在AWS 帳戶 - Amazon Redshift

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

在AWS 帳戶

您可以在不同的 Amazon Redshift 集羣之間共享數據以進行讀取AWS 帳戶。

以創建者羣集管理員或數據庫所有者身份共享數據以供讀取

  1. 在叢集中建立資料庫。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 創建數據保護

    CREATE DATASHARE salesshare;

    羣集超級用户和數據庫所有者可以創建數據源。在創建過程中,每個數據保護都與數據庫相關聯。只有來自該數據庫的對象才能在該數據庫中共享。可以在具有相同或不同粒度的對象在同一數據庫上創建多個數據源。羣集可以建立的資料庫數量沒有限制。

    您也可以使用 Amazon Redshift 主控台來建立資料庫。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 創建數據庫

  2. 委派對數據保護進行操作的權限。如需詳細資訊,請參閱GRANTREVOKE

    以下範例會授予dbusersalesshare

    GRANT ALTER, SHARE ON DATASHARE salesshare TO dbuser;

    羣集超級用户和數據保護的所有者可以向其他用户授予或撤銷對數據保護的修改權限。

  3. 將對象添加到數據庫或從數據庫中刪除對象。要將對象添加到數據保護,請在添加對象之前添加架構。當您添加架構時,Amazon Redshift 不會在其下添加所有對象。務必明確地新增這些資訊。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 ALTER DATABASE

    ALTER DATASHARE salesshare ADD SCHEMA PUBLIC; ALTER DATASHARE salesshare ADD TABLE public.tickit_sales_redshift; ALTER DATASHARE salesshare ADD ALL TABLES IN SCHEMA PUBLIC;

    您也可以將視圖新增至資料保存。

    CREATE VIEW public.sales_data_summary_view AS SELECT * FROM public.tickit_sales_redshift; ALTER DATASHARE salesshare ADD TABLE public.sales_data_summary_view;

    使用 ALTER DATASHARE 可以在給定模式中共享方案以及表、視圖和函數。超級用户、數據保護所有者或對數據保護具有 ALTER 或 ALL 權限的用户可以更改數據保護以向數據保護中添加對象或從中刪除對象。用户應具有在數據保護中添加或刪除對象的權限。用户還應該是對象的所有者,或者對這些對象具有 SELECT、USAGE 或全部權限。

    使用 INPLUDENEW 子句可以將在指定方案中創建的所有新表、視圖或 SQL 用户定義函數 (UDF) 添加到數據保護中。只有超級用户可以為每個數據庫架構對更改此屬性。

    ALTER DATASHARE salesshare ADD SCHEMA PUBLIC; ALTER DATASHARE salesshare SET INCLUDENEW = TRUE FOR SCHEMA PUBLIC;

    或者,您也可以使用 Amazon Redshift 主控台來添加或移除資料庫中的資料庫。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 將數據視圖對象添加到數據庫從數據庫中刪除數據保護對象編輯帳户中建立的資料庫

  4. 將使用者添加到數據庫或從數據庫中刪除使用者。以下範例會將使用者羣集名稱空間新增至salesshare。命名空間是帳户中使用者羣集的命名空間全局唯一標識符 (GUID)。如需詳細資訊,請參閱GRANTREVOKE

    GRANT USAGE ON DATASHARE salesshare TO NAMESPACE '13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d';

    您只能在 GRANT 語句中向一個數據保護使用者授予權限。

    羣集超級用户和數據保護對象的所有者或對數據保護具有 SHARE 權限的用户可以將使用者添加到數據保護或從數據保護中刪除使用者。為此,他們使用授權使用或撤銷使用情況。

    要查找您當前看到的羣集的命名空間,可以使用「選擇當前命名空間」命令。要查找同一個集羣中的不同集羣的命名空間AWS帳户,請轉到 Amazon Redshift 控制台羣集詳細信息頁面。在該頁面上,找到新添加的命名空間字段。

    或者,您也可以使用 Amazon Redshift 主控台來添加或移除資料庫使用者。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 將數據使用者添加到數據庫從數據庫中刪除數據使用者

  5. (可選)向數據保護添加安全限制。以下示例顯示允許具有公有 IP 訪問權限的使用者羣集讀取數據保護。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 ALTER DATABASE

    ALTER DATASHARE salesshare SET PUBLICACCESSIBLE = TRUE;

    您可以在創建數據保護後修改有關使用者類型的屬性。例如,您可以定義想要使用給定數據保護中的數據的羣集不能公開訪問。來自不符合數據保護中指定的安全限制的使用者羣集的查詢將在查詢運行時被拒絕。

    您也可以使用 Amazon Redshift 主控台來編輯數據庫。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 編輯帳户中建立的資料庫

  6. 列出在羣集中創建的數據源並查看數據保護的內容。

    以下範例顯示名為salesshare。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 DESC DESC DATABASE顯示資料庫

    DESC DATASHARE salesshare; producer_account | producer_namespace | share_type | share_name | object_type | object_name | include_new -------------------+--------------------------------------+------------+------------+-------------+--------------------------------+------------------- 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | OUTBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_users_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | OUTBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_venue_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | OUTBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_category_redshift| 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | OUTBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_date_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | OUTBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_event_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | OUTBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_listing_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | OUTBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_sales_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | OUTBOUND | salesshare | schema | public | t 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | OUTBOUND | salesshare | view | public.sales_data_summary_view |

    以下範例顯示生產者羣集中的出站資料庫。

    SHOW DATASHARES LIKE 'sales%';

    輸出結果類似如下。

    share_name | share_owner | source_database | consumer_database | share_type | createdate | is_publicaccessible | share_acl | producer_account | producer_namespace -----------+--------------+-----------------+-------------------+------------+---------------------+----------------------+-----------+------------------+--------------------------------------- salesshare | 100 | dev | | OUTBOUND | 2020-12-09 02:27:08 | True | | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d

    如需詳細資訊,請參閱 DESC DESC DATABASE顯示資料庫

    您也可以使用SVV_ 數據庫SVV_ 數據庫 _ 消費者,以及SVV_ 數據庫 _ 對象以查看數據碼、數據保護中的對象以及數據保護使用者。

  7. 刪除資料庫。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 DATABASE

    您可以隨時刪除數據保護對象,使用DATABASE。數據保護的羣集超級用户和所有者可以刪除數據庫。

    以下範例會捨棄名為salesshare

    DROP DATASHARE salesshare;

    您也可以使用 Amazon Redshift 主控台刪除資料庫。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 刪除帳户中建立的資料庫

  8. 使用 ALTER DATASHARE 可以從數據庫中的任意點從數據庫中刪除對象。使用 REVOKE 使用 ON 可撤消對某些使用者對數據保護的權限。它撤消對數據保護中對象的 USAGE 權限,並立即停止對所有使用者羣集的訪問。在取消訪問權限後,列出數據碼和元數據查詢(如列出數據庫和表)不會返回共享對象。

    ALTER DATASHARE salesshare REMOVE TABLE public.tickit_sales_redshift;

    您也可以使用 Amazon Redshift 主控台來編輯數據庫。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 編輯帳户中建立的資料庫

  9. 如果您不想再與使用者共享數據,請撤銷命名空間對數據保護的訪問權限。

    REVOKE USAGE ON DATASHARE salesshare FROM NAMESPACE '13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d';

    您也可以使用 Amazon Redshift 主控台來編輯數據庫。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 編輯帳户中建立的資料庫

以使用者羣集管理員身份共享數據以供讀取

  1. 列出可供您使用的數據源並查看數據庫的內容。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 DESC DESC DATABASE顯示資料庫

    以下示例顯示指定創建者命名空間的入站數據庫的信息。當您以使用者羣集管理員身份運行 DESC DATASHARE 時,必須指定命名空間選項以查看入站數據源。

    DESC DATASHARE salesshare OF NAMESPACE '13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d'; producer_account | producer_namespace | share_type | share_name | object_type | object_name | include_new -------------------+--------------------------------------+------------+------------+-------------+---------------------------------+------------------ 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | INBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_users_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | INBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_venue_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | INBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_category_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | INBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_date_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | INBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_event_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | INBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_listing_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | INBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_sales_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | INBOUND | salesshare | schema | public | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | INBOUND | salesshare | view | public.sales_data_summary_view |

    只有羣集超級用户才能執行此操作。您還可以使用 SVV_數據共享查看數據源,並使用 SVV_數據共享對象來查看數據保護中的對象。

    以下範例顯示使用者羣集中的入站資料庫。

    SHOW DATASHARES LIKE 'sales%'; share_name | share_owner | source_database | consumer_database | share_type | createdate | is_publicaccessible | share_acl | producer_account | producer_namespace ------------+-------------+-----------------+-------------------+------------+------------+---------------------+-----------+------------------+-------------------------------------- salesshare | | | | INBOUND | | t | | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d
  2. 創建引用數據庫的本地數據庫。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 CREATE DATABASE

    CREATE DATABASE sales_db FROM DATASHARE salesshare OF NAMESPACE '13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d';

    您可以查看從數據保護創建的數據庫,方法是查詢數據庫數據庫視圖。您無法連接到這些從數據庫創建的數據庫,並且它們是隻讀的。但是,您可以連接到使用者羣集上的本地數據庫,並執行跨數據庫查詢以查詢從數據碼創建的數據庫中的數據。不能在從現有數據保護創建的數據庫對象之上創建數據保護。但是,您可以將數據複製到使用者羣集上的單獨表中,執行所需的任何處理,然後共享創建的新對象。

    或者,您也可以使用 Amazon Redshift 主控台從資料庫建立資料庫。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 從數據庫創建數據庫

  3. (可選)創建外部架構,以引用使用者羣集上導入的使用者數據庫中的特定方案並向其分配精細權限。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 CREATE EXTERNAL SCHEMA

    CREATE EXTERNAL SCHEMA sales_schema FROM REDSHIFT DATABASE 'sales_db' SCHEMA 'public';
  4. 根據需要將從數據庫創建的數據庫和架構引用的權限授予使用者羣集中的用户組。如需詳細資訊,請參閱GRANTREVOKE

    GRANT USAGE ON DATABASE sales_db TO Bob;
    GRANT USAGE ON SCHEMA sales_schema TO GROUP Analyst_group;

    作為使用者羣集管理員,您只能將從數據保護創建的整個數據庫的權限分配給您的用户和組。在某些情況下,您需要對從數據保護創建的數據庫對象子集進行精細控制。如果是這樣,您可以創建指向數據保護中的特定方案的外部模式引用(如上一步所述),並在架構級別提供精細權限。

    您還可以在共享對象之上創建後期綁定視圖,並使用這些視圖分配精細的權限。您還可以考慮讓生產者羣集為您創建具有所需粒度的附加數據源。

  5. 查詢數據庫中共享對象中的數據。

    對使用者羣集上的使用者數據庫和方案具有權限的用户和組可以瀏覽和導航任何共享對象的元數據。他們還可以瀏覽和導航使用者羣集中的本地對象。為此,他們使用 JDBC 或 ODBC 驅動程序或 SVV_ALL 和 SVV_REDSHIFT 視圖。

    生產者羣集可能在每個模式中的數據庫、表和視圖中有許多架構。使用者端的用户只能看到通過數據保護提供的對象子集。這些用户看不到來自生產者羣集的整個元數據。此方法有助於通過數據共享提供精細的元數據安全控制。

    您繼續連線至本地羣集資料庫。但現在,您還可以使用三個部分的數據庫 .schema.table 符號從數據保護創建的數據庫和架構中讀取。您可以執行跨您可見的任何和所有數據庫的查詢。這些數據庫可以是集羣上的本地數據庫,也可以是從數據庫創建的數據庫。使用者羣集無法連接到從數據庫創建的數據庫。

    您可以使用完全資格來存取資料。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 使用跨數據庫查詢的示例

    SELECT * FROM sales_db.public.tickit_sales_redshift ORDER BY 1,2 LIMIT 5; salesid | listid | sellerid | buyerid | eventid | dateid | qtysold | pricepaid | commission | saletime ---------+--------+----------+---------+---------+--------+---------+-----------+------------+--------------------- 1 | 1 | 36861 | 21191 | 7872 | 1875 | 4 | 728.00 | 109.20 | 2008-02-18 02:36:48 2 | 4 | 8117 | 11498 | 4337 | 1983 | 2 | 76.00 | 11.40 | 2008-06-06 05:00:16 3 | 5 | 1616 | 17433 | 8647 | 1983 | 2 | 350.00 | 52.50 | 2008-06-06 08:26:17 4 | 5 | 1616 | 19715 | 8647 | 1986 | 1 | 175.00 | 26.25 | 2008-06-09 08:38:52 5 | 6 | 47402 | 14115 | 8240 | 2069 | 2 | 154.00 | 23.10 | 2008-08-31 09:17:02

    您只能在共享對象上使用 SELECT 語句。但是,您可以通過查詢其他本地數據庫中的共享對象中的數據,在使用者羣集中創建表。

    除了查詢之外,使用者還可以在共享對象上創建視圖。僅支持後期綁定視圖或實例化視圖。Amazon Redshift 不支援共享資料的常規查看。使用者創建的視圖可跨多個本地數據庫或從數據庫創建的數據庫。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 CREATE VIEW

    // Connect to a local cluster database // Create a view on shared objects and access it. CREATE VIEW sales_data AS SELECT * FROM sales_db.public.tickit_sales_redshift WITH NO SCHEMA BINDING; SELECT * FROM sales_data;

Sharing data within an AWS account - Amazon Redshift

Sharing data within an AWS account

You can share data for read purposes across different Amazon Redshift clusters within an AWS account.

To share data for read purposes as a producer cluster administrator or database owner

  1. Create datashares in your cluster. For more information, see CREATE DATASHARE.

    CREATE DATASHARE salesshare;

    Cluster superuser and database owners can create datashares. Each datashare is associated with a database during creation. Only objects from that database can be shared in that datashare. Multiple datashares can be created on the same database with the same or different granularity of objects. There is no limit on the number of datashares a cluster can create.

    You can also use the Amazon Redshift console to create datashares. For more information, see Creating datashares.

  2. Delegate permissions to operate on the datashare. For more information, see GRANT or REVOKE.

    The following example grants permissions to dbuser on salesshare.

    GRANT ALTER, SHARE ON DATASHARE salesshare TO dbuser;

    Cluster superusers and the owners of the datashare can grant or revoke modification permissions on the datashare to additional users.

  3. Add objects to or remove objects from datashares. To add objects to a datashare, add the schema before adding objects. When you add a schema, Amazon Redshift doesn't add all the objects under it. Make sure to add these explicitly. For more information, see ALTER DATASHARE.

    ALTER DATASHARE salesshare ADD SCHEMA PUBLIC; ALTER DATASHARE salesshare ADD TABLE public.tickit_sales_redshift; ALTER DATASHARE salesshare ADD ALL TABLES IN SCHEMA PUBLIC;

    You can also add views to a datashare.

    CREATE VIEW public.sales_data_summary_view AS SELECT * FROM public.tickit_sales_redshift; ALTER DATASHARE salesshare ADD TABLE public.sales_data_summary_view;

    Use ALTER DATASHARE to share schemas, and tables, views, and functions in a given schema. Superusers, datashare owners, or users who have ALTER or ALL permission on the datashare can alter the datashare to add objects to or remove objects from it. Users should have the permissions to add or remove objects from the datashare. Users should also be the owners of the objects or have SELECT, USAGE, or ALL permissions on the objects.

    Use the INCLUDENEW clause to add any new tables, views, or SQL user-defined functions (UDFs) created in a specified schema to the datashare. Only superusers can change this property for each datashare-schema pair.

    ALTER DATASHARE salesshare ADD SCHEMA PUBLIC; ALTER DATASHARE salesshare SET INCLUDENEW = TRUE FOR SCHEMA PUBLIC;

    You can also use the Amazon Redshift console to add or remove objects from datashares. For more information, see Adding datashare objects to datashares, Removing datashare objects from datashares, and Editing datashares created in your account.

  4. Add consumers to or remove consumers from datashares. The following example adds the consumer cluster namespace to salesshare. The namespace is the namespace globally unique identifier (GUID) of the consumer cluster in the account. For more information, see GRANT or REVOKE.

    GRANT USAGE ON DATASHARE salesshare TO NAMESPACE '13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d';

    You can only grant permissions to one datashare consumer in a GRANT statement.

    Cluster superusers and the owners of datashare objects or users that have SHARE privilege on the datashare can add consumers to or remove consumers from a datashare. To do so, they use GRANT USAGE or REVOKE USAGE.

    To find the namespace of the cluster that you currently see, you can use the SELECT CURRENT_NAMESPACE command. To find the namespace of a different cluster within the same AWS account, go to the Amazon Redshift console cluster details page. On that page, find the newly added namespace field.

    You can also use the Amazon Redshift console to add or remove data consumers for datashares. For more information, see Adding data consumers to datashares and Removing data consumers from datashares.

  5. (Optional) Add security restrictions to the datashare. The following example shows that the consumer cluster with a public IP access is allowed to read the datashare. For more information, see ALTER DATASHARE.

    ALTER DATASHARE salesshare SET PUBLICACCESSIBLE = TRUE;

    You can modify properties about the type of consumers after datashare creation. For example, you can define that clusters that want to consume data from a given datashare can't be publicly accessible. Queries from consumer clusters that don't meet security restrictions specified in datashare are rejected at query runtime.

    You can also use the Amazon Redshift console to edit datashares. For more information, see Editing datashares created in your account.

  6. List datashares created in the cluster and look into the contents of the datashare.

    The following example displays the information of a datashare named salesshare. For more information, see DESC DATASHARE and SHOW DATASHARES.

    DESC DATASHARE salesshare; producer_account | producer_namespace | share_type | share_name | object_type | object_name | include_new -------------------+--------------------------------------+------------+------------+-------------+--------------------------------+------------------- 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | OUTBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_users_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | OUTBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_venue_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | OUTBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_category_redshift| 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | OUTBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_date_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | OUTBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_event_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | OUTBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_listing_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | OUTBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_sales_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | OUTBOUND | salesshare | schema | public | t 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | OUTBOUND | salesshare | view | public.sales_data_summary_view |

    The following example displays the outbound datashares in a producer cluster.

    SHOW DATASHARES LIKE 'sales%';

    The output looks similar to the following.

    share_name | share_owner | source_database | consumer_database | share_type | createdate | is_publicaccessible | share_acl | producer_account | producer_namespace -----------+--------------+-----------------+-------------------+------------+---------------------+----------------------+-----------+------------------+--------------------------------------- salesshare | 100 | dev | | OUTBOUND | 2020-12-09 02:27:08 | True | | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d

    For more information, see DESC DATASHARE and SHOW DATASHARES.

    You can also use SVV_DATASHARES, SVV_DATASHARE_CONSUMERS, and SVV_DATASHARE_OBJECTS to view the datashares, the objects within the datashare, and the datashare consumers.

  7. Drop datashares. For more information, see DROP DATASHARE.

    You can delete the datashare objects at any point using DROP DATASHARE. Cluster superusers and owners of datashare can drop datashares.

    The following example drops a datashare named salesshare.

    DROP DATASHARE salesshare;

    You can also use the Amazon Redshift console to delete datashares. For more information, see Deleting datashares created in your account.

  8. Use ALTER DATASHARE to remove objects from datashares at any point from the datashare. Use REVOKE USAGE ON to revoke permissions on the datashare to certain consumers. It revokes USAGE permissions on objects within a datashare and instantly stops access to all consumer clusters. Listing datashares and the metadata queries, such as listing databases and tables, doesn't return the shared objects after access is revoked.

    ALTER DATASHARE salesshare REMOVE TABLE public.tickit_sales_redshift;

    You can also use the Amazon Redshift console to edit datashares. For more information, see Editing datashares created in your account.

  9. Revoke access to the datashare from namespaces if you don't want to share the data with the consumers anymore.

    REVOKE USAGE ON DATASHARE salesshare FROM NAMESPACE '13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d';

    You can also use the Amazon Redshift console to edit datashares. For more information, see Editing datashares created in your account.

To share data for read purposes as a consumer cluster administrator

  1. List the datashares that are made available to you and view the content of datashares. For more information, see DESC DATASHARE and SHOW DATASHARES.

    The following example displays the information of inbound datashares of a specified producer namespace. When you run DESC DATASHARE as a consumer cluster administrator, you must specify the NAMESPACE option to view inbound datashares.

    DESC DATASHARE salesshare OF NAMESPACE '13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d'; producer_account | producer_namespace | share_type | share_name | object_type | object_name | include_new -------------------+--------------------------------------+------------+------------+-------------+---------------------------------+------------------ 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | INBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_users_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | INBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_venue_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | INBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_category_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | INBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_date_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | INBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_event_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | INBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_listing_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | INBOUND | salesshare | table | public.tickit_sales_redshift | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | INBOUND | salesshare | schema | public | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d | INBOUND | salesshare | view | public.sales_data_summary_view |

    Only cluster superusers can do this. You can also use SVV_DATASHARES to view the datashares and SVV_DATASHARE_OBJECTS to view the objects within the datashare.

    The following example displays the inbound datashares in a consumer cluster.

    SHOW DATASHARES LIKE 'sales%'; share_name | share_owner | source_database | consumer_database | share_type | createdate | is_publicaccessible | share_acl | producer_account | producer_namespace ------------+-------------+-----------------+-------------------+------------+------------+---------------------+-----------+------------------+-------------------------------------- salesshare | | | | INBOUND | | t | | 123456789012 | 13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d
  2. Create local databases that reference to the datashares. For more information, see CREATE DATABASE.

    CREATE DATABASE sales_db FROM DATASHARE salesshare OF NAMESPACE '13b8833d-17c6-4f16-8fe4-1a018f5ed00d';

    You can see databases that you created from the datashare by querying the SVV_REDSHIFT_DATABASES view. You can't connect to these databases created from datashares, and they are read-only. However, you can connect to a local database on your consumer cluster and perform a cross-database query to query the data from the databases created from datashares. You can't create a datashare on top of database objects created from an existing datashare. However, you can copy the data into a separate table on the consumer cluster, perform any processing needed, and then share the new objects that were created.

    You can also use the Amazon Redshift console to create databases from datashares. For more information, see Creating databases from datashares.

  3. (Optional) Create external schemas to refer to and assign granular permissions to specific schemas in the consumer database imported on the consumer cluster. For more information, see CREATE EXTERNAL SCHEMA.

    CREATE EXTERNAL SCHEMA sales_schema FROM REDSHIFT DATABASE 'sales_db' SCHEMA 'public';
  4. Grant permissions on databases and schema references created from the datashares to users groups in the consumer cluster as needed. For more information, see GRANT or REVOKE.

    GRANT USAGE ON DATABASE sales_db TO Bob;
    GRANT USAGE ON SCHEMA sales_schema TO GROUP Analyst_group;

    As a consumer cluster administrator, you can only assign permissions on the entire database created from the datashare to your users and groups. In some cases, you need fine-grained controls on a subset of database objects created from the datashare. If so, you can create an external schema reference that points to specific schemas in the datashare (as described in the previous step) and provide granular permissions at schema level.

    You can also create late-binding views on top of shared objects and use these to assign granular permissions. You can also consider having producer clusters create additional datashares for you with the granularity required.

  5. Query data in the shared objects in the datashares.

    Users and groups with permissions on consumer databases and schemas on consumer clusters can explore and navigate the metadata of any shared objects. They can also explore and navigate local objects in a consumer cluster. To do this, they use JDBC or ODBC drivers or SVV_ALL and SVV_REDSHIFT views.

    Producer clusters might have many schemas in the database, tables, and views within each schema. The users on the consumer side can see only the subset of objects that are made available through the datashare. These users can't see the entire metadata from the producer cluster. This approach helps provide granular metadata security control with data sharing.

    You continue to connect to local cluster databases. But now, you can also read from the databases and schemas that are created from the datashare using the three-part database.schema.table notation. You can perform queries that span across any and all databases that are visible to you. These can be local databases on the cluster or databases created from the datashares. Consumer clusters can't connect to the databases created from the datashares.

    You can access the data using full qualification. For more information, see Examples of using a cross-database query.

    SELECT * FROM sales_db.public.tickit_sales_redshift ORDER BY 1,2 LIMIT 5; salesid | listid | sellerid | buyerid | eventid | dateid | qtysold | pricepaid | commission | saletime ---------+--------+----------+---------+---------+--------+---------+-----------+------------+--------------------- 1 | 1 | 36861 | 21191 | 7872 | 1875 | 4 | 728.00 | 109.20 | 2008-02-18 02:36:48 2 | 4 | 8117 | 11498 | 4337 | 1983 | 2 | 76.00 | 11.40 | 2008-06-06 05:00:16 3 | 5 | 1616 | 17433 | 8647 | 1983 | 2 | 350.00 | 52.50 | 2008-06-06 08:26:17 4 | 5 | 1616 | 19715 | 8647 | 1986 | 1 | 175.00 | 26.25 | 2008-06-09 08:38:52 5 | 6 | 47402 | 14115 | 8240 | 2069 | 2 | 154.00 | 23.10 | 2008-08-31 09:17:02

    You can only use SELECT statements on shared objects. However, you can create tables in the consumer cluster by querying the data from the shared objects in a different local database.

    In addition to queries, consumers can create views on shared objects. Only late-binding views or materialized views are supported. Amazon Redshift doesn't support regular views on shared data. Views that consumers create can span across multiple local databases or databases created from datashares. For more information, see CREATE VIEW.

    // Connect to a local cluster database // Create a view on shared objects and access it. CREATE VIEW sales_data AS SELECT * FROM sales_db.public.tickit_sales_redshift WITH NO SCHEMA BINDING; SELECT * FROM sales_data;