Fargate 注意事项 - Amazon Elastic Container Service

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

Fargate 注意事项

要使用 Fargate,必须将任务定义配置为使用 Fargate 启动类型。使用 Fargate 时还有其他注意事项。

任务定义参数

使用 Fargate 启动类型的任务并非支持所有可用的 Amazon ECS 任务定义参数。某些参数完全不受支持,而其他参数对于 Fargate 任务的行为则不同。

以下任务定义参数在 Fargate 任务中无效:

  • disableNetworking

  • dnsSearchDomains

  • dnsServers

  • dockerSecurityOptions

  • extraHosts

  • gpu

  • ipcMode

  • links

  • placementConstraints

  • privileged

  • maxSwap

  • swappiness

以下任务定义参数在 Fargate 任务中有效,但应注意以下限制:

  • linuxParameters – 当指定适用于容器的 Linux 特定选项时,对于 capabilities,您可以添加的唯一功能是 CAP_SYS_PTRACEdevicessharedMemorySizetmpfs 参数不受支持。有关更多信息,请参阅 Linux 参数

  • volumes – Fargate 任务仅支持绑定挂载主机卷,因此, dockerVolumeConfiguration 参数不受支持。有关更多信息,请参阅

  • cpu - 对于 AWS Fargate 上的 Windows 容器,该值不能小于 1 vCPU。

为确保您的任务定义可验证用于 Fargate,可在注册任务定义时指定以下内容:

  • 在 “ AWS Management Console需要兼容性” 字段中,指定。FARGATE

  • 在中 AWS CLI,指定--requires-compatibilities选项。

  • 在 Amazon ECS API 中指定 requiresCompatibilities 标记。

操作系统和架构

为 AWS Fargate 配置任务和容器定义时,您必须指定容器运行的操作系统。AWS Fargate 支持以下操作系统:

  • Amazon Linux 2

    注意

    Linux 容器仅使用主机操作系统中的内核和内核配置。例如,内核配置包括 sysctl 系统控件。Linux 容器映像可以由包含任何 Linux 发行版中的文件和程序的基本映像创建。如果 CPU 架构匹配,则可以在任何操作系统上通过任何 Linux 容器映像运行容器。

  • Windows Server 2019 Full

  • Windows Server 2019 Core

  • Windows Server 2022 Full

  • Windows Server 2022 Core

当您在 AWS Fargate 上运行 Windows 容器时,您必须具有 X86_64 CPU 架构。

当您在 AWS Fargate 上运行 Linux 容器时,您可以使用 X86_64 CPU 架构,也可以使用 ARM64 架构用于基于 ARM 的应用程序。有关更多信息,请参阅 使用 Amazon ECS 上的 64 位 ARM 工作负载

任务 CPU 和内存

AWS Fargate 的 Amazon ECS 任务定义需要您在任务级别指定 CPU 和内存。尽管您还可以在容器级别为 Fargate 任务指定 CPU 和内存,但这是可选项。只需在任务级别指定这些资源便可满足大多数使用案例。下表显示了任务级 CPU 和内存的有效组合。您可以在 JSON 文件中以 miB 或 GB 为单位指定内存值。您可以在 JSON 文件中将 CPU 值指定为以 CPU 单位或虚拟 CPU (vCPU) 为单位的整数。

CPU 值

内存值

AWS Fargate 支持的操作系统

256 (.25 vCPU)

512MiB、1GB、2GB

Linux

512 (.5 vCPU)

1GB、2GB、3GB、4GB

Linux

1024 (1 vCPU)

2GB、3GB、4GB、5GB、6GB、7GB、8GB

Linux、Windows

2048 (2 vCPU)

4GB 到 16GB 之间 (以 1GB 为增量)

Linux、Windows

4096 (4 vCPU)

8GB 到 30GB 之间 (以 1GB 为增量)

Linux、Windows

8192 (8 vCPU)

注意

此选项需要 Linux 平台 1.4.0 或更高版本。

16 GB 到 60 GB 之间(以 4 GB 为增量)

Linux

16384 (16vCPU)

注意

此选项需要 Linux 平台 1.4.0 或更高版本。

32 GB 到 120 GB 之间(以 8 GB 为增量)

Linux

任务联网

AWS Fargate 的 Amazon ECS 任务要求使用 awsvpc 网络模式,该模式可为每个任务提供一个弹性网络接口。在使用此网络模式运行任务或创建服务时,必须指定一个或多个要附加网络接口的子网以及一个或多个要应用于该网络接口的安全组。

如果您使用的是公有子网,请决定是否为网络接口提供公有 IP 地址。对于公有子网中拉取容器映像的 Fargate 任务,需要向该任务的弹性网络接口分配一个公有 IP 地址,还需要一个到互联网的路由,或一个可以将请求路由到互联网的 NAT 网关。对于私有子网中拉取容器映像的 Fargate 任务,您需要私有子网中的 NAT 网关以将请求路由到互联网。在 Amazon ECR 中托管容器映像时,您可以将 Amazon ECR 配置为使用接口 VPC 端点。在这种情况下,任务的专用 IPv4 地址将用于图像提取。有关 Amazon ECR 接口端点的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Elastic Container Registry 用户指南中的 Amazon ECR 接口 VPC 端点 (AWS PrivateLink)

以下是 Fargate networkConfiguration 服务部分的示例:

"networkConfiguration": { "awsvpcConfiguration": { "assignPublicIp": "ENABLED", "securityGroups": [ "sg-12345678" ], "subnets": [ "subnet-12345678" ] } }

任务资源限制

AWS Fargate 上的 Linux 容器的 Amazon ECS 任务定义支持使用 ulimits 参数来定义要为容器设置的资源限制。

AWS Fargate 上的 Windows 的 Amazon ECS 任务定义支持使用 ulimits 参数来定义要为容器设置的资源限制。

Fargate 上托管的 Amazon ECS 任务使用操作系统设置的默认资源限制值,nofile 资源限制参数除外。nofile 资源限制对容器可以使用的打开文件数量设置限制。在 Fargate 上,默认的 nofile 软限制为 1024,硬限制为 65535。您可以将两个限制的值最高设置为 1048576

下面是一个示例任务定义代码段,介绍如何定义 nofile 限制已经增加了一倍:

"ulimits": [ { "name": "nofile", "softLimit": 2048, "hardLimit": 8192 } ]

有关可以调整的其他资源限制的更多信息,请参阅资源限制

日志记录

事件日志记录

Amazon ECS 会记录它所执行的操作 EventBridge。您可以使用 Amazon ECS 事件 EventBridge 来接收有关 Amazon ECS 集群、服务和任务当前状态的近乎实时的通知。此外,您还可以自动执行操作以响应这些事件。有关更多信息,请参阅 使用自动响应 Amazon ECS 错误 EventBridge

任务生命周期日志记录

在 Fargate 上运行的任务会发布时间戳,以便在任务生命周期的各个状态中跟踪任务。通过描述和软件开发工具包中的任务,可以在 AWS Management Console 和的任务详细信息中 AWS CLI 查看时间戳。例如,您可以使用时间戳来评估任务下载容器映像所花费的时间,并决定是应优化容器映像大小,还是使用 Seekable OCI 索引。有关容器映像实践的更多信息,请参阅 容器镜像的最佳实践

应用程序日志记录

AWS Fargate 的 Amazon ECS 任务定义支持用于日志配置的 awslogssplunkawsfirelens 日志驱动程序。

awslogs日志驱动程序将您的 Fargate 任务配置为向 Amazon CloudWatch Logs 发送日志信息。下面显示了任务定义中配置 awslogs 日志驱动程序的代码段:

"logConfiguration": { "logDriver": "awslogs", "options": { "awslogs-group" : "/ecs/fargate-task-definition", "awslogs-region": "us-east-1", "awslogs-stream-prefix": "ecs" } }

有关在任务定义中使用awslogs日志驱动程序将容器日志发送到 Logs 的更多信息,请参阅使用 awslogs 日志驱动程序。 CloudWatch

有关任务定义中的 awsfirelens 日志驱动程序的更多信息,请参阅使用自定义日志路由

有关在任务定义中使用 splunk 日志驱动程序的更多信息,请参阅splunk日志驱动程序

任务存储

对于 Fargate 上托管的 Amazon ECS 任务,支持以下存储类型:

  • Amazon EBS 卷为数据密集型容器化工作负载提供经济实惠、耐用、高性能的块存储。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EBS 卷

  • Amazon EFS 卷(用于持久性存储)。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EFS 卷

  • 绑定挂载以实现临时存储。有关更多信息,请参阅 绑定挂载

使用 Seekable OCI(SOCI)延迟加载容器映像

Fargate 上使用 Linux 平台版本 1.4.0 的 Amazon ECS 任务可以使用 Seekable OCI(SOCI)来帮助更快地启动任务。借助 SOCI,容器只需花几秒钟的时间进行映像拉取即可启动,从而在后台下载映像时为环境设置和应用程序实例化提供了时间。这称为延迟加载。当 Fargate 启动 Amazon ECS 任务时,Fargate 会自动检测任务中是否存在映像的 SOCI 索引,并在不等待下载整个映像的情况下启动容器。

对于在没有 SOCI 索引的情况下运行的容器,容器映像将在容器启动之前完全下载。此行为在 Fargate 的所有其他平台版本上以及 Amazon EC2 实例上经 Amazon ECS 优化的 AMI 上均相同。

Seekable OCI 索引

Seekable OCI (SOCI) 是一种开发的开源技术 AWS ,它可以通过延迟加载容器镜像来更快地启动容器。SOCI 的工作原理是为现有容器映像中的文件创建索引(SOCI 索引)。此索引有助于更快地启动容器,从而提供在下载整个映像之前从容器映像中提取单个文件的功能。SOCI 索引必须作为构件存储在与容器注册表中的映像相同的存储库中。您只能使用来自可信来源的 SOCI 索引,因为该索引是映像内容的权威来源。有关更多信息,请参阅介绍用于延迟加载容器映像的 Seekable OCI

注意事项

如果您希望 Fargate 使用 SOCI 索引在任务中延迟加载容器映像,请考虑以下几点:

  • 只有在 Linux 平台版本 1.4.0 上运行的任务才能使用 SOCI 索引。不支持在 Fargate 上运行 Windows 容器的任务。

  • 支持在 X86_64 或 ARM64 CPU 架构上运行的任务。使用 ARM64 架构的 Linux 任务不支持 Fargate Spot 容量提供程序。

  • 任务定义中的容器映像必须在与映像相同的容器注册表中具有 SOCI 索引。

  • 任务定义中的容器映像必须存储在兼容的映像注册表中。以下列出了兼容的注册表:

    • Amazon ECR 私有注册表。

  • 仅支持使用 gzip 压缩或未压缩的容器映像。不支持使用 zstd 压缩的容器映像。

  • 建议您尝试使用大于 250 MiB 压缩后的容器映像进行延迟加载。您不太可能看到加载较小映像的时间缩短。

  • 由于延迟加载可能会改变任务启动所需的时间,因此您可能需要对各种超时时间进行更改,例如 Elastic Load Balancing 的运行状况检查宽限期。

  • 如果要防止延迟加载容器映像,请从容器注册表中删除 SOCI 索引。如果任务中的容器映像不符合其中一个注意事项,则使用默认方法下载该容器映像。

创建 Seekable OCI 索引

要延迟加载容器映像,需要创建 SOCI 索引(元数据文件),并将其与容器镜像一起存储在容器镜像存储库中。要创建和推送 SOCI 索引,你可以使用开源的 soc i-snapshotter CLI 工具。 GitHub或者,您可以部署 CloudFormation AWS SOCI 索引生成器。这是一种无服务器解决方案,可在将容器映像推送到 Amazon ECR 时自动创建和推送 SOCI 索引。有关解决方案和安装步骤的更多信息,请参阅上 GitHub的 CloudFormation AWS SOCI 索引生成器。 CloudFormation AWS SOCI 索引生成器是一种自动入门 SOCI 的方法,而开源 soci 工具在索引生成方面具有更大的灵活性,并且能够将索引生成集成到持续集成和持续交付 (CI/CD) 管道中。

注意

要为映像创建 SOCI 索引,该映像必须存在于正在运行 soci-snapshotter 的计算机上的 containerd 映像存储中。如果映像在 Docker 映像存储中,则无法找到该映像。

验证任务是否使用延迟加载

要验证任务是否使用 SOCI 延迟加载,请从任务内部检查任务元数据端点。在您查询任务元数据端点版本 4 时,在您要查询的容器的默认路径中有一个 Snapshotter 字段。此外,/task 路径中每个容器都有 Snapshotter 字段。此字段的默认值为 overlayfs,如果使用 SOCI,则此字段设置为 soci。有关更多信息,请参阅《适用于 AWS Fargate的 Amazon Elastic Container Service 用户指南》中的任务元数据端点版本 4

Fargate considerations for Amazon ECS - Amazon Elastic Container Service

Fargate considerations for Amazon ECS

In order to use Fargate, you must configure your task definion to use the Fargate launch type. There are additional considerations when using Fargate.

Task definition parameters

Tasks that use the Fargate launch type don't support all of the Amazon ECS task definition parameters that are available. Some parameters aren't supported at all, and others behave differently for Fargate tasks.

The following task definition parameters are not valid in Fargate tasks:

  • disableNetworking

  • dnsSearchDomains

  • dnsServers

  • dockerSecurityOptions

  • extraHosts

  • gpu

  • ipcMode

  • links

  • placementConstraints

  • privileged

  • maxSwap

  • swappiness

The following task definition parameters are valid in Fargate tasks, but have limitations that should be noted:

  • linuxParameters – When specifying Linux-specific options that are applied to the container, for capabilities the only capability you can add is CAP_SYS_PTRACE. The devices, sharedMemorySize, and tmpfs parameters are not supported. For more information, see Linux parameters.

  • volumes – Fargate tasks only support bind mount host volumes, so the dockerVolumeConfiguration parameter is not supported. For more information, see Volumes.

  • cpu - For Windows containers on AWS Fargate, the value cannot be less than 1 vCPU.

To ensure that your task definition validates for use with Fargate, you can specify the following when you register the task definition:

  • In the AWS Management Console, for the Requires Compatibilities field, specify FARGATE.

  • In the AWS CLI, specify the --requires-compatibilities option.

  • In the Amazon ECS API, specify the requiresCompatibilities flag.

Operating Systems and architectures

When you configure a task and container definition for AWS Fargate, you must specify the Operating System that the container runs. The following Operating Systems are supported for AWS Fargate:

  • Amazon Linux 2

    Note

    Linux containers use only the kernel and kernel configuration from the host Operating System. For example, the kernel configuration includes the sysctl system controls. A Linux container image can be made from a base image that contains the files and programs from any Linux distribution. If the CPU architecture matches, you can run containers from any Linux container image on any Operating System.

  • Windows Server 2019 Full

  • Windows Server 2019 Core

  • Windows Server 2022 Full

  • Windows Server 2022 Core

When you run Windows containers on AWS Fargate, you must have the X86_64 CPU architecture.

When you run Linux containers on AWS Fargate, you can use the X86_64 CPU architecture, or the ARM64 architecture for your ARM-based applications. For more information, see Working with 64-bit ARM workloads on Amazon ECS.

Task CPU and memory

Amazon ECS task definitions for AWS Fargate require that you specify CPU and memory at the task level. Although you can also specify CPU and memory at the container level for Fargate tasks, this is optional. Most use cases are satisfied by only specifying these resources at the task level. The table below shows the valid combinations of task-level CPU and memory. You can specify memory values in the JSON file in MiB or GB. You can specify CPU values in the JSON file as an integer in CPU units or virtual CPUs (vCPUs).

CPU value

Memory value

Operating systems supported for AWS Fargate

256 (.25 vCPU)

512 MiB, 1 GB, 2 GB

Linux

512 (.5 vCPU)

1 GB, 2 GB, 3 GB, 4 GB

Linux

1024 (1 vCPU)

2 GB, 3 GB, 4 GB, 5 GB, 6 GB, 7 GB, 8 GB

Linux, Windows

2048 (2 vCPU)

Between 4 GB and 16 GB in 1 GB increments

Linux, Windows

4096 (4 vCPU)

Between 8 GB and 30 GB in 1 GB increments

Linux, Windows

8192 (8 vCPU)

Note

This option requires Linux platform 1.4.0 or later.

Between 16 GB and 60 GB in 4 GB increments

Linux

16384 (16vCPU)

Note

This option requires Linux platform 1.4.0 or later.

Between 32 GB and 120 GB in 8 GB increments

Linux

Task networking

Amazon ECS tasks for AWS Fargate require the awsvpc network mode, which provides each task with an elastic network interface. When you run a task or create a service with this network mode, you must specify one or more subnets to attach the network interface and one or more security groups to apply to the network interface.

If you are using public subnets, decide whether to provide a public IP address for the network interface. For a Fargate task in a public subnet to pull container images, a public IP address needs to be assigned to the task's elastic network interface, with a route to the internet or a NAT gateway that can route requests to the internet. For a Fargate task in a private subnet to pull container images, you need a NAT gateway in the subnet to route requests to the internet. When you host your container images in Amazon ECR, you can configure Amazon ECR to use an interface VPC endpoint. In this case, the task's private IPv4 address is used for the image pull. For more information about Amazon ECR interface endpoints, see Amazon ECR interface VPC endpoints (AWS PrivateLink) in the Amazon Elastic Container Registry User Guide.

The following is an example of the networkConfiguration section for a Fargate service:

"networkConfiguration": { "awsvpcConfiguration": { "assignPublicIp": "ENABLED", "securityGroups": [ "sg-12345678" ], "subnets": [ "subnet-12345678" ] } }

Task resource limits

Amazon ECS task definitions for Linux containers on AWS Fargate support the ulimits parameter to define the resource limits to set for a container.

Amazon ECS task definitions for Windows on AWS Fargate do not support the ulimits parameter to define the resource limits to set for a container.

Amazon ECS tasks hosted on Fargate use the default resource limit values set by the operating system with the exception of the nofile resource limit parameter. The nofile resource limit sets a restriction on the number of open files that a container can use. On Fargate, the default nofile soft limit is 1024 and hard limit is 65535. You can set the values of both limits up to 1048576.

The following is an example task definition snippet that shows how to define a custom nofile limit that has been doubled:

"ulimits": [ { "name": "nofile", "softLimit": 2048, "hardLimit": 8192 } ]

For more information on the other resource limits that can be adjusted, see Resource limits.

Logging

Event logging

Amazon ECS logs the actions that it takes to EventBridge. You can use Amazon ECS events for EventBridge to receive near real-time notifications regarding the current state of your Amazon ECS clusters, services, and tasks. Additionally, you can automate actions to respond to these events. For more information, see Automate responses to Amazon ECS errors using EventBridge.

Task lifecycle logging

Tasks that run on Fargate publish timestamps to track the task through the states of the task lifecycle. You can see the timestamps in the task details in the AWS Management Console and by describing the task in the AWS CLI and SDKs. For example, you can use the timestamps to evaluate how much time the task spent downloading the container images and decide if you should optimize the container image size, or use Seekable OCI indexes. For more information about container image practices, see Best practices for container images.

Application logging

Amazon ECS task definitions for AWS Fargate support the awslogs, splunk, and awsfirelens log drivers for the log configuration.

The awslogs log driver configures your Fargate tasks to send log information to Amazon CloudWatch Logs. The following shows a snippet of a task definition where the awslogs log driver is configured:

"logConfiguration": { "logDriver": "awslogs", "options": { "awslogs-group" : "/ecs/fargate-task-definition", "awslogs-region": "us-east-1", "awslogs-stream-prefix": "ecs" } }

For more information about using the awslogs log driver in a task definition to send your container logs to CloudWatch Logs, see Using the awslogs log driver.

For more information about the awsfirelens log driver in a task definition, see Using custom log routing.

For more information about using the splunk log driver in a task definition, see splunk log driver.

Task storage

For Amazon ECS tasks hosted on Fargate, the following storage types are supported:

Lazy loading container images using Seekable OCI (SOCI)

Amazon ECS tasks on Fargate that use Linux platform version 1.4.0 can use Seekable OCI (SOCI) to help start tasks faster. With SOCI, containers only spend a few seconds on the image pull before they can start, providing time for environment setup and application instantiation while the image is downloaded in the background. This is called lazy loading. When Fargate starts an Amazon ECS task, Fargate automatically detects if a SOCI index exists for an image in the task and starts the container without waiting for the entire image to be downloaded.

For containers that run without SOCI indexes, container images are downloaded completely before the container is started. This behavior is the same on all other platform versions of Fargate and on the Amazon ECS-optimized AMI on Amazon EC2 instances.

Seekable OCI indexes

Seekable OCI (SOCI) is an open source technology developed by AWS that can launch containers faster by lazily loading the container image. SOCI works by creating an index (SOCI Index) of the files within an existing container image. This index helps to launch containers faster, providing the capability to extract an individual file from a container image before downloading the entire image. The SOCI index must be stored as an artifact in the same repository as the image within the container registry. You should only use SOCI indices from trusted sources, as the index is the authoritative source for the contents of the image. For more information, see Introducing Seekable OCI for lazy loading container images.

Considerations

If you want Fargate to use a SOCI index to lazily load container images in a task, consider the following:

  • Only tasks that run on Linux platform version 1.4.0 can use SOCI indexes. Tasks that run Windows containers on Fargate aren't supported.

  • Tasks that run on X86_64 or ARM64 CPU architecture are supported. Linux tasks with the ARM64 architecture do not support the Fargate Spot capacity provider.

  • Container images in the task definition must have SOCI indexes in the same container registry as the image.

  • Container images in the task definition must be stored in a compatible image registry. The following lists the compatible registries:

    • Amazon ECR private registries.

  • Only container images that use gzip compression or are not compressed are supported. Container images that use zstd compression aren't supported.

  • We recommend that you try lazy loading with container images greater than 250 MiB compressed in size. You are less likely to see a reduction in the time to load smaller images.

  • Because lazy loading can change how long your tasks take to start, you might need to change various timeouts like the health check grace period for Elastic Load Balancing.

  • If you want to prevent a container image from being lazy loaded, delete the SOCI index from the container registry. If a container image in the task doesn't meet one of the considerations, that container image is downloaded by the default method.

Creating a Seekable OCI index

For a container image to be lazy loaded it needs a SOCI index (a metadata file) created and stored in the container image repository along side the container image. To create and push a SOCI index you can use the open source soci-snapshotter CLI tool on GitHub. Or, you can deploy the CloudFormation AWS SOCI Index Builder. This is a serverless solution that automatically creates and pushes a SOCI index when a container image is pushed to Amazon ECR. For more information about the solution and the installation steps, see CloudFormation AWS SOCI Index Builder on GitHub. The CloudFormation AWS SOCI Index Builder is a way to automate getting started with SOCI, while the open source soci tool has more flexibility around index generation and the ability to integrate index generation in your continuous integration and continuous delivery (CI/CD) pipelines.

Note

For the SOCI index to be created for an image, the image must exist in the containerd image store on the computer running soci-snapshotter. If the image is in the Docker image store, the image can't be found.

Verifying that a task used lazy loading

To verify that a task was lazily loaded using SOCI, check the task metadata endpoint from inside the task. When you query the task metadata endpoint version 4, there is a Snapshotter field in the default path for the container that you are querying from. Additionally, there are Snapshotter fields for each container in the /task path. The default value for this field is overlayfs, and this field is set to soci if SOCI is used. For more information, see Task metadata endpoint version 4 in the Amazon Elastic Container Service User Guide for AWS Fargate.