SSM Agent 技術參考 - AWS Systems Manager

SSM Agent 技術參考

使用本主題中的資訊可協助您實作 AWS Systems Manager Agent (SSM Agent) 並了解代理程式的運作方式。

SSM Agent 憑證優先順序

本主題描述了 SSM Agent 如何授予在您資源上執行動作之許可的重要資訊。內容主要集中於在混合式環境中執行 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 執行個體和伺服器或 VM 的 SSM Agent。對於邊緣裝置,您必須將裝置設定為使用 AWS IoT Greengrass 核心軟體,設定 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 服務角色,並透過使用 AWS IoT Greengrass 將 SSM Agent 部署至您的裝置。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 設定適用於邊緣裝置的 AWS Systems Manager

SSM Agent 安裝在執行個體上時,它需要許可才能與 Systems Manager 服務進行通訊。在 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 執行個體上,會在連接到執行個體的執行個體設定檔中提供這些許可。在混合執行個體上,SSM Agent 通常會從共用憑證檔案中取得所需的許可,該檔案位於 /root/.aws/credentials (Linux 和 macOS) 或 %USERPROFILE%\.aws\credentials (Windows Server)。在混合啟用程序中,會將所需的許可新增至此檔案。

然而,在極少數情況下,執行個體最終可能會將許可新增至多個位置,SSM Agent 在這些位置會檢查許可以執行其任務。

例如,您可以將執行個體設定為由 Systems Manager 管理。對於 EC2 執行個體,該組態包括連接執行個體設定檔。對於內部部署伺服器或虛擬機器 (VM),這表示透過混合啟用程序提供憑證。然後您決定也將該執行個體用於開發人員或最終使用者任務,並安裝 AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI)。此安裝會導致其他許可新增至執行個體上的憑證檔案。

當您在執行個體上執行 Systems Manager 命令時,SSM Agent 可能會嘗試使用與您預期使用的憑證不同的憑證,例如憑證檔案而非執行個體設定檔。這是因為 SSM Agent 會依照指定的順序尋找預設憑證供應者鏈結的憑證。

注意

在 Linux 和 macOS 中,SSM Agent 以根使用者身分執行。因此,SSM Agent 在此程序中查找的環境變數和憑證檔案只是根使用者的那些資訊 (/root/.aws/credentials)。SSM Agent 在搜尋憑證期間,不會查看執行個體上的任何其他使用者帳戶的環境變數或憑證檔案。

預設供應者鏈結會依以下順序查找憑證:

  1. 環境變數 (如果已設定) (AWS_ACCESS_KEY_IDAWS_SECRET_ACCESS_KEY)。

  2. 共用的憑證檔案 (Linux 的 $HOME/.aws/credentials 以及 Windows Server 的 macOS 或 %USERPROFILE%\.aws\credentials),例如具有混合啟用或 AWS CLI 安裝提供的許可。

  3. 任務的 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 角色 (如果存在應用程式),它使用 Amazon Elastic Container Service (Amazon ECS) 任務定義或 RunTask API 操作。

  4. 連接至 Amazon EC2 執行個體的執行個體設定檔。

如需相關資訊,請參閱下列主題:

關於本機 ssm 使用者帳戶

從 SSM Agent 的 2.3.50.0 版開始,代理程式會建立稱為 ssm-user 的本機使用者帳戶,並將其新增至 /etc/sudoers.d 目錄 (Linux 和 macOS) 或系統管理員群組 (Windows Server)。在代理程式 2.3.612.0 之前的版本中,當 SSM Agent 第一次啟動,或在安裝後重新啟動時,會建立該帳戶。在版本 2.3.612.0 和更高版本中,當執行個體上初次啟動工作階段時,會建立 ssm-user 帳戶。當工作階段在 Session Manager (AWS Systems Manager 的一個功能) 中開始時,此 ssm-user 是預設的 OS 使用者。您可以將 ssm-user 移動到權限較少的群組或變更 sudoers 檔案,以改變許可。解除安裝 SSM Agent 時,ssm-user 帳戶並不會從系統中移除。

在 Windows Server 上,SSM Agent 會處理當每個工作階段開始時,為 ssm-user 帳戶設定新的密碼。Linux 受管執行個體上沒有設定 ssm-user 的密碼。

從 SSM Agent 的 2.3.612.0 版本開始,不會在用作網域控制器的 Windows Server 機器上自動建立 ssm-user 帳戶。若要在 Windows Server 網域控制器上使用 Session Manager,請手動建立 ssm-user 帳戶 (如果尚不存在),並將網域管理員許可指派給使用者。

重要

為了建立 ssm-user 帳戶,連接到執行個體的執行個體設定檔必須提供必要的許可。如需相關資訊,請參閱使用 Session Manager 許可驗證或建立 IAM 角色

SSM Agent 與 Instance Metadata Service (IMDS)

Systems Manager 依賴 EC2 執行個體中繼資料才能正確運作。Systems Manager 可以使用 Instance Metadata Service 的第 1 版或第 2 版 (IMDSv1 和 IMDSv2) 來存取執行個體中繼資料。您的執行個體必須可以存取執行個體中繼資料服務的 IPv4 地址:169.254.169.254。如需詳細資訊,請參閱《Amazon EC2 Linux 執行個體使用者指南》中的執行個體中繼資料和使用者資料

讓 SSM Agent 保持最新狀態

當新功能新增至 Systems Manager,或對現有功能更新時,會推出 SSM Agent 的更新版本。若未使用最新版本的代理程式,您的受管理節點可能會無法使用各種 Systems Manager 的功能及特點。因此,我們建議您讓機器的 SSM Agent 自動保持最新狀態。如需相關資訊,請參閱 自動化 SSM Agent 更新。請訂閱 GitHub 上的 SSM Agent 版本備註頁面,以收到 SSM Agent 更新的通知。

注意

當新功能新增至 Systems Manager,或對現有功能更新時,會推出 SSM Agent 的更新版本。若未使用最新版本的代理程式,您的受管理節點可能會無法使用各種 Systems Manager 的功能及特點。因此,我們建議您讓機器的 SSM Agent 自動保持最新狀態。如需相關資訊,請參閱 自動化 SSM Agent 更新。請訂閱 GitHub 上的 SSM Agent 版本備註頁面,以收到 SSM Agent 更新的通知。

根據預設,包含 SSM Agent 的 Amazon Machine Images (AMIs) 可能最長需要兩週,才能使用 SSM Agent 的最新版本進行更新。我們建議您設定更頻繁地自動更新 SSM Agent。

按 AWS 區域 進行 SSM Agent 滾動更新

SSM Agent 更新在其 GitHub 儲存庫中可供使用之後,更新版本在不同時間推廣到所有 AWS 區域 最多可能需要兩週的時間。因此,您可能會在嘗試於區域中部署新版本 SSM Agent 時收到「不支援目前平台」或「正在將 amazon-ssm-agent 更新到較舊版本,請開啟允許繼續降級」等錯誤。

若要判斷您可使用的 SSM Agent 版本,可執行 curl 命令。

若要查看全域下載儲存貯體中可用的代理程式版本,請執行以下命令。

curl https://s3.amazonaws.com/ec2-downloads-windows/SSMAgent/latest/VERSION

若要查看特定區域中可用的代理程式版本,請執行以下命令,使用您工作所在區域替代 region,例如使用 us-east-2 替代美國東部 (俄亥俄) 區域。

curl https://s3.region.amazonaws.com/amazon-ssm-region/latest/VERSION

您也可以直接在瀏覽器中開啟 VERSION 文件,而不需要 curl 命令。

在虛擬機器和內部部署執行個體上安裝 SSM Agent

如需有關在混合式環境中的內部部署伺服器、邊緣裝置和虛擬機器 (VM) 上安裝 SSM Agent 的相關資訊,請參閱為混合式環境 (Linux) 安裝 SSM Agent為混合式環境 (Windows) 安裝 SSM Agent

使用硬體指紋驗證內部部署伺服器、邊緣裝置和虛擬機器

在混合環境中執行內部部署伺服器、邊緣裝置和虛擬機器 (VM) 時,SSM Agent 會收集許多系統屬性 (稱為硬體雜湊),並使用這些屬性來計算指紋。指紋是不透明字串,代理程式會將其傳遞給某些 Systems Manager API。此唯一的指紋會將呼叫者與特定的內部部署受管節點建立關聯。代理程式會將指紋和硬體雜湊存放在某個位置的本機磁碟上 (稱為保存庫)。

當內部部署伺服器、邊緣裝置或虛擬機器註冊以搭配 Systems Manager 使用時,代理程式會計算硬體雜湊和指紋。然後,當代理程式傳送 RegisterManagedInstance 命令時,指紋會傳回到 Systems Manager 服務。

稍後,當傳送 RequestManagedInstanceRoleToken 命令時,代理程式會檢查保存庫中的指紋和硬體雜湊,以確保目前的機器屬性與儲存的硬體雜湊相符。如果目前的機器屬性與儲存在「保存庫」中的硬體雜湊相符,則代理程式會將指紋從「保存庫」傳遞至 RegisterManagedInstance,從而產生成功呼叫。

如果目前的機器屬性與儲存的硬體雜湊不相符,SSM Agent 會計算新指紋,將新硬體雜湊和指紋儲存在「保存庫」中,並將新指紋傳遞至 RequestManagedInstanceRoleToken這會導致 RequestManagedInstanceRoleToken 失敗,而代理程式將無法取得角色權杖以連線到 Systems Manager 服務。

此失敗是故意而為之,用來作為驗證步驟,以防止多個內部部署受管節點與作為相同受管節點的 Systems Manager 服務進行通訊。

將目前機器屬性與儲存在保存庫中的硬體雜湊比較時,代理程式會使用下列邏輯來判斷舊雜湊與新雜湊是否相符:

  • 如果 SID (系統/機器 ID) 不同,則不符。

  • 否則,如果 IP 地址相同,則相符。

  • 否則,系統會計算相符的機器屬性百分比,並與使用者設定的相似度臨界值進行比較,以判斷是否有相符項。

相似度臨界值會儲存在保存庫中,作為硬體雜湊的一部分。

使用下列命令註冊執行個體後,可以設定相似度臨界值。

Linux 執行個體為:

sudo amazon-ssm-agent -fingerprint -similarityThreshold 1

在使用 PowerShell 的 Windows Server 執行個體上:

cd "C:\Program Files\Amazon\SSM\" ` .\amazon-ssm-agent.exe -fingerprint -similarityThreshold 1
重要

如果用來計算指紋的其中一個元件發生變化,這可能會導致代理程式休眠。若要避免這種休眠狀態,請將相似度閾值設定為較低的值,例如 1

GitHub 上的 SSM Agent

可在 GitHub 上使用 SSM Agent 的原始碼,以便您可以調整代理程式以符合您的需求。我們建議您為想要進行的變更提交提取請求。但是,Amazon Web Services 不支援執行修改過的軟體複本。

SSM Agent technical reference - AWS Systems Manager

SSM Agent technical reference

Use the information in this topic to help you implement AWS Systems Manager Agent (SSM Agent) and understand how the agent works.

SSM Agent credentials precedence

This topic describes important information about how SSM Agent is granted permission to perform actions on your resources. The content is primarily focused on SSM Agent running Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances and servers or VMs in your hybrid environment. For edge devices, you must configure your devices to use AWS IoT Greengrass Core software, configure an AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) service role, and deploy SSM Agent to your devices by using AWS IoT Greengrass. For more information, see Setting up AWS Systems Manager for edge devices.

When SSM Agent is installed on an instance, it requires permissions in order to communicate with the Systems Manager service. On Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances, these permissions are provided in an instance profile that is attached to the instance. On a hybrid instance, SSM Agent normally gets the needed permissions from the shared credentials file, located at /root/.aws/credentials (Linux and macOS) or %USERPROFILE%\.aws\credentials (Windows Server). The needed permissions are added to this file during the hybrid activation process.

In rare cases, however, an instance might end up with permissions added to more than one of the locations where SSM Agent checks for permissions to run its tasks.

As one example, you might configure an instance to be managed by Systems Manager. For an EC2 instance, that configuration includes attaching an instance profile. For an on-premises server or virtual machine (VM), that means credentials are provided through the hybrid activation process. But, then you decide to also use that instance for developer or end-user tasks and install the AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI) on it. This installation results in additional permissions being added to a credentials file on the instance.

When you run a Systems Manager command on the instance, SSM Agent might try to use credentials different from the ones you expect it to use, such as from a credentials file instead of an instance profile. This is because SSM Agent looks for credentials in the order prescribed for the default credential provider chain.

Note

On Linux and macOS, SSM Agent runs as the root user. Therefore, the environment variables and credentials file that SSM Agent looks for in this process are those of the root user only (/root/.aws/credentials). SSM Agent doesn't look at the environment variables or credentials file of any other user accounts on the instance during the search for credentials.

The default provider chain looks for credentials in the following order:

  1. Environment variables, if configured (AWS_ACCESS_KEY_ID and AWS_SECRET_ACCESS_KEY).

  2. Shared credentials file ($HOME/.aws/credentials for Linux and macOS or %USERPROFILE%\.aws\credentials for Windows Server) with permissions provided by, for example, a hybrid activation or an AWS CLI installation.

  3. An AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) role for tasks if an application is present that uses an Amazon Elastic Container Service (Amazon ECS) task definition or RunTask API operation.

  4. An instance profile attached to an Amazon EC2 instance.

For related information, see the following topics:

About the local ssm-user account

Starting with version 2.3.50.0 of SSM Agent, the agent creates a local user account called ssm-user and adds it to the /etc/sudoers.d directory (Linux and macOS) or to the Administrators group (Windows Server). On agent versions before 2.3.612.0, the account is created the first time SSM Agent starts or restarts after installation. On version 2.3.612.0 and later, the ssm-user account is created the first time a session is started on an instance. This ssm-user is the default OS user when a session starts in Session Manager, a capability of AWS Systems Manager. You can change the permissions by moving ssm-user to a less-privileged group or by changing the sudoers file. The ssm-user account isn't removed from the system when SSM Agent is uninstalled.

On Windows Server, SSM Agent handles setting a new password for the ssm-user account when each session starts. No passwords are set for ssm-user on Linux managed instances.

Starting with SSM Agent version 2.3.612.0, the ssm-user account isn't created automatically on Windows Server machines that are being used as domain controllers. To use Session Manager on a Windows Server domain controller, create the ssm-user account manually if it isn't already present, and assign Domain Administrator permissions to the user.

Important

In order for the ssm-user account to be created, the instance profile attached to the instance must provide the necessary permissions. For information, see Verify or create an IAM role with Session Manager permissions.

SSM Agent and the Instance Metadata Service (IMDS)

Systems Manager relies on EC2 instance metadata to function correctly. Systems Manager can access instance metadata using either version 1 or version 2 of the Instance Metadata Service (IMDSv1 and IMDSv2). Your instance must be able to access IPv4 address of the instance metadata service: 169.254.169.254. For more information, see Instance metadata and user data in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Linux Instances.

Keeping SSM Agent up-to-date

An updated version of SSM Agent is released whenever new capabilities are added to Systems Manager or updates are made to existing capabilities. If an older version of the agent is running on a managed node, some SSM Agent processes can fail. For that reason, we recommend that you automate the process of keeping SSM Agent up-to-date on your machines. For information, see Automating updates to SSM Agent. Subscribe to the SSM Agent Release Notes page on GitHub to get notifications about SSM Agent updates.

Note

An updated version of SSM Agent is released whenever new capabilities are added to Systems Manager or updates are made to existing capabilities. If an older version of the agent is running on a managed node, some SSM Agent processes can fail. For that reason, we recommend that you automate the process of keeping SSM Agent up-to-date on your machines. For information, see Automating updates to SSM Agent. Subscribe to the SSM Agent Release Notes page on GitHub to get notifications about SSM Agent updates.

Amazon Machine Images (AMIs) that include SSM Agent by default can take up to two weeks to be updated with the newest version of SSM Agent. We recommend that you configure even more frequent automated updates to SSM Agent.

SSM Agent rolling updates by AWS Regions

After an SSM Agent update is made available in its GitHub repository, it can take up to two weeks until the updated version is rolled out to all AWS Regions at different times. For this reason, you might receive the "Unsupported on current platform" or "updating amazon-ssm-agent to an older version, please turn on allow downgrade to proceed" error when trying to deploy a new version of SSM Agent in a Region.

To determine the version of SSM Agent available to you, you can run a curl command.

To view the version of the agent available in the global download bucket, run the following command.

curl https://s3.amazonaws.com/ec2-downloads-windows/SSMAgent/latest/VERSION

To view the version of the agent available in a specific Region, run the following command, substituting region with the Region you're working in, such as us-east-2 for the US East (Ohio) Region.

curl https://s3.region.amazonaws.com/amazon-ssm-region/latest/VERSION

You can also open the VERSION file directly in your browser without a curl command.

Installing SSM Agent on VMs and on-premises instances

For information about installing SSM Agent on on-premises servers, edge devices, and virtual machines (VMs) in a hybrid environment, see Install SSM Agent for a hybrid environment (Linux) and Install SSM Agent for a hybrid environment (Windows).

Validating on-premises servers, edge devices, and virtual machines using a hardware fingerprint

When running on-premises servers, edge devices, and virtual machines (VMs) in a hybrid environment, SSM Agent gathers a number of system attributes (referred to as the hardware hash) and uses these attributes to compute a fingerprint. The fingerprint is an opaque string that the agent passes to certain Systems Manager APIs. This unique fingerprint associates the caller with a particular on-premises managed node. The agent stores the fingerprint and hardware hash on the local disk in a location called the Vault.

The agent computes the hardware hash and fingerprint when the on-premises server, edge device, or VM is registered for use with Systems Manager. Then, the fingerprint is passed back to the Systems Manager service when the agent sends a RegisterManagedInstance command.

Later, when sending a RequestManagedInstanceRoleToken command, the agent checks the fingerprint and hardware hash in the Vault to make sure that the current machine attributes match with the stored hardware hash. If the current machine attributes do match the hardware hash stored in the Vault, the agent passes in the fingerprint from the Vault to RegisterManagedInstance, resulting in a successful call.

If the current machine attributes don't match the stored hardware hash, SSM Agent computes a new fingerprint, stores the new hardware hash and fingerprint in the Vault, and passes the new fingerprint to RequestManagedInstanceRoleToken. This causes RequestManagedInstanceRoleToken to fail, and the agent won't be able to obtain a role token to connect to the Systems Manager service.

This failure is by design and is used as a verification step to prevent multiple on-premises managed nodes from communicating with the Systems Manager service as the same managed node.

When comparing the current machine attributes to the hardware hash stored in the Vault, the agent uses the following logic to determine whether the old and new hashes match:

  • If the SID (system/machine ID) is different, then no match.

  • Otherwise, if the IP address is the same, then match.

  • Otherwise, the percentage of machine attributes that match is computed and compared with the user-configured similarity threshold to determine whether there is a match.

The similarity threshold is stored in the Vault, as part of the hardware hash.

The similarity threshold can be set after an instance is registered using a command like the following.

On Linux instances:

sudo amazon-ssm-agent -fingerprint -similarityThreshold 1

On Windows Server instances using PowerShell:

cd "C:\Program Files\Amazon\SSM\" ` .\amazon-ssm-agent.exe -fingerprint -similarityThreshold 1
Important

If one of the components used to calculate the fingerprint changes, this can cause the agent to hibernate. To help avoid this hibernation, set the similarity threshold to a low value, such as 1.

AMIs with SSM Agent preinstalled

SSM Agent is preinstalled, by default, on the following Amazon Machine Images (AMIs):

  • Amazon Linux

  • Amazon Linux 2

  • Amazon Linux 2 ECS-Optimized Base AMIs

  • macOS 10.14.x (Mojave), 10.15.x (Catalina), and 11.x (Big Sur)

  • SUSE Linux Enterprise Server (SLES) 12 and 15

  • Ubuntu Server 16.04, 18.04, and 20.04

  • Windows Server 2008-2012 R2 AMIs published in November 2016 or later

  • Windows Server 2016 and 2019

Note

SSM Agent isn't installed on all AMIs based on Amazon Linux or Amazon Linux 2.

You must manually install SSM Agent on EC2 instances created from other Linux AMIs. You must also manually install SSM Agent on AWS IoT Greengrass core devices and on-premises servers, edge devices, and VMs in your hybrid environment. For more information, see Setting up AWS Systems Manager for hybrid environments.

Note

SSM Agent might be pre-installed on Community AMIs that support other operating systems. AWS doesn't support these Community AMIs.

SSM Agent on GitHub

The source code for SSM Agent is available on GitHub so that you can adapt the agent to meet your needs. We encourage you to submit pull requests for changes that you would like to have included. However, Amazon Web Services doesn't provide support for running modified copies of this software.