Amazon Aurora 的基于身份的策略示例 - Amazon Aurora

Amazon Aurora 的基于身份的策略示例

原定设置情况下,权限集和角色没有创建或修改 Aurora 资源的权限。它们还无法使用 AWS Management Console、AWS CLI 或 AWS API 执行任务。管理员必须创建 IAM policy,以便为权限集和角色授予权限以对所需的指定资源执行特定的 API 操作。然后,管理员必须将这些策略附加到需要这些权限的权限集或角色。

要了解如何使用这些示例 JSON 策略文档创建 IAM 基于身份的策略,请参阅《IAM 用户指南》中的在 JSON 选项卡上创建策略

策略最佳实践

基于身份的策略确定某个人是否可以创建、访问或删除您账户中的 Amazon RDS 资源。这些操作可能会使 AWS 账户产生成本。创建或编辑基于身份的策略时,请遵循以下指南和建议:

  • AWS 托管策略及转向最低权限许可入门 – 要开始向用户和工作负载授予权限,请使用 AWS 托管策略来为许多常见使用场景授予权限。您可以在 AWS 账户 中找到这些策略。我们建议通过定义特定于您的使用场景的 AWS 客户管理型策略来进一步减少权限。有关更多信息,请参阅《IAM 用户指南》中的 AWS 托管策略工作职能的 AWS 托管策略

  • 应用最低权限 – 在使用 IAM policy 设置权限时,请仅授予执行任务所需的权限。为此,您可以定义在特定条件下可以对特定资源执行的操作,也称为最低权限许可。有关使用 IAM 应用权限的更多信息,请参阅《IAM 用户指南》中的 IAM 中的策略和权限

  • 使用 IAM policy 中的条件进一步限制访问权限 – 您可以向策略添加条件来限制对操作和资源的访问。例如,您可以编写策略条件来指定必须使用 SSL 发送所有请求。如果通过特定(AWS 服务例如 AWS CloudFormation)使用服务操作,您还可以使用条件来授予对服务操作的访问权限。有关更多信息,请参阅《IAM 用户指南》中的 IAM JSON 策略元素:条件

  • 使用 IAM Access Analyzer 验证您的 IAM policy,以确保权限的安全性和功能性 – IAM Access Analyzer 会验证新策略和现有策略,以确保策略符合 IAM policy语言 (JSON) 和 IAM 最佳实践。IAM Access Analyzer 提供 100 多项策略检查和可操作的建议,以帮助您制定安全且功能性强的策略。有关更多信息,请参阅《IAM 用户指南》中的 IAM Acess Analyzer 策略验证

  • 需要多重身份验证(MFA) – 如果您所处的场景要求您的 AWS 账户 中有 IAM 用户或根用户,请启用 MFA 来提高安全性。若要在调用 API 操作时需要 MFA,请将 MFA 条件添加到您的策略中。有关更多信息,请参阅《IAM 用户指南》中的 配置受 MFA 保护的 API 访问

有关 IAM 中的最佳实操的更多信息,请参阅《IAM 用户指南》中的 IAM 中的安全最佳实操

使用 Aurora 控制台

要访问 Amazon Aurora 控制台,您必须拥有一组最低的权限。这些权限必须允许您列出和查看有关您的 AWS 账户中的 Amazon Aurora 资源的详细信息。如果创建比必需的最低权限更为严格的基于身份的策略,对于附加了该策略的实体(用户或角色),控制台将无法按预期正常运行。

对于只需要调用 AWS CLI 或 AWS API 的用户,无需为其提供最低控制台权限。相反,只允许访问与您尝试执行的 API 操作相匹配的操作。

要确保这些实体仍可使用 Aurora 控制台,也可向实体附加以下AWS托管策略。

AmazonRDSReadOnlyAccess

有关更多信息,请参阅《IAM 用户指南》中的为用户添加权限

允许用户查看他们自己的权限

该示例说明了您如何创建策略,以允许 IAM 用户查看附加到其用户身份的内联和托管策略。此策略包括在控制台上完成此操作或者以编程方式使用 AWS CLI 或 AWS API 所需的权限。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "ViewOwnUserInfo", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "iam:GetUserPolicy", "iam:ListGroupsForUser", "iam:ListAttachedUserPolicies", "iam:ListUserPolicies", "iam:GetUser" ], "Resource": ["arn:aws:iam::*:user/${aws:username}"] }, { "Sid": "NavigateInConsole", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "iam:GetGroupPolicy", "iam:GetPolicyVersion", "iam:GetPolicy", "iam:ListAttachedGroupPolicies", "iam:ListGroupPolicies", "iam:ListPolicyVersions", "iam:ListPolicies", "iam:ListUsers" ], "Resource": "*" } ] }

允许用户在 AWS 账户中创建数据库实例

以下是允许 ID 为 123456789012 的用户为您的 AWS 账户创建数据库实例的示例策略。该策略要求新数据库实例的名称以 test 开头。新数据库实例还必须使用 MySQL 数据库引擎和 db.t2.micro 数据库实例类。此外,新数据库实例必须使用以 default 开头的选项组和数据库参数组,并且它必须使用 default 子网组。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "AllowCreateDBInstanceOnly", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "rds:CreateDBInstance" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:rds:*:123456789012:db:test*", "arn:aws:rds:*:123456789012:og:default*", "arn:aws:rds:*:123456789012:pg:default*", "arn:aws:rds:*:123456789012:subgrp:default" ], "Condition": { "StringEquals": { "rds:DatabaseEngine": "mysql", "rds:DatabaseClass": "db.t2.micro" } } } ] }

此策略包含一个为 用户指定以下权限的语句:

  • 该策略允许用户使用 CreateDBInstance API 操作创建数据库实例(这还适用于 create-db-instance AWS CLI 命令和 AWS Management Console)。

  • Resource 元素指定用户可以执行操作的资源。使用 Amazon Resource Name (ARN) 指定资源。此 ARN 包括资源所属服务的名称(rds)、AWS 区域(在该示例中,* 指示任何区域)、AWS 账号(在该示例中,123456789012 为账号)以及资源的类型。有关创建 ARN 的更多信息,请参阅在 Amazon RDS 中使用 Amazon Resource Name (ARN)

    该示例中的 Resource 元素为用户指定有关资源的以下策略限制:

    • 新数据库实例的数据库实例标识符必须以 test 开头 (例如,testCustomerData1test-region2-data)。

    • 新数据库实例的选项组必须以 default 开头。

    • 新数据库实例的数据库参数组必须以 default 开头。

    • 新数据库实例的子网组必须是 default 子网组。

  • Condition 元素指定数据库引擎必须是 MySQL 并且数据库实例类必须是 db.t2.microCondition 元素指定策略生效的条件。您可以通过使用 Condition 元素添加其他权限或限制。有关指定条件的更多信息,请参阅Aurora 的策略条件键。此示例指定 rds:DatabaseEnginerds:DatabaseClass 条件。有关 rds:DatabaseEngine 的有效条件值的信息,请参阅 CreateDBInstance 中的 Engine 参数下的列表。有关 rds:DatabaseClass 的有效条件值的信息,请参阅 数据库实例类支持的数据库引擎

该策略不指定 Principal 元素,因为在基于身份的策略中,您未指定获取权限的委托人。附加了策略的用户是隐式委托人。向 IAM 角色附加权限策略后,该角色的信任策略中标识的委托人将获取权限。

有关 Aurora 操作的列表,请参阅服务授权参考中的 Amazon RDS 定义的操作

使用控制台所需的权限

对于要使用控制台的用户,该用户必须拥有一组最小权限。这些权限允许用户描述其AWS账户的 Amazon Aurora 资源并提供其他相关信息(包括 Amazon EC2 安全和网络信息)。

如果创建比必需的最低权限更为严格的 IAM 策略,对于附加了该 IAM 策略的用户,控制台无法按预期正常运行。要确保这些用户仍可使用控制台,也可向用户附加 AmazonRDSReadOnlyAccess 托管策略,如使用策略管理访问中所述。

对于只需要调用 AWS CLI 或 Amazon RDS API 的用户,无需为其提供最低限度的控制台权限。

以下策略授予对AWS根账户的所有 Amazon Aurora 资源的完全访问权:

AmazonRDSFullAccess

允许用户对任何 RDS 资源执行任何 Describe 操作

以下权限策略对用户授予权限以运行以 Describe 开头的所有操作。这些操作显示有关 RDS 资源 (如数据库实例) 的信息。Resource 元素中的通配符 (*) 表示可对账户拥有的所有 Amazon Aurora 资源执行操作。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "AllowRDSDescribe", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "rds:Describe*", "Resource": "*" } ] }

允许用户创建使用指定数据库参数组和子网组的数据库实例

以下权限策略授予权限以允许用户仅创建必须使用 mydbpg 数据库参数组和 mydbsubnetgroup 数据库子网组的数据库实例。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "VisualEditor0", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "rds:CreateDBInstance", "Resource": [ "arn:aws:rds:*:*:pg:mydbpg", "arn:aws:rds:*:*:subgrp:mydbsubnetgroup" ] } ] }

授予权限以允许对在特定标签中包含两个不同值的资源执行操作

您可以在基于身份的策略中使用条件,以便基于标签控制对 Aurora 资源的访问。以下策略所授予的权限允许对 stage 标签设置为 developmenttest 的实例执行 CreateDBSnapshot API 操作。

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Sid":"AllowAnySnapshotName", "Effect":"Allow", "Action":[ "rds:CreateDBSnapshot" ], "Resource":"arn:aws:rds:*:123456789012:snapshot:*" }, { "Sid":"AllowDevTestToCreateSnapshot", "Effect":"Allow", "Action":[ "rds:CreateDBSnapshot" ], "Resource":"arn:aws:rds:*:123456789012:db:*", "Condition":{ "StringEquals":{ "rds:db-tag/stage":[ "development", "test" ] } } } ] }

以下策略所授予的权限允许对 stage 标签设置为 developmenttest 的实例执行 ModifyDBInstance API 操作。

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Sid":"AllowChangingParameterOptionSecurityGroups", "Effect":"Allow", "Action":[ "rds:ModifyDBInstance" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:rds:*:123456789012:pg:*", "arn:aws:rds:*:123456789012:secgrp:*", "arn:aws:rds:*:123456789012:og:*" ] }, { "Sid":"AllowDevTestToModifyInstance", "Effect":"Allow", "Action":[ "rds:ModifyDBInstance" ], "Resource":"arn:aws:rds:*:123456789012:db:*", "Condition":{ "StringEquals":{ "rds:db-tag/stage":[ "development", "test" ] } } } ] }

防止用户删除数据库实例

以下权限策略授予权限以防止用户删除特定数据库实例。例如,您可能想禁止任何非管理员用户删除您的生产数据库实例。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "DenyDelete1", "Effect": "Deny", "Action": "rds:DeleteDBInstance", "Resource": "arn:aws:rds:us-west-2:123456789012:db:my-mysql-instance" } ] }

拒绝对资源的所有访问

您可以明确拒绝对资源的访问。拒绝策略优先于允许策略。以下策略明确拒绝用户管理资源的能力:

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Deny", "Action": "rds:*", "Resource": "arn:aws:rds:us-east-1:123456789012:db:mydb" } ] }

示例策略:使用条件键

以下示例说明了如何在 Amazon Aurora IAM 权限策略中使用条件键。

示例 1:授予权限以创建使用特定数据库引擎的非多可用区数据库实例

以下策略使用 RDS 条件键,并仅允许用户创建采用 MySQL 数据库引擎且不使用多可用区的数据库实例。Condition 元素指示数据库引擎须为 MySQL 的要求。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "AllowMySQLCreate", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "rds:CreateDBInstance", "Resource": "*", "Condition": { "StringEquals": { "rds:DatabaseEngine": "mysql" }, "Bool": { "rds:MultiAz": false } } } ] }

示例 2:明确拒绝权限,以禁止创建特定数据库实例类的数据库实例和使用预置 IOPS 的数据库实例

以下策略显式拒绝创建使用数据库实例类 r3.8xlargem4.10xlarge(最大、最贵的数据库实例类)的数据库实例的权限。此策略还禁止用户创建使用预置的 IOPS (这会带来额外成本) 的数据库实例。

显式拒绝权限会取代授予的任何其他权限。这可确保用户身份不会无意中获得您绝不希望授予的权限。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "DenyLargeCreate", "Effect": "Deny", "Action": "rds:CreateDBInstance", "Resource": "*", "Condition": { "StringEquals": { "rds:DatabaseClass": [ "db.r3.8xlarge", "db.m4.10xlarge" ] } } }, { "Sid": "DenyPIOPSCreate", "Effect": "Deny", "Action": "rds:CreateDBInstance", "Resource": "*", "Condition": { "NumericNotEquals": { "rds:Piops": "0" } } } ] }

示例 3:限制可用于对资源进行标记的一组标签键和值的值

下面的策略使用 RDS 条件键,并允许将键为 stage 的标签添加到值为 testqaproduction 的资源。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "rds:AddTagsToResource", "rds:RemoveTagsFromResource" ], "Resource": "*", "Condition": { "streq": { "rds:req-tag/stage": [ "test", "qa", "production" ] } } } ] }

指定条件:使用自定义标签

Amazon Aurora 支持在 IAM 策略中使用自定义标签指定条件。

例如,假定您将一个名为 environment 的标签添加到具有 betastagingproduction 等值的数据库实例。如果您这样做,则可创建一个策略来根据 environment 标签值以仅允许某些用户使用数据库实例。

注意

自定义标签标识符区分大小写。

下表列出了可以在 Condition 元素中使用的 RDS 标签标识符。

RDS 标签标识符 适用于
db-tag 数据库实例,包括只读副本
snapshot-tag 数据库快照
ri-tag 预留数据库实例
og-tag 数据库选项组
pg-tag 数据库参数组
subgrp-tag 数据库子网组
es-tag 事件订阅
cluster-tag 数据库集群
cluster-pg-tag 数据库集群参数组
cluster-snapshot-tag 数据库集群快照

自定义标签条件的语法如下:

"Condition":{"StringEquals":{"rds:rds-tag-identifier/tag-name": ["value"]} }

例如,以下 Condition 元素适用于具有名为 environment 的标签且标签值为 production 的数据库实例。

"Condition":{"StringEquals":{"rds:db-tag/environment": ["production"]} }

有关创建标签的信息,请参阅为 Amazon RDS 资源添加标签

重要

如果您使用标签管理对 RDS 资源的访问,建议您保护对 RDS 资源的标签的访问。您可通过为 AddTagsToResourceRemoveTagsFromResource 操作创建策略来管理对标签的访问。例如,以下策略不允许用户为所有资源添加或删除标签。之后,您可创建策略来允许特定用户添加或删除标签。

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Sid":"DenyTagUpdates", "Effect":"Deny", "Action":[ "rds:AddTagsToResource", "rds:RemoveTagsFromResource" ], "Resource":"*" } ] }

有关 Aurora 操作的列表,请参阅服务授权参考中的 Amazon RDS 定义的操作

示例策略:使用自定义标签

以下示例说明了如何在 Amazon Aurora IAM 权限策略中使用自定义标签。有关向 Amazon Aurora 资源添加标签的更多信息,请参阅在 Amazon RDS 中使用 Amazon Resource Name (ARN)

注意

所有示例都使用 us-west-2 区域和虚构的账户 ID。

示例 1:授予权限以允许对在特定标签中包含两个不同值的资源执行操作

以下策略所授予的权限允许对 stage 标签设置为 developmenttest 的实例执行 CreateDBSnapshot API 操作。

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Sid":"AllowAnySnapshotName", "Effect":"Allow", "Action":[ "rds:CreateDBSnapshot" ], "Resource":"arn:aws:rds:*:123456789012:snapshot:*" }, { "Sid":"AllowDevTestToCreateSnapshot", "Effect":"Allow", "Action":[ "rds:CreateDBSnapshot" ], "Resource":"arn:aws:rds:*:123456789012:db:*", "Condition":{ "StringEquals":{ "rds:db-tag/stage":[ "development", "test" ] } } } ] }

以下策略所授予的权限允许对 stage 标签设置为 developmenttest 的实例执行 ModifyDBInstance API 操作。

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Sid":"AllowChangingParameterOptionSecurityGroups", "Effect":"Allow", "Action":[ "rds:ModifyDBInstance" ], "Resource":" [ "arn:aws:rds:*:123456789012:pg:*", "arn:aws:rds:*:123456789012:secgrp:*", "arn:aws:rds:*:123456789012:og:*" ] }, { "Sid":"AllowDevTestToModifyInstance", "Effect":"Allow", "Action":[ "rds:ModifyDBInstance" ], "Resource":"arn:aws:rds:*:123456789012:db:*", "Condition":{ "StringEquals":{ "rds:db-tag/stage":[ "development", "test" ] } } } ] }

示例 2:明确拒绝权限,以禁止创建使用指定数据库参数组的数据库实例

以下策略通过显式拒绝权限,禁止创建在数据库参数组中包含特定标签值的数据库实例。如果您需要在创建数据库实例时始终使用特定客户创建的数据库参数组,则可以应用此策略。使用 Deny 的策略最常用于限制由更宽泛的策略所授予的访问权限。

显式拒绝权限会取代授予的任何其他权限。这可确保用户身份不会无意中获得您绝不希望授予的权限。

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Sid":"DenyProductionCreate", "Effect":"Deny", "Action":"rds:CreateDBInstance", "Resource":"arn:aws:rds:*:123456789012:pg:*", "Condition":{ "StringEquals":{ "rds:pg-tag/usage":"prod" } } } ] }

示例 3:授予权限以允许对实例名称以用户名为前缀的数据库实例执行操作

以下策略授予的权限允许对具有如下性质的数据库实例调用除 AddTagsToResourceRemoveTagsFromResource 以外的任何 API:该数据库实例的实例名称以用户名称作为前缀,并且具有值为 stagedevo 标签或没有名为 stage 的标签。

策略中的 Resource 行通过 Amazon Resource Name (ARN) 标识资源。有关对 Amazon Aurora 资源使用 ARN 的更多信息,请参阅在 Amazon RDS 中使用 Amazon Resource Name (ARN)

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Sid":"AllowFullDevAccessNoTags", "Effect":"Allow", "NotAction":[ "rds:AddTagsToResource", "rds:RemoveTagsFromResource" ], "Resource":"arn:aws:rds:*:123456789012:db:${aws:username}*", "Condition":{ "StringEqualsIfExists":{ "rds:db-tag/stage":"devo" } } } ] }

Amazon Aurora
User Guide for Aurora

Amazon Aurora Identity-Based Policy Examples

By default, IAM users and roles don't have permission to create or modify Aurora resources. They also can't perform tasks using the AWS Management Console, AWS CLI, or AWS API. An IAM administrator must create IAM policies that grant users and roles permission to perform specific API operations on the specified resources they need. The administrator must then attach those policies to the IAM users or groups that require those permissions.

To learn how to create an IAM identity-based policy using these example JSON policy documents, see Creating Policies on the JSON Tab in the IAM User Guide.

Policy Best Practices

Identity-based policies are very powerful. They determine whether someone can create, access, or delete Aurora resources in your account. These actions can incur costs for your AWS account. When you create or edit identity-based policies, follow these guidelines and recommendations:

  • Get Started Using AWS Managed Policies – To start using Aurora quickly, use AWS managed policies to give your employees the permissions they need. These policies are already available in your account and are maintained and updated by AWS. For more information, see Get Started Using Permissions With AWS Managed Policies in the IAM User Guide.

  • Grant Least Privilege – When you create custom policies, grant only the permissions required to perform a task. Start with a minimum set of permissions and grant additional permissions as necessary. Doing so is more secure than starting with permissions that are too lenient and then trying to tighten them later. For more information, see Grant Least Privilege in the IAM User Guide.

  • Enable MFA for Sensitive Operations – For extra security, require IAM users to use multi-factor authentication (MFA) to access sensitive resources or API operations. For more information, see Using Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA) in AWS in the IAM User Guide.

  • Use Policy Conditions for Extra Security – To the extent that it's practical, define the conditions under which your identity-based policies allow access to a resource. For example, you can write conditions to specify a range of allowable IP addresses that a request must come from. You can also write conditions to allow requests only within a specified date or time range, or to require the use of SSL or MFA. For more information, see IAM JSON Policy Elements: Condition in the IAM User Guide.

Using the Aurora Console

To access the Amazon Aurora console, you must have a minimum set of permissions. These permissions must enable you to list and view details about the Aurora resources in your AWS account. You can create an identity-based policy that is more restrictive than the minimum required permissions. However, if you do, the console doesn't function as intended for entities (IAM users or roles) with that policy.

To ensure that those entities can still use the Aurora console, also attach the following AWS managed policy to the entities. For more information, see Adding Permissions to a User in the IAM User Guide.

AmazonRDSReadOnlyAccess

You don't need to allow minimum console permissions for users that are making calls only to the AWS CLI or the AWS API. Instead, allow access to only the actions that match the API operation that you're trying to perform.

Allow Users to View Their Own Permissions

This example shows how you might create a policy that allows IAM users to view the inline and managed policies that are attached to their user identity. This policy includes permissions to complete this action on the console or programmatically using the AWS CLI or AWS API.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "ViewOwnUserInfo", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "iam:GetUserPolicy", "iam:ListGroupsForUser", "iam:ListAttachedUserPolicies", "iam:ListUserPolicies", "iam:GetUser" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:iam::*:user/${aws:username}" ] }, { "Sid": "NavigateInConsole", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "iam:GetGroupPolicy", "iam:GetPolicyVersion", "iam:GetPolicy", "iam:ListAttachedGroupPolicies", "iam:ListGroupPolicies", "iam:ListPolicyVersions", "iam:ListPolicies", "iam:ListUsers" ], "Resource": "*" } ] }

Allow a User to Create to DB Instances in an AWS account

The following is an example policy that allows the user with the ID 123456789012 to create DB instances for your AWS account. The policy requires that the name of the new DB instance begin with test. The new DB instance must also use the MySQL database engine and the db.t2.micro DB instance class. In addition, the new DB instance must use an option group and a DB parameter group that starts with default, and it must use the default subnet group.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "AllowCreateDBInstanceOnly", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "rds:CreateDBInstance" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:rds:*:123456789012:db:test*", "arn:aws:rds:*:123456789012:og:default*", "arn:aws:rds:*:123456789012:pg:default*", "arn:aws:rds:*:123456789012:subgrp:default" ], "Condition": { "StringEquals": { "rds:DatabaseEngine": "mysql", "rds:DatabaseClass": "db.t2.micro" } } } ] }

The policy includes a single statement that specifies the following permissions for the IAM user:

  • The policy allows the IAM user to create a DB instance using the CreateDBInstance API operation (this also applies to the create-db-instance AWS CLI command and the AWS Management Console).

  • The Resource element specifies that the user can perform actions on or with resources. You specify resources using an Amazon Resources Name (ARN). This ARN includes the name of the service that the resource belongs to (rds), the AWS Region (* indicates any region in this example), the user account number (123456789012 is the user ID in this example), and the type of resource. For more information about creating ARNs, see Working with Amazon Resource Names (ARNs) in Amazon RDS.

    The Resource element in the example specifies the following policy constraints on resources for the user:

    • The DB instance identifier for the new DB instance must begin with test (for example, testCustomerData1, test-region2-data).

    • The option group for the new DB instance must begin with default.

    • The DB parameter group for the new DB instance must begin with default.

    • The subnet group for the new DB instance must be the default subnet group.

  • The Condition element specifies that the DB engine must be MySQL and the DB instance class must be db.t2.micro. The Condition element specifies the conditions when a policy should take effect. You can add additional permissions or restrictions by using the Condition element. For more information about specifying conditions, see Condition Keys. This example specifies the rds:DatabaseEngine and rds:DatabaseClass conditions. For information about the valid condition values for rds:DatabaseEngine, see the list under the Engine parameter in CreateDBInstance. For information about the valid condition values for rds:DatabaseClass, see Hardware Specifications for All Available DB Instance Classes for Aurora.

The policy doesn't specify the Principal element because in an identity-based policy you don't specify the principal who gets the permission. When you attach policy to a user, the user is the implicit principal. When you attach a permission policy to an IAM role, the principal identified in the role's trust policy gets the permissions.

To see a list of Aurora actions, see Actions Defined by Amazon RDS in the IAM User Guide.

Permissions Required to Use the Console

For a user to work with the console, that user must have a minimum set of permissions. These permissions allow the user to describe the Amazon Aurora resources for their AWS account and to provide other related information, including Amazon EC2 security and network information.

If you create an IAM policy that is more restrictive than the minimum required permissions, the console doesn't function as intended for users with that IAM policy. To ensure that those users can still use the console, also attach the AmazonRDSReadOnlyAccess managed policy to the user, as described in Managing Access Using Policies.

You don't need to allow minimum console permissions for users that are making calls only to the AWS CLI or the Amazon RDS API.

The following policy grants full access to all Amazon Aurora resources for the root AWS account:

AmazonRDSFullAccess

Allow a User to Perform Any Describe Action on Any RDS Resource

The following permissions policy grants permissions to a user to run all of the actions that begin with Describe. These actions show information about an RDS resource, such as a DB instance. The wildcard character (*) in the Resource element indicates that the actions are allowed for all Amazon Aurora resources owned by the account.

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Sid":"AllowRDSDescribe", "Effect":"Allow", "Action":"rds:Describe*", "Resource":"*" } ] }

Allow a User to Create a DB Instance That Uses the Specified DB Parameter and Security Groups

The following permissions policy grants permissions to allow a user to only create a DB instance that must use the mysql-production DB parameter group and the db-production DB security group.

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Sid":"AllowMySQLProductionCreate", "Effect":"Allow", "Action":"rds:CreateDBInstance", "Resource":[ "arn:aws:rds:us-west-2:123456789012:pg:mysql-production", "arn:aws:rds:us-west-2:123456789012:secgrp:db-production" ] } ] }

Grant Permission for Actions on a Resource with a Specific Tag with Two Different Values

You can use conditions in your identity-based policy to control access to Aurora resources based on tags. The following policy allows permission to perform the ModifyDBInstance and CreateDBSnapshot APIs on DB instances with either the stage tag set to development or test.

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Sid":"AllowDevTestCreate", "Effect":"Allow", "Action":[ "rds:ModifyDBInstance", "rds:CreateDBSnapshot" ], "Resource":"*", "Condition":{ "StringEquals":{ "rds:db-tag/stage":[ "development", "test" ] } } } ] }

Prevent a User from Deleting a DB Instance

The following permissions policy grants permissions to prevent a user from deleting a specific DB instance. For example, you might want to deny the ability to delete your production DB instances to any user that is not an administrator.

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Sid":"DenyDelete1", "Effect":"Deny", "Action":"rds:DeleteDBInstance", "Resource":"arn:aws:rds:us-west-2:123456789012:db:my-mysql-instance" } ] }

Example Policies: Using Condition Keys

Following are examples of how you can use condition keys in Amazon Aurora IAM permissions policies.

Example 1: Grant Permission to Create a DB Instance that Uses a Specific DB Engine and Isn't MultiAZ

The following policy uses an RDS condition key and allows a user to create only DB instances that use the MySQL database engine and don't use MultiAZ. The Condition element indicates the requirement that the database engine is MySQL.

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Sid":"AllowMySQLCreate", "Effect":"Allow", "Action":"rds:CreateDBInstance", "Resource":"*", "Condition":{ "StringEquals":{ "rds:DatabaseEngine":"mysql" }, "Bool":{ "rds:MultiAz": false } } } ] }

Example 2: Explicitly Deny Permission to Create DB Instances for Certain DB Instance Classes and Create DB Instances that Use Provisioned IOPS

The following policy explicitly denies permission to create DB instances that use the DB instance classes r3.8xlarge and m4.10xlarge, which are the largest and most expensive DB instance classes. This policy also prevents users from creating DB instances that use Provisioned IOPS, which incurs an additional cost.

Explicitly denying permission supersedes any other permissions granted. This ensures that identities to not accidentally get permission that you never want to grant.

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Sid":"DenyLargeCreate", "Effect":"Deny", "Action":"rds:CreateDBInstance", "Resource":"*", "Condition":{ "StringEquals":{ "rds:DatabaseClass":[ "db.r3.8xlarge", "db.m4.10xlarge" ] } } }, { "Sid":"DenyPIOPSCreate", "Effect":"Deny", "Action":"rds:CreateDBInstance", "Resource":"*", "Condition":{ "NumericNotEquals":{ "rds:Piops":"0" } } } ] }

Example 3: Limit the Set of Tag Keys and Values That Can Be Used to Tag a Resource

The following policy uses an RDS condition key and allows the addition of a tag with the key stage to be added to a resource with the values test, qa, and production.

{ { "Version" : "2012-10-17", "Statement" : [{ "Effect" : "Allow", "Action" : [ "rds:AddTagsToResource", "rds:RemoveTagsFromResource" ], "Resource" : "*", "Condition" : { "streq" : { "rds:req-tag/stage" : [ "test", "qa", "production" ] } } } ] } }

Specifying Conditions: Using Custom Tags

Amazon Aurora supports specifying conditions in an IAM policy using custom tags.

For example, suppose that you add a tag named environment to your DB instances with values such as beta, staging, production, and so on. If you do, you can create a policy that restricts certain users to DB instances based on the environment tag value.

Note

Custom tag identifiers are case-sensitive.

The following table lists the RDS tag identifiers that you can use in a Condition element.

RDS Tag Identifier Applies To
db-tag DB instances, including Read Replicas
snapshot-tag DB snapshots
ri-tag Reserved DB instances
secgrp-tag DB security groups
og-tag DB option groups
pg-tag DB parameter groups
subgrp-tag DB subnet groups
es-tag Event subscriptions
cluster-tag DB clusters
cluster-pg-tag DB cluster parameter groups
cluster-snapshot-tag DB cluster snapshots

The syntax for a custom tag condition is as follows:

"Condition":{"StringEquals":{"rds:rds-tag-identifier/tag-name": ["value"]} }

For example, the following Condition element applies to DB instances with a tag named environment and a tag value of production.

"Condition":{"StringEquals":{"rds:db-tag/environment": ["production"]} }

For information about creating tags, see Tagging Amazon RDS Resources.

Important

If you manage access to your RDS resources using tagging, we recommend that you secure access to the tags for your RDS resources. You can manage access to tags by creating policies for the AddTagsToResource and RemoveTagsFromResource actions. For example, the following policy denies users the ability to add or remove tags for all resources. You can then create policies to allow specific users to add or remove tags.

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Sid":"DenyTagUpdates", "Effect":"Deny", "Action":[ "rds:AddTagsToResource", "rds:RemoveTagsFromResource" ], "Resource":"*" } ] }

To see a list of Aurora actions, see Actions Defined by Amazon RDS in the IAM User Guide.

Example Policies: Using Custom Tags

Following are examples of how you can use custom tags in Amazon Aurora IAM permissions policies. For more information about adding tags to an Amazon Aurora resource, see Working with Amazon Resource Names (ARNs) in Amazon RDS.

Note

All examples use the us-west-2 region and contain fictitious account IDs.

Example 1: Grant Permission for Actions on a Resource with a Specific Tag with Two Different Values

The following policy allows permission to perform the ModifyDBInstance and CreateDBSnapshot APIs on DB instances with either the stage tag set to development or test.

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Sid":"AllowDevTestCreate", "Effect":"Allow", "Action":[ "rds:ModifyDBInstance", "rds:CreateDBSnapshot" ], "Resource":"*", "Condition":{ "StringEquals":{ "rds:db-tag/stage":[ "development", "test" ] } } } ] }

Example 2: Explicitly Deny Permission to Create a DB Instance that Uses Specified DB Parameter Groups

The following policy explicitly denies permission to create a DB instance that uses DB parameter groups with specific tag values. You might apply this policy if you require that a specific customer-created DB parameter group always be used when creating DB instances. Policies that use Deny are most often used to restrict access that was granted by a broader policy.

Explicitly denying permission supersedes any other permissions granted. This ensures that identities to not accidentally get permission that you never want to grant.

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Sid":"DenyProductionCreate", "Effect":"Deny", "Action":"rds:CreateDBInstance", "Resource":"*", "Condition":{ "StringEquals":{ "rds:pg-tag/usage":"prod" } } } ] }

Example 3: Grant Permission for Actions on a DB Instance with an Instance Name that is Prefixed with a User Name

The following policy allows permission to call any API (except to AddTagsToResource or RemoveTagsFromResource) on a DB instance that has a DB instance name that is prefixed with the user's name and that has a tag called stage equal to devo or that has no tag called stage.

The Resource line in the policy identifies a resource by its Amazon Resource Name (ARN). For more information about using ARNs with Amazon Aurora resources, see Working with Amazon Resource Names (ARNs) in Amazon RDS.

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Sid":"AllowFullDevAccessNoTags", "Effect":"Allow", "NotAction":[ "rds:AddTagsToResource", "rds:RemoveTagsFromResource" ], "Resource":"arn:aws:rds:*:123456789012:db:${aws:username}*", "Condition":{ "StringEqualsIfExists":{ "rds:db-tag/stage":"devo" } } } ] }