托管节点组 - Amazon EKS

托管节点组

Amazon EKS 托管节点组为 Amazon EKS Kubernetes 集群自动对节点(Amazon EC2 实例)进行预置和生命周期管理。

使用 Amazon EKS 托管节点组,您无需单独预置或注册 Amazon EC2 实例以提供计算容量来运行 Kubernetes 应用程序。您可以通过单个操作为集群创建、自动更新或终止节点。节点的更新和终止操作会自动耗尽节点,以确保您的应用程序保持为可用的状态。

所有托管节点均作为由 Amazon EKS 为您管理的 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 组的一部分进行预置。所有资源(包括实例和 Auto Scaling 组在内)都在您的 AWS 账户中运行。每个节点组跨您定义的多个可用区运行。

您可以使用 Amazon EKS 控制台、eksctl、AWS CLI、AWS API 或基础设施即代码工具(包括 AWS CloudFormation),将托管节点组添加到新的或现有集群中。作为托管节点组一部分启动的节点会自动进行标记,以便由 Kubernetes Cluster Autoscaler 自动发现它们。您可以使用节点组将 Kubernetes 标签应用到节点并随时更新它们。

使用 Amazon EKS 托管节点组没有额外的费用,您只需为预置的 AWS 资源付费。这些资源包括 Amazon EC2 实例、Amazon EBS 卷、Amazon EKS 集群小时数和任何其他 AWS 基础设施。无最低费用,无预先承诺。

要开始使用新 Amazon EKS 集群和托管节点组,请参阅 开始使用 Amazon EKS – AWS Management Console 和 AWS CLI

要将托管节点组添加到现有集群,请参阅 创建托管节点组

托管节点组概念

  • Amazon EKS 托管节点组为您创建和管理 Amazon EC2 实例。

  • 所有托管节点均作为由 Amazon EKS 为您管理的 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 组的一部分进行预置。此外,包括 Amazon EC2 实例和 Auto Scaling 组在内的所有资源都在您的 AWS 账户中运行。

  • 托管节点组的弹性伸缩组涵盖您在创建组时指定的所有子网。

  • Amazon EKS 标记托管节点组资源,以便将其配置为使用 Kubernetes Cluster Autoscaler

    重要

    如果要使用 Kubernetes Cluster Autoscaler 在由 Amazon EBS 卷支持的多个可用区中运行有状态应用程序,则应该配置多个节点组,每个节点组的范围都限定为一个可用区。此外,您还应该启用 --balance-similar-node-groups 功能。

  • 在部署托管节点时,可以使用自定义启动模板以获得更大灵活性和自定义性。如果您使用启动模板进行部署,也可以使用自定义 AMI。有关更多信息,请参阅启动模板支持。如果首次创建托管节点组时没有使用自定义启动模板,则会有自动生成的启动模板。不要手动修改此自动生成的模板,否则会发生错误。

  • Amazon EKS 在托管节点组上遵循 CVE 和安全补丁的责任共担模式。当托管节点运行 Amazon EKS 优化版 AMI 时,Amazon EKS 负责在报告 Bug 或问题时构建 AMI 的修补版本。我们可以发布修复程序。但是,您负责将这些修补的 AMI 版本部署到托管节点组。当托管节点运行自定义 AMI 时,您要负责在报告 Bug 或问题时构建 AMI 的修补版本,然后部署 AMI。有关更多信息,请参阅更新托管节点组

  • Amazon EKS 托管节点组既可以在公有子网也可以在私有子网中启动。如果您在不早于 2020 年 4 月 22 日启动了公有子网中的托管节点组,则子网必须将 MapPublicIpOnLaunch 设置为 true,这些实例才能成功加入集群。如果公有子网是使用 eksctlAmazon EKS 发布的 AWS CloudFormation 模板并在 2020 年 3 月 26 日或之后创建的,则此设置已设置为 true。如果在 2020 年 3 月 26 日之前创建了公有子网,则必须手动更改设置。有关更多信息,请参阅修改子网的公有 IPv4 寻址属性

  • 在私有子网中使用 VPC 端点时,您必须为 com.amazonaws.region.ecr.apicom.amazonaws.region.ecr.dkr 创建端点,并为 Amazon S3 创建网关端点。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon ECR 接口 VPC 端点 (AWS PrivateLink)

  • 托管节点组无法部署在 AWS Outposts 上或者 AWS Wavelength 或 AWS Local Zones 中。

  • 您可以在单个集群中创建多个托管节点组。例如,您可以为某些工作负载使用标准的 Amazon EKS 优化版 Amazon Linux 2 AMI 创建一个节点组,为需要 GPU 支持的工作负载使用 GPU 变体创建另一个节点组。

  • 如果您的托管节点组遇到 Amazon EC2 实例状况检查失败,则 Amazon EKS 返回错误消息以帮助您诊断问题。有关更多信息,请参阅托管节点组错误

  • Amazon EKS 将 Kubernetes 标签添加到托管节点组实例。Amazon EKS 提供的这些标签带有前缀 eks.amazonaws.com

  • 在终止或更新期间,Amazon EKS 使用 Kubernetes API 自动耗尽节点。更新操作遵循您为 pods 设置的 pod 中断预算。

  • 使用 Amazon EKS 托管节点组不会产生额外的费用。您仅需为预置的AWS资源付费。

  • 如果要为节点加密 Amazon EBS 卷,可以使用启动模板部署节点。要在不使用启动模板的情况下部署包含加密 Amazon EBS 卷的托管节点,必须对账户中创建的所有新 Amazon EBS 卷进行加密。有关更多信息,请参阅《适用于 Linux 实例的 Amazon EC2 用户指南》中的默认加密

托管节点组容量类型

创建托管节点组时,您可以选择按需容量或 Spot 容量类型。Amazon EKS 使用 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 组部署托管节点组,该组只包含按需实例或只包含 Amazon EC2 竞价型实例。您可以将容错应用程序的 pods 调度到 Spot 托管节点组,将容错应用程序调度到单个 Kubernetes 集群中的按需节点组。预设情况下,托管节点组部署按需 Amazon EC2 实例。

按需

使用按需实例,您按秒为计算容量支付费用,无需长期订阅。

工作方式

预设情况下,如果您没有指定容量类型,则会使用按需实例预置托管节点组。托管节点组会代表您配置 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 组,并应用以下设置:

  • 预置按需容量的分配策略设置为 prioritized。托管节点组使用实例类型在 API 中的传入顺序,确定在满足按需容量时首先使用哪种实例类型。例如,您可以按以下顺序指定三种实例类型:c5.largec4.largec3.large。在启动您的按需实例时,托管节点组满足按需容量的顺序是从 c5.large 开始,然后是 c4.large,再然后是 c3.large。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 用户指南中的 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 组

  • Amazon EKS 会向您指定了容量类型的托管节点组中的所有节点添加以下 Kubernetes 标签:eks.amazonaws.com/capacityType: ON_DEMAND。您可以使用此标注在按需节点上调度有状态或不容错的应用程序。

Spot 实例

Amazon EC2 Spot 实例是备用的 Amazon EC2 容量,价格相当于在按需实例价格上打了巨大折扣。当 EC2 需要收回容量时,Amazon EC2 Spot 实例可能中断并发出一个两分钟的中断通知。有关更多信息,请参阅《适用于 Linux 实例的 Amazon EC2 用户指南》中的竞价型实例。您可以使用 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例配置托管节点组,以优化 Amazon EKS 集群中运行的计算节点的成本。

工作方式

要在托管节点组中使用 Spot 实例,请将容量类型设置为 spot,创建托管节点组。托管节点组使用以下 Spot 最佳实践代表您配置 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 组:

  • 预置 Spot 容量的分配策略设置为 capacity-optimized,以确保您的 Spot 节点在最佳 Spot 容量池中进行配置。要增加可用于分配容量的 Spot 容量池的数量,请将托管节点组配置为使用多个实例类型。

  • 启用了 Amazon EC2 Spot 容量再平衡,以便 Amazon EKS 能够顺畅地耗尽和重新平衡您的 Spot 节点,从而在 Spot 节点中断风险增加时最大限度地减少应用程序中断。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 用户指南中的 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 容量再平衡

    • Spot 节点收到再平衡建议时,Amazon EKS 会自动尝试启动新的替换 Spot 节点,并等待它成功加入集群。

    • 当替换 Spot 节点引导启动并在 Kubernetes 中处于 Ready 状态后,Amazon EKS 将封锁并耗尽收到再平衡建议的 Spot 节点。封锁 Spot 节点可确保服务控制器不会向此 Spot 节点发送任何新请求。它还将其从其运行状况良好的活动 Spot 节点列表中删除。耗尽 Spot 节点可确保正在运行的 pods 被自然地逐出。

    • 如果 Spot 两分钟中断通知在替换 Spot 节点进入 Ready 状态之前到达时间,Amazon EKS 将开始耗尽收到再平衡建议的 Spot 节点。

  • Amazon EKS 会向您指定了容量类型的托管节点组中的所有节点添加以下 Kubernetes 标签:eks.amazonaws.com/capacityType: SPOT。您可以使用此标注在 Spot 节点上安排容错应用程序。

选择容量类型的注意事项

在决定是部署具有按需容量还是 Spot 容量的节点组时,应考虑以下条件:

  • Spot 实例适合无状态、容错且灵活的应用程序。其中包括批处理和机器学习培训工作负载、大数据 ETL(例如 Apache Spark)、队列处理应用程序和无状态 API 端点。由于 Spot 是备用 Amazon EC2 容量,这些容量可能会随时间变化,因此我们建议您对可容忍中断的工作负载使用 Spot 容量。更具体地说,Spot 容量适合可以容忍所需容量不可用的时段的工作负载。

  • 我们建议您为不容错的应用程序使用 On-Demand。这包括集群管理工具,例如监控和操作工具,需要 StatefulSets 的部署,以及有状态的应用程序,如数据库。

  • 为了在使用 Spot 实例时最大限度地提高应用程序的可用性,我们建议您将 Spot 托管节点组配置为使用多个实例类型。我们建议在使用多个实例类型时应用以下规则:

    • 在托管节点组中,如果使用 Cluster Autoscaler,我们建议使用具有相同数量 vCPU 和内存资源的灵活实例类型集。这是为了确保集群中的节点按预期进行扩缩。例如,如果需要 4 个 vCPU 和 8 GiB 内存,请使用 c3.xlargec4.xlargec5.xlargec5d.xlargec5a.xlargec5n.xlarge 或其他类似实例类型。

    • 为了提高应用程序可用性,我们建议部署多个 Spot 托管节点组。为此,每个组应使用一组具有相同 vCPU 和内存资源的灵活实例类型。例如,如果您需要 4 个 vCPU 和 8 GiB 内存,我们建议您使用 c3.xlargec4.xlargec5.xlargec5d.xlargec5a.xlargec5n.xlarge 或其他类似的实例类型创建一个托管节点组,并使用 m3.xlargem4.xlargem5.xlargem5d.xlargem5a.xlargem5n.xlarge 或其他类似的实例类型创建第二个托管节点组。

    • 用使用自定义启动模板的 Spot 容量类型部署节点组时,请使用 API 传递多个实例类型。不要通过启动模板传递单个实例类型。有关使用启动模板部署节点组的更多信息,请参阅 启动模板支持

Managed node groups - Amazon EKS

Managed node groups

Amazon EKS managed node groups automate the provisioning and lifecycle management of nodes (Amazon EC2 instances) for Amazon EKS Kubernetes clusters.

With Amazon EKS managed node groups, you don’t need to separately provision or register the Amazon EC2 instances that provide compute capacity to run your Kubernetes applications. You can create, automatically update, or terminate nodes for your cluster with a single operation. Nodes run using the latest Amazon EKS optimized AMIs in your AWS account. Node updates and terminations automatically and gracefully drain nodes to ensure that your applications stay available.

All managed nodes are provisioned as part of an Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling group that's managed for you by Amazon EKS. All resources including the instances and Auto Scaling groups run within your AWS account. Each node group run across multiple Availability Zones that you define.

You can add a managed node group to new or existing clusters using the Amazon EKS console, eksctl, AWS CLI; AWS API, or infrastructure as code tools including AWS CloudFormation. Nodes launched as part of a managed node group are automatically tagged for auto-discovery by the Kubernetes cluster autoscaler. You can use the node group to apply Kubernetes labels to nodes and update them at any time.

There are no additional costs to use Amazon EKS managed node groups, you only pay for the AWS resources you provision. These include Amazon EC2 instances, Amazon EBS volumes, Amazon EKS cluster hours, and any other AWS infrastructure. There are no minimum fees and no upfront commitments.

To get started with a new Amazon EKS cluster and managed node group, see Getting started with Amazon EKS – AWS Management Console and AWS CLI.

To add a managed node group to an existing cluster, see Creating a managed node group.

Managed node groups concepts

  • Amazon EKS managed node groups create and manage Amazon EC2 instances for you.

  • All managed nodes are provisioned as part of an Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling group that's managed for you by Amazon EKS. Moreover, all resources including Amazon EC2 instances and Auto Scaling groups run within your AWS account.

  • A managed node group's Auto Scaling group spans all of the subnets that you specify when you create the group.

  • Amazon EKS tags managed node group resources so that they are configured to use the Kubernetes Cluster Autoscaler.

    Important

    If you are running a stateful application across multiple Availability Zones that is backed by Amazon EBS volumes and using the Kubernetes Cluster Autoscaler, you should configure multiple node groups, each scoped to a single Availability Zone. In addition, you should enable the --balance-similar-node-groups feature.

  • By default, instances in a managed node group use the latest version of the Amazon EKS optimized Amazon Linux 2 AMI for its cluster's Kubernetes version. You can choose between standard and GPU variants of the Amazon EKS optimized Amazon Linux 2 AMI. If you deploy using a launch template, you can also use a custom AMI. For more information, see Launch template support.

  • Amazon EKS follows the shared responsibility model for CVEs and security patches on managed node groups. When managed nodes run an Amazon EKS optimized AMI, Amazon EKS is responsible for building patched versions of the AMI when bugs or issues are reported. We can publish a fix. However, you're responsible for deploying these patched AMI versions to your managed node groups. When managed nodes run a custom AMI, you're responsible for building patched versions of the AMI when bugs or issues are reported and then deploying the AMI. For more information, see Updating a managed node group.

  • Amazon EKS managed node groups can be launched in both public and private subnets. If you launch a managed node group in a public subnet on or after April 22, 2020, the subnet must have MapPublicIpOnLaunch set to true for the instances to successfully join a cluster. If the public subnet was created using eksctl or the Amazon EKS vended AWS CloudFormation templates on or after March 26, 2020, then this setting is already set to true. If the public subnets were created before March 26, 2020, then you need to change the setting manually. For more information, see Modifying the public IPv4 addressing attribute for your subnet.

  • When using VPC endpoints in private subnets, you must create endpoints for com.amazonaws.region.ecr.api, com.amazonaws.region.ecr.dkr, and a gateway endpoint for Amazon S3. For more information, see Amazon ECR interface VPC endpoints (AWS PrivateLink).

  • Managed node groups can't be deployed on AWS Outposts or in AWS Wavelength or AWS Local Zones.

  • You can create multiple managed node groups within a single cluster. For example, you can create one node group with the standard Amazon EKS optimized Amazon Linux 2 AMI for some workloads and another with the GPU variant for workloads that require GPU support.

  • If your managed node group encounters a health issue, Amazon EKS returns an error message to help you to diagnose the issue. For more information, see Managed node group errors.

  • Amazon EKS adds Kubernetes labels to managed node group instances. These Amazon EKS provided labels are prefixed with eks.amazonaws.com.

  • Amazon EKS automatically drains nodes using the Kubernetes API during terminations or updates. Updates respect the pod disruption budgets that you set for your pods.

  • There are no additional costs to use Amazon EKS managed node groups. You only pay for the AWS resources that you provision.

  • If you want to encrypt Amazon EBS volumes for your nodes, you can deploy the nodes using a launch template. To deploy managed nodes with encrypted Amazon EBS volumes without using a launch template, you must encrypt all new Amazon EBS volumes created in your account by default. For more information, see Encryption by default in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Linux Instances.

Managed node group capacity types

When creating a managed node group, you can choose either the On-Demand or Spot capacity type. Amazon EKS deploys a managed node group with an Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling Group that either contains only On-Demand or only Amazon EC2 Spot Instances. You can schedule pods for fault tolerant applications to Spot managed node groups, and fault intolerant applications to On-Demand node groups within a single Kubernetes cluster. By default, a managed node group deploys On-Demand Amazon EC2 instances.

On-Demand

With On-Demand Instances, you pay for compute capacity by the second, with no long-term commitments.

How it works

By default, if you don’t specify a Capacity Type, the managed node group is provisioned with On-Demand Instances. A managed node group configures an Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling group on your behalf with the following settings applied:

  • The allocation strategy to provision On-Demand capacity is set to prioritized. Managed node groups use the order of instance types passed in the API to determine which instance type to use first when fulfilling On-Demand capacity. For example, you might specify three instance types in the following order: c5.large, c4.large, and c3.large. When your On-Demand Instances are launched, the managed node group fulfills On-Demand capacity by starting with c5.large, then c4.large, and then c3.large. For more information, see Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling group in the Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling User Guide.

  • Amazon EKS adds the following Kubernetes label to all nodes in your managed node group that specifies the capacity type: eks.amazonaws.com/capacityType: ON_DEMAND. You can use this label to schedule stateful or fault intolerant applications on On-Demand nodes.

Spot

Amazon EC2 Spot Instances are spare Amazon EC2 capacity that offers steep discounts off of On-Demand prices. Amazon EC2 Spot Instances can be interrupted with a two-minute interruption notice when EC2 needs the capacity back. For more information, see Spot Instances in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Linux Instances. You can configure a managed node group with Amazon EC2 Spot Instances to optimize costs for the compute nodes running in your Amazon EKS cluster.

How it works

To use Spot Instances inside a managed node group, you need to create a managed node group by setting the capacity type as spot. A managed node group configures an Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling group on your behalf with the following Spot best practices applied:

  • The allocation strategy to provision Spot capacity is set to capacity-optimized to ensure that your Spot nodes are provisioned in the optimal Spot capacity pools. To increase the number of Spot capacity pools available for allocating capacity from, we recommend that you configure a managed node group to use multiple instance types.

  • Amazon EC2 Spot Capacity Rebalancing is enabled so that Amazon EKS can gracefully drain and rebalance your Spot nodes to minimize application disruption when a Spot node is at elevated risk of interruption. For more information, see Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling Capacity Rebalancing in the Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling User Guide.

    • When a Spot node receives a rebalance recommendation, Amazon EKS automatically attempts to launch a new replacement Spot node and waits until it successfully joins the cluster.

    • When a replacement Spot node is bootstrapped and in the Ready state on Kubernetes, Amazon EKS cordons and drains the Spot node that received the rebalance recommendation. Cordoning the Spot node ensures that the service controller doesn't send any new requests to this Spot node. It also removes it from its list of healthy, active Spot nodes. Draining the Spot node ensures that running pods are evicted gracefully.

    • If a Spot two-minute interruption notice arrives before the replacement Spot node is in a Ready state, Amazon EKS starts draining the Spot node that received the rebalance recommendation.

  • Amazon EKS adds the following Kubernetes label to all nodes in your managed node group that specifies the capacity type: eks.amazonaws.com/capacityType: SPOT. You can use this label to schedule fault tolerant applications on Spot nodes.

Considerations for selecting a capacity type

When deciding whether to deploy a node group with On-Demand or Spot capacity, you should consider the following conditions:

  • Spot Instances are a good fit for stateless, fault-tolerant, flexible applications such as batch and machine learning training workloads, big data ETLs such as Apache Spark, queue processing applications, and stateless API endpoints. Because Spot is spare Amazon EC2 capacity, which can change over time, we recommend that you use Spot capacity for interruption-tolerant workloads that can tolerate periods where the required capacity is not available.

  • We recommend that you use On-Demand for applications that are fault intolerant, including cluster management tools such as monitoring and operational tools, deployments that require StatefulSets, and stateful applications, such as databases.

  • To maximize the availability of your applications while using Spot Instances, we recommend that you configure a Spot managed node group to use multiple instance types. We recommend applying the following rules when using multiple instance types:

    • Within a managed node group, if you're using the Cluster Autoscaler, we recommend using a flexible set of instance types with the same amount of vCPU and memory resources to ensure that the nodes in your cluster scale as expected. For example, if you need four vCPUs and eight GiB memory, we recommend that you use c3.xlarge, c4.xlarge, c5.xlarge, c5d.xlarge, c5a.xlarge, c5n.xlarge, or other similar instance types.

    • To enhance application availability, we recommend deploying multiple Spot managed node groups, each using a flexible set of instance types that have the same vCPU and memory resources. For example, if you need 4 vCPUs and 8 GiB memory, we recommend that you create one managed node group with c3.xlarge, c4.xlarge, c5.xlarge, c5d.xlarge, c5a.xlarge, c5n.xlarge, or other similar instance types, and a second managed node group with m3.xlarge, m4.xlarge, m5.xlarge, m5d.xlarge, m5a.xlarge, m5n.xlarge or other similar instance types.

    • When deploying your node group with the Spot capacity type that's using a custom launch template, use the API to pass multiple instance types instead of passing a single instance type through the launch template. For more information about deploying a node group using a launch template, see Launch template support.