查詢似乎沒有回應且有時無法觸達叢集 - Amazon Redshift

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

查詢似乎沒有回應且有時無法觸達叢集

問題範例

您遇到查詢完成方面的問題,查詢似乎正在執行,但在 SQL 用戶端工具中無回應。有時,查詢無法出現在叢集,例如系統資料表或 Amazon Redshift 主控台。

可能的解決方案

由於封包捨棄,可能發生此問題。在兩個網際網路通訊協定 (IP) 主機之間的網路路徑中,最大傳輸單位 (MTU) 出現差異。MTU 大小決定網路連線上的一個乙太網路訊框中可傳輸的封包大小上限 (位元組)。在中 AWS,某些 Amazon EC2 執行個體類型支援 1500 的 MTU (乙太網路 v2 框架),而其他執行個體類型則支援 MTU 9001 (TCP/IP 巨型框架)。

為了避免因為 MTU 大小不同而發生問題,建議採取下列其中一個動作:

  • 如果叢集使用 EC2-VPC 平台,請以傳回 Destination Unreachable 的傳入自訂「網際網路控制訊息通訊協定 (ICMP)」規則來設定 Amazon VPC 安全群組。此規則會藉以指示原始主機沿著網路路徑使用最低的 MTU 大小。如需此方法的詳細資訊,請參閱將安全群組設為允許 ICMP「無法觸達目標」

  • 如果叢集使用 EC2-Classic 平台,或您無法允許 ICMP 傳入規則,請停用 TCP/IP 巨型訊框,以便使用乙太網路 v2 訊框。如需此方法的詳細資訊,請參閱設定執行個體的 MTU

將安全群組設為允許 ICMP「無法觸達目標」

在兩個主機之間的網路中,當 MTU 大小出現差異時,首先請確定網路設定並未禁止路徑 MTU 探索 (PMTUD)。PMTUD 可讓接收端主機向原始主機回應下列 ICMP 訊息:Destination Unreachable: fragmentation needed and DF set (ICMP Type 3, Code 4)。此訊息指示原始主機沿著網路路徑,使用最低的 MTU 大小來重新傳送請求。如果不這樣協議,可能會因為請求太大,使得接收端主機無法接受,而發生封包捨棄。如需此 ICMP 訊息的相關資訊,請前往網際網路工程任務組 (IETF) 網站上的 RFC792

如果您沒有明確為 Amazon VPC 安全群組設定此 ICMP 傳入規則,則會封鎖 PMTUD。在中 AWS,安全群組是指定執行個體輸入和輸出流量規則的虛擬防火牆。如需 Amazon Redshift 叢集安全群組的相關資訊,請參閱 Amazon Redshift 叢集安全群組。對於使用 EC2-VPC 平台的叢集,Amazon Redshift 會使用 VPC 安全群組來允許或拒絕流量進入叢集。根據預設,安全群組會鎖定並拒絕所有傳入流量。如需如何為 EC2-Classic 或 EC2-VPC 執行個體設定傳入和傳出規則的相關資訊,請參閱《Amazon EC2 Linux 執行個體使用者指南》中的 EC2-Classic 與 VPC 中的執行個體差異

如需如何將規則新增至 VPC 安全群組的相關資訊,請參閱管理叢集的 VPC 安全群組。如需此規則中所需特定 PMTUD 設定的相關資訊,請參閱《Amazon EC2 Linux 執行個體使用者指南》中的路徑 MTU 探索

設定執行個體的 MTU

在某些情況下,您的叢集可能會使用 EC2-Classic 平台,或您無法允許傳入流量的自訂 ICMP 規則。在這些情況下,我們建議您將連線到 Amazon Redshift 叢集之 EC2 執行個體的網路界面 (NIC) 上的 MTU 調整為 1500。此調整會停用 TCP/IP 巨型訊框,以確保連線始終使用相同的封包大小。不過,此選項會完全地降低執行個體的最大網路輸送量,而不只是 Amazon Redshift 的連線而已。如需詳細資訊,請參閱下列程序。

在 Microsoft Windows 作業系統上設定 MTU

如果用戶端在 Microsoft Windows 作業系統中執行,您可以使用 netsh 命令來檢閱並設定乙太網路卡的 MTU 值。

  1. 執行下列命令來判斷目前的 MTU 值:

    netsh interface ipv4 show subinterfaces
  2. 在輸出中檢閱 MTU 界面卡的 Ethernet 值。

  3. 如果值不是 1500,請執行下列命令來設定此值:

    netsh interface ipv4 set subinterface "Ethernet" mtu=1500 store=persistent

    設定此值之後,請重新啟動電腦以讓變更生效。

在 Linux 作業系統上設定 MTU

如果用戶端在 Linux 作業系統中執行,您可以使用 ip 命令來檢閱並設定 MTU 值。

  1. 執行下列命令來判斷目前的 MTU 值:

    $ ip link show eth0
  2. 在輸出中檢閱 mtu 後面的值。

  3. 如果值不是 1500,請執行下列命令來設定此值:

    $ sudo ip link set dev eth0 mtu 1500
在 Mac 作業系統上設定 MTU
  • 遵循 MacOS 支援網站上有關 How to change the MTU for troubleshooting purposes 的指示進行操作。如需詳細資訊,請搜尋支援網站

Queries appear to hang and sometimes fail to reach the cluster - Amazon Redshift

Queries appear to hang and sometimes fail to reach the cluster

Example issue

You experience an issue with queries completing, where the queries appear to be running but hang in the SQL client tool. Sometimes the queries fail to appear in the cluster, such as in system tables or the Amazon Redshift console.

Possible solution

This issue can happen due to packet drop. In this case, there is a difference in the maximum transmission unit (MTU) size in the network path between two Internet Protocol (IP) hosts. The MTU size determines the maximum size, in bytes, of a packet that can be transferred in one Ethernet frame over a network connection. In AWS, some Amazon EC2 instance types support an MTU of 1500 (Ethernet v2 frames) and other instance types support an MTU of 9001 (TCP/IP jumbo frames).

To avoid issues that can occur with differences in MTU size, we recommend doing one of the following:

  • If your cluster uses the EC2-VPC platform, configure the Amazon VPC security group with an inbound custom Internet Control Message Protocol (ICMP) rule that returns Destination Unreachable. The rule thus instructs the originating host to use the lowest MTU size along the network path. For details on this approach, see Configuring security groups to allow ICMP "destination unreachable".

  • If your cluster uses the EC2-Classic platform, or you can't allow the ICMP inbound rule, disable TCP/IP jumbo frames so that Ethernet v2 frames are used. For details on this approach, see Configuring the MTU of an instance.

Configuring security groups to allow ICMP "destination unreachable"

When there is a difference in the MTU size in the network between two hosts, first make sure that your network settings don't block path MTU discovery (PMTUD). PMTUD enables the receiving host to respond to the originating host with the following ICMP message: Destination Unreachable: fragmentation needed and DF set (ICMP Type 3, Code 4). This message instructs the originating host to use the lowest MTU size along the network path to resend the request. Without this negotiation, packet drop can occur because the request is too large for the receiving host to accept. For more information about this ICMP message, go to RFC792 on the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) website.

If you don't explicitly configure this ICMP inbound rule for your Amazon VPC security group, PMTUD is blocked. In AWS, security groups are virtual firewalls that specify rules for inbound and outbound traffic to an instance. For information about Amazon Redshift cluster security group, see Amazon Redshift cluster security groups. For clusters using the EC2-VPC platform, Amazon Redshift uses VPC security groups to allow or deny traffic to the cluster. By default, the security groups are locked down and deny all inbound traffic. For information about how to set inbound and outbound rules for EC2-Classic or EC2-VPC instances, see Differences between instances in EC2-Classic and a VPC in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Linux Instances.

For more information about how to add rules to VPC security groups, see Managing VPC security groups for a cluster. For more information about specific PMTUD settings required in this rule, see Path MTU discovery in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Linux Instances.

Configuring the MTU of an instance

In some cases, your cluster might use the EC2-Classic platform or you can't allow the custom ICMP rule for inbound traffic. In these cases, we recommend that you adjust the MTU to 1500 on the network interface (NIC) of the EC2 instances you connect to your Amazon Redshift cluster from. This adjustment disables TCP/IP jumbo frames to ensure that connections consistently use the same packet size. However, this option reduces your maximum network throughput for the instance entirely, not just for connections to Amazon Redshift. For more information, see the following procedures.

To set MTU on a Microsoft Windows operating system

If your client runs in a Microsoft Windows operating system, you can review and set the MTU value for the Ethernet adapter by using the netsh command.

  1. Run the following command to determine the current MTU value:

    netsh interface ipv4 show subinterfaces
  2. Review the MTU value for the Ethernet adapter in the output.

  3. If the value is not 1500, run the following command to set it:

    netsh interface ipv4 set subinterface "Ethernet" mtu=1500 store=persistent

    After you set this value, restart your computer for the changes to take effect.

To set MTU on a Linux operating system

If your client runs in a Linux operating system, you can review and set the MTU value by using the ip command.

  1. Run the following command to determine the current MTU value:

    $ ip link show eth0
  2. Review the value following mtu in the output.

  3. If the value is not 1500, run the following command to set it:

    $ sudo ip link set dev eth0 mtu 1500

To set MTU on a Mac operating system