使用 Amazon S3 存储桶 - Amazon Simple Storage Service

使用 Amazon S3 存储桶

要向 Amazon S3 上传数据(照片、视频、文档等),您必须首先在其中一个 AWS 区域中创建 S3 存储桶。然后,您可以将任何数量的对象上传到该存储桶。

对于实施,存储桶和对象是资源,而 Amazon S3提供 API 供您管理资源。例如,您可以使用 Amazon S3 API 创建存储桶并上传对象。您还可以使用 Amazon S3 控制台执行这些操作。该控制台使用 Amazon S3 API 向 Amazon S3 发送请求。

本节介绍如何使用存储桶。有关使用对象的信息,请参阅使用 Amazon S3 对象

Amazon S3 存储桶名称是全局唯一的,并且命名空间由所有 AWS 账户共享。这意味着,在创建存储桶之后,任何 AWS 区域中的其他 AWS 账户均不能使用该存储桶的名称,直至删除该存储桶。不应依赖特定的存储桶命名约定来实现可用性或安全验证。有关存储桶命名准则,请参阅存储桶限制

Amazon S3 可在指定的区域中创建存储桶。为优化延迟、最大限度地降低成本或满足法规要求,请选择地理上靠近您的任何 AWS 区域。例如,如果您位于欧洲,您可能会发现在欧洲(爱尔兰)或欧洲(法兰克福)区域创建存储桶十分有利。有关 Amazon S3 区域的列表,请参阅 AWS 一般参考 中的区域和终端节点

注意

属于您在特定 AWS 区域中创建的存储桶的对象永远不会离开该区域,除非您明确将其传输到另一个区域。例如,欧洲(爱尔兰) 区域中存储的对象永远不会离开该区域。

创建存储桶

Amazon S3 提供 API 以创建和管理存储桶。默认情况下,您可以在每个 AWS 账户中创建多达 100 个存储桶。如果您需要更多存储桶,则可以通过提交服务限制提高请求将账户的存储桶限制提高至最多 1,000 个存储桶。要了解如何提交存储桶限额提升,请参阅 AWS 一般参考 中的 AWS 服务限制。一个存储桶中可以存储任意数量的对象。

创建存储桶时,您提供名称以及要在其中创建存储桶的 AWS 区域。有关如何命名存储桶的信息,请参阅存储桶命名规则

您可以使用下面列出的任何方法来创建存储桶。有关示例,请参阅 创建存储桶的示例

Amazon S3 控制台

您可以在 Amazon S3 控制台中创建存储桶。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Simple Storage Service 控制台用户指南 中的创建存储桶

REST API

使用 REST API 创建存储桶可能会比较繁琐,因为这需要您编写代码对请求进行身份验证。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Simple Storage Service API Reference 中的 PUT Bucket。建议您改用 AWS 管理控制台或 AWS 开发工具包。

AWS 开发工具包

使用 AWS 开发工具包创建存储桶时,您应先创建一个客户端,然后使用该客户端发送创建存储桶的请求。如果您在创建客户端或存储桶时未指定区域,Amazon S3 将使用默认区域美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)。您还可以指定特定区域。有关可用 AWS 区域的列表,请参阅 AWS General Reference 中的区域和终端节点。有关启用或禁用 AWS 区域的更多信息,请参阅 AWS General Reference 中的管理 AWS 区域

传统全局终端节点

作为最佳做法,您应在同一区域中创建客户端和存储桶。但是,如果您在美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)区域中创建客户端(默认或特意),则 Amazon S3 可以使用传统全局终端节点与客户端进行通信:

s3.amazonaws.com

因此,您可以使用美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)中的客户端在 2019 年 3 月 20 日之前启动的任何区域中创建存储桶。但是,如果您要在其中创建存储桶的区域是在 2019 年 3 月 20 日之后启动的,则您的客户端和存储桶必须位于同一个区域。有关更多信息,请参阅传统终端节点

创建客户端

创建客户端时,您可以指定要在其中创建客户端的 AWS 区域。如果您未指定区域,Amazon S3 将在美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)默认区域中创建存储桶。要创建客户端来访问双堆栈终端节点,则必须指定 AWS 区域。有关更多信息,请参阅双堆栈终端节点

创建客户端时,区域映射到特定于区域的终端节点。客户端使用此终端节点与 Amazon S3 进行通信:

s3.<region>.amazonaws.com

例如,如果您通过指定 eu-west-1 区域创建客户端,则它将映射到以下特定于区域的终端节点:

s3.eu-west-1.amazonaws.com

创建存储桶

如果您在创建存储桶时未指定区域,则 Amazon S3 在美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)区域中创建存储桶。因此,如果您需要在特定区域中创建存储桶,必须在创建存储桶时指定区域。

在 2020 年 9 月 30 日之后创建的存储桶将仅支持虚拟托管式请求。在此日期或之前创建的存储桶将继续支持路径式请求。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon S3 路径弃用计划 - 案例的其余部分

关于权限

您可以使用 AWS 账户根凭证创建存储桶并执行其他 Amazon S3 操作。但是,AWS 建议不要使用 AWS 账户的根凭证发出请求 (如创建存储桶)。而是创建一个 IAM 用户,并向该用户授予完全访问权限 (用户在默认情况下没有任何权限)。我们将这些用户称为管理员用户。您可以使用管理员用户凭证而不是您账户的根凭证来与 AWS 交互和执行任务,例如创建存储桶,创建用户和授予他们权限。

有关更多信息,请参阅根账户凭证与IAM 用户凭证(在 AWS 一般参考 中)和 IAM 最佳实践(在 IAM 用户指南 中)。

创建资源的 AWS 账户拥有该资源。例如,如果您在您的 AWS 账户中创建一个 IAM 用户并向该用户授予创建存储桶的权限,则该用户可以创建存储桶。但是用户不拥有存储桶;用户所属的 AWS 账户拥有存储桶。用户需要资源拥有者提供其他权限来执行任何其他存储桶操作。有关为您的 Amazon S3 资源管理权限的更多信息,请参阅Amazon S3 中的 Identity and Access Management

管理对存储桶的公有访问

通过访问控制列表 (ACL) 和/或存储桶策略向存储桶和对象授予公有访问权限。为了帮助您管理对 Amazon S3 资源的公有访问,Amazon S3 提供阻止公有访问设置。Amazon S3 阻止公有访问设置可以覆盖 ACL 和存储桶策略,以便您可以对这些资源的公有访问实施统一限制。您可以将阻止公有访问设置应用于您的账户中的单个存储桶或所有存储桶。

为了帮助确保您的所有 Amazon S3 存储桶和对象阻止了公有访问,我们建议为您的账户启用阻止公有访问的所有四个设置。这些设置阻止所有当前和将来的存储桶的公有访问。

在应用这些设置之前,请确认您的应用程序在没有公有访问的情况下能够正常工作。如果您需要对存储桶或对象进行某种级别的公有访问,例如,按照在 Amazon S3 上托管静态网站中所述托管静态网站,则可以自定义各个设置以符合您的存储使用案例要求。有关更多信息,请参阅使用 Amazon S3 阻止公有访问

访问存储桶

可以使用 Amazon S3 控制台访问存储桶。可以使用控制台 UI 执行几乎所有存储桶操作,而不必编写任何代码。

如果您以编程方式访问存储桶,请注意 Amazon S3 支持 RESTful 架构,在该架构中,存储桶和对象是资源,各自具有唯一标识资源的资源 URI。

Amazon S3 支持虚拟托管类型和路径类型 URL 访问存储桶。由于可以使用路径样式和虚拟托管样式的 URL 访问存储桶,因此,建议您使用符合 DNS 标准的存储桶名称创建存储桶。有关更多信息,请参阅存储桶限制

注意

虚拟托管样式和路径样式请求使用 S3 点区域终端节点结构 (s3.Region),例如 https://my-bucket.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com。但是,一些较旧的 Amazon S3 区域也支持 S3 短划线区域终端节点 s3-Region,例如,https://my-bucket.s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com。如果您的存储桶位于这些区域之一,您可能会在服务器访问日志或 CloudTrail 日志中看到 s3-Region 终端节点:我们建议您不要在请求中使用此终端节点结构。

虚拟托管类型访问

在虚拟托管类型请求中,存储桶名称是 URL 中域名的一部分。

Amazon S3 虚拟托管样式 URL 遵循如下所示格式。

https://bucket-name.s3.Region.amazonaws.com/key name

在此示例中,my-bucket 为存储桶名称,美国西部(俄勒冈)为区域,puppy.png 为密钥名称:

https://my-bucket.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/puppy.png

有关虚拟托管类型访问的更多信息,请参阅虚拟托管类型请求

路径类型访问

在 Amazon S3 中,路径样式 URL 遵循如下所示格式。

https://s3.Region.amazonaws.com/bucket-name/key name

例如,如果您在 美国西部(俄勒冈) 区域中创建一个名为 mybucket 的存储桶,并希望访问该存储桶中的 puppy.jpg 对象,则可使用以下路径样式 URL:

https://s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/mybucket/puppy.jpg

有关更多信息,请参阅 路径类型请求

重要

在 2020 年 9 月 30 日之后创建的存储桶将仅支持虚拟托管式请求。在此日期或之前创建的存储桶将继续支持路径式请求。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon S3 路径弃用计划 - 案例的其余部分

通过 IPv6 访问 S3 存储桶

Amazon S3 有一组双堆栈终端节点,它们支持通过 Internet 协议版本 6 (IPv6) 和 IPv4 向 S3 存储桶发出请求。有关更多信息,请参阅 通过 IPv6 发出请求

通过 S3 访问点访问存储桶

除了直接访问存储桶之外,您还可以通过 S3 访问点访问存储桶。有关 S3 访问点的更多信息,请参阅使用 Amazon S3 访问点管理数据访问

S3 访问点仅支持虚拟主机式寻址。要通过访问点对存储桶进行寻址,请使用以下格式:

https://AccessPointName-AccountId.s3-accesspoint.region.amazonaws.com.
注意
  • 如果您的访问点名称包含破折号 (-) 字符,请在 URL 中包含破折号,然后在账户 ID 之前插入另一个破折号。例如,要在区域 us-west-2 中使用由账户 123456789012 拥有的名为 finance-docs 访问点 ,则相应的 URL 为 https://finance-docs-123456789012.s3-accesspoint.us-west-2.amazonaws.com

  • S3 访问点不支持通过 HTTP 进行访问,只支持通过 HTTPS 进行安全访问。

使用 S3:// 访问存储桶

某些 AWS 服务需要使用 S3://bucket 指定 Amazon S3 存储桶。正确的格式如下所示。请注意,使用此格式时,存储桶名称不包含区域。

S3://bucket-name/key-name

例如,使用前面的路径样式部分中描述的示例存储桶:

S3://mybucket/puppy.jpg

存储桶配置选项

Amazon S3 支持各种供您用于配置存储桶的选项。例如,您可以配置存储桶用于网站托管、添加配置以管理存储桶中对象的生命周期,以及配置存储桶以记录对存储桶的所有访问。Amazon S3 支持供您存储和管理存储桶配置信息的子资源。您可以使用 Amazon S3 API 创建和管理这些子资源。但是,还可以使用控制台或 AWS AWS 开发工具包。

注意

还有对象级配置。例如,可以通过特定于该对象的配置访问控制列表 (ACL) 来配置对象级权限。

这些称为子资源,因为它们存在于特定存储桶或对象的上下文中。下表列出使您可以管理特定于存储桶的配置的子资源。

子资源 描述

cors(跨源资源共享)

您可以配置存储桶以便允许跨源请求。

有关更多信息,请参阅启用跨源资源共享

事件通知

您可以使存储桶向您发送特定存储桶事件的通知。

有关更多信息,请参阅 配置 Amazon S3 事件通知

生命周期

您可以为存储桶中明确定义了生命周期的对象定义生命周期规则。例如,您可以定义一个规则以在创建一年之后存档对象,或在创建 10 年之后删除对象。

有关更多信息,请参阅对象生命周期管理

位置

创建存储桶时,请指定需要 Amazon S3 在其中创建存储桶的 AWS 区域。Amazon S3 将此信息存储在位置子资源中并提供 API 用于检索此信息。

日志记录

日志记录使您可以跟踪针对存储桶的访问请求。每个访问日志记录都提供有关单个访问请求的详细信息,如请求者、存储桶名称、请求时间、请求操作、响应状态和错误代码 (如果有)。访问日志信息可能在安全和访问审核方面十分有用。它还可以帮助您了解您的客户群并了解您的 Amazon S3 账单。 

有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon S3 服务器访问日志记录

对象锁定

要使用 S3 对象锁定,您必须为存储桶启用它。您还可以选择配置将应用于存储桶中放置的新对象的默认保留模式和保留期限。

有关更多信息,请参阅 存储桶配置

策略ACL(访问控制列表)

所有资源(如存储桶和对象)在默认情况下均为私有。Amazon S3 支持存储桶策略和访问控制列表 (ACL) 选项,供您用于授予和管理存储桶级权限。Amazon S3 将权限信息存储在策略acl 子资源中。

有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon S3 中的 Identity and Access Management

复制

复制是在相同或跨不同 AWS 区域中的存储桶自动、异步地复制对象。有关更多信息,请参阅复制

requestPayment

默认情况下,创建存储桶的 AWS 账户 (存储桶拥有者) 支付从存储桶进行的下载。存储桶拥有者可以使用此子资源指定对请求下载的人员收取下载费用。Amazon S3 提供了一个 API,用于管理此子资源。

有关更多信息,请参阅 申请方付款存储桶

标记

您可以向存储桶添加成本分配标签以便对 AWS 成本进行分类和跟踪。Amazon S3 提供标记 子资源以对存储桶上的标签进行存储和管理。通过使用应用于您存储桶的标签,AWS 可生成成本分配报告,其中按标签汇总了使用和成本。

有关更多信息,请参阅 S3 存储桶的账单和使用率报告

传输加速

Transfer Acceleration 可在客户端与 S3 存储桶之间实现快速、轻松、安全的远距离文件传输。Transfer Acceleration 利用 Amazon CloudFront 的全球分布式边缘站点。

有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon S3 Transfer Acceleration

版本控制

版本控制可帮助恢复意外覆盖和删除。

我们建议将版本控制作为从错误删除或覆盖恢复对象的最佳实践。

有关更多信息,请参阅 使用版本控制

网站

您可以配置存储桶以便用于静态网站托管。Amazon S3 通过创建网站 子资源来存储此配置。

有关更多信息,请参阅在 Amazon S3 上托管静态网站

Amazon Simple Storage Service
Developer Guide (API Version 2006-03-01)

The AWS Documentation website is getting a new look!
Try it now and let us know what you think. Switch to the new look >>

You can return to the original look by selecting English in the language selector above.

Working with Amazon S3 Buckets

To upload your data (photos, videos, documents etc.) to Amazon S3, you must first create an S3 bucket in one of the AWS Regions. You can then upload any number of objects to the bucket.

In terms of implementation, buckets and objects are resources, and Amazon S3 provides APIs for you to manage them. For example, you can create a bucket and upload objects using the Amazon S3 API. You can also use the Amazon S3 console to perform these operations. The console uses the Amazon S3 APIs to send requests to Amazon S3.

This section explains how to work with buckets. For information about working with objects, see Working with Amazon S3 Objects.

An Amazon S3 bucket name is globally unique, and the namespace is shared by all AWS accounts. This means that after a bucket is created, the name of that bucket cannot be used by another AWS account in any AWS Region until the bucket is deleted. You should not depend on specific bucket naming conventions for availability or security verification purposes. For bucket naming guidelines, see Bucket Restrictions and Limitations.

Amazon S3 creates buckets in a Region you specify. To optimize latency, minimize costs, or address regulatory requirements, choose any AWS Region that is geographically close to you. For example, if you reside in Europe, you might find it advantageous to create buckets in the EU (Ireland) or EU (Frankfurt) Regions. For a list of Amazon S3 Regions, see Regions and Endpoints in the AWS General Reference.

Note

Objects that belong to a bucket that you create in a specific AWS Region never leave that Region, unless you explicitly transfer them to another Region. For example, objects that are stored in the EU (Ireland) Region never leave it.

Creating a Bucket

Amazon S3 provides APIs for creating and managing buckets. By default, you can create up to 100 buckets in each of your AWS accounts. If you need more buckets, you can increase your account bucket limit to a maximum of 1,000 buckets by submitting a service limit increase. To learn how to submit a bucket limit increase, see AWS Service Limits in the AWS General Reference.

When you create a bucket, you provide a name and the AWS Region where you want to create the bucket. For information about naming buckets, see Rules for Bucket Naming.

You can store any number of objects in a bucket.

You can create a bucket using any of the following methods:

  • Using the console

  • Programmatically, using the AWS SDKs

    Note

    If you need to, you can also make the Amazon S3 REST API calls directly from your code. However, this can be cumbersome because it requires you to write code to authenticate your requests. For more information, see PUT Bucket in the Amazon Simple Storage Service API Reference.

    When using the AWS SDKs, you first create a client and then use the client to send a request to create a bucket.  When you create the client, you can specify an AWS Region. US East (N. Virginia) is the default Region. Note the following:

    • If you create a client by specifying the US East (N. Virginia) Region, the client uses the following endpoint to communicate with Amazon S3:

      s3.amazonaws.com

      Note

      • You can use this client to create a bucket in any AWS Region that was launched until March 20, 2019. To create a bucket in Regions that were launched after March 20, 2019, you must create a client specific to the Region in which you want to create the bucket. For more information about enabling or disabling an AWS Region, see AWS Regions and Endpoints in the AWS General Reference.

      • Buckets created after September 30, 2020, will support only virtual hosted-style requests. Path-style requests will continue to be supported for buckets created on or before this date. For more information, see Amazon S3 Path Deprecation Plan – The Rest of the Story.

      In your create bucket request:

      • If you don’t specify a Region, Amazon S3 creates the bucket in the US East (N. Virginia) Region.

      • If you specify an AWS Region, Amazon S3 creates the bucket in the specified Region.

    • If you create a client by specifying any other AWS Region, each of these Regions maps to the Region-specific endpoint:

      s3.<region>.amazonaws.com

      For example, if you create a client by specifying the eu-west-1 Region, it maps to the following Region-specific endpoint:

      s3.eu-west-1.amazonaws.com

      In this case, you can use the client to create a bucket only in the eu-west-1 Region. Amazon S3 returns an error if you specify any other Region in your request to create a bucket.

    • If you create a client to access a dual-stack endpoint, you must specify an AWS Region. For more information, see Dual-Stack Endpoints.

    For a list of available AWS Regions, see Regions and Endpoints in the AWS General Reference.

For examples, see Examples of Creating a Bucket.

About Permissions

You can use your AWS account root credentials to create a bucket and perform any other Amazon S3 operation. However, AWS recommends not using the root credentials of your AWS account to make requests such as to create a bucket. Instead, create an IAM user, and grant that user full access (users by default have no permissions). We refer to these users as administrator users. You can use the administrator user credentials, instead of the root credentials of your account, to interact with AWS and perform tasks, such as create a bucket, create users, and grant them permissions.

For more information, see Root Account Credentials vs. IAM User Credentials in the AWS General Reference and IAM Best Practices in the IAM User Guide.

The AWS account that creates a resource owns that resource. For example, if you create an IAM user in your AWS account and grant the user permission to create a bucket, the user can create a bucket. But the user does not own the bucket; the AWS account to which the user belongs owns the bucket. The user will need additional permission from the resource owner to perform any other bucket operations. For more information about managing permissions for your Amazon S3 resources, see Identity and Access Management in Amazon S3.

Managing Public Access to Buckets

Public access is granted to buckets and objects through access control lists (ACLs), bucket policies, or both. To help you manage public access to Amazon S3 resources, Amazon S3 provides block public access settings. Amazon S3 block public access settings can override ACLs and bucket policies so that you can enforce uniform limits on public access to these resources. You can apply block public access settings to individual buckets or to all buckets in your account.

To help ensure that all of your Amazon S3 buckets and objects have their public access blocked, we recommend that you turn on all four settings for block public access for your account. These settings block public access for all current and future buckets.

Before applying these settings, verify that your applications will work correctly without public access. If you require some level of public access to your buckets or objects, for example to host a static website as described at Hosting a Static Website on Amazon S3, you can customize the individual settings to suit your storage use cases. For more information, see Using Amazon S3 Block Public Access.

Accessing a Bucket

You can access your bucket using the Amazon S3 console. Using the console UI, you can perform almost all bucket operations without having to write any code.

If you access a bucket programmatically, note that Amazon S3 supports RESTful architecture in which your buckets and objects are resources, each with a resource URI that uniquely identifies the resource.

Amazon S3 supports both virtual-hosted–style and path-style URLs to access a bucket.

  • In a virtual-hosted–style URL, the bucket name is part of the domain name in the URL. For example:  

    • http://bucket.s3-aws-region.amazonaws.com

    • http://bucket.s3.amazonaws.com

      Note

      Buckets created in Regions launched after March 20, 2019 are not reachable via the https://bucket.s3.amazonaws.com naming scheme.

    In a virtual-hosted–style URL, you can use either of these endpoints. If you make a request to the http://bucket.s3.amazonaws.com endpoint, the DNS has sufficient information to route your request directly to the Region where your bucket resides.

    For more information, see Virtual Hosting of Buckets.

     

  • In a path-style URL, the bucket name is not part of the domain. For example:

    • Region-specific endpoint, http://s3.aws-region.amazonaws.com/bucket

    • US East (N. Virginia) Region endpoint, http://s3.amazonaws.com/bucket

    In a path-style URL, the endpoint you use must match the Region in which the bucket resides. For example, if your bucket is in the South America (São Paulo) Region, you must use the http://s3.sa-east-1.amazonaws.com/bucket endpoint. If your bucket is in the US East (N. Virginia) Region, you must use the http://s3.amazonaws.com/bucket endpoint.

Important

Because buckets can be accessed using path-style and virtual-hosted–style URLs, we recommend that you create buckets with DNS-compliant bucket names. For more information, see Bucket Restrictions and Limitations.

Accessing an S3 Bucket over IPv6

Amazon S3 has a set of dual-stack endpoints, which support requests to S3 buckets over both Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) and IPv4. For more information, see Making Requests over IPv6.

Bucket Configuration Options

Amazon S3 supports various options for you to configure your bucket. For example, you can configure your bucket for website hosting, add configuration to manage lifecycle of objects in the bucket, and configure the bucket to log all access to the bucket. Amazon S3 supports subresources for you to store, and manage the bucket configuration information. That is, using the Amazon S3 API, you can create and manage these subresources. You can also use the console or the AWS SDKs.

Note

There are also object-level configurations. For example, you can configure object-level permissions by configuring an access control list (ACL) specific to that object.

These are referred to as subresources because they exist in the context of a specific bucket or object. The following table lists subresources that enable you to manage bucket-specific configurations.

Subresource Description

cors (cross-origin resource sharing)

You can configure your bucket to allow cross-origin requests.

For more information, see Enabling Cross-Origin Resource Sharing.

event notification

You can enable your bucket to send you notifications of specified bucket events.

For more information, see Configuring Amazon S3 Event Notifications.

lifecycle

You can define lifecycle rules for objects in your bucket that have a well-defined lifecycle. For example, you can define a rule to archive objects one year after creation, or delete an object 10 years after creation.

For more information, see Object Lifecycle Management.

location

When you create a bucket, you specify the AWS Region where you want Amazon S3 to create the bucket. Amazon S3 stores this information in the location subresource and provides an API for you to retrieve this information.

logging

Logging enables you to track requests for access to your bucket. Each access log record provides details about a single access request, such as the requester, bucket name, request time, request action, response status, and error code, if any. Access log information can be useful in security and access audits. It can also help you learn about your customer base and understand your Amazon S3 bill.  

For more information, see Amazon S3 Server Access Logging.

object locking

To use Amazon S3 object lock, you must enable it for a bucket. You can also optionally configure a default retention mode and period that applies to new objects that are placed in the bucket.

For more information, see Bucket Configuration.

policy and ACL (access control list)

All your resources (such as buckets and objects) are private by default. Amazon S3 supports both bucket policy and access control list (ACL) options for you to grant and manage bucket-level permissions. Amazon S3 stores the permission information in the policy and acl subresources.

For more information, see Identity and Access Management in Amazon S3.

replication

Replication is the automatic, asynchronous copying of objects across buckets in different or the same AWS Regions. For more information, see Replication.

requestPayment

By default, the AWS account that creates the bucket (the bucket owner) pays for downloads from the bucket. Using this subresource, the bucket owner can specify that the person requesting the download will be charged for the download. Amazon S3 provides an API for you to manage this subresource.

For more information, see Requester Pays Buckets.

tagging

You can add cost allocation tags to your bucket to categorize and track your AWS costs. Amazon S3 provides the tagging subresource to store and manage tags on a bucket. Using tags you apply to your bucket, AWS generates a cost allocation report with usage and costs aggregated by your tags.

For more information, see Billing and Usage Reporting for S3 Buckets.

transfer acceleration

Transfer Acceleration enables fast, easy, and secure transfers of files over long distances between your client and an S3 bucket. Transfer Acceleration takes advantage of Amazon CloudFront’s globally distributed edge locations.

For more information, see Amazon S3 Transfer Acceleration.

versioning

Versioning helps you recover accidental overwrites and deletes.

We recommend versioning as a best practice to recover objects from being deleted or overwritten by mistake.

For more information, see Using Versioning.

website

You can configure your bucket for static website hosting. Amazon S3 stores this configuration by creating a website subresource.

For more information, see Hosting a Static Website on Amazon S3.