创建由实例存储支持的 Linux AMI - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

创建由实例存储支持的 Linux AMI

您在启动实例时指定的 AMI 决定根设备卷的类型

要创建由实例存储支持的 Linux AMI,请通过从由实例存储支持的现有 Linux AMI 启动的实例开始进行。根据您自己的需要自定义该实例之后,请捆绑卷并注册新 AMI,您可以使用该 AMI 启动具有这些自定义项的新实例。

您无法创建实例存储支持的 Windows AMI,因为 Windows AMI 不支持根设备的实例存储。

重要

只有以下实例类型支持将实例存储卷作为根设备:C1、C3、D2、I2、M1、M2、M3、R3 和 X1。

用于 Amazon EBS-backed AMI 的 AMI 创建过程有所不同。有关 Amazon EBS 支持的实例和实例存储支持的实例之间的差别,以及如何确定实例的根设备类型的更多信息,请参阅根设备存储。如果您需要创建 Amazon EBS-backed AMI,则请参阅 创建 Amazon EBS-backed AMI

由实例存储支持的 AMI 的创建过程概述

下图总结了从由实例存储支持的实例创建 AMI 的过程。

创建由实例存储支持的 AMI。

首先,从类似于您要创建的 AMI 的 AMI 启动实例。您可以连接到您的实例并进行自定义。根据您的需要设置好实例后,您可以捆绑它。完成捆绑过程需要几分钟的时间。该过程完成之后,您会得到一个捆绑,该捆绑由映像清单 (image.manifest.xml) 以及包含根卷模板的文件 (image.part.xx) 组成。接下来,将该捆绑上传到 Amazon S3 存储桶,然后注册您的 AMI。

注意

要将对象上载到实例存储支持的 Linux AMI 的 S3 存储桶,必须为该存储桶启用 ACL。否则,Amazon EC2 将无法在要上载的对象上设置 ACL。如果您的目标存储桶使用存储桶拥有者强制执行的 S3 对象所有权设置,则这将不起作用,因为 ACL 已禁用。有关更多信息,请参阅使用 S3 对象所有权控制已上载对象的所有权

当您使用新 AMI 启动实例时,我们会使用您上传到 Amazon S3 的捆绑为实例创建根卷。Amazon S3 中的捆绑使用的存储空间会使您的账户产生费用,直到将其删除。有关更多信息,请参阅注销(删除)AMI

如果除了根设备卷之外,您还向实例添加实例存储卷,则新 AMI 的块储存设备映射包含这些卷的信息,并且您从新 AMI 启动的实例的块储存设备映射自动包含这些卷的信息。有关更多信息,请参阅 块设备映射

先决条件

必须先完成以下任务才能创建 AMI:

  • 安装 AMI 工具。有关更多信息,请参阅设置 AMI 工具

  • 安装 AWS CLI。有关更多信息,请参阅开始设置 AWS Command Line Interface

  • 请确保您具有用于捆绑的 S3 存储桶,并且您的存储桶已启用 ACL。有关配置 ACL 的更多信息,请参阅 配置 ACL

    • 要使用 AWS Management Console创建 S3 存储桶,请打开 Amazon S3 控制台(地址为 https://console.aws.amazon.com/s3/),然后选择创建存储桶

    • 要使用 AWS CLI 创建 S3 存储桶,请使用 mb 命令。如果您安装的 AMI 工具版本为 1.5.18 或更高版本,则还可以使用 ec2-upload-bundle 命令创建 S3 存储桶。有关更多信息,请参阅 ec2-upload-bundle

  • 确保您拥有您的 AWS 账户 ID。有关更多信息,请参阅 AWS 账户管理参考指南中的查看 AWS 账户 身份

  • 确保您拥有凭证以使用 AWS CLI。有关更多信息,请参阅《AWS Account Management 参考指南》中的 AWS 账户最佳实践

  • 确保您拥有 X.509 证书以及相应的私有密钥。

    • 如果您需要创建 X.509 证书,请参阅管理签名证书。X.509 证书和私有密钥用于加密和解密您的 AMI。

    • [中国(北京)] 使用 $EC2_AMITOOL_HOME/etc/ec2/amitools/cert-ec2-cn-north-1.pem 证书。

    • [AWS GovCloud(美国西部)] 使用 $EC2_AMITOOL_HOME/etc/ec2/amitools/cert-ec2-gov.pem 证书。

  • 连接到您的 实例并对其进行自定义。例如,您可以安装软件和应用程序、复制数据、删除临时文件及修改 Linux 配置。

Menu
Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
User Guide for Linux Instances

Creating an Instance Store-Backed Linux AMI

To create an instance store-backed Linux AMI, start from an instance that you've launched from an existing instance store-backed Linux AMI. After you've customized the instance to suit your needs, bundle the volume and register a new AMI, which you can use to launch new instances with these customizations.

If you need to create an instance store-backed Windows AMI, see Creating an Instance Store-Backed Windows AMI in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Windows Instances.

The AMI creation process is different for instance store-backed AMIs. For more information about the differences between Amazon EBS-backed and instance store-backed instances, and how to determine the root device type for your instance, see Storage for the Root Device. If you need to create an Amazon EBS-backed Linux AMI, see Creating an Amazon EBS-Backed Linux AMI.

Overview of the Creation Process for Instance Store-Backed AMIs

The following diagram summarizes the process of creating an AMI from an instance store-backed instance.

Creating an instance store-backed AMI

First, launch an instance from an AMI that's similar to the AMI that you'd like to create. You can connect to your instance and customize it. When the instance is set up the way you want it, you can bundle it. It takes several minutes for the bundling process to complete. After the process completes, you have a bundle, which consists of an image manifest (image.manifest.xml) and files (image.part.xx) that contain a template for the root volume. Next you upload the bundle to your Amazon S3 bucket and then register your AMI.

When you launch an instance using the new AMI, we create the root volume for the instance using the bundle that you uploaded to Amazon S3. The storage space used by the bundle in Amazon S3 incurs charges to your account until you delete it. For more information, see Deregistering Your AMI.

If you add instance store volumes to your instance in addition to the root device volume, the block device mapping for the new AMI contains information for these volumes, and the block device mappings for instances that you launch from the new AMI automatically contain information for these volumes. For more information, see Block Device Mapping.

Prerequisites

Before you can create an AMI, you must complete the following tasks:

  • Install the AMI tools. For more information, see Setting Up the AMI Tools.

  • Install the AWS CLI. For more information, see Getting Set Up with the AWS Command Line Interface.

  • Ensure that you have an Amazon S3 bucket for the bundle. To create an Amazon S3 bucket, open the Amazon S3 console and click Create Bucket.

    Note

    You can also use the AWS CLI mb command to create a bucket.

  • Ensure that you have the following credentials:

    • Your AWS account ID. To find your AWS account ID number in the AWS Management Console, click on Support in the navigation bar in the upper-right, and then click Support Center. Your currently signed in account ID appears below the Support menu.

    • An X.509 certificate and corresponding private key. If you need to create an X.509 certificate, see Managing Signing Certificates. The X.509 certificate and private key are used to encrypt and decrypt your AMI.

    • Your AWS account access key ID and secret access key. For more information, see Creating, Modifying, and Viewing Access Keys in the IAM User Guide.

  • Connect to your instance and customize it. For example, you can install software and applications, copy data, delete temporary files, and modify the Linux configuration.

Topics