使用 Node.js 建置 Lambda 函數 - AWS Lambda

使用 Node.js 建置 Lambda 函數

您可以在 AWS Lambda 中執行具有 Node.js 的 JavaScript 程式碼。Lambda 提供用於執行程式碼來處理事件的 Node.js 執行時間。您的程式碼將使用您所管理的 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 角色的登入資料,在含有 AWS SDK for JavaScript 的環境中執行。

Lambda 支援以下 Node.js 執行時間。

Node.js 執行時間
名稱 識別符 適用於 JavaScript 的開發套件 作業系統 架構

Node.js 16

nodejs16.x

2.1055.0

Amazon Linux 2

x86_64,arm64

Node.js 14

nodejs14.x

2.1055.0

Amazon Linux 2

x86_64,arm64

Node.js 12

nodejs12.x

2.1055.0

Amazon Linux 2

x86_64,arm64

Lambda 函數使用執行角色取得許可,可將記錄寫入 Amazon CloudWatch Logs,並存取其他服務和資源。如果您還沒有執行角色可用於進行函式開發,請建立該角色。

若要建立執行角色

  1. 在 IAM 主控台中開啟 Roles (角色) 頁面。

  2. 選擇 Create Role (建立角色)

  3. 建立具備下列屬性的角色。

    • Trusted entity (信任實體) - Lambda

    • Permissions (許可) - AWSLambdaBasicExecutionRole

    • Role name (角色名稱) - lambda-role

    AWSLambdaBasicExecutionRole 政策具備函數將日誌寫入到 CloudWatch Logs 所需的許可。

您可以稍後再為該角色新增許可,或將其與特定於單一函式的另一角色互換。

若要建立 Node.js 函數

  1. 開啟 Lambda 主控台

  2. 選擇 Create function (建立函數)。

  3. 進行下列設定:

    • Name (名稱) – my-function

    • 執行時間Node.js 16.x.

    • Role (角色) – 選擇現有的角色

    • Existing role (現有角色) - lambda-role

  4. 選擇 Create function (建立函數)。

  5. 若要設定測試事件,請選擇 Test (測試)

  6. Event name (事件名稱) 輸入 test

  7. 選擇 Save changes (儲存變更)。

  8. 若要叫用函數,請選擇 Test (測試)。

主控台將建立一個 Lambda 函數,其具有名為 index.js 的單一來源檔案。您可以使用內建的程式碼編輯器編輯該檔案並加入更多檔案。選擇 Save (儲存) 以儲存變更。然後,若要執行程式碼,請選擇 Test (測試)。

注意

Lambda 主控台使用 AWS Cloud9 在瀏覽器中提供整合式開發環境。您也可以使用 AWS Cloud9 在您自己的環境中開發 Lambda 函數。如需詳細資訊,請參閱《AWS Cloud9 使用者指南》中的使用 Lambda 函數

index.js 檔案匯出名為 handler 的函數,它接受事件物件與內容物件。這就是在叫用函數時,Lambda 呼叫的處理常式函數。Node.js 函數執行時間會從 Lambda 中取得叫用事件並將它們傳遞至處理常式。在函式組態中,處理常式值為 index.handler

當您儲存函數程式碼時,Lambda 主控台會建立 .zip 封存檔部署套件。當您在主控台之外開發函數程式碼 (使用 SDE) 時,您需要建立部署套件將您的程式碼上傳到 Lambda 函數。

注意

若要開始在您的本機環境中開發應用程式,請部署本指南 GitHub 儲存庫中可用的其中一個範例應用程式。

以 Node.js 編寫的範例 Lambda 應用程式

  • blank-nodejs - 一個 Node.js 函數,它示範如何使用記錄、環境變數、AWS X-Ray 追蹤、層、單元測試以及 AWS 開發套件。

  • nodejs-apig - 具有公有 API 端點的函數,它會處理來自 API Gateway 的事件並傳回 HTTP 回應。

  • rds-mysql - 可將查詢轉送至 MySQL for RDS 資料庫的函數。此範例包括已在 AWS Secrets Manager 中設定密碼的私有 VPC 和資料庫執行個體。

  • efs-nodejs - 在 Amazon VPC 中使用 Amazon EFS 檔案系統的函數。此範例包含設為與 Lambda 搭配使用的 VPC、檔案系統、掛載目標以及存取點。

  • list-manager - 可處理來自 Amazon Kinesis 資料串流的事件並更新 Amazon DynamoDB 中的彙總清單的函數。函數會針對 RDS 資料庫的 MySQL 中的每個事件在私有 VPC 中存放一筆記錄。此範例包括具有 DynamoDB 適用之 VPC 端點的私有 VPC 和資料庫執行個體。

  • error-processor - 一種 Node.js 函數,可針對指定的請求百分比產生錯誤。記錄錯誤時,CloudWatch Logs 訂閱會叫用第二個函數。處理器函數使用 AWS 開發套件收集有關請求的詳細資訊,並將它們存放在 Amazon S3 儲存貯體中。

除了傳遞叫用事件外,函式執行時間還會傳遞內容物件至處理常式。內容物件包含了有關叫用、函式以及執行環境的額外資訊。更多詳細資訊將另由環境變數提供。

Lambda 函數隨附有 CloudWatch Logs 記錄群組。函數執行時間會將每次叫用的詳細資訊傳送至 CloudWatch Logs。它在叫用期間會轉送您的函數輸出的任何記錄。如果您的函數傳回錯誤,Lambda 會對該錯誤進行格式化之後傳回給叫用端。

Node.js 初始化

Node.js 有一個唯一的事件迴圈模型,導致其初始化行為與其他執行時間不同。具體而言,Node.js 使用支援異步操作的非阻塞 I/O 模型。此模型允許 Node.js 高效地執行大多數工作負載。例如,如果 Node.js 函數進行網路呼叫,則該請求可能被指定為異步操作並放入回呼佇列中。函數可能會繼續處理主呼叫堆疊中的其他操作,而不會透過等待網路呼叫返回而被阻止。返回網路呼叫後,會執行其回呼,然後從回呼佇列中刪除。

某些初始化任務可異步執行。不能保證這些異步任務在叫用之前完成執行。例如,發出網路呼叫以便從 AWS 參數存放區中擷取參數的程式碼在 Lambda 執行處理常式函數時可能不完整。因此,在叫用期間,變數可能為空。為避免這種情況,請確保變數和其他異步程式碼在繼續執行函數的其餘核心商業邏輯之前完全初始化。

將函數處理常式指定為 ES 模組

從 Node 14 開始,您可以透過將程式碼指定為 ES 模組並使用頂級等待來保證在處理常式叫用之前完成異步初始化程式碼。根據預設,套件被指定為 CommJS 模組,這意味著您必須首先將函數程式碼指定為 ES 模組,才能使用頂級等待。您可利用兩種方式進行:在函數的 package.json 檔案中將 type 指定為 module,或使用 .mjs 副檔名。

在第一種情況下,函數程式碼將所有 .js 檔案視為 ES 模組,而在第二種情況下,只有使用 .mjs 指定的檔案為 ES 模組。可以透過分別將它們命名為 .mjs 和 .cjs 來混合 ES 模組和 CommonJS 模組,因為 .mjs 檔案始終是 ES 模組,而 .cjs 檔案始終是 CommonJS 模組。

如需詳細資訊和範例,請參閱在 AWS Lambda 中使用 Node.js ES 模組和頂級等待

Building Lambda functions with Node.js - AWS Lambda

Building Lambda functions with Node.js

You can run JavaScript code with Node.js in AWS Lambda. Lambda provides runtimes for Node.js that run your code to process events. Your code runs in an environment that includes the AWS SDK for JavaScript, with credentials from an AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) role that you manage.

Lambda supports the following Node.js runtimes.

Node.js runtimes
Name Identifier SDK for JavaScript Operating system Architectures

Node.js 16

nodejs16.x

2.1055.0

Amazon Linux 2

x86_64, arm64

Node.js 14

nodejs14.x

2.1055.0

Amazon Linux 2

x86_64, arm64

Node.js 12

nodejs12.x

2.1055.0

Amazon Linux 2

x86_64, arm64

Lambda functions use an execution role to get permission to write logs to Amazon CloudWatch Logs, and to access other services and resources. If you don't already have an execution role for function development, create one.

To create an execution role

  1. Open the roles page in the IAM console.

  2. Choose Create role.

  3. Create a role with the following properties.

    • Trusted entityLambda.

    • PermissionsAWSLambdaBasicExecutionRole.

    • Role namelambda-role.

    The AWSLambdaBasicExecutionRole policy has the permissions that the function needs to write logs to CloudWatch Logs.

You can add permissions to the role later, or swap it out for a different role that's specific to a single function.

To create a Node.js function

  1. Open the Lambda console.

  2. Choose Create function.

  3. Configure the following settings:

    • Namemy-function.

    • RuntimeNode.js 16.x.

    • RoleChoose an existing role.

    • Existing rolelambda-role.

  4. Choose Create function.

  5. To configure a test event, choose Test.

  6. For Event name, enter test.

  7. Choose Save changes.

  8. To invoke the function, choose Test.

The console creates a Lambda function with a single source file named index.js. You can edit this file and add more files in the built-in code editor. To save your changes, choose Save. Then, to run your code, choose Test.

Note

The Lambda console uses AWS Cloud9 to provide an integrated development environment in the browser. You can also use AWS Cloud9 to develop Lambda functions in your own environment. For more information, see Working with Lambda Functions in the AWS Cloud9 user guide.

The index.js file exports a function named handler that takes an event object and a context object. This is the handler function that Lambda calls when the function is invoked. The Node.js function runtime gets invocation events from Lambda and passes them to the handler. In the function configuration, the handler value is index.handler.

When you save your function code, the Lambda console creates a .zip file archive deployment package. When you develop your function code outside of the console (using an SDE) you need to create a deployment package to upload your code to the Lambda function.

Note

To get started with application development in your local environment, deploy one of the sample applications available in this guide's GitHub repository.

Sample Lambda applications in Node.js

  • blank-nodejs – A Node.js function that shows the use of logging, environment variables, AWS X-Ray tracing, layers, unit tests and the AWS SDK.

  • nodejs-apig – A function with a public API endpoint that processes an event from API Gateway and returns an HTTP response.

  • rds-mysql – A function that relays queries to a MySQL for RDS Database. This sample includes a private VPC and database instance configured with a password in AWS Secrets Manager.

  • efs-nodejs – A function that uses an Amazon EFS file system in a Amazon VPC. This sample includes a VPC, file system, mount targets, and access point configured for use with Lambda.

  • list-manager – A function processes events from an Amazon Kinesis data stream and update aggregate lists in Amazon DynamoDB. The function stores a record of each event in a MySQL for RDS Database in a private VPC. This sample includes a private VPC with a VPC endpoint for DynamoDB and a database instance.

  • error-processor – A Node.js function generates errors for a specified percentage of requests. A CloudWatch Logs subscription invokes a second function when an error is recorded. The processor function uses the AWS SDK to gather details about the request and stores them in an Amazon S3 bucket.

The function runtime passes a context object to the handler, in addition to the invocation event. The context object contains additional information about the invocation, the function, and the execution environment. More information is available from environment variables.

Your Lambda function comes with a CloudWatch Logs log group. The function runtime sends details about each invocation to CloudWatch Logs. It relays any logs that your function outputs during invocation. If your function returns an error, Lambda formats the error and returns it to the invoker.

Node.js initialization

Node.js has a unique event loop model that causes its initialization behavior to be different from other runtimes. Specifically, Node.js uses a non-blocking I/O model that supports asynchronous operations. This model allows Node.js to perform efficiently for most workloads. For example, if a Node.js function makes a network call, that request may be designated as an asynchronous operation and placed into a callback queue. The function may continue to process other operations within the main call stack without getting blocked by waiting for the network call to return. Once the network call is returned, its callback is executed and then removed from the callback queue.

Some initialization tasks may run asynchronously. These asynchronous tasks are not guaranteed to complete execution prior to an invocation. For example, code that makes a network call to fetch a parameter from AWS Parameter Store may not be complete by the time Lambda executes the handler function. As a result, the variable may be null during an invocation. To avoid this, ensure that variables and other asynchronous code are fully initialized before continuing with the rest of the function’s core business logic.

Designating a function handler as an ES module

Starting with Node 14, you can guarantee completion of asynchronous initialization code prior to handler invocations by designating your code as an ES module, and using top-level await. Packages are designated as CommonJS modules by default, meaning you must first designate your function code as an ES module to use top-level await. You can do this in two ways: specifying the type as module in the function's package.json file, or by using the .mjs file name extension.

In the first scenario, your function code treats all .js files as ES modules, while in the second scenario, only the file you specify with .mjs is an ES module. You can mix ES modules and CommonJS modules by naming them .mjs and .cjs respectively, as .mjs files are always ES modules and .cjs files are always CommonJS modules.

For more information and an example, see Using Node.js ES Modules and Top-Level Await in AWS Lambda.