启动自行管理的 Amazon Linux 节点 - Amazon EKS

启动自行管理的 Amazon Linux 节点

本主题帮助您启动向 Amazon EKS 集群注册的 Linux 节点的 Auto Scaling 组。在这些节点加入集群后,您可以向其部署 Kubernetes 应用程序。您可以使用 eksctl 或 AWS Management Console 启动自行管理的 Amazon Linux 2 节点。

eksctl

Prerequisites

  • 使用 eksctl 创建的一个现有 Amazon EKS 集群。

  • eksctl 版本 0.70.0 或更高版本。有关安装或升级 eksctl 的更多信息,请参阅安装或升级 eksctl

使用 eksctl 启动自行管理的 Linux 节点

  1. (可选)如果 AmazonEKS_CNI_Policy 托管 IAM 策略附加到您的 Amazon EKS 节点 IAM 角色,我们建议将其分配给您与 Kubernetes aws-node 服务账户关联的 IAM 角色。有关更多信息,请参阅 配置 Amazon VPC CNI 插件以将 IAM 角色用于服务账户

  2. 以下命令在现有集群中创建节点组。将 <example values>(包括 <>)替换为您自己的值。预设情况下,将使用与控制层面相同的 Kubernetes 版本创建节点。

    有关 --node-type 支持的值的完整列表,请参阅 GitHub 上的 amazon-eks-nodegroup.yaml。在为 --node-type 选择一个值之前,请查看 选择 Amazon EC2 实例类型

    <my-key> 替换为您的 Amazon EC2 密钥对或公有密钥的名称。此密钥用于在节点启动后通过 SSH 进入节点。如果还没有 Amazon EC2 密钥对,可以在 AWS Management Console 中创建一个。有关更多信息,请参阅适用于 Linux 实例的 Amazon EC2 用户指南中的 Amazon EC2 密钥对

    使用以下命令创建您的节点组。

    重要

    如果您想将节点组部署到 AWS Outposts、AWS Wavelength 或 AWS Local Zones 子网中,AWS Outposts、AWS Wavelength 或 AWS Local Zones 子网不得在您创建集群时就已传入。您必须使用配置文件创建节点组,指定 AWS Outposts、AWS Wavelength 或 AWS Local Zones 子网。有关更多信息,请参阅 eksctl 文档中的从配置文件创建节点组Config 文件架构

    eksctl create nodegroup \ --cluster <my-cluster> \ --name <al-nodes> \ --node-type <t3.medium> \ --nodes <3> \ --nodes-min <1> \ --nodes-max <4> \ --ssh-access \ --managed false \ --ssh-public-key <my-key>

    要部署一个节点组,使之允许您的实例为 Pod 分配更多 IP 地址,则需将 IP 地址分配给与实例不同的 CIDR 块中的 Pod,并启用 containerd 运行时间,您必须使用配置文件部署节点组。有关更多信息,请参阅 提高 Amazon EC2 节点的可用 IP 地址数量CNI 自定义网络启用 containerd 运行时间引导标记。要在没有出站 Internet 访问的情况下部署私有节点组,请参阅 私有集群。要查看所有可用选项和默认设置的完整列表,请输入以下命令。

    eksctl create nodegroup --help

    如果节点无法加入集群,请参阅《故障排除指南》中的 节点未能加入集群

    输出:

    创建节点时,您将看到几行输出。输出的最后几行类似于以下示例行。

    [✔] created 1 nodegroup(s) in cluster "<my-cluster>"
  3. (可选)如果您计划将 IAM 角色分配给您的所有 Kubernetes 服务账户,以便 Pod 只具有所需的最低权限,并且集群中没有 Pod 因其他原因(如检索当前区域)而需要访问 Amazon EC2 实例元数据服务(IMDS),那么我们建议阻止 Pod 对 IMDS 的访问。有关更多信息,请参阅 服务账户的 IAM 角色限制对 IMDS 和 Amazon EC2 实例配置文件凭证的访问

AWS Management Console

Prerequisites

步骤 1:使用 AWS Management Console 启动自行管理 Linux 节点

  1. 等待集群状态显示为 ACTIVE。如果在集群处于活动状态之前启动节点,则节点将无法向集群注册,您必须重新启动节点。

  2. 下载最新版本的 AWS CloudFormation 模板。

    curl -o amazon-eks-nodegroup.yaml https://raw.githubusercontent.com/awslabs/amazon-eks-ami/master/amazon-eks-nodegroup.yaml
  3. 打开 AWS CloudFormation 控制台,地址:https://console.aws.amazon.com/cloudformation

  4. 选择 Create stack(创建堆栈),然后选择 With new resources (standard)(使用新资源(标准))

  5. 对于 Specify template(指定模板),选择 Upload a template file(上传模板文件),然后选择Choose file(选择文件) 。选择您在第 2 步中下载的 amazon-eks-nodegroup.yaml 文件,然后选择 Next(下一步)

  6. Specify stack details (指定堆栈详细信息) 页面上,相应填写以下参数:

    • 堆栈名称:为 AWS CloudFormation 堆栈选择堆栈名称。例如,您可以将其称为 cluster-name-worker-nodes

    • ClusterName:输入您在创建 Amazon EKS 集群时使用的名称。此名称必须与集群名称完全匹配,否则您的节点无法加入该集群。

    • ClusterControlPlaneSecurityGroup:从您在创建 VPC 时生成的 AWS CloudFormation 输出中,选择 SecurityGroups 值。

      以下步骤显示了检索适用组的一种方法。

      1. 从以下位置打开 Amazon EKS 控制台:https://console.aws.amazon.com/eks/home#/clusters

      2. 选择集群的名称。

      3. 选择 Configuration 选项卡。

      4. 选择Networking (联网)选项卡。

      5. ClusterControlPlaneSecurityGroup 下拉列表中选择时使用 Additional Security Group(其他安全组)值作为参考。

    • NodeGroupName:输入节点组的名称。稍后您可以使用此名称来标识为您的节点创建的 Auto Scaling 节点组。

    • NodeAutoScalingGroupMinSize:输入您的节点 Auto Scaling 组可缩减到的最小节点数。

    • NodeAutoScalingGroupDesiredCapacity:输入创建堆栈时要扩展到的所需节点数目。

    • NodeAutoScalingGroupMaxSize:输入您的节点 Auto Scaling 组可横向扩展到的最大节点数。

    • NodeInstanceType:选择节点的实例类型。您也可以在 GitHub 上的 amazon-eks-nodegroup.yaml 文件中查看列表。在选择实例类型之前,请查看 选择 Amazon EC2 实例类型

    • NodeImageIdSSMParam:使用用于某个 Kubernetes 版本的最近的 Amazon EKS 优化版 Amazon Linux AMI ID 的 Amazon EC2 Systems Manager 参数进行预填充。如果您想使用 Amazon EKS 支持的不同的 Kubernetes 次要版本,则可以将 1.x 替换为不同的支持版本。我们建议您指定与您的集群相同的 Kubernetes 版本。

      如果要使用 Amazon EKS 优化版加速型 AMI,请将 amazon-linux-2 替换为 amazon-linux-2-gpu。如果要使用 Amazon EKS 优化版 Arm AMI,请将 amazon-linux-2 替换为 amazon-linux-2-arm64

      注意

      Amazon EKS 节点 AMI 基于 Amazon Linux 2。您可以在 Amazon Linux 安全中心跟踪 Amazon Linux 2 的安全和隐私事件,或订阅关联的 RSS 源。安全和隐私事件包括问题的概述、受影响的程序包以及如何更新实例以解决问题。

    • NodeImageId:(可选)如果您使用自定义 AMI(而不是 Amazon EKS 优化版 AMI),则输入您区域的节点 AMI ID。如果您在此处指定值,它会覆盖 NodeImageIdSSMParam 字段中的任意值。

    • NodeVolumeSize:指定您的节点的根卷大小(以 GiB 为单位)。

    • KeyName:输入 Amazon EC2 SSH 密钥对的名称,您可使用该密钥对来在节点启动后使用 SSH 连接到这些节点。如果还没有 Amazon EC2 密钥对,可以在 AWS Management Console 中创建一个。有关更多信息,请参阅适用于 Linux 实例的 Amazon EC2 用户指南中的 Amazon EC2 密钥对

      注意

      如果此处不提供密钥对,AWS CloudFormation 堆栈创建将失败。

    • BootstrapArguments:指定要传递给节点引导脚本的任何可选参数,如额外的 kubelet 实际参数。有关更多信息,请查看 GitHub 上的引导脚本使用信息。要部署一个节点组,使之允许您的实例为 Pod 分配更多 IP 地址,则需将 IP 地址分配给其它的 CIDR 块(而不是实例的 CIDR 块)中的 Pod,启用 containerd 运行时间,或部署无出站 Internet 访问的私有集群,请参阅 提高 Amazon EC2 节点的可用 IP 地址数量CNI 自定义网络启用 containerd 运行时间引导标记私有集群 了解要在这里添加的实际参数。

    • DisableIMDSv1:预设情况下,每个节点都支持实例元数据服务版本 1 (IMDSv1) 和 IMDSv2,但您可以禁用 IMDSv1。如果您不希望节点组中的任何节点或节点组中节点上计划的任何 Pod 使用 IMDSv1,请选择 true。有关 IMDS 的更多信息,请参阅配置实例元数据服务。有关在您的节点上限制对它的访问的更多信息,请参阅 限制对 IMDS 和 Amazon EC2 实例配置文件凭证的访问

    • VpcId:输入您创建的 VPC 的 ID。

    • Subnets(子网):选择您为 VPC 创建的子网。如果您使用 为 Amazon EKS 集群创建 VPC 中描述的步骤创建了 VPC,则在 VPC 中仅指定私有子网以供您的节点启动到其中。

      重要
      • 如果其中的任何子网是公有子网,则其必须启用自动公有 IP 地址分配设置。如果没有为该公有子网启用该设置,则您部署到该公有子网的任何节点都不会分配到公有 IP 地址,也无法与集群或其他AWS服务进行通信。如果子网是在 2020 年 3 月 26 日之前使用任一 Amazon EKS AWS CloudFormation VPC 模板部署的,或者是使用 eksctl 部署的,则会为这些公有子网禁用自动公有 IP 地址分配。有关如何为子网启用公有 IP 地址分配的信息,请参阅修改子网的公有 IPv4 寻址属性。如果节点部署到私有子网,则它可以通过 NAT 网关与集群和其他AWS服务进行通信。

      • 如果子网没有 Internet 访问权限,请确保您了解 私有集群 中的注意事项和额外步骤。

      • 如果要在 1.18 或更早版本的集群中部署节点,请确保您选择的子网标记了集群名称。将 my-cluster(包括 <>)替换为您的集群的名称,然后运行以下命令以查看当前使用您的集群名称标记的子网的列表。

        aws ec2 describe-subnets --filters Name=tag:kubernetes.io/cluster/<my-cluster>,Values=shared | grep SubnetId

        如果要选择的子网未在上一个命令的输出中返回,则必须手动将标签添加到子网。有关更多信息,请参阅 为子网添加标签

      • 如果您选择 AWS Outposts、AWS Wavelength 或 AWS Local Zones 子网,则这些子网不应已在创建集群时传入。

  7. 确认堆栈可创建 IAM 资源,然后选择 Create stack(创建堆栈)

  8. 完成创建堆栈后,在控制台中选中它,然后选择 Outputs(输出)

  9. 记录已创建的节点组的 NodeInstanceRole。您在配置 Amazon EKS 节点时需要此值。

步骤 2:使节点能够加入集群

注意

如果您在没有出站 Internet 访问的私有 VPC 内启动了节点,则您必须使节点能够从 VPC 中加入您的集群。

  1. 下载、编辑和应用 AWS IAM 身份验证器配置映射。

    1. 下载配置映射:

      curl -o aws-auth-cm.yaml https://amazon-eks.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/cloudformation/2020-10-29/aws-auth-cm.yaml
    2. 使用文本编辑器打开该文件。将 <ARN of instance role (not instance profile)> 代码段替换为您在上一程序中记录的 NodeInstanceRole 值,然后保存该文件。

      重要

      请勿修改此文件中的任何其他行。

      apiVersion: v1 kind: ConfigMap metadata: name: aws-auth namespace: kube-system data: mapRoles: | - rolearn: <ARN of instance role (not instance profile)> username: system:node:{{EC2PrivateDNSName}} groups: - system:bootstrappers - system:nodes
    3. 应用配置。此命令可能需要几分钟才能完成。

      kubectl apply -f aws-auth-cm.yaml
      注意

      如果您收到任何授权或资源类型错误,请参阅故障排除部分中的未经授权或访问被拒绝 (kubectl)

      如果节点无法加入集群,请参阅《故障排除指南》中的 节点未能加入集群

  2. 查看节点的状态并等待它们达到 Ready 状态。

    kubectl get nodes --watch
  3. (仅限 GPU 工作线程)如果选择 GPU 实例类型和 Amazon EKS 优化版加速型 AMI,则必须使用以下命令在集群上将适用于 Kubernetes 的 NVIDIA 设备插件用作 DaemonSet。

    kubectl apply -f https://raw.githubusercontent.com/NVIDIA/k8s-device-plugin/v0.9.0/nvidia-device-plugin.yml
  4. (可选)部署示例应用程序以测试集群和 Linux 节点。

  5. (可选)如果 AmazonEKS_CNI_Policy 托管 IAM 策略附加到您的 Amazon EKS 节点 IAM 角色,我们建议将其分配给您与 Kubernetes aws-node 服务账户关联的 IAM 角色。有关更多信息,请参阅 配置 Amazon VPC CNI 插件以将 IAM 角色用于服务账户

  6. (可选)如果您计划将 IAM 角色分配给您的所有 Kubernetes 服务账户,以便 Pod 只具有所需的最低权限,并且集群中没有 Pod 因其他原因(如检索当前区域)而需要访问 Amazon EC2 实例元数据服务(IMDS),那么我们建议阻止 Pod 对 IMDS 的访问。有关更多信息,请参阅 服务账户的 IAM 角色限制对 IMDS 和 Amazon EC2 实例配置文件凭证的访问

Launching self-managed Amazon Linux nodes - Amazon EKS

Launching self-managed Amazon Linux nodes

This topic helps you to launch an Auto Scaling group of Linux nodes that register with your Amazon EKS cluster. After the nodes join the cluster, you can deploy Kubernetes applications to them. You can launch self-managed Amazon Linux 2 nodes with eksctl or the AWS Management Console.

eksctl

Prerequisites

  • An existing Amazon EKS cluster that was created using eksctl.

  • eksctl version 0.70.0 or later. For more information about installing or upgrading eksctl, see Installing or upgrading eksctl.

To launch self-managed Linux nodes using eksctl

  1. (Optional) If the AmazonEKS_CNI_Policy managed IAM policy is attached to your Amazon EKS node IAM role, we recommend assigning it to an IAM role that you associate to the Kubernetes aws-node service account instead. For more information, see Configuring the Amazon VPC CNI plugin to use IAM roles for service accounts.

  2. The following command creates a node group in an existing cluster. Replace the <example values> (including <>) with your own values. The nodes are created with the same Kubernetes version as the control plane, by default.

    For a complete list of supported values for --node-type, see the list in amazon-eks-nodegroup.yaml on GitHub. Before choosing a value for --node-type, review Choosing an Amazon EC2 instance type.

    Replace <my-key> with the name of your Amazon EC2 key pair or public key. This key is used to SSH into your nodes after they launch. If you don't already have an Amazon EC2 key pair, you can create one in the AWS Management Console. For more information, see Amazon EC2 key pairs in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Linux Instances.

    Create your node group with the following command.

    Important

    If you want to deploy a node group to AWS Outposts, AWS Wavelength, or AWS Local Zones subnets, then the AWS Outposts, AWS Wavelength, or AWS Local Zones subnets must not have been passed in when you created the cluster. You must create the node group with a config file, specifying the AWS Outposts, AWS Wavelength, or AWS Local Zones subnets. For more information see Create a nodegroup from a config file and Config file schema in the eksctl documentation.

    eksctl create nodegroup \ --cluster <my-cluster> \ --name <al-nodes> \ --node-type <t3.medium> \ --nodes <3> \ --nodes-min <1> \ --nodes-max <4> \ --ssh-access \ --managed false \ --ssh-public-key <my-key>

    To deploy a node group that allows your instance to assign a significantly higher number of IP addresses to pods, assign IP addresses to pods from a different CIDR block than the instance's, and enable the containerd runtime you must deploy the node group using a config file. For more information, see Increase the amount of available IP addresses for your Amazon EC2 nodes, CNI custom networking, Enable the containerd runtime bootstrap flag. To deploy a private nodegroup without outbound internet access, see Private clusters. For a complete list of all available options and defaults, enter the following command.

    eksctl create nodegroup --help

    If nodes fail to join the cluster, then see Nodes fail to join cluster in the Troubleshooting guide.

    Output:

    You'll see several lines of output as the nodes are created. One of the last lines of output is the following example line.

    [✔] created 1 nodegroup(s) in cluster "<my-cluster>"
  3. (Optional) If you plan to assign IAM roles to all of your Kubernetes service accounts so that pods only have the minimum permissions that they need, and no pods in the cluster require access to the Amazon EC2 instance metadata service (IMDS) for other reasons, such as retrieving the current Region, then we recommend blocking pod access to IMDS. For more information, see IAM roles for service accounts and Restricting access to the IMDS and Amazon EC2 instance profile credentials.

AWS Management Console

Prerequisites

Step 1: To launch self-managed Linux nodes using the AWS Management Console

  1. Wait for your cluster status to show as ACTIVE. If you launch your nodes before the cluster is active, the nodes will fail to register with the cluster and you will have to relaunch them.

  2. Download the latest version of the AWS CloudFormation template.

    curl -o amazon-eks-nodegroup.yaml https://raw.githubusercontent.com/awslabs/amazon-eks-ami/master/amazon-eks-nodegroup.yaml
  3. Open the AWS CloudFormation console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/cloudformation.

  4. Choose Create stack and then select With new resources (standard).

  5. For Specify template, select Upload a template file and then select Choose file. Select the amazon-eks-nodegroup.yaml file that you downloaded in step 2 and then select Next.

  6. On the Specify stack details page, fill out the following parameters accordingly:

    • Stack name: Choose a stack name for your AWS CloudFormation stack. For example, you can call it cluster-name-nodes.

    • ClusterName: Enter the name that you used when you created your Amazon EKS cluster. This name must exactly match the cluster name or your nodes won't join the cluster.

    • ClusterControlPlaneSecurityGroup: Choose the SecurityGroups value from the AWS CloudFormation output that you generated when you created your VPC.

      The following steps show one method to retrieve the applicable group.

      1. Open the Amazon EKS console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/eks/home#/clusters.

      2. Choose the name of the cluster.

      3. Choose the Configuration tab.

      4. Choose the Networking tab.

      5. Use the Additional Security Group value as a reference when selecting from the ClusterControlPlaneSecurityGroup drop-down list.

    • NodeGroupName: Enter a name for your node group. This name can be used later to identify the Auto Scaling node group that is created for your nodes.

    • NodeAutoScalingGroupMinSize: Enter the minimum number of nodes that your node Auto Scaling group can scale in to.

    • NodeAutoScalingGroupDesiredCapacity: Enter the desired number of nodes to scale to when your stack is created.

    • NodeAutoScalingGroupMaxSize: Enter the maximum number of nodes that your node Auto Scaling group can scale out to.

    • NodeInstanceType: Choose an instance type for your nodes. You can also view the list in the amazon-eks-nodegroup.yaml file on GitHub. Before choosing an instance type, review Choosing an Amazon EC2 instance type.

    • NodeImageIdSSMParam: Pre-populated with the Amazon EC2 Systems Manager parameter of a recent Amazon EKS optimized Amazon Linux AMI ID for a Kubernetes version. If you want to use a different Kubernetes minor version supported with Amazon EKS, then you can replace 1.x with a different supported version. We recommend specifying the same Kubernetes version as your cluster.

      If you want to use the Amazon EKS optimized accelerated AMI, then replace amazon-linux-2 with amazon-linux-2-gpu. If you want to use the Amazon EKS optimized Arm AMI, then replace amazon-linux-2 with amazon-linux-2-arm64.

      Note

      The Amazon EKS node AMI is based on Amazon Linux 2. You can track security or privacy events for Amazon Linux 2 at the Amazon Linux Security Center or subscribe to the associated RSS feed. Security and privacy events include an overview of the issue, what packages are affected, and how to update your instances to correct the issue.

    • NodeImageId: (Optional) If you are using your own custom AMI (instead of the Amazon EKS optimized AMI), enter a node AMI ID for your Region. If you specify a value here, it overrides any values in the NodeImageIdSSMParam field.

    • NodeVolumeSize: Specify a root volume size for your nodes, in GiB.

    • KeyName: Enter the name of an Amazon EC2 SSH key pair that you can use to connect using SSH into your nodes with after they launch. If you don't already have an Amazon EC2 key pair, you can create one in the AWS Management Console. For more information, see Amazon EC2 key pairs in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Linux Instances.

      Note

      If you do not provide a key pair here, the AWS CloudFormation stack creation fails.

    • BootstrapArguments: Specify any optional arguments to pass to the node bootstrap script, such as extra kubelet arguments. For more information, view the bootstrap script usage information on GitHub. To deploy a node group that allows your instance to assign a significantly higher number of IP addresses to pods, assign IP addresses to pods from a different CIDR block than the instance's, enable the containerd runtime, or deploy a private cluster without outbound internet access, see Increase the amount of available IP addresses for your Amazon EC2 nodes, CNI custom networking, Enable the containerd runtime bootstrap flag, and Private clusters for arguments to add here.

    • DisableIMDSv1: Each node supports the Instance Metadata Service Version 1 (IMDSv1) and IMDSv2 by default, but you can disable IMDSv1. Select true if you don't want any nodes in the node group, or any pods scheduled on the nodes in the node group to use IMDSv1. For more information about IMDS, see Configuring the instance metadata service. For more information about restricting access to it on your nodes, see Restricting access to the IMDS and Amazon EC2 instance profile credentials.

    • VpcId: Enter the ID for the VPC that you created.

    • Subnets: Choose the subnets that you created for your VPC. If you created your VPC using the steps described in Creating a VPC for your Amazon EKS cluster, then specify only the private subnets within the VPC for your nodes to launch into.

      Important
      • If any of the subnets are public subnets, then they must have the automatic public IP address assignment setting enabled. If the setting is not enabled for the public subnet, then any nodes that you deploy to that public subnet will not be assigned a public IP address and will not be able to communicate with the cluster or other AWS services. If the subnet was deployed before March 26, 2020 using either of the Amazon EKS AWS CloudFormation VPC templates, or by using eksctl, then automatic public IP address assignment is disabled for public subnets. For information about how to enable public IP address assignment for a subnet, see Modifying the Public IPv4 Addressing Attribute for Your Subnet. If the node is deployed to a private subnet, then it is able to communicate with the cluster and other AWS services through a NAT gateway.

      • If the subnets do not have internet access, then make sure that you're aware of the considerations and extra steps in Private clusters.

      • If you're deploying the nodes in a 1.18 or earlier cluster, make sure that the subnets you select are tagged with the cluster name. Replace my-cluster (including <>) with the name of your cluster and then run the following command to see a list of the subnets currently tagged with your cluster name.

        aws ec2 describe-subnets --filters Name=tag:kubernetes.io/cluster/<my-cluster>,Values=shared | grep SubnetId

        If the subnet you want to select isn't returned in the output from the previous command, then you must manually add the tag to the subnet. For more information, see Subnet tagging.

      • If you select AWS Outposts, AWS Wavelength, or AWS Local Zones subnets, then the subnets must not have been passed in when you created the cluster.

  7. Acknowledge that the stack might create IAM resources, and then choose Create stack.

  8. When your stack has finished creating, select it in the console and choose Outputs.

  9. Record the NodeInstanceRole for the node group that was created. You need this when you configure your Amazon EKS nodes.

Step 2: To enable nodes to join your cluster

Note

If you launched nodes inside a private VPC without outbound internet access, then you must enable nodes to join your cluster from within the VPC.

  1. Download, edit, and apply the AWS IAM Authenticator configuration map.

    1. Download the configuration map:

      curl -o aws-auth-cm.yaml https://amazon-eks.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/cloudformation/2020-10-29/aws-auth-cm.yaml
    2. Open the file with your text editor. Replace the <ARN of instance role (not instance profile)> snippet with the NodeInstanceRole value that you recorded in the previous procedure, and save the file.

      Important

      Do not modify any other lines in this file.

      apiVersion: v1 kind: ConfigMap metadata: name: aws-auth namespace: kube-system data: mapRoles: | - rolearn: <ARN of instance role (not instance profile)> username: system:node:{{EC2PrivateDNSName}} groups: - system:bootstrappers - system:nodes
    3. Apply the configuration. This command may take a few minutes to finish.

      kubectl apply -f aws-auth-cm.yaml
      Note

      If you receive any authorization or resource type errors, see Unauthorized or access denied (kubectl) in the troubleshooting section.

      If nodes fail to join the cluster, then see Nodes fail to join cluster in the Troubleshooting guide.

  2. Watch the status of your nodes and wait for them to reach the Ready status.

    kubectl get nodes --watch
  3. (GPU nodes only) If you chose a GPU instance type and the Amazon EKS optimized accelerated AMI, you must apply the NVIDIA device plugin for Kubernetes as a DaemonSet on your cluster with the following command.

    kubectl apply -f https://raw.githubusercontent.com/NVIDIA/k8s-device-plugin/v0.9.0/nvidia-device-plugin.yml
  4. (Optional) Deploy a sample application to test your cluster and Linux nodes.

  5. (Optional) If the AmazonEKS_CNI_Policy managed IAM policy is attached to your Amazon EKS node IAM role, we recommend assigning it to an IAM role that you associate to the Kubernetes aws-node service account instead. For more information, see Configuring the Amazon VPC CNI plugin to use IAM roles for service accounts.

  6. (Optional) If you plan to assign IAM roles to all of your Kubernetes service accounts so that pods only have the minimum permissions that they need, and no pods in the cluster require access to the Amazon EC2 instance metadata service (IMDS) for other reasons, such as retrieving the current Region, then we recommend blocking pod access to IMDS. For more information, see IAM roles for service accounts and Restricting access to the IMDS and Amazon EC2 instance profile credentials.