關於 AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation SSM 文件 - AWS Systems Manager

關於 AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation SSM 文件

AWS-RunPatchBaseline 文件,AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation 在執行個體上執行與安全相關和其他更新類型的修補操作。您還可以使用 AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation 文件以套用適用於作業系統和應用程式的修補程式。(在 Windows Server 上,應用程式支援僅限於由 Microsoft 發佈的應用程式更新。)

注意

AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation 不支援現場部署或混合環境中的伺服器和混合環境中的虛擬機器 (VM)。

本文件支援適用於 Linux、macOS 和 Windows Server 的 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 執行個體。文件將在各個平台執行適當的動作,在 Linux 和 macOS 執行個體上叫用 Python 模組,在 Windows 執行個體上叫用 PowerShell 模組。

但是,AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation 在以下方面不同於 AWS-RunPatchBaseline

  • AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation 主要適用於使用 Quick Setup (AWS Systems Manager 功能) 建立的關聯。(使用 Quick Setup 主機管理組態類型時,如果您選擇 Scan instances for missing patches daily (每天掃描執行個體查看是否遺漏修補程式),則系統會使用 AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation 進行操作。)

    不過,在大多數情況下,當設定自己的修補操作時,您應該選擇 AWS-RunPatchBaselineAWS-RunPatchBaselineWithHooks,而不是 AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation

  • 使用 AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation 文件時,您可以在文件的 BaselineTags 參數欄位指定標籤金鑰對。如果 AWS 帳戶 中的自訂修補基準共用這些標籤,Patch Manager (AWS Systems Manager 功能) 會在目標執行個體上執行時,使用該標記的基準,而不是作業系統類型目前指定的「預設」修補基準。

    重要

    如果您選擇使用修補操作中的 AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation,而不是使用 Quick Setup 的設定,並且您想要使用其選用 BaselineTags 參數,則必須提供部分額外的許可給執行個體描述檔,用於 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 執行個體。如需更多詳細資訊,請參閱 參數名稱:BaselineTags

    以下兩種格式對 BaselineTags 參數都是有效的:

    Key=tag-key,Values=tag-value

    Key=tag-key,Values=tag-value1,tag-value2,tag-value3

  • AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation 執行時收集的修補程式合規資料會使用 PutComplianceItems API 命令,而不是 PutInventory 命令 (由 AWS-RunPatchBaseline 使用) 進行記錄。這種差異表示根據特定關聯存放和報告的修補程式合規資訊。不會覆寫在此關聯之外產生的修補程式合規資料。

  • 執行 AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation 後報告的修補程式合規資訊指出執行個體是否合規。它不包含修補程式層級的詳細資訊,如以下 AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI) 命令輸出所示。命令會在 Association 上進行篩選,作為合規類型:

    aws ssm list-compliance-items \ --resource-ids "i-02573cafcfEXAMPLE" \ --resource-types "ManagedInstance" \ --filters "Key=ComplianceType,Values=Association,Type=EQUAL" \ --region us-east-2

    系統會傳回相關資訊,如下所示。

    {
        "ComplianceItems": [
            {
                "Status": "NON_COMPLIANT", 
                "Severity": "UNSPECIFIED", 
                "Title": "MyPatchAssociation", 
                "ResourceType": "ManagedInstance", 
                "ResourceId": "i-02573cafcfEXAMPLE", 
                "ComplianceType": "Association", 
                "Details": {
                    "DocumentName": "AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation", 
                    "PatchBaselineId": "pb-0c10e65780EXAMPLE", 
                    "DocumentVersion": "1"
                }, 
                "ExecutionSummary": {
                    "ExecutionTime": 1590698771.0
                }, 
                "Id": "3e5d5694-cd07-40f0-bbea-040e6EXAMPLE"
            }
        ]
    }

如果已將標籤金鑰對值指定為 AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation 文件的參數,則 Patch Manager 會搜尋符合作業系統類型且已使用該相同標籤金鑰對進行標記的自訂修補基準。此搜尋不限於目前指定的預設修補基準或指派給修補程式群組的基準。如果找不到具有指定標籤的基準線,Patch Manager 接下來會尋找修補程式群組 (如果在執行 AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation 的命令中指定了一個)。如果沒有相符的修補程式群組,則 Patch Manager 會回溯至目前作業系統帳戶的預設修補基準。

如果找到一個以上的修補基準,其中包含 AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation 文件中指定的標籤,則 Patch Manager 會傳回錯誤訊息,指出只有一個修補基準可以使用該鍵值對標記,以便繼續操作。

注意

在 Linux 執行個體上,會使用每個執行個體類型的適當套件管理工具來安裝套件:

  • Amazon Linux、Amazon Linux 2、CentOS、Oracle Linux 和 RHEL 執行個體使用 YUM。對於 YUM 操作,Patch Manager 要求 Python 2.6 或更新版本。

  • Debian Server 和 Ubuntu Server 執行個體使用 APT。對於 APT 操作,Patch Manager 需要 Python 3

  • SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 執行個體使用 Zypper。對於 Zypper 操作,Patch Manager 要求 Python 2.6 或更新版本。

在掃描完成後或在所有已核准且適用的更新已安裝後,並視需要重新啟動之後,會在執行個體上產生修補程式合規資訊,並回報修補程式管理員。

注意

如果在 AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation 文件中將 RebootOption 參數設定為 NoReboot,則在執行 Patch Manager 後不會重新啟動執行個體。如需更多詳細資訊,請參閱 參數名稱:RebootOption

如需有關檢視修補程式合規資料的詳細資訊,請參閱關於修補程式合規

AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation 參數

AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation 支援四個參數。OperationAssociationId 是必要參數。InstallOverrideListRebootOptionBaselineTags 是選用參數。

參數名稱:Operation

用量:必要。

選項Scan |Install

掃描

當您選擇 Scan 選項時,AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation 會判斷執行個體的修補程式合規狀態,並將此資訊回報至 Patch Manager。Scan 不會提示要安裝的更新或需要重新啟動的執行個體。反之,此操作會識別遺漏哪些已核准且適用於執行個體的更新。

安裝

當您選擇 Install 選項,AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation 會嘗試安裝執行個體上遺漏的已核准且適用的更新。在 Install 操作中產生的修補程式合規資訊不會列出任何遺失的更新,但如果因為任何原因導致未成功安裝更新,則可能會報告狀態為失敗的更新。每當更新安裝於執行個體時,執行個體將重新啟動,以確保安裝並啟動更新。(例外:如果 AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation 文件中的 RebootOption 參數設為 NoReboot,執行個體不會在 Patch Manager 執行之後重新啟動。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 參數名稱:RebootOption。)

注意

如果在 Patch Manager 更新執行個體之前已安裝基準規則指定的修補程式,系統可能無法如預期重新開機。當使用者手動安裝修補程式,或由其他程式自動安裝 (例如 Ubuntu Server 上的 unattended-upgrades 套件) 時,就會發生這種情況。

參數名稱:BaselineTags

用量:選用。

BaselineTags 是唯一的標籤鍵值對,您可以選擇並指派給個別自訂修補基準。您可以為此參數指定一或多個值。以下兩種格式都是有效的:

Key=tag-key,Values=tag-value

Key=tag-key,Values=tag-value1,tag-value2,tag-value3

BaselineTags 值 是 Patch Manager 使用的唯一 ID (GUID),確保在單一操作中修補的一組執行個體皆有一組完全相同的核准修補程式。修補操作執行時,Patch Manager 會檢查作業系統類型的修補基準是否已使用您為 BaselineTags 指定的相同鍵值對進行標記。如果有相符項目,則會使用此自訂修補基準。如果沒有相符項目,則會根據針對修補操作指定的任何修補程式群組來識別修補基準。如果沒有,則會使用該作業系統的 AWS 受管預先定義修補基準。

額外的許可要求

如果您使用修補操作中的 AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation,而不是使用 Quick Setup 的設定,並且您想要使用其選用 BaselineTags 參數,則必須新增以下許可給執行個體描述檔,用於 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 執行個體。

注意

Quick Setup 和 AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation 不支援內部部署伺服器和虛擬機器 (VM)。

{ "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "ssm:DescribePatchBaselines", "tag:GetResources" ], "Resource": "*" }, { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "ssm:GetPatchBaseline", "ssm:DescribeEffectivePatchesForPatchBaseline" ], "Resource": "patch-baseline-arn" }

使用您要為其提供存取權之修補基準的 Amazon 資源名稱 (ARN) 取代 patch-baseline-arn,格式為 arn:aws:ssm:us-east-2:123456789012:patchbaseline/pb-0c10e65780EXAMPLE

參數名稱:AssociationId

用量:必要。

AssociationId 是 State Manager (AWS Systems Manager 功能) 中的現有關聯 ID。由 Patch Manager 使用,將合規資料新增至指定的關聯。藉由傳送修補結果作為關聯合規資料而非庫存合規資料,不會在修補操作之後覆寫執行個體的現有庫存合規資訊,也不會複寫其他關聯 ID。如果您還沒有想要使用的關聯,則可以透過執行 create-association 命令建立關聯。例如:

Linux & macOS
aws ssm create-association \ --name "AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation" \ --association-name "MyPatchAssociation" \ --targets "Key=instanceids,Values=[i-02573cafcfEXAMPLE,i-07782c72faEXAMPLE,i-07782c72faEXAMPLE]" \ --parameters "Operation=Scan" \ --schedule-expression "cron(0 */30 * * * ? *)" \ --sync-compliance "MANUAL" \ --region us-east-2
Windows
aws ssm create-association ^ --name "AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation" ^ --association-name "MyPatchAssociation" ^ --targets "Key=instanceids,Values=[i-02573cafcfEXAMPLE,i-07782c72faEXAMPLE,i-07782c72faEXAMPLE]" ^ --parameters "Operation=Scan" ^ --schedule-expression "cron(0 */30 * * * ? *)" ^ --sync-compliance "MANUAL" ^ --region us-east-2

參數名稱:InstallOverrideList

用量:選用。

使用 InstallOverrideList,您可以將 https URL 或 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 路徑樣式 URL 指定至要安裝的修補程式清單。此修補程式安裝清單 (以 YAML 格式維護) 會覆寫目前預設修補程式基準指定的修補程式。這可讓您更精確控制哪些修補程式將安裝於您的執行個體。

請注意,合規報告根據修補程式基準中的指定來反映修補程式狀態,而非您在 InstallOverrideList 合規清單中的指定。換言之,掃描操作會忽略 InstallOverrideList 參數。這是為了確保合規報告根據政策而非已核准用於特定修補操作的內容,來持續反映修補程式狀態。

有效的 URL 格式

注意

如果您的檔案存放在公開可用的儲存貯體中,則可以指定 https URL 格式或 Amazon S3 路徑樣式的 URL。如果您的檔案存放在私有儲存貯體中,則必須指定 Amazon S3 路徑樣式的 URL。

  • https URL 格式

    https://s3.amazonaws.com/DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/my-windows-override-list.yaml
  • Amazon S3 路徑樣式的 URL

    s3://DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/my-windows-override-list.yaml

有效的 YAML 內容格式

您用於在清單中指定修補程式的格式,取決於您執行個體使用的作業系統。一般格式如下:

patches: - id: '{patch-d}' title: '{patch-title}' {additional-fields}:{values}

雖然您可以在 YAML 檔案中提供額外的欄位,但是在修補程式操作過程中會略過這些欄位。

此外,我們建議您在 S3 儲存貯體中新增或更新清單之前,確認您的 YAML 檔案格式是有效的。如需 YAML 格式的詳細資訊,請參閱 yaml.org。有關驗證工具的選項,請執行 Web 搜尋「yaml 格式驗證工具」。

  • Microsoft Windows

    id

    id 欄位是必要的。利用它來使用 Microsoft 知識庫 ID (例如 KB2736693) 和 Microsoft 資訊安全佈告欄 ID (例如 MS17-023) 指定修補程式。

    您想在 Windows 修補程式清單中提供的任何其他欄位都是選用的,並僅供自己參考。您可以使用其他欄位,例如標題分類嚴重性等,提供有關指定的修補程式的更多詳細資訊。

  • Linux

    id

    id 欄位是必要的。利用它來使用套件名稱和架構以指定修補程式。例如:'dhclient.x86_64'。您可以在 id 中使用萬用字元以指示多個套件。例如:'dhcp*''dhcp*1.*'

    title

    標題欄位是選用的,但是在 Linux 系統上,它提供額外的篩選功能。如果您使用標題,它應包含套件版本資訊,並使用以下其中一種格式:

    YUM/SUSE Linux Enterprise Server (SLES):

    {name}.{architecture}:{epoch}:{version}-{release}

    APT

    {name}.{architecture}:{version}

    對於 Linux 修補程式標題,您可以在任何位置使用一或多個萬用字元以擴大相符套件的數量。例如:'*32:9.8.2-0.*.rc1.57.amzn1'

    例如:

    • apt 套件版本 1.2.25 目前已安裝於您的執行個體上,但現在有 1.2.27 可用。

    • 您將 apt.amd64 版本 1.2.27 新增至修補程式清單。它取決於 apt utils.amd64 版本 1.2.27,但清單中指定的是 apt-utils.amd64 版本 1.2.25。

    在此情況下,將會阻擋安裝 apt 版本 1.2.27,並回報為「Failed-NonCompliant」。

其他欄位

您想在 Linux 修補程式清單中提供的任何其他欄位都是選用的,並僅供自己參考。您可以使用其他欄位,例如分類嚴重性等,提供有關指定的修補程式的更多詳細資訊。

範例修補程式清單

  • Windows

    patches: - id: 'KB4284819' title: '2018-06 Cumulative Update for Windows Server 2016 (1709) for x64-based Systems (KB4284819)' - id: 'KB4284833' - id: 'KB4284835' title: '2018-06 Cumulative Update for Windows Server 2016 (1803) for x64-based Systems (KB4284835)' - id: 'KB4284880' - id: 'KB4338814'
  • APT

    patches: - id: 'apparmor.amd64' title: '2.10.95-0ubuntu2.9' - id: 'cryptsetup.amd64' title: '*2:1.6.6-5ubuntu2.1' - id: 'cryptsetup-bin.*' title: '*2:1.6.6-5ubuntu2.1' - id: 'apt.amd64' title: '*1.2.27' - id: 'apt-utils.amd64' title: '*1.2.25'
  • Amazon Linux

    patches: - id: 'kernel.x86_64' - id: 'bind*.x86_64' title: '32:9.8.2-0.62.rc1.57.amzn1' - id: 'glibc*' - id: 'dhclient*' title: '*12:4.1.1-53.P1.28.amzn1' - id: 'dhcp*' title: '*10:3.1.1-50.P1.26.amzn1'
  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL)

    patches: - id: 'NetworkManager.x86_64' title: '*1:1.10.2-14.el7_5' - id: 'NetworkManager-*.x86_64' title: '*1:1.10.2-14.el7_5' - id: 'audit.x86_64' title: '*0:2.8.1-3.el7' - id: 'dhclient.x86_64' title: '*.el7_5.1' - id: 'dhcp*.x86_64' title: '*12:5.2.5-68.el7'
  • SUSE Linux Enterprise Server (SLES)

    patches: - id: 'amazon-ssm-agent.x86_64' - id: 'binutils' title: '*0:2.26.1-9.12.1' - id: 'glibc*.x86_64' title: '*2.19*' - id: 'dhcp*' title: '0:4.3.3-9.1' - id: 'lib*'
  • Ubuntu Server

    patches: - id: 'apparmor.amd64' title: '2.10.95-0ubuntu2.9' - id: 'cryptsetup.amd64' title: '*2:1.6.6-5ubuntu2.1' - id: 'cryptsetup-bin.*' title: '*2:1.6.6-5ubuntu2.1' - id: 'apt.amd64' title: '*1.2.27' - id: 'apt-utils.amd64' title: '*1.2.25'
  • Windows

    patches: - id: 'KB4284819' title: '2018-06 Cumulative Update for Windows Server 2016 (1709) for x64-based Systems (KB4284819)' - id: 'KB4284833' - id: 'KB4284835' title: '2018-06 Cumulative Update for Windows Server 2016 (1803) for x64-based Systems (KB4284835)' - id: 'KB4284880' - id: 'KB4338814'

參數名稱:RebootOption

用量:選用。

選項: RebootIfNeeded | NoReboot

RebootIfNeeded

當您選擇 RebootIfNeeded 選項時,執行個體在下列情況下會重新開機:

  • Patch Manager 已安裝一或多個修補程式。

    Patch Manager 不會評估修補程式是否需要重新開機。即使修補程式不需要重新開機,系統也會重新開機。

  • Patch Manager 偵測到一或多個修補程式在 Install 操作期間狀態為 INSTALLED_PENDING_REBOOT

    INSTALLED_PENDING_REBOOT 狀態可能表示上次執行 NoReboot 作業時已選取 Install 選項。

    注意

    安裝於 Patch Manager 之外的修補程式,一律不會具有 INSTALLED_PENDING_REBOOT 狀態。

在這兩種情況下重新開機執行個體,可確保更新的套件會從記憶體中清除,並在所有作業系統中保持修補和重新開機行為一致。

NoReboot

當您選擇 NoReboot 選項時,即使執行個體在 Install 作業期間安裝了修補程式,Patch Manager 也不會重新啟動執行個體。如果您知道您的執行個體在套用修補程式之後不需要重新啟動,或是您在執行個體上執行的應用程式或程序不應因於修補操作重新啟動而中斷,則此選項非常有用。當您想要進一步控制執行個體重新啟動的時間時 (例如使用維護時段),此選項也很有用。

修補程式安裝追蹤檔案:若要追蹤修補程式安裝,特別是自上次系統重新啟動後已安裝的修補程式,Systems Manager 會在受管執行個體上維護檔案。

重要

請勿刪除或修改追蹤檔案。如果此檔案已刪除或損毀,則執行個體的修補程式合規報告會不正確。如果發生此情況,請重新啟動執行個體並執行修補程式掃描作業以還原檔案。

此追蹤檔案存放於受管執行個體的下列位置:

  • Linux 作業系統:

    • /var/log/amazon/ssm/patch-configuration/patch-states-configuration.json

    • /var/log/amazon/ssm/patch-configuration/patch-inventory-from-last-operation.json

  • Windows Server 作業系統:

    • C:\ProgramData\Amazon\PatchBaselineOperations\State\PatchStatesConfiguration.json

    • C:\ProgramData\Amazon\PatchBaselineOperations\State\PatchInventoryFromLastOperation.json

About the AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation SSM document - AWS Systems Manager

About the AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation SSM document

Like the AWS-RunPatchBaseline document, AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation performs patching operations on instances for both security related and other types of updates. You can also use the document AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation to apply patches for both operating systems and applications. (On Windows Server, application support is limited to updates for applications released by Microsoft.)

Note

AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation isn't supported for on-premises servers and virtual machines (VMs) in a hybrid environment.

This document supports Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances for Linux, macOS, and Windows Server. The document will perform the appropriate actions for each platform, invoking a Python module on Linux and macOS instances, and a PowerShell module on Windows instances.

AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation, however, differs from AWS-RunPatchBaseline in the following ways:

  • AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation is intended for use primarily with associations created using Quick Setup, a capability of AWS Systems Manager. (When using the Quick Setup Host Management configuration type, if you choose the option Scan instances for missing patches daily, the system uses AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation for the operation.)

    In most cases, however, when setting up your own patching operations, you should choose AWS-RunPatchBaseline or AWS-RunPatchBaselineWithHooks instead of AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation.

  • When you use the AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation document, you can specify a tag key pair in the document's BaselineTags parameter field. If a custom patch baseline in your AWS account shares these tags, Patch Manager, a capability of AWS Systems Manager, uses that tagged baseline when it runs on the target instances instead of the currently specified "default" patch baseline for the operating system type.

    Important

    If you choose to use AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation in patching operations other than those set up using Quick Setup, and you want to use its optional BaselineTags parameter, you must provide some additional permissions to the instance profile for Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances. For more information, see Parameter name: BaselineTags.

    Both of the following formats are valid for your BaselineTags parameter:

    Key=tag-key,Values=tag-value

    Key=tag-key,Values=tag-value1,tag-value2,tag-value3

  • When AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation runs, the patch compliance data it collects is recorded using the PutComplianceItems API command instead of the PutInventory command, which is used by AWS-RunPatchBaseline. This difference means that the patch compliance information that is stored and reported per a specific association. Patch compliance data generated outside of this association isn't overwritten.

  • The patch compliance information reported after running AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation indicates whether or not an instance is in compliance. It doesn't include patch-level details, as demonstrated by the output of the following AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI) command. The command filters on Association as the compliance type:

    aws ssm list-compliance-items \ --resource-ids "i-02573cafcfEXAMPLE" \ --resource-types "ManagedInstance" \ --filters "Key=ComplianceType,Values=Association,Type=EQUAL" \ --region us-east-2

    The system returns information like the following.

    {
        "ComplianceItems": [
            {
                "Status": "NON_COMPLIANT", 
                "Severity": "UNSPECIFIED", 
                "Title": "MyPatchAssociation", 
                "ResourceType": "ManagedInstance", 
                "ResourceId": "i-02573cafcfEXAMPLE", 
                "ComplianceType": "Association", 
                "Details": {
                    "DocumentName": "AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation", 
                    "PatchBaselineId": "pb-0c10e65780EXAMPLE", 
                    "DocumentVersion": "1"
                }, 
                "ExecutionSummary": {
                    "ExecutionTime": 1590698771.0
                }, 
                "Id": "3e5d5694-cd07-40f0-bbea-040e6EXAMPLE"
            }
        ]
    }

If a tag key pair value has been specified as a parameter for the AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation document, Patch Manager searches for a custom patch baseline that matches the operating system type and has been tagged with that same tag-key pair. This search isn't limited to the current specified default patch baseline or the baseline assigned to a patch group. If no baseline is found with the specified tags, Patch Manager next looks for a patch group, if one was specified in the command that runs AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation. If no patch group is matched, Patch Manager falls back to the current default patch baseline for the operating system account.

If more than one patch baseline is found with the tags specified in the AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation document, Patch Manager returns an error message indicating that only one patch baseline can be tagged with that key-value pair in order for the operation to proceed.

Note

On Linux instances, the appropriate package manager for each instance type is used to install packages:

  • Amazon Linux, Amazon Linux 2, CentOS, Oracle Linux, and RHEL instances use YUM. For YUM operations, Patch Manager requires Python 2.6 or later.

  • Debian Server, Raspberry Pi OS, and Ubuntu Server instances use APT. For APT operations, Patch Manager requires Python 3.

  • SUSE Linux Enterprise Server instances use Zypper. For Zypper operations, Patch Manager requires Python 2.6 or later.

After a scan is complete, or after all approved and applicable updates have been installed, with reboots performed as necessary, patch compliance information is generated on an instance and reported back to the Patch Compliance service.

Note

If the RebootOption parameter is set to NoReboot in the AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation document, the instance isn't rebooted after Patch Manager runs. For more information, see Parameter name: RebootOption.

For information about viewing patch compliance data, see About patch compliance.

AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation parameters

AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation supports four parameters. The Operation and AssociationId parameters are required. The InstallOverrideList, RebootOption, and BaselineTags parameters are optional.

Parameter name: Operation

Usage: Required.

Options: Scan | Install.

Scan

When you choose the Scan option, AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation determines the patch compliance state of the instance and reports this information back to Patch Manager. Scan doesn't prompt updates to be installed or instances to be rebooted. Instead, the operation identifies where updates are missing that are approved and applicable to the instance.

Install

When you choose the Install option, AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation attempts to install the approved and applicable updates that are missing from the instance. Patch compliance information generated as part of an Install operation doesn't list any missing updates, but might report updates that are in a failed state if the installation of the update didn't succeed for any reason. Whenever an update is installed on an instance, the instance is rebooted to ensure the update is both installed and active. (Exception: If the RebootOption parameter is set to NoReboot in the AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation document, the instance isn't rebooted after Patch Manager runs. For more information, see Parameter name: RebootOption.)

Note

If a patch specified by the baseline rules is installed before Patch Manager updates the instance, the system might not reboot as expected. This can happen when a patch is installed manually by a user or installed automatically by another program, such as the unattended-upgrades package on Ubuntu Server.

Parameter name: BaselineTags

Usage: Optional.

BaselineTags is a unique tag key-value pair that you choose and assign to an individual custom patch baseline. You can specify one or more values for this parameter. Both of the following formats are valid:

Key=tag-key,Values=tag-value

Key=tag-key,Values=tag-value1,tag-value2,tag-value3

The BaselineTags value is used by Patch Manager to ensure that a set of instances that are patched in a single operation all have the exact same set of approved patches. When the patching operation runs, Patch Manager checks to see if a patch baseline for the operating system type is tagged with the same key-value pair you specify for BaselineTags. If there is a match, this custom patch baseline is used. If there isn't a match, a patch baseline is identified according to any patch group specified for the patching operating. If there is none, the AWS managed predefined patch baseline for that operating system is used.

Additional permission requirements

If you use AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation in patching operations other than those set up using Quick Setup, and you want to use the optional BaselineTags parameter, you must add the following permissions to the instance profile for Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances.

Note

Quick Setup and AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation don't support on-premises servers and virtual machines (VMs).

{ "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "ssm:DescribePatchBaselines", "tag:GetResources" ], "Resource": "*" }, { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "ssm:GetPatchBaseline", "ssm:DescribeEffectivePatchesForPatchBaseline" ], "Resource": "patch-baseline-arn" }

Replace patch-baseline-arn with the Amazon Resource Name (ARN) of the patch baseline to which you want to provide access, in the format arn:aws:ssm:us-east-2:123456789012:patchbaseline/pb-0c10e65780EXAMPLE.

Parameter name: AssociationId

Usage: Required.

AssociationId is the ID of an existing association in State Manager, a capability of AWS Systems Manager. It's used by Patch Manager to add compliance data to the specified Association. By sending patching results as association compliance data instead of inventory compliance data, existing inventory compliance information for your instances isn't overwritten after a patching operation, nor for other association IDs. If you don't already have an association you want to use, you can create one by running create-association the command. For example:

Linux & macOS
aws ssm create-association \ --name "AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation" \ --association-name "MyPatchAssociation" \ --targets "Key=instanceids,Values=[i-02573cafcfEXAMPLE,i-07782c72faEXAMPLE,i-07782c72faEXAMPLE]" \ --parameters "Operation=Scan" \ --schedule-expression "cron(0 */30 * * * ? *)" \ --sync-compliance "MANUAL" \ --region us-east-2
Windows
aws ssm create-association ^ --name "AWS-RunPatchBaselineAssociation" ^ --association-name "MyPatchAssociation" ^ --targets "Key=instanceids,Values=[i-02573cafcfEXAMPLE,i-07782c72faEXAMPLE,i-07782c72faEXAMPLE]" ^ --parameters "Operation=Scan" ^ --schedule-expression "cron(0 */30 * * * ? *)" ^ --sync-compliance "MANUAL" ^ --region us-east-2

Parameter name: InstallOverrideList

Usage: Optional.

Using InstallOverrideList, you specify an https URL or an Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) path-style URL to a list of patches to be installed. This patch installation list, which you maintain in YAML format, overrides the patches specified by the current default patch baseline. This provides you with more granular control over which patches are installed on your instances.

Be aware that compliance reports reflect patch states according to what’s specified in the patch baseline, not what you specify in an InstallOverrideList list of patches. In other words, Scan operations ignore the InstallOverrideList parameter. This is to ensure that compliance reports consistently reflect patch states according to policy rather than what was approved for a specific patching operation.

Valid URL formats

Note

If your file is stored in a publicly available bucket, you can specify either an https URL format or an Amazon S3 path-style URL. If your file is stored in a private bucket, you must specify an Amazon S3 path-style URL.

  • https URL format:

    https://s3.amazonaws.com/DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/my-windows-override-list.yaml
  • Amazon S3 path-style URL:

    s3://DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/my-windows-override-list.yaml

Valid YAML content formats

The formats you use to specify patches in your list depends on the operating system of your instance. The general format, however, is as follows:

patches: - id: '{patch-d}' title: '{patch-title}' {additional-fields}:{values}

Although you can provide additional fields in your YAML file, they're ignored during patch operations.

In addition, we recommend verifying that the format of your YAML file is valid before adding or updating the list in your S3 bucket. For more information about the YAML format, see yaml.org. For validation tool options, perform a web search for "yaml format validators".

  • Microsoft Windows

    id

    The id field is required. Use it to specify patches using Microsoft Knowledge Base IDs (for example, KB2736693) and Microsoft Security Bulletin IDs (for example, MS17-023).

    Any other fields you want to provide in a patch list for Windows are optional and are for your own informational use only. You can use additional fields such as title, classification, severity, or anything else for providing more detailed information about the specified patches.

  • Linux

    id

    The id field is required. Use it to specify patches using the package name and architecture. For example: 'dhclient.x86_64'. You can use wildcards in id to indicate multiple packages. For example: 'dhcp*' and 'dhcp*1.*'.

    title

    The title field is optional, but on Linux systems it does provide additional filtering capabilities. If you use title, it should contain the package version information in the one of the following formats:

    YUM/SUSE Linux Enterprise Server (SLES):

    {name}.{architecture}:{epoch}:{version}-{release}

    APT

    {name}.{architecture}:{version}

    For Linux patch titles, you can use one or more wildcards in any position to expand the number of package matches. For example: '*32:9.8.2-0.*.rc1.57.amzn1'.

    For example:

    • apt package version 1.2.25 is currently installed on your instance, but version 1.2.27 is now available.

    • You add apt.amd64 version 1.2.27 to the patch list. It depends on apt utils.amd64 version 1.2.27, but apt-utils.amd64 version 1.2.25 is specified in the list.

    In this case, apt version 1.2.27 will be blocked from installation and reported as “Failed-NonCompliant.”

Other fields

Any other fields you want to provide in a patch list for Linux are optional and are for your own informational use only. You can use additional fields such as classification, severity, or anything else for providing more detailed information about the specified patches.

Sample patch lists

  • Windows

    patches: - id: 'KB4284819' title: '2018-06 Cumulative Update for Windows Server 2016 (1709) for x64-based Systems (KB4284819)' - id: 'KB4284833' - id: 'KB4284835' title: '2018-06 Cumulative Update for Windows Server 2016 (1803) for x64-based Systems (KB4284835)' - id: 'KB4284880' - id: 'KB4338814'
  • APT

    patches: - id: 'apparmor.amd64' title: '2.10.95-0ubuntu2.9' - id: 'cryptsetup.amd64' title: '*2:1.6.6-5ubuntu2.1' - id: 'cryptsetup-bin.*' title: '*2:1.6.6-5ubuntu2.1' - id: 'apt.amd64' title: '*1.2.27' - id: 'apt-utils.amd64' title: '*1.2.25'
  • Amazon Linux

    patches: - id: 'kernel.x86_64' - id: 'bind*.x86_64' title: '32:9.8.2-0.62.rc1.57.amzn1' - id: 'glibc*' - id: 'dhclient*' title: '*12:4.1.1-53.P1.28.amzn1' - id: 'dhcp*' title: '*10:3.1.1-50.P1.26.amzn1'
  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL)

    patches: - id: 'NetworkManager.x86_64' title: '*1:1.10.2-14.el7_5' - id: 'NetworkManager-*.x86_64' title: '*1:1.10.2-14.el7_5' - id: 'audit.x86_64' title: '*0:2.8.1-3.el7' - id: 'dhclient.x86_64' title: '*.el7_5.1' - id: 'dhcp*.x86_64' title: '*12:5.2.5-68.el7'
  • SUSE Linux Enterprise Server (SLES)

    patches: - id: 'amazon-ssm-agent.x86_64' - id: 'binutils' title: '*0:2.26.1-9.12.1' - id: 'glibc*.x86_64' title: '*2.19*' - id: 'dhcp*' title: '0:4.3.3-9.1' - id: 'lib*'
  • Ubuntu Server

    patches: - id: 'apparmor.amd64' title: '2.10.95-0ubuntu2.9' - id: 'cryptsetup.amd64' title: '*2:1.6.6-5ubuntu2.1' - id: 'cryptsetup-bin.*' title: '*2:1.6.6-5ubuntu2.1' - id: 'apt.amd64' title: '*1.2.27' - id: 'apt-utils.amd64' title: '*1.2.25'
  • Windows

    patches: - id: 'KB4284819' title: '2018-06 Cumulative Update for Windows Server 2016 (1709) for x64-based Systems (KB4284819)' - id: 'KB4284833' - id: 'KB4284835' title: '2018-06 Cumulative Update for Windows Server 2016 (1803) for x64-based Systems (KB4284835)' - id: 'KB4284880' - id: 'KB4338814'

Parameter name: RebootOption

Usage: Optional.

Options: RebootIfNeeded | NoReboot

Default: RebootIfNeeded

Warning

The default option is RebootIfNeeded. Be sure to select the correct option for your use case. For example, if your instances must reboot immediately to complete a configuration process, choose RebootIfNeeded. Or, if you need to maintain instances availability until a scheduled reboot time, choose NoReboot.

RebootIfNeeded

When you choose the RebootIfNeeded option, the instance is rebooted in either of the following cases:

  • Patch Manager installed one or more patches.

    Patch Manager doesn't evaluate whether a reboot is required by the patch. The system is rebooted even if the patch doesn't require a reboot.

  • Patch Manager detects one or more patches with a status of INSTALLED_PENDING_REBOOT during the Install operation.

    The INSTALLED_PENDING_REBOOT status can mean that the option NoReboot was selected the last time the Install operation was run.

    Note

    Patches installed outside of Patch Manager are never given a status of INSTALLED_PENDING_REBOOT.

Rebooting instances in these two cases ensures that updated packages are flushed from memory and keeps patching and rebooting behavior consistent across all operating systems.

NoReboot

When you choose the NoReboot option, Patch Manager doesn't reboot an instance even if it installed patches during the Install operation. This option is useful if you know that your instances don't require rebooting after patches are applied, or you have applications or processes running on an instance that shouldn't be disrupted by a patching operation reboot. It's also useful when you want more control over the timing of instance reboots, such as by using a maintenance window.

Patch installation tracking file: To track patch installation, especially patches that have been installed since the last system reboot, Systems Manager maintains a file on the managed instance.

Important

Don't delete or modify the tracking file. If this file is deleted or corrupted, the patch compliance report for the instance is inaccurate. If this happens, reboot the instance and run a patch Scan operation to restore the file.

This tracking file is stored in the following locations on your managed instances:

  • Linux operating systems:

    • /var/log/amazon/ssm/patch-configuration/patch-states-configuration.json

    • /var/log/amazon/ssm/patch-configuration/patch-inventory-from-last-operation.json

  • Windows Server operating system:

    • C:\ProgramData\Amazon\PatchBaselineOperations\State\PatchStatesConfiguration.json

    • C:\ProgramData\Amazon\PatchBaselineOperations\State\PatchInventoryFromLastOperation.json