在负载均衡的 Elastic Beanstalk 环境中配置端对端加密 - AWS Elastic Beanstalk

在负载均衡的 Elastic Beanstalk 环境中配置端对端加密

终止负载均衡器的安全连接并在后端上使用 HTTP 可能对应用程序已经足够。即使在同一账户下运行,AWS 资源之间的网络流量也不会被不属于连接的实例侦听。

但是,如果您正在开发需要遵守严格外部规定的应用程序,则可能需要保护所有网络连接。您可以使用 Elastic Beanstalk 控制台或配置文件,将 Elastic Beanstalk 环境的负载均衡器安全地连接到后端实例以满足这些要求。以下过程将重点放在配置文件上。

首先,在负载均衡器中添加一个安全侦听器(如果尚未添加)。

您还必须配置环境中的实例,以侦听安全端口并终止 HTTPS 连接。此配置根据不同平台而有所变化。有关说明,请参阅配置应用程序以终止实例的 HTTPS 连接。您可为 EC2 实例使用自签名证书,不会出现问题。

接下来,配置侦听器在应用程序使用的端口上使用 HTTPS 转发流量。根据您的环境使用的负载均衡器类型,使用以下配置文件之一。

.ebextensions/https-reencrypt-clb.config

将此配置文件与 Classic Load Balancer 配合使用。除了配置负载均衡器以外,该配置文件还更改默认运行状况检查以使用端口 443 和 HTTPS,以确保负载均衡器可以安全地进行连接。

option_settings: aws:elb:listener:443: InstancePort: 443 InstanceProtocol: HTTPS aws:elasticbeanstalk:application: Application Healthcheck URL: HTTPS:443/

.ebextensions/https-reencrypt-alb.config

将此配置文件与 Application Load Balancer 配合使用。

option_settings: aws:elbv2:listener:443: DefaultProcess: https ListenerEnabled: 'true' Protocol: HTTPS aws:elasticbeanstalk:environment:process:https: Port: '443' Protocol: HTTPS

.ebextensions/https-reencrypt-nlb.config

将此配置文件与 Network Load Balancer 配合使用。

option_settings: aws:elbv2:listener:443: DefaultProcess: https ListenerEnabled: 'true' aws:elasticbeanstalk:environment:process:https: Port: '443'

DefaultProcess 选项以此方式命名是因为 Application Load Balancer,它可能在同一端口上具有非默认侦听器,以用于侦听到特定路径的流量(如需详细信息,请参阅 Application Load Balancer)。对于 Network Load Balancer,该选项为该侦听器指定唯一的目标进程。

在此示例中,我们将进程命名为 https,因为它侦听安全 (HTTPS) 流量。由于 Network Load Balancer 只能使用 TCP,因此该侦听器使用 TCP 协议将流量发送到指定端口上的进程。由于 HTTP 和 HTTPS 网络流量是在 TCP 上实施的,因此,可以这样做。

注意

EB CLI 和 Elastic Beanstalk 控制台会对前面的选项应用建议的值。如果您需要使用配置文件来配置相同的项,则必须删除这些设置。有关更多信息,请参阅 建议值

在下一个任务中,您需要将负载均衡器的安全组修改为允许流量。根据您启动环境所在的 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC)(默认 VPC 或自定义 VPC),负载均衡器的安全组将有所不同。在默认 VPC 中,Elastic Load Balancing 提供可供所有负载均衡器使用的默认安全组。在您创建的 Amazon VPC 中,Elastic Beanstalk 会创建一个安全组供负载均衡器使用。

为了同时支持两种方案,您可创建一个安全组并告知 Elastic Beanstalk 使用该安全组。以下配置文件创建安全组并将其连接到负载均衡器。

.ebextensions/https-lbsecuritygroup.config

option_settings: # Use the custom security group for the load balancer aws:elb:loadbalancer: SecurityGroups: '`{ "Ref" : "loadbalancersg" }`' ManagedSecurityGroup: '`{ "Ref" : "loadbalancersg" }`' Resources: loadbalancersg: Type: AWS::EC2::SecurityGroup Properties: GroupDescription: load balancer security group VpcId: vpc-######## SecurityGroupIngress: - IpProtocol: tcp FromPort: 443 ToPort: 443 CidrIp: 0.0.0.0/0 - IpProtocol: tcp FromPort: 80 ToPort: 80 CidrIp: 0.0.0.0/0 SecurityGroupEgress: - IpProtocol: tcp FromPort: 80 ToPort: 80 CidrIp: 0.0.0.0/0

用默认或自定义 VPC ID 替换突出显示的文本。上述示例包括通过端口 80 的入口和出口,以允许 HTTP 连接。如果您只想要允许安全连接,则可删除这些属性。

最后,添加允许在负载均衡器的安全组和实例的安全组之间通过端口 443 进行通信的入口和出口规则。

.ebextensions/https-backendsecurity.config

Resources: # Add 443-inbound to instance security group (AWSEBSecurityGroup) httpsFromLoadBalancerSG: Type: AWS::EC2::SecurityGroupIngress Properties: GroupId: {"Fn::GetAtt" : ["AWSEBSecurityGroup", "GroupId"]} IpProtocol: tcp ToPort: 443 FromPort: 443 SourceSecurityGroupId: {"Fn::GetAtt" : ["loadbalancersg", "GroupId"]} # Add 443-outbound to load balancer security group (loadbalancersg) httpsToBackendInstances: Type: AWS::EC2::SecurityGroupEgress Properties: GroupId: {"Fn::GetAtt" : ["loadbalancersg", "GroupId"]} IpProtocol: tcp ToPort: 443 FromPort: 443 DestinationSecurityGroupId: {"Fn::GetAtt" : ["AWSEBSecurityGroup", "GroupId"]}

与创建安全组分离执行这一步骤允许您限制源位置和目标位置安全组,而无需创建循环依赖项。

完成以上所有任务后,负载均衡器可使用 HTTPS 安全地连接至后端实例。负载均衡器不关心实例证书为自签名还有由可信赖的证书颁发机构颁发,并将接受向它提交的任何证书。

您可为负载均衡器添加策略,告知它只可信任某个特定证书,从而更改此行为。以下配置文件创建两个策略。一个策略指定公有证书,另一个策略则告知负载均衡器只可为实例端口 443 的连接信任该证书。

.ebextensions/https-backendauth.config

option_settings: # Backend Encryption Policy aws:elb:policies:backendencryption: PublicKeyPolicyNames: backendkey InstancePorts: 443 # Public Key Policy aws:elb:policies:backendkey: PublicKey: | -----BEGIN CERTIFICATE----- ################################################################ ################################################################ ################################################################ ################################################################ ################################################ -----END CERTIFICATE-----

用 EC2 实例的公有证书内容替换突出显示的文本。

AWS Elastic Beanstalk
Developer Guide

Configuring End-to-End Encryption in a Load-Balanced Elastic Beanstalk Environment

Terminating secure connections at the load balancer and using HTTP on the backend might be sufficient for your application. Network traffic between AWS resources can't be listened to by instances that are not part of the connection, even if they are running under the same account.

However, if you are developing an application that needs to comply with strict external regulations, you might be required to secure all network connections. You can use the Elastic Beanstalk console or configuration files to make your Elastic Beanstalk environment's load balancer connect to backend instances securely to meet these requirements. The following procedure focuses on configuration files.

First, add a secure listener to your load balancer, if you haven't already.

You must also configure the instances in your environment to listen on the secure port and terminate HTTPS connections. The configuration varies per platform. See Configuring Your Application to Terminate HTTPS Connections at the Instance for instructions. You can use a self-signed certificate for the EC2 instances without issue.

Next, configure the listener to forward traffic using HTTPS on the secure port used by your application. Use one of the following configuration files, based on the type of load balancer that your environment uses.

.ebextensions/https-reencrypt-clb.config

Use this configuration file with a Classic Load Balancer. In addition to configuring the load balancer, the configuration file also changes the default health check to use port 443 and HTTPS, to ensure that the load balancer can connect securely.

option_settings: aws:elb:listener:443: InstancePort: 443 InstanceProtocol: HTTPS aws:elasticbeanstalk:application: Application Healthcheck URL: HTTPS:443/

.ebextensions/https-reencrypt-alb.config

Use this configuration file with an Application Load Balancer.

option_settings: aws:elbv2:listener:443: DefaultProcess: https ListenerEnabled: 'true' Protocol: HTTPS aws:elasticbeanstalk:environment:process:https: Port: '443' Protocol: HTTPS

.ebextensions/https-reencrypt-nlb.config

Use this configuration file with a Network Load Balancer.

option_settings: aws:elbv2:listener:443: DefaultProcess: https ListenerEnabled: 'true' aws:elasticbeanstalk:environment:process:https: Port: '443'

The DefaultProcess option is named this way because of Application Load Balancers, which can have nondefault listeners on the same port for traffic to specific paths (see Application Load Balancer for details). For a Network Load Balancer the option specifies the only target process for this listener.

In this example, we named the process https because it listens to secure (HTTPS) traffic. The listener sends traffic to the process on the designated port using the TCP protocol, because a Network Load Balancer works only with TCP. This is okay, because network traffic for HTTP and HTTPS is implemented on top of TCP.

Note

The EB CLI and Elastic Beanstalk console apply recommended values for the preceding options. You must remove these settings if you want to use configuration files to configure the same. See Recommended Values for details.

In the next task, you need to modify the load balancer's security group to allow traffic. Depending on the Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) in which you launch your environment—the default VPC or a custom VPC—the load balancer's security group will vary. In a default VPC, Elastic Load Balancing provides a default security group that all load balancers can use. In an Amazon VPC that you create, Elastic Beanstalk creates a security group for the load balancer to use.

To support both scenarios, you can create a security group and tell Elastic Beanstalk to use it. The following configuration file creates a security group and attaches it to the load balancer.

.ebextensions/https-lbsecuritygroup.config

option_settings: # Use the custom security group for the load balancer aws:elb:loadbalancer: SecurityGroups: '`{ "Ref" : "loadbalancersg" }`' ManagedSecurityGroup: '`{ "Ref" : "loadbalancersg" }`' Resources: loadbalancersg: Type: AWS::EC2::SecurityGroup Properties: GroupDescription: load balancer security group VpcId: vpc-######## SecurityGroupIngress: - IpProtocol: tcp FromPort: 443 ToPort: 443 CidrIp: 0.0.0.0/0 - IpProtocol: tcp FromPort: 80 ToPort: 80 CidrIp: 0.0.0.0/0 SecurityGroupEgress: - IpProtocol: tcp FromPort: 80 ToPort: 80 CidrIp: 0.0.0.0/0

Replace the highlighted text with your default or custom VPC ID. The previous example includes ingress and egress over port 80 to allow HTTP connections. You can remove those properties if you want to allow only secure connections.

Finally, add ingress and egress rules that allow communication over port 443 between the load balancer's security group and the instances' security group.

.ebextensions/https-backendsecurity.config

Resources: # Add 443-inbound to instance security group (AWSEBSecurityGroup) httpsFromLoadBalancerSG: Type: AWS::EC2::SecurityGroupIngress Properties: GroupId: {"Fn::GetAtt" : ["AWSEBSecurityGroup", "GroupId"]} IpProtocol: tcp ToPort: 443 FromPort: 443 SourceSecurityGroupId: {"Fn::GetAtt" : ["loadbalancersg", "GroupId"]} # Add 443-outbound to load balancer security group (loadbalancersg) httpsToBackendInstances: Type: AWS::EC2::SecurityGroupEgress Properties: GroupId: {"Fn::GetAtt" : ["loadbalancersg", "GroupId"]} IpProtocol: tcp ToPort: 443 FromPort: 443 DestinationSecurityGroupId: {"Fn::GetAtt" : ["AWSEBSecurityGroup", "GroupId"]}

Doing this separately from security group creation enables you to restrict the source and destination security groups without creating a circular dependency.

After you have completed all the previous tasks, the load balancer connects to your backend instances securely using HTTPS. The load balancer doesn't care if your instance's certificate is self-signed or issued by a trusted certificate authority, and will accept any certificate presented to it.

You can change this behavior by adding policies to the load balancer that tell it to trust only a specific certificate. The following configuration file creates two policies. One policy specifies a public certificate, and the other tells the load balancer to only trust that certificate for connections to instance port 443.

.ebextensions/https-backendauth.config

option_settings: # Backend Encryption Policy aws:elb:policies:backendencryption: PublicKeyPolicyNames: backendkey InstancePorts: 443 # Public Key Policy aws:elb:policies:backendkey: PublicKey: | -----BEGIN CERTIFICATE----- ################################################################ ################################################################ ################################################################ ################################################################ ################################################ -----END CERTIFICATE-----

Replace the highlighted text with the contents of your EC2 instance's public certificate.