管理 Lambda 佈建並行 - AWS Lambda

管理 Lambda 佈建並行

有兩種類型的並行控制可用:

  • 預留並行 - 預留並行可保證函數的並行執行個體的最大數量。當某個函數具有預留並行時,其他函數都無法使用該並行。設定函數的預留並行不收費。

  • 佈建並行 - 佈建並行會初始化請求的執行環境數目,以便立即回應函數的叫用。請注意,設定佈建並行會使您的 AWS 帳戶產生費用。

本主題詳細說明如何管理及設定佈建並行。如果您想要設定預留並行,請參閱管理 Lambda 預留並行

當 Lambda 配置函數的執行個體時,執行時間會載入函數的程式碼,並執行您在處理常式外部定義的初始化程式碼。如果您的程式碼和相依性較大型,或您在初始化期間建立 SDK 用戶端,則此程序可能需要花費一些時間。當您的函數已有一段時間未使用、需要擴充規模或更新函數時,Lambda 會建立新的執行環境。這會導致新執行個體提供的請求部分,比其他執行個體具有更高的延遲,否則稱為冷啟動。

您可以在增加呼叫前配置佈建並行,來確保所有請求均由具有低延遲的初始化執行個體所提供。使用佈建並行設定的 Lambda 函數會以一致的啟動延遲執行,因此使它們非常適合建置互動式行動或 Web 後端、延遲敏感的微服務,以及同步叫用的 API。

注意

佈建並行計入函數的預留並行和區域配額。如果在函數版本和別名上佈建的並行數量加到函數的預留並行,則所有呼叫都會在佈建的並行上執行。此組態也有對未發佈版本函數 ($LATEST) 進行調節的效果,以防止其執行。您無法配置多於函數預留並行的佈建並行。

Lambda 也與 Application Auto Scaling 整合,讓您可以依據排程或根據使用率來管理佈建並行。

設定佈建並行

若要管理版本或別名的佈建並行設定,請使用 Lambda 主控台。您可以在函數的某個版本或別名上設定佈建並行。

每個函數版本只能有一個佈建並行組態。這可以直接在版本本身,或指向版本的別名上。兩個別名無法配置相同版本的佈建並行。

如果您變更別名所指向的版本,Lambda 會從舊版本解除配置佈建並行,並將其配置給新版本。您可以將路由組態新增至具有佈建並行的別名。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 Lambda 函數別名。請注意,您無法在路由組態就位時,管理別名上的佈建並行設定。

注意

函數 ($LATEST) 的未發佈版本不支援佈建並行。在設定佈建並行之前,請確定您的用戶端應用程式未指向 $LATEST。

若要為別名或版本配置佈建並行

  1. 開啟 Lambda 主控台中的 Functions (函數) 頁面

  2. 選擇一個函數。

  3. 選擇 Configuration (組態),然後選擇 Concurrency (並行)

  4. Provisioned concurrency configurations (佈建並行組態) 下方,選擇 Add configuration (新增組態)

  5. 選擇別名或版本。

  6. 輸入要配置的佈建並行數量。

  7. 選擇 Save (儲存)。

您也可以使用 Lambda API 並搭配下列作業,以設定佈建的並行:

若要為函數配置佈建並行,請使用 put-provisioned-concurrency-config。下列命令會為名為 my-function 之函數的 BLUE 別名配置 100 個並行:

aws lambda put-provisioned-concurrency-config --function-name my-function \ --qualifier BLUE --provisioned-concurrent-executions 100

您應該會看到下列輸出:

{ "Requested ProvisionedConcurrentExecutions": 100, "Allocated ProvisionedConcurrentExecutions": 0, "Status": "IN_PROGRESS", "LastModified": "2019-11-21T19:32:12+0000" }

若要檢視您帳戶在區域中的並行配額,請使用 get-account-settings

aws lambda get-account-settings

您應該會看到下列輸出:

{ "AccountLimit": { "TotalCodeSize": 80530636800, "CodeSizeUnzipped": 262144000, "CodeSizeZipped": 52428800, "ConcurrentExecutions": 1000, "UnreservedConcurrentExecutions": 900 }, "AccountUsage": { "TotalCodeSize": 174913095, "FunctionCount": 52 } }

您可以從函數組態頁面管理所有別名和版本的佈建並行。佈建並行組態清單會顯示每個組態的配置進度。在每個版本和別名的組態頁面上,也提供佈建並行設定。

Lambda 會發出佈建並行的下列指標:

佈建並行指標

  • ProvisionedConcurrentExecutions – 在佈建並行上處理事件的函數執行個體數目。針對具有佈建並行之別名或版本的每次叫用,Lambda 都會發出目前的計數。

  • ProvisionedConcurrencyInvocations – 在佈建並行上執行函數程式碼的次數。

  • ProvisionedConcurrencySpilloverInvocations - 當所有佈建並行在使用中時,在標準並行上執行函數程式碼的次數。

  • ProvisionedConcurrencyUtilization - 對於版本或別名,則為 ProvisionedConcurrentExecutions 的值除以配置的佈建並行總量。例如,.5 表示 50% 已配置的佈建並行正在使用中。

如需詳細資訊,請參閱 使用 Lambda 函數指標

利用佈建並行最佳化延遲

佈建並行不會在設定後立即上線。Lambda 會在準備一兩分鐘後,開始配置佈建的並行。就像函數在負載下擴展的方式一樣,根據區域而定,一次最多可初始化 3000 個函數執行個體。初始高載之後,將以每分鐘 500 個穩定的速率配置執行個體,直到滿足請求為止。當您為相同區域中的多個函數或函數版本請求佈建並行時,擴展配額會套用至所有請求。


      透過佈建並行擴展。

圖例

  • 函數執行個體

  • 開啟請求

  • 佈建並行

  • 標準並行

若要最佳化延遲,您可以自訂使用佈建並行之函數的初始化行為。您可以針對佈建並行執行個體來執行初始化程式碼,而不會影響延遲,因為初始化程式碼會在配置時執行。然而,隨需執行個體的初始化程式碼會直接影響第一次叫用的延遲。針對隨需執行個體,您可以選擇延遲特定功能的初始化,直至函數需要該功能。

若要確定初始化的類型,請檢查 AWS_LAMBDA_INITIALIZATION_TYPE 的值。Lambda 會將此環境變數設定為 provisioned-concurrencyon-demand。AWS_LAMBDA_INITIALIZATION_TYPE 的值不可變,並且不會在執行環境的生命週期內變更。

如果您使用 .NET 3.1 執行時間,您可以設定 AWS_LAMBDA_DOTNET_PREJIT 環境變數,以改善使用佈建並行函數的延遲。.NET 運行時間會延遲編譯和初始化程式碼第一次呼叫的每個程式庫。因此,Lambda 函數的第一次叫用可能需要比後續叫用更長的時間。將 AWS_LAMBDA_DOTNET_PREJIT 設定為 ProvisionedConcurrency 時,LAMBDA 會針對一般系統相依性執行預先 JIT 編譯。Lambda 僅會針對佈建並行執行個體執行此初始化最佳化,這會使第一次叫用的效能更快。如果您將環境變數設定為 Always,則 Lambda 會針對每次初始化執行預先 JIT 編譯。如果您將環境變數設定為 Never,則會停用預先 JIT 編譯。AWS_LAMBDA_DOTNET_PREJIT 的預設值為 ProvisionedConcurrency

針對佈建並行執行個體,由於函數的執行中執行個體已回收,函數的初始化程式碼會在配置期間每隔幾小時執行一次。您可以在執行個體處理要求之後,在記錄和追蹤中查看初始化時間。但是,即使執行個體從未處理請求,初始化也會計費。佈建並行會持續執行,並與初始化和叫用成本分開計費。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 AWS Lambda 定價

如需使用佈建並行最佳化函數的詳細資訊,請參閱 Lambda 操作員指南。

使用 Application Auto Scaling 管理佈建並行

Application Auto Scaling 可讓您依據排程或根據使用率來管理佈建並行。如果想要您的函數維持指定的使用率百分比,請使用目標追蹤擴展政策,並使用排程擴展來增加佈建並行,以預期尖峰流量。

目標追蹤

使用目標追蹤,Application Auto Scaling 會建立和管理可觸發擴展政策的 CloudWatch 警示,並根據您定義的指標和目標值來計算擴展調整。這非常適合於沒有排程時間增加流量,但具有特定流量模式的應用程式。

若要視需求自動增加佈建並行,請使用 RegisterScalableTargetPutScalingPolicy Application Auto Scaling API 作業來註冊目標及建立擴展政策:

  1. 請將函數的別名註冊為擴展目標。以下範例會為函數 my-function 註冊別名 BLUE:

    aws application-autoscaling register-scalable-target --service-namespace lambda \ --resource-id function:my-function:BLUE --min-capacity 1 --max-capacity 100 \ --scalable-dimension lambda:function:ProvisionedConcurrency
  2. 將擴展政策套用至目標。以下範例會設定 Application Auto Scaling 來調整別名的佈建並行組態,將使用率維持在接近 70%。

    aws application-autoscaling put-scaling-policy --service-namespace lambda \ --scalable-dimension lambda:function:ProvisionedConcurrency --resource-id function:my-function:BLUE \ --policy-name my-policy --policy-type TargetTrackingScaling \ --target-tracking-scaling-policy-configuration '{ "TargetValue": 0.7, "PredefinedMetricSpecification": { "PredefinedMetricType": "LambdaProvisionedConcurrencyUtilization" }}'

    您應該會看到下列輸出:

    { "PolicyARN": "arn:aws:autoscaling:us-east-2:123456789012:scalingPolicy:12266dbb-1524-xmpl-a64e-9a0a34b996fa:resource/lambda/function:my-function:BLUE:policyName/my-policy", "Alarms": [ { "AlarmName": "TargetTracking-function:my-function:BLUE-AlarmHigh-aed0e274-xmpl-40fe-8cba-2e78f000c0a7", "AlarmARN": "arn:aws:cloudwatch:us-east-2:123456789012:alarm:TargetTracking-function:my-function:BLUE-AlarmHigh-aed0e274-xmpl-40fe-8cba-2e78f000c0a7" }, { "AlarmName": "TargetTracking-function:my-function:BLUE-AlarmLow-7e1a928e-xmpl-4d2b-8c01-782321bc6f66", "AlarmARN": "arn:aws:cloudwatch:us-east-2:123456789012:alarm:TargetTracking-function:my-function:BLUE-AlarmLow-7e1a928e-xmpl-4d2b-8c01-782321bc6f66" } ] }

Application Auto Scaling 會在 CloudWatch 中建立兩個警示。第一個警示會在佈建並行的使用率不斷超過 70% 時觸發。發生這種情況時,Application Auto Scaling 會配置更多佈建並行來減少使用率。第二個警示會在使用率不斷低於 63% (70% 目標的 90%) 時觸發。發生這種情況時,Application Auto Scaling 會減少別名的佈建並行。

在下列範例中,函數會根據使用率在佈建並行的最小和最大數量之間進行擴展。當開啟的請求數量增加時,Application Auto Scaling 會大幅增加佈建的並行,直到達到設定的最大值為止。在使用率開始下降之前,函數會繼續按標準並行進行擴展。當使用率持續較低時,Application Auto Scaling 會定期小幅減少佈建的並行。


      使用 Application Auto Scaling 目標追蹤,自動擴展佈建的並行。

圖例

  • 函數執行個體

  • 開啟請求

  • 佈建並行

  • 標準並行

依預設,這兩個警示都使用平均統計數字。具有快速高載流量模式的函數可能不會觸發您佈建的並行進行擴充。例如,如果您的 Lambda 函數快速執行 (20–100 毫秒),且您的流量模式進入快速高載,這可能會導致傳入要求在高載期間超過您配置的佈建並行,但如果高載未持續 3 分鐘,則自動擴展不會觸發。或者,如果 CloudWatch 沒有取得命中目標平均值的三個資料點,則自動擴展政策不會觸發。

如需目標追蹤擴展政策的詳細資訊,請參閱 Application Auto Scaling 的目標追蹤擴展政策

排程擴展

按照排程來擴展可讓您根據可預測的負載變化來設定自己的擴展排程。如需詳細資訊和範例,請參閱為週期性尖峰使用量排程 AWS Lambda 佈建並行功能

Managing Lambda provisioned concurrency - AWS Lambda

Managing Lambda provisioned concurrency

There are two types of concurrency controls available:

  • Reserved concurrency – Reserved concurrency guarantees the maximum number of concurrent instances for the function. When a function has reserved concurrency, no other function can use that concurrency. There is no charge for configuring reserved concurrency for a function.

  • Provisioned concurrency – Provisioned concurrency initializes a requested number of execution environments so that they are prepared to respond immediately to your function's invocations. Note that configuring provisioned concurrency incurs charges to your AWS account.

This topic details how to manage and configure provisioned concurrency. If you want to configure reserved concurrency, see Managing Lambda reserved concurrency.

When Lambda allocates an instance of your function, the runtime loads your function's code and runs initialization code that you define outside of the handler. If your code and dependencies are large, or you create SDK clients during initialization, this process can take some time. When your function has not been used for some time, needs to scale up, or when you update a function, Lambda creates new execution environments. This causes the portion of requests that are served by new instances to have higher latency than the rest, otherwise known as a cold start.

By allocating provisioned concurrency before an increase in invocations, you can ensure that all requests are served by initialized instances with low latency. Lambda functions configured with provisioned concurrency run with consistent start-up latency, making them ideal for building interactive mobile or web backends, latency sensitive microservices, and synchronously invoked APIs.

Note

Provisioned concurrency counts towards a function's reserved concurrency and Regional quotas. If the amount of provisioned concurrency on a function's versions and aliases adds up to the function's reserved concurrency, all invocations run on provisioned concurrency. This configuration also has the effect of throttling the unpublished version of the function ($LATEST), which prevents it from executing. You can't allocate more provisioned concurrency than reserved concurrency for a function.

Lambda also integrates with Application Auto Scaling, allowing you to manage provisioned concurrency on a schedule or based on utilization.

Configuring provisioned concurrency

To manage provisioned concurrency settings for a version or alias, use the Lambda console. You can configure provisioned concurrency on a version of a function, or on an alias.

Each version of a function can only have one provisioned concurrency configuration. This can be directly on the version itself, or on an alias that points to the version. Two aliases can't allocate provisioned concurrency for the same version.

If you change the version that an alias points to, Lambda deallocates the provisioned concurrency from the old version and allocates it to the new version. You can add a routing configuration to an alias that has provisioned concurrency. For more information, see Lambda function aliases. Note that you can't manage provisioned concurrency settings on the alias while the routing configuration is in place.

Note

Provisioned Concurrency is not supported on $LATEST. Ensure your client application is not pointing to $LATEST before configuring provisioned concurrency.

To allocate provisioned concurrency for an alias or version

  1. Open the Functions page on the Lambda console.

  2. Choose a function.

  3. Choose Configuration and then choose Concurrency.

  4. Under Provisioned concurrency configurations, choose Add configuration.

  5. Choose an alias or version.

  6. Enter the amount of provisioned concurrency to allocate.

  7. Choose Save.

You can also configure provisioned concurrency using the Lambda API with the following operations:

To allocate provisioned concurrency for a function, use put-provisioned-concurrency-config. The following command allocates a concurrency of 100 for the BLUE alias of a function named my-function:

aws lambda put-provisioned-concurrency-config --function-name my-function \ --qualifier BLUE --provisioned-concurrent-executions 100

You should see the following output:

{ "Requested ProvisionedConcurrentExecutions": 100, "Allocated ProvisionedConcurrentExecutions": 0, "Status": "IN_PROGRESS", "LastModified": "2019-11-21T19:32:12+0000" }

To view your account's concurrency quotas in a Region, use get-account-settings.

aws lambda get-account-settings

You should see the following output:

{ "AccountLimit": { "TotalCodeSize": 80530636800, "CodeSizeUnzipped": 262144000, "CodeSizeZipped": 52428800, "ConcurrentExecutions": 1000, "UnreservedConcurrentExecutions": 900 }, "AccountUsage": { "TotalCodeSize": 174913095, "FunctionCount": 52 } }

You can manage provisioned concurrency for all aliases and versions from the function configuration page. The list of provisioned concurrency configurations shows the allocation progress of each configuration. Provisioned concurrency settings are also available on the configuration page for each version and alias.

Lambda emits the following metrics for provisioned concurrency:

Provisioned concurrency metrics

  • ProvisionedConcurrentExecutions – The number of function instances that are processing events on provisioned concurrency. For each invocation of an alias or version with provisioned concurrency, Lambda emits the current count.

  • ProvisionedConcurrencyInvocations – The number of times your function code is executed on provisioned concurrency.

  • ProvisionedConcurrencySpilloverInvocations – The number of times your function code is executed on standard concurrency when all provisioned concurrency is in use.

  • ProvisionedConcurrencyUtilization – For a version or alias, the value of ProvisionedConcurrentExecutions divided by the total amount of provisioned concurrency allocated. For example, .5 indicates that 50 percent of allocated provisioned concurrency is in use.

For more details, see Working with AWS Lambda function metrics.

Optimizing latency with provisioned concurrency

Provisioned concurrency does not come online immediately after you configure it. Lambda starts allocating provisioned concurrency after a minute or two of preparation. Similar to how functions scale under load, up to 3000 instances of the function can be initialized at once, depending on the Region. After the initial burst, instances are allocated at a steady rate of 500 per minute until the request is fulfilled. When you request provisioned concurrency for multiple functions or versions of a function in the same Region, scaling quotas apply across all requests.


      Scaling with provisioned concurrency.

Legend

  • Function instances

  • Open requests

  • Provisioned concurrency

  • Standard concurrency

To optimize latency, you can customize the initialization behavior for functions that use provisioned concurrency . You can run initialization code for provisioned concurrency instances without impacting latency, because the initialization code runs at allocation time. However, the initialization code for an on-demand instance directly impacts the latency of the first invocation. For an on-demand instance, you may choose to defer initialization for a specific capability until the function needs that capability.

To determine the type of initialization, check the value of AWS_LAMBDA_INITIALIZATION_TYPE. Lambda sets this environment variable to provisioned-concurrency or on-demand. The value of AWS_LAMBDA_INITIALIZATION_TYPE is immutable and does not change over the lifetime of the execution environment.

If you use the .NET 3.1 runtime, you can configure the AWS_LAMBDA_DOTNET_PREJIT environment variable to improve the latency for functions that use provisioned concurrency. The .NET runtime lazily compiles and initializes each library that your code calls for the first time. As a result, the first invocation of a Lambda function can take longer than subsequent invocations. When you set AWS_LAMBDA_DOTNET_PREJIT to ProvisionedConcurrency, Lambda performs ahead-of-time JIT compilation for common system dependencies. Lambda performs this initialization optimization for provisioned concurrency instances only, which results in faster performance for the first invocation. If you set the environment variable to Always, Lambda performs ahead-of-time JIT compilation for every initialization. If you set the environment variable to Never, ahead-of-time JIT compilation is disabled. The default value for AWS_LAMBDA_DOTNET_PREJIT is ProvisionedConcurrency.

For provisioned concurrency instances, your function's initialization code runs during allocation and every few hours, as running instances of your function are recycled. You can see the initialization time in logs and traces after an instance processes a request. However, initialization is billed even if the instance never processes a request. Provisioned concurrency runs continually and is billed separately from initialization and invocation costs. For details, see AWS Lambda pricing.

For more information on optimizing functions using provisioned concurrency, see the Lambda Operator Guide.

Managing provisioned concurrency with Application Auto Scaling

Application Auto Scaling allows you to manage provisioned concurrency on a schedule or based on utilization. Use a target tracking scaling policy if want your function to maintain a specified utilization percentage, and scheduled scaling to increase provisioned concurrency in anticipation of peak traffic.

Target tracking

With target tracking, Application Auto Scaling creates and manages the CloudWatch alarms that trigger a scaling policy and calculates the scaling adjustment based on a metric and target value that you define. This is ideal for applications that don’t have a scheduled time of increased traffic, but have certain traffic patterns.

To increase provisioned concurrency automatically as needed, use the RegisterScalableTarget and PutScalingPolicy Application Auto Scaling API operations to register a target and create a scaling policy:

  1. Register a function's alias as a scaling target. The following example registers the BLUE alias of a function named functionmy-:

    aws application-autoscaling register-scalable-target --service-namespace lambda \ --resource-id function:my-function:BLUE --min-capacity 1 --max-capacity 100 \ --scalable-dimension lambda:function:ProvisionedConcurrency
  2. Apply a scaling policy to the target. The following example configures Application Auto Scaling to adjust the provisioned concurrency configuration for an alias to keep utilization near 70 percent.

    aws application-autoscaling put-scaling-policy --service-namespace lambda \ --scalable-dimension lambda:function:ProvisionedConcurrency --resource-id function:my-function:BLUE \ --policy-name my-policy --policy-type TargetTrackingScaling \ --target-tracking-scaling-policy-configuration '{ "TargetValue": 0.7, "PredefinedMetricSpecification": { "PredefinedMetricType": "LambdaProvisionedConcurrencyUtilization" }}'

    You should see the following output:

    { "PolicyARN": "arn:aws:autoscaling:us-east-2:123456789012:scalingPolicy:12266dbb-1524-xmpl-a64e-9a0a34b996fa:resource/lambda/function:my-function:BLUE:policyName/my-policy", "Alarms": [ { "AlarmName": "TargetTracking-function:my-function:BLUE-AlarmHigh-aed0e274-xmpl-40fe-8cba-2e78f000c0a7", "AlarmARN": "arn:aws:cloudwatch:us-east-2:123456789012:alarm:TargetTracking-function:my-function:BLUE-AlarmHigh-aed0e274-xmpl-40fe-8cba-2e78f000c0a7" }, { "AlarmName": "TargetTracking-function:my-function:BLUE-AlarmLow-7e1a928e-xmpl-4d2b-8c01-782321bc6f66", "AlarmARN": "arn:aws:cloudwatch:us-east-2:123456789012:alarm:TargetTracking-function:my-function:BLUE-AlarmLow-7e1a928e-xmpl-4d2b-8c01-782321bc6f66" } ] }

Application Auto Scaling creates two alarms in CloudWatch. The first alarm triggers when the utilization of provisioned concurrency consistently exceeds 70 percent. When this happens, Application Auto Scaling allocates more provisioned concurrency to reduce utilization. The second alarm triggers when utilization is consistently less than 63 percent (90 percent of the 70 percent target). When this happens, Application Auto Scaling reduces the alias's provisioned concurrency.

In the following example, a function scales between a minimum and maximum amount of provisioned concurrency based on utilization. When the number of open requests increases, Application Auto Scaling increases provisioned concurrency in large steps until it reaches the configured maximum. The function continues to scale on standard concurrency until utilization starts to drop. When utilization is consistently low, Application Auto Scaling decreases provisioned concurrency in smaller periodic steps.


      Autoscaling provisioned concurrency with Application Auto Scaling target tracking.

Legend

  • Function instances

  • Open requests

  • Provisioned concurrency

  • Standard concurrency

Both of these alarms use the average statistic by default. Functions that have traffic patterns of quick bursts may not trigger your provisioned concurrency to scale up. For example, if your Lambda function executes quickly (20–100 ms) and your traffic pattern comes in quick bursts, this may cause incoming requests to exceed your allocated provisioned concurrency during the burst, but if the burst doesn’t last 3 minutes, auto scaling will not trigger. Additionally, if CloudWatch doesn’t get three data points that hit the target average, the auto scaling policy will not trigger.

If your scaling policy does not trigger and your provisioned concurrency does not scale, check that the alarms were triggered. If not, deploy your function with a custom CloudWatch alarm set to use the max statistic.

For more information on target tracking scaling policies, see Target tracking scaling policies for Application Auto Scaling.

Scheduled scaling

Scaling based on a schedule allows you to set your own scaling schedule according to predictable load changes. For more information and examples, see Scheduling AWS Lambda Provisioned Concurrency for recurring peak usage.