效能 - Amazon Redshift

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

效能

Amazon Redshift 會使用這些性能功能,實現超快速的查詢執行作業。

大規模平行處理

大規模平行處理 (MPP) 作業讓處理大量資料的最複雜查詢,也能快速地執行。多重運算節點進行所有查詢處理作業,最後再將結果彙總 (每個節點的核心會針對整個資料的一部分,執行相同的編譯後查詢片段)。

Amazon Redshift 會將資料表的列分發給運算節點,以平行處理資料。透過為每個資料表選擇適合的分佈索引鍵,您可以將資料的分發最佳化,進而平衡工作負載,並且將資料在節點之間的移動次數減到最少。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 選擇最佳的分佈方式

從一般檔案載入資料,可透過將工作負載分散到多個節點,一邊同時從多個檔案讀取,來發揮平行處理的效益。關於將資料載入資料表的方法,詳細資訊請參閱Amazon Redshift 載入資料最佳實務

單欄式資料儲存體

資料庫資料表的單欄式儲存方式,大幅地降低了整體磁碟輸入/輸出需求,成為實現最佳化分析查詢效能的重要因素。以單欄式儲存資料庫資料表的資訊,可減少磁碟輸入/輸出要求的數量,和需要從磁碟載入的資料量。載入記憶體的資料量減少,Amazon Redshift 可讓 Amazon Redshift 在執行查詢時執行更多的記憶體中處理作業 如需更詳細的說明,請參閱單欄式儲存

以適當地方式將欄排序時,查詢處理器就能夠快速地篩選掉龐大的資料區塊子集。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 選擇最佳的排序索引鍵

資料壓縮

資料壓縮可降低對儲存空間的需求,進而減少磁碟輸入/輸出,提升查詢作業的效能。當您執行查詢時,會將壓縮的資料讀入記憶體,然後在查詢執行期間解壓縮。載入記憶體的資料量減少,Amazon Redshift 可讓 Amazon Redshift 分配更多的記憶體來分析資料。由於欄式儲存體會按順序儲存類似的資料,因此 Amazon Redshift 能夠採用與欄式資料類型特別相關的適應性壓縮編碼機制。對資料表欄進行資料壓縮的最佳方式,就是在載入資料表和資料時,讓 Amazon Redshift 在載入資料表和資料時,來應用最佳化的壓縮編碼機制。如要進一步了解自動資料壓縮,請參閱利用自動壓縮載入資料表

查詢最佳化工具

Amazon Redshift 查詢執行引擎採用支援 MPP 的查詢最佳化工具,也運用了欄式導向的資料儲存體。Amazon Redshift 查詢最佳化工具建置了重大的增強與擴充功能,可用來處理複雜的分析查詢作業,這類查詢經常包含多重資料表的合併、子查詢和彙總操作。若要進一步了解如何將查詢作業最佳化,請參閱調校查詢效能

結果快取

為了縮短查詢執行時間並改善系統效能,Amazon Redshift 會將特定查詢類型的結果快取在領導者節點的記憶體中。Amazon Redshift 會在使用者提交查詢時,會檢查結果快取作業,以查詢結果的有效快取副本。如果在結果快取中找到相符項目,Amazon Redshift 會使用快取的結果,不會執行查詢。使用者並不會察覺到結果快取作業的進行。

結果快取預設為開啟。若要關閉目前工作階段的結果快取作業,設定enable_result_cache_for_session參數設定為off

當下列所有情況都符合時,Amazon Redshift 會使用新查詢的快取結果:

  • 提交查詢的使用者,對查詢中所使用的物件具有存取權限。

  • 查詢中的資料表或檢視尚未經過修改。

  • 查詢並未使用每次執行時都必須求值的函式,例如 GETDATE。

  • 查詢並未參考 Amazon Redshift Spectrum 外部資料表。

  • 可能影響查詢結果的組態參數不變。

  • 查詢在語法上符合快取的查詢。

為了達到最大的快取效果和有效率地使用資源,Amazon Redshift 不會快取某些大型查詢結果集。Amazon Redshift 會根據幾個因素來決定是否建立快取查詢結果。這些因素包括快取中的項目數量,以及 Amazon Redshift 叢集的實例類型。

若要判斷查詢作業是否使用了結果快取,請查詢 SVL_QLOG 系統畫面。如果查詢使用了結果快取,source_query 欄會傳回來源查詢的查詢 ID。如果未使用結果快取,source_query 欄的值為 NULL。

下列範例顯示,由 userid 104 和 userid 102 所提交的查詢,使用了 userid 100 所執行查詢的結果快取。

select userid, query, elapsed, source_query from svl_qlog where userid > 1 order by query desc; userid | query | elapsed | source_query -------+--------+----------+------------- 104 | 629035 | 27 | 628919 104 | 629034 | 60 | 628900 104 | 629033 | 23 | 628891 102 | 629017 | 1229393 | 102 | 628942 | 28 | 628919 102 | 628941 | 57 | 628900 102 | 628940 | 26 | 628891 100 | 628919 | 84295686 | 100 | 628900 | 87015637 | 100 | 628891 | 58808694 |

經過編譯的程式碼

領導節點會將經過完整最佳化編譯的程式碼,分發給叢集的所有節點。編譯查詢可省去與直譯器相關的資源耗用,進而提升執行速度,尤其是複雜的查詢作業。經過編譯的程式碼會在同一個叢集上建立快取,並且在工作階段之間共用,如此,即使具有不同的參數,相同查詢後續的執行也會加快。

執行引擎會針對 JDBC 和 ODBC 與 psql (libq) 連線通訊協定,分別編譯不同的程式碼,如此,使用不同通訊協定的兩個用戶端,各會產生編譯程式碼的首次成本。不過,使用相同通訊協定的其他用戶端,將可受惠於共用快取的程式碼。

Amazon Redshift
Database Developer Guide (API Version 2012-12-01)

Performance

Amazon Redshift achieves extremely fast query execution by employing these performance features.

Massively Parallel Processing

Massively parallel processing (MPP) enables fast execution of the most complex queries operating on large amounts of data. Multiple compute nodes handle all query processing leading up to final result aggregation, with each core of each node executing the same compiled query segments on portions of the entire data.

Amazon Redshift distributes the rows of a table to the compute nodes so that the data can be processed in parallel. By selecting an appropriate distribution key for each table, you can optimize the distribution of data to balance the workload and minimize movement of data from node to node. For more information, see Choose the Best Distribution Style.

Loading data from flat files takes advantage of parallel processing by spreading the workload across multiple nodes while simultaneously reading from multiple files. For more information about how to load data into tables, see Amazon Redshift Best Practices for Loading Data.

Columnar Data Storage

Columnar storage for database tables drastically reduces the overall disk I/O requirements and is an important factor in optimizing analytic query performance. Storing database table information in a columnar fashion reduces the number of disk I/O requests and reduces the amount of data you need to load from disk. Loading less data into memory enables Amazon Redshift to perform more in-memory processing when executing queries. See Columnar Storage for a more detailed explanation.

When columns are sorted appropriately, the query processor is able to rapidly filter out a large subset of data blocks. For more information, see Choose the Best Sort Key.

Data Compression

Data compression reduces storage requirements, thereby reducing disk I/O, which improves query performance. When you execute a query, the compressed data is read into memory, then uncompressed during query execution. Loading less data into memory enables Amazon Redshift to allocate more memory to analyzing the data. Because columnar storage stores similar data sequentially, Amazon Redshift is able to apply adaptive compression encodings specifically tied to columnar data types. The best way to enable data compression on table columns is by allowing Amazon Redshift to apply optimal compression encodings when you load the table with data. To learn more about using automatic data compression, see Loading Tables with Automatic Compression.

Query Optimizer

The Amazon Redshift query execution engine incorporates a query optimizer that is MPP-aware and also takes advantage of the columnar-oriented data storage. The Amazon Redshift query optimizer implements significant enhancements and extensions for processing complex analytic queries that often include multi-table joins, subqueries, and aggregation. To learn more about optimizing queries, see Tuning Query Performance.

Result Caching

To reduce query execution time and improve system performance, Amazon Redshift caches the results of certain types of queries in memory on the leader node. When a user submits a query, Amazon Redshift checks the results cache for a valid, cached copy of the query results. If a match is found in the result cache, Amazon Redshift uses the cached results and doesn’t execute the query. Result caching is transparent to the user.

Result caching is enabled by default. To disable result caching for the current session, set the enable_result_cache_for_session parameter to off.

Amazon Redshift uses cached results for a new query when all of the following are true:

  • The user submitting the query has access privilege to the objects used in the query.

  • The table or views in the query haven't been modified.

  • The query doesn't use a function that must be evaluated each time it's run, such as GETDATE.

  • The query doesn't reference Amazon Redshift Spectrum external tables.

  • Configuration parameters that might affect query results are unchanged.

  • The query syntactically matches the cached query.

To maximize cache effectiveness and efficient use of resources, Amazon Redshift doesn't cache some large query result sets. Amazon Redshift determines whether to cache query results based on a number of factors. These factors include the number of entries in the cache and the instance type of your Amazon Redshift cluster.

To determine whether a query used the result cache, query the SVL_QLOG system view. If a query used the result cache, the source_query column returns the query ID of the source query. If result caching wasn't used, the source_query column value is NULL.

The following example shows that queries submitted by userid 104 and userid 102 use the result cache from queries run by userid 100.

select userid, query, elapsed, source_query from svl_qlog where userid > 1 order by query desc; userid | query | elapsed | source_query -------+--------+----------+------------- 104 | 629035 | 27 | 628919 104 | 629034 | 60 | 628900 104 | 629033 | 23 | 628891 102 | 629017 | 1229393 | 102 | 628942 | 28 | 628919 102 | 628941 | 57 | 628900 102 | 628940 | 26 | 628891 100 | 628919 | 84295686 | 100 | 628900 | 87015637 | 100 | 628891 | 58808694 |

For details about the queries used to create the results shown in the previous example, see Step 2: Test System Performance to Establish a Baseline in the Tuning Table Design tutorial.

Compiled Code

The leader node distributes fully optimized compiled code across all of the nodes of a cluster. Compiling the query eliminates the overhead associated with an interpreter and therefore increases the execution speed, especially for complex queries. The compiled code is cached and shared across sessions on the same cluster, so subsequent executions of the same query will be faster, often even with different parameters.

The execution engine compiles different code for the JDBC connection protocol and for ODBC and psql (libq) connection protocols, so two clients using different protocols will each incur the first-time cost of compiling the code. Other clients that use the same protocol, however, will benefit from sharing the cached code.