VPC 中的 DNS 属性 - Amazon Virtual Private Cloud

VPC 中的 DNS 属性

域名系统 (DNS) 是 Internet 中名称使用的标准,以将名称解析到各自相应的 IP 地址。DNS 主机名是可以唯一并绝对区分计算机的名称;它由主机名和域名组成。DNS 服务器会将 DNS 主机名称解析到其相应的 IP 地址。

公有 IPv4 地址可实现 Internet 间的通信,而私有 IPv4 地址可实现实例网络内的通信。有关更多信息,请参阅IP 寻址

Amazon 为您的 VPC 提供了一个 DNS 服务器(Amazon Route 53 Resolver)。要使用您自己的 DNS 服务器,请为您的 VPC 创建一组新的 DHCP 选项。有关更多信息,请参阅Amazon VPC 中的 DHCP 选项集

Amazon DNS 服务器

Amazon DNS 服务器是 Amazon Route 53 Resolver 服务器。此服务器允许 DNS 使用需要通过 VPC 互联网网关进行通信的实例。

Amazon DNS 服务器不驻留在 VPC 中的特定子网或可用区内。此服务器位于地址 169.254.169.253(预留 IP 地址以 VPC IPv4 网络范围“+2”为基础)和 fd00:ec2::253。例如,10.0.0.0/16 网络中的 Amazon DNS 服务器位于 10.0.0.2。对于包含多个 IPv4 CIDR 块的 VPC,DNS 服务器的 IP 地址位于主要 CIDR 块中。

当您将实例启动到 VPC 中时,我们会为该实例提供一个私有 DNS 主机名。如果该实例配置了一个公有 IPv4 地址并且启用了 VPC DNS 属性,我们还会提供一个公有 DNS 主机名。

私有 DNS 主机名的格式取决于您在启动 EC2 实例时如何配置它。有关私有 DNS 主机名类型的更多信息,请参阅 EC2 实例命名

您的 VPC 中的 Amazon DNS 服务器用于解析您在 Route 53 中的私有托管区域中指定的 DNS 域名。有关私有托管区域的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Route 53 开发人员指南 中的使用私有托管区域

规则和注意事项

使用 Amazon DNS 服务器时,适用以下规则和注意事项。

  • 您无法使用网络 ACL 或安全组筛选进出 Amazon DNS 服务器的流量。

  • 使用 Hadoop 框架的服务(如 Amazon EMR)要求实例解析自己的完全限定域名 (FQDN)。这种情况下,如果 domain-name-servers 选项设置为自定义值,则 DNS 解析可能会失败。要确保正确解析 DNS,请考虑在您的 DNS 服务器添加条件转发服务器,将针对域 region-name.compute.internal 的查询转发到 Amazon DNS 服务器。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EMR 管理指南中的设置 VPC 以托管集群

  • Windows Server 2008 禁止使用位于链路本地地址范围(169.254.0.0/16)内的 DNS 服务器。

  • Amazon Route 53 Resolver 只支持递归 DNS 查询。

DNS 主机名

当您启动实例时,实例始终会收到一个私有 IPv4 地址和一个与其私有 IPv4 地址对应的私有 DNS 主机名。如果您的实例具有公有 IPv4 地址,则该实例 VPC 的 DNS 属性决定实例是否接收与公有 IPv4 地址对应的公有 DNS 主机名。有关更多信息,请参阅VPC 中的 DNS 属性

启用 Amazon 提供的 DNS 服务器后,DNS 主机名按如下方式分配和解析。

私有 IP DNS 名称(仅 IPv4)

您可以使用私有 DNS 名称(仅限 IPv4)主机名在同一 VPC 中的实例之间进行通信。您可以解析其他 VPC 中其他实例的私有 IP DNS 名称(仅限 IPv4)主机名,只要这些实例位于同一 AWS 区域,并且其他实例的主机名位于 RFC 1918: 10.0.0.0 - 10.255.255.255 (10/8 prefix)172.16.0.0 - 172.31.255.255 (172.16/12 prefix)192.168.0.0 - 192.168.255.255 (192.168/16 prefix) 定义的私有地址空间范围内。

私有资源 DNS 名称

基于 RBN 的 DNS 名称,它可以解析为此实例选择的 A 和 AAAA DNS 记录。此 DNS 主机名在双堆栈和仅 IPv6 子网中的实例的实例详细信息中可见。有关 RBN 的更多信息,请参阅 EC2 实例主机名类型

公有 IPv4 DNS

对于 us-east-1 区域,公有(外部)IPv4 DNS 主机名采用 ec2-public-ipv4-address.compute-1.amazonaws.com 形式,对于其他区域,则采用 ec2-public-ipv4-address.region.compute.amazonaws.com 形式。Amazon DNS 服务器将公有 DNS 主机名解析为该实例在所在网络外的公有 IPv4 地址及其在所在网络内的私有 IPv4 地址。有关更多信息,请参阅适用于 Linux 实例的 Amazon EC2 用户指南 中的公有 IPv4 地址和外部 DNS 主机名

VPC 中的 DNS 属性

以下 VPC 属性决定了为您的 VPC 提供的 DNS 支持。如果两项属性均启用,则如果在创建时为启动到 VPC 内的实例分配了公有 IPv4 地址或弹性 IP 地址,则该实例会接收公有 DNS 主机名。如果您为之前未启用两项属性的 VPC 启用这两项属性,则已经启动至该 VPC 的实例将接收公有 DNS 主机名(如果它们具有公有 IPv4 地址或弹性 IP 地址)。

要检查是否为 VPC 启用了这些属性,请参阅查看和更新 VPC 的 DNS 属性

属性 说明
enableDnsHostnames

确定 VPC 是否支持将公有 DNS 主机名分配给具有公有 IP 地址的实例。

如果两个 DNS 属性都是 true,VPC 中的实例会获得公有 DNS 主机名。

此属性的默认值为 false,除非 VPC 是默认 VPC 或 VPC 。使用 VPC 控制台向导创建

enableDnsSupport

确定 VPC 是否支持通过 Amazon 提供的 DNS 服务器进行 DNS 解析。

如果此属性是 true,对 Amazon 提供的 DNS 服务器的查询成功。有关更多信息,请参阅Amazon DNS 服务器

此属性的默认值为 true,无论 VPC 的创建方式如何。

规则和注意事项

适用以下规则。

  • 如果两个属性都设置为 true,则会发生以下情况:

    • 具有公有 IP 地址的实例会收到对应的公有 DNS 主机名。

    • Amazon Route 53 Resolver 服务器可以解析 Amazon 提供的私有 DNS 主机名。

  • 如果至少将某个属性设置为 false,将出现以下情况:

    • 具有公有 IP 地址的实例不会收到对应的公有 DNS 主机名。

    • Amazon Route 53 Resolver 无法解析 Amazon 提供的私有 DNS 主机名。

    • 如果 DHCP 选项集中存在自定义域名,则实例会收到自定义私有 DNS 主机名。如果您未使用 Amazon Route 53 Resolver 服务器,您的自定义域名服务器必须正确解析主机名。

  • 如果您使用在 Amazon Route 53 中的私有托管区域中定义的自定义 DNS 域名,或者使用具有接口 VPC 终端节点的私有 DNS (AWS PrivateLink),则必须将 enableDnsHostnamesenableDnsSupport 属性设置为 true

  • Amazon Route 53 Resolver 可以将私有 DNS 主机名解析为全部地址空间内的私有 IPv4 地址,包括您的 VPC 的 IPv4 地址范围不在 RFC 1918 指定的私有 IPv4 地址范围内的情况。但是,如果您在 2016 年 10 月之前创建了 VPC,并且您的 VPC 的 IPv4 地址范围不在这些地址范围内,则 Amazon Route 53 Resolver将无法解析私有 DNS 主机名。要支持这种情况,请联系 AWS Support

DNS 配额

每个 EC2 实例可以每秒为每个网络接口向 Route 53 Resolver(具体说就是 .2 地址,例如,10.0.0.2 和 169.254.169.253)发送 1024 个数据包。无法提高此配额。由 Route 53 Resolver 支持的每秒 DNS 查询数量因查询类型、响应大小和所用协议而异。有关可扩展 DNS 架构的更多信息和建议,请参阅具有 Active Directory 的 AWS 混合 DNS 技术指南。

如果您达到配额,Route 53 Resolver 将拒绝流量。达到配额的部分原因可能是 DNS 限制问题,或者是使用 Route 53 Resolver 网络接口的实例元数据查询。有关如何解决 VPC DNS 限制问题的信息,请参阅如何确定对 Amazon 提供的 DNS 服务器的 DNS 查询是否由于 VPC DNS 限制而失败。有关实例元数据检索的更多信息,请参阅《适用于 Linux 实例的 Amazon EC2 用户指南》中的检索实例元数据

查看您的 EC2 实例的 DNS 主机名称

您可以使用 Amazon EC2 控制台或命令行查看运行实例或网络接口的 DNS 主机名。

为与实例关联的 VPC 启用了 DNS 选项时,公有 DNS (IPv4)私有 DNS 字段可用。有关更多信息,请参阅VPC 中的 DNS 属性

实例

使用控制台查看实例的 DNS 主机名称

  1. 通过以下网址打开 Amazon EC2 控制台:https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择实例

  3. 从列表中选择您的 实例。

  4. 在详细信息窗格中,Public DNS (IPv4)Private DNS 字段显示 DNS 主机名 (如适用)。

使用命令行查看实例的 DNS 主机名

您可以使用以下任一命令。有关这些命令行界面的更多信息,请参阅 访问 Amazon VPC

网络接口

使用控制台查看网络接口的私有 DNS 主机名

  1. 通过以下网址打开 Amazon EC2 控制台:https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择 Network Interfaces

  3. 从列表中选择网络接口。

  4. 在详细信息窗格中,私有 DNS (IPv4) 字段显示私有 DNS 主机名。

使用命令行查看网络接口的 DNS 主机名

您可以使用以下任一命令。有关这些命令行界面的更多信息,请参阅 访问 Amazon VPC

查看和更新 VPC 的 DNS 属性

您可以通过 Amazon VPC 控制台查看并更新您的 VPC 中的 DNS 支持属性。

使用控制台描述和更新 VPC 的 DNS 支持

  1. 通过以下网址打开 Amazon VPC 控制台:https://console.aws.amazon.com/vpc/

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择 Your VPCs

  3. 选中该 VPC 的复选框。

  4. 查看 Details (详细信息) 中的信息。在此示例中,已同时启用 DNS hostnames (DNS 主机名)DNS resolution (DNS 解析)

    
              “DNS Settings (DNS 设置)”选项卡
  5. 要更新这些设置,请选择 Actions (操作),然后选择 Edit DNS Hostnames (编辑 DNS 主机名)Edit DNS Resolution (编辑 DNS 解析)。系统提示时,请选择或清除 Enable (启用),然后选择 Save changes (保存更改)

使用命令行说明 VPC 的 DNS 支持

您可以使用以下任一命令。有关这些命令行界面的更多信息,请参阅 访问 Amazon VPC

使用命令行更新 VPC 的 DNS 支持

您可以使用以下任一命令。有关这些命令行界面的更多信息,请参阅 访问 Amazon VPC

私有托管区域

要使用自定义 DNS 域名(如 example.com)而不是使用私有 IPv4 地址或AWS提供的私有 DNS 主机名来访问您的 VPC 中的资源,您可以在 Route 53 中创建一个私有托管区域。私有托管区域就是一个容器,其中包含的信息说明您希望如何在一个或多个 VPC 中为某个域及其子域路由流量而不将您的资源公开到 Internet。您可以创建 Route 53 资源记录集,用来确定 Route 53 将如何响应对您的域及其子域的查询。例如,如果您希望将对 example.com 的浏览器请求路由到您 VPC 中的某个 Web 服务器,可以在您的私有托管区域中创建一条 A 记录并指定该 Web 服务器的 IP 地址。有关创建私有托管区域的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Route 53 开发人员指南 中的使用私有托管区域

要使用自定义 DNS 域名访问资源,必须连接到您的 VPC 中的实例。在您的实例中,您可通过使用 ping 命令来测试是否可从私有托管区域中的资源的自定义 DNS 名称访问该资源;例如,ping mywebserver.example.com。(您必须确保您的实例的安全组规则允许入站 ICMP 流量才能使 ping 命令正常运行。)

您可以从通过 ClassicLink 链接到您的 VPC 的 EC2-Classic 实例访问私有托管区域,前提是您为 VPC 启用了 ClassicLink DNS 支持。有关更多信息,请参阅适用于 Linux 实例的 Amazon EC2 用户指南 中的启用 ClassicLink DNS 支持。否则,私有托管区域不支持 VPC 外的传递关系;例如,您不能使用资源的自定义私有 DNS 名称从 VPN 连接的另一端访问资源。有关更多信息,请参阅适用于 Linux 实例的 Amazon EC2 用户指南 中的 ClassicLink 限制

重要

如果您使用在 Amazon Route 53 中的私有托管区域中定义的自定义 DNS 域名,则必须将以下 enableDnsHostnamesenableDnsSupport 属性设置为 true

DNS attributes for your VPC - Amazon Virtual Private Cloud

DNS attributes for your VPC

Domain Name System (DNS) is a standard by which names used on the internet are resolved to their corresponding IP addresses. A DNS hostname is a name that uniquely and absolutely names a computer; it's composed of a host name and a domain name. DNS servers resolve DNS hostnames to their corresponding IP addresses.

Public IPv4 addresses enable communication over the internet, while private IPv4 addresses enable communication within the network of the instance. For more information, see IP addressing.

Amazon provides a DNS server (the Amazon Route 53 Resolver) for your VPC. To use your own DNS server instead, create a new set of DHCP options for your VPC. For more information, see DHCP option sets in Amazon VPC.

Amazon DNS server

The Amazon DNS server is an Amazon Route 53 Resolver server. This server enables DNS for instances that need to communicate over the VPC's internet gateway.

The Amazon DNS server does not reside within a specific subnet or Availability Zone in a VPC. It's located at the address 169.254.169.253 (and the reserved IP address at the base of the VPC IPv4 network range, plus two) and fd00:ec2::253. For example, the Amazon DNS Server on a 10.0.0.0/16 network is located at 10.0.0.2. For VPCs with multiple IPv4 CIDR blocks, the DNS server IP address is located in the primary CIDR block.

When you launch an instance into a VPC, we provide the instance with a private DNS hostname. We also provide a public DNS hostname if the instance is configured with a public IPv4 address and the VPC DNS attributes are enabled.

The format of the private DNS hostname depends on how you configure the EC2 instance when you launch it. For more information on the types of private DNS hostnames, see EC2 instance naming.

The Amazon DNS server in your VPC is used to resolve the DNS domain names that you specify in a private hosted zone in Route 53. For more information about private hosted zones, see Working with private hosted zones in the Amazon Route 53 Developer Guide.

Rules and considerations

When using the Amazon DNS server, the following rules and considerations apply.

  • You cannot filter traffic to or from the Amazon DNS server using network ACLs or security groups.

  • Services that use the Hadoop framework, such as Amazon EMR, require instances to resolve their own fully qualified domain names (FQDN). In such cases, DNS resolution can fail if the domain-name-servers option is set to a custom value. To ensure proper DNS resolution, consider adding a conditional forwarder on your DNS server to forward queries for the domain region-name.compute.internal to the Amazon DNS server. For more information, see Setting up a VPC to host clusters in the Amazon EMR Management Guide.

  • Windows Server 2008 disallows the use of a DNS server located in the link-local address range (169.254.0.0/16).

  • The Amazon Route 53 Resolver only supports recursive DNS queries.

DNS hostnames

When you launch an instance, it always receives a private IPv4 address and a private DNS hostname that corresponds to its private IPv4 address. If your instance has a public IPv4 address, the DNS attributes for its VPC determines whether it receives a public DNS hostname that corresponds to the public IPv4 address. For more information, see DNS attributes in your VPC.

With the Amazon provided DNS server enabled, DNS hostnames are assigned and resolved as follows.

Private IP DNS name (IPv4 only)

You can use the Private IP DNS name (IPv4 only) hostname for communication between instances in the same VPC. You can resolve the Private IP DNS name (IPv4 only) hostnames of other instances in other VPCs as long as the instances are in the same AWS Region and the hostname of the other instance is in the private address space range defined by RFC 1918: 10.0.0.0 - 10.255.255.255 (10/8 prefix), 172.16.0.0 - 172.31.255.255 (172.16/12 prefix), and 192.168.0.0 - 192.168.255.255 (192.168/16 prefix).

Private resource DNS name

The RBN-based DNS name that can resolve to the A and AAAA DNS records selected for this instance. This DNS hostname is visible in the instance details for instances in dual-stack and IPv6-only subnets. For more information about RBN, see EC2 instance hostname types.

Public IPv4 DNS

A public (external) IPv4 DNS hostname takes the form ec2-public-ipv4-address.compute-1.amazonaws.com for the us-east-1 Region, and ec2-public-ipv4-address.region.compute.amazonaws.com for other Regions. The Amazon DNS server resolves a public DNS hostname to the public IPv4 address of the instance outside the network of the instance, and to the private IPv4 address of the instance from within the network of the instance. For more information, see Public IPv4 addresses and external DNS hostnames in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Linux Instances.

DNS attributes in your VPC

The following VPC attributes determine the DNS support provided for your VPC. If both attributes are enabled, an instance launched into the VPC receives a public DNS hostname if it is assigned a public IPv4 address or an Elastic IP address at creation. If you enable both attributes for a VPC that didn't previously have them both enabled, instances that were already launched into that VPC receive public DNS hostnames if they have a public IPv4 address or an Elastic IP address.

To check whether these attributes are enabled for your VPC, see View and update DNS attributes for your VPC.

Attribute Description
enableDnsHostnames

Determines whether the VPC supports assigning public DNS hostnames to instances with public IP addresses.

The default for this attribute is false unless the VPC is a default VPC.

enableDnsSupport

Determines whether the VPC supports DNS resolution through the Amazon provided DNS server.

If this attribute is true, queries to the Amazon provided DNS server succeed. For more information, see Amazon DNS server.

The default for this attribute is true.

Rules and considerations

The following rules apply:

  • If both attributes are set to true, the following occurs:

    • Instances with public IP addresses receive corresponding public DNS hostnames.

    • The Amazon Route 53 Resolver server can resolve Amazon-provided private DNS hostnames.

  • If at least one of the attributes is set to false, the following occurs:

    • Instances with public IP addresses do not receive corresponding public DNS hostnames.

    • The Amazon Route 53 Resolver cannot resolve Amazon-provided private DNS hostnames.

    • Instances receive custom private DNS hostnames if there is a custom domain name in the DHCP options set. If you are not using the Amazon Route 53 Resolver server, your custom domain name servers must resolve the hostname as appropriate.

  • If you use custom DNS domain names defined in a private hosted zone in Amazon Route 53, or use private DNS with interface VPC endpoints (AWS PrivateLink), you must set both the enableDnsHostnames and enableDnsSupport attributes to true.

  • The Amazon Route 53 Resolver can resolve private DNS hostnames to private IPv4 addresses for all address spaces, including where the IPv4 address range of your VPC falls outside of the private IPv4 addresses ranges specified by RFC 1918. However, if you created your VPC before October 2016, the Amazon Route 53 Resolver does not resolve private DNS hostnames if your VPC's IPv4 address range falls outside of these ranges. To enable support for this, contact AWS Support.

DNS quotas

Each EC2 instance can send 1024 packets per second per network interface to Route 53 Resolver (specifically the .2 address, such as 10.0.0.2 and 169.254.169.253). This quota cannot be increased. The number of DNS queries per second supported by Route 53 Resolver varies by the type of query, the size of the response, and the protocol in use. For more information and recommendations for a scalable DNS architecture, see the AWS Hybrid DNS with Active Directory Technical Guide.

If you reach the quota, the Route 53 Resolver rejects traffic. Some of the causes for reaching the quota might be a DNS throttling issue, or instance metadata queries that use the Route 53 Resolver network interface. For information about how to solve VPC DNS throttling issues, see How can I determine whether my DNS queries to the Amazon provided DNS server are failing due to VPC DNS throttling. For information about instance metadata retrieval, see Retrieve instance metadata in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Linux Instances.

View DNS hostnames for your EC2 instance

You can view the DNS hostnames for a running instance or a network interface using the Amazon EC2 console or the command line.

The Public DNS (IPv4) and Private DNS fields are available when the DNS options are enabled for the VPC that is associated with the instance. For more information, see DNS attributes in your VPC.

Instance

To view DNS hostnames for an instance using the console

  1. Open the Amazon EC2 console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Instances.

  3. Select your instance from the list.

  4. In the details pane, the Public DNS (IPv4) and Private DNS fields display the DNS hostnames, if applicable.

To view DNS hostnames for an instance using the command line

You can use one of the following commands. For more information about these command line interfaces, see Working with Amazon VPC.

Network interface

To view the private DNS hostname for a network interface using the console

  1. Open the Amazon EC2 console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Network Interfaces.

  3. Select the network interface from the list.

  4. In the details pane, the Private DNS (IPv4) field displays the private DNS hostname.

To view DNS hostnames for a network interface using the command line

You can use one of the following commands. For more information about these command line interfaces, see Working with Amazon VPC.

View and update DNS attributes for your VPC

You can view and update the DNS support attributes for your VPC using the Amazon VPC console.

To describe and update DNS support for a VPC using the console

  1. Open the Amazon VPC console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/vpc/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Your VPCs.

  3. Select the checkbox for the VPC.

  4. Review the information in Details. In this example, both DNS hostnames and DNS resolution are enabled.

    
              The DNS Settings tab
  5. To update these settings, choose Actions and then choose either Edit DNS hostnames or Edit DNS resolution. When prompted, select or clear Enable, and then choose Save changes.

To describe DNS support for a VPC using the command line

You can use one of the following commands. For more information about these command line interfaces, see Working with Amazon VPC.

To update DNS support for a VPC using the command line

You can use one of the following commands. For more information about these command line interfaces, see Working with Amazon VPC.

Private hosted zones

To access the resources in your VPC using custom DNS domain names, such as example.com, instead of using private IPv4 addresses or AWS-provided private DNS hostnames, you can create a private hosted zone in Route 53. A private hosted zone is a container that holds information about how you want to route traffic for a domain and its subdomains within one or more VPCs without exposing your resources to the internet. You can then create Route 53 resource record sets, which determine how Route 53 responds to queries for your domain and subdomains. For example, if you want browser requests for example.com to be routed to a web server in your VPC, you'll create an A record in your private hosted zone and specify the IP address of that web server. For more information about creating a private hosted zone, see Working with private hosted zones in the Amazon Route 53 Developer Guide.

To access resources using custom DNS domain names, you must be connected to an instance within your VPC. From your instance, you can test that your resource in your private hosted zone is accessible from its custom DNS name by using the ping command; for example, ping mywebserver.example.com. (You must ensure that your instance's security group rules allow inbound ICMP traffic for the ping command to work.)

Private hosted zones do not support transitive relationships outside of the VPC; for example, you cannot access your resources using their custom private DNS names from the other side of a VPN connection.

Important

If you use custom DNS domain names defined in a private hosted zone in Amazon Route 53, you must set both the enableDnsHostnames and enableDnsSupport attributes to true.