使用 openCypher 访问 Neptune 图形 - Amazon Neptune

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

使用 openCypher 访问 Neptune 图形

Neptune 支持使用 openCypher 构建图形应用程序,openCypher 是目前使用图形数据库的开发人员最常用的查询语言之一。开发人员、业务分析师和数据科学家都喜欢 openCypher 的受 SQL 启发的语法,因为它提供了一种熟悉的结构来为图形应用程序编写查询。

openCypher 是一种用于属性图的声明式查询语言,最初由 Neo4j 开发,然后于 2015 年开源,并在 Apache 2 开源许可证下为 openCypher 项目做出了贡献。其语法在 Cypher 查询语言参考版本 9 中介绍。

有关 openCypher 规范在 Neptune 支持方面的限制和差异,请参阅Amazon Neptune 中的 openCypher 标准合规性

注意

Cypher 查询语言的当前 Neo4j 实现在某些方面与 openCypher 规范有所不同。如果您要将当前的 Neo4j Cypher 代码迁移到 Neptune,请参阅Neptune 与 Neo4j 的兼容性重写 Cypher 查询以在 Neptune 上的 openCypher 中运行以获取帮助。

从引擎版本 1.1.1.0 开始,openCypher 可在 Neptune 中用于生产用途。

Gremlin 与 openCypher:相似之处和不同之处

Gremlin 和 openCypher 都是属性图查询语言,它们在很多方面互补。

Gremlin 旨在吸引程序员并无缝融入代码。因此,从设计上讲,Gremlin 势在必行,而对于具有 SQL 或 SPARQL 经验的人来说,可能会更熟悉 openCypher 的声明式语法。对于在 Jupyter 笔记本中使用 Python 的数据科学家来说,Gremlin 似乎更自然,而对于具有一些 SQL 背景的企业用户来说,openCypher 可能看起来更直观。

好消息是,在 Neptune 中,您不必在 Gremlin 和 openCypher 之间进行选择。无论使用这两种语言中的哪一种来输入数据,任何一种语言的查询都可以在同一个图形上运行。您可能会发现在某些情况下使用 Gremlin 更方便,而在其它情况下使用 openCypher 更方便,这取决于您正在做的事情。

Gremlin 使用命令式语法,这允许您通过一系列步骤控制如何在图形中移动,每个步骤都接收数据流,对其执行某种操作(使用筛选条件、映射等),然后将结果输出到下一个步骤。Gremlin 查询通常采用 g.V() 形式,后跟其它步骤。

在 openCypher 中,您使用一种受 SQL 启发的声明式语法,此语法使用主旨语法(比如 ()-[]->())指定要在图形中查找的节点和关系的模式。openCypher 查询通常以 MATCH 子句开头,后跟其它子句,如 WHEREWITHRETURN

开始使用 openCypher

无论如何加载,您都可以使用 openCypher 在 Neptune 中查询属性图数据,但不能使用 openCypher 来查询以 RDF 形式加载的数据。

Neptune 批量加载程序接受采用 Gremlin 的 CSV 格式openCypher 的 CSV 格式的属性图数据。当然,您也可以使用 Gremlin 和/或 openCypher 查询将属性数据添加到图形中。

有许多在线教程可用于学习 Cypher 查询语言。在这里,一些 openCypher 查询的简短示例可以帮助您了解这种语言,但是到目前为止,开始使用 openCypher 查询 Neptune 图形的最好、最简单的方法是在 Neptune Workbench 中使用 openCypher 笔记本。该工作台是开源的,托管在 GitHub https://github.com/aws-samples/ amazon-neptune-samples

你可以在 Neptune GitHub 图形笔记本存储库中找到 OpenCypher 笔记本。特别是,请查看 openCypher 的 Air-routes visualizationEnglish Premier Teams 笔记本。

openCypher 处理的数据采用一系列无序的键/值映射的形式。完善、操作和增强这些映射的主要方法是使用子句对键/值对执行模式匹配、插入、更新和删除等任务。

openCypher 中有几个子句用于在图形中查找数据模式,其中 MATCH 最常用。MATCH 允许您指定要在图形中查找的节点、关系和筛选条件的模式。例如:

  • 获取所有节点

    MATCH (n) RETURN n
  • 查找连接的节点

    MATCH (n)-[r]->(d) RETURN n, r, d
  • 查找路径

    MATCH p=(n)-[r]->(d) RETURN p
  • 获取所有带有标签的节点

    MATCH (n:airport) RETURN n

请注意,上面的第一个查询返回图形中的每单个节点,接下来的两个查询返回每个具有关系的节点,但通常不建议这样做!几乎在所有情况下,您都希望缩小返回的数据的范围,这可以通过指定节点或关系标签和属性来实现,如第四个示例所示。

您可以在 Neptune github 示例存储库中找到 openCypher 语法的便捷备忘单。

Accessing the Neptune Graph with openCypher - Amazon Neptune

Accessing the Neptune Graph with openCypher

Neptune supports building graph applications using openCypher, currently one of the most popular query languages for developers working with graph databases. Developers, business analysts, and data scientists like openCypher’s SQL-inspired syntax because it provides a familiar structure to compose queries for graph applications.

openCypher is a declarative query language for property graphs that was originally developed by Neo4j, then open-sourced in 2015, and contributed to the openCypher project under an Apache 2 open-source license. Its syntax is documented in the Cypher Query Language Reference, Version 9.

Starting with engine release 1.1.1.0, openCypher is available for production use in Neptune.

Gremlin vs. openCypher: similarities and differences

Gremlin and openCypher are both property-graph query languages, and they are complementary in many ways.

Gremlin was designed to appeal to programmers and fit seamlessly into code. As a result, Gremlin is imperative by design, whereas openCypher's declarative syntax may feel more familiar for people with SQL or SPARQL experience. Gremlin might seem more natural to a data scientist using Python in a Jupyter notebook, whereas openCypher might seem more intuitive to a business user with some SQL background.

The nice thing is that you don't have to choose between Gremlin and openCypher in Neptune. Queries in either language can operate on the same graph regardless of which of the two language was used to enter that data. You may find it more convenient to use Gremlin for some things and openCypher for others, depending on what you're doing.

Gremlin uses an imperative syntax that lets you control how you move through your graph in a series of steps, each of which takes in a stream of data, performs some action on it (using a filter, map, and so forth), and then outputs the results to the next step. A Gremlin query commonly takes the form, g.V(), followed by additional steps.

In openCypher, you use a declarative syntax, inspired by SQL, that specifies a pattern of nodes and relationships to find in your graph using a motif syntax (like ()-[]->()). An openCypher query often starts with a MATCH clause, followed by other clauses such as WHERE, WITH, and RETURN.

Getting started using openCypher

You can query property-graph data in Neptune using openCypher regardless of how it was loaded, but you can't use openCypher to query data loaded as RDF.

The Neptune bulk loader accepts property-graph data in a CSV format for Gremlin, and in a CSV format for openCypher. Also, of course, you can add property data to your graph using Gremlin and/or openCypher queries.

There are many online tutorials available for learning the Cypher query language. Here, a few quick examples of openCypher queries may help you get an idea of the language, but by far the best and easiest way to get started using openCypher to query your Neptune graph is by using the openCypher notebooks in the Neptune workbench. The workbench is open-source, and is hosted on GitHub at https://github.com/aws-samples/amazon-neptune-samples.

You'll find the openCypher notebooks in the GitHub Neptune graph-notebook repository. In particular, check out the Air-routes visualization, and English Premier Teams notebooks for openCypher.

Data processed by openCypher takes the form of an unordered series of key/value maps. The main way to refine, manipulate, and augment these maps is to use clauses that perform tasks such as pattern matching, insertion, update, and deletion on the key/value pairs.

There are several clauses in openCypher for finding data patterns in the graph, of which MATCH is the most common. MATCH lets you specify the pattern of nodes, relationships, and filters that you want to look for in your graph. For example:

  • Get all nodes

    MATCH (n) RETURN n
  • Find connected nodes

    MATCH (n)-[r]->(d) RETURN n, r, d
  • Find a path

    MATCH p=(n)-[r]->(d) RETURN p
  • Get all nodes with a label

    MATCH (n:airport) RETURN n

Note that the first query above returns every single node in your graph, and the next two return every node that has a relationship— this is not generally recommended! In almost all cases, you want to narrow down the data being returned, which you can do by specifying node or relationship labels and properties, as in the fourth example.

You can find a handy cheat-sheet for openCypher syntax in the Neptune github sample repository.