地理圍欄和跟踪器 - Amazon Location Service

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

地理圍欄和跟踪器

本節提供使用 Amazon 定 Location Service 圍欄和追蹤器的概念和概觀。地理圍欄是多邊形邊界,當設備或位置移入和移出區域時,您可以使用它們收到通知。追蹤器資源用於儲存和更新裝置移動時的位置。

注意

如需有關如何實務中使用地理圍欄和追蹤器的資訊,請參閱使用亞馬遜位置對感興趣的區域進行地理圍欄

地理圍欄

地理圍欄收集資源可讓您儲存和管理地理圍欄 — 地圖上的虛擬邊界。您可以根據地理圍欄收集資源評估位置,並在位置更新超過地理圍欄集合中任何地理圍欄的邊界時收到通知。

以下項目說明如何建立和使用地理圍欄收集資源:

  1. 在您的AWS帳戶中建立地理圍欄集合資源。

  2. 將地理圍欄添加到該集合。您可以使用 Amazon 位置主控台上的地理圍欄上傳工具,或使用 Amazon 位置地理圍欄 API 來執行此操作。如需有關可用選項的詳細資訊,請參閱存取 Amazon 位置

    地理圍欄可以通過多邊形或圓來定義。使用多邊形來查找設備何時進入特定區域。使用圓來尋找裝置在某個點的特定距離 (半徑) 內的時間。

  3. 您可以開始針對所有地理圍欄評估位置。當位置更新跨越一個或多個地理圍欄的邊界時,您的地理圍欄收集資源會在 Amazon 上發出以下地理圍欄事件類型之一 EventBridge:

    • ENTER — 輸入位置更新跨越其邊界的每個地理圍欄會產生一個事件。

    • EX IT — 會針對位置更新跨越其邊界的每個地理圍欄產生一個事件,並結束該事件。

    如需詳細資訊,請參閱 Amazon Location Service 事件 EventBridge。您還可以使用 Amazon CloudWatch 和AWS CloudTrail. 如需詳細資訊,請參閱 Monitoring Amazon Location Service with Amazon CloudWatch使用 記錄和監控AWS CloudTrail

例如,如果您正在跟踪卡車車隊,並且希望在卡車進入任何倉庫的特定區域時收到通知。您可以為每個倉庫周圍的區域建立地理圍欄。然後,當卡車向您發送更新的位置時,您可以使用 Amazon 定 Location Service 評估這些位置,並查看卡車是否已進入(或退出)其中一個地理圍欄區域。

注意

您的費用是依據您評估的地理圍欄集合數量計費。您的帳單不受每個集合中的地理圍欄數量的影響。由於每個地理圍欄集合可能包含多達 50,000 個地理圍欄,因此您可能希望將地理圍欄合併為更少的集合,以減少地理圍欄評估的成本。產生的事件將包含集合中個別地理圍欄的 ID,以及集合的 ID。

地理圍欄事件

您正在監視的位置會以稱為 a 的 ID 參照DeviceId (位置稱為裝置位置)。您可以將設備位置列表直接發送到地理圍欄收集資源進行評估,也可以使用跟踪器。如需追蹤器的詳細資訊,請參閱下一節。

只有當設備進入或退出地理圍欄時,您才會收到事件(通過 Amazon EventBridge),而不是每次更改位置。這表示您通常會收到事件,而且必須比每次裝置位置更新少得多回應事件。

注意

對於特定的第一個位置評估DeviceID,假定該設備以前不在任何地理圍欄中。因此,如果在集合中的地理圍欄中,第一次更新將生成一個ENTER事件,如果沒有,則不會產生事件。

為了計算裝置是否已進入或退出地理圍欄,Amazon 定 Location Service 必須保留該裝置的先前位置狀態。此職位狀態會儲存 30 天。在未更新裝置的 30 天後,新的位置更新會被視為第一次更新位置。

追蹤器

追蹤器會儲存裝置集合的位置更新。跟踪器可用於查詢設備的當前位置或位置歷史記錄。它存儲更新,但通過在存儲之前過濾位置來減少存儲空間和視覺噪聲。

儲存在追蹤器資源中的每個位置更新,都可以包含一個定位準確度的度量,以及最多 3 個與您要儲存的位置或裝置有關的中繼資料欄位。元數據存儲為鍵值對,並可以存儲諸如速度,方向,輪胎壓力或引擎溫度等信息。

注意

追蹤器儲存空間會自動使用AWS擁有的金鑰加密。您可以使用自己管理的 KMS 金鑰新增另一層加密,以確保只有您可以存取您的資料。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 Amazon Location ation ation ation ation ation Service 的靜態資料加密

跟踪器位置過濾和存儲自己很有用,但跟踪器在與地理圍欄配對時特別有用。您可以將跟踪器鏈接到一個或多個地理圍欄收集資源,並根據這些集合中的地理圍欄自動評估位置更新。正確使用過濾也可以大大降低地理圍欄評估的成本。

下圖顯示了如何創建和使用跟踪器資源:

  1. 首先,您在AWS帳戶中創建跟踪器資源。

  2. 接下來,決定如何將位置更新發送到跟踪器資源。AndroidiOS 開發套件可為您的行動應用程式提供整合式追蹤功能。或者,您可以按照本指南中使用 MQTT 進行追蹤的指 step-by-step 示來使用 MQTT

  3. 現在,您可以使用跟踪器資源記錄位置歷史記錄並在地圖上將其視覺化。

  4. 您還可以將跟踪器資源鏈接到一個或多個地理圍欄集合,以便發送到跟踪器資源的每個位置更新都會根據所有鏈接的地理圍欄集合中的所有地理圍欄自動評估。您可以在 Amazon 位置主控台的追蹤器資源詳細資訊頁面上連結資源,或使用 Amazon 位置追蹤器 API 來連結資源。

  5. 然後,您可以使用 Amazon CloudWatch 和AWS CloudTrail. 如需詳細資訊,請參閱 Monitoring Amazon Location Service with Amazon CloudWatch使用 記錄和監控AWS CloudTrail

使用帶有地理圍欄的跟踪器

跟踪器在與地理圍欄配對時提供額外的功能。您可以透過 Amazon 位置主控台或 API 將追蹤器與地理圍欄集合建立關聯,以自動評估追蹤器位置。每次跟踪器收到更新的位置時,該位置將根據集合中的每個地理圍欄進行評估,並在亞馬遜中生成適當的ENTEREXIT事件 EventBridge。您也可以將篩選套用至追蹤器,根據篩選條件,您可以僅評估有意義的位置更新,以降低地理圍欄評估的成本。

如果您在收到某些位置更新之後將追蹤器與地理圍欄集合產生關聯,則在關聯之後的第一個位置更新會被視為地理圍欄評估的初始更新。如果它在地理圍欄內,您將收到一個ENTER事件。如果它不在任何地理圍欄內,則無論以前的狀態如何,都不會收到EXIT事件。

位置篩選

追蹤器可以自動篩選傳送給他們的倉位。您可能會想要過濾掉部分裝置位置更新的原因。如果您的系統每分鐘左右都會傳送報告,您可能想要依時間篩選裝置,以便每 30 秒儲存和評估位置。即使您更頻繁地監視,也可能需要過濾位置更新以清除 GPS 硬件的噪音。GPS 位置的位置本質上是嘈雜的。它們的準確性並非 100% 完美,因此即使是靜止的設備似乎也略微移動。在低速時,這種動會導致視覺混亂,如果設備靠近地理圍欄的邊緣,則可能會導致錯誤的進入和退出事件。

位置篩選可在追蹤器接收位置更新時運作,減少裝置路徑中的視覺雜訊 (抖動)、減少錯誤的地理圍欄進入和退出事件的數量,並透過減少儲存的位置更新和觸發地理圍欄評估的次數來協助管理成本。

追蹤器提供三種位置篩選選項,協助管理成本並減少位置更新中的抖動。

  • 基於準確性與任何提供精度測量的設備一起使用。 大多數 GPS 和移動設備都提供此信息。 每個位置測量的準確性都受到許多環境因素的影響,包括 GPS 衛星接收、景觀以及 wifi 和藍牙設備的距離。大多數設備(包括大多數移動設備)都可以提供測量精度的估計以及測量結果。如果裝置移動少於測量的正確值,Amazon Location 會忽略位置更新。AccuracyBased例如,若來自裝置的兩次連續更新精確範圍為 5 公尺和 10 公尺,Amazon Location 會在裝置移動少於 15 公尺時忽略第二次更新。亞馬遜位置既不會針對地理圍欄評估被忽略的更新,也不會存儲它們。

    如果未提供精度,則將其視為零,並且測量被認為是完全準確的,並且不會對更新應用任何濾波。

    注意

    您可以使用基於精確度的過濾來刪除所有過濾。如果您選取精確度篩選,但將所有準確度資料覆寫為零,或完全忽略準確度,則 Amazon Location 不會篩選出任何更新。

    在大多數情況下,基於準確的篩選是篩選職位更新的理想選擇,可在過濾不需要的更新的同時取得追蹤位置的平衡,進而降低成本。

  • 以距離為基礎當您的裝置未提供精確度量測,但您仍想利用濾波功能來減少抖動並管理成本時使用。 DistanceBased篩選會忽略裝置移動少於 30 公尺 (98.4 英呎) 的位置更新。當您使用DistanceBased位置篩選時,Amazon Location 既不會針對地理圍欄評估這些被忽略的更新,也不會儲存更新。

    大多數移動設備的準確度(包括 iOS 和 Android 設備的平均準確度)在 15 米內。在大多數應用程式中,DistanceBased篩選可以減少在地圖上顯示裝置軌跡時,位置不準確的影響,以及當裝置靠近地理圍欄邊界時,多個連續進入和退出事件的反彈效果。它還可以通過減少對鏈接地理圍欄進行評估或檢索設備位置的調用來幫助降低應用程序的成本。

    如果您想要進行篩選,但您的裝置並未提供精確度量測,或者您想要篩選出大量更多的更新,而不是以精確度為基礎,則基於距離的篩選非常有用。

  • 時間為基礎 — (預設) 當您的裝置非常頻繁地傳送位置更新 (每 30 秒超過一次),且您希望在不儲存每次更新的情況下達到近乎即時的地理圍欄評估時使用。 TimeBased篩選中,會根據連結的地理柵欄集合評估每次的位置更新,但不會存放每次的位置更新。若您的更新頻率超過 30 秒,則每個唯一裝置 ID 每 30 秒只會存放一次更新。

    當您想要儲存較少的職位,但希望針對關聯的地理圍欄集合評估每個位置更新時,以時間為基礎的篩選特別有用。

注意

在決定篩選方法和職位更新頻率時,請注意追蹤應用程式的成本。您需支付每次位置更新的費用,以及針對每個連結的地理圍欄集合評估位置更新一次的費用。例如,使用基於時間的過濾時,如果您的跟踪器鏈接到兩個地理圍欄集合,則每個位置更新將計為一個位置更新請求和兩個地理圍欄集合評估。如果您每 5 秒報告裝置的位置更新,並使用基於時間的篩選功能,則每部裝置每小時需支付 720 個位置更新和 1,440 次地理圍欄評估的費用。

地理圍欄術語

地理圍欄合集

包含零個或更多個的區域圍欄。它能夠通過在要求時發出入口和退出事件來評估設備位置對其地理圍欄進行地理圍欄監視。

地理圍欄

定義地圖上虛擬邊界的多邊形或圓幾何圖形。

POLYGON

Amazon 位置地理圍欄是地理區域的虛擬邊界,表示為多邊形幾何圖形或圓形。

圓是一個周圍有距離的點。當您想要通知裝置是否在某個位置的特定距離內時,請使用圓圈。

多邊形是由 1 個或多個線性環組成的陣列。當您要定義裝置通知的特定邊界時,請使用多邊形。線性環是由四個或更多頂點組成的陣列,其中第一個頂點和最後一個頂點相同以形成封閉邊界。每個頂點都是 [經度,緯度] 形式的二維點,其中經度和緯度的單位是度。頂點必須圍繞多邊形以逆時鐘順序列出。

注意

Amazon 定 Location Service 不支援具有多個環的多邊形。這包括孔、孤立物件或多重多邊形。Amazon 位置也不支援順時針纏繞或穿過反經絡的多邊形。

以下是單線性外環的範例:

[ [ [-5.716667, -15.933333], [-14.416667, -7.933333], [-12.316667, -37.066667], [-5.716667, -15.933333] ] ]

追蹤術語

追蹤器資源

從裝置接收位置更新的AWS資源。跟踪器資源為位置查詢提供支持,例如當前和歷史設備位置。將跟踪器資源鏈接到地理圍欄集合會自動根據鏈接的地理圍欄集合中的所有地理圍欄評估位置更新。

位置資料追蹤

跟踪器資源隨著時間的推移存儲有關您的設備的信息。這些資訊包括一系列的位置更新,其中每次更新都包含位置、時間和中繼資料。元數據可以包括位置的準確性和最多三個鍵值對,以幫助您跟踪有關每個位置的關鍵信息,例如速度,方向,輪胎壓力,剩餘燃料或您正在跟踪的車輛的引擎溫度。追蹤器會維護裝置位置記錄 30 天。

位置篩選

位置篩選可以透過篩選掉在儲存或根據地理柵欄評估更新之前,不會提供有價值資訊的職位更新,協助您控制成本並改善追蹤應用程式的品質。

您可以選擇AccuracyBasedDistanceBased、或TimeBased篩選。依預設,位置篩選設定為TimeBased

您可以在建立或更新追蹤器資源時設定職位篩選。

RFC 3339 時間戳記格式

亞馬遜 Location Service 追蹤器使用 RFC 3339 格式,該格式遵循國際標準化組織 (ISO) 8601 格式表示日期和時間。

格式為「YY-MM-DDThh: ss.sssZ +00:00」:

  • YYYY-MM-DD— 代表日期格式。

  • T— 指示時間值將遵循。

  • hh:mm:ss.sss— 以 24 小時制表示時間。

  • Z— 表示所使用的時區為 UTC,其後可能與 UTC 時區有偏差。

  • +00:00— 選擇性地指示與 UTC 時區的偏差。例如,+ 01:00 表示世界標準時間 + 1 小時。

範例

對於 2020 年 7 月 2 日下午 12 時 15 分 20 分,將世界標準時區另外調整 1 小時。

2020-07-02T12:15:20.000Z+01:00

Geofences and Trackers - Amazon Location Service

Geofences and Trackers

This section provides and overview of the concepts of working with Amazon Location Service geofences and trackers. Geofences are polygon boundaries that you can use to be notified when devices or positions move in and out of the areas. Tracker resources are used to store and update positions for devices as they move.

Note

For information about how to use geofences and trackers in practice, see Geofencing an area of interest using Amazon Location.

Geofences

Geofence collection resources allow you to store and manage geofences—virtual boundaries on a map. You can evaluate locations against a geofence collection resource and get notifications when the location update crosses the boundary of any of the geofences in the geofence collection.

The following shows you how to create and use geofence collection resources:

  1. Create a geofence collection resource in your AWS account.

  2. Add geofences to that collection. You can do so by either using the geofence upload tool on the Amazon Location console, or by using the Amazon Location Geofences API. For more information about available options, see Accessing Amazon Location.

    Geofences can either be defined by a polygon or by a circle. Use a polygon to find when a device enters a specific area. Use a circle to find when a device comes within a certain distance (radius) of a point.

  3. You can start evaluating locations against all your geofences. When a location update crosses the boundaries of one or more geofences, your geofence collection resource emits one of the following geofence event types on Amazon EventBridge:

    • ENTER – One event is generated for each geofence where the location update crosses its boundary by entering it.

    • EXIT – One event is generated for each geofence where the location update crosses its boundary by exiting it.

    For more information, see Reacting to Amazon Location Service events with Amazon EventBridge. You can also integrate monitoring using services such as Amazon CloudWatch and AWS CloudTrail. For more information see, Monitoring Amazon Location Service with Amazon CloudWatch and Logging and monitoring with AWS CloudTrail.

For example, if you are tracking a fleet of trucks, and you want to get notified when a truck comes within a certain area of any of your warehouses. You can create a geofence for the area around each warehouse. Then, when the trucks send you updated locations, you can use Amazon Location Service to evaluate those positions and see if a truck has entered (or exited) one of the geofence areas.

Note

Your are billed by the number of geofence collections you evaluate against. Your bill is not affected by the number of geofences in each collection. Since each geofence collection may contain up to 50,000 geofences, you may want to combine your geofences into fewer collections, where possible, to reduce your cost of geofence evaluations. The events generated will include the ID of the individual geofence in the collection, as well as the ID of the collection.

Geofence events

Locations for positions you are monitoring are referenced by an ID called a DeviceId (and the positions are referred to as device positions). You can send a list of device positions to evaluate directly to the geofence collection resource, or you can use a tracker. See the next section for more information on trackers.

You receive events (via Amazon EventBridge) only when a device enters or exits a geofence, not for every position change. This means that you will typically receive events and have to respond to them much less frequently than every device position update.

Note

For the first location evaluation for a specific DeviceID, it is assumed that the device was previously not in any geofences. So the first update will generate an ENTER event, if inside a geofence in the collection, and no event if not.

In order to calculate whether a device has entered or exited a geofence, Amazon Location Service must keep previous position state for the device. This position state is stored for 30 days. After 30 days without an update for a device, a new location update will be treated as the first position update.

Trackers

A tracker stores position updates for a collection of devices. The tracker can be used to query the devices' current location or location history. It stores the updates, but reduces storage space and visual noise by filtering the locations before storing them.

Each position update stored in your tracker resources can include a measure of position accuracy and up to 3 fields of metadata about the position or device that you want to store. The metadata is stored as key-value pairs, and can store information such as speed, direction, tire pressure, or engine temperature.

Note

Tracker storage is encrypted with AWS owned keys automatically. You can add another layer of encryption using KMS keys that you manage, to ensure that only you can access your data. For more information, see Data encryption at rest for Amazon Location Service.

Tracker position filtering and storage are useful on their own, but trackers are especially useful when paired with geofences. You can link trackers to one or more of your geofence collection resources, and position updates are evaluated automatically against the geofences in those collections. Proper use of filtering can greatly reduce the costs of your geofence evaluations, as well.

The following diagram shows you how to create and use tracker resources:

  1. First, you create a tracker resource in your AWS account.

  2. Next, decide how you send location updates to your tracker resources. The Android and iOS SDKs offer integrated tracking capabilities for your mobile applications. Alternately, you can use MQTT by following step-by-step directions in tracking using MQTT in this guide.

  3. You can now use your tracker resource to record location history and visualize it on a map.

  4. You can also link your tracker resource to one or more geofence collections so that every position update sent to your tracker resource is automatically evaluated against all the geofence in all the linked geofence collections. You can link resource on the tracker resource details page of the Amazon Location console or by using the Amazon Location Trackers API.

  5. You can then integrate monitoring using services such as Amazon CloudWatch and AWS CloudTrail. For more information see, Monitoring Amazon Location Service with Amazon CloudWatch and Logging and monitoring with AWS CloudTrail.

Using trackers with geofences

Trackers provide additional functionality when paired with geofences. You associate a tracker with a geofence collection, either through the Amazon Location console or the API, to automatically evaluate tracker locations. Each time the tracker receives an updated location, that location will be evaluated against each geofence in the collection, and the appropriate ENTER and EXIT events are generated in Amazon EventBridge. You can also apply filtering to the tracker, and, depending on the filtering, you can reduce the costs for geofence evaluations by only evaluating meaningful location updates.

If you associate the tracker with a geofence collection after it has already received some position updates, the first position update after association is treated as an initial update for the geofence evaluations. If it is within a geofence, you will receive an ENTER event. If it is not within any geofences you will not receive an EXIT event, regardless of the previous state.

Position filtering

Trackers can automatically filter the positions that are sent to them. There are several reasons why you might want to filter out some of your device location updates. If you have a system that only sends reports every minute or so, you might want to filter devices by time, storing and evaluating positions only every 30 seconds. Even if you are monitoring more frequently, you might want to filter position updates to clean up the noisiness of GPS hardware. GPS position locations are inherently noisy. Their accuracy is not 100% perfect, so even a device that is stationary appears to be moving around slightly. At low speeds, this jitter causes visual clutter and can cause false entry and exit events if the device is near the edge of a geofence.

The position filtering works as position updates are received by a tracker, reducing visual noise in your device paths (jitter), reducing the number of false geofence entry and exit events, and helping manage costs by reducing the number of position updates stored and geofence evaluations triggered.

Trackers offer three position filtering options to help manage costs and reduce jitter in your location updates.

  • Accuracy-basedUse with any device that provides an accuracy measurement. Most GPS and mobile devices provide this information. The accuracy of each position measurement is affected by many environmental factors, including GPS satellite reception, landscape, and the proximity of wifi and bluetooth devices. Most devices, including most mobile devices, can provide an estimate of the accuracy of the measurement along with the measurement. With AccuracyBased filtering, Amazon Location ignores location updates if the device moved less than the measured accuracy. For example, if two consecutive updates from a device have an accuracy range of 5 m and 10 m, Amazon Location ignores the second update if the device has moved less than 15 m. Amazon Location neither evaluates ignored updates against geofences, nor stores them.

    When accuracy is not provided, it is treated as zero, and the measurement is considered perfectly accurate, and no filtering will be applied to the updates.

    Note

    You can use accuracy-based filtering to remove all filtering. If you select accuracy-based filtering, but override all accuracy data to zero, or omit the accuracy entirely, then Amazon Location will not filter out any updates.

    In most scenarios, accuracy-based filtering is a good choice for filtering position updates, providing a balance of tracking location while filtering out unneeded updates, thereby reducing costs.

  • Distance-basedUse when your devices do not provide an accuracy measurement, but you still want to take advantage of filtering to reduce jitter and manage costs. DistanceBased filtering ignores location updates in which devices have moved less than 30 m (98.4 ft). When you use DistanceBased position filtering, Amazon Location neither evaluates these ignored updates against geofences nor stores the updates.

    The accuracy of most mobile devices, including the average accuracy of iOS and Android devices, is within 15 m. In most applications, DistanceBased filtering can reduce the effect of location inaccuracies when displaying device trajectory on a map, and the bouncing effect of multiple consecutive entry and exit events when devices are near the border of a geofence. It can also help reduce the cost of your application, by making fewer calls to evaluate against linked geofences or retrieve device positions.

    Distance-based filtering is useful if you want to filter, but your device doesn't provide accuracy measurements, or you want to filter out a larger number of updates than with accuracy-based.

  • Time-based – (default) Use when your devices send position updates very frequently (more than once every 30 seconds), and you want to achieve near real-time geofence evaluations without storing every update. In TimeBased filtering, every location update is evaluated against linked geofence collections, but not every location update is stored. If your update frequency is more often than 30 seconds, only one update per 30 seconds is stored for each unique device ID.

    Time-based filtering is particularly useful when you want to store fewer positions, but want every position update to be evaluated against the associated geofence collections.

Note

Be mindful of the costs of your tracking application when deciding your filtering method and the frequency of position updates. You are billed for every location update and once for evaluating the position update against each linked geofence collection. For example, when using time-based filtering, if your tracker is linked to two geofence collections, every position update will count as one location update request and two geofence collection evaluations. If you are reporting position updates every 5 seconds for your devices and using time-based filtering, you will be billed for 720 location updates and 1,440 geofence evaluations per hour for each device.

Geofence terminology

Geofence Collection

Contains zero or more geofences. It is capable of geofence monitoring by emitting Entry and Exit events, when requested, to evaluate a device position against its geofences.

Geofence

A polygon or circle geometry that defines a virtual boundary on a map.

Polygon geometry

An Amazon Location geofence is a virtual boundary for a geographical area and is represented as a polygon geometry or as a circle.

A circle is a point with a distance around it. Use a circle when you want to be notified if a device is within a certain distance of a location.

A polygon is an array composed of 1 or more linear rings. Use a polygon when you want to define a specific boundary for device notifications. A linear ring is an array of four or more vertices, where the first and last vertex are the same to form a closed boundary. Each vertex is a 2-dimensional point of the form [longitude, latitude], where the units of longitude and latitude are degrees. The vertices must be listed in counter-clockwise order around the polygon.

Note

Amazon Location Service doesn't support polygons with more than one ring. This includes holes, islands or multipolygons. Amazon Location also doesn't support polygons that are wound clockwise, or that cross the antimeridian.

The following is an example of a single linear external ring:

[ [ [-5.716667, -15.933333], [-14.416667, -7.933333], [-12.316667, -37.066667], [-5.716667, -15.933333] ] ]

Tracker terminology

Tracker resource

An AWS resource that receives location updates from devices. The tracker resource provides support for location queries, such as current and historic device location. Linking a tracker resource to a geofence collection evaluates location updates against all geofences in the linked geofence collection automatically.

Position data tracked

A tracker resource stores information about your devices over time. The information includes a series of position updates, where each update includes location, time, and optional metadata. The metadata can include a position's accuracy, and up to three key-value pairs to help you track key information about each position, such as speed, direction, tire pressure, remaining fuel, or engine temperature of the vehicle you are tracking. Trackers maintain device location history for 30 days.

Position filtering

Position filtering can help you control costs and improve the quality of your tracking application by filtering out position updates that don't provide valuable information before the updates are stored or evaluated against geofences.

You can choose AccuracyBased, DistanceBased, or TimeBased filtering. By default, position filtering is set to TimeBased.

You can configure position filtering when you create or update tracker resources.

RFC 3339 timestamp format

Amazon Location Service Trackers uses the RFC 3339 format, which follows the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) 8601 format for dates and time.

The format is “YYYY-MM-DDThh:mm:ss.sssZ+00:00”:

  • YYYY-MM-DD — Represents the date format.

  • T — Indicates that the time values will follow.

  • hh:mm:ss.sss — Represents the time in 24-hour format.

  • Z — Indicates that the time zone used is UTC, which can be followed with deviations from the UTC time zone.

  • +00:00 — Optionally indicate deviations from the UTC time zone. For example, +01:00 indicates UTC + 1 hour.

Example

For July 2, 2020, at 12:15:20 in the afternoon, with an adjustment of an additional 1 hour to the UTC time zone.

2020-07-02T12:15:20.000Z+01:00