Elastic Beanstalk 滾動環境資訊更新 - AWS Elastic Beanstalk

Elastic Beanstalk 滾動環境資訊更新

組態變更需要替換執行個體時,Elastic Beanstalk 能夠以批次方式執行更新,避免在傳播變更期間發生停機。在滾動更新期間,您可將容量設定為僅減少單一批次的大小。Elastic Beanstalk 會停止單一批次執行個體的服務,將其終止,然後啟動具備新組態的批次。新的批次開始處理請求後,Elastic Beanstalk 會繼續進行下一批次。

滾動組態更新的批次可根據時間定期處理 (每個批次間會出現延遲),或是根據運作狀態處理。根據時間進行的滾動更新,您可設定 Elastic Beanstalk 完成啟動一批次執行個體後的等待時間,之後才繼續進行下一批次。此暫停時間可讓您的應用程式進行啟動載入作業,並開始處理請求。

根據運作狀態進行的滾動更新,Elastic Beanstalk 繼續進行下一批次前,會等待前一批次的執行個體通過運作狀態檢查。執行個體的運作狀態由運作狀態報告系統 (基礎型或增強型) 判定。若是基本運作狀態,單一批次內的所有執行個體一通過 Elastic Load Balancing (ELB) 運作狀態檢查,即可視為運作狀態良好。

若是增強型運作狀態報告,單一批次內的所有執行個體都必須連續通過多次運作狀態檢查,之後 Elastic Beanstalk 才會繼續進行下一批次。增強型運作狀態除了具備只檢查執行個體的 ELB 運作狀態檢查,亦會監控應用程式日誌以及環境其他資源的狀態。若 Web 伺服器環境搭配增強型運作狀態,所有執行個體必須在兩分鐘內通過 12 個運作狀態檢查 (工作者環境則是在三分鐘內通過 18 個檢查)。若一個執行個體無法通過一項運作狀態檢查,則計數會重設。

若單一批次未在滾動更新逾時內 (預設為 30 分鐘) 恢復良好運作,則會取消更新。滾動更新逾時是可在 aws:autoscaling:updatepolicy:rollingupdate 命名空間使用的組態選項。若您的應用程式未通過運作狀態檢查 (即未處於 Ok 狀態),但就另一層級而言仍屬穩定,您可於 aws:elasticbeanstalk:healthreporting:system 命名空間中設定 HealthCheckSuccessThreshold 選項,變更在 Elastic Beanstalk 中視執行個體運作良好的層級。

若滾動更新程序失敗,Elastic Beanstalk 會開始另一次滾動更新,以轉返至之前的組態。滾動更新失敗的原因可能是未通過運作狀態檢查,或是由於啟動新執行個體導致超過您帳戶的配額。例如,若您達到 Amazon EC2 執行個體的數量配額,滾動更新可能會在嘗試佈建新一批次的執行個體時失敗。在此情況下,轉返亦會失敗。

轉返失敗會結束更新程序,讓您的環境停留在運作狀態不佳的狀態。尚未處理的批次仍使用舊的組態運行執行個體,而成功完成的批次則會具備新的組態。欲修正轉返失敗後的環境,請先解決造成更新失敗的根本原因,然後啟動另一次環境更新。

另一個方法是將新版本的應用程式部署至不同環境,然後執行 CNAME 交換重新導向流量,達到零停機時間。如需詳細資訊,請參閱透過 Elastic Beanstalk 進行藍/綠部署

滾動更新與滾動部署比較

當您變更的設定需要為環境佈建新的 Amazon EC2 執行個體時,即會發生滾動更新。這包括變更 Auto Scaling 群組組態 (如執行個體類型和金鑰對設定) 以及變更 VPC 設定。滾動更新會先終止各個批次的執行個體,再佈建新的批次予以替換。

進行滾動部署的情況是當您部署應用程式的時候,且滾動部署通常無須替換環境中的執行個體。Elastic Beanstalk 會停止各個批次的服務,部署新的應用程式版本,然後恢復其服務。

例外情況是當您變更需要替換執行個體的設定時,同時部署新的應用程式版本。例如,若您於原始碼套件的組態檔案變更金鑰名稱設定並將其部署至您的環境,這會觸發滾動更新。此時不會將新的應用程式版本部署至現有執行個體的各個批次,而是會佈建具備新組態的新批次執行個體。在此情況下,不會另行部署,因為新的應用程式版本會採用新的執行個體。

只要環境更新包含佈建新的執行個體,就會出現部署階段,此時應用程式原始碼會部署至新的執行個體,且會套用修改執行個體上作業系統或軟體的組態設定。部署運作狀態檢查設定 (Ignore health check (忽略運作狀態檢查)Healthy threshold (運作狀態閾值)Command timeout (命令逾時)) 也會於部署期間,套用至根據運作狀態進行的滾動更新和不可變更新。

設定滾動更新

您可於 Elastic Beanstalk 主控台啟用並設定滾動更新。

欲啟用滾動更新

  1. 開啟 Elastic Beanstalk 主控台,然後在 Regions (區域) 清單中選取您的 AWS 區域。

  2. 在導覽窗格中,選擇 Environments (環境),然後在清單中選擇您環境的名稱。

    注意

    如果您有許多環境,請使用搜尋列來篩選環境清單。

  3. 在導覽窗格中,選擇 Configuration (組態)

  4. Rolling updates and deployments (滾動更新和部署) 組態類別中,選擇 Edit (編輯)

  5. Configuration updates (組態更新) 區段中,針對 Rolling update type (滾動更新類型),選取其中一個 Rolling (滾動) 選項。

    
            在修改滾動更新與部署組態頁面上的組態更新區段
  6. 選擇 Batch size (批次大小)Minimum capacity (容量下限)Pause time (暫停時間) 設定。

  7. 選擇 Apply (套用)。

Rolling updates and deployments (滾動更新和部署) 頁面的 Configuration updates (組態更新) 區段,具備下列滾動更新的選項:

  • Rolling update type (滾動更新類型) – Elastic Beanstalk 完成更新一批次執行個體後的等待時間,之後才繼續進行下一批次,以允許這些執行個體完成啟動載入作業並開始處理流量。您可以從以下選項中選擇:

    • Rolling based on Health (根據運作狀態進行滾動) – 等待目前批次內執行個體恢復良好運作並恢復服務,之後才繼續下一批次。

    • Rolling based on Time (根據時間進行滾動) – 指定新執行個體啟動與其恢復服務並進行下一批次間的等待時間。

    • Immutable (不可變) – 透過不可變的更新作業,將組態變更套用至全新的執行個體群組。

  • Batch size (批次大小) – 各個批次欲替換的執行個體數量 (介於 110000 之間)。根據預設,此值為 Auto Scaling 群組大小下限的三分之一,無條件進位至整數。

  • Minimum capacity (最低容量) – 更新其他執行個體同時保持執行的執行個體數量下限 (介於 09999 之間)。預設值為 Auto Scaling 群組的大小下限或 Auto Scaling 群組的大小上限減一,以較低者為準。

  • Pause time (暫停時間) (僅適用根據時間進行的更新) – 一批次更新完成直到繼續進行下一批前的等待時間,讓您的應用程式能夠開始接收流量。介於 0 秒與 1 小時之間。

aws:autoscaling:updatepolicy:rollingupdate 命名空間

您亦可使用 aws:autoscaling:updatepolicy:rollingupdate 命名空間中的組態選項來設定滾動更新。

使用 RollingUpdateEnabled 選項來啟用滾動更新,RollingUpdateType 則可選擇更新類型。RollingUpdateType 支援下列值:

  • Health – 等待目前批次內執行個體恢復良好運作並恢復服務,之後才繼續下一批次。

  • Time – 指定新執行個體啟動與其恢復服務並進行下一批次間的等待時間。

  • Immutable – 透過不可變的更新作業,將組態變更套用至全新的執行個體群組。

當您啟用滾動更新,請設定 MaxBatchSizeMinInstancesInService 選項,進行各個批次大小的設定。以根據時間和根據運作狀態的滾動更新而言,您亦可分別設定 PauseTimeTimeout

例如,欲一次啟動最多五個執行個體同時至少兩個執行個體保持服務,並在批次之間等待 5 分 30 秒,請指定下列選項與值。

範例 .ebextensions/timebased.config

option_settings: aws:autoscaling:updatepolicy:rollingupdate: RollingUpdateEnabled: true MaxBatchSize: 5 MinInstancesInService: 2 RollingUpdateType: Time PauseTime: PT5M30S

欲啟用根據運作狀態的滾動更新,且各個批次的逾時為 45 分鐘,請指定下列選項與值:

範例 .ebextensions/healthbased.config

option_settings: aws:autoscaling:updatepolicy:rollingupdate: RollingUpdateEnabled: true MaxBatchSize: 5 MinInstancesInService: 2 RollingUpdateType: Health Timeout: PT45M

TimeoutPauseTime 值都必須以 ISO8601 持續時間格式指定:PT#H#M#S,其中每個 # 分別為時數、分鐘數或秒數。

EB CLI 和 Elastic Beanstalk 主控台會為前述選項套用建議的數值。若您想要使用組態檔進行相同的設定,您必須移除這些設定。如需詳細資訊,請參閱建議值

Menu
AWS Elastic Beanstalk
Developer Guide (API Version 2010-12-01)

Elastic Beanstalk Rolling Environment Configuration Updates

When a configuration change requires instances to be replaced, Elastic Beanstalk can perform the update in batches to avoid downtime while the change is propagated. During a rolling update, capacity is only reduced by the size of a single batch, which you can configure. Elastic Beanstalk takes one batch of instances out of service, terminates them, and then launches a batch with the new configuration. After the new batch starts serving requests, Elastic Beanstalk moves on to the next batch.

Rolling configuration update batches can be processed periodically (time-based), with a delay between each batch, or based on health. For time-based rolling updates, you can configure the amount of time that Elastic Beanstalk waits after completing the launch of a batch of instances before moving on to the next batch. This pause time allows your application to bootsrap and start serving requests.

With health-based rolling updates, Elastic Beanstalk waits until instances in a batch pass health checks before moving on to the next batch. The health of an instance is determined by the health reporting system, which can be basic or enhanced. With basic health, a batch is considered healthy as soon as all instances in it pass ELB health checks.

With enhanced health reporting, all of the instances in a batch must pass multiple consecutive health checks before Elastic Beanstalk will move on to the next batch. In addition to ELB health checks, which only check your instances, enhanced health monitors application logs and the state of your environment's other resources. In a web server environment with enhanced health, all instances must pass 12 health checks over the course of two minutes (18 checks over three minutes for worker environments). If any instance fails one health check, the count resets.

If a batch does not become healthy within the rolling update timeout (default is 30 minutes), the update is cancelled. Rolling update timeout is a configuration option that is available in the aws:autoscaling:updatepolicy:rollingupdate namespace. If your application does not pass health checks with Ok status but is stable at a different level, you can set the HealthCheckSuccessThreshold option in the aws:elasticbeanstalk:command namespace to change the level at which Elastic Beanstalk considers an instance to be healthy.

If the rolling update process fails, Elastic Beanstalk starts another rolling update to rollback to the previous configuration. If the rollback fails, then you must terminate the environment and then launch a new environment. A rolling update can fail due to failed health checks or if launching new instances causes you to exceed the limits on your account. An alternative method is to deploy the new version of your application to a different environment and then perform a CNAME swap to redirect traffic with zero downtime. See Blue/Green Deployments with AWS Elastic Beanstalk for more information.

Rolling Updates vs Rolling Deployments

Rolling updates occur when you change settings that require new EC2 instances to be provisioned for your environment. This includes changes to the Auto Scaling group configuration such as instance type and key pair settings, and changes to VPC settings. In a rolling update, each batch of instances is terminated prior to a new batch being provisioned to replace it.

Rolling deployments occur whenever you deploy your application and can typically be performed without replacing instances in your environment. Elastic Beanstalk takes each batch out of service, deploys the new application version, and then places it back in service.

The exception to this is if you change settings that require instance replacement at the same time you deploy a new application version. For example, if you change the key name settings in a configuration file in your source bundle and deploy it to your environment, you trigger a rolling update. Instead of deploying your new application version to each batch of existing instances, a new batch of instances is provisioned with the new configuration. A separate deployment does not occur in this case because the new instances are brought up with the new application version.

Any time that new instances are provisioned as part of an environment update, there is a deployment phase where your application's source code is deployed to the new instances and any configuration settings that modify the operating system or software on the instances are applied. Deployment health check settings (Ignore health check, Healthy threshold and Command timeout) also apply to health based rolling udates and immutable updates during the deployment phase.

Configuring Rolling Updates

You can enable and configure rolling updates in the Elastic Beanstalk Management Console.

To enable rolling updates

  1. Open the Elastic Beanstalk console.

  2. Navigate to the management console for your environment.

  3. Choose Configuration.

  4. In the Updates and Deployments section, choose Edit.

  5. In the Configuration Updates section, select Rolling configuration updates.

    Elastic Beanstalk Rolling Updates Configuration Window
  6. Choose an Update type and batch settings.

  7. Choose Apply.

The Configuration Updates section of the Updates and Deployments page has the following options for rolling updates:

  • Update type – Choose from the following options: Elastic Beanstalk waits after it finishes updating a batch of instances before moving on to the next batch, to allow those instances to finish bootstrapping and start serving traffic.

    • Rolling based on Health – Wait until instances in the current batch are healthy before placing instances in service and starting the next batch.

    • Rolling based on Time – Specify an amount of time to wait between launching new instances and placing them in service before starting the next batch.

    • Immutable – Apply the configuration change to a fresh group of instances by performing an immutable update.

  • Maximum batch size – The number of instances to replace in each batch, between 1 and 10000. By default, this value is one-third of the minimum size of the autoscaling group, rounded up.

  • Minimum instances in service – The minimum number of instances to keep running while other instances are being updated, between 0 and 9999. The default value is either the minimum size of the autoscaling group or one less than the maximum size of the autoscaling group, whichever number is lower.

  • Pause time (time-based only) – The amount of time to wait after a batch is updated before moving on to the next batch, to allow your application to start receiving traffic. Between 0 seconds to 1 hour.

The aws:autoscaling:updatepolicy:rollingupdate namespace

You can also use the configuration options in the aws:autoscaling:updatepolicy:rollingupdate namespace to configure rolling updates.

Use the RollingUpdateEnabled option to enable rolling updates, and RollingUpdateType to choose the update type. The following values are supported for RollingUpdateType:

  • Health .– Wait until instances in the current batch are healthy before placing instances in service and starting the next batch.

  • Time – Specify an amount of time to wait between launching new instances and placing them in service before starting the next batch.

  • Immutable – Apply the configuration change to a fresh group of instances by performing an immutable update.

When you enable rolling updates, set the MaxBatchSize and MinInstancesInService options to configure the size of each batch. For time-based and health-based rolling updates, you can also configure a PauseTime and Timeout, respectively.

For example, to launch up to five instances at a time, while maintaining at least two instances in service, and wait five minutes and 30 seconds between batches, specify the following options and values:

Example .ebextensions/timebased.config

option_settings:
  aws:autoscaling:updatepolicy:rollingupdate:
    RollingUpdateEnabled: true
    MaxBatchSize: 5
    MinInstancesInService: 2
    RollingUpdateType: Time
    PauseTime: PT5M30S

To enable health based rolling updates, with a 45 minute timeout for each batch, specify the following options and values:

Example .ebextensions/healthbased.config

option_settings:
  aws:autoscaling:updatepolicy:rollingupdate:
    RollingUpdateEnabled: true
    MaxBatchSize: 5
    MinInstancesInService: 2
    RollingUpdateType: Health
    Timeout: PT45M

Timeout and PauseTime values must be specified in ISO8601 duration: PT#H#M#S, where each # is the number of hours, minutes, and/or seconds, respectively.

The EB CLI and Elastic Beanstalk console apply recommended values for the preceding options. These settings must be removed if you want to use configuration files to configure the same. See Recommended Values for details.