AWS CodeCommit 入門 - AWS CodeCommit

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

AWS CodeCommit 入門

本教程向您展示如何使用一些關鍵 CodeCommit 功能。首先,您建立儲存庫並遞交一些變改給它。然後,您瀏覽檔案,並檢視變更。您也可以建立提取請求,讓其他使用者可以檢閱程式碼的變更並作評論。

如果您要將現有程式碼移轉至 CodeCommit,請參閱遷移至 AWS CodeCommit

如果你不熟悉 Git,也可以考慮完成開始使用 Git 和 CodeCommit。完成這些自學課程之後,您應該有足夠的練習開始用 CodeCommit 於您自己的專案和團隊環境中。

CodeCommit 主控台在可摺疊面板中包含實用資訊,您可以從資訊圖示 ( ) 或頁面上的任何「資」連結開啟這些資訊。您隨時皆可關閉此面板。

在主控台檢視其他指導

主 CodeCommit 控台也提供一種快速搜尋資源的方法,例如儲存庫、建置專案、部署應用程式和管道。選擇 Go to resource (移至資源),或按 / 鍵,然後輸入資源名稱。任何相符項目都會出現在清單中。搜尋不區分大小寫。您只會看到您有權檢視的資源。如需詳細資訊,請參閱在主控台檢視資源

必要條件

開始之前,您必須完成先決條件和設定程序,包括:

  • 將許可指派給 IAM 使用者。

  • 在本教學課程所使用的本機電腦上,設定 HTTPS 或 SSH 連線的登入資料管理。

  • 如果您想要使用命令列或終端機執行所有操作 (包括建立儲存庫),請設定 AWS CLI。

步驟 1:建立 CodeCommit 儲存庫

您可以使用 CodeCommit 控制台來創建一個 CodeCommit 存儲庫。如果您已經有要用於此教學的儲存庫,則可略過此步驟。

注意

根據您的使用情況,您可能需要支付建立或存取存放庫的費用。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 CodeCommit 產品資訊頁面上的定價

若要建立存 CodeCommit 放庫
  1. 請在以下位置開啟 CodeCommit 主控台。 https://console.aws.amazon.com/codesuite/codecommit/home

  2. 使用區域選擇器來選擇您AWS 區域要建立儲存庫的位置。如需詳細資訊,請參閱區域和 Git 連線端點

  3. 請在 Repositories (儲存庫) 頁面上,選擇 Create repository (建立儲存庫)。

  4. Create repository (建立儲存庫) 頁面的 Repository name (儲存庫名稱) 中,輸入儲存庫的名稱 (例如 MyDemoRepo)。

    注意

    儲存庫名稱需區分大小寫且不能超過 100 個字元。如需詳細資訊,請參閱限制

  5. (選用) 在 Description (描述) 中,輸入描述 (例如,My demonstration repository)。這可協助您和其他使用者識別儲存庫的用途。

  6. (選用) 選擇 Add tag (新增標籤),以新增一或多個儲存庫標籤 (自訂屬性標籤,可協助您整理和管理您的 AWS 資源) 到您的儲存庫。如需詳細資訊,請參閱標記儲存庫 AWS CodeCommit

  7. (選擇性) 展開其他組態以指定是使用預設金鑰AWS 受管金鑰還是您自己的客戶管理金鑰來加密和解密此儲存庫中的資料。如果您選擇使用自己的客戶管理金鑰,則必須確定該金鑰可在您建立儲存庫的AWS 區域位置使用,且金鑰處於作用中狀態。如需詳細資訊,請參閱AWS Key Management Service和AWS CodeCommit存儲庫的加密

  8. (選擇性) 如果此儲存庫將包含 Java 或 Python 程式碼,且您想要讓 CodeGuru 審核者分析該程式碼,請選取啟用 Java 和 Python 的 Amazon CodeGuru 審核者。 CodeGuru Reviewer 使用多個機器學習模型來尋找程式碼瑕疵,並在提取要求中自動建議改進和修正。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 Amazon CodeGuru 審核者使用者指南。

  9. 選擇建立

從主控台建立儲存庫
注意

如果您的儲存庫使用 MyDemoRepo 以外的名稱,請務必在剩餘的步驟中使用該名稱。

存放庫開啟時,您會看到如何直接從 CodeCommit 主控台新增檔案的相關資訊。

步驟 2:將文件添加到存儲庫

您可以透過以下方式,將檔案新增至儲存庫:

  • 在 CodeCommit 控制台中創建文件。如果您在控制台中為存儲庫創建第一個文件,則會為您創建一個名為 main 的分支。此分支是儲存庫的預設分支。

  • 使用 CodeCommit 主控台從本機電腦上傳檔案。如果您從控制台上傳存儲庫的第一個文件,則會為您創建一個名為 main 的分支。此分支是儲存庫的預設分支。

  • 使用 Git 客戶端將存儲庫克隆到本地計算機,然後將文件添加,提交和推送到 CodeCommit 存儲庫。系統會為您建立一個分支,作為 Git 第一次提交的一部分,並將其設定為儲存庫的預設分支。分支的名稱是 Git 客戶端的默認選擇。考慮將 Git 客戶端配置為使用 main 作為初始分支的名稱。

注意

您可以隨時建立分支並變更儲存庫的預設分支。如需詳細資訊,請參閱使用AWS CodeCommit儲存庫中的分支

開始使用最簡單的方法是開啟主 CodeCommit 控台並新增檔案。這樣,您還可以為名為 main 的存儲庫創建一個默認分支。如需如何使用新增檔案並建立第一次提交至儲存庫的指示AWS CLI,請參閱使用 AWS CLI.

將檔案新增至儲存庫
  1. 在儲存庫的導覽列中,選擇 Code (程式碼)

  2. 選擇 Add file (新增檔案),然後選擇是否建立檔案或從電腦上傳檔案。本教學課程將告訴您如何執行這兩項操作。

  3. 若要新增檔案,請執行下列操作:

    1. 在分支的下拉式清單中,選擇您要新增檔案的分支。系統會自動為您選取預設分支。在此處顯示的範例中,預設分支名為 main。如果要將檔案新增至不同的分支,請選擇不同的分支。

    2. File name (檔案名稱) 中,輸入檔案的名稱。在程式碼編輯器中,輸入檔案的程式碼。

    3. Author name (作者名稱) 中,輸入您要向其他儲存庫使用者顯示的名稱。

    4. Email address (電子郵件地址) 中,輸入電子郵件地址。

    5. (選用) 在 Commit message (遞交訊息) 中,輸入簡短訊息。雖然這是選用的,但建議您新增遞交訊息,以幫助團隊成員了解您新增這個檔案的原因。如果未輸入遞交訊息,則會使用預設訊息。

    6. 選擇 Commit changes (遞交變更)

    若要上傳檔案,請執行下列操作:

    • 如果是上傳檔案,請選擇您要上傳的檔案。

      在控制台中上傳文件的 CodeCommit 視圖
    • Author name (作者名稱) 中,輸入您要向其他儲存庫使用者顯示的名稱。

    • Email address (電子郵件地址) 中,輸入電子郵件地址。

    • (選用) 在 Commit message (遞交訊息) 中,輸入簡短訊息。雖然這是選用的,但建議您新增遞交訊息,以幫助團隊成員了解您新增這個檔案的原因。如果未輸入遞交訊息,則會使用預設訊息。

    • 選擇 Commit changes (遞交變更)

如需詳細資訊,請參閱在中使用檔案AWS CodeCommit儲存庫

若要使用 Git 用戶端複製儲存庫,請在本機電腦上安裝 Git,然後再複製 CodeCommit 儲存庫。將一些檔案新增到本機儲存庫,然後推送到 CodeCommit 儲存庫。如需深入介紹,請參閱開始使用 Git 和 CodeCommit。如果您熟悉 Git,但不確定如何使用 CodeCommit 儲存庫來執行此操作,您可以在、或中檢視創建一個提交步驟 2:建立本機存放庫、或中的範例和指示連接到儲存庫

將一些檔案新增至 CodeCommit 儲存庫後,您可以在主控台中檢視這些檔案。

步驟 3:瀏覽存放庫的內容

您可以使用 CodeCommit 主控台來檢閱儲存庫中的檔案,或快速讀取檔案的內容。這有助於您決定要檢查的分支,或是否建立儲存庫的本機副本。

瀏覽儲存庫
  1. 儲存庫中,選擇 MyDemoRepo。

  2. 頁面會顯示儲存庫的預設分支中的內容。若要檢視其他分支或檢視特定標籤上的程式碼,請從清單中選擇您要檢視的分支或標籤。在下面的屏幕截圖中,視圖被設置為分支。

    瀏覽儲存庫的內容
  3. 若要檢視儲存庫中某個檔案的內容,請從清單中選擇檔案。若要變更顯示的程式碼顏色,請選擇設定圖示。

    檢視檔案的內容

    如需詳細資訊,請參閱瀏覽存儲庫中的文件

  4. 若要瀏覽儲存庫的遞交歷史記錄,請選擇 Commits (遞交)。主控台會以相反的時間順序顯示預設分支的遞交歷史記錄。依作者、日期等檢閱遞交詳細資料。

    主控台的遞交歷史記錄檢視
  5. 若要依分支Git 標籤檢視遞交歷史記錄,請從清單中選擇您要檢視的分支或標籤。

  6. 若要檢視遞交與其父遞交之間的差異,請選擇縮寫的遞交 ID。您可以選擇如何顯示變更,包括顯示或隱藏空格變更,以及是否以內嵌 (Unified (統一)檢視) 或並排 (Split (分割)檢視) 方式來檢視變更。

    注意

    用於檢視程式碼的偏好設定及其他主控台設定只要有變動,就會儲存為瀏覽器 Cookie。如需詳細資訊,請參閱使用者偏好設定

    「整合」檢視中顯示的變更,可見空白區域變更
  7. 若要檢視遞交的所有註解,請選擇遞交,然後捲動變更以內嵌方式檢視。您也可以新增自己的註解,並回覆其他人所做的註解。

    如需詳細資訊,請參閱對遞交做註解

  8. 若要檢視任何兩個遞交指標之間的差異,包括標籤、分支和遞交 ID,請在導覽窗格中選擇 Commits (遞交),然後選擇 Compare commits (比較遞交)

    在分割檢視中比較遞交與分支頂端

    如需詳細資訊,請參閱 瀏覽存儲庫的提交歷史記錄比較遞交

  9. Commits (遞交) 中,選擇 Commit visualizer (遞交視覺化工具) 標籤。

    主控台的儲存庫圖表檢視

    隨即顯示遞交圖表,在圖表中,每個遞交會在該點旁邊顯示主旨列。主旨列最多顯示 80 個字元。

  10. 若要查看遞交的詳細資訊,請選擇其縮寫遞交 ID。若要呈現從特定遞交開始的圖表,請在圖表中選擇該點。如需詳細資訊,請參閱查看存儲庫提交歷史記錄的圖表

步驟 4:在提取請求上建立和共同作業

當您與其他使用者在儲存庫中工作時,你們可以協同處理程式碼並檢閱變更。您可以建立提取請求,讓其他使用者可以檢閱您在分支中的程式碼變更並作評論。您也可以為提取請求建立一或多個核准規則。例如,您可以建立核准規則,要求至少兩位其他使用者核准提取請求後,才能合併提取請求。核准提取請求之後,您可以將這些變更合併到目的地分支中。如果您為儲存庫設定通知,則儲存庫使用者可以收到與儲存庫事件相關的電子郵件 (例如提取請求或當有人對程式碼做註解時)。如需詳細資訊,請參閱設定AWS CodeCommit存放庫中事件的通知

重要

您必須建立分支,其中包含您希望檢閱的程式碼變更,才能建立提取請求。如需詳細資訊,請參閱建立分支

建立和協同處理提取請求
  1. 在導覽窗格中,選擇 Pull requests (提取請求)

  2. Pull request (提取請求) 中,選擇 Create pull request (建立提取請求)

    提示

    您也可以從 Branches (分支)Code (程式碼) 建立提取請求。

    Create pull request (建立提取請求)Source (來源) 中,選擇分支,其中包含您希望檢閱的變更。在 Destination (目的地) 中,選擇分支,表示您希望提取請求關閉時,將已檢閱的程式碼合併到此分支。選擇 Compare (比較)

  3. 檢閱合併詳細資訊和變更,以確認提取請求包含您希望檢閱的變更和遞交。如果沒問題,請在 Title (標題) 中輸入此檢閱的標題。這是在儲存庫的提取請求清單中顯示的標題。在 Description (描述) 中,輸入有助於了解此檢閱的詳細資訊,以及對檢閱者有用的任何其他資訊。選擇建立

    建立提取請求
  4. 您的提取請求會出現在儲存庫的提取請求清單中。您可以篩選檢視,只顯示開啟的請求、關閉的請求、您建立的請求等等。

    檢視儲存庫中的提取請求
  5. 您可以在提取請求中新增核准規則,以確保在合併之前符合特定條件。若要將核准規則新增至提取請求,請從清單中選擇提取請求。在 Approvals (核准) 索引標籤上,選擇 Create approval rule (建立核准規則)

  6. Rule name (規則名稱) 中,為規則指定描述性名稱。例如,如果需要兩個人先核准提取請求後,才能合併提取請求,您可以將規則命名為 Require two approvals before merge。在 Number of approvals needed (需要的核准數目) 中,輸入 2,此為您要的數目。預設為 1。選擇提交。若要深入了解核准規則和核准集區成員,請參閱建立提取請求的核准規則

    建立提取請求的核准規則
  7. 如果您為儲存庫設定通知,並選擇將提取請求事件通知使用者,則使用者會收到新提取請求的相關電子郵件。使用者可以檢視特定程式碼行、檔案和提取請求本身的變更並做註解。他們也可以使用文字和表情符號回覆留言。如有需要,您可以將變更推送到提取請求分支,以更新提取請求。

  8. 如果您對請求中所做的變更感到滿意,請選擇 Approve (核准)。即使未設定提取請求的核准規則,您也可以選擇核准該提取請求。這會清楚記錄您已檢閱提取請求及核准變更。如果您改變主意,您也可以選擇撤銷核准。

    檢視提取請求的核准
    注意

    您無法核准您自己建立的提取請求。

  9. 當您滿意所有程式碼變更都經過檢閱並獲得同意時,請從提取請求執行下列其中一項動作:

    • 如果您想關閉提取請求但不合併分支,請選擇 Close pull request (關閉提取請求)

    • 如果您要合併分支並關閉提取請求,請選擇 Merge (合併)。您可以在適用於您程式碼的合併策略之間選擇 (這取決於來源和目的地分支之間的差異),以及是否在完成合併之後自動刪除來源分支。做出選擇之後,請選擇 Merge pull request (合併提取請求) 完成合併。

      一個提取請求,顯示可用於在 CodeCommit 控制台中合併的合併策略。
    • 如果分支中存在無法自動解決的合併衝突,則可以在 CodeCommit 控制台中解決它們,也可以使用本地 Git 客戶端合併分支,然後推送合併。如需詳細資訊,請參閱解決中提取請求的衝突AWS CodeCommit儲存庫

    注意

    您一律可以在本機儲存庫中使用 git merge 命令並推送變更,以手動合併分支,包括提取請求分支。

如需詳細資訊,請參閱 使用提取請求使用核准規則範本

步驟 5:清除

如果您不再需要存 CodeCommit 放庫,您應該刪除存 CodeCommit 放庫和您在本練習中使用的其他資源,這樣就不會繼續支付儲存空間的費用。

重要

這個操作無法復原。刪除此存儲庫後,您無法再將其克隆到任何本地存儲庫或共享存儲庫。您也不能再從任何本地存儲庫或共享存儲庫中提取數據或將數據推送到它,或執行任何 Git 操作。

如果您為儲存庫設定了通知,刪除儲存庫也會刪除為儲存庫建立的 Amazon E CloudWatch vents 規則。它不會刪除做為該規則目標使用的 Amazon SNS 主題。

如果您為儲存庫設定了觸發器,刪除存放庫並不會刪除您設定為這些觸發程序目標的 Amazon SNS 主題或 Lambda 函數。如果您已不需要這些資源,務必刪除。如需詳細資訊,請參閱從儲存庫中刪除觸發器

若要刪除存 CodeCommit 放庫
  1. 請在以下位置開啟 CodeCommit 主控台。 https://console.aws.amazon.com/codesuite/codecommit/home

  2. Repositories (儲存庫) 中,選擇您要刪除的儲存庫。如果您遵循此主題中的命名慣例,則此名稱會是 MyDemoRepo

  3. 在導覽窗格中,選擇設定

  4. Settings (設定) 頁面的 Delete repository (刪除儲存庫) 中,選擇 Delete repository (刪除儲存庫)

  5. 輸入 delete,然後選擇 Delete (刪除)。就會永久刪除這個儲存庫。

步驟 6:後續步驟

現在您已經熟悉了自己 CodeCommit 及其某些功能,請考慮執行以下操作:

AWS CodeCommit
User Guide (API Version 2015-04-13)

Getting Started with AWS CodeCommit

This tutorial shows you how to use some key CodeCommit features. First, you create a repository and commit some changes to it. Then, you browse the files and view the changes. You can also create a pull request so other users can review and comment on changes to your code.

If you are unfamiliar with Git, consider completing Getting Started with Git and CodeCommit too. After you complete these tutorials, you should have enough practice to start using CodeCommit for your own projects and in team environments.

The CodeCommit console includes helpful information in a collapsible panel that you can open from the information icon ( ) or any Info link on the page. You can close this panel at any time.


            Viewing additional guidance in the console

The CodeCommit console also provides a way to quickly search for your resources, such as repositories, build projects, deployment applications, and pipelines. Choose Go to resource or press the / key, and then type the name of the resource. Any matches appear in the list. Searches are case insensitive. You only see resources that you have permissions to view. For more information, see Viewing Resources in the Console.

Prerequisites

Before you begin, you must complete the prerequisites and setup procedure, including:

  • Assigning permissions to the IAM user.

  • Setting up credential management for HTTPS or SSH connections on the local machine you use for this tutorial.

  • Configuring the AWS CLI if you want to use the command line or terminal for all operations, including to create the repository.

Step 1: Create a CodeCommit Repository

You can use the CodeCommit console to create a CodeCommit repository. If you already have a repository you want to use for this tutorial, you can skip this step.

Note

Depending on your usage, you might be charged for creating or accessing a repository. For more information, see Pricing on the CodeCommit product information page.

To create the CodeCommit repository

  1. Open the CodeCommit console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/codesuite/codecommit/home.

  2. Use the region selector to choose the AWS Region where you want to create the repository. For more information, see Regions and Git Connection Endpoints.

  3. On the Repositories page, choose Create repository.

  4. On the Create repository page, in Repository name, enter a name for your repository (for example, MyDemoRepo).

    Note

    Repository names are case sensitive and can be no longer than 100 characters. For more information, see Limits.

  5. (Optional) In Description, enter a description (for example, My demonstration repository). This can help you and other users identify the purpose of the repository.

  6. (Optional) Choose Add tag to add one or more repository tags (a custom attribute label that helps you organize and manage your AWS resources) to your repository. For more information, see Tagging Repositories in AWS CodeCommit.

  7. (Optional) Select Enable Amazon CodeGuru Reviewer for Java if this repository will contain Java code, and you want to have CodeGuru Reviewer analyze that Java code. CodeGuru Reviewer uses multiple machine learning models to find Java code defects and to automatically suggest improvements and fixes in pull requests. For more information, see the Amazon CodeGuru Reviewer User Guide.

  8. Choose Create.


                Creating a repository from the console

Note

If you use a name other than MyDemoRepo for your repository, be sure to use it in the remaining steps.

When the repository opens, you see information about how to add files directly from the CodeCommit console.

Step 2: Add Files to Your Repository

You can add files to your repository by:

  • Creating a file in the CodeCommit console.

  • Uploading a file from your local computer using the CodeCommit console.

  • Using a Git client to clone the repository to your local computer, and then adding, committing, and pushing files to the CodeCommit repository.

The simplest way to get started is to open the CodeCommit console and add a file.

To add a file to the repository

  1. In the navigation bar for the repository, choose Code.

  2. Choose Add file, and then choose whether to create a file or upload a file from your computer. This tutorial shows you how to do both.

  3. To add a file, do the following:

    1. In the drop-down list of branches, choose the branch where you want to add the file. The default branch is selected automatically for you. In the example shown here, the default branch is named master. If you want to add the file to a different branch, choose a different branch.

    2. In File name, enter a name for the file. In the code editor, enter the code for the file.

    3. In Author name, enter the name you want displayed to other repository users.

    4. In Email address, enter an email address.

    5. (Optional) In Commit message, enter a brief message. Although this is optional, we recommend that you add a commit message to help your team members understand why you added this file. If you do not enter a commit message, a default message is used.

    6. Choose Commit changes.

    To upload a file, do the following:

    • If you're uploading a file, choose the file you want to upload.

      
                                A view of uploading a file in the CodeCommit console
    • In Author name, enter the name you want displayed to other repository users.

    • In Email address, enter an email address.

    • (Optional) In Commit message, enter a brief message. Although this is optional, we recommend that you add a commit message to help your team members understand why you added this file. If you do not enter a commit message, a default message is used.

    • Choose Commit changes.

For more information, see Working with Files in AWS CodeCommit Repositories.

To use a Git client to clone the repository, install Git on your local computer, and then clone the CodeCommit repository. Add some files to the local repo and push them to the CodeCommit repository. For an in-depth introduction, try the Getting Started with Git and CodeCommit. If you are familiar with Git, but are not sure how to do this with a CodeCommit repository, you can view examples and instructions in Create a Commit, Step 2: Create a Local Repo, or Connect to a Repository.

After you have added some files to the CodeCommit repository, you can view them in the console.

Step 3: Browse the Contents of Your Repository

You can use the CodeCommit console to review the files in a repository or quickly read the contents of a file. This helps you determine which branch to check out or whether to create a local copy of a repository.

To browse the repository

  1. From Repositories, choose MyDemoRepo.

  2. The page displays the contents in the default branch of your repository. To view another branch or to view the code at a specific tag, choose the branch or tag you want to view from the list. In the following screen shot the view is set to the master branch.

    
                        Browse the contents of a repository
  3. To view the contents of a file in your repository, choose the file from the list. To change the color of the displayed code, choose the settings icon.

    
                        View the contents of a file

    For more information, see Browse Files in a Repository.

  4. To browse the commit history of the repository, choose Commits. The console displays the commit history for the default branch, in reverse chronological order. Review the commit details by author, date, and more.

    
                        The commit history view in the console
  5. To view the commit history by branch or by Git tag, choose the branch or tag you want to view from the list.

  6. To view the differences between a commit and its parent commit, choose the abbreviated commit ID. You can choose how the changes are displayed, including showing or hiding white space changes, and whether to view changes inline (Unified view) or side by side (Split view).

    Note

    Your preferences for viewing code and other console settings are saved as browser cookies whenever you change them. For more information, see Working with User Preferences.

    
                        Changes shown in Unified view, with white space
                            changes visible
  7. To view all comments on a commit, choose the commit and then scroll through the changes to view them inline. You can also add your own comments and reply to the comments made by others.

    For more information, see Comment on a Commit.

  8. To view the differences between any two commits specifiers, including tags, branches, and commit IDs, in the navigation pane, choose Commits, and then choose Compare commits.

    
                        Comparing a commit to the tip of a branch in Split view

    For more information, see Browse the Commit History of a Repository and Compare Commits.

  9. In Commits, choose the Commit visualizer tab.

    
                        A graphical view of a repository in the console

    The commit graph is displayed, with the subject line for each commit shown next to its point in the graph. The subject line display is limited to 80 characters.

  10. To see more details about a commit, choose its abbreviated commit ID. To render the graph from a specific commit, choose that point in the graph. For more information, see View a Graph of the Commit History of a Repository .

Step 4: Create and Collaborate on a Pull Request

When you work in a repository with other users, you can collaborate on code and review changes. You can create a pull request so that other users can review and comment on your code changes in a branch. You can also create one or more approval rules for the pull request. For example, you can create an approval rule that requires at least two other users to approve the pull request before it can be merged. After the pull request is approved, you can merge those changes into its destination branch. If you set up notifications for your repository, repository users can receive emails about repository events (for example, for pull requests or when someone comments on code). For more information, see Configuring Notifications for Events in an AWS CodeCommit Repository.

Important

Before you can create a pull request, you must create a branch that contains the code changes you want to review. For more information, see Create a Branch.

To create and collaborate on a pull request

  1. In the navigation pane, choose Pull requests.

  2. In Pull request, choose Create pull request.

    Tip

    You can also create pull requests from Branches and Code.

    In Create pull request, in Source, choose the branch that contains the changes you want reviewed. In Destination, choose the branch where you want the reviewed code to be merged when the pull request is closed. Choose Compare.

  3. Review the merge details and changes to confirm that the pull request contains the changes and commits you want reviewed. If so, in Title, enter a title for this review. This is the title that appears in the list of pull requests for the repository. In Description, enter details about what this review is about and any other useful information for reviewers. Choose Create.

    
                        Creating a pull request
  4. Your pull request appears in the list of pull requests for the repository. You can filter the view to show only open requests, closed requests, requests that you created, and more.

    
                        Viewing pull requests in a repository
  5. You can add an approval rule to your pull request to ensure certain conditions are met before it can be merged. To add an approval rule to your pull request, choose the pull request from the list. On the Approvals tab, choose Create approval rule.

  6. In Rule name, give the rule a descriptive name. For example, if you want to require two people to approve a pull request before it can be merged, you might name the rule Require two approvals before merge. In Number of approvals needed, enter 2, the number you want. The default is 1. Choose Submit. To learn more about approval rules and approval pool members, see Create an Approval Rule for a Pull Request.

    
                        Creating an approval rule for a pull request
  7. If you configured notifications for your repository and chose to notify users of pull request events, users receive email about your new pull request. Users can view the changes and comment on specific lines of code, files, and the pull request itself. They can also reply to comments. If necessary, you can push changes to the pull request branch, which updates the pull request.

    
                        Viewing activity in a pull request
  8. If you are satisfied about the changes made in the request, choose Approve. You can choose to approve a pull request even if no approval rules are configured for that pull request. This provides a clear record of your having reviewed the pull request and your approval of the changes. You can also choose to revoke your approval if you change your mind.

    
                        Viewing approvals on a pull request

    Note

    You cannot approve a pull request if you created it.

  9. When you are satisfied that all the code changes have been reviewed and agreed to, from the pull request, do one of the following:

    • If you want to close the pull request without merging branches, choose Close pull request.

    • If you want to merge the branches and close the pull request, choose Merge. You can choose between the merge strategies available for your code, which depend on the differences between the source and destination branches, and whether to automatically delete the source branch after the merge is complete. After you have made your choices, choose Merge pull request to complete the merge.

      
                                A pull request showing the merge strategies available for
                                    the merge in the CodeCommit console.
    • If there are merge conflicts in the branches that cannot be resolved automatically, you can resolve them in the CodeCommit console, or you can use your local Git client to merge the branches and then push the merge. For more information, see Resolve Conflicts in a Pull Request in an AWS CodeCommit Repository.

    Note

    You can always manually merge branches, including pull request branches, by using the git merge command in your local repo and pushing your changes.

For more information, see Working with Pull Requests and Working with Approval Rule Templates.

Step 5: Clean Up

If you no longer need the CodeCommit repository, you should delete the CodeCommit repository and other resources you used in this exercise so you won't continue to be charged for the storage space.

Important

This action cannot be undone. After you delete this repository, you can no longer clone it to any local repo or shared repo. You also can no longer pull data from or push data to it, or perform any Git operations, from any local repo or shared repo.

If you configured notifications for your repository, deleting the repository also deletes the Amazon CloudWatch Events rule created for the repository. It does not delete the Amazon SNS topic used as a target for that rule.

If you configured triggers for your repository, deleting the repository does not delete the Amazon SNS topics or Lambda functions you configured as the targets of those triggers. Be sure to delete those resources if you don't need them. For more information, see Delete Triggers from a Repository.

To delete the CodeCommit repository

  1. Open the CodeCommit console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/codesuite/codecommit/home.

  2. In Repositories, choose the repository you want to delete. If you followed the naming convention in this topic, it is named MyDemoRepo.

  3. In the navigation pane, choose Settings.

  4. On the Settings page, in Delete repository, choose Delete repository.

  5. Type delete, and then choose Delete. The repository is permanently deleted.

Step 6: Next Steps

Now that you have familiarized yourself with CodeCommit and some of its features, consider doing the following: