將平方數據重置功能轉換為 Amazon Redshift SQL - AWS Prescriptive Guidance

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

將平方數據重置功能轉換為 Amazon Redshift SQL

由寶康 (AWS) 創作

來源:Terdata 資料倉儲

目標:Amazon Redshift

R 類型:重新架構

環境:生產

技術:分析; 資料庫; 移轉

工作負載:所有其他工作負載

AWS 服務:Amazon Redshift

Summary

重設時是 SQL 分析窗口函數中使用的 Terdata 功能。它是 ANSI SQL 標準的延伸。重設時會根據某些指定的條件決定 SQL 視窗函數運作的分割區。若條件評估為TRUE,則會在現有的視窗磁碟分割內建立新的動態子磁碟分割。如需有關 的詳細資訊重設時,請參閱Terdata 文件

Amazon Redshift 不支援重設時在 SQL 視窗函數中。要實現此功能,您必須將重設時添加到 Amazon Redshift 中的本地 SQL 語法,並使用多個嵌套函數。此模式演示如何使用 Terdata重設時功能,以及如何將其轉換為 Amazon Redshift SQL 語法。 

先決條件和限制

先決條件

  • Terdata 數據倉庫及其 SQL 語法的基本知識

  • 對 Amazon Redshift 及其 SQL 語法的良好理解

Architecture

來源技術堆疊

  • Terdata 資料倉儲

目標技術堆疊

  • Amazon Redshift

架構

如需將 Terdata 資料庫遷移到 Amazon Redshift 的高階架構,請參閱使用 AWS SCT 資料擷取代理程式將 Terdata 資料資料庫遷移到 Amazon Redshift。遷移不會自動轉換 Terdata重設時短語添加到 Amazon Redshift SQL。您可以按照下一節中的指導方針轉換此 Terdata 擴充功能。

Tools

Code

為了說明重設時,請考慮以下 Terdata 中的表格定義:

create table systest.f_account_balance ( account_id integer NOT NULL, month_id integer, balance integer ) unique primary index (account_id, month_id);

執行下列 SQL 程式碼,將範例資料插入資料表:

BEGIN TRANSACTION; Insert Into systest.f_account_balance values (1,1,60); Insert Into systest.f_account_balance values (1,2,99); Insert Into systest.f_account_balance values (1,3,94); Insert Into systest.f_account_balance values (1,4,90); Insert Into systest.f_account_balance values (1,5,80); Insert Into systest.f_account_balance values (1,6,88); Insert Into systest.f_account_balance values (1,7,90); Insert Into systest.f_account_balance values (1,8,92); Insert Into systest.f_account_balance values (1,9,10); Insert Into systest.f_account_balance values (1,10,60); Insert Into systest.f_account_balance values (1,11,80); Insert Into systest.f_account_balance values (1,12,10); END TRANSACTION;

範例資料表具有下列資料:

account_id

月份 (_ID)

balance

1

1

60

1

2

99

1

3

94

1

4

90

1

5

80

1

6

88

1

7

90

1

8

92

1

9

10

1

10

60

1

11

80

1

12

10

對於每個帳戶,假設您想要分析連續每月餘額增加的順序。當一個月的餘額小於或等於上個月的餘額時,需要將計數器重設為零並重新啟動。

使用案例時重置太數據

為了分析這些數據,Terdata SQL 使用窗口函數與嵌套聚合和重設時片語,如下所示:

SELECT account_id, month_id, balance, ( ROW_NUMBER() OVER (PARTITION BY account_id ORDER BY month_id RESET WHEN balance <= SUM(balance) over (PARTITION BY account_id ORDER BY month_id ROWS BETWEEN 1 PRECEDING AND 1 PRECEDING) ) -1 ) as balance_increase FROM systest.f_account_balance ORDER BY 1,2;

輸出:

 account_id

月份 (_ID)

balance

平衡增加 (_A)

1

1

60

0

1

2

99

1

1

3

94

0

1

4

90

0

1

5

80

0

1

6

88

1

1

7

90

2

1

8

92

3

1

9

10

0

1

10

60

1

1

11

80

2

1

12

10

0

查詢的處理方式如下在 Terdata:

  1. 所以此SUM (餘額)彙總函數會計算指定月份內給定帳戶的所有餘額總和。

  2. 我們會檢查指定月份 (針對特定帳戶) 的餘額是否大於上個月的餘額。

  3. 如果餘額增加,我們會追蹤累計計數值。如果重設時條件評估為false,這意味著平衡已經在連續幾個月增加,我們繼續增加計數。

  4. 所以此列號碼 ()有序分析函數計算計數值。當我們達到一個月餘額小於或等於上個月餘額的月份時,重設時條件評估為true。如果是這樣,我們會啟動一個新的分割區,列號碼 ()從 1 重新啟動計數。我們使用前面 1 和前面 1 之間的行來訪問前一行的值。

  5. 我們減去 1,以確保計數值以 0 開始。

Amazon Redshift 等效 SQL

Amazon Redshift 不支援重設時短語中的 SQL 分析窗口函數。 若要產生相同的結果,您必須使用 Amazon Redshift 原生 SQL 語法和嵌套子查詢重寫 Terdata SQL,如下所示: 

SELECT account_id, month_id, balance, (ROW_NUMBER() OVER(PARTITION BY account_id, new_dynamic_part ORDER BY month_id) -1) as balance_increase FROM ( SELECT account_id, month_id, balance, prev_balance, SUM(dynamic_part) OVER (PARTITION BY account_id ORDER BY month_id ROWS BETWEEN UNBOUNDED PRECEDING AND CURRENT ROW) As new_dynamic_part FROM ( SELECT account_id, month_id, balance, SUM(balance) over (PARTITION BY account_id ORDER BY month_id ROWS BETWEEN 1 PRECEDING AND 1 PRECEDING) as prev_balance, (CASE When balance <= prev_balance Then 1 Else 0 END) as dynamic_part FROM systest.f_account_balance ) A ) B ORDER BY 1,2;

因為 Amazon Redshift 不支援SELECT子句,則必須使用兩個嵌套的子查詢。

  • 在內部子查詢 (別名 A) 中,動態磁碟分割指示器 (動態零件)被創建並填充。動態零件設定為 1,如果一個月的餘額小於或等於前一個月的餘額;否則,它會設定為 0。 

  • 在下一層(別名 B)中,新建動態零件 (_E)屬性生成的結果SUM視窗函數。 

  • 最後,您將新建動態零件 (_E)作為新的分區屬性(動態分區) 新增至現有的磁碟分割屬性 (account_id)並應用相同的列號碼 ()窗口函數,如在 Terdata 中一樣(和減一)。 

這些變化後,Amazon Redshift SQL 生成相同的輸出為 Terradata。

Epics

任務描述所需技能
創建您的 Terdata 窗口功能。

根據您的需求,使用嵌套聚合和 RESET WHEN 短語。

SQL Developer
將代碼轉換為 Amazon Redshift SQL。

若要轉換程式碼,請遵循此模式的 < 工具 > 一節中的指導方針。

SQL Developer
在 Amazon Redshift 運行代碼。

建立表格、將資料載入表格,然後在 Amazon Redshift 中執行程式碼。

SQL Developer

References

工具

合作夥伴

Convert the Teradata RESET WHEN feature to Amazon Redshift SQL - AWS Prescriptive Guidance

Convert the Teradata RESET WHEN feature to Amazon Redshift SQL

Source: Teradata data warehouse

Target: Amazon Redshift

R Type: Re-architect

Environment: Production

Technologies: Analytics; Databases; Migration

Workload: All other workloads

AWS services: Amazon Redshift

Summary

RESET WHEN is a Teradata feature used in SQL analytical window functions. It is an extension to the ANSI SQL standard. RESET WHEN determines the partition over which an SQL window function operates based on some specified condition. If the condition evaluates to TRUE, a new, dynamic sub-partition is created inside the existing window partition. For more information about RESET WHEN, see the Teradata documentation.

Amazon Redshift doesn’t support RESET WHEN in SQL window functions. To implement this functionality, you have to convert RESET WHEN to the native SQL syntax in Amazon Redshift, and use multiple, nested functions. This pattern demonstrates how you can use the Teradata RESET WHEN feature and how you can convert it to Amazon Redshift SQL syntax. 

Prerequisites and limitations

Prerequisites

  • Basic knowledge of the Teradata data warehouse and its SQL syntax

  • Good understanding of Amazon Redshift and its SQL syntax

Architecture

Source technology stack

  • Teradata data warehouse

Target technology stack

  • Amazon Redshift

Architecture

For a high-level architecture for migrating a Teradata database to Amazon Redshift, see the pattern Migrate a Teradata database to Amazon Redshift using AWS SCT data extraction agents. The migration doesn't automatically convert the Teradata RESET WHEN phrase to Amazon Redshift SQL. You can convert this Teradata extension by following the guidelines in the next section.

Tools

Code

To illustrate the concept of RESET WHEN, consider the following table definition in Teradata:

create table systest.f_account_balance ( account_id integer NOT NULL, month_id integer, balance integer ) unique primary index (account_id, month_id);

Run the following SQL code to insert sample data into the table:

BEGIN TRANSACTION; Insert Into systest.f_account_balance values (1,1,60); Insert Into systest.f_account_balance values (1,2,99); Insert Into systest.f_account_balance values (1,3,94); Insert Into systest.f_account_balance values (1,4,90); Insert Into systest.f_account_balance values (1,5,80); Insert Into systest.f_account_balance values (1,6,88); Insert Into systest.f_account_balance values (1,7,90); Insert Into systest.f_account_balance values (1,8,92); Insert Into systest.f_account_balance values (1,9,10); Insert Into systest.f_account_balance values (1,10,60); Insert Into systest.f_account_balance values (1,11,80); Insert Into systest.f_account_balance values (1,12,10); END TRANSACTION;

The sample table has the following data:

account_id

month_id

balance

1

1

60

1

2

99

1

3

94

1

4

90

1

5

80

1

6

88

1

7

90

1

8

92

1

9

10

1

10

60

1

11

80

1

12

10

For each account, let’s say that you want to analyze the sequence of consecutive monthly balance increases. When one month’s balance is less than, or equal to, the previous month’s balance, the requirement is to reset the counter to zero and restart.

Teradata RESET WHEN use case

To analyze this data, Teradata SQL uses a window function with a nested aggregate and a RESET WHEN phrase, as follows:

SELECT account_id, month_id, balance, ( ROW_NUMBER() OVER (PARTITION BY account_id ORDER BY month_id RESET WHEN balance <= SUM(balance) over (PARTITION BY account_id ORDER BY month_id ROWS BETWEEN 1 PRECEDING AND 1 PRECEDING) ) -1 ) as balance_increase FROM systest.f_account_balance ORDER BY 1,2;

Output:

 account_id

month_id

balance

balance_increase

1

1

60

0

1

2

99

1

1

3

94

0

1

4

90

0

1

5

80

0

1

6

88

1

1

7

90

2

1

8

92

3

1

9

10

0

1

10

60

1

1

11

80

2

1

12

10

0

The query is processed as follows in Teradata:

  1. The SUM(balance) aggregate function calculates the sum of all balances for a given account in a given month.

  2. We check to see if a balance in a given month (for a given account) is greater than the balance of the previous month.

  3. If the balance increased, we track a cumulative count value. If the RESET WHEN condition evaluates to false, which means that the balance has increased over successive months, we continue to increase the count.

  4. The ROW_NUMBER() ordered analytical function calculates the count value. When we reach a month whose balance is less than, or equal to, the balance of the previous month, the RESET WHEN condition evaluates to true. If so, we start a new partition and ROW_NUMBER() restarts the count from 1. We use ROWS BETWEEN 1 PRECEDING AND 1 PRECEDING to access the value of the previous row.

  5. We subtract 1 to ensure that the count value starts with 0.

Amazon Redshift equivalent SQL

Amazon Redshift doesn’t support the RESET WHEN phrase in an SQL analytical window function.  To produce the same result, you must rewrite the Teradata SQL using Amazon Redshift native SQL syntax and nested sub-queries, as follows: 

SELECT account_id, month_id, balance, (ROW_NUMBER() OVER(PARTITION BY account_id, new_dynamic_part ORDER BY month_id) -1) as balance_increase FROM ( SELECT account_id, month_id, balance, prev_balance, SUM(dynamic_part) OVER (PARTITION BY account_id ORDER BY month_id ROWS BETWEEN UNBOUNDED PRECEDING AND CURRENT ROW) As new_dynamic_part FROM ( SELECT account_id, month_id, balance, SUM(balance) over (PARTITION BY account_id ORDER BY month_id ROWS BETWEEN 1 PRECEDING AND 1 PRECEDING) as prev_balance, (CASE When balance <= prev_balance Then 1 Else 0 END) as dynamic_part FROM systest.f_account_balance ) A ) B ORDER BY 1,2;

Because Amazon Redshift doesn’t support nested window functions in the SELECT clause of a single SQL statement, you must use two nested sub-queries.

  • In the inner sub-query (alias A), a dynamic partition indicator (dynamic_part) is created and populated. dynamic_part is set to 1 if one month’s balance is less than or equal to the preceding month’s balance; otherwise, it’s set to 0. 

  • In the next layer (alias B), a new_dynamic_part attribute is generated as the result of a SUM window function. 

  • Finally, you add new_dynamic_part as a new partition attribute (dynamic partition) to the existing partition attribute (account_id) and apply the same ROW_NUMBER() window function as in Teradata (and minus one). 

After these changes, Amazon Redshift SQL generates the same output as Teradata.

Epics

TaskDescriptionSkills required
Create your Teradata window function.

Use nested aggregates and the RESET WHEN phrase according to your needs.

SQL developer
Convert the code to Amazon Redshift SQL.

To convert your code, follow the guidelines in the "Tools" section of this pattern.

SQL developer
Run the code in Amazon Redshift.

Create your table, load data into the table, and run your code in Amazon Redshift.

SQL developer

References

Tools

Partners