使用 DynamoDB 处理中的错误 - Amazon DynamoDB

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

使用 DynamoDB 处理中的错误

本节描述运行时错误,以及如何处理它们。它还描述特定于 Amazon DynamoDB 的错误消息和代码。

错误组件

当程序发送一个请求时,DynamoDB 会尝试处理该请求。如果该请求成功,DynamoDB 将返回一个 HTTP 成功状态代码 (200 OK) 以及来自所请求操作的结果。

如果该请求不成功,DynamoDB 将返回一个错误。每个错误包含三个部分:

  • HTTP 状态代码 (例如 400)。

  • 异常名称 (例如 ResourceNotFoundException)。

  • 错误消息 (例如 Requested resource not found: Table: tablename not found)。

这些区域有:AWS开发工具包负责将错误传播到应用程序,以便您能执行适当操作。例如,在 Java 程序中,您可以编写 try-catch 逻辑以处理 ResourceNotFoundException

如果您没有使用AWS开发工具包中,您需要分析来自 DynamoDB 的低级响应的内容。以下是此类响应的示例。

HTTP/1.1 400 Bad Request x-amzn-RequestId: LDM6CJP8RMQ1FHKSC1RBVJFPNVV4KQNSO5AEMF66Q9ASUAAJG Content-Type: application/x-amz-json-1.0 Content-Length: 240 Date: Thu, 15 Mar 2012 23:56:23 GMT {"__type":"com.amazonaws.dynamodb.v20120810#ResourceNotFoundException", "message":"Requested resource not found: Table: tablename not found"}

错误消息和代码

以下是 DynamoDB 返回的异常的列表(按 HTTP 状态代码分组)。如果 OK to retry?Yes,则可重新提交相同的请求。如果 OK to retry? (可以重试?)No (否),则您需要先解决客户端上的问题,然后再提交新请求。

HTTP 状态代码 400

HTTP 400 状态代码表示与请求相关的问题,例如身份验证失败、缺少必需的参数或者超出预置的表吞吐量。您必须先解决应用程序中存在的问题,然后再重新提交请求。

AccessDeniedException

消息:访问遭拒绝。

客户端未正确为请求签名。如果使用的是AWSSDK,请求将自动为您签名;否则,请转到签名版本 4 签名流程中的AWS一般参考

OK to retry? 否

ConditionalCheckFailedException

消息:有条件请求失败。

您指定了评估为 false 的条件。例如,您可能已尝试对某个项执行有条件更新,但属性的实际值与条件中的预期值不匹配。

OK to retry? 否

IncompleteSignatureException

消息:请求签名不符合AWS标准。

请求签名未包含所有必需的组件。如果使用的是AWSSDK,请求将自动为您签名;否则,请转到签名版本 4 签名流程中的AWS一般参考

OK to retry? 否

ItemCollectionSizeLimitExceededException

消息:超过集合大小。

对于包含本地二级索引的表,具有相同分区键值的项目组超过了最大大小限制(10 GB)。有关项目集的更多信息,请参阅 项目集合

OK to retry? 是

LimitExceededException

消息:指定订阅者的操作过多。

并发控制层面操作过多。表和索引的累计数量CREATINGDELETING,或者UPDATING状态不能超过 50。

OK to retry? 是

MissingAuthenticationTokenException

消息:请求必须包含有效 (已注册)AWS访问密钥 ID。

请求未包含所需的授权标头,或请求的格式不正确。请参阅 DynamoDB 低级 API

OK to retry? 否

ProvisionedThroughputExceededException

消息:已超过表或一个或更多全局二级索引的最大允许预置吞吐量。要查看预置吞吐量与占用吞吐量的性能指标,请打开Amazon CloudWatch 控制台

示例:您的请求速率过高。这些区域有:AWS适用于 DynamoDB 的开发工具包会自动对收到此异常的请求执行重试。除非您的重试队列太长以致无法完成,您的请求最终都会成功。请使用错误重试和指数退避降低请求频率,

OK to retry? 是

RequestLimitExceeded

消息:吞吐量超出您的账户的当前吞吐量限制。要请求提高限制,请联系AWS在中 Supporthttps://aws.amazon.com/support

示例:按需请求的速率超出允许的帐户吞吐量。

OK to retry? 是

ResourceInUseException

消息:您尝试更改的资源正在使用中。

示例:您尝试重新创建现有表,或删除目前位于CREATING状态。

OK to retry? 否

ResourceNotFoundException

消息:找不到请求的资源。

示例:正在请求的表不存在,或过早在CREATING状态。

OK to retry? 否

ThrottlingException

消息:请求速率超出吞吐量上限。

此异常将作为 AmazonServiceException 响应返回,并带有 THROTTLING_EXCEPTION 状态代码。如果您过快地执行控制层面 API 操作,则可能会返回此异常。

对于使用按需模式的表,如果请求速率过高,则可能会针对任何数据层面 API 操作返回此异常。要了解有关按需扩展的更多信息,请参阅峰值流量和扩展属性

OK to retry? 是

UnrecognizedClientException

消息:访问密钥 ID 或安全令牌无效。

请求签名不正确。最有可能的原因是AWS访问密钥 ID 或私有密钥。

OK to retry? 是

ValidationException

消息:根据遇到的特定错误而变化

有多种原因可能导致此错误,例如缺少必需参数,值超出范围,或者数据类型不匹配。错误消息包含有关导致错误的请求特定部分的详细信息。

OK to retry? 否

HTTP 状态代码 5xx

HTTP 5xx 状态代码表示必须由 AWS 解决的问题。这可能是临时错误,在这种情况下,您可以重试请求直到它成功。否则,请转到AWS服务运行状况控制面板以查看服务是否存在任何操作问题。

Internal Server Error (HTTP 500)

DynamoDB 无法处理您的请求。

OK to retry? 是

注意

您在处理项目时可能遇到内部服务器错误。这些错误是表的生命周期中的预期错误。可立即重试所有失败的请求。

Service Unavailable (HTTP 503)

DynamoDB 当前不可用。(这应是一种临时状态。)

OK to retry? 是

应用程序中的错误处理

为了让应用程序平稳运行,您需要添加逻辑以抓取和响应错误。典型的方法包括使用 try-catch 块或 if-then 语句。

这些区域有:AWS开发工具包自己也会重试和检查错误。如果您在使用某个AWS开发工具包、错误代码和错误描述可帮助您纠正错误。

您还应该会在响应中看到 Request ID。这些区域有:Request ID可能会很有用,如果您需要使用AWSSupport 诊断问题。

以下 Java 代码示例尝试从 DynamoDB 表中获取项目并执行基本错误处理。(在此情况下,它仅向用户告知请求失败。)

Table table = dynamoDB.getTable("Movies"); try { Item item = table.getItem("year", 1978, "title", "Superman"); if (item != null) { System.out.println("Result: " + item); } else { //No such item exists in the table System.out.println("Item not found"); } } catch (AmazonServiceException ase) { System.err.println("Could not complete operation"); System.err.println("Error Message: " + ase.getMessage()); System.err.println("HTTP Status: " + ase.getStatusCode()); System.err.println("AWS Error Code: " + ase.getErrorCode()); System.err.println("Error Type: " + ase.getErrorType()); System.err.println("Request ID: " + ase.getRequestId()); } catch (AmazonClientException ace) { System.err.println("Internal error occurred communicating with DynamoDB"); System.out.println("Error Message: " + ace.getMessage()); }

在此代码示例中,try-catch 结构处理两种不同的异常:

  • AmazonServiceException-如果客户端请求正确地传输到 DynamoDB,但 DynamoDB 无法处理请求,而是返回错误响应,引发。

  • AmazonClientException-如果客户端无法从服务获得响应或者客户端无法解析来自服务的响应,引发。

错误重试和指数退避

网络上的大量组件(例如 DNS 服务器、交换机、负载均衡器等)都可能在某个指定请求生命周期中的任一环节出现问题。在联网环境中,处理这些错误回应的常规技术是在客户应用程序中实施重试。此方法提高应用程序的可靠性。

EACHAWS开发工具包将自动实施重试逻辑。您可以修改重试参数以满足您的需求。例如,考虑一个需要 fail-fast 策略的 Java 应用程序,并且在出错时不允许重试。利用AWS SDK for Java,您可以使用 ClientConfiguration 类并提供 maxErrorRetry0 来禁用重试。有关更多信息,请参阅 。AWS适用于您的编程语言的开发工具包文档。

如果您没有使用AWS开发工具包,则应当对收到服务器错误 (5xx) 的原始请求执行重试。但是,客户端错误(4xx,不是 ThrottlingExceptionProvisionedThroughputExceededException)表示您需要对请求本身进行修改,先修正了错误然后再重试。

除了简单的重试之外,每个AWS开发工具包实施指数退避算法来实现更好的流程控制。指数回退的原理是对于连续错误响应,重试等待间隔越来越长。例如,第一次重试最多等待 50 毫秒,第二次重试最多等待 100 毫秒,第三次重试最多等待 200 毫秒,依此类推。但是,如果过段时间后,请求仍然失败,则出错的原因可能是因为请求大小超出预置吞吐量,而不是请求速率的问题。您可以设置最大重试次数,在大约一分钟的时候停止重试。如果请求失败,请检查您的预置吞吐量选项。

注意

这些区域有:AWS开发工具包实施自动重试逻辑和指数退避。

大多数指数回退算法会利用抖动 (随机延迟) 来防止连续的冲突。由于在这些情况下您并未尝试避免此类冲突,因此无需使用此随机数字。但是,如果使用并发客户端,抖动可帮助您更快地成功执行请求。有关更多信息,请参阅有关指数回退和抖动的博文。

批量操作和错误处理

DynamoDB 低级 API 支持读取和写入的批处理操作。BatchGetItem从一个或多个表中读取项目,BatchWriteItem将放置或删除一个或多个表中的项目。这些批量操作作为其他非批量 DynamoDB 操作的包装得以实现。换句话说,BatchGetItem 为批处理中的每个项目调用 GetItem 一次。同样,BatchWriteItem 根据需要为批处理中的每个项目调用 DeleteItemPutItem

批量操作可以容忍批处理中的个别请求失败。举例来说,假设一个 BatchGetItem 请求读取五个项目。即使某些底层 GetItem 请求失败,这也不会导致整个 BatchGetItem 操作失败。但是,如果所有五个读取操作都失败,则整个 BatchGetItem 失败。

批量操作会返回有关各失败请求的信息,以便您诊断问题并重试操作。对于 BatchGetItem,在响应的 UnprocessedKeys 值中会返回有问题的表和主键。对于 BatchWriteItem,在 UnprocessedItems 中返回类似信息。

造成读取失败或写入失败的最可能原因是限制。对于 BatchGetItem,原因是批量请求中的一个或多个表没有足够的预置读取容量来支持操作。对于 BatchWriteItem,原因是一个或多个表没有足够的预置写入容量。

如果 DynamoDB 返回了任何未处理的项目,应对这些项目重试批量操作。然而,我们强烈建议您使用指数回退算法。如果立即重试批量操作,底层读取或写入请求仍然会由于各表的限制而失败。如果使用指数回退延迟批量操作,批处理中的各请求成功的可能性更大。

Menu
Amazon DynamoDB
Developer Guide (API Version 2012-08-10)

Error Handling

This section describes runtime errors and how to handle them. It also describes error messages and codes that are specific to DynamoDB.

Error Components

When your program sends a request, DynamoDB attempts to process it. If the request is successful, DynamoDB returns an HTTP success status code (200 OK), along with the results from the requested operation.

If the request is unsuccessful, DynamoDB returns an error. Each error has three components:

  • An HTTP status code (such as 400).

  • An exception name (such as ResourceNotFoundException).

  • An error message (such as Requested resource not found: Table: tablename not found).

The AWS SDKs take care of propagating errors to your application, so that you can take appropriate action. For example, in a Java program, you can write try-catch logic to handle a ResourceNotFoundException.

If you are not using an AWS SDK, you will need to parse the content of the low-level response from DynamoDB. The following is an example of such a response:

HTTP/1.1 400 Bad Request
x-amzn-RequestId: LDM6CJP8RMQ1FHKSC1RBVJFPNVV4KQNSO5AEMF66Q9ASUAAJG
Content-Type: application/x-amz-json-1.0
Content-Length: 240
Date: Thu, 15 Mar 2012 23:56:23 GMT

{"__type":"com.amazonaws.dynamodb.v20120810#ResourceNotFoundException",
"message":"Requested resource not found: Table: tablename not found"}

Error Messages and Codes

The following is a list of exceptions returned by DynamoDB, grouped by HTTP status code. If OK to retry? is Yes, you can submit the same request again. If OK to retry? is No, you will need to fix the problem on the client side before you submit a new request.

HTTP Status Code 400

An HTTP 400 status code indicates a problem with your request, such as authentication failure, missing required parameters, or exceeding a table's provisioned throughput. You will have to fix the issue in your application before submitting the request again.

AccessDeniedException

Message: Access denied.

The client did not correctly sign the request. If you are using an AWS SDK, requests are signed for you automatically; otherwise, go to the Signature Version 4 Signing Process in the AWS General Reference.

OK to retry? No

ConditionalCheckFailedException

Message: The conditional request failed.

You specified a condition that evaluated to false. For example, you might have tried to perform a conditional update on an item, but the actual value of the attribute did not match the expected value in the condition.

OK to retry? No

IncompleteSignatureException

Message: The request signature does not conform to AWS standards.

The request signature did not include all of the required components. If you are using an AWS SDK, requests are signed for you automatically; otherwise, go to the Signature Version 4 Signing Process in the AWS General Reference.

OK to retry? No

ItemCollectionSizeLimitExceededException

Message: Collection size exceeded.

For a table with a local secondary index, a group of items with the same partition key value has exceeded the maximum size limit of 10 GB. For more information on item collections, see Item Collections.

OK to retry? Yes

LimitExceededException

Message: Too many operations for a given subscriber.

There are too many concurrent control plane operations. The cumulative number of tables and indexes in the CREATING, DELETING or UPDATING state cannot exceed 10.

OK to retry? Yes

MissingAuthenticationTokenException

Message: Request must contain a valid (registered) AWS Access Key ID.

The request did not include the required authorization header, or it was malformed. See DynamoDB Low-Level API.

OK to retry? No

ProvisionedThroughputExceededException

Message: You exceeded your maximum allowed provisioned throughput for a table or for one or more global secondary indexes. To view performance metrics for provisioned throughput vs. consumed throughput, open the Amazon CloudWatch console.

Example: Your request rate is too high. The AWS SDKs for DynamoDB automatically retry requests that receive this exception. Your request is eventually successful, unless your retry queue is too large to finish. Reduce the frequency of requests, using exponential backoff.

OK to retry? Yes

ResourceInUseException

Message: The resource which you are attempting to change is in use.

Example: You tried to recreate an existing table, or delete a table currently in the CREATING state.

OK to retry? No

ResourceNotFoundException

Message: Requested resource not found.

Example: Table which is being requested does not exist, or is too early in the CREATING state.

OK to retry? No

ThrottlingException

Message: Rate of requests exceeds the allowed throughput.

This exception might be returned if you perform any of the following operations too rapidly: CreateTable; UpdateTable; DeleteTable.

OK to retry? Yes

UnrecognizedClientException

Message: The Access Key ID or security token is invalid.

The request signature is incorrect. The most likely cause is an invalid AWS access key ID or secret key.

OK to retry? Yes

ValidationException

Message: Varies, depending upon the specific error(s) encountered

This error can occur for several reasons, such as a required parameter that is missing, a value that is out range, or mismatched data types. The error message contains details about the specific part of the request that caused the error.

OK to retry? No

HTTP Status Code 5xx

An HTTP 5xx status code indicates a problem that must be resolved by Amazon Web Services. This might be a transient error in which case you can retry your request until it succeeds. Otherwise, go to the AWS Service Health Dashboard to see if there are any operational issues with the service.

Internal Server Error (HTTP 500)

DynamoDB encountered an error processing your request.

OK to retry? Yes

Service Unavailable (HTTP 503)

DynamoDB is currently unavailable. (This should be a temporary state.)

OK to retry? Yes

Error Handling in Your Application

For your application to run smoothly, you will need to add logic to catch and respond to errors. Typical approaches include using try-catch blocks or an if-then statements.

The AWS SDKs perform their own retries and error checking. If you encounter an error while using one of the AWS SDKs, the error code and description can help you troubleshoot it.

You should also see a Request ID in the response. The Request ID can be helpful if you need to work with AWS Support to diagnose an issue.

The following Java code snippet attempts to delete an item from a DynamoDB table, and performs rudimentary error handling. (In this case, it simply informs the user that the request failed).

Table table = dynamoDB.getTable("Movies");

try {
    Item item = table.getItem("year", 1978, "title", "Superman");
    if (item != null) {
        System.out.println("Result: " + item);
    } else { 
        //No such item exists in the table
        System.out.println("Item not found");
    }

} catch (AmazonServiceException ase) {
    System.err.println("Could not complete operation");
    System.err.println("Error Message:  " + ase.getMessage());
    System.err.println("HTTP Status:    " + ase.getStatusCode());
    System.err.println("AWS Error Code: " + ase.getErrorCode());
    System.err.println("Error Type:     " + ase.getErrorType());
    System.err.println("Request ID:     " + ase.getRequestId());

} catch (AmazonClientException ace) {
    System.err.println("Internal error occured communicating with DynamoDB");
    System.out.println("Error Message:  " + ace.getMessage());
}

In this code snippet, the try-catch construct handles two different kinds of exceptions:

  • AmazonServiceException—raised if the application does not receive a response from DynamoDB, or if the response cannot be understood.

  • AmazonClientException—raised if a request was received by DynamoDB, but could not be processed for some reason.

Error Retries and Exponential Backoff

Numerous components on a network, such as DNS servers, switches, load balancers, and others can generate errors anywhere in the life of a given request. The usual technique for dealing with these error responses in a networked environment is to implement retries in the client application. This technique increases the reliability of the application and reduces operational costs for the developer.

Each AWS SDK implements retry logic, automatically. You can modify the retry parameters to your needs. For example, consider a Java application that requires a fail-fast strategy, with no retries allowed in case of an error. With the AWS SDK for Java, you could use the ClientConfiguration class and provide a maxErrorRetry value of 0 to turn off the retries. For more information, see the AWS SDK documentation for your programming language

If you're not using an AWS SDK, you should retry original requests that receive server errors (5xx). However, client errors (4xx, other than a ThrottlingException or a ProvisionedThroughputExceededException) indicate you need to revise the request itself to correct the problem before trying again.

In addition to simple retries, each AWS SDK implements exponential backoff algorithm for better flow control. The concept behind exponential backoff is to use progressively longer waits between retries for consecutive error responses. For example, up to 50 milliseconds before the first retry, up to 100 milliseconds before the second, up to 200 milliseconds before third, and so on. However, after a minute, if the request has not succeeded, the problem might be the request size exceeding your provisioned throughput, and not the request rate. Set the maximum number of retries to stop around one minute. If the request is not successful, investigate your provisioned throughput options. For more information, see Guidelines for Working with Tables.

Note

The AWS SDKs implement automatic retry logic and exponential backoff.

Most exponential backoff algorithms use jitter (randomized delay) to prevent successive collisions. Because you aren't trying to avoid such collisions in these cases, you do not need to use this random number. However, if you use concurrent clients, jitter can help your requests succeed faster. For more information, see the blog post for Exponential Backoff and Jitter.

Batch Operations and Error Handling

The DynamoDB low-level API supports batch operations for reads and writes. BatchGetItem reads items from one or more tables, and BatchWriteItem puts or deletes items in one or more tables. These batch operations are implemented as wrappers around other non-batch DynamoDB operations. In other words, BatchGetItem invokes GetItem once for each item in the batch. Similarly,BatchWriteItem invokes DeleteItem or PutItem, as appropriate, for each item in the batch.

A batch operation can tolerate the failure of individual requests in the batch. For example, consider a BatchGetItem request to read five items. Even if some of the underlying GetItem requests fail, this will not cause the entire BatchGetItem operation to fail. On the other hand, if all of the five reads operations fail, then the entire BatchGetItem will fail.

The batch operations return information about individual requests that fail, so that you can diagnose the problem and retry the operation. For BatchGetItem, the tables and primary keys in question are returned in the UnprocessedKeys parameter of the request. For BatchWriteItem, similar information is returned in UnprocessedItems.

The most likely cause of a failed read or a failed write is throttling. For BatchGetItem, one or more of the tables in the batch request does not have enough provisioned read capacity to support the operation. For BatchWriteItem, one or more of the tables does not have enough provisioned write capacity.

If DynamoDB returns any unprocessed items, you should retry the batch operation on those items. However, we strongly recommend that you use an exponential backoff algorithm. If you retry the batch operation immediately, the underlying read or write requests can still fail due to throttling on the individual tables. If you delay the batch operation using exponential backoff, the individual requests in the batch are much more likely to succeed.