執行個體類型 - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

執行個體類型

啟動執行個體時,您指定的執行個體類型將決定執行個體所用的主機電腦硬體。每個執行個體類型均提供不同的運算、記憶體和儲存功能,且會依照這些功能分組為不同的執行個體系列。請根據您計劃在執行個體上執行之應用程式或軟體的需求選取執行個體類型。

Amazon EC2 為每個執行個體提供一致且可預測的 CPU 容量,無關其基礎硬體。

Amazon EC2 會將主機電腦的部分資源 (例如 CPU、記憶體和執行個體儲存體) 專用於特定執行個體。Amazon EC2 在執行個體間共用主機電腦的其他資源,例如網路和磁碟子系統。如果主機電腦上的每個執行個體嘗試對其中一項共用資源作最大的利用,該資源會平均分配給每個執行個體。但是,當某一資源使用率較低時,執行個體便能使用該資源較高的比例 (需有資源可用)。

每個執行個體類型從共同資源獲得的最低效能可能更高或更低。例如,具有高 I/O 效能的執行個體類型會分配到較多的共用資源。分配較多的共用資源,也可減少 I/O 效能的變動。對多數的應用程式來說,中等的 I/O 效能即堪使用。但是,對於需要更高或更一致 I/O 效能的應用程式,請考慮使用具有較高 I/O 效能的執行個體類型。

可用的執行個體類型

Amazon EC2 提供各式各樣的最佳化執行個體類型,以滿足不同的使用案例。若要判斷哪些執行個體類型符合您的需求,例如支援的區域、運算資源或儲存資源,請參閱尋找 Amazon EC2 執行個體類型

最新一代的執行個體

為了獲得最佳效能,我們建議您在啟動新執行個體時使用下列執行個體類型。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 Amazon EC2 執行個體類型

類型 Sizes 使用案例
C4 c4.large | c4.xlarge | c4.2xlarge | c4.4xlarge | c4.8xlarge 運算優化
C5 c5.large | c5.xlarge | c5.2xlarge | c5.4xlarge | c5.9xlarge | c5.12xlarge | c5.18xlarge | c5.24xlarge | c5.metal 運算優化
C5a c5a.large | c5a.xlarge | c5a.2xlarge | c5a.4xlarge | c5a.8xlarge | c5a.12xlarge | c5a.16xlarge | c5a.24xlarge 運算優化
C5ad c5ad.large | c5ad.xlarge | c5ad.2xlarge | c5ad.4xlarge | c5ad.8xlarge | c5ad.12xlarge | c5ad.16xlarge | c5ad.24xlarge 運算優化
C5d c5d.large | c5d.xlarge | c5d.2xlarge | c5d.4xlarge | c5d.9xlarge | c5d.12xlarge | c5d.18xlarge | c5d.24xlarge | c5d.metal 運算優化
C5n c5n.large | c5n.xlarge | c5n.2xlarge | c5n.4xlarge | c5n.9xlarge | c5n.18xlarge | c5n.metal 運算優化
C6g c6g.medium | c6g.large | c6g.xlarge | c6g.2xlarge | c6g.4xlarge | c6g.8xlarge | c6g.12xlarge | c6g.16xlarge | c6g.metal 運算優化
C6gd c6gd.medium | c6gd.large | c6gd.xlarge | c6gd.2xlarge | c6gd.4xlarge | c6gd.8xlarge | c6gd.12xlarge | c6gd.16xlarge | c6gd.metal 運算優化
C6gn c6gn.medium | c6gn.large | c6gn.xlarge | c6gn.2xlarge | c6gn.4xlarge | c6gn.8xlarge | c6gn.12xlarge | c6gn.16xlarge 運算優化
D2 d2.xlarge | d2.2xlarge | d2.4xlarge | d2.8xlarge 儲存優化
D3 d3.xlarge | d3.2xlarge | d3.4xlarge | d3.8xlarge 儲存優化
D3en d3en.large | d3en.xlarge | d3en.2xlarge | d3en.4xlarge | d3en.6xlarge | d3en.8xlarge | d3en.12xlarge 儲存優化
F1 f1.2xlarge | f1.4xlarge | f1.16xlarge 加速運算
G3 g3s.xlarge | g3.4xlarge | g3.8xlarge | g3.16xlarge 加速運算
G4ad g4ad.xlarge | g4ad.2xlarge | g4ad.4xlarge | g4ad.8xlarge | g4ad.16xlarge 加速運算
G4dn g4dn.xlarge | g4dn.2xlarge | g4dn.4xlarge | g4dn.8xlarge | g4dn.12xlarge | g4dn.16xlarge | g4dn.metal 加速運算
H1 h1.2xlarge | h1.4xlarge | h1.8xlarge | h1.16xlarge 儲存優化
I3 i3.large | i3.xlarge | i3.2xlarge | i3.4xlarge | i3.8xlarge | i3.16xlarge | i3.metal 儲存優化
I3en i3en.large | i3en.xlarge | i3en.2xlarge | i3en.3xlarge | i3en.6xlarge | i3en.12xlarge | i3en.24xlarge | i3en.metal 儲存優化
Inf1 inf1.xlarge | inf1.2xlarge | inf1.6xlarge | inf1.24xlarge 加速運算
M4 m4.large | m4.xlarge | m4.2xlarge | m4.4xlarge | m4.10xlarge | m4.16xlarge 一般用途
M5 m5.large | m5.xlarge | m5.2xlarge | m5.4xlarge | m5.8xlarge | m5.12xlarge | m5.16xlarge | m5.24xlarge | m5.metal 一般用途
M5a m5a.large | m5a.xlarge | m5a.2xlarge | m5a.4xlarge | m5a.8xlarge | m5a.12xlarge | m5a.16xlarge | m5a.24xlarge 一般用途
M5ad m5ad.large | m5ad.xlarge | m5ad.2xlarge | m5ad.4xlarge | m5ad.8xlarge | m5ad.12xlarge | m5ad.16xlarge | m5ad.24xlarge 一般用途
M5d m5d.large | m5d.xlarge | m5d.2xlarge | m5d.4xlarge | m5d.8xlarge | m5d.12xlarge | m5d.16xlarge | m5d.24xlarge | m5d.metal 一般用途
M5dn m5dn.large | m5dn.xlarge | m5dn.2xlarge | m5dn.4xlarge | m5dn.8xlarge | m5dn.12xlarge | m5dn.16xlarge | m5dn.24xlarge | m5dn.metal 一般用途
M5n m5n.large | m5n.xlarge | m5n.2xlarge | m5n.4xlarge | m5n.8xlarge | m5n.12xlarge | m5n.16xlarge | m5n.24xlarge | m5n.metal 一般用途
M5zn m5zn.large | m5zn.xlarge | m5zn.2xlarge | m5zn.3xlarge | m5zn.6xlarge | m5zn.12xlarge | m5zn.metal 一般用途
M6g m6g.medium | m6g.large | m6g.xlarge | m6g.2xlarge | m6g.4xlarge | m6g.8xlarge | m6g.12xlarge | m6g.16xlarge | m6g.metal 一般用途
M6gd m6gd.medium | m6gd.large | m6gd.xlarge | m6gd.2xlarge | m6gd.4xlarge | m6gd.8xlarge | m6gd.12xlarge | m6gd.16xlarge | m6gd.metal 一般用途
M6i m6i.large | m6i.xlarge | m6i.2xlarge | m6i.4xlarge | m6i.8xlarge | m6i.12xlarge | m6i.16xlarge | m6i.24xlarge | m6i.32xlarge 一般用途
Mac1 mac1.metal 一般用途
P2 p2.xlarge | p2.8xlarge | p2.16xlarge 加速運算
P3 p3.2xlarge | p3.8xlarge | p3.16xlarge 加速運算
P3dn p3dn.24xlarge 加速運算
P4d p4d.24xlarge 加速運算
R4 r4.large | r4.xlarge | r4.2xlarge | r4.4xlarge | r4.8xlarge | r4.16xlarge 記憶體優化
R5 r5.large | r5.xlarge | r5.2xlarge | r5.4xlarge | r5.8xlarge | r5.12xlarge | r5.16xlarge | r5.24xlarge | r5.metal 記憶體優化
R5a r5a.large | r5a.xlarge | r5a.2xlarge | r5a.4xlarge | r5a.8xlarge | r5a.12xlarge | r5a.16xlarge | r5a.24xlarge 記憶體優化
R5ad r5ad.large | r5ad.xlarge | r5ad.2xlarge | r5ad.4xlarge | r5ad.8xlarge | r5ad.12xlarge | r5ad.16xlarge | r5ad.24xlarge 記憶體優化
R5b r5b.large | r5b.xlarge | r5b.2xlarge | r5b.4xlarge | r5b.8xlarge | r5b.12xlarge | r5b.16xlarge | r5b.24xlarge | r5b.metal 記憶體優化
R5d r5d.large | r5d.xlarge | r5d.2xlarge | r5d.4xlarge | r5d.8xlarge | r5d.12xlarge | r5d.16xlarge | r5d.24xlarge | r5d.metal 記憶體優化
R5dn r5dn.large | r5dn.xlarge | r5dn.2xlarge | r5dn.4xlarge | r5dn.8xlarge | r5dn.12xlarge | r5dn.16xlarge | r5dn.24xlarge | r5dn.metal 記憶體優化
R5n r5n.large | r5n.xlarge | r5n.2xlarge | r5n.4xlarge | r5n.8xlarge | r5n.12xlarge | r5n.16xlarge | r5n.24xlarge | r5n.metal 記憶體優化
R6g r6g.medium | r6g.large | r6g.xlarge | r6g.2xlarge | r6g.4xlarge | r6g.8xlarge | r6g.12xlarge | r6g.16xlarge | r6g.metal 記憶體優化
R6gd r6gd.medium | r6gd.large | r6gd.xlarge | r6gd.2xlarge | r6gd.4xlarge | r6gd.8xlarge | r6gd.12xlarge | r6gd.16xlarge | r6gd.metal 記憶體優化
T2 t2.nano | t2.micro | t2.small | t2.medium | t2.large | t2.xlarge | t2.2xlarge 一般用途
T3 t3.nano | t3.micro | t3.small | t3.medium | t3.large | t3.xlarge | t3.2xlarge 一般用途
T3a t3a.nano | t3a.micro | t3a.small | t3a.medium | t3a.large | t3a.xlarge | t3a.2xlarge 一般用途
T4g t4g.nano | t4g.micro | t4g.small | t4g.medium | t4g.large | t4g.xlarge | t4g.2xlarge 一般用途
記憶體密集型 (u-*) u-6tb1.56xlarge | u-6tb1.112xlarge | u-6tb1.metal | u-9tb1.112xlarge | u-9tb1.metal | u-12tb1.112xlarge | u-12tb1.metal | u-18tb1.metal | u-24tb1.metal 記憶體優化
X1 x1.16xlarge | x1.32xlarge 記憶體優化
X1e x1e.xlarge | x1e.2xlarge | x1e.4xlarge | x1e.8xlarge | x1e.16xlarge | x1e.32xlarge 記憶體優化
X2gd x2gd.medium | x2gd.large | x2gd.xlarge | x2gd.2xlarge | x2gd.4xlarge | x2gd.8xlarge | x2gd.12xlarge | x2gd.16xlarge | x2gd.metal 記憶體優化
z1d z1d.large | z1d.xlarge | z1d.2xlarge | z1d.3xlarge | z1d.6xlarge | z1d.12xlarge | z1d.metal 記憶體優化

上一代執行個體

Amazon Web Services 提供了上一代的執行個體類型,適合已據此將應用程式最佳化且尚未升級的使用者。建議您使用最新一代的執行個體類型以獲得最佳效能,但我們仍會繼續支援下列上一代執行個體類型。如需有關哪個最新一代執行個體類型適合升級的詳細資訊,請參閱上一代執行個體

類型 Sizes
A1 a1.medium | a1.large | a1.xlarge | a1.2xlarge | a1.4xlarge | a1.metal
C1 c1.medium | c1.xlarge
C3 c3.large | c3.xlarge | c3.2xlarge | c3.4xlarge | c3.8xlarge
G2 g2.2xlarge | g2.8xlarge
I2 i2.xlarge | i2.2xlarge | i2.4xlarge | i2.8xlarge
M1 m1.small | m1.medium | m1.large | m1.xlarge
M2 m2.xlarge | m2.2xlarge | m2.4xlarge
M3 m3.medium | m3.large | m3.xlarge | m3.2xlarge
R3 r3.large | r3.xlarge | r3.2xlarge | r3.4xlarge | r3.8xlarge
T1 t1.micro

硬體規格

如需每種 Amazon EC2 執行個體類型的硬體規格的詳細資訊,請參閱 Amazon EC2 執行個體類型

為了決定最符合您需求的執行個體類型,我們建議您啟動執行個體並使用您自己的基準參考應用程式。由於您必須為執行個體按秒數付費,因此在作決定前先測試多個執行個體類型是比較方便且省錢的方式。

假如您在作決定後需要變更,也可稍後再調整執行個體的大小。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 變更執行個體類型

注意

Amazon EC2 執行個體通常在執行個體類型產品頁面指定的 64 位元虛擬 Intel 處理器上運作。如需每種 Amazon EC2 執行個體類型的硬體規格的詳細資訊,請參閱 Amazon EC2 執行個體類型。不過,可能會因業界對 64 位元 CPU 的命名慣例而產生混淆。自晶片製造商 Advanced Micro Devices (AMD) 成功推出首款以 Intel x86 指令集為基礎的商用 64 位元架構後,該架構自此便廣泛統稱為 AMD64,無論產品來自哪一間晶片製造商。Windows 和多個 Linux 發行版本也遵照此作法。這說明了為何 Ubuntu 或 Windows EC2 執行個體上的內部系統資訊會顯示 CPU 架構為 AMD64,即使該執行個體是在 Intel 硬體上執行。

處理器功能

Intel 處理器功能

在 Intel 處理器上執行的 Amazon EC2 執行個體可能包含下列功能。並非所有下列處理器功能都受到所有執行個體類型的支援。如需有關每種執行個體類型可用哪些功能的詳細資訊,請參閱 Amazon EC2 執行個體類型。

  • Intel AES New Instructions (AES-NI) — Intel AES-NI 加密指令集改進了原先 Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) 的演算法,可以提供更快的資料保護和更佳的安全性。所有最新一代的 EC2 執行個體都支援此處理器功能。

  • Intel Advanced Vector Extensions (Intel AVX、Intel AVX2 和 Intel AVX-512) — Intel AVX 和 Intel AVX2 是 256 位元,而 Intel AVX-512 是 512 位元指令集延伸,專為浮點 (FP) 密集型應用程式所設計。Intel AVX instructions 可提升如圖片和音效/影片處理、科學模擬、財務分析、3D 模組化與分析等應用程式的效能。只有以 HVM AMI 啟動的執行個體可使用這些功能。

  • Intel Turbo Boost Technology (Intel 渦輪加速技術) — Intel Turbo Boost Technology (Intel 渦輪加速技術) 處理器會自動執行核心,比基礎操作頻率更快。

  • Intel Intel Deep Learning Boost (Intel DL Boost) — 可加速 AI 深度學習使用案例。第二代 Intel Xeon 可擴充處理器透過新的向量神經網路指令集 (VNNI/INT8) 擴展 Intel AVX-512,相較於前一代 Intel Xeon 可擴充處理器 (搭配 FP32),大幅地提升影像辨識 / 切割、物件偵測、語音辨識、語言翻譯、推薦系統、強化學習等的深度學習推論效能。VNNI 可能無法與所有 Linux 發行版相容。

    下列執行個體支援 VNNI:M5nR5nM5dnM5znR5bR5dnD3、和 D3enC5C5d 執行個體僅針對 12xlarge24xlarge,以及 metal 執行個體支援 VNNI。

AMI 虛擬化類型

執行個體的虛擬化類型由用來啟動執行個體的 AMI 決定。最新一代的執行個體類型僅支援硬體虛擬機器 (HVM)。有些上一代的執行個體類型支援半虛擬化 (PV),而有些 AWS 區域則支援 PV 執行個體。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 Linux AMI 虛擬化類型

為獲得最高效能,我們建議您使用 HVM AMI。此外,需要 HVM AMI 才能充分利用增強型聯網。HVM 虛擬化使用由 AWS 平台提供的硬體輔助技術。透過 HVM 虛擬化,訪客 VM 便能如同在原生硬體平台上一般執行,只是仍是使用全虛擬化 (PV) 網路和儲存驅動程式來提升效能。

建置在 Nitro 系統上的執行個體

Nitro 系統結合一系列的 AWS 內建硬體和軟體元件,能保障高效能、高可用性和高安全性。如需更多資訊,請參閱 AWS Nitro 系統

Nitro 系統提供的裸機功能可免除虛擬化開銷,並支援需完整存取主機硬體的工作負載。裸機執行個體非常適合下列各項:

  • 需要存取低階硬體功能 (例如 Intel VT) 的工作負載 (在虛擬化環境中無法使用或未完整支援這些工作負載)

  • 需要非虛擬化環境以取得授權或支援的應用程式

Nitro 元件

下列元件屬於 Nitro 系統的一部分:

  • Nitro 卡

    • 本機 NVMe 儲存磁碟區

    • 聯網硬體支援

    • 管理

    • 監控

    • 安全性

  • Nitro 安全晶片;整合到主機板

  • Nitro Hypervisor - 輕量型虛擬化管理程序,其可管理記憶體和 CPU 效能,並提供適用於大部分工作負載且與裸機相同的效能。

執行個體類型

下列執行個體是以 Nitro 系統為基礎:

  • 虛擬化A1、C5、C5a、C5ad、C5d、C5n、C6g、C6gd、C6gn、 D3、D3en、G4、I3en、Inf1、M5、M5a、M5ad、M5d、M5dn、M5n、M5zn、M6g、M6gd、M6i、p3dn.24xlargeP4、R5、R5a、R5ad、R5b、R5d、R5dn、R5n、R6g、R6gd、T3、T3a、T4g、記憶體密集型 (u-*)、X2gd 以及 z1d

  • 裸機a1.metalc5.metalc5d.metalc5n.metalc6g.metalc6gd.metali3.metali3en.metalm5.metalm5d.metalm5dn.metalm5n.metalm5zn.metalm6g.metalm6gd.metalmac1.metalr5.metalr5b.metalr5d.metalr5dn.metalr5n.metalr6g.metalr6gd.metalu-6tb1.metalu-9tb1.metalu-12tb1.metalu-18tb1.metalu-24tb1.metalx2gd.metal 以及 z1d.metal

聯網與儲存功能

選取執行個體類型時,會決定可用的聯網和儲存功能。若要描述執行個體類型,請使用 describe-instance-types 命令。

聯網功能

  • IPv6 支援於所有最新一代的執行個體類型,以及 C3、R3 和 I2 上一代的執行個體類型。

  • 為了讓執行個體類型達到最高的聯網與頻寬效能,您可以執行以下操作:

    • 啟動支援的執行個體類型進入叢集置放群組,將您的執行個體針對高效能運算 (HPC) 應用程式最佳化。通用叢集置放群組中的執行個體便能得到高頻寬、低延遲聯網的優點。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 置放群組

    • 針對支援的最新一代執行個體類型啟用增強型聯網,以大幅提高每秒封包數 (PPS) 效能、降低網路抖動和降低延遲。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 增強型聯網功能Linux

  • 啟用增強型聯網的最新一代執行個體類型具有以下的聯網效能屬性:

    • 同一個區域內經由私有 IPv4 或 IPv6 的流量在單一流量下支援 5 Gbps,在多重流量下支援高達 25 Gbps 的流量 (視執行個體類型而定)。

    • 在同一個區域中,Amazon S3 儲存貯體之間透過公有 IP 地址空間或 VPC 端點的往來流量,可以使用所有可用的執行個體總頻寬。

  • 支援的最大傳輸單元 (MTU) 因執行個體類型而異。所有的 Amazon EC2 執行個體類型均支援標準的乙太網路 V2 1500 MTU 訊框。所有最新一代的執行個體均支援 9001 MTU 或 Jumbo Frame,有些上一代的執行個體也支援。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 EC2 執行個體的網路最大傳輸單位 (MTU)

儲存功能

  • 有些執行個體類型支援 EBS 磁碟區和執行個體存放磁碟區,但有些執行個體類型僅支援 EBS 磁碟區。有些支援執行個體存放磁碟區的執行個體類型使用固態硬碟 (SSD),以提供極高的隨機 I/O 效能。某些執行個體類型支援 NVMe 執行個體存放磁碟區。某些執行個體類型支援 NVMe EBS 磁碟區。如需詳細資訊,請參閱Linux 中的 Amazon EBS 和 NVMe 執行個體NVMe SSD 磁碟區

  • 若要取得 Amazon EBS I/O 額外的專屬容量,您可將部分的執行個體類型做為 EBS 最佳化執行個體啟動。有些執行個體類型預設為 EBS 最佳化。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 Amazon EBS – 最佳化執行個體

聯網與儲存功能的總結/

下表摘要說明最新一代執行個體類型支援的聯網和儲存功能。

僅 EBS NVMe EBS 執行個體存放區 置放群組 增強型聯網
C4 Intel 82599 VF
C5 ENA
C5a ENA
C5ad NVMe * ENA
C5d NVMe * ENA
C5n ENA
C6g ENA
C6gd NVMe * ENA
C6gn ENA
D2 HDD Intel 82599 VF
D3 NVMe * ENA
D3en NVMe * ENA
F1 NVMe * ENA
G3 ENA
G4ad NVMe * ENA
G4dn NVMe * ENA
H1 HDD * ENA
I3 NVMe * ENA
I3en NVMe * ENA
Inf1 ENA
M4 m4.16xlarge:ENA

所有其他大小:Intel 82599 VF

M5 ENA
M5a ENA
M5ad NVMe * ENA
M5d NVMe * ENA
M5dn NVMe * ENA
M5n ENA
M5zn ENA
M6g ENA
M6gd NVMe * ENA
M6i ENA
Mac1 ENA
P2 ENA
P3 ENA
P3dn NVMe * ENA
P4d NVMe * ENA
R4 ENA
R5 ENA
R5a ENA
R5ad NVMe * ENA
R5b ENA
R5d NVMe * ENA
R5dn NVMe * ENA
R5n ENA
R6g ENA
R6gd NVMe * ENA
T2
T3 ENA
T3a ENA
T4g ENA
記憶體密集型 (u-*) 虛擬化:是

裸機:否

ENA
X1 SSD * ENA
X1e SSD * ENA
X2gd NVMe * ENA
z1d NVMe * ENA

* 根設備磁碟區必須為 Amazon EBS 磁碟區。

下表摘要說明上一代執行個體類型支援的聯網和儲存功能。

執行個體存放區 置放群組 增強型聯網
C3 SSD Intel 82599 VF
G2 SSD
I2 SSD Intel 82599 VF
M3 SSD
R3 SSD Intel 82599 VF

執行個體限制

您在區域內能夠啟動的執行個體總數有所限制,並且某些執行個體類型有額外的限制。

如需關於預設限制的詳細資訊,請參閱我可以在 Amazon EC2 中執行多少個執行個體?相關文章。

如需有關檢視目前限制或要求提高目前限制的詳細資訊,請參閱 Amazon EC2 服務配額

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
User Guide for Linux Instances

Instance Types

When you launch an instance, the instance type that you specify determines the hardware of the host computer used for your instance. Each instance type offers different compute, memory, and storage capabilities and are grouped in instance families based on these capabilities. Select an instance type based on the requirements of the application or software that you plan to run on your instance.

Amazon EC2 provides each instance with a consistent and predictable amount of CPU capacity, regardless of its underlying hardware.

Amazon EC2 dedicates some resources of the host computer, such as CPU, memory, and instance storage, to a particular instance. Amazon EC2 shares other resources of the host computer, such as the network and the disk subsystem, among instances. If each instance on a host computer tries to use as much of one of these shared resources as possible, each receives an equal share of that resource. However, when a resource is underused, an instance can consume a higher share of that resource while it's available.

Each instance type provides higher or lower minimum performance from a shared resource. For example, instance types with high I/O performance have a larger allocation of shared resources. Allocating a larger share of shared resources also reduces the variance of I/O performance. For most applications, moderate I/O performance is more than enough. However, for applications that require greater or more consistent I/O performance, consider an instance type with higher I/O performance.

Available Instance Types

Amazon EC2 provides the instance types listed in the following tables.

Current Generation Instances

For the best performance, we recommend that you use the current generation instance types when you launch new instances.

For more information about the current generation instance types, see Amazon EC2 Instance Types.

Instance Family Current Generation Instance Types

General purpose

t2.nano | t2.micro | t2.small | t2.medium | t2.large | t2.xlarge | t2.2xlarge | t3.nano | t3.micro | t3.small | t3.medium | t3.large | t3.xlarge | t3.2xlarge | m4.large | m4.xlarge | m4.2xlarge | m4.4xlarge | m4.10xlarge | m4.16xlarge | m5.large | m5.xlarge | m5.2xlarge | m5.4xlarge | m5.12xlarge | m5.24xlarge | m5a.large | m5a.xlarge | m5a.2xlarge | m5a.4xlarge | m5a.12xlarge | m5a.24xlarge | m5d.large | m5d.xlarge | m5d.2xlarge | m5d.4xlarge | m5d.12xlarge | m5d.24xlarge

Compute optimized

c4.large | c4.xlarge | c4.2xlarge | c4.4xlarge | c4.8xlarge | c5.large | c5.xlarge | c5.2xlarge | c5.4xlarge | c5.9xlarge | c5.18xlarge | c5d.xlarge | c5d.2xlarge | c5d.4xlarge | c5d.9xlarge | c5d.18xlarge

Memory optimized

r4.large | r4.xlarge | r4.2xlarge | r4.4xlarge | r4.8xlarge | r4.16xlarge | r5.large | r5.xlarge | r5.2xlarge | r5.4xlarge | r5.12xlarge | r5.24xlarge | r5a.large | r5a.xlarge | r5a.2xlarge | r5a.4xlarge | r5a.12xlarge | r5a.24xlarge | r5d.large | r5d.xlarge | r5d.2xlarge | r5d.4xlarge | r5d.12xlarge | r5d.24xlarge | x1.16xlarge | x1.32xlarge | x1e.xlarge | x1e.2xlarge | x1e.4xlarge | x1e.8xlarge | x1e.16xlarge | x1e.32xlarge | z1d.large | z1d.xlarge | z1d.2xlarge | z1d.3xlarge | z1d.6xlarge | z1d.12xlarge

Storage optimized

d2.xlarge | d2.2xlarge | d2.4xlarge | d2.8xlarge | h1.2xlarge | h1.4xlarge | h1.8xlarge | h1.16xlarge | i3.large | i3.xlarge | i3.2xlarge | i3.4xlarge | i3.8xlarge | i3.16xlarge

Accelerated computing

f1.2xlarge | f1.4xlarge | f1.16xlarge | g3s.xlarge | g3.4xlarge | g3.8xlarge | g3.16xlarge | p2.xlarge | p2.8xlarge | p2.16xlarge | p3.2xlarge | p3.8xlarge | p3.16xlarge

Bare metal

i3.metal | u-6tb1.metal | u-9tb1.metal | u-12tb1.metal

Previous Generation Instances

Amazon Web Services offers previous generation instances for users who have optimized their applications around these instances and have yet to upgrade. We encourage you to use the latest generation of instances to get the best performance, but we continue to support these previous generation instances. If you are currently using a previous generation instance, you can see which current generation instance would be a suitable upgrade. For more information, see Previous Generation Instances.

Instance Family Previous Generation Instance Types

General purpose

m1.small | m1.medium | m1.large | m1.xlarge | m3.medium | m3.large | m3.xlarge | m3.2xlarge

Compute optimized

c1.medium | c1.xlarge | cc2.8xlarge | c3.large | c3.xlarge | c3.2xlarge | c3.4xlarge | c3.8xlarge

Memory optimized

m2.xlarge | m2.2xlarge | m2.4xlarge | cr1.8xlarge | r3.large | r3.xlarge | r3.2xlarge | r3.4xlarge | r3.8xlarge

Storage optimized

hs1.8xlarge | i2.xlarge | i2.2xlarge | i2.4xlarge | i2.8xlarge

GPU optimized

g2.2xlarge | g2.8xlarge

Micro

t1.micro

Hardware Specifications

For more information about the hardware specifications for each Amazon EC2 instance type, see Amazon EC2 Instance Types.

To determine which instance type best meets your needs, we recommend that you launch an instance and use your own benchmark application. Because you pay by the instance second, it's convenient and inexpensive to test multiple instance types before making a decision.

If your needs change, even after you make a decision, you can resize your instance later. For more information, see Changing the Instance Type.

Note

Amazon EC2 instances run on 64-bit virtual Intel processors as specified in the instance type product pages. For more information about the hardware specifications for each Amazon EC2 instance type, see Amazon EC2 Instance Types. However, confusion may result from industry naming conventions for 64-bit CPUs. Chip manufacturer Advanced Micro Devices (AMD) introduced the first commercially successful 64-bit architecture based on the Intel x86 instruction set. Consequently, the architecture is widely referred to as AMD64 regardless of the chip manufacturer. Windows and several Linux distributions follow this practice. This explains why the internal system information on an Ubuntu or Windows EC2 instance displays the CPU architecture as AMD64 even though the instances are running on Intel hardware.

AMI Virtualization Types

The virtualization type of your instance is determined by the AMI that you use to launch it. Current generation instance types support hardware virtual machine (HVM) only. Some previous generation instance types support paravirtual (PV) and some AWS regions support PV instances. For more information, see Linux AMI Virtualization Types.

For best performance, we recommend that you use an HVM AMI. In addition, HVM AMIs are required to take advantage of enhanced networking. HVM virtualization uses hardware-assist technology provided by the AWS platform. With HVM virtualization, the guest VM runs as if it were on a native hardware platform, except that it still uses PV network and storage drivers for improved performance.

Nitro Instances

The Nitro system is a collection of AWS-built hardware and software components that enable high performance, high availability, and high security. In addition, the Nitro system provides bare metal capabilities that eliminate virtualization overhead and support workloads that require full access to host hardware.

Nitro Components

The following components are part of the Nitro system:

  • Nitro hypervisor - A lightweight hypervisor that manages memory and CPU allocation and delivers performance that is indistinguishable from bare metal for most workloads.

  • Nitro card

    • Local NVMe storage volumes

    • Networking hardware support

    • Management

    • Monitoring

    • Security

  • Nitro security chip, integrated into the motherboard

Nitro Instance Types

The following instances are based on the Nitro system:

  • All Nitro: C5, C5d, i3.metal, M5, M5a, M5d, R5, R5a, R5d, T3, u-6tb1.metal, u-9tb1.metal, u-12tb1.metal, and z1d

  • Nitro, not bare metal: C5, C5d, M5, M5a, M5d, R5, R5a, R5d, T3, and z1d

  • Bare metal: i3.metal, u-6tb1.metal, u-9tb1.metal, and u-12tb1.metal.

Networking and Storage Features

When you select an instance type, this determines the networking and storage features that are available.

Networking features

  • IPv6 is supported on all current generation instance types and the C3, R3, and I2 previous generation instance types.

  • To maximize the networking and bandwidth performance of your instance type, you can do the following:

    • Launch supported instance types into a cluster placement group to optimize your instances for high performance computing (HPC) applications. Instances in a common cluster placement group can benefit from high-bandwidth, low-latency networking. For more information, see Placement Groups.

    • Enable enhanced networking for supported current generation instance types to get significantly higher packet per second (PPS) performance, lower network jitter, and lower latencies. For more information, see Enhanced Networking on Linux.

  • Current generation instance types that are enabled for enhanced networking have the following networking performance attributes:

    • Traffic within the same region over private IPv4 or IPv6 can support 5 Gbps for single-flow traffic and up to 25 Gbps for multi-flow traffic (depending on the instance type).

    • Traffic to and from Amazon S3 buckets within the same region over the public IP address space or through a VPC endpoint can use all available instance aggregate bandwidth.

  • The maximum supported MTU varies across instance types. All Amazon EC2 instance types support standard Ethernet V2 1500 MTU frames. All current generation instances support 9001 MTU, or jumbo frames, and some previous generation instances support them as well. For more information, see Network Maximum Transmission Unit (MTU) for Your EC2 Instance.

Storage features

  • Some instance types support EBS volumes and instance store volumes, while other instance types support only EBS volumes. Some instance types that support instance store volumes use solid state drives (SSD) to deliver very high random I/O performance. Some instance types support NVMe instance store volumes. Some instance types support NVMe EBS volumes. For more information, see Storage.

  • To obtain additional, dedicated capacity for Amazon EBS I/O, you can launch some instance types as EBS–optimized instances. Some instance types are EBS–optimized by default. For more information, see Amazon EBS–Optimized Instances.

The following table summarizes the networking and storage features supported by the current generation instance types.

EBS only NVMe EBS Instance store Placement group Enhanced networking

C4

Yes

Yes

Intel 82599 VF

C5

Yes

Yes

Yes

ENA

C5d

Yes

NVMe *

Yes

ENA

D2

HDD

Yes

Intel 82599 VF

F1

NVMe *

Yes

ENA

G3

Yes

Yes

ENA

H1

HDD

Yes

ENA

I3

NVMe *

Yes

ENA

M4

Yes

Yes

m4.16xlarge: ENA

All other sizes: Intel 82599 VF

M5

Yes

Yes

Yes

ENA

M5a

Yes

Yes

Yes

ENA

M5d

Yes

NVMe *

Yes

ENA

P2

Yes

Yes

ENA

P3

Yes

Yes

ENA

R4

Yes

Yes

ENA

R5

Yes

Yes

Yes

ENA

R5a

Yes

Yes

Yes

ENA

R5d

Yes

NVMe *

Yes

ENA

T2 Yes

T3

Yes

Yes

ENA

u-xtb1.metal

Yes

Yes

ENA

X1

SSD

Yes

ENA

X1e

SSD

Yes

ENA

z1d

Yes

NVMe *

Yes

ENA

* The root device volume must be an Amazon EBS volume.

The following table summarizes the networking and storage features supported by earlier generation instance types.

Instance store Placement group Enhanced networking

C3

SSD

Yes

Intel 82599 VF

G2

SSD

Yes

I2

SSD

Yes

Intel 82599 VF

M3

SSD

R3

SSD

Yes

Intel 82599 VF

Instance Limits

There is a limit on the total number of instances that you can launch in a region, and there are additional limits on some instance types.

For more information about the default limits, see How many instances can I run in Amazon EC2?

For more information about viewing your current limits or requesting an increase in your current limits, see Amazon EC2 Service Limits.