如何指定替代修補程式來源儲存庫 (Linux) - AWS Systems Manager

如何指定替代修補程式來源儲存庫 (Linux)

當您使用設定於執行個體上的預設儲存庫進行修補操作,Patch Manager (AWS Systems Manager 的一項功能) 將會掃描或安裝安全性相關的修補程式。這是 Patch Manager 的預設行為。如需有關 Patch Manager 如何選擇和安裝安全性修補程式的完整資訊,請參閱 如何選取安全性修補程式

但是在 Linux 系統上,您也可以使用 Patch Manager 安裝與安全無關的修補程式,或安裝位於與設定於執行個體上的預設儲存庫不同來源儲存庫上的修補程式。當您建立自訂修補基準時,可以指定替代的修補程式來源儲存庫。在每個自訂修補基準中,您可以指定修補程式來源組態,最多可達 20 個支援 Linux 作業系統的版本。

例如,假設您的 Ubuntu Server 機群包含 Ubuntu Server 14.04 和 Ubuntu Server 16.04 執行個體。在這種情況下,您可以為同一自訂修補基準中的每個版本指定備用儲存庫。您為每個版本提供名稱,指定作業系統版本類型 (產品),然後提供儲存庫組態。您也可以指定單一替代來源儲存庫,適用於所有支援的作業系統版本。

注意

執行自訂修補基準,指定執行個體上的替代修補程式儲存庫並不會改變該執行個體設定的預設儲存庫。

如需使用此選項的範例案例清單,請參閱本主題後面的替代修補程式來源儲存庫使用範例

如需有關預設和自訂修補基準的詳細資訊,請參閱關於預先定義和自訂的修補程式基準

範例:使用主控台

若要在 Systems Manager 主控台中工作時指定替代的修補程式來源儲存庫,請使用 Create patch baseline (建立修補基準) 頁面上的 Patch sources (修補程式來源) 區段。如需使用 Patch sources (修補程式來源) 選項的詳細資訊,請參閱建立自訂修補基準 (Linux)

範例:使用 AWS CLI

如需在 AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI) 中使用 --sources 選項的範例,請參閱 建立包含不同作業系統版本之自訂儲存庫的修補程式基準

替代儲存庫的重要考量

在您使用替代修補程式儲存庫規劃修補策略時,請注意以下重點。

只有指定的儲存庫會用於修補

指定替代儲存庫不表示指定額外的儲存庫。您可以選擇執行個體上設定為預設儲存庫以外的儲存庫。不過,如果您希望套用預設儲存庫的更新,您也必須指定預設儲存庫做為替代修補程式來源組態的一部分。

例如,在 Amazon Linux 2 執行個體上,預設的儲存庫是 amzn-mainamzn-update。若您希望將 Extra Packages for Enterprise Linux (EPEL) 儲存庫包含在您的修補操作中,您必須將這三個儲存庫全部指定為替代儲存庫。

注意

執行自訂修補基準,指定執行個體上的替代修補程式儲存庫並不會將這些儲存庫設為新的預設儲存庫。修補操作完成後,先前定義為預設值的儲存庫會保留為執行個體設定的預設儲存庫。

以 YUM 為基礎之分發的修補行為取決於 updateinfo.xml 資訊清單

當您為以 YUM 為基礎之分發指定替代修補程式儲存庫時,例如 Amazon Linux 或 Amazon Linux 2、Red Hat Enterprise Linux 或 CentOS,修補行為取決於儲存庫是否包含更新資訊清單,其形式為完整且格式正確的 updateinfo.xml 檔案。此檔案指定各種套件的發行日期、分類和嚴重性。以下項目將會影響修補行為:

  • 如果您篩選 Classification (分類)Severity (嚴重性),但是在 updateinfo.xml 中並未指定這些項目,則該套件將不會被篩選條件所包含。這也表示沒有 updateinfo.xml 檔案的套件不會包含在修補中。

  • 如果您篩選 ApprovalAfterDays,但套件發行日期並非 Unix Epoch 格式 (或沒有指定發行日期),該套件將不會被篩選條件所包含。

  • 如果您選取 Create patch baseline (建立修補基準) 頁面的 Approved patches include non-security updates (已核准修補程式包含非安全性更新) 核取方塊,則會有例外狀況。在這種情況下,沒有 updateinfo.xml 檔案的套件 (或包含此檔案但未正確格式化分類嚴重性日期值的套件) 會包含在預先篩選的修補程式清單中。(它們必須仍符合其他修補程式基準規則的要求,才能進行安裝。)

替代修補程式來源儲存庫使用範例

範例 1 - Ubuntu Server 的非安全性更新

您已經使用 Patch Manager,在使用 AWS 提供之預先定義修補基準 AWS-UbuntuDefaultPatchBaseline 的 Ubuntu Server 執行個體機群上安裝安全性修補程式。您可以建立以此預設為基礎的新修補程式基準,但在核准規則中指定,您希望也安裝預設分發中非安全性相關的更新。當此修補程式基準在您的執行個體上執行時,將會套用安全性與非安全性問題的修補程式。您也可以選擇在您為基準指定的修補程式例外狀況中,核准非安全性修補程式。

範例 2 - Ubuntu Server 的個人套件存檔 (PPA)

您的 Ubuntu Server 執行個體執行透過 Ubuntu 個人套件存檔 (PPA) 分發的軟體。在此案例下,您建立一個修補程式基準,指定您已在執行個體上設定的 PPA 儲存庫做為修補操作的來源儲存庫。然後,使用 Run Command 執行在執行個體上的修補程式基準文件。

範例 3 - Amazon Linux 上的內部公司應用程式

您需要在您的 Amazon Linux 執行個體上執行一些應用程式,以符合產業法律合規需求。您可以在執行個體上為這些應用程式設定儲存庫,使用 YUM 初步安裝應用程式,然後更新或建立新的修補程式基準,以包含這個新的公司儲存庫。在此之後,您可以使用 Run Command,執行具有 Scan 選項的 AWS-RunPatchBaseline 文件,查看公司套件是否列在已安裝的套件中,並且在執行個體上是否為最新狀態。如果不是最新的,您可以使用 Install 選項更新應用程式以再次執行該文件。

AWS Systems Manager
User Guide

How to Specify an Alternative Patch Source Repository (Linux)

When you use the default repositories configured on an instance for patching operations, Patch Manager scans for or installs security-related patches. This is the default behavior for Patch Manager. For complete information on how Patch Manager selects and installs security patches, see How Security Patches Are Selected.

On Linux systems, however, you can also use Patch Manager to install patches that are not related to security, or that are in a different source repository than the default one configured on the instance. You can specify alternative patch source repositories when you create a custom patch baseline. In each custom patch baseline, you can specify patch source configurations for up to 20 versions of a supported Linux operating system.

For example, suppose that your Ubuntu Server fleet includes both Ubuntu Server 14.04 and Ubuntu Server 16.04 instances. In this case, you can specify alternate repositories for each version in the same custom patch baseline. For each version, you provide a name, specify the operating system version type (product), and provide a repository configuration. You can also specify a single alternative source repository that applies to all versions of a supported operating system.

For a list of example scenarios for using this option, see Sample Uses for Alternative Patch Source Repositories later in this topic.

For information about default and custom patch baselines, see About Predefined and Custom Patch Baselines.

Note

Running a custom patch baseline that specifies alternative patch repositories on an instance doesn't change the default repository configured for the instance.

Using the Console

To specify alternative patch source repositories when you are working in the AWS Systems Manager console, use the Patch sources section on the Create patch baseline page. For information about using the Patch sources options, see Create a Custom Patch Baseline.

Using Other Tools to Create Patch Baselines

Use the sources option with other tools when you create a patch baseline.

For an example of using the --sources option with the CLI, see Create a patch baseline with custom repositories for different OS versions.

Important Considerations for Alternative Repositories

Keep in mind the following points as you plan your patching strategy using alternative patch repositories.

Only specified repositories are used for patching

Specifying alternative repositories doesn't mean specifying additional repositories. You can choose to specify repositories other than those configured as defaults on an instance. However, you must also specify the default repositories as part of the alternative patch source configuration if you want their updates to be applied.

For example, on Amazon Linux 2 instances, the default repositories are amzn-main and amzn-update. If you want to include the Extra Packages for Enterprise Linux (EPEL) repository in your patching operations, you must specify all three repositories as alternative repositories.

Note

Running a custom patch baseline that specifies alternative patch repositories on an instance doesn't change the default repository configured for the instance.

Patching behavior for YUM-based distributions depends on the updateinfo.xml manifest

When you specify alternative patch repositories for YUM-based distributions, such as Amazon Linux or Amazon Linux 2, Red Hat Enterprise Linux, or CentOS, patching behavior depends on whether the repository includes an update manifest in the form of a complete and correctly formatted updateinfo.xml file. This file specifies the release date, classifications, and severities of the various packages. Any of the following will affect the patching behavior:

  • If you filter on Classification and Severity, but they aren't specified in updateinfo.xml, the package will not be included by the filter. This also means that packages without an updateinfo.xml file won't be included in patching.

  • If you filter on ApprovalAfterDays, but the package release date isn't in Unix Epoch format (or has no release date specified), the package will not be included by the filter.

  • There is an exception if you select the Approved patches include non-security updates check box in the Create patch baseline page. In this case, packages without an updateinfo.xml file (or that contains this file without properly formatted Classification, Severity, and Date values) will be included in the prefiltered list of patches. (They must still meet the other patch baseline rule requirements in order to be installed.)

Sample Uses for Alternative Patch Source Repositories

Example 1 – Nonsecurity Updates for Ubuntu Server

You are already using Patch Manager to install security patches on a fleet of Ubuntu Server instances using the AWS-provided predefined patch baseline AWS-UbuntuDefaultPatchBaseline. You can create a new patch baseline that is based on this default, but specify in the approval rules that you want nonsecurity related updates that are part of the default distribution to be installed as well. When this patch baseline is run against your instances, patches for both security and nonsecurity issues are applied. You can also choose to approve nonsecurity patches in the patch exceptions you specify for a baseline.

Example 2 - Personal Package Archives (PPA) for Ubuntu Server

Your Ubuntu Server instances are running software that is distributed through a Personal Package Archives (PPA) for Ubuntu. In this case, you create a patch baseline that specifies a PPA repository that you have configured on the instance as the source repository for the patching operation. Then use Run Command to run the patch baseline document on the instances.

Example 3 – Internal Corporate Applications on Amazon Linux

You need to run some applications needed for industry regulatory compliance on your Amazon Linux instances. You can configure a repository for these applications on the instances, use YUM to initially install the applications, and then update or create a new patch baseline to include this new corporate repository. After this you can use Run Command to run the AWS-RunPatchBaseline document with the Scan option to see if the corporate package is listed among the installed packages and is up to date on the instance. If it isn't up to date, you can run the document again using the Install option to update the applications.