使用 IAM 角色 - AWS Identity and Access Management

使用 IAM 角色

在 IAM 使用者、應用程式或服務可以使用您建立的角色之前,您必須授予切換到該角色的許可。您可以使用連接到其中一個 IAM 使用者群組或使用者本身的任何政策來授予必要的許可。本節說明如何授予使用者使用角色的許可。其中也解釋了使用者如何從 AWS Management Console、Tools for Windows PowerShell、AWS Command Line Interface(AWS CLI) 以及 AssumeRole API 切換到角色。

重要

當您以程式設計方式而不是在 IAM 主控台中建立角色時,則除了 RoleName 之外,您還可以選擇新增高達 512 個字元的 Path,該字元長度最多 64 個字元。但是,如果您要透過 AWS Management Console 中的 Switch Role (切換角色) 功能使用角色,則組合的 PathRoleName 不能超過 64 個字元。

您可以從 AWS Management Console 進行切換角色。您可以透過呼叫 AWS CLI 或 API 操作或使用自訂的 URL 來擔任角色。您使用的方法決定誰可以擔任該角色以及角色工作階段可以持續多久。

比較使用角色的方法
擔任角色的方法 誰可以擔任這個角色 指定憑證生命週期的方法 憑證存留期 (最小 | 最大 | 預設)
AWS Management Console IAM 使用者 (透過切換角色) Role (角色) 摘要頁面上的 Maximum session duration (最大工作階段持續時間) 1 小時 | 最大工作階段持續時間設定² | 1 小時
assume-role CLI 或 AssumeRole API 操作 IAM 使用者或角色¹ duration-seconds CLI 或 DurationSeconds API 參數 15 分鐘 | 最大工作階段持續時間設定² | 1 小時
assume-role-with-saml CLI 或 AssumeRoleWithSAML API 操作 任何使用 SAML 驗證的使用者 duration-seconds CLI 或 DurationSeconds API 參數 15 分鐘 | 最大工作階段持續時間設定² | 1 小時
assume-role-with-web-identity CLI 或 AssumeRoleWithWebIdentity API 操作 使用 Web 身分提供者進行身分驗證的使用者 duration-seconds CLI 或 DurationSeconds API 參數 15 分鐘 | 最大工作階段持續時間設定² | 1 小時
使用 建構的主控台 URLAssumeRole IAM 使用者或角色 SessionDuration URL 中的 HTML 參數 15 分鐘 | 12 小時 | 1 小時
使用 建構的主控台 URLAssumeRoleWithSAML 任何使用 SAML 驗證的使用者 SessionDuration URL 中的 HTML 參數 15 分鐘 | 12 小時 | 1 小時
使用 建構的主控台 URLAssumeRoleWithWebIdentity 使用 Web 身分提供者進行身分驗證的使用者 SessionDuration URL 中的 HTML 參數 15 分鐘 | 12 小時 | 1 小時

¹ 使用一個角色的憑證來擔任不同的角色稱為角色鏈結。當您使用角色鏈結時,新憑證的最大持續時間限制為一小時。使用角色授予許可給在 EC2 執行個體上執行的應用程式時,那些應用程式不受此限制。

² 此設定的值可介於 1 小時至 12 小時。有關修改最大工作階段持續時間設定的詳細資訊,請參閱 修改角色。此設定決定取得角色憑證時可以請求的最大工作階段持續時間。例如,當您使用 AssumeRole* API 操作來擔任角色時,可以使用 DurationSeconds 參數指定工作階段長度。使用此參數指定 900 秒 (15 分鐘) 到角色的最大工作階段持續時間設定之間的角色工作階段長度。在主控台中切換角色的 IAM 使用者會被授予最長工作階段持續時間或 IAM 使用者工作階段中的剩餘時間,以較短者為準。假設您在角色上設定 5 小時的最大持續時間。已登入主控台 10 小時的 IAM 使用者 (超出預設最大值 12 小時) 會切換至角色。可用的角色工作階段持續時間為 2 小時。如要了解如何查看角色的最大值,請參閱本頁後述的 查看角色的最大工作階段持續時間設定

注意

工作階段持續時間設定上限不會限制由 AWS 服務擔任的工作階段。

查看角色的最大工作階段持續時間設定

您可以使用 AWS Management Console 或使用 AWS CLI 或 AWS API 來指定角色的最大工作階段持續時間。當您使用 AWS CLI 或 API 操作來擔任角色時,可以指定 DurationSeconds 參數的值。您可以使用此參數指定角色工作階段持續時間,範圍從 900 秒 (15 分鐘) 到角色的最大工作階段持續時間設定。在指定參數之前,您應該查看您的角色設定。如果您指定 DurationSeconds 參數的值高於最大設定值,則操作將失敗

要查看角色的最大工作階段持續時間 (主控台)

  1. 在 IAM 主控台的導覽窗格中,選擇 Roles (角色)。

  2. 選擇要查看的角色名稱。

  3. Maximum session duration (持續時間上限) 旁,檢視授予角色的工作階段長度上限。這是您可以在 AWS CLI 或 API 操作中指定的最大工作階段持續時間。

要查看角色的最大工作階段持續時間設定 (AWS CLI)

  1. 如果您不知道要擔任的角色的名稱,請執行以下命令列出您帳戶中的角色:

  2. 要查看角色的最大工作階段持續時間,請執行以下命令。然後,檢視最大工作階段持續時間參數。

要查看角色的最大工作階段持續時間設定 (AWS API)

  1. 如果您不知道要擔任的角色的名稱,請呼叫以下操作列出您帳戶中的角色:

  2. 要查看角色的最大工作階段持續時間,請執行以下操作。然後,檢視最大工作階段持續時間參數。

Using IAM roles - AWS Identity and Access Management

Using IAM roles

Before an IAM user, application, or service can use a role that you created, you must grant permissions to switch to the role. You can use any policy attached to one of an IAM user's groups or to the user itself to grant the necessary permissions. This section describes how to grant users permission to use a role. It also explains how the user can switch to a role from the AWS Management Console, the Tools for Windows PowerShell, the AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI) and the AssumeRole API.

Important

When you create a role programmatically instead of in the IAM console, you have an option to add a Path of up to 512 characters in addition to the RoleName, which can be up to 64 characters long. However, if you intend to use a role with the Switch Role feature in the AWS Management Console, then the combined Path and RoleName cannot exceed 64 characters.

You can switch roles from the AWS Management Console. You can assume a role by calling an AWS CLI or API operation or by using a custom URL. The method that you use determines who can assume the role and how long the role session can last.

Comparing methods for using roles
Method of assuming the role Who can assume the role Method to specify credential lifetime Credential lifetime (min | max | default)
AWS Management Console IAM user (by switching roles) Maximum session duration on the Role Summary page 1h | Maximum session duration setting² | 1hr
assume-role CLI or AssumeRole API operation IAM user or role¹ duration-seconds CLI or DurationSeconds API parameter 15m | Maximum session duration setting² | 1hr
assume-role-with-saml CLI or AssumeRoleWithSAML API operation Any user authenticated using SAML duration-seconds CLI or DurationSeconds API parameter 15m | Maximum session duration setting² | 1hr
assume-role-with-web-identity CLI or AssumeRoleWithWebIdentity API operation Any user authenticated using a web identity provider duration-seconds CLI or DurationSeconds API parameter 15m | Maximum session duration setting² | 1hr
Console URL constructed with AssumeRole IAM user or role SessionDuration HTML parameter in the URL 15m | 12hr | 1hr
Console URL constructed with AssumeRoleWithSAML Any user authenticated using SAML SessionDuration HTML parameter in the URL 15m | 12hr | 1hr
Console URL constructed with AssumeRoleWithWebIdentity Any user authenticated using a web identity provider SessionDuration HTML parameter in the URL 15m | 12hr | 1hr

¹ Using the credentials for one role to assume a different role is called role chaining. When you use role chaining, your new credentials are limited to a maximum duration of one hour. When you use roles to grant permissions to applications that run on EC2 instances, those applications are not subject to this limitation.

² This setting can have a value from 1 hour to 12 hours. For details about modifying the maximum session duration setting, see Modifying a role. This setting determines the maximum session duration that you can request when you get the role credentials. For example, when you use the AssumeRole* API operations to assume a role, you can specify a session length using the DurationSeconds parameter. Use this parameter to specify the length of the role session from 900 seconds (15 minutes) up to the maximum session duration setting for the role. IAM users who switch roles in the console are granted the maximum session duration, or the remaining time in the IAM user's session, whichever is less. Assume that you set a maximum duration of 5 hours on a role. An IAM user that has been signed into the console for 10 hours (out of the default maximum of 12) switches to the role. The available role session duration is 2 hours. To learn how to view the maximum value for your role, see View the maximum session duration setting for a role later in this page.

Note

The maximum session duration setting does not limit sessions that are assumed by AWS services.

View the maximum session duration setting for a role

You can specify the maximum session duration for a role using the AWS Management Console or by using the AWS CLI or AWS API. When you use an AWS CLI or API operation to assume a role, you can specify a value for the DurationSeconds parameter. You can use this parameter to specify the duration of the role session, from 900 seconds (15 minutes) up to the maximum session duration setting for the role. Before you specify the parameter, you should view this setting for your role. If you specify a value for the DurationSeconds parameter that is higher than the maximum setting, the operation fails.

To view a role's maximum session duration (console)

  1. In the navigation pane of the IAM console, choose Roles.

  2. Choose the name of the role that you want to view.

  3. Next to Maximum session duration, view the maximum session length that is granted for the role. This is the maximum session duration that you can specify in your AWS CLI, or API operation.

To view a role's maximum session duration setting (AWS CLI)

  1. If you don't know the name of the role that you want to assume, run the following command to list the roles in your account:

  2. To view the role's maximum session duration, run the following command. Then view the maximum session duration parameter.

To view a role's maximum session duration setting (AWS API)

  1. If you don't know the name of the role that you want to assume, call the following operation to list the roles in your account:

  2. To view the role's maximum session duration, run the following operation. Then view the maximum session duration parameter.