在 AWS Lambda 中检测 Node.js 代码 - AWS Lambda

在 AWS Lambda 中检测 Node.js 代码

Lambda 与 AWS X-Ray 集成,以帮助您跟踪、调试和优化 Lambda 应用程序。您可以在某个请求遍历应用程序中的资源(其中可能包括 Lambda 函数和其他 AWS 服务)时,使用 X-Ray 跟踪该请求。

要将跟踪数据发送到 X-Ray,您可以使用以下两个软件开发工具包 (SDK) 库之一:

每个开发工具包均提供了将遥测数据发送到 X-Ray 服务的方法。然后,您可以使用 X-Ray 查看、筛选和获得对应用程序性能指标的洞察,从而发现问题和优化机会。

重要

X-Ray 和 Powertools for AWS Lambda SDK 是 AWS 提供的紧密集成的分析解决方案的一部分。ADOT Lambda Layers 是全行业通用的跟踪分析标准的一部分,该标准通常会收集更多数据,但可能不适用于所有使用案例。您可以使用任一解决方案在 X-Ray 中实现端到端跟踪。要了解有关如何在两者之间进行选择的更多信息,请参阅在 AWS Distro for Open Telemetry 和 X-Ray 开发工具包之间进行选择

使用 ADOT 分析您的 Node.js 函数

ADOT 提供完全托管式 Lambda ,这些层使用 OTel SDK,将收集遥测数据所需的一切内容打包起来。通过使用此层,您可以在不必修改任何函数代码的情况下,对您的 Lambda 函数进行分析。您还可以将您的层配置为对 OTel 进行自定义初始化。有关更多信息,请参阅 ADOT 文档中的适用于 Lambda 上的 ADOT 收集器的自定义配置

对于 Node.js 运行时,可以添加 适用于 ADOT Javascript 的 AWS 托管 Lambda 层以自动分析您的函数。有关如何添加此层的详细说明,请参阅 ADOT 文档中的 AWS Distro for OpenTelemetry Lambda 对 JavaScript 的支持

使用 X-Ray SDK 分析您的 Node.js 函数

要记录有关您的 Lambda 函数对应用程序中的其他资源进行调用的详细信息,您还可以使用 AWS X-Ray SDK for Node.js。要获取开发工具包,请将 aws-xray-sdk-core 包添加到应用程序的依赖项中。

blank-nodejs/package.json
{ "name": "blank-nodejs", "version": "1.0.0", "private": true, "devDependencies": { "jest": "29.7.0" }, "dependencies": { "@aws-sdk/client-lambda": "3.345.0", "aws-xray-sdk-core": "3.5.3" }, "scripts": { "test": "jest" } }

要在 AWS SDK for JavaScript v3 中检测 AWS SDK 客户端,请使用 captureAWSv3Client 方法封装客户端实例。

blank-nodejs/function/index.js – 跟踪AWS开发工具包客户端
const AWSXRay = require('aws-xray-sdk-core'); const { LambdaClient, GetAccountSettingsCommand } = require('@aws-sdk/client-lambda'); // Create client outside of handler to reuse const lambda = AWSXRay.captureAWSv3Client(new LambdaClient()); // Handler exports.handler = async function(event, context) { event.Records.forEach(record => { ...

Lambda 运行时设置一些环境变量来配置 X-Ray 开发工具包。例如,Lambda 将 AWS_XRAY_CONTEXT_MISSING 设置为 LOG_ERROR,以避免从 X-Ray 开发工具包引发运行时错误。要设置自定义上下文缺失策略,请覆盖函数配置中的环境变量以使其没有值,然后可以通过编程方式设置上下文缺失策略。

例 初始化代码示例
const AWSXRay = require('aws-xray-sdk-core'); // Configure the context missing strategy to do nothing AWSXRay.setContextMissingStrategy(() => {});

有关更多信息,请参阅 使用 Lambda 环境变量配置代码中的值

在添加正确的依赖项并进行必要的代码更改后,请通过 Lambda 控制台或 API 激活函数配置中的跟踪。

使用 Lambda 控制台激活跟踪

要使用控制台切换 Lambda 函数的活动跟踪,请按照以下步骤操作:

打开活跃跟踪
  1. 打开 Lamba 控制台的 Functions(函数)页面。

  2. 选择函数。

  3. 选择 Configuration(配置),然后选择 Monitoring and operations tools(监控和操作工具)。

  4. 选择编辑

  5. X-Ray 下方,开启 Active tracing(活动跟踪)。

  6. 选择保存

使用 Lambda API 激活跟踪

借助 AWS CLI 或 AWS SDK 在 Lambda 函数上配置跟踪,请使用以下 API 操作:

以下示例 AWS CLI 命令对名为 my-function 的函数启用活跃跟踪。

aws lambda update-function-configuration \ --function-name my-function \ --tracing-config Mode=Active

跟踪模式是发布函数版本时版本特定配置的一部分。您无法更改已发布版本上的跟踪模式。

使用 AWS CloudFormation 激活跟踪

要对 AWS CloudFormation 模板中的 AWS::Lambda::Function 资源激活跟踪,请使用 TracingConfig 属性。

function-inline.yml – 跟踪配置
Resources: function: Type: AWS::Lambda::Function Properties: TracingConfig: Mode: Active ...

对于 AWS Serverless Application Model (AWS SAM) AWS::Serverless::Function 资源,请使用 Tracing 属性。

template.yml – 跟踪配置
Resources: function: Type: AWS::Serverless::Function Properties: Tracing: Active ...

解释 X-Ray 跟踪

您的函数需要权限才能将跟踪数据上载到 X-Ray。在 Lambda 控制台中激活跟踪后,Lambda 会将所需权限添加到函数的执行角色。如果没有,请将 AWSXRayDaemonWriteAccess 策略添加到执行角色。

在配置活跃跟踪后,您可以通过应用程序观察特定请求。X-Ray 服务图将显示有关应用程序及其所有组件的信息。下图演示了一个具有两个函数的应用程序。主函数处理事件,有时会返回错误。位于顶部的第二个函数将处理第一个函数的日志组中显示的错误,并使用 AWS SDK 调用 X-Ray、Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 和 Amazon CloudWatch Logs。

一幅显示 X-Ray 中两个独立应用程序及其各自服务地图的图

X-Ray 无法跟踪对应用程序的所有请求。X-Ray 将应用采样算法确保跟踪有效,同时仍会提供所有请求的一个代表性样本。采样率是每秒 1 个请求和 5% 的其他请求。

注意

您无法为您的函数配置此 X-Ray 采样率。

在 X-Ray 中,跟踪记录有关由一个或多个服务处理的请求的信息。Lambda 会每个跟踪记录 2 个分段,这些分段将在服务图上创建两个节点。下图突出显示了这两个节点:

具有单个函数的 X-Ray 服务地图。

位于左侧的第一个节点表示接收调用请求的 Lambda 服务。第二个节点表示特定的 Lambda 函数。以下示例显示了一个包含这 2 个分段的跟踪。两者都命名为 my-function,但其中一个函数具有 AWS::Lambda 源,另一个则具有 AWS::Lambda::Function 源。如果 AWS::Lambda 分段显示错误,则表示 Lambda 服务存在问题。如果 AWS::Lambda::Function 分段显示错误,则说明函数存在问题。

一个 X-Ray 跟踪,它将显示特定 Lambda 调用的每个子分段的延迟。

此示例将展开 AWS::Lambda::Function 分段,以显示其三个子分段:

  • 初始化 – 表示加载函数和运行初始化代码所花费的时间。此子分段仅对由您的函数的每个实例处理的第一个事件显示。

  • 调用 – 表示执行处理程序代码花费的时间。

  • 开销 – 表示 Lambda 运行时为准备处理下一个事件而花费的时间。

您还可以分析 HTTP 客户端、记录 SQL 查询以及使用注释和元数据创建自定义子段。有关更多信息,请参阅 AWS X-Ray 开发人员指南中的 AWS X-Ray SDK for Node.js

定价

作为 AWS 免费套餐的组成部分,您可以每月免费使用 X-Ray 跟踪,但不能超过一定限制。超出该阈值后,X-Ray 会对跟踪存储和检索进行收费。有关更多信息,请参阅 AWS X-Ray 定价

在层中存储运行时依赖项 (X-Ray SDK)

如果您使用 X-Ray 开发工具包来分析AWS开发工具包客户端和您的函数代码,则您的部署程序包可能会变得相当大。为了避免每次更新函数代码时上载运行时依赖项,请将 X-Ray SDK 打包到 Lambda 层中。

以下示例显示存储 AWS X-Ray SDK for Node.js 的 AWS::Serverless::LayerVersion 资源。

template.yml – 依赖项层
Resources: function: Type: AWS::Serverless::Function Properties: CodeUri: function/. Tracing: Active Layers: - !Ref libs ... libs: Type: AWS::Serverless::LayerVersion Properties: LayerName: blank-nodejs-lib Description: Dependencies for the blank sample app. ContentUri: lib/. CompatibleRuntimes: - nodejs16.x

使用此配置,仅在更改运行时依赖项时您才会更新库层。由于函数部署软件包仅包含您的代码,因此可以帮助缩短上传时间。

为依赖项创建层需要更改构建才能在部署之前生成层存档。有关工作示例,请参阅 blank-nodejs 示例应用程序。

Instrumenting Node.js code in AWS Lambda - AWS Lambda

Instrumenting Node.js code in AWS Lambda

Lambda integrates with AWS X-Ray to help you trace, debug, and optimize Lambda applications. You can use X-Ray to trace a request as it traverses resources in your application, which may include Lambda functions and other AWS services.

To send tracing data to X-Ray, you can use one of two SDK libraries:

Both ADOT and the X-Ray SDK offer ways to send your telemetry data to the X-Ray service. You can then use X-Ray to view, filter, and gain insights into your application's performance metrics to identify issues and opportunities for optimization.

Important

ADOT is the preferred method for instrumenting your Lambda functions. We recommend using ADOT for all new applications. However, due to the flexibility OpenTelemetry offers, your Lambda function invocations may experience cold start latency increases. If you're optimizing for low-latency and also do not require OpenTelemetry's advanced capabilities such as telemetry correlation and dynamically configurable backend destinations, you may want to use the AWS X-Ray SDK over ADOT.

Using ADOT to instrument your Node.js functions

ADOT provides fully managed Lambda layers that package everything you need to collect telemetry data using the OTel SDK. By consuming this layer, you can instrument your Lambda functions without having to modify any function code. You can also configure your layer to do custom initialization of OTel. For more information, see Custom configuration for the ADOT Collector on Lambda in the ADOT documentation.

For Node.js runtimes, you can add the AWS managed Lambda layer for ADOT Javascript to automatically instrument your functions. For detailed instructions on how to add this layer, see AWS Distro for OpenTelemetry Lambda Support for JavaScript in the ADOT documentation.

Using the X-Ray SDK to instrument your Node.js functions

To record details about calls that your Lambda function makes to other resources in your application, you can also use the AWS X-Ray SDK for Node.js. To get the SDK, add the aws-xray-sdk-core package to your application's dependencies.

Example blank-nodejs/package.json

{ "name": "blank-nodejs", "version": "1.0.0", "private": true, "devDependencies": { "aws-sdk": "2.631.0", "jest": "25.4.0" }, "dependencies": { "aws-xray-sdk-core": "1.1.2" }, "scripts": { "test": "jest" } }

To instrument AWS SDK clients, wrap the aws-sdk library with the captureAWS method.

Example blank-nodejs/function/index.js – Tracing an AWS SDK client

const AWSXRay = require('aws-xray-sdk-core') const AWS = AWSXRay.captureAWS(require('aws-sdk')) // Create client outside of handler to reuse const lambda = new AWS.Lambda() // Handler exports.handler = async function(event, context) { event.Records.forEach(record => { ...

The Lambda runtime sets some environment variables to configure the X-Ray SDK. For example, Lambda sets AWS_XRAY_CONTEXT_MISSING to LOG_ERROR to avoid throwing runtime errors from the X-Ray SDK. To set a custom context missing strategy, override the environment variable in your function configuration to have no value, and then you can set the context missing strategy programmatically.

Example initialization code

const AWSXRay = require('aws-xray-sdk-core'); // Configure the context missing strategy to do nothing AWSXRay.setContextMissingStrategy(() => {});

For more information, see Using AWS Lambda environment variables.

After you add the correct dependencies and make the necessary code changes, activate tracing in your function's configuration via the Lambda console or the API.

Activating tracing with the Lambda console

To toggle active tracing on your Lambda function with the console, follow these steps:

To turn on active tracing

  1. Open the Functions page of the Lambda console.

  2. Choose a function.

  3. Choose Configuration and then choose Monitoring and operations tools.

  4. Choose Edit.

  5. Under X-Ray, toggle on Active tracing.

  6. Choose Save.

Activating tracing with the Lambda API

Configure tracing on your Lambda function with the AWS CLI or AWS SDK, use the following API operations:

The following example AWS CLI command enables active tracing on a function named my-function.

aws lambda update-function-configuration --function-name my-function \ --tracing-config Mode=Active

Tracing mode is part of the version-specific configuration when you publish a version of your function. You can't change the tracing mode on a published version.

Activating tracing with AWS CloudFormation

To activate tracing on an AWS::Lambda::Function resource in an AWS CloudFormation template, use the TracingConfig property.

Example function-inline.yml – Tracing configuration

Resources: function: Type: AWS::Lambda::Function Properties: TracingConfig: Mode: Active ...

For an AWS Serverless Application Model (AWS SAM) AWS::Serverless::Function resource, use the Tracing property.

Example template.yml – Tracing configuration

Resources: function: Type: AWS::Serverless::Function Properties: Tracing: Active ...

Interpreting an X-Ray trace

Your function needs permission to upload trace data to X-Ray. When you activate tracing in the Lambda console, Lambda adds the required permissions to your function's execution role. Otherwise, add the AWSXRayDaemonWriteAccess policy to the execution role.

After you've configured active tracing, you can observe specific requests through your application. The X-Ray service graph shows information about your application and all its components. The following example from the error processor sample application shows an application with two functions. The primary function processes events and sometimes returns errors. The second function at the top processes errors that appear in the first's log group and uses the AWS SDK to call X-Ray, Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), and Amazon CloudWatch Logs.


        A diagram that shows two separate applications and their respective service maps in X-Ray

X-Ray doesn't trace all requests to your application. X-Ray applies a sampling algorithm to ensure that tracing is efficient, while still providing a representative sample of all requests. The sampling rate is 1 request per second and 5 percent of additional requests.

Note

You cannot configure the X-Ray sampling rate for your functions.

When using active tracing, Lambda records 2 segments per trace, which creates two nodes on the service graph. The following image highlights these two nodes for the primary function from the error processor example above.


      An X-Ray service map with a single function.

The first node on the left represents the Lambda service, which receives the invocation request. The second node represents your specific Lambda function. The following example shows a trace with these two segments. Both are named my-function, but one has an origin of AWS::Lambda and the other has origin AWS::Lambda::Function.


        An X-Ray trace that shows latency across each subsegment of a specific Lambda invocation.

This example expands the function segment to show its three subsegments:

  • Initialization – Represents time spent loading your function and running initialization code. This subsegment only appears for the first event that each instance of your function processes.

  • Invocation – Represents the time spent running your handler code.

  • Overhead – Represents the time the Lambda runtime spends preparing to handle the next event.

You can also instrument HTTP clients, record SQL queries, and create custom subsegments with annotations and metadata. For more information, see the AWS X-Ray SDK for Node.js in the AWS X-Ray Developer Guide.

Pricing

You can use X-Ray tracing for free each month up to a certain limit as part of the AWS Free Tier. Beyond that threshold, X-Ray charges for trace storage and retrieval. For more information, see AWS X-Ray pricing.

Storing runtime dependencies in a layer (X-Ray SDK)

If you use the X-Ray SDK to instrument AWS SDK clients your function code, your deployment package can become quite large. To avoid uploading runtime dependencies every time you update your function code, package the X-Ray SDK in a Lambda layer.

The following example shows an AWS::Serverless::LayerVersion resource that stores the AWS X-Ray SDK for Node.js.

Example template.yml – Dependencies layer

Resources: function: Type: AWS::Serverless::Function Properties: CodeUri: function/. Tracing: Active Layers: - !Ref libs ... libs: Type: AWS::Serverless::LayerVersion Properties: LayerName: blank-nodejs-lib Description: Dependencies for the blank sample app. ContentUri: lib/. CompatibleRuntimes: - nodejs12.x

With this configuration, you update the library layer only if you change your runtime dependencies. Since the function deployment package contains only your code, this can help reduce upload times.

Creating a layer for dependencies requires build changes to generate the layer archive prior to deployment. For a working example, see the blank-nodejs sample application.