配合使用 AWS Lambda和 AWS X-Ray - AWS Lambda

配合使用 AWS Lambda和 AWS X-Ray

您可以使用 AWS X-Ray 来可视化应用程序的组件、确定性能瓶颈以及对导致错误的请求进行故障排除。您的 Lambda 函数会将跟踪数据发送到 X-Ray,X-Ray 将处理这些数据以生成服务映射和可搜索的跟踪摘要。

如果您在调用函数的服务中启用了 X-Ray 跟踪,则 Lambda 会自动将跟踪发送到 X-Ray。上游服务(例如 Amazon API Gateway)或通过 X-Ray 开发工具包检测的托管于 Amazon EC2 上的应用程序将对传入请求进行采样,并添加跟踪头来指示 Lambda 是否发送跟踪。上游消息创建者(例如 Amazon SQS)的跟踪会自动链接到下游 Lambda 函数的跟踪,从而创建整个应用程序的端到端视图。有关更多信息,请参阅《AWS X-Ray 开发人员指南》中的 Tracing event-driven applications(跟踪事件驱动型应用程序)。

注意

目前,使用 Amazon Managed Streaming for Apache Kafka(Amazon MSK)、自行管理的 Apache Kafka、具有 ActiveMQ 及 RabbitMQ 或 Amazon DocumentDB 事件源映射的 Amazon MQ 的 Lambda 函数,不支持 X-Ray 跟踪。

要使用控制台切换 Lambda 函数的活动跟踪,请按照以下步骤操作:

打开活跃跟踪
  1. 打开 Lamba 控制台的 Functions(函数)页面。

  2. 选择函数。

  3. 选择 Configuration(配置),然后选择 Monitoring and operations tools(监控和操作工具)。

  4. 选择编辑

  5. X-Ray 下方,开启 Active tracing(活动跟踪)。

  6. 选择 Save(保存)。

定价

作为 AWS 免费套餐的组成部分,您可以每月免费使用 X-Ray 跟踪,但不能超过一定限制。超出该阈值后,X-Ray 会对跟踪存储和检索进行收费。有关更多信息,请参阅 AWS X-Ray 定价

您的函数需要权限才能将跟踪数据上载到 X-Ray。在 Lambda 控制台中激活跟踪后,Lambda 会将所需权限添加到函数的执行角色。如果没有,请将 AWSXRayDaemonWriteAccess 策略添加到执行角色。

X-Ray 无法跟踪对应用程序的所有请求。X-Ray 将应用采样算法确保跟踪有效,同时仍会提供所有请求的一个代表性样本。采样率是每秒 1 个请求和 5% 的其他请求。

注意

您无法为您的函数配置此 X-Ray 采样率。

在 X-Ray 中,跟踪记录有关由一个或多个服务处理的请求的信息。Lambda 会每个跟踪记录 2 个分段,这些分段将在服务图上创建两个节点。下图突出显示了错误处理程序示例应用程序中的主函数的这两个节点。

具有单个函数的 X-Ray 服务地图。

位于左侧的第一个节点表示接收调用请求的 Lambda 服务。第二个节点表示特定的 Lambda 函数。以下示例显示了一个包含这 2 个分段的跟踪。两者都命名为 my-function,但其中一个函数具有 AWS::Lambda 源,另一个则具有 AWS::Lambda::Function 源。如果 AWS::Lambda 分段显示错误,则表示 Lambda 服务存在问题。如果 AWS::Lambda::Function 分段显示错误,则说明函数存在问题。

一个 X-Ray 跟踪,它将显示特定 Lambda 调用的每个子分段的延迟。

该函数分段(AWS::Lambda::Function)带有 InitializationInvocationRestore(仅 Lambda SnapStart)和 Overhead 子分段。有关更多信息,请参阅 Lambda 执行环境生命周期

注意

X-Ray 将 Lambda 函数中未处理的异常视为 Error 状态。X-Ray 仅在 Lambda 遇到内部服务器错误时才会记录 Fault 状态。有关更多信息,请参阅《X-Ray 开发人员指南》中的 Errors, faults, and exceptions(错误、故障和异常)。

Initialization 子分段表示 Lambda 执行环境生命周期的初始化阶段。在此阶段,Lambda 会使用您配置的资源创建或取消冻结执行环境、下载函数代码和所有层、初始化扩展、初始化运行时以及运行函数的初始化代码。

Invocation 子段表示 Lambda 调用函数处理程序的调用阶段。这从运行时和扩展注册开始,在运行时准备好发送响应时结束。

(仅 Lambda SnapStartRestore 子分段会显示 Lambda 恢复快照、加载运行时系统(JVM)和运行任何 afterRestore 运行时系统挂钩所花费的时间。恢复快照的过程可能包含在 MicroVM 之外的活动上花费的时间。该时间在 Restore 子分段中报告。您无需为在 microVM 之外还原快照所花费的时间付费。

Overhead 子段表示在运行时发送响应和下次调用信号之间出现的阶段。在此期间,运行时会完成与调用相关的所有任务,并准备冻结沙盒。

注意

有时,您可能会注意到 X-Ray 跟踪中的函数初始化阶段与调用阶段之间存在较大间隔。对于使用预置并发的函数,这是因为 Lambda 会在调用之前尽早初始化函数实例。对于使用非预留(按需)并发的函数,即使没有调用,Lambda 也可能会主动初始化函数实例。直观上看,这两种情况都表现为初始化阶段与调用阶段之间的时间间隔。

重要

在 Lambda 中,您可以使用 X-Ray 开发工具包来扩展 Invocation 子分段,使其具有用于进行下游调用、注释和元数据的更多子分段。您无法直接访问函数分段,也无法记录在处理程序调用范围之外完成的工作。

有关 Lambda 中特定于语言的跟踪简介,请参阅以下主题:

有关支持活动检测的服务的完整列表,请参阅 AWS X-Ray 开发人员指南中的受支持的AWS服务

执行角色权限

Lambda 需要以下权限才能将跟踪数据发送到 X-Ray。将这些权限添加到您的函数的执行角色中。

这些权限包含在 AWSXRayDaemonWriteAccess 托管策略中。

AWS X-Ray 进程守护程序

X-Ray 开发工具包使用进程守护程序,而不是直接向 X-Ray API 发送跟踪数据。AWS X-Ray 进程守护程序是在 Lambda 环境中运行,并侦听包含分段和子分段的 UDP 流量的应用程序。它缓冲传入的数据并将其分批写入 X-Ray,从而减少跟踪调用所需的处理和内存开销。

Lambda 运行时允许进程守护程序最多占用函数配置内存的 3% 或 16 MB(以较大者为准)。如果您的函数在调用期间内存不足,则运行时首先终止进程守护程序以释放内存。

进程守护程序完全由 Lambda 管理,用户无法配置。通过调用函数生成的所有分段都记录在与 Lambda 函数相同的账户中。无法将进程守护程序配置为将这些分段重定向到任何其他账户。

有关更多信息,请参阅 X-Ray 开发人员指南中的 X-Ray 进程守护程序

使用 Lambda API 启用活动跟踪

要使用 AWS CLI 或 AWS 开发工具包管理跟踪配置,请使用以下 API 操作:

以下示例 AWS CLI 命令对名为 my-function 的函数启用活跃跟踪。

aws lambda update-function-configuration --function-name my-function \ --tracing-config Mode=Active

跟踪模式是发布函数版本时版本特定配置的一部分。您无法更改已发布版本上的跟踪模式。

使用 AWS CloudFormation 启用主动跟踪

要对 AWS CloudFormation 模板中的 AWS::Lambda::Function 资源激活跟踪,请使用 TracingConfig 属性。

function-inline.yml – 跟踪配置
Resources: function: Type: AWS::Lambda::Function Properties: TracingConfig: Mode: Active ...

对于 AWS Serverless Application Model (AWS SAM) AWS::Serverless::Function 资源,请使用 Tracing 属性。

template.yml – 跟踪配置
Resources: function: Type: AWS::Serverless::Function Properties: Tracing: Active ...

Using AWS Lambda with AWS X-Ray - AWS Lambda

Using AWS Lambda with AWS X-Ray

You can use AWS X-Ray to visualize the components of your application, identify performance bottlenecks, and troubleshoot requests that resulted in an error. Your Lambda functions send trace data to X-Ray, and X-Ray processes the data to generate a service map and searchable trace summaries.

If you've enabled X-Ray tracing in a service that invokes your function, Lambda sends traces to X-Ray automatically. The upstream service, such as Amazon API Gateway, or an application hosted on Amazon EC2 that is instrumented with the X-Ray SDK, samples incoming requests and adds a tracing header that tells Lambda to send traces or not. Traces from upstream message producers, such as Amazon SQS, are automatically linked to traces from downstream Lambda functions, creating an end-to-end view of the entire application. For more information, see Tracing event-driven applications in the AWS X-Ray Developer Guide.

Note

X-Ray tracing is currently not supported for Lambda functions with Amazon Managed Streaming for Apache Kafka (Amazon MSK), self-managed Apache Kafka, or Amazon MQ with ActiveMQ and RabbitMQ event source mappings.

To toggle active tracing on your Lambda function with the console, follow these steps:

To turn on active tracing
  1. Open the Functions page of the Lambda console.

  2. Choose a function.

  3. Choose Configuration and then choose Monitoring and operations tools.

  4. Choose Edit.

  5. Under X-Ray, toggle on Active tracing.

  6. Choose Save.

Pricing

You can use X-Ray tracing for free each month up to a certain limit as part of the AWS Free Tier. Beyond that threshold, X-Ray charges for trace storage and retrieval. For more information, see AWS X-Ray pricing.

Your function needs permission to upload trace data to X-Ray. When you activate tracing in the Lambda console, Lambda adds the required permissions to your function's execution role. Otherwise, add the AWSXRayDaemonWriteAccess policy to the execution role.

X-Ray doesn't trace all requests to your application. X-Ray applies a sampling algorithm to ensure that tracing is efficient, while still providing a representative sample of all requests. The sampling rate is 1 request per second and 5 percent of additional requests.

Note

You cannot configure the X-Ray sampling rate for your functions.

In X-Ray, a trace records information about a request that is processed by one or more services. Services record segments that contain layers of subsegments. Lambda records a segment for the Lambda service that handles the invocation request, and one for the work done by the function. The function segment comes with subsegments for Initialization, Invocation and Overhead. For more information see Lambda execution environment lifecycle.

Note

X-Ray treats unhandled exceptions in your Lambda function as Error statuses. X-Ray records Fault statuses only when Lambda experiences internal server errors. For more information, see Errors, faults, and exceptions in the X-Ray Developer Guide.

The Initialization subsegment represents the init phase of the Lambda execution environment lifecycle. During this phase, Lambda creates or unfreezes an execution environment with the resources you have configured, downloads the function code and all layers, initializes extensions, initializes the runtime, and runs the function's initialization code.

The Invocation subsegment represents the invoke phase where Lambda invokes the function handler. This begins with runtime and extension registration and it ends when the runtime is ready to send the response.

The Overhead subsegment represents the phase that occurs between the time when the runtime sends the response and the signal for the next invoke. During this time, the runtime finishes all tasks related to an invoke and prepares to freeze the sandbox.

Note

Occasionally, you may notice a large gap between the function initialization and invocation phases in your X-Ray traces. For functions using provisioned concurrency, this is because Lambda initializes your function instances well in advance of invocation. For functions using unreserved (on-demand) concurrency, Lambda may proactively initialize a function instance, even if there's no invocation. Visually, both of these cases show up as a time gap between the initialization and invocation phases.

Important

In Lambda, you can use the X-Ray SDK to extend the Invocation subsegment with additional subsegments for downstream calls, annotations, and metadata. You can't access the function segment directly or record work done outside of the handler invocation scope.

See the following topics for a language-specific introduction to tracing in Lambda:

For a full list of services that support active instrumentation, see Supported AWS services in the AWS X-Ray Developer Guide.

Execution role permissions

Lambda needs the following permissions to send trace data to X-Ray. Add them to your function's execution role.

These permissions are included in the AWSXRayDaemonWriteAccess managed policy.

The AWS X-Ray daemon

Instead of sending trace data directly to the X-Ray API, the X-Ray SDK uses a daemon process. The AWS X-Ray daemon is an application that runs in the Lambda environment and listens for UDP traffic that contains segments and subsegments. It buffers incoming data and writes it to X-Ray in batches, reducing the processing and memory overhead required to trace invocations.

The Lambda runtime allows the daemon to up to 3 percent of your function's configured memory or 16 MB, whichever is greater. If your function runs out of memory during invocation, the runtime terminates the daemon process first to free up memory.

The daemon process is fully managed by Lambda and cannot be configured by the user. All segments generated by function invocations are recorded in the same account as the Lambda function. The daemon cannot be configured to redirect them to any other account.

For more information, see The X-Ray daemon in the X-Ray Developer Guide.

Enabling active tracing with the Lambda API

To manage tracing configuration with the AWS CLI or AWS SDK, use the following API operations:

The following example AWS CLI command enables active tracing on a function named my-function.

aws lambda update-function-configuration --function-name my-function \ --tracing-config Mode=Active

Tracing mode is part of the version-specific configuration when you publish a version of your function. You can't change the tracing mode on a published version.

Enabling active tracing with AWS CloudFormation

To activate tracing on an AWS::Lambda::Function resource in an AWS CloudFormation template, use the TracingConfig property.

Example function-inline.yml – Tracing configuration
Resources: function: Type: AWS::Lambda::Function Properties: TracingConfig: Mode: Active ...

For an AWS Serverless Application Model (AWS SAM) AWS::Serverless::Function resource, use the Tracing property.

Example template.yml – Tracing configuration
Resources: function: Type: AWS::Serverless::Function Properties: Tracing: Active ...