Amazon S3 的安全最佳实践 - Amazon Simple Storage Service

Amazon S3 的安全最佳实践

Amazon S3 提供了在您开发和实施自己的安全策略时需要考虑的大量安全特征。以下最佳实操是一般准则,并不代表完整的安全解决方案。这些最佳实践可能不适合您的环境或不满足您的环境要求,请将其视为有用的建议而不是惯例。

Amazon S3 安全最佳实践

Amazon S3 的以下最佳实践可以帮助预防安全事故。

禁用访问控制列表(ACL)

S3 对象所有权是 Amazon S3 存储桶级别的设置,您可以使用该设置来控制上传到存储桶的对象的所有权和禁用或启用 ACL。默认情况下,对象所有权设为强制存储桶拥有者设置,并且所有 ACL 均处于禁用状态。禁用 ACL 后,存储桶拥有者拥有存储桶中的所有对象,并使用访问管理策略来专门管理对数据的访问权限。

Amazon S3 中的大多数现代使用案例不再要求使用访问控制列表(ACL)。我们建议您禁用 ACL,除非有必须单独控制每个对象的访问权限的特殊情况。要禁用 ACL 并获得存储桶中每个对象的所有权,请为 S3 对象所有权应用强制存储桶拥有者设置。禁用 ACL 时,您可以轻松通过不同的 AWS 账户 上传的对象维护存储桶。

禁用 ACL 时,数据的访问控制基于策略,如下所示:

  • AWS Identity and Access Management(IAM)用户策略

  • S3 存储桶策略

  • 虚拟私有云(VPC)端点策略

  • AWS Organizations 服务控制策略(SCP)

禁用 ACL 简化了权限管理和审计。对于新存储桶,默认情况下 ACL 处于禁用状态。您还可以对现有存储桶禁用 ACL。如果现有存储桶中已有对象,在禁用 ACL 后,对象和存储桶 ACL 将不再是访问评估过程的一部分。相反,将根据策略授予或拒绝访问权限。

在禁用 ACL 之前,请确保执行以下操作:

  • 查看存储桶策略,以确保此策略涵盖了您打算在账户外授予对存储桶的访问权限的所有方式。

  • 将存储桶 ACL 重置为默认(由存储桶拥有者完全控制)。

禁用 ACL 后,会出现以下行为:

  • 您的存储桶仅接受未指定 ACL 的 PUT 请求或指定了存储桶拥有者完全控制的 ACL 的 PUT 请求。这些 ACL 包括 bucket-owner-full-control 标准 ACL 或以 XML 表示的此 ACL 的等效形式。

  • 支持存储桶拥有者完全控制 ACL 的现有应用程序没有影响。

  • 包含其他 ACL 的 PUT 请求(例如,向某些 AWS 账户 进行自定义授权)将失败并返回 HTTP 状态代码 400 (Bad Request),和错误代码 AccessControlListNotSupported

有关更多信息,请参阅为您的存储桶控制对象所有权和禁用 ACL。

确保您的 Amazon S3 存储桶使用正确的策略且不可公有访问

除非您明确要求互联网上的任何人都能读写您的 S3 存储桶,否则请确保 S3 存储桶不是公有的。以下是您可以采取的屏蔽公共访问权限的一些步骤:

  • 使用 S3 屏蔽公共访问权限。借助 S3 屏蔽公共访问权限,您可以轻松地设置集中控制,以限制对 Amazon S3 资源的公共访问。无论资源是如何创建的,都会实施这些集中控制。有关更多信息,请参阅阻止对您的 Amazon S3 存储的公有访问

  • 找出允许使用通配符身份的 Amazon S3 存储桶策略,例如 "Principal": "*"(这实际上意味着“任何人”)。还要找出允许通配符操作 "*" 的策略(这实际上允许用户在 Amazon S3 存储桶中执行任何操作)。

  • 类似地,找出向“任何人”或者“任何经过身份验证的 AWS 用户”提供读、写或完全访问权限的 Amazon S3 存储桶访问控制列表(ACL)。

  • 使用 ListBuckets API 操作扫描所有 Amazon S3 存储桶。然后,使用 GetBucketAclGetBucketWebsiteGetBucketPolicy 确定每个存储桶是否拥有符合要求的访问控制和符合要求的配置。

  • 使用 AWS Trusted Advisor 检查您的 Amazon S3 实现。

  • 考虑使用 s3-bucket-public-read-prohibiteds3-bucket-public-write-prohibited 托管式 AWS Config 规则 来实施持续的侦测性控制。

有关更多信息,请参阅Amazon S3 中的 Identity and Access Management

实施最低权限访问

在授予权限时,您可以决定谁获得哪些 Amazon S3 资源的哪些权限。您可以对这些资源启用希望允许的特定操作。因此,我们建议您仅授予执行任务所需的权限。实施最低权限访问对于减小安全风险以及可能由错误或恶意意图造成的影响至关重要。

为实现最低权限访问,可以使用以下工具:

有关选择一个或多个前述机制时所要考虑的事项的指南,请参阅 访问策略指南

将 IAM 角色用于需要 Amazon S3 访问权限的应用程序和 AWS 服务

为了使在 Amazon EC2 或其他 AWS 服务上运行的应用程序能够访问 Amazon S3 资源,应用程序必须在其 AWS API 请求中包含有效的 AWS 凭证。我们建议您不要直接在应用程序或 Amazon EC2 实例中存储 AWS 凭证,这些是不会自动轮换的长期凭证,如果它们受到损害,可能会对业务产生重大影响。

而是使用 IAM 角色来管理需要访问 Amazon S3 的应用程序或服务的临时凭证。在使用角色时,您不需要将长期凭证(如用户名和密码或访问密钥)分配给 Amazon EC2 实例或 AWS 服务(例如 AWS Lambda)。角色可提供临时权限供应用程序在调用其他 AWS 资源时使用。

有关更多信息,请参阅 IAM 用户指南中的以下主题:

考虑加密静态数据

您可以通过以下选项在 Amazon S3 中保护静态数据:

  • 服务器端加密 – 默认情况下,所有 Amazon S3 存储桶都配置了加密,所有上传到 S3 存储桶的新对象都会自动静态加密。具有 Amazon S3 托管密钥的服务器端加密(SSE-S3)是 Amazon S3 中每个存储桶的默认加密配置。要使用其他类型的加密,您可以指定要在 S3 PUT 请求中使用的服务器端加密类型,也可以在目标存储桶中设置默认加密配置。

    Amazon S3 也提供了以下服务器端加密选项:

    • 具有 AWS Key Management Service(AWS KMS)密钥的服务器端加密(SSE-KMS)

    • 具有 AWS Key Management Service(AWS KMS)密钥的双层服务器端加密(DSSE-KMS)

    • 具有客户提供密钥的服务器端加密(SSE-C)

    有关更多信息,请参阅使用服务器端加密保护数据

  • 客户端加密 – 在客户端加密数据并将加密的数据上传到 Amazon S3。在这种情况下,您需要管理加密过程、加密密钥和相关的工具。如服务器端加密一样,客户端加密可以帮助减少面临的风险:通过使用存储在一个不同机制(而不是存储数据本身的机制)中的密钥来加密数据。

    Amazon S3 提供多个客户端加密选项。有关更多信息,请参阅使用客户端加密保护数据

实施传输中数据加密

您可以使用 HTTPS(TLS)帮助防止潜在攻击者使用中间人攻击或类似攻击来窃听或操纵网络流量。我们建议通过在 Amazon S3 存储桶策略中使用 aws:SecureTransport 条件,以只允许通过 HTTPS(TLS)的加密连接。

也可以考虑使用 s3-bucket-ssl-requests-only 托管式 AWS Config 规则来实施持续的侦测性控制。

考虑使用 S3 对象锁定

借助 S3 对象锁定,您可以使用“一次写入,多次读取”(WORM)模式存储对象。S3 对象锁定可以帮助阻止意外或不当删除数据。例如,您可以使用 S3 对象锁定来帮助保护您的 AWS CloudTrail 日志。

有关更多信息,请参阅使用 S3 对象锁定

启用 S3 版本控制

S3 版本控制是在相同的存储桶中保留对象的多个版本的方法。对于 存储桶中存储的每个对象,您可以使用版本控制功能来保留、检索和还原它们的各个版本。使用版本控制能够轻松从用户意外操作和应用程序故障中恢复数据。

也可以考虑使用 s3-bucket-versioning-enabled 托管式 AWS Config 规则来实施持续的侦测性控制。

有关更多信息,请参阅在 S3 存储桶中使用版本控制

考虑使用 Amazon S3 跨区域复制

虽然 Amazon S3 在默认情况下跨多个地理位置不同的可用区存储数据,但合规性要求所规定的数据存储距离可能更远。通过 S3 跨区域复制(CRR),可以在远距离 AWS 区域之间复制数据以帮助满足这些要求。CRR 允许在不同 AWS 区域 中的存储桶之间自动以异步方式复制对象。有关更多信息,请参阅复制对象

注意

CRR 要求源和目标 S3 存储桶都已启用版本控制。

也可以考虑使用 s3-bucket-replication-enabled 托管式 AWS Config 规则来实施持续的侦测性控制。

考虑使用 VPC 端点进行 Amazon S3 访问

Amazon S3 的 Virtual Private Cloud(VPC)端点是 VPC 内的逻辑实体,仅允许连接到 Amazon S3。VPC 端点可以帮助防止流量穿越开放的互联网。

Amazon S3 的 VPC 端点提供多种方式来控制对 Amazon S3 数据的访问:

  • 通过使用 S3 存储桶策略,您可以控制允许通过特定 VPC 端点进行访问的请求、用户或组。

  • 可以使用 S3 存储桶策略控制哪些 VPC 或 VPC 端点有权访问 S3 存储桶。

  • 您可以使用没有 Internet 网关的 VPC 来阻止数据泄露。

有关更多信息,请参阅使用存储桶策略控制从 VPC 端点的访问

使用托管式 AWS 安全服务监控数据安全

多项托管式 AWS 安全服务可以帮助您识别、评测和监控 Amazon S3 数据的安全和合规风险。这些服务还可以帮助您保护数据免受这些风险的影响。这些服务包括自动检测、监控和保护功能,旨在从单个 AWS 账户的 Amazon S3 资源扩展到跨数千个账户的多个组织的资源。

有关更多信息,请参阅使用托管式 AWS 安全服务监控数据安全

Amazon S3 监控和审计最佳实践

Amazon S3 的以下最佳实践可以帮助检测潜在的安全弱点和事故。

识别和审计您的所有 Amazon S3 存储桶

确定您的 IT 资产是监管和安全性的一个至关重要的方面。您需要了解您所有的 Amazon S3 资源,以评估它们的安全态势并对潜在的薄弱领域采取措施。要审计您的资源,我们建议您执行以下操作:

  • 使用标签编辑器确定和标记安全敏感性或审计敏感性资源,然后在您需要搜索这些资源时使用这些标签。有关更多信息,请参阅《标记 AWS 资源用户指南》中的搜索要标记的资源

  • 出于业务、合规性和法规要求,使用 S3 清单来审计和报告对象的复制和加密状态。有关更多信息,请参阅Amazon S3 清单

  • 为您的 Amazon S3 资源创建资源组。有关更多信息,请参阅《AWS Resource Groups 用户指南》中的什么是 Resource Groups?

使用 AWS 监控工具实施监控

监控是保持 Amazon S3 和您的 AWS 解决方案的可靠性、安全性、可用性和性能的重要部分。AWS 提供了一些可用来监控 Amazon S3 和您的其他 AWS 服务的工具和服务。例如,您可以监控 Amazon S3 的 Amazon CloudWatch 指标,特别是 PutRequestsGetRequests4xxErrorsDeleteRequests 指标。有关更多信息,请参阅 使用 Amazon CloudWatch 监控指标监控 Amazon S3

有关另一个示例,请参阅示例:Amazon S3 存储桶活动。此示例介绍如何创建 CloudWatch 警报,当执行 Amazon S3 API 调用以 PUTDELETE 存储桶策略、存储桶生命周期、存储桶复制配置时,或者 PUT 存储桶 ACL 时,会触发此警报。

启用 Amazon S3 服务器访问日志记录

服务器访问日志记录详细地记录对存储桶提出的各种请求。服务器访问日志可以在安全和访问审计方面为您提供帮助,帮您了解您的客户群和了解您的 Amazon S3 账单。有关启用服务器访问日志记录的说明,请参阅 使用服务器访问日志记录来记录请求

也可以考虑使用 s3-bucket-logging-enabled AWS Config 托管式规则来实施持续的侦测性控制。

使用 AWS CloudTrail

AWS CloudTrail 提供用户、角色或 AWS 服务在 Amazon S3 中执行的操作的记录。您可以使用 CloudTrail 收集的信息确定以下事项:

  • 向 Amazon S3 发出的请求

  • 发出请求的 IP 地址

  • 谁发出了请求

  • 发出请求的时间

  • 有关该请求的其他详细信息

例如,您可以确定影响数据访问的 PUT 操作的 CloudTrail 条目,尤其是 PutBucketAclPutObjectAclPutBucketPolicyPutBucketWebsite

当您设置 AWS 账户时,默认情况下 CloudTrail 处于启用状态。您可以在 CloudTrail 控制台中查看最近的事件。要为 Amazon S3 存储桶创建活动和事件的持续记录,您可以在 CloudTrail 控制台中创建跟踪。有关更多信息,请参阅《AWS CloudTrail 用户指南》中的记录数据事件

创建跟踪时,可以配置 CloudTrail 以记录数据事件。数据事件是在资源上或在资源内执行的资源操作的记录。在 Amazon S3 中,数据事件记录单个存储桶的对象级 API 活动。CloudTrail 支持 Amazon S3 对象级 API 操作的子集,例如 GetObjectDeleteObjectPutObject。有关 CloudTrail 如何与 Amazon S3 配合使用的更多信息,请参阅 使用 AWS CloudTrail 记录 Amazon S3 API 调用。在 Amazon S3 控制台中,您还可以将 S3 存储桶配置为 为 S3 存储桶和对象启用 CloudTrail 事件日志记录

AWS Config 提供了托管规则(cloudtrail-s3-dataevents-enabled),您可以使用该规则来确认至少有一个 CloudTrail 跟踪正在记录 S3 存储桶的数据事件。有关更多信息,请参阅 AWS Config 开发人员指南中的 cloudtrail-s3-dataevents-enabled

Enable AWS Config(启用 Gem)

此主题中列出的几个最佳实践建议创建 AWS Config 规则。AWS Config 有助于评测、审计和评价您的 AWS 资源的配置。AWS Config 监控资源配置,以便您能够针对需要的安全配置评估所记录的配置。利用 AWS Config,您可以:

  • 查看 AWS 资源之间的配置和关系的更改

  • 调查详细的资源配置历史记录

  • 根据内部指南中指定的配置确定总体合规性

使用 AWS Config 可帮助您简化合规性审核、安全性分析、变更管理和操作故障排除。有关更多信息,请参阅 AWS Config 开发人员指南中的使用控制台设置 AWS Config。当指定要记录的资源类型时,确保您包括了 Amazon S3 资源。

重要

在评估 Amazon S3 资源时,AWS Config 托管式规则仅支持通用存储桶。AWS Config 不记录目录存储桶的配置更改。有关更多信息,请参阅《AWS Config 开发人员指南》中的 AWS Config 托管式规则AWS Config 托管式规则列表

有关如何使用 AWS Config 的示例,请参阅《AWS 安全博客》上的如何使用 AWS Config 来监控和响应允许公共访问的 Amazon S3 存储桶

使用 Amazon Macie 发现敏感数据

Amazon Macie 是一项安全服务,旨在使用机器学习和模式匹配来发现敏感数据。Macie 提供对数据安全风险的可见性,并实现针对这些风险的自动防护。借助 Macie,您可以自动发现和报告 Amazon S3 数据资产中的敏感数据,以更好地了解组织在 S3 中存储的数据。

要使用 Macie 检测敏感数据,您可以使用内置标准和技术,这些标准和技术旨在检测许多国家和地区的大量且不断增长的敏感数据类型列表。这些敏感数据类型包括多种类型的个人身份信息(PII)、财务数据和凭证数据。您还可以使用自己定义的自定义标准:旨在定义要匹配的文本模式的正则表达式,以及(可选)用于优化结果的字符序列和邻近规则。

如果 Macie 在 S3 对象中检测到敏感数据,Macie 会生成安全调查发现来通知您。此调查发现提供有关受影响的对象、Macie 发现的敏感数据的类型和出现次数的信息,以及其他详细信息,以帮助您调查受影响的 S3 存储桶和对象。有关更多信息,请参阅《Amazon Macie 用户指南》

使用 S3 Storage Lens 存储统计管理工具

S3 Storage Lens 存储统计管理工具是一项云存储分析功能,您可以使用它在整个组织范围内了解对象存储的使用情况和活动。S3 Storage Lens 存储统计管理工具还分析指标以提供上下文建议,您可以使用这些建议来优化存储成本并应用最佳实践来保护数据。

通过 S3 Storage Lens 存储统计管理工具,您可以使用指标生成摘要见解,例如,了解整个组织中有多少存储空间,或增长最快的存储桶和前缀是哪些。您还可以使用 S3 Storage Lens 存储统计管理工具指标来识别成本优化机会,实施数据保护和访问管理最佳实践,并提高应用程序工作负载的性能。

例如,您可以识别没有 S3 生命周期规则的存储桶,以中止超过 7 天的未完成分段上传。您还可以识别未遵循数据保护最佳实践(例如使用 S3 复制或 S3 版本控制)的存储桶。有关更多信息,请参阅了解 Amazon S3 Storage Lens

监控 AWS 安全公告

我们建议您经常为您的 AWS 账户检查在 Trusted Advisor 中发布的安全公告。尤其要关注有关具有“开放访问权限”的 Amazon S3 存储桶的警告。您可以使用 describe-trusted-advisor-checks 通过编程方式来实现这一点。

此外,积极地监控向您的每一个 AWS 账户注册的原始电子邮件地址。AWS 将使用该电子邮件地址就可能影响您的紧急安全事件与您联系。

具有广泛影响的 AWS 操作性问题将在 AWS Health Dashboard 服务运行状况上发布。操作性问题也通过 AWS Health Dashboard 发布到各个账户。有关更多信息,请参阅 AWS Health 文档

Security best practices for Amazon S3 - Amazon Simple Storage Service

Security best practices for Amazon S3

Amazon S3 provides a number of security features to consider as you develop and implement your own security policies. The following best practices are general guidelines and don't represent a complete security solution. Because these best practices might not be appropriate or sufficient for your environment, treat them as helpful recommendations rather than prescriptions.

Amazon S3 security best practices

The following best practices for Amazon S3 can help prevent security incidents.

Disable access control lists (ACLs)

S3 Object Ownership is an Amazon S3 bucket-level setting that you can use to control ownership of objects uploaded to your bucket and to disable or enable ACLs. By default, Object Ownership is set to the Bucket owner enforced setting and all ACLs are disabled. When ACLs are disabled, the bucket owner owns all the objects in the bucket and manages access to data exclusively using access management policies.

A majority of modern use cases in Amazon S3 no longer require the use of access control lists (ACLs). We recommend that you disable ACLs, except in unusual circumstances where you must control access for each object individually. To disable ACLs and take ownership of every object in your bucket, apply the bucket owner enforced setting for S3 Object Ownership. When you disable ACLs, you can easily maintain a bucket with objects uploaded by different AWS accounts.

When ACLs are disabled access control for your data is based on policies, such as the following:

  • AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) user policies

  • S3 bucket policies

  • Virtual private cloud (VPC) endpoint policies

  • AWS Organizations service control policies (SCPs)

Disabling ACLs simplifies permissions management and auditing. ACLs are disabled for new buckets by default. You can also disable ACLs for existing buckets. If you have an existing bucket that already has objects in it, after you disable ACLs, the object and bucket ACLs are no longer part of the access-evaluation process. Instead, access is granted or denied on the basis of policies.

Before you disable ACLs, make sure that you do the following:

  • Review your bucket policy to ensure that it covers all the ways that you intend to grant access to your bucket outside of your account.

  • Reset your bucket ACL to the default (full control to the bucket owner).

After you disable ACLs, the following behaviors occur:

  • Your bucket accepts only PUT requests that do not specify an ACL or PUT requests with bucket owner full control ACLs. These ACLs include the bucket-owner-full-control canned ACL or equivalent forms of this ACL that are expressed in XML.

  • Existing applications that support bucket owner full control ACLs see no impact.

  • PUT requests that contain other ACLs (for example, custom grants to certain AWS accounts) fail and return an HTTP status code 400 (Bad Request) with the error code AccessControlListNotSupported.

For more information, see Controlling ownership of objects and disabling ACLs for your bucket.

Ensure that your Amazon S3 buckets use the correct policies and are not publicly accessible

Unless you explicitly require anyone on the internet to be able to read or write to your S3 bucket, make sure that your S3 bucket is not public. The following are some of the steps that you can take to block public access:

  • Use S3 Block Public Access. With S3 Block Public Access, you can easily set up centralized controls to limit public access to your Amazon S3 resources. These centralized controls are enforced regardless of how the resources are created. For more information, see Blocking public access to your Amazon S3 storage.

  • Identify Amazon S3 bucket policies that allow a wildcard identity such as "Principal": "*" (which effectively means "anyone"). Also look for policies that allow a wildcard action "*" (which effectively allows the user to perform any action in the Amazon S3 bucket).

  • Similarly, look for Amazon S3 bucket access control lists (ACLs) that provide read, write, or full-access to "Everyone" or "Any authenticated AWS user."

  • Use the ListBuckets API operation to scan all of your Amazon S3 buckets. Then use GetBucketAcl, GetBucketWebsite, and GetBucketPolicy to determine whether each bucket has compliant access controls and a compliant configuration.

  • Use AWS Trusted Advisor to inspect your Amazon S3 implementation.

  • Consider implementing ongoing detective controls by using the s3-bucket-public-read-prohibited and s3-bucket-public-write-prohibited managed AWS Config Rules.

For more information, see Identity and access management in Amazon S3.

Implement least privilege access

When granting permissions, you decide who is getting what permissions to which Amazon S3 resources. You enable specific actions that you want to allow on those resources. Therefore, we recommend that you grant only the permissions that are required to perform a task. Implementing least privilege access is fundamental in reducing security risk and the impact that could result from errors or malicious intent.

The following tools are available to implement least privilege access:

For guidance on what to consider when choosing one or more of the preceding mechanisms, see Access policy guidelines.

Use IAM roles for applications and AWS services that require Amazon S3 access

In order for applications running on Amazon EC2 or other AWS services to access Amazon S3 resources, they must include valid AWS credentials in their AWS API requests. We recommend not storing AWS credentials directly in the application or Amazon EC2 instance. These are long-term credentials that are not automatically rotated and could have a significant business impact if they are compromised.

Instead, use an IAM role to manage temporary credentials for applications or services that need to access Amazon S3. When you use a role, you don't have to distribute long-term credentials (such as a username and password or access keys) to an Amazon EC2 instance or AWS service, such as AWS Lambda. The role supplies temporary permissions that applications can use when they make calls to other AWS resources.

For more information, see the following topics in the IAM User Guide:

Consider encryption of data at rest

You have the following options for protecting data at rest in Amazon S3:

  • Server-side encryption – When you use server-side encryption, Amazon S3 encrypts your objects before saving them on disks in its data centers and then decrypts the objects when you download them. Server-side encryption can help reduce risk to your data by encrypting the data with a key that is stored in a different mechanism than the mechanism that stores the data itself.

    Amazon S3 provides these server-side encryption options:

    • Server-side encryption with Amazon S3 managed keys (SSE-S3)

    • Server-side encryption with AWS Key Management Service (AWS KMS) keys (SSE-KMS)

    • Server-side encryption with customer-provided keys (SSE-C)

    For more information, see Protecting data using server-side encryption.

  • Client-side encryption – Encrypt data client-side and upload the encrypted data to Amazon S3. In this case, you manage the encryption process, the encryption keys, and related tools. As with server-side encryption, client-side encryption can help reduce risk by encrypting the data with a key that is stored in a different mechanism than the mechanism that stores the data itself.

    Amazon S3 provides multiple client-side encryption options. For more information, see Protecting data by using client-side encryption.

Enforce encryption of data in transit

You can use HTTPS (TLS) to help prevent potential attackers from eavesdropping on or manipulating network traffic by using person-in-the-middle or similar attacks. We recommend allowing only encrypted connections over HTTPS (TLS) by using the aws:SecureTransport condition in your Amazon S3 bucket policies.

Also consider implementing ongoing detective controls by using the s3-bucket-ssl-requests-only managed AWS Config rule.

Consider using S3 Object Lock

With S3 Object Lock, you can store objects by using a "Write Once Read Many" (WORM) model. S3 Object Lock can help prevent accidental or inappropriate deletion of data. For example, you can use S3 Object Lock to help protect your AWS CloudTrail logs.

For more information, see Using S3 Object Lock.

Enable S3 Versioning

S3 Versioning is a means of keeping multiple variants of an object in the same bucket. You can use versioning to preserve, retrieve, and restore every version of every object stored in your bucket. With versioning, you can easily recover from both unintended user actions and application failures.

Also consider implementing ongoing detective controls by using the s3-bucket-versioning-enabled managed AWS Config rule.

For more information, see Using versioning in S3 buckets.

Consider using S3 Cross-Region Replication

Although Amazon S3 stores your data across multiple geographically diverse Availability Zones by default, compliance requirements might dictate that you store data at even greater distances. With S3 Cross-Region Replication (CRR), you can replicate data between distant AWS Regions to help satisfy these requirements. CRR enables automatic, asynchronous copying of objects across buckets in different AWS Regions. For more information, see Replicating objects.

Note

CRR requires both the source and destination S3 buckets to have versioning enabled.

Also consider implementing ongoing detective controls by using the s3-bucket-replication-enabled managed AWS Config rule.

Consider using VPC endpoints for Amazon S3 access

A virtual private cloud (VPC) endpoint for Amazon S3 is a logical entity within a VPC that allows connectivity only to Amazon S3. VPC endpoints can help prevent traffic from traversing the open internet.

VPC endpoints for Amazon S3 provide multiple ways to control access to your Amazon S3 data:

  • You can control the requests, users, or groups that are allowed through a specific VPC endpoint by using S3 bucket policies.

  • You can control which VPCs or VPC endpoints have access to your S3 buckets by using S3 bucket policies.

  • You can help prevent data exfiltration by using a VPC that does not have an internet gateway.

For more information, see Controlling access from VPC endpoints with bucket policies.

Use managed AWS security services to monitor data security

Several managed AWS security services can help you identify, assess, and monitor security and compliance risks for your Amazon S3 data. These services can also help you protect your data from those risks. These services include automated detection, monitoring, and protection capabilities that are designed to scale from Amazon S3 resources for a single AWS account to resources for organizations spanning thousands of accounts.

For more information, see Monitoring data security with managed AWS security services.

Amazon S3 monitoring and auditing best practices

The following best practices for Amazon S3 can help detect potential security weaknesses and incidents.

Identify and audit all of your Amazon S3 buckets

Identification of your IT assets is a crucial aspect of governance and security. You need to have visibility of all your Amazon S3 resources to assess their security posture and take action on potential areas of weakness. To audit your resources, we recommend doing the following:

  • Use Tag Editor to identify and tag security-sensitive or audit-sensitive resources, then use those tags when you need to search for these resources. For more information, see Searching for Resources to Tag in the Tagging AWS Resources User Guide.

  • Use S3 Inventory to audit and report on the replication and encryption status of your objects for business, compliance, and regulatory needs. For more information, see Amazon S3 Inventory.

  • Create resource groups for your Amazon S3 resources. For more information, see What are resource groups? in the AWS Resource Groups User Guide.

Implement monitoring by using AWS monitoring tools

Monitoring is an important part of maintaining the reliability, security, availability, and performance of Amazon S3 and your AWS solutions. AWS provides several tools and services to help you monitor Amazon S3 and your other AWS services. For example, you can monitor Amazon CloudWatch metrics for Amazon S3, particularly the PutRequests, GetRequests, 4xxErrors, and DeleteRequests metrics. For more information, see Monitoring metrics with Amazon CloudWatch and Monitoring Amazon S3.

For a second example, see Example: Amazon S3 Bucket Activity. This example describes how to create a CloudWatch alarm that is triggered when an Amazon S3 API call is made to PUT or DELETE a bucket policy, a bucket lifecycle, or a bucket replication configuration, or to PUT a bucket ACL.

Enable Amazon S3 server access logging

Server access logging provides detailed records of the requests that are made to a bucket. Server access logs can assist you in security and access audits, help you learn about your customer base, and understand your Amazon S3 bill. For instructions on enabling server access logging, see Logging requests using server access logging.

Also consider implementing ongoing detective controls by using the s3-bucket-logging-enabled AWS Config managed rule.

Use AWS CloudTrail

AWS CloudTrail provides a record of actions taken by a user, a role, or an AWS service in Amazon S3. You can use information collected by CloudTrail to determine the following:

  • The request that was made to Amazon S3

  • The IP address from which the request was made

  • Who made the request

  • When the request was made

  • Additional details about the request

For example, you can identify CloudTrail entries for PUT actions that affect data access, in particular PutBucketAcl, PutObjectAcl, PutBucketPolicy, and PutBucketWebsite.

When you set up your AWS account, CloudTrail is enabled by default. You can view recent events in the CloudTrail console. To create an ongoing record of activity and events for your Amazon S3 buckets, you can create a trail in the CloudTrail console. For more information, see Logging data events in the AWS CloudTrail User Guide.

When you create a trail, you can configure CloudTrail to log data events. Data events are records of resource operations performed on or within a resource. In Amazon S3, data events record object-level API activity for individual buckets. CloudTrail supports a subset of Amazon S3 object-level API operations, such as GetObject, DeleteObject, and PutObject. For more information about how CloudTrail works with Amazon S3, see Logging Amazon S3 API calls using AWS CloudTrail. In the Amazon S3 console, you can also configure your S3 buckets to Enabling CloudTrail event logging for S3 buckets and objects.

AWS Config provides a managed rule (cloudtrail-s3-dataevents-enabled) that you can use to confirm that at least one CloudTrail trail is logging data events for your S3 buckets. For more information, see cloudtrail-s3-dataevents-enabled in the AWS Config Developer Guide.

Enable AWS Config

Several of the best practices listed in this topic suggest creating AWS Config rules. AWS Config helps you to assess, audit, and evaluate the configurations of your AWS resources. AWS Config monitors resource configurations so that you can evaluate the recorded configurations against the desired secure configurations. With AWS Config, you can do the following:

  • Review changes in configurations and relationships between AWS resources

  • Investigate detailed resource-configuration histories

  • Determine your overall compliance against the configurations specified in your internal guidelines

Using AWS Config can help you simplify compliance auditing, security analysis, change management, and operational troubleshooting. For more information, see Setting Up AWS Config with the Console in the AWS Config Developer Guide. When specifying the resource types to record, ensure that you include Amazon S3 resources.

For an example of how to use AWS Config, see How to Use AWS Config to Monitor for and Respond to Amazon S3 Buckets Allowing Public Access on the AWS Security Blog.

Discover sensitive data by using Amazon Macie

Amazon Macie is a security service that discovers sensitive data by using machine learning and pattern matching. Macie provides visibility into data security risks, and enables automated protection against those risks. With Macie, you can automate the discovery and reporting of sensitive data in your Amazon S3 data estate to gain a better understanding of the data that your organization stores in Amazon S3.

To detect sensitive data with Macie, you can use built-in criteria and techniques that are designed to detect a large and growing list of sensitive data types for many countries and regions. These sensitive data types include multiple types of personally identifiable information (PII), financial data, and credentials data. You can also use custom criteria that you define—regular expressions that define text patterns to match and, optionally, character sequences and proximity rules that refine the results.

If Macie detects sensitive data in an S3 object, Macie generates a security finding to notify you. This finding provides information about the affected object, the types and number of occurrences of the sensitive data that Macie found, and additional details to help you investigate the affected S3 bucket and object. For more information, see the Amazon Macie User Guide.

Use S3 Storage Lens

S3 Storage Lens is a cloud-storage analytics feature that you can use to gain organization-wide visibility into object-storage usage and activity. S3 Storage Lens also analyzes metrics to deliver contextual recommendations that you can use to optimize storage costs and apply best practices for protecting your data.

With S3 Storage Lens, you can use metrics to generate summary insights, such as finding out how much storage you have across your entire organization or which are the fastest-growing buckets and prefixes. You can also use S3 Storage Lens metrics to identify cost-optimization opportunities, implement data-protection and access-management best practices, and improve the performance of application workloads.

For example, you can identify buckets that don't have S3 Lifecycle rules to abort incomplete multipart uploads that are more than 7 days old. You can also identify buckets that aren't following data-protection best practices, such as using S3 Replication or S3 Versioning. For more information, see Understanding Amazon S3 Storage Lens.

Monitor AWS security advisories

We recommend that you regularly check the security advisories posted in Trusted Advisor for your AWS account. In particular, look for warnings about Amazon S3 buckets with "open access permissions." You can do this programmatically by using describe-trusted-advisor-checks.

Further, actively monitor the primary email address that's registered to each of your AWS accounts. AWS uses this email address to contact you about emerging security issues that might affect you.

AWS operational issues with broad impact are posted on the AWS Health Dashboard - Service health. Operational issues are also posted to individual accounts through the AWS Health Dashboard. For more information, see the AWS Health documentation.