AWS CodeCommit 的身份验证和访问控制 - AWS CodeCommit

AWS CodeCommit 的身份验证和访问控制

访问 AWS CodeCommit 需要凭证。这些凭证必须有权访问 AWS 资源(如 CodeCommit 存储库)和您的 IAM 用户(您通过该用户来管理 Git 凭证或用于进行 Git 连接的 SSH 公有密钥)。以下部分详细说明如何使用 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 和 CodeCommit 帮助保护对您的资源的访问:

Authentication

由于 CodeCommit 存储库基于 Git 并且支持包括 Git 凭证在内的 Git 基本功能,建议通过 IAM 用户使用 CodeCommit。您可以使用其他身份类型访问 CodeCommit,但其他身份类型存在以下限制。

身份类型:

  • IAM 用户IAM 用户只是 AWS 账户中具有特定自定义权限的身份。例如,IAM 用户可以有权创建和管理用于访问 CodeCommit 存储库的 Git 凭证。这是使用的推荐用户类型 CodeCommit. 您可以使用 IAM 用户名和密码登录以保护 AWS 网页(如 AWS 管理控制台AWS 开发论坛AWS Support Center)。

    您可以生成Git凭证或将SSH公钥与 IAM 用户,或者您可以安装和配置 git-remote-codecommit。这些是设置Git以与您的 CodeCommit 存储库。您可以使用 Git 凭证在 IAM 中生成静态用户名和密码。然后在使用 Git 的 HTTPS 连接和支持 Git 用户名及密码身份验证的任何第三方工具中使用这些凭证。借助 SSH 连接,您可以在本地计算机上创建公有和私有密钥文件,以供 Git 和 CodeCommit 进行 SSH 身份验证。您可以将公有密钥与 IAM 用户关联,并将私有密钥存储在本地计算机上。git-remote-codecommit 扩展Git本身,并且不需要为用户设置Git凭证。

    此外,还可以为每个用户生成访问密钥。访问时使用访问键 AWS 程序化服务,通过 其中一个 AWS SDKs 或使用 AWS Command Line Interface (人AWS CLI). 软件开发工具包和 CLI 工具使用访问密钥对您的请求进行加密签名。如果您不使用 AWS 工具,您必须自己签署请求。 CodeCommit supports签名版本4,用于认证入站API请求的协议。有关验证请求的更多信息,请参阅 AWS General Reference 中的签名版本 4 签名流程

  • AWS 账户根用户 – 注册 AWS 时,您需要提供与您的 AWS 账户关联的电子邮件地址和密码。这些是您的根凭证,它们提供对您所有 AWS 资源的完全访问权限。某些 CodeCommit 功能对根账户用户不可用。此外,将 Git 与根账户结合使用的唯一方法是安装和配置 git-remote-codecommit(推荐)或配置 AWS 凭证辅助程序(随 AWS CLI 附带)。您不能对根账户用户使用 Git 凭证或 SSH 公有-私有密钥对。出于这些原因,不建议在与 CodeCommit 交互时使用根账户用户。

    重要

    出于安全考虑,我们建议您仅使用根凭证创建管理员用户,此类用户是对您的 AWS 账户具有完全访问权限的 IAM 用户。然后,您可以使用该管理员用户创建具有有限权限的其他 IAM 用户和角色。有关更多信息,请参阅 https://docs.aws.amazon.com/IAM/latest/UserGuide/best-practices.html#create-iam-users 中的 IAM 最佳实践和IAM 用户指南创建管理员用户和组

  • IAM 角色 – 与 IAM 用户类似,IAM 角色是可在账户中创建以授予特定权限的 IAM 身份。它类似于 IAM 用户,但未与特定人员关联。与 IAM 用户身份不同,不能对此身份类型使用 Git 凭证或 SSH 密钥。但是,利用 IAM 角色,您可以获得可用于访问 AWS 服务和资源的临时访问密钥。具有临时凭证的 IAM 角色在以下情况下很有用:

    • 联合身份用户访问 – 您可以不创建 IAM 用户,而是使用来自 AWS Directory Service、您的企业用户目录或 Web 身份提供商的既有用户身份。这些用户被称为联合身份用户。在通过身份提供商请求访问权限时,AWS 将为联合身份用户分配角色。有关联合身份用户的更多信息,请参阅 https://docs.aws.amazon.com/IAM/latest/UserGuide/introduction_access-management.html#intro-access-roles 中的IAM 用户指南联合身份用户和角色

      注意

      您不能对联合身份用户使用 Git 凭证或 SSH 公有-私有密钥对。此外,用户偏好对于联合身份用户不可用。有关如何使用联合访问设置连接的信息,请参阅HTTPS连接的设置步骤 AWS CodeCommit 带git-remote-codecommit

    • 跨账户访问 – 可以使用您账户中的 IAM 角色向另一个 AWS 账户授予对您账户的资源的访问权限。有关示例,请参阅 配置跨帐户访问 AWS CodeCommit 使用角色的存储库教程: 授权访问 AWS 账户使用 IAM 角色IAM 用户指南.

    • AWS 服务访问权限 – 可以在您的账户中使用 IAM 角色,向 AWS 服务授予访问您的账户资源所需的权限。例如,您可以创建一个角色以允许 AWS Lambda 代表您访问 CodeCommit 存储库。有关更多信息,请参阅 AWS 中的创建向 IAM 用户指南 服务委派权限的角色

    • 在 Amazon EC2 上运行的应用程序 – 您不用将访问密钥存储在 EC2 实例中以供实例上运行的应用程序使用并发出 AWS API 请求,而是可以使用 IAM 角色管理这些应用程序的临时凭证。要将 AWS 角色分配给 EC2 实例并使其对该实例的所有应用程序可用,您可以创建一个附加到实例的实例配置文件。实例配置文件 包含角色,并使 EC2 实例上运行的程序能够获得临时凭证。有关更多信息,请参阅 https://docs.aws.amazon.com/IAM/latest/UserGuide/id_roles_use_switch-role-ec2.html 中的IAM 用户指南对 Amazon EC2 上的应用程序使用角色

访问控制

您可以使用有效的凭证对您的请求进行身份验证,但除非您具有权限,否则,无法创建或访问 CodeCommit 资源。例如,您必须拥有权限才能查看存储库、推送代码、创建和管理 Git 凭证等。

以下各节介绍如何管理 CodeCommit的权限。我们建议您先阅读概述。

管理 CodeCommit 资源的访问权限的概述

每个 AWS 资源归一个 AWS 账户所有。创建或访问资源的权限由权限策略进行管理。账户管理员可以向 IAM 身份 (即:用户、组和角色) 挂载权限策略。一些服务(例如 AWS Lambda)还支持向资源附加权限策略。

注意

账户管理员 (或管理员用户) 是具有管理员权限的用户。有关更多信息,请参阅 IAM 用户指南 中的 IAM 最佳实践

在授予权限时,您确定谁获得权限、获得对哪些资源的权限以及允许对这些资源执行的具体操作。

CodeCommit 资源和操作

在 CodeCommit 中,主要资源为 repository。每种资源均有相关联的唯一 Amazon 资源名称 (ARN)。在策略中,您可以使用 Amazon 资源名称 (ARN) 标识策略应用到的资源。有关 ARNs,请参阅 Amazon资源名称(ARN)和 AWS 服务命名空间Amazon Web Services 一般参考。 CodeCommit 当前不支持其他资源类型,这些类型被称为子资源。

下表介绍如何指定 CodeCommit 资源。

资源类型 ARN 格式
Repository

Arn:aws:代码提交:region:account-id:repository-name

所有 CodeCommit 存储库

arn:aws:codecommit:*

全部 CodeCommit 在指定AWS区域中由指定帐户拥有的存储库

Arn:aws:代码提交:region:account-id:*

注意

大部分 AWS 服务处理冒号(:)或正斜杠(/) ARNs 同个字符。不过,CodeCommit 在资源模式和规则中要求精确匹配。在创建事件模式时,请务必使用正确的 ARN 字符,以使其与资源中的 ARN 语法匹配。

例如,您可以指明特定的存储库(MyDemoRepo)使用其ARN对您的声明进行如下处理:

"Resource": "arn:aws:codecommit:us-west-2:111111111111:MyDemoRepo"

要指定属于某一特定账户的所有 repositories,请使用通配符 (*),如下所示:

"Resource": "arn:aws:codecommit:us-west-2:111111111111:*"

指定所有资源,或指定API操作是否不支持 ARNs,请使用中的通配符(*) Resource 元素如下:

"Resource": "*"

您还可以使用通配符 (*) 指定与某一存储库名称部分匹配的所有资源。例如,以下 ARN 指定在 us-east-2 AWS 区域中注册到 AWS 账户 111111111111 的以名称 MyDemo 开头的任意 CodeCommit 存储库:

arn:aws:codecommit:us-east-2:111111111111:MyDemo*

有关 CodeCommit 资源的可用操作的列表,请参阅CodeCommit 权限参考

了解资源所有权

无论资源创建者是谁,AWS 账户对在自身账户下创建的资源都具有所有权。具体而言,资源所有者是对资源创建请求进行身份验证的委托人实体(即根账户、IAM 用户或 IAM 角色)的 AWS 账户。以下示例说明了它的工作原理:

  • 如果您在您的 AWS 账户中创建 IAM 用户并对该用户授予创建 CodeCommit 资源的权限,则该用户可以创建 CodeCommit 资源。但是,该用户所属的 AWS 账户拥有这些 CodeCommit 资源。

  • 如果您使用 AWS 账户的根账户凭证创建规则,则您的 AWS 账户即为该 CodeCommit 资源的所有者。

  • 如果您在您的 AWS 账户中创建具有创建 CodeCommit 资源的权限的 IAM 角色,则能够担任该角色的任何人都可以创建 CodeCommit 资源。该角色所属的 AWS 账户拥有这些 CodeCommit 资源。

管理对资源的访问

要管理对 AWS 资源的访问,可以使用权限策略。权限策略 规定谁可以访问哪些内容。下一节介绍权限策略创建选项。

注意

本节介绍如何在 CodeCommit 范围内使用 IAM。它不提供有关 IAM 服务的详细信息。有关 IAM,请参阅 什么是IAM?IAM 用户指南. 有关 IAM 策略语法和说明的信息,请参阅 IAM 用户指南 中的 AWS IAM 策略参考。

附加到 IAM 身份的权限策略称作基于身份的策略(IAM 策略)。附加到资源的权限策略称作基于资源的策略。目前,CodeCommit 只支持基于身份的策略(IAM 策略)。

基于身份的策略(IAM 政策)

要管理对 AWS 资源的访问,可以将权限策略附加到 IAM 身份。在 CodeCommit 中,可以使用基于身份的策略控制对存储库的访问。例如,您可以执行以下操作:

  • 将权限策略附加到账户中的用户或组 – 要授予用户查看 CodeCommit 控制台中的 CodeCommit 资源的权限,可以将基于身份的权限策略附加到用户或用户所属的组。

  • 将权限策略附加到角色(授予跨账户权限) – 委托(例如,要授予跨账户权限时)需要在拥有资源的账户(信任账户)与包含需要访问资源的用户的账户(可信账户)之间建立信任。权限策略授予角色用户对资源执行预期任务所需的权限。信任策略指定允许哪些可信账户授予其用户代入角色的权限。有关更多信息,请参阅 IAM 术语和概念

    要授予跨账户权限,可将基于身份的权限策略附加到 IAM 角色。例如,账户 A 中的管理员可以创建一个角色,以向其他 AWS 账户(如账户 B)或某项 AWS 服务授予跨账户权限,如下所述:

    1. 账户 A 管理员创建一个 IAM 角色,向该角色挂载授权其访问账户 A 中资源的权限策略。

    2. 账户 A 管理员可以向将账户 B 标识为能够代入该角色的委托人的角色附加信任策略。

    3. 之后,账户 B 管理员可以委派权限,指派账户 B 中的任何用户担任该角色。这样,账户 B 中的用户就可以创建或访问账户 A 中的资源了。如果您需要授予 AWS 服务权限来代入该角色,则信任策略中的委托人也可以是 AWS 服务委托人。有关更多信息,请参阅 IAM 术语和概念中的“委托”。

    有关使用 IAM 委派权限的更多信息,请参阅 https://docs.aws.amazon.com/IAM/latest/UserGuide/access.html 中的IAM 用户指南访问权限管理

以下示例策略允许用户在名为的存储库中创建分支 MyDemoRepo:

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement" : [ { "Effect" : "Allow", "Action" : [ "codecommit:CreateBranch" ], "Resource" : "arn:aws:codecommit:us-east-2:111111111111:MyDemoRepo" } ] }

要限制您账户中的用户有权访问的调用和资源,请创建特定的 IAM 策略,然后将这些策略与 IAM 用户关联。有关如何创建 IAM 角色和探索 CodeCommit 的示例 IAM 策略语句的更多信息,请参阅 客户管理的身份策略示例

基于资源的策略

某些服务 (如 Amazon S3) 也支持基于资源的权限策略。例如,您可以将基于资源的策略附加到一个 S3 存储桶,以管理该存储桶的访问权限。CodeCommit 不支持基于资源的策略,但您可以使用标签标识资源,然后可以在 IAM 策略中使用这些资源。有关基于标签的策略示例,请参阅基于身份的策略(IAM 政策)

资源范围 CodeCommit

在 CodeCommit 中,可以将基于身份的策略和权限的范围限定到资源,如CodeCommit 资源和操作中所述。但是,不能将 ListRepositories 权限的范围限定为某一资源,而必须将其范围设置为所有资源 (使用通配符 *)。否则,该操作将会失败。

所有其他 CodeCommit 权限的范围都可以限定到资源。

指定政策要素:资源、行动、影响和原则

您可以创建策略来允许或拒绝用户访问资源,或者允许或拒绝用户对这些资源执行特定操作。 CodeCommit 定义一组公共API操作,这些操作定义用户如何使用服务,无论是通过 CodeCommit 控制台, SDKs, AWS CLI或直接拨打 APIs。要授予这些API操作的权限, CodeCommit 定义可在策略中指定的一组操作。

某些 API 操作可能需要执行多个操作的权限。有关资源和 API 操作的更多信息,请参阅 CodeCommit 资源和操作CodeCommit 权限参考

下面是基本的策略元素:

  • 资源 – 要标识策略应用到的资源,您可以使用 Amazon 资源名称 (ARN)。有关更多信息,请参阅CodeCommit 资源和操作

  • Action – 要标识您想允许或拒绝的资源操作,您可以使用操作关键字。例如,根据指定的 Effectcodecommit:GetBranch 权限允许或拒绝用户执行 GetBranch 操作,该操作可获取有关 CodeCommit 存储库中某个分支的详细信息。

  • Effect – 您可以指定当用户请求特定操作时的效果(可以是允许或拒绝)。如果没有显式授予(允许)对资源的访问权限,则隐式拒绝访问。也可显式拒绝对资源的访问,这样即使有其他策略授予了访问权限,也可确保用户无法访问该资源。

  • 委托人 – 在基于身份的策略(IAM 策略,这是 CodeCommit 唯一支持的策略类型)中,策略附加到的用户是隐式委托人。

有关 IAM 策略语法的更多信息,请参阅 IAM 中的 AWS IAM 用户指南 策略参考

有关显示所有 CodeCommit API 操作及其适用的资源的表,请参阅 CodeCommit 权限参考

在策略中指定条件

授予权限时,可以使用 IAM 的访问策略语言指定策略生效的条件。例如,您可能希望策略仅在特定日期后应用。有关使用策略语言指定条件的更多信息,请参阅 https://docs.aws.amazon.com/IAM/latest/UserGuide/reference_policies_elements.html#Condition 中的条件和IAM 用户指南策略语法

要表示条件,您可以使用预定义的条件键。没有特定于 CodeCommit 的条件键。但有 AWS 范围内的条件密钥,您可以根据需要使用。有关 AWS 范围内的键的完整列表,请参阅 https://docs.aws.amazon.com/IAM/latest/UserGuide/reference_policies_elements.html#AvailableKeys 中的IAM 用户指南条件的可用键

Authentication and access control for AWS CodeCommit - AWS CodeCommit

Authentication and access control for AWS CodeCommit

Access to AWS CodeCommit requires credentials. Those credentials must have permissions to access AWS resources, such as CodeCommit repositories, and your IAM user, which you use to manage your Git credentials or the SSH public key that you use for making Git connections. The following sections provide details on how you can use AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) and CodeCommit to help secure access to your resources:

Authentication

Because CodeCommit repositories are Git-based and support the basic functionality of Git, including Git credentials, we recommend that you use an IAM user when working with CodeCommit. You can access CodeCommit with other identity types, but the other identity types are subject to limitations, as described below.

Identity types:

  • IAM user – An IAM user is an identity within your AWS account that has specific custom permissions. For example, an IAM user can have permissions to create and manage Git credentials for accessing CodeCommit repositories. This is the recommended user type for working with CodeCommit. You can use an IAM user name and password to sign in to secure AWS webpages like the AWS Management Console, AWS Discussion Forums, or the AWS Support Center.

    You can generate Git credentials or associate SSH public keys with your IAM user, or you can install and configure git-remote-codecommit. These are the easiest ways to set up Git to work with your CodeCommit repositories. With Git credentials, you generate a static user name and password in IAM. You then use these credentials for HTTPS connections with Git and any third-party tool that supports Git user name and password authentication. With SSH connections, you create public and private key files on your local machine that Git and CodeCommit use for SSH authentication. You associate the public key with your IAM user, and you store the private key on your local machine. git-remote-codecommit extends Git itself, and does not require setting up Git credentials for the user.

    In addition, you can generate access keys for each user. Use access keys when you access AWS services programmatically, either through one of the AWS SDKs or by using the AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI). The SDK and CLI tools use the access keys to cryptographically sign your requests. If you don’t use the AWS tools, you must sign the requests yourself. CodeCommit supports Signature Version 4, a protocol for authenticating inbound API requests. For more information about authenticating requests, see Signature Version 4 Signing Process in the AWS General Reference.

  • AWS account root user – When you sign up for AWS, you provide an email address and password that is associated with your AWS account. These are your root credentials, and they provide complete access to all of your AWS resources. Some CodeCommit features are not available for root account users. In addition, the only way to use Git with your root account is to either install and configure git-remote-codecommit (recommended) or to configure the AWS credential helper, which is included with the AWS CLI. You cannot use Git credentials or SSH public-private key pairs with your root account user. For these reasons, we do not recommend using your root account user when interacting with CodeCommit.

    Important

    For security reasons, we recommend that you use the root credentials only to create an administrator user, which is an IAM user with full permissions to your AWS account. Then, you can use this administrator user to create other IAM users and roles with limited permissions. For more information, see IAM Best Practices and Creating an Admin User and Group in the IAM User Guide.

  • IAM role – Like an IAM user, an IAM role is an IAM identity that you can create in your account to grant specific permissions. It is similar to an IAM user, but it is not associated with a specific person. Unlike an IAM user identity, you cannot use Git credentials or SSH keys with this identity type. However, an IAM role enables you to obtain temporary access keys that you can use to access AWS services and resources. IAM roles with temporary credentials are useful in the following situations:

    • Federated user access – Instead of creating an IAM user, you can use preexisting user identities from AWS Directory Service, your enterprise user directory, or a web identity provider. These are known as federated users. AWS assigns a role to a federated user when access is requested through an identity provider. For more information about federated users, see Federated Users and Roles in the IAM User Guide.

      Note

      You cannot use Git credentials or SSH public-private key pairs with federated users. In addition, user preferences are not available for federated users. For information about how to set up connections using federated access, see Setup steps for HTTPS connections to AWS CodeCommit with git-remote-codecommit.

    • Cross-account access – You can use an IAM role in your account to grant another AWS account permissions to access your account’s resources. For an example, see Configure cross-account access to an AWS CodeCommit repository using roles and Tutorial: Delegate Access Across AWS Accounts Using IAM Roles in the IAM User Guide.

    • AWS service access – You can use an IAM role in your account to grant an AWS service the permissions it requires to access your account’s resources. For example, you can create a role that allows AWS Lambda to access a CodeCommit repository on your behalf. For more information, see Creating a Role to Delegate Permissions to an AWS Service in the IAM User Guide.

    • Applications running on Amazon EC2 – Instead of storing access keys within an EC2 instance for use by applications running on the instance and for making AWS API requests, you can use an IAM role to manage temporary credentials for these applications. To assign an AWS role to an EC2 instance and make it available to all of its applications, you can create an instance profile that is attached to the instance. An instance profile contains the role and enables programs running on the EC2 instance to get temporary credentials. For more information, see Using Roles for Applications on Amazon EC2 in the IAM User Guide.

Access control

You can have valid credentials to authenticate your requests, but unless you have permissions you cannot create or access CodeCommit resources. For example, you must have permissions to view repositories, push code, create and manage Git credentials, and so on.

The following sections describe how to manage permissions for CodeCommit. We recommend that you read the overview first.

Overview of managing access permissions to your CodeCommit resources

Every AWS resource is owned by an AWS account. Permissions to create or access a resource are governed by permissions policies. An account administrator can attach permissions policies to IAM identities (that is, users, groups, and roles). Some services, such as AWS Lambda, also support attaching permissions policies to resources.

Note

An account administrator (or administrator user) is a user with administrator privileges. For more information, see IAM Best Practices in the IAM User Guide.

When granting permissions, you decide who gets the permissions, the resources they get permissions for, and the specific actions that you want to allow on those resources.

CodeCommit resources and operations

In CodeCommit, the primary resource is a repository. Each resource has a unique Amazon Resource Names (ARN) associated with it. In a policy, you use an Amazon Resource Name (ARN) to identify the resource that the policy applies to. For more information about ARNs, see Amazon Resource Names (ARN) and AWS Service Namespaces in the Amazon Web Services General Reference. CodeCommit does not currently support other resource types, which are referred to as subresources.

The following table describes how to specify CodeCommit resources.

Resource Type ARN Format
Repository

arn:aws:codecommit:region:account-id:repository-name

All CodeCommit repositories

arn:aws:codecommit:*

All CodeCommit repositories owned by the specified account in the specified AWS Region

arn:aws:codecommit:region:account-id:*

Note

Most AWS services treat a colon (:) or a forward slash (/) in ARNs as the same character. However, CodeCommit requires an exact match in resource patterns and rules. When creating event patterns, be sure to use the correct ARN characters so that they match the ARN syntax in the resource.

For example, you can indicate a specific repository (MyDemoRepo) in your statement using its ARN as follows:

"Resource": "arn:aws:codecommit:us-west-2:111111111111:MyDemoRepo"

To specify all repositories that belong to a specific account, use the wildcard character (*) as follows:

"Resource": "arn:aws:codecommit:us-west-2:111111111111:*"

To specify all resources, or if a specific API action does not support ARNs, use the wildcard character (*) in the Resource element as follows:

"Resource": "*"

You can also use the wildcard character(*) to specify all resources that match part of a repository name. For example, the following ARN specifies any CodeCommit repository that begins with the name MyDemo and that is registered to the AWS account 111111111111 in the us-east-2 AWS Region:

arn:aws:codecommit:us-east-2:111111111111:MyDemo*

For a list of available operations that work with the CodeCommit resources, see CodeCommit permissions reference.

Understanding resource ownership

The AWS account owns the resources that are created in the account, regardless of who created them. Specifically, the resource owner is the AWS account of the principal entity (that is, the root account, an IAM user, or an IAM role) that authenticates the resource creation request. The following examples illustrate how this works:

  • If you create an IAM user in your AWS account and grant permissions to create CodeCommit resources to that user, the user can create CodeCommit resources. However, your AWS account, to which the user belongs, owns the CodeCommit resources.

  • If you use the root account credentials of your AWS account to create a rule, your AWS account is the owner of the CodeCommit resource.

  • If you create an IAM role in your AWS account with permissions to create CodeCommit resources, anyone who can assume the role can create CodeCommit resources. Your AWS account, to which the role belongs, owns the CodeCommit resources.

Managing access to resources

To manage access to AWS resources, you use permissions policies. A permissions policy describes who has access to what. The following section explains the options for creating permissions policies.

Note

This section discusses using IAM in the context of CodeCommit. It doesn't provide detailed information about the IAM service. For more information about IAM, see What Is IAM? in the IAM User Guide. For information about IAM policy syntax and descriptions, see IAM Policy Reference in the IAM User Guide.

Permissions policies that are attached to an IAM identity are referred to as identity-based policies (IAM policies). Permissions policies that are attached to a resource are referred to as resource-based policies. Currently, CodeCommit supports only identity-based policies (IAM policies).

Identity-based policies (IAM policies)

To manage access to AWS resources, you attach permissions policies to IAM identities. In CodeCommit, you use identity-based policies to control access to repositories. For example, you can do the following:

  • Attach a permissions policy to a user or a group in your account – To grant a user permissions to view CodeCommit resources in the CodeCommit console, attach an identity-based permissions policy to a user or group that the user belongs to.

  • Attach a permissions policy to a role (to grant cross-account permissions) – Delegation, such as when you want to grant cross-account access, involves setting up a trust between the account that owns the resource (the trusting account), and the account that contains the users who need to access the resource (the trusted account). A permissions policy grants the user of a role the needed permissions to carry out the intended tasks on the resource. A trust policy specifies which trusted accounts are allowed to grant its users permissions to assume the role. For more information, see IAM Terms and Concepts.

    To grant cross-account permissions, attach an identity-based permissions policy to an IAM role. For example, the administrator in Account A can create a role to grant cross-account permissions to another AWS account (for example, Account B) or an AWS service as follows:

    1. Account A administrator creates an IAM role and attaches a permissions policy to the role that grants permissions on resources in Account A.

    2. Account A administrator attaches a trust policy to the role identifying Account B as the principal who can assume the role.

    3. Account B administrator can then delegate permissions to assume the role to any users in Account B. Doing this allows users in Account B to create or access resources in Account A. If you want to grant an AWS service permission to assume the role, the principal in the trust policy can also be an AWS service principal. For more information, see Delegation in IAM Terms and Concepts.

    For more information about using IAM to delegate permissions, see Access Management in the IAM User Guide.

The following example policy allows a user to create a branch in a repository named MyDemoRepo:

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement" : [ { "Effect" : "Allow", "Action" : [ "codecommit:CreateBranch" ], "Resource" : "arn:aws:codecommit:us-east-2:111111111111:MyDemoRepo" } ] }

To restrict the calls and resources that users in your account have access to, create specific IAM policies, and then attach those policies to IAM users. For more information about how to create IAM roles and to explore example IAM policy statements for CodeCommit, see Customer managed identity policy examples.

Resource-based policies

Some services, such as Amazon S3, also support resource-based permissions policies. For example, you can attach a resource-based policy to an S3 bucket to manage access permissions to that bucket. CodeCommit doesn't support resource-based policies, but you can use tags to identify resources, which you can then use in IAM policies. For an example of a tag-based policy, see Identity-based policies (IAM policies).

Resource scoping in CodeCommit

In CodeCommit, you can scope identity-based policies and permissions to resources, as described in CodeCommit resources and operations. However, you cannot scope the ListRepositories permission to a resource. Instead, you must scope it to all resources (using the wildcard *). Otherwise, the action fails.

All other CodeCommit permissions can be scoped to resources.

Specifying policy elements: resources, actions, effects, and principals

You can create policies to allow or deny users access to resources, or allow or deny users to take specific actions on those resources. CodeCommit defines a set of public API operations that define how users work with the service, whether that is through the CodeCommit console, the SDKs, the AWS CLI, or by directly calling those APIs. To grant permissions for these API operations, CodeCommit defines a set of actions that you can specify in a policy.

Some API operations can require permissions for more than one action. For more information about resources and API operations, see CodeCommit resources and operations and CodeCommit permissions reference.

The following are the basic elements of a policy:

  • Resource – To identify the resource that the policy applies to, you use an Amazon Resource Name (ARN). For more information, see CodeCommit resources and operations.

  • Action – To identify resource operations that you want to allow or deny, you use action keywords. For example, depending on the specified Effect, the codecommit:GetBranch permission either allows or denies the user to perform the GetBranch operation, which gets details about a branch in a CodeCommit repository.

  • Effect – You specify the effect, either allow or deny, that takes place when the user requests the specific action. If you don't explicitly grant access to (allow) a resource, access is implicitly denied. You can also explicitly deny access to a resource to make sure that a user cannot access it, even if a different policy grants access.

  • Principal – In identity-based policies (IAM policies), the only type of policies that CodeCommit supports, the user that the policy is attached to is the implicit principal.

To learn more about IAM policy syntax, see IAM Policy Reference in the IAM User Guide.

For a table showing all of the CodeCommit API actions and the resources that they apply to, see CodeCommit permissions reference.

Specifying conditions in a policy

When you grant permissions, you use the access policy language for IAM to specify the conditions under which a policy should take effect. For example, you might want a policy to be applied only after a specific date. For more information about specifying conditions in a policy language, see Condition and Policy Grammar in the IAM User Guide.

To express conditions, you use predefined condition keys. There are no condition keys specific to CodeCommit. However, there are AWS-wide condition keys that you can use as appropriate. For a complete list of AWS-wide keys, see Available Keys for Conditions in the IAM User Guide.