Shut Down Resources - Amazon SageMaker

Shut Down Resources

You can shut down individual resources, including notebooks, terminals, kernels, apps, and instances. You can also shut down all resources in one of these categories at the same time.

Shut Down an Open Notebook

You can shut down an open notebook from the Amazon SageMaker Studio File menu or from the Running Terminal and Kernels pane.

Note

When you shut down a notebook, any unsaved information in the notebook is lost. The notebook is not deleted.

To shut down an open notebook from the File menu

  1. Optionally, save the notebook contents by choosing the Disk icon on the left of the notebook menu.

  2. Choose File then Close and Shutdown Notebook.

  3. Choose OK.

Shut Down Resources

The Running Terminals and Kernels pane consists of four sections. Each section lists all the resources of that type. You can shut down each resource individually or shut down all the resources in a section at the same time.

When you choose to shut down all resources in a section, the following occurs:

  • RUNNING INSTANCES/RUNNING APPS – All instances, apps, notebooks, kernel sessions, consoles/shells, and image terminals are shut down. System terminals aren't shut down. Choose this option to stop the accrual of all charges.

  • KERNEL SESSIONS – All kernels, notebooks and consoles/shells are shut down.

  • TERMINAL SESSIONS – All image terminals and system terminals are shut down.

To shut down resources

  1. In the left sidebar, choose the Running Terminals and Kernels icon ( ).

  2. Do either of the following:

    • To shut down a specific resource, choose the SHUT DOWN icon ( ) on the same row as the resource.

      For running instances, a confirmation dialog lists all the resources that will be shut down. For running apps, a confirmation dialog is displayed. Choose Shut down all to proceed.

      Note

      No confirmation dialog is displayed for kernel sessions or terminal sessions.

    • To shut down all resources in a section, choose the X to the right of the section label. A confirmation dialog is displayed. Choose Shut down all to proceed.