Dedicated Hosts - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

Dedicated Hosts

Amazon EC2 專用執行個體是具有專供您使用之 EC2 執行個體容量的實體伺服器。專用執行個體可讓您使用現有的每個通訊端、每個核心或每個 VM 軟體授權,包括 Windows Server、Microsoft SQL Server、SUSE 及 Linux Enterprise Server,以此類推。

如需 專用執行個體 中支援之組態的相關資訊,請參閱專用執行個體組態

專用執行個體與專用執行個體之間的差異

專用執行個體和專用執行個體都可用來在完全供您使用的實體伺服器上啟動 Amazon EC2 執行個體。

專用執行個體和專用執行個體上的執行個體之間沒有效能、安全或實體差異。不過,兩者之間還是有一些差異。下表特別列出了專用執行個體與專用執行個體之間的主要差異:

Dedicated Host Dedicated Instance

計費

按每台主機計費

按每個執行個體計費

通訊端、核心和主機 ID 的可見度

提供通訊端與實體核心數目的可見度

沒有可見度

主機和執行個體親和性

可讓您隨時間一致地將執行個體部署到相同的實體伺服器

不支援

訂定執行個體配置目標

對於執行個體在實體伺服器上的配置方式,提供額外可見性和控制權

不支援

自動執行個體復原功能

支援。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 主機復原

支援

使用自有授權 (BYOL)

支援

不支援

Capacity Reservations

不支援

支援

使用自有授權

專用執行個體可讓您使用現有的每個通訊端、每個核心或每個 VM 軟體授權。當您使用自有授權時,需負責管理自己的授權。不過,Amazon EC2 具有的功能可協助您保有授權合規,例如執行個體親和性和鎖定的放置。

若要在 Amazon EC2 中使用自有的磁碟區授權機器映像,需遵循以下一般步驟。

  1. 確定授權條款 (控管機器映像的使用辦法) 允許您在虛擬化雲端環境中使用機器映像。如需 Microsoft 授權的詳細資訊,請參閱 Amazon Web Services 和 Microsoft 授權

  2. 確定您可以在 Amazon EC2 中使用機器映像後,請使用 VM Import/Export 將其匯入。如需如何匯入機器映像的資訊,請參閱 VM Import/Export 使用者指南

  3. 匯入機器映像之後,您就可以透過該映像在帳戶中的作用中專用執行個體上啟動執行個體。

  4. 依據作業系統而定,當您執行這些執行個體時,您可能必須為自己的 KMS 伺服器 (例如 Windows Server 或 Windows SQL Server) 啟用執行個體。您無法為 Amazon Windows KMS 伺服器啟用匯入的 Windows AMI

注意

若要追蹤您的映像在 AWS 中的使用狀況,請在 AWS Config 中啟用主機記錄。您可以使用 AWS Config 來記錄專用執行個體的組態變更,並將輸出做為授權回報的資料來源。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 追蹤組態變更

專用執行個體 執行個體容量

下列執行個體系列可支援同一專用執行個體上的多個執行個體類型:T3A1C5M5R5C5nR5nM5n。其他執行個體系列僅支援同一執行個體類型 專用執行個體。

例如,當您配置一個 R5 專用執行個體,則包含 2 個通訊端和 48 個實體核心,您可在其上執行不同的執行個體大小,例如 r5.2xlarger5.4xlarge,且最多不得超過與主機關聯的核心容量。但是,對於每個執行個體系列,每種執行個體大小都有限制可執行的執行個體數目。例如,R5 專用執行個體 最多支援 2 個 r5.8xlarge 執行個體,使用 32 個實體核心。然後可以使用別種大小的其他 R5 執行個體來將主機填滿到核心容量。如需了解每個執行個體系列支援的執行個體大小數目,請參閱專用執行個體組態

注意

對於支援多種執行個體規模的專用執行個體,建議您先啟動較大的執行個體,然後視需要以較小的執行個體填滿剩餘的執行個體容量。

下表顯示可在 專用執行個體 上執行的不同執行個體大小組合的範例。

執行個體系列 範例執行個體大小組合

R5

  • 範例 1:4 x r5.4xlarge + 4 x r5.2xlarge

  • 範例 2:1 x r5.12xlarge + 1 x r5.4xlarge + 1 x r5.2xlarge + 5 x r5.xlarge + 2 x r5.large

C5

  • 範例 1:1 x c5.9xlarge + 2 x c5.4xlarge + 1 x c5.xlarge

  • 範例 2:4 x c5.4xlarge + 1 x c5.xlarge + 2 x c5.large

M5

  • 範例 1:4 x m5.4xlarge + 4 x m5.2xlarge

  • 範例 2:1 x m5.12xlarge + 1 x m5.4xlarge + 1 x m5.2xlarge + 5 x m5.xlarge + 2 x m5.large

如需 專用執行個體 支援的執行個體系列和執行個體大小組態的詳細資訊,請參閱專用執行個體組態表格

專用執行個體上的爆量效能 T3 執行個體

專用執行個體支援爆量效能 T3 執行個體。T3 執行個體可讓您在專用硬體上使用合格的 BYOL 授權軟體,可說是符合成本效益的方式。T3 執行個體的 vCPU 佔用空間較小,合併工作負載時所需的主機較少,而且每個核心授權都可以發揮最大的使用率。

T3 專用執行個體最適合執行 BYOL 軟體,而 CPU 使用率為低度至中等。這包括符合資格的依通訊端數、依核心數或依虛擬機器數的軟體授權,例如 Windows Server、Windows 桌面、SQL Server、SUSE Enterprise Linux Server、Red Hat Enterprise Linux 及 Oracle 資料庫。例如,適用於 T3 專用執行個體的工作負載包括中小型資料庫、虛擬桌面、開發及測試環境、程式碼儲存庫和產品原型等。T3 專用執行個體不建議用於 CPU 持續使用率高的工作負載,或同時遇到相關 CPU 高載問題的工作負載。

專用執行個體上的 T3 執行個體使用的額度模型是與共用租用硬體上的 T3 執行個體相同。但是,其僅支援 standard 額度模型;並不支援 unlimited 額度模型。在 standard 模式中,專用執行個體上的 T3 執行個體使用與共用租用硬體上爆量效能執行個體相同的方式獲得花費以及累積額度。它們提供基準 CPU 效能,並可大幅超越基準水準。若要讓效能突增至超過基準,執行個體會用掉在 CPU 額度餘額中所累積的額度。當累積的額度耗盡時,CPU 使用率會降低至基準水準。如需 standard 模式的詳細資訊,請參閱 標準爆量效能執行個體如何運作

T3 專用執行個體支援 Amazon EC2 專用執行個體提供的所有功能,包括在單一主機、主機資源群組和 BYOL 上的多種執行個體規模。

支援的 T3 執行個體大小和組態

T3 專用執行個體執行一般用途高載 T3 執行個體,透過提供基準 CPU 效能及在需要時高載執行更高的效能,來分享主機的 CPU 資源。如此一來,擁有 48 個核心的 T3 專用執行個體,每台主機最多可支援 192 個執行個體。為了有效利用主機的資源並提供最佳執行個體效能,Amazon EC2 執行個體置放演算法會自動計算可支援主機上啟動的執行個體數量和執行個體大小這兩者的組合。

T3 專用執行個體支援同一主機上的多個執行個體類型。所有 T3 執行個體大小都受專用執行個體的支援。您可執行各種不同的 T3 執行個體組合,只要不超出主機的 CPU 上限即可。

下表列出支援的執行個體類型、摘要說明每個執行個體類型的效能,並指明可啟動之每種大小的執行個體數目上限。

執行個體類型 vCPU 記憶體 (GiB) 每個 vCPU 的基準 CPU 使用率 網路高載頻寬 (Gbps) Amazon EBS 高載頻寬 (Mbps) 每個專用執行個體的執行個體數目上限
t3.nano 2 0.5 5% 5 最高 2,085 192
t3.micro 2 1 10% 5 最高 2,085 192
t3.small 2 2 20% 5 最高 2,085 192
t3.medium 2 4 20% 5 最高 2,085 192
t3.large 2 8 30% 5 2,780 96
t3.xlarge 4 16 40% 5 2,780 48
t3.2xlarge 8 32 40% 5 2,780 24

監控 T3 專用執行個體的 CPU 使用率

您可使用 DedicatedHostCPUUtilization Amazon CloudWatch 指標來監控專用執行個體的 vCPU 使用率。EC2 命名空間和 Per-Host-Metrics 維度均可使用此指標。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 專用執行個體指標

專用執行個體 限制

在您配置專用執行個體之前,請記下以下的法規與限制:

  • 若要在 專用執行個體 上執行 RHEL、SUSE Linux 和 SQL Server,您必須使用自有的 AMI。AWS 提供的或可在 AWS Marketplace 上使用的 RHEL、SUSE Linux 和 SQL Server AMI 無法與專用執行個體搭配使用。如需如何建立自己的 AMI 的詳細資訊,請參閱使用自有授權

    此限制不適用於配置給記憶體密集型執行個體 (u-6tb1.metalu-9tb1.metalu-12tb1.metalu-18tb1.metalu-24tb1.metal) 的主機。AWS 所提供或 AWS Marketplace 上可用的 RHEL 和 SUSE Linux AMI 可與這些主機搭配使用。

  • 每個區域、每個執行個體系列可以配置至多兩個隨需專用執行個體。您可以請求提高限制:請求提高 Amazon EC2 專用執行個體的配置限制

  • 執行於專用執行個體上的執行個體僅可在 VPC 中啟動。

  • 僅在使用指定主機資源群組的啟動範本時,才支援 Auto Scaling 群組。如需詳細資訊,請參閱《Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 使用者指南》中的建立 Auto Scaling 群組的啟動範本

  • 不支援 Amazon RDS 執行個體。

  • AWS 免費用量方案不適用於專用執行個體。

  • 執行個體的配置控制是指針對專用執行個體中所啟動的執行個體進行管理。您無法在置放群組中啟動 專用執行個體。

  • 如果您為虛擬執行個體類型分配主機,則在分配主機之後,無法將執行個體類型修改為 .metal 執行個體類型。例如,如果您為 m5.large 執行個體類型分配主機,則無法將執行個體類型修改為 m5.metal

    同樣,如果您為 .metal 執行個體類型分配主機,則在分配主機之後,無法將執行個體類型修改為虛擬執行個體類型。例如,如果您為 m5.metal 執行個體類型分配主機,則無法將執行個體類型修改為 m5.large

定價和計費

專用主機 定價會根據付款選項有所差異。

隨需專用執行個體

當您將專用執行個體配置到帳戶時,會自動啟用隨需計費。

專用執行個體的隨需價格依執行個體系列和區域而異。不論您選擇在專用執行個體中啟動的執行個體數量或大小為何,都會以每秒 (最低 60 秒) 費率計費。如需隨需定價的詳細資訊,請參閱 Amazon EC2 專用執行個體 隨需定價

您可以隨時釋出隨需專用執行個體以停止累積計費。如需如何釋出專用執行個體的資訊,請參閱發行版本 專用執行個體

Dedicated Host Reservations

專用執行個體預留提供相當於執行隨需專用執行個體的計費折扣。保留有三種付款選項可用:

  • 無預付— 無預付保留可提供您一段期間的專用執行個體用量折扣,且不需要預付款。提供一年期和三年期。只有部分執行個體系列支援三年期無預付保留。

  • 部分預付— 必須預先支付其中一部分的保留,期間內剩餘的小時數則會以折扣後的費率計費。提供一年期和三年期。

  • 全額預付— 提供最低的有效價位。提供一年期和三年期,並預付整期的成本,日後不需另外付費。

您的帳戶中必須具備作用中專用執行個體,才能購買保留。每個保留可以涵蓋單一可用區域中支援相同執行個體系列的一或多部主機。保留會套用至主機上的執行個體系列,而不是執行個體大小。若您有三個具有不同大小執行個體的專用執行個體 (m4.xlargem4.mediumm4.large),您可以將單一 m4 保留與所有那些專用執行個體建立關聯。保留的執行個體系列和可用區域必須符合您想與其建立關聯之專用執行個體的執行個體系列和可用區域。

當保留與專用執行個體建立關聯時,直到保留的期間結束前都不能釋出專用執行個體。

如需保留定價的詳細資訊,請參閱 Amazon EC2 專用執行個體定價

Savings Plans

Savings Plans 是個彈性定價模式,提供 隨需執行個體 大幅節省成本。透過 Savings Plans,您可以對一致的使用量設定合約,每小時以美金計價,綁約一年或三年。這可提供您彈性使用 專用執行個體 以達到更佳的需求,且持續的節省金費,而不是與特定的 專用執行個體 綁約。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 AWS Savings Plans 使用者指南

注意

Savings Plans 不支援 u-6tb1.metalu-9tb1.metalu-12tb1.metalu-18tb1.metalu-24tb1.metal 專用執行個體。

在專用執行個體的 Windows Server 定價

根據 Microsoft 授權條款,您可以將現有的 Windows Server 和 SQL Server 授權帶到 專用執行個體。如果您選取自帶授權,則軟體使用不收取額外費用。

此外,您也可以使用 Amazon 提供的 Windows Server AMI,在 專用執行個體 上執行最新版本的 Windows Server。對於現有 SQL Server 授權有資格執行 專用執行個體,但需要 Windows Server 來執行 SQL Server 工作負載時,這種情況很常見。由 Amazon 提供的 Windows Server AMI 僅在最新一代執行個體類型上受支援。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 Amazon EC2 專用執行個體定價

Dedicated Hosts - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

Dedicated Hosts

An Amazon EC2 Dedicated Host is a physical server with EC2 instance capacity fully dedicated to your use. Dedicated Hosts allow you to use your existing per-socket, per-core, or per-VM software licenses, including Windows Server, Microsoft SQL Server, SUSE, and Linux Enterprise Server.

For information about the configurations supported on Dedicated Hosts, see Dedicated Hosts Configuration.

Differences between Dedicated Hosts and Dedicated Instances

Dedicated Hosts and Dedicated Instances can both be used to launch Amazon EC2 instances onto physical servers that are dedicated for your use.

There are no performance, security, or physical differences between Dedicated Instances and instances on Dedicated Hosts. However, there are some differences between the two. The following table highlights some of the key differences between Dedicated Hosts and Dedicated Instances:

Dedicated Host Dedicated Instance

Billing

Per-host billing

Per-instance billing

Visibility of sockets, cores, and host ID

Provides visibility of the number of sockets and physical cores

No visibility

Host and instance affinity

Allows you to consistently deploy your instances to the same physical server over time

Not supported

Targeted instance placement

Provides additional visibility and control over how instances are placed on a physical server

Not supported

Automatic instance recovery

Supported. For more information, see Host recovery.

Supported

Bring Your Own License (BYOL)

Supported

Not supported

Bring your own license

Dedicated Hosts allow you to use your existing per-socket, per-core, or per-VM software licenses. When you bring your own license, you are responsible for managing your own licenses. However, Amazon EC2 has features that help you maintain license compliance, such as instance affinity and targeted placement.

These are the general steps to follow in order to bring your own volume licensed machine image into Amazon EC2.

  1. Verify that the license terms controlling the use of your machine images allow usage in a virtualized cloud environment. For more information about Microsoft Licensing, see Amazon Web Services and Microsoft Licensing.

  2. After you have verified that your machine image can be used within Amazon EC2, import it using VM Import/Export. For information about how to import your machine image, see the VM Import/Export User Guide.

  3. After you import your machine image, you can launch instances from it onto active Dedicated Hosts in your account.

  4. When you run these instances, depending on the operating system, you might be required to activate these instances against your own KMS server (for example, Windows Server or Windows SQL Server). You can't activate your imported Windows AMI against the Amazon Windows KMS server.

Note

To track how your images are used in AWS, enable host recording in AWS Config. You can use AWS Config to record configuration changes to a Dedicated Host and use the output as a data source for license reporting. For more information, see Track configuration changes.

Dedicated Host instance capacity

Support for multiple instance sizes on the same Dedicated Host is available for the following instance families: T3, A1, C5, M5, R5, C5n, R5n, and M5n. Other instance families support only a single instance size on the same Dedicated Host.

For example, when you allocate an R5 Dedicated Host, it has 2 sockets and 48 physical cores on which you can run different instance sizes, such as r5.2xlarge and r5.4xlarge, up to the core capacity associated with the host. However, for each instance family, there is a limit on the number of instances that can be run for each instance size. For example, an R5 Dedicated Host supports up to 2 r5.8xlarge instances, which uses 32 of the physical cores. Additional R5 instances of another size can then be used to fill the host to core capacity. For the supported number of instance sizes for each instance family, see Dedicated Hosts Configuration.

The following table shows examples of different instance size combinations that you can run on a Dedicated Host.

Instance family Example instance size combinations

R5

  • Example 1: 4 x r5.4xlarge + 4 x r5.2xlarge

  • Example 2: 1 x r5.12xlarge + 1 x r5.4xlarge + 1 x r5.2xlarge + 5 x r5.xlarge + 2 x r5.large

C5

  • Example 1: 1 x c5.9xlarge + 2 x c5.4xlarge + 1 x c5.xlarge

  • Example 2: 4 x c5.4xlarge + 1 x c5.xlarge + 2 x c5.large

M5

  • Example 1: 4 x m5.4xlarge + 4 x m5.2xlarge

  • Example 2: 1 x m5.12xlarge + 1 x m5.4xlarge + 1 x m5.2xlarge + 5 x m5.xlarge + 2 x m5.large

For more information about the instance families and instance size configurations supported on Dedicated Hosts, see the Dedicated Hosts Configuration Table.

Burstable T3 instances on Dedicated Hosts

Dedicated Hosts support burstable performance T3 instances. T3 instances provide a cost-efficient way of using your eligible BYOL license software on dedicated hardware. The smaller vCPU footprint of T3 instances enables you to consolidate your workloads on fewer hosts and maximize your per-core license utilization.

T3 Dedicated Hosts are best suited for running BYOL software with low to moderate CPU utilization. This includes eligible per-socket, per-core, or per-VM software licenses, such as Windows Server, Windows Desktop, SQL Server, SUSE Enterprise Linux Server, Red Hat Enterprise Linux, and Oracle Database. Examples of workloads suited for T3 Dedicated Hosts are small and medium databases, virtual desktops, development and test environments, code repositories, and product prototypes. T3 Dedicated Hosts are not recommended for workloads with sustained high CPU utilization or for workloads that experience correlated CPU bursts simultaneously.

T3 instances on Dedicated Hosts use the same credit model as T3 instances on shared tenancy hardware. However, they support the standard credit mode only; they do not support the unlimited credit mode. In standard mode, T3 instances on Dedicated Hosts earn, spend, and accrue credits in the same way as burstable instances on shared tenancy hardware. They provide a baseline CPU performance with the ability to burst above the baseline level. To burst above the baseline, the instance spends credits that it has accrued in its CPU credit balance. When the accrued credits are depleted, CPU utilization is lowered to the baseline level. For more information about standard mode, see How standard burstable performance instances work.

T3 Dedicated Hosts support all of the features offered by Amazon EC2 Dedicated Hosts, including multiple instance sizes on a single host, Host resource groups, and BYOL.

Supported T3 instance sizes and configurations

T3 Dedicated Hosts run general purpose burstable T3 instances that share CPU resources of the host by providing a baseline CPU performance and the ability to burst to a higher level when needed. This enables T3 Dedicated Hosts, which have 48 cores, to support up to a maximum of 192 instances per host. In order to efficiently utilize the host’s resources and to provide the best instance performance, the Amazon EC2 instance placement algorithm automatically calculates the supported number of instances and instance size combinations that can be launched on the host.

T3 Dedicated Hosts support multiple instance types on the same host. All T3 instance sizes are supported on Dedicated Hosts. You can run different combinations of T3 instances up to the CPU limit of the host.

The following table lists the supported instance types, summarizes the performance of each instance type, and indicates the maximum number of instances of each size that can be launched.

Instance type vCPUs Memory (GiB) Baseline CPU utilization per vCPU Network burst bandwidth (Gbps) Amazon EBS burst bandwidth (Mbps) Max number of instances per Dedicated Host
t3.nano 2 0.5 5% 5 Up to 2,085 192
t3.micro 2 1 10% 5 Up to 2,085 192
t3.small 2 2 20% 5 Up to 2,085 192
t3.medium 2 4 20% 5 Up to 2,085 192
t3.large 2 8 30% 5 2,780 96
t3.xlarge 4 16 40% 5 2,780 48
t3.2xlarge 8 32 40% 5 2,780 24

Monitor CPU utilization for T3 Dedicated Hosts

You can use the DedicatedHostCPUUtilization Amazon CloudWatch metric to monitor the vCPU utilization of a Dedicated Host. The metric is available in the EC2 namespace and Per-Host-Metrics dimension. For more information, see Dedicated Host metrics.

Dedicated Hosts restrictions

Before you allocate Dedicated Hosts, take note of the following limitations and restrictions:

  • To run RHEL, SUSE Linux, and SQL Server on Dedicated Hosts, you must bring your own AMIs. RHEL, SUSE Linux, and SQL Server AMIs that are offered by AWS or that are available on AWS Marketplace can't be used with Dedicated Hosts. For more information on how to create your own AMI, see Bring your own license.

    This restriction does not apply to hosts allocated for high memory instances (u-6tb1.metal, u-9tb1.metal, u-12tb1.metal, u-18tb1.metal, and u-24tb1.metal). RHEL and SUSE Linux AMIs that are offered by AWS or that are available on AWS Marketplace can be used with these hosts.

  • Up to two On-Demand Dedicated Hosts per instance family, per Region can be allocated. It is possible to request a limit increase: Request to Raise Allocation Limit on Amazon EC2 Dedicated Hosts.

  • The instances that run on a Dedicated Host can only be launched in a VPC.

  • Auto Scaling groups are supported when using a launch template that specifies a host resource group. For more information, see Creating a Launch Template for an Auto Scaling Group in the Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling User Guide.

  • Amazon RDS instances are not supported.

  • The AWS Free Usage tier is not available for Dedicated Hosts.

  • Instance placement control refers to managing instance launches onto Dedicated Hosts. You cannot launch Dedicated Hosts into placement groups.

Pricing and billing

The price for a Dedicated Host varies by payment option.

On-Demand Dedicated Hosts

On-Demand billing is automatically activated when you allocate a Dedicated Host to your account.

The On-Demand price for a Dedicated Host varies by instance family and Region. You pay per second (with a minimum of 60 seconds) for active Dedicated Host, regardless of the quantity or the size of instances that you choose to launch on it. For more information about On-Demand pricing, see Amazon EC2 Dedicated Hosts On-Demand Pricing.

You can release an On-Demand Dedicated Host at any time to stop accruing charges for it. For information about releasing a Dedicated Host, see Release Dedicated Hosts.

Dedicated Host Reservations

Dedicated Host Reservations provide a billing discount compared to running On-Demand Dedicated Hosts. Reservations are available in three payment options:

  • No Upfront—No Upfront Reservations provide you with a discount on your Dedicated Host usage over a term and do not require an upfront payment. Available in one-year and three-year terms. Only some instance families support the three-year term for No Upfront Reservations.

  • Partial Upfront—A portion of the reservation must be paid upfront and the remaining hours in the term are billed at a discounted rate. Available in one-year and three-year terms.

  • All Upfront—Provides the lowest effective price. Available in one-year and three-year terms and covers the entire cost of the term upfront, with no additional future charges.

You must have active Dedicated Hosts in your account before you can purchase reservations. Each reservation can cover one or more hosts that support the same instance family in a single Availability Zone. Reservations are applied to the instance family on the host, not the instance size. If you have three Dedicated Hosts with different instances sizes (m4.xlarge, m4.medium, and m4.large) you can associate a single m4 reservation with all those Dedicated Hosts. The instance family and Availability Zone of the reservation must match that of the Dedicated Hosts you want to associate it with.

When a reservation is associated with a Dedicated Host, the Dedicated Host can't be released until the reservation's term is over.

For more information about reservation pricing, see Amazon EC2 Dedicated Hosts Pricing.

Savings Plans

Savings Plans are a flexible pricing model that offers significant savings over On-Demand Instances. With Savings Plans, you make a commitment to a consistent amount of usage, in USD per hour, for a term of one or three years. This provides you with the flexibility to use the Dedicated Hosts that best meet your needs and continue to save money, instead of making a commitment to a specific Dedicated Host. For more information, see the AWS Savings Plans User Guide.

Pricing for Windows Server on Dedicated Hosts

Subject to Microsoft licensing terms, you can bring your existing Windows Server and SQL Server licenses to Dedicated Hosts. There is no additional charge for software usage if you choose to bring your own licenses.

In addition, you can also use Windows Server AMIs provided by Amazon to run the latest versions of Windows Server on Dedicated Hosts. This is common for scenarios where you have existing SQL Server licenses eligible to run on Dedicated Hosts, but need Windows Server to run the SQL Server workload. Windows Server AMIs provided by Amazon are supported on current generation instance types only. For more information, see Amazon EC2 Dedicated Hosts Pricing.