "Resource":"*", "Condition":{ "StringEquals":{ "aws:PrincipalOrgID":[ "o-a1b2c3d4e5" ] } } } ] }

将账户配置为目的地账户

当您首次使用 AWS Organizations 管理账户启用跨账户备份时,成员账户的任何用户都可以将其账户配置为目的地账户。我们建议在 AWS Organizations 中设置一个或多个服务控制策略 (SCP),以限制您的目的地账户。要了解有关将服务控制策略附加到 AWS Organizations 节点的更多信息,请参阅附加和分离服务控制策略

使用标签限制目的地账户

当附加到 AWS Organizations 根、OU 或单个账户时,此策略将复制目的地从该根、OU 或账户限制到仅限那些带有您已标记 DestinationBackupVault 的备份保管库的账户。权限 "backup:CopyIntoBackupVault" 控制备份保管库的行为方式,在此例中还控制哪些目的地备份保管库有效。使用此策略以及应用于已批准的目的地保管库的相应标签,可以控制跨账户复制的目的地仅为已批准的账户和备份保管库。

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Effect":"Deny", "Action":"backup:CopyIntoBackupVault", "Resource":"*", "Condition":{ "Null":{ "aws:ResourceTag/DestinationBackupVault":"true" } } } ] }
使用账号和保管库名称限制目的地账户

当附加到 AWS Organizations 根、OU 或单个账户时,此策略将源自该根、OU 或账户的副本限制到仅限两个目的地账户。权限 "backup:CopyFromBackupVault" 控制备份保管库中恢复点的行为方式,在此例中还控制您可以将该恢复点复制到的目的地。只有当一个或多个目的地备份保管库名称以 cab- 开头时,源保管库才允许将副本复制到第一个目的地账户 (112233445566)。只有当目的地是单个名为 fort-knox 的备份保管库时,源保管库才允许将副本复制到第二个目的地账户 (123456789012)。

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Effect":"Deny", "Action":"backup:CopyFromBackupVault", "Resource":"arn:aws:ec2:*:snapshot/*", "Condition":{ "ForAllValues:ArnNotLike":{ "backup:CopyTargets":[ "arn:aws:backup:*:112233445566:backup-vault:cab-*", "arn:aws:backup:us-west-1:123456789012:backup-vault:fort-knox" ] } } } ] }
使用 AWS Organizations 中的组织单位限制目的地账户

当附加到 AWS Organizations 根或包含源账户的 OU 时,或者附加到源账户时,以下策略将目的地账户限制到两个指定 OU 中的账户。

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Effect":"Deny", "Action":"backup:CopyFromBackupVault", "Resource":"*", "Condition":{ "ForAllValues:StringNotLike":{ "backup:CopyTargetOrgPaths":[ "o-a1b2c3d4e5/r-f6g7h8i9j0example/ou-def0-awsbbbbb/", "o-a1b2c3d4e5/r-f6g7h8i9j0example/ou-def0-awsbbbbb/ou-jkl0-awsddddd/*" ] } } } ] }

跨账户备份的安全注意事项

在 AWS Backup 中执行跨账户备份时,请注意以下事项:

  • 目的地保管库不能是默认保管库。这是因为默认保管库使用无法与其他账户共享的密钥进行加密。

  • 禁用跨账户备份后,跨账户备份可能仍会持续长达 15 分钟。这是因为最终一致性造成的,即使在您禁用跨账户备份后,也可能会有某些跨账户作业开始或完成。

  • 如果目的地账户稍后离开组织,则该账户将保留备份。为避免出现潜在数据泄露,请在附加到目的地账户的服务控制策略 (SCP) 中对 organizations:LeaveOrganization 权限设置拒绝权限。有关 SCP 的详细信息,请参阅《Organizations 用户指南》中的从组织中删除成员账户

  • 如果您在跨账户复制过程中删除某个复制作业角色,则 AWS Backup 无法在复制作业完成时取消共享来自源账户的快照。在这种情况下,备份作业完成,但复制作业状态显示为无法取消共享快照

Creating backup copies across AWS accounts - AWS Backup

Creating backup copies across AWS accounts

Using AWS Backup, you can back up to multiple AWS accounts on demand or automatically as part of a scheduled backup plan. Use a cross-account backup if you want to securely copy your backups to one or more AWS accounts in your organization for operational or security reasons. If your original backup is inadvertently deleted, you can copy the backup from its destination account to its source account, and then start the restore. Before you can do this, you must have two accounts that belong to the same organization in the AWS Organizations service. For more information, see Tutorial: Creating and configuring an organization in the Organizations User Guide.

In your destination account, you must create a backup vault. Then, you assign a customer managed key to encrypt backups in the destination account, and a resource-based access policy to allow AWS Backup to access the resources you would like to copy. In the source account, if your resources are encrypted with a customer managed key, you must share this customer managed key with the destination account. You can then create a backup plan and choose a destination account that is part of your organizational unit in AWS Organizations.

You can use AWS Backup to copy your backups for all supported resources, subject to the following limitations:

  • DynamoDB does not support cross-Region backup.

  • For all services except Amazon EFS, cross-account backup only supports customer managed keys. It does not support vaults that are encrypted using AWS keys, including default vaults, because AWS keys are not intended to be shared between accounts.

    You must use vaults other than your default vaults to perform cross-account backup.

    For Amazon EFS, you can perform cross-account backups using any Amazon EFS backup vault because AWS Backup independently manages the encryption for each Amazon EFS backup vault.

  • Amazon RDS and Aurora support cross-Region backup, or cross-account backup, but not both in the same backup plan. You can use a AWS Lambda script to accomplish both. Also, copying Amazon RDS custom option groups across AWS Regions is not supported.

  • Amazon EC2 does not allow cross-account copies of AWS Marketplace AMIs. For more information, see Copying an AMI in the Amazon EC2 User Guide.

Cross-Region backup are available in all AWS Regions that are available in AWS Backup except: China Regions, Asia Pacific (Hong Kong), Middle East (Bahrain), Europe (Milan), Africa (Cape Town), and Asia Pacific (Tokyo).

Setting up cross-account backup

What do you need to create cross-account backups?

  • A source account

    The source account is the account where your production AWS resources and primary backups reside.

    The source account user initiates the cross-account backup operation. The source account user or role must have appropriate API permissions to initiate the operation. Appropriate permissions might be the AWS managed policy AWSBackupFullAccess, which enables full access to AWS Backup operations, or a customer managed policy such as ec2:ModifySnapshotAttribute. For more information about both policy types, see AWS Backup Managed Policies.

  • A destination account

    The destination account is the account where you would like to keep a copy of your backup. You can choose more than one destination account. The destination account must be in the same organization as the source account in AWS Organizations.

    You must “Allow” the access policy backup:CopyIntoBackupVault for your destination backup vault. The absence of this policy will deny attempts to copy into the destination account.

  • A management account in AWS Organizations

    The management account is the primary account in your organization, as defined by AWS Organizations, that you use to manage cross-account backup across your AWS Accounts. You also need to enable service trust to use cross-account backup. After enabling service trust, you can use any account in the organization as a destination account. From your destination account, you can choose which vaults to use for cross-account backup.

  • Enable cross-account backup in the AWS Backup console

For information about security, see Security consideration for cross account backup.

To use cross-account backup, you must enable the cross-account backup feature. Then, you must "Allow" the access policy backup:CopyIntoBackupVault into your destination backup vault.

To enable cross-account backup

  1. Log in to AWS using your AWS Organizations management account credentials. Cross-account backup can only be enabled or disabled using these credentials.

  2. Open the AWS Backup console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/backup.

  3. In My account, choose Settings.

  4. For Cross-account backup, choose Enable.

  5. In Backup vaults, choose your destination vault.

  6. In the Access policy section, "Allow" backup:CopyIntoBackupVault. For an example, choose Add permissions and then Allow access to a Backup vault from organization.

  7. Now, any account in your organization can share the contents of their backup vault with any other account in your organization. For more information, see Sharing a backup vault with a different AWS account. To limit which accounts can receive the contents of other accounts' backup vaults, see Configuring your account as a destination account.

Scheduling cross-account backup

You can use a scheduled backup plan to copy backups across AWS accounts.

To copy a backup using a scheduled backup plan

  1. Open the AWS Backup console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/backup.

  2. In My account, choose Backup plans, and then choose Create Backup plan.

  3. On the Create Backup plan page, choose Build a new plan.

  4. For Backup plan name, enter a name for your backup plan.

  5. In the Backup rule configuration section, add a backup rule that defines a backup schedule, backup window, and lifecycle rules. You can add more backup rules later.

    For Rule name, enter a name for your rule.

  6. In the Schedule section under Frequency, choose how often you want the backup to be taken.

  7. For Backup window, choose Use backup window defaults (recommended). You can customize the backup window.

  8. For Backup vault, choose a vault from the list. Recovery points for this backup will be saved in this vault. You can create a new backup vault.

  9. In the Generate copy - optional section, enter the following values:

    Destination region

    Choose the destination AWS Region for your backup copy. Your backup will be copied to this Region. You can add a new copy rule per copy to a new destination.

    Note

    Copying Amazon DynamoDB tables across AWS Regions is not supported.

    Copy to another account's vault

    Toggle to choose this option. The option turns blue when selected. The External vault ARN option will appear.

    External vault ARN

    Enter the Amazon Resource Name (ARN) of the destination account. The ARN is a string that contains the account ID and its AWS Region. AWS Backup will copy the backup to the destination account's vault. The Destination region list automatically updates to the Region in the external vault ARN.

    For Allow Backup vault access, choose Allow. Then choose Allow in the wizard that opens.

    AWS Backup needs permissions to access the external account to copy backup to the specified value. The wizard shows the following example policy that provides this access.

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "Allow account to copy into backup vault", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "backup:CopyIntoBackupVault", "Resource": "*", "Principal": { "AWS": "arn:aws:iam::account-id:root" } } ] }
    (Advanced settings) Transition to cold storage (for EFS only)

    Choose the options you want for your EFS file system.

    Choose when to transition the backup copy to cold storage and when to expire (delete) the copy. Backups transitioned to cold storage must be stored in cold storage for a minimum of 90 days. This value cannot be changed after a copy has transitioned to cold storage.

    Currently only Amazon EFS file system backups can be transitioned to cold storage. The cold storage expression is ignored for the backups of Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS), Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS), Amazon Aurora, Amazon DynamoDB, and AWS Storage Gateway.

    Expire specifies the number of days after creation that the copy is deleted. This value must be greater than 90 days beyond the Transition to cold storage value.

    Note

    When backups expire and are marked for deletion as part of your lifecycle policy, AWS Backup deletes the backups at a randomly chosen point over the following 24 hours. This window helps ensure consistent performance.

  10. Choose Tags added to recovery points to add tags to your recovery points.

  11. For Advanced backup settings, choose Windows VSS to enable application-aware snapshots for the selected third-party software running on EC2.

  12. Choose Create plan.

Performing on-demand cross-account backup

You can copy a backup to a different AWS account on demand.

To copy a backup on-demand

  1. Open the AWS Backup console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/backup.

  2. For My account, choose Backup vault to see all your backup vaults listed. You can filter by the backup vault name or tag.

  3. Choose the Recovery point ID of the backup you want to copy.

  4. Choose Copy.

  5. Expand Backup details to see information about the recovery point you are copying.

  6. In the Copy configuration section, choose an option from the Destination region list.

  7. Choose Copy to another account's vault. The option turns blue when selected.

  8. Enter the Amazon Resource Name (ARN) of the destination account. The ARN is a string that contains the account ID and its AWS Region. AWS Backup will copy the backup to the destination account's vault. The Destination region list automatically updates to the Region in the external vault ARN.

  9. For Allow Backup vault access, choose Allow. Then choose Allow in the wizard that opens.

    AWS Backup needs permissions to access the external (source) account. The wizard shows an example policy that provides this access. This policy is shown following.

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "Allow account to copy into backup vault", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "backup:CopyIntoBackupVault", "Resource": "*", "Principal": { "AWS": "arn:aws:iam::account-id:root" } } ] }
  10. (Amazon EFS only) For Transition to cold storage, choose the options you want for your EFS file system.

    Choose when to transition the backup copy to cold storage and when to expire (delete) the copy. Backups transitioned to cold storage must be stored in cold storage for a minimum of 90 days. This value cannot be changed after a copy has transitioned to cold storage.

    Currently only Amazon EFS file system backups can be transitioned to cold storage. The cold storage expression is ignored for the backups of Amazon EBS, Amazon RDS, Amazon Aurora, Amazon DynamoDB, and AWS Storage Gateway.

    Expire specifies the number of days after creation that the copy is deleted. This value must be greater than 90 days beyond the Transition to cold storage value.

    Note

    When backups expire and are marked for deletion as part of your lifecycle policy, AWS Backup deletes the backups at a randomly chosen point over the following 24 hours. This window helps ensure consistent performance.

  11. For IAM role, specify the IAM role (such as the default role) that has the permissions to make your backup available for copying. The act of copying is performed by your destination account's service linked role.

  12. Choose Copy. Depending on the size of the resource you are copying, this process could take several hours to complete. When the copy job completes, you will see the copy in the Copy jobs tab in the Jobs menu.

Restoring a backup from one AWS account to another

AWS Backup does not support recovering resources from one AWS account to another. However, you can copy a backup from one account to a different account and then restore it in that account. For example, you can't restore a backup from account A to account B, but you can copy a backup from account A to account B, and then restore it in account B.

Restoring a backup from one account to another is a two-step process.

To restore a backup from one account to another

  1. Copy the backup from the source AWS account to the account you want to restore to. For instructions, see Creating backup copies across AWS accounts.

  2. Use the appropriate instructions for your resource to restore the backup.

Sharing a backup vault with a different AWS account

AWS Backup allows you to share a backup vault with one or multiple accounts, or your entire organization in AWS Organizations. You can share a destination backup vault with a source AWS Account, user, or IAM role.

To share a destination Backup vault

  1. Choose AWS Backup, and then choose Backup vaults.

  2. Choose the name of the backup vault that you want to share.

  3. In the Access policy pane, choose the Add permissions dropdown.

  4. Choose Allow account level access to a Backup vault. Or, you can choose to allow organization-level or role-level access.

  5. Enter the AccountID of the account you'd like to share with this destination Backup vault.

  6. Choose Save policy.

You can use IAM policies to share your backup vault.

Share a destination backup vault with an AWS account or IAM role

The following policy shares a backup vault with account number 4444555566666 and the IAM role SomeRole in account number 111122223333.

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Effect":"Allow", "Principal":{ "AWS":[ "arn:aws:iam::444455556666:root", "arn:aws:iam::111122223333:role/SomeRole" ] }, "Action":"backup:CopyIntoBackupVault", "Resource":"*" } ] }

Share a destination backup vault an organizational unit in AWS Organizations

The following policy shares a backup vault with organizational units using their PrincipalOrgPaths.

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Effect":"Allow", "Principal":"*", "Action":"backup:CopyIntoBackupVault", "Resource":"*", "Condition":{ "ForAnyValue:StringLike":{ "aws:PrincipalOrgPaths":[ "o-a1b2c3d4e5/r-f6g7h8i9j0example/ou-def0-awsbbbbb/", "o-a1b2c3d4e5/r-f6g7h8i9j0example/ou-def0-awsbbbbb/ou-jkl0-awsddddd/*" ] } } } ] }

Share a destination backup vault with an organization in AWS Organizations

The following policy shares a backup vault with the organization with PrincipalOrgID "o-a1b2c3d4e5".

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Effect":"Allow", "Principal":"*", "Action":"backup:CopyIntoBackupVault", "Resource":"*", "Condition":{ "StringEquals":{ "aws:PrincipalOrgID":[ "o-a1b2c3d4e5" ] } } } ] }

Configuring your account as a destination account

When you first enable cross account backups using your AWS Organizations management account, any user of a member account can configure their account to be a destination account. We recommend setting one or more of the following access controls in AWS Organizations to limit your destination accounts.

Limit destination accounts using tags

The following policy limits destination accounts to accounts with backup vaults tagged DestinationBackupVault.

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Effect":"Deny", "Action":"backup:CopyIntoBackupVault", "Resource":"*", "Condition":{ "Null":{ "aws:ResourceTag/DestinationBackupVault":"true" } } } ] }

Limit destination accounts using account numbers and vault names

The following policy limits destination accounts to only two accounts. The first destination account is account 112233445566 with the backup vault name prefix cab. The second destination account is account 123456789012 in AWS Region us-west-1 with the backup vault named fort-knox.

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Effect":"Deny", "Action":"backup:CopyFromBackupVault", "Resource":"arn:aws:ec2:*:snapshot/*", "Condition":{ "ForAllValues:ArnNotLike":{ "backup:CopyTargets":[ "arn:aws:backup:*:112233445566:backup-vault:cab-*", "arn:aws:backup:us-west-1:123456789012:backup-vault:fort-knox" ] } } } ] }

Limit destination accounts using organizational units in AWS Organizations

The following policy limits destination accounts to the accounts within certain organizational units. You must attach this policy to an AWS Organizations node that contains your source account.

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Effect":"Deny", "Action":"backup:CopyFromBackupVault", "Resource":"*", "Condition":{ "ForAllValues:StringNotLike":{ "backup:CopyTargetOrgPaths":[ "o-a1b2c3d4e5/r-f6g7h8i9j0example/ou-def0-awsbbbbb/", "o-a1b2c3d4e5/r-f6g7h8i9j0example/ou-def0-awsbbbbb/ou-jkl0-awsddddd/*" ] } } } ] }

Security consideration for cross account backup

Be aware of the following when using performing cross-account backups in AWS Backup:

  • The destination vault cannot be the default vault. This is because the default vault is encrypted with a key that cannot be shared with other accounts.

  • Cross-account backups might still run for up to 15 minutes after you disable cross-account backup. This is due to eventual consistency, and might result in some cross-account jobs starting or completing even after you disable cross-account backup.

  • If the destination account leaves the organization at a later date, that account will retain the backups. To avoid potential data leakage, place a deny permission on the organizations:LeaveOrganization permission in a service control policy (SCP) attached to the destination account. For detailed information about SCPs, see Removing a member account from your organization in the Organizations User Guide.

  • If you delete a copy job role during a cross-account copy, AWS Backup can't unshare snapshots from the source account when the copy job completes. In this case, the backup job finishes, but the copy job status shows as Failed to unshare snapshot.