Lambda 执行环境 - AWS Lambda

Lambda 执行环境

Lambda 在执行环境中调用您的函数,该环境提供一个安全和隔离的运行时环境。执行环境管理运行函数所需的资源。执行环境为函数的运行时以及与函数关联的任何外部扩展提供生命周期支持。

函数的运行时使用运行时 API 与 Lambda 进行通信。扩展使用扩展 API 与 Lambda 进行通信。扩展还可借助遥测 API,从该函数接收日志消息与其他遥测数据。

执行环境的体系结构图。

创建 Lambda 函数时,您需要指定配置信息,例如可用内存量和函数允许的最长执行时间。Lambda 使用此信息设置执行环境。

函数的运行时和每个外部扩展都是在执行环境中运行的进程。权限、资源、凭证和环境变量在函数和扩展之间共享。

Lambda 执行环境生命周期

Init 阶段之后是一个或多个函数调用。当没有调用请求时,Lambda 会启动 Shutdown 阶段。

每个阶段都以 Lambda 发送到运行时和所有注册的扩展的事件开始。运行时和每个扩展通过发送 Next API 请求来指示完成。当运行时和每个扩展完成且没有挂起的事件时,Lambda 会冻结执行环境。

Init 阶段

Init 阶段,Lambda 执行三项任务:

  • 开启所有扩展 (Extension init)

  • 引导运行时 (Runtime init)

  • 运行函数的静态代码 (Function init)

  • 运行任何 beforeCheckpoint 运行时挂钩(仅限 Lambda SnapStart)

当运行时和所有扩展通过发送 Init API 请求表明它们已准备就绪时, Next 阶段结束。Init 阶段限制为 10 秒。如果所有三个任务都未在 10 秒内完成,Lambda 在第一个函数调用时使用配置的函数超时值重试 Init 阶段。

激活 Lambda SnapStart 后,在您发布一个函数版本时会发生 Init 阶段。Lambda 保存初始化的执行环境的内存和磁盘状态的快照,永久保存加密快照并对其进行缓存以实现低延迟访问。如果您具有 beforeCheckpoint 运行时挂钩,则该代码将在 Init 阶段结束时运行。

注意

10 秒超时不适用于使用预调配并发或 SnapStart 的函数。对于预调配并发和 SnapStart 函数,初始化代码最长可能会运行 15 分钟。时间限制为 130 秒或配置的函数超时(最大 900 秒),以较高者为准。

使用预置并发时,Lambda 会在您为函数配置 PC 设置时初始化执行环境。Lambda 还确保初始化的执行环境在调用之前始终可用。您会发现函数的调用和初始化阶段之间存在时间差。根据函数的运行时系统和内存配置,在初始化的执行环境中首次调用时可能会发生一些延迟变化。

对于使用按需并发的函数,Lambda 可能会在调用请求之前偶尔初始化执行环境。发生这种情况时,您可能会观察到函数的初始化和调用阶段之间存在时间差。我们建议您不要依赖此行为。

在 Init 阶段失败

如果函数在 Init 阶段崩溃或超时,Lambda 会在日志中发出错误信息。INIT_REPORT

例 — INIT_REPORT 超时日志
INIT_REPORT Init Duration: 1236.04 ms Phase: init Status: timeout
例 — INIT_REPORT 扩展失败日志
INIT_REPORT Init Duration: 1236.04 ms Phase: init Status: error Error Type: Extension.Crash

如果 Init 阶段成功,除非激活 SnapStart,否则 Lambda 不会发出 INIT_REPORT 日志。SnapStart 函数始终会发出 INIT_REPORT。有关更多信息,请参阅 监控 Lambda SnapStart

还原阶段(仅限 Lambda SnapStart)

当您首次调用 SnapStart 函数时,随着该函数的扩展,Lambda 会从永久保存的快照中恢复新的执行环境,而不是从头开始初始化函数。如果您有 afterRestore() 运行时挂钩,则代码将在 Restore 阶段结束时运行。afterRestore() 运行时挂钩执行期间将产生费用。必须加载运行时(JVM),并且 afterRestore() 运行时挂钩必须在超时限制(10 秒)内完成。否则,您将收到 SnapStartTimeoutException。Restore 阶段完成后,Lambda 将调用函数处理程序(调用阶段)。

在 Restore 阶段失败

如果 Restore 阶段失败,Lambda 会在 RESTORE_REPORT 日志中发出错误信息。

例 — RESTORE_REPORT 超时日志
RESTORE_REPORT Restore Duration: 1236.04 ms Status: timeout
例 — RESTORE_REPORT 运行时系统钩子失败日志
RESTORE_REPORT Restore Duration: 1236.04 ms Status: error Error Type: Runtime.ExitError

有关 RESTORE_REPORT 日志的更多信息,请参阅 监控 Lambda SnapStart

调用阶段

当调用 Lambda 函数以响应 Next API 请求时,Lambda 向运行时和每个扩展发送一个 Invoke 事件。

函数的超时设置限制了整个 Invoke 阶段的持续时间。例如,如果将函数超时设置为 360 秒,则该函数和所有扩展都需要在 360 秒内完成。请注意,没有独立的调用后阶段。持续时间是所有调用时间(运行时 + 扩展)的总和,直到函数和所有扩展完成执行之后才计算。

调用阶段在运行时之后结束,所有扩展都通过发送 Next API 表示它们已完成。

在调用阶段失败

如果 Lambda 函数在 Invoke 阶段崩溃或超时,Lambda 会重置执行环境。下图演示了调用失败时的 Lambda 执行环境行为:

在上图中:

  • 第一个阶段是 INIT 阶段,运行没有错误。

  • 第二个阶段是 INVOKE 阶段,运行没有错误。

  • 假设您的函数在某个时点遇到调用失败的问题(例如函数超时或运行时错误)。标签为 INVOKE WITH ERROR 的第三个阶段演示了这种情况。出现这种情况时,Lambda 服务会执行重置。重置的行为类似于 Shutdown 事件。首先,Lambda 会关闭运行时,然后向每个注册的外部扩展发送一个 Shutdown 事件。该事件包括关闭的原因。如果此环境用于新调用,则 Lambda 会将扩展和运行时与下一次调用一起重新初始化。

    注意

    Lambda 重置未在下一个初始化阶段之前清除 /tmp 目录内容。这种行为与常规关闭阶段一致。

  • 第四个阶段是调用失败后立即进入的 INVOKE 阶段。在这里,Lambda 通过重新运行 INIT 阶段重新初始化环境。此情况称为隐藏初始化。出现隐藏初始化时,Lambda 不会在 CloudWatch Logs 中显式报告额外的 INIT 阶段。相反,您可能会注意到 REPORT 行中的持续时间包括一个额外的 INIT 持续时间 + INVOKE 持续时间。例如,假设您在 CloudWatch 中看到以下日志:

    2022-12-20T01:00:00.000-08:00 START RequestId: XXX Version: $LATEST 2022-12-20T01:00:02.500-08:00 END RequestId: XXX 2022-12-20T01:00:02.500-08:00 REPORT RequestId: XXX Duration: 3022.91 ms Billed Duration: 3000 ms Memory Size: 512 MB Max Memory Used: 157 MB

    在此例中,REPORT 和 START 时间戳的间隔为 2.5 秒。这与报告的持续时间(3022.91 毫秒)不一致,因为它没有考虑 Lambda 执行的额外 INIT(隐藏初始化)。在此例中,您可以推断出实际的 INVOKE 阶段用时 2.5 秒。

    要更深入地了解这种行为,您可以使用 Lambda 遥测 API。每当在调用阶段之间出现隐藏初始化时,Telemetry API 都会发出 INIT_STARTINIT_RUNTIME_DONEINIT_REPORT 事件以及 phase=invoke

  • 第五个阶段是 SHUTDOWN 阶段,该阶段运行没有错误。

关闭阶段

若 Lambda 即将关闭运行时,它会向每个已注册的外部扩展发送一个 Shutdown 事件。扩展可以使用此时间执行最终清理任务。Shutdown 事件是对 Next API 请求的响应。

持续时间:整个 Shutdown 阶段的上限为 2 秒。如果运行时或任何扩展没有响应,则 Lambda 会通过一个信号 (SIGKILL) 终止它。

在函数和所有扩展完成后,Lambda 维护执行环境一段时间,以预期另一个函数调用。但是,Lambda 每隔几个小时就会终止执行环境,以便进行运行时更新和维护,即使是连续调用的函数亦不例外。您不应假设执行环境将无限期持续。有关更多信息,请参阅 在函数中实现无状态性

当再次调用该函数时,Lambda 会解冻环境以便重复使用。重复使用执行环境会产生以下影响:

  • 在该函数的处理程序方法的外部声明的对象保持已初始化的状态,再次调用函数时提供额外的优化功能。例如,如果您的 Lambda 函数建立数据库连接,而不是重新建立连接,则在后续调用中使用原始连接。建议您在代码中添加逻辑,以便在创建新连接之前检查是否存在连接。

  • 每个执行环境都在 /tmp 目录中提供 512MB 到 10240MB 之间的磁盘空间(以 1MB 递增)。冻结执行环境时,目录内容会保留,同时提供可用于多次调用的暂时性缓存。您可以添加额外的代码来检查缓存中是否有您存储的数据。有关部署大小限制的更多信息,请参阅Lambda 配额

  • 如果 Lambda 重复使用执行环境,则由 Lambda 函数启动但在函数结束时未完成的后台进程或回调将继续执行。确保代码中的任何后台进程或回调在代码退出前已完成。

在函数中实现无状态性

在编写 Lambda 函数代码时,应视执行环境无状态,即假定执行环境仅在单次调用中存在。Lambda 每隔几个小时就会终止执行环境,以便进行运行时更新和维护,即使是连续调用的函数亦不例外。请在函数启动时初始化任何要求的状态(例如,从 Amazon DynamoDB 表中获取购物车)。在退出之前,请将永久数据更改提交给持久存储,如 Amazon Simple Storage Service(Amazon S3)、DynamoDB 或 Amazon Simple Queue Service(Amazon SQS)。避免依赖跨多个调用的现有数据结构、临时文件或状态,例如计数器或聚合。这样可以确保函数能够独立处理每次调用。

Lambda execution environment - AWS Lambda

Lambda execution environment

Lambda invokes your function in an execution environment, which provides a secure and isolated runtime environment. The execution environment manages the resources required to run your function. The execution environment also provides lifecycle support for the function's runtime and any external extensions associated with your function.

The function's runtime communicates with Lambda using the Runtime API. Extensions communicate with Lambda using the Extensions API. Extensions can also receive log messages and other telemetry from the function by using the Telemetry API.


            Architecture diagram of the execution environment.

When you create your Lambda function, you specify configuration information, such as the amount of memory available and the maximum execution time allowed for your function. Lambda uses this information to set up the execution environment.

The function's runtime and each external extension are processes that run within the execution environment. Permissions, resources, credentials, and environment variables are shared between the function and the extensions.

Lambda execution environment lifecycle


            The Init  phase is followed by one or more function invocations. When there are no
              invocation requests, Lambda  initiates the Shutdown phase.

Each phase starts with an event that Lambda sends to the runtime and to all registered extensions. The runtime and each extension indicate completion by sending a Next API request. Lambda freezes the execution environment when the runtime and each extension have completed and there are no pending events.

Init phase

In the Init phase, Lambda performs three tasks:

  • Start all extensions (Extension init)

  • Bootstrap the runtime (Runtime init)

  • Run the function's static code (Function init)

  • Run any beforeCheckpoint runtime hooks (Lambda SnapStart only)

The Init phase ends when the runtime and all extensions signal that they are ready by sending a Next API request. The Init phase is limited to 10 seconds. If all three tasks do not complete within 10 seconds, Lambda retries the Init phase at the time of the first function invocation with the configured function timeout.

When Lambda SnapStart is activated, the Init phase happens when you publish a function version. Lambda saves a snapshot of the memory and disk state of the initialized execution environment, persists the encrypted snapshot, and caches it for low-latency access. If you have a beforeCheckpoint runtime hook, then the code runs at the end of Init phase.

Note

The 10-second timeout doesn't apply to SnapStart functions. When Lambda creates a snapshot, your initialization code can run for up to 15 minutes. The time limit is 130 seconds or the configured function timeout (maximum 900 seconds), whichever is higher.

When you use provisioned concurrency, Lambda initializes the execution environment when you configure the PC settings for a function. Lambda also ensures that initialized execution environments are always available in advance of invocations. You may see gaps between your function's invocation and initialization phases. Depending on your function's runtime and memory configuration, you may also see variable latency on the first invocation on an initialized execution environment.

For functions using on-demand concurrency, Lambda may occasionally initialize execution environments ahead of invocation requests. When this happens, you may also observe a time gap between your function's initialization and invocation phases. We recommend you to not take a dependency on this behavior.

Restore phase (Lambda SnapStart only)

When you first invoke a SnapStart function and as the function scales up, Lambda resumes new execution environments from the persisted snapshot instead of initializing the function from scratch. If you have an afterRestore() runtime hook, the code runs at the end of the Restore phase. You are charged for the duration of afterRestore() runtime hooks. The runtime (JVM) must load and afterRestore() runtime hooks must complete within the timeout limit (10 seconds). Otherwise, you'll get a SnapStartTimeoutException. When the Restore phase completes, Lambda invokes the function handler (the Invoke phase).

Invoke phase

When a Lambda function is invoked in response to a Next API request, Lambda sends an Invoke event to the runtime and to each extension.

The function's timeout setting limits the duration of the entire Invoke phase. For example, if you set the function timeout as 360 seconds, the function and all extensions need to complete within 360 seconds. Note that there is no independent post-invoke phase. The duration is the sum of all invocation time (runtime + extensions) and is not calculated until the function and all extensions have finished executing.

The invoke phase ends after the runtime and all extensions signal that they are done by sending a Next API request.

Failures during the invoke phase

If the Lambda function crashes or times out during the Invoke phase, Lambda resets the execution environment. The following diagram illustrates Lambda execution environment behavior when there's an invoke failure:

In the previous diagram:

  • The first phase is the INIT phase, which runs without errors.

  • The second phase is the INVOKE phase, which runs without errors.

  • At some point, suppose your function runs into an invoke failure (such as a function timeout or runtime error). The third phase, labeled INVOKE WITH ERROR , illustrates this scenario. When this happens, the Lambda service performs a reset. The reset behaves like a Shutdown event. First, Lambda shuts down the runtime, then sends a Shutdown event to each registered external extension. The event includes the reason for the shutdown. If this environment is used for a new invocation, Lambda re-initializes the extension and runtime together with the next invocation.

    Note

    The Lambda reset does not clear the /tmp directory content prior to the next init phase. This behavior is consistent with the regular shutdown phase.

  • The fourth phase represents the INVOKE phase immediately following an invoke failure. Here, Lambda initializes the environment again by re-running the INIT phase. This is called a suppressed init. When suppressed inits occur, Lambda doesn't explicitly report an additional INIT phase in CloudWatch Logs. Instead, you may notice that the duration in the REPORT line includes an additional INIT duration + the INVOKE duration. For example, suppose you see the following logs in CloudWatch:

    2022-12-20T01:00:00.000-08:00 START RequestId: XXX Version: $LATEST 2022-12-20T01:00:02.500-08:00 END RequestId: XXX 2022-12-20T01:00:02.500-08:00 REPORT RequestId: XXX Duration: 3022.91 ms Billed Duration: 3000 ms Memory Size: 512 MB Max Memory Used: 157 MB

    In this example, the difference between the REPORT and START timestamps is 2.5 seconds. This doesn't match the reported duration of 3022.91 millseconds, because it doesn't take into account the extra INIT (suppressed init) that Lambda performed. In this example, you can infer that the actual INVOKE phase took 2.5 seconds.

    For more insight into this behavior, you can use the Lambda Telemetry API. The Telemetry API emits INIT_START, INIT_RUNTIME_DONE, and INIT_REPORT events with phase=invoke whenever suppressed inits occur in between invoke phases.

  • The fifth phase represents the SHUTDOWN phase, which runs without errors.

Shutdown phase

When Lambda is about to shut down the runtime, it sends a Shutdown event to each registered external extension. Extensions can use this time for final cleanup tasks. The Shutdown event is a response to a Next API request.

Duration: The entire Shutdown phase is capped at 2 seconds. If the runtime or any extension does not respond, Lambda terminates it via a signal (SIGKILL).

After the function and all extensions have completed, Lambda maintains the execution environment for some time in anticipation of another function invocation. In effect, Lambda freezes the execution environment. When the function is invoked again, Lambda thaws the environment for reuse. Reusing the execution environment has the following implications:

  • Objects declared outside of the function's handler method remain initialized, providing additional optimization when the function is invoked again. For example, if your Lambda function establishes a database connection, instead of reestablishing the connection, the original connection is used in subsequent invocations. We recommend adding logic in your code to check if a connection exists before creating a new one.

  • Each execution environment provides between 512 MB and 10,240 MB, in 1-MB increments, of disk space in the /tmp directory. The directory content remains when the execution environment is frozen, providing a transient cache that can be used for multiple invocations. You can add extra code to check if the cache has the data that you stored. For more information on deployment size limits, see Lambda quotas.

  • Background processes or callbacks that were initiated by your Lambda function and did not complete when the function ended resume if Lambda reuses the execution environment. Make sure that any background processes or callbacks in your code are complete before the code exits.

When you write your function code, do not assume that Lambda automatically reuses the execution environment for subsequent function invocations. Other factors may dictate a need for Lambda to create a new execution environment, which can lead to unexpected results, such as database connection failures.