Menu
Amazon Simple Storage Service
Console User Guide (API Version 2006-03-01)

Deleting or Emptying an Amazon S3 Bucket

Important

This is the User Guide for the old Amazon S3 console. If you are looking for the User Guide for the new Amazon S3 console, see Welcome to the New Amazon S3 Console User Guide.  

This section explains how to use the console to delete or empty an Amazon S3 bucket.

You can delete a bucket and all the objects contained in the bucket. For information on the limitations for deleting a bucket, see Deleting/Emptying a Bucket in the Amazon Simple Storage Service Developer Guide.

When you delete a bucket with versioning enabled, all versions of all the objects in the bucket are deleted. For more information about managing objects when versioning is enabled, see Managing Objects in a Versioning-Enabled Bucket.

Important

If you want to continue to use the same bucket name, don't delete the bucket. We recommend that you empty the bucket and keep it. After a bucket is deleted, the name becomes available to reuse, but the name might not be available for you to reuse for various reasons. For example, it might take some time before the name can be reused and some other account could create a bucket with that name before you do.

To delete a bucket

  1. Sign in to the AWS Management Console and open the Amazon S3 console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/s3/.

  2. Right-click the bucket that you want to delete, and then click Delete Bucket.

    Tip

    Optionally, to get this menu you can click the bucket and then click Actions, which is near the top of the console window next to Create Bucket.

  3. When a confirmation message appears, enter the bucket name and then click Delete.

You can empty a bucket, which deletes all the objects in the bucket without deleting the bucket. For information on the limitations for emptying a bucket, see Deleting/Emptying a Bucket in the Amazon Simple Storage Service Developer Guide.

Note

When you empty a bucket with versioning enabled, all versions of all the objects in the bucket are deleted. For more information about managing objects when versioning is enabled, see Managing Objects in a Versioning-Enabled Bucket.

To empty a bucket

  1. Sign in to the AWS Management Console and open the Amazon S3 console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/s3/.

  2. Right-click the bucket that you want to empty, and then click Empty Bucket.

    Tip

    Optionally, to get this menu you can click the bucket and then click Actions, which is near the top of the console window next to Create Bucket.

  3. When a confirmation message appears, enter the bucket name and then click Empty bucket.